San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 10, 2014
Just GREAT..THANKS
Aug 10, 2014
Stayed Friday the 8th of aug. Did not expect to be kept awake all night with adult party goers playing beer pong and screaming all night. The next day I was exhausted should really get a refund for all my family went through. It is suppose to be a family park not a play ground for drunk out of control adults who wanted to get there drink on. Please send me a full refund for my nights stay.
Aug 10, 2014
Friendly, helpful staff. Very kid friendly. Great location.
Aug 10, 2014
very very crowded and camp sites to close. It was also to expensive
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Incredibly accommodating staff! Tent camping! Offered me an amazing spot! :)
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
It was a great campsite our cabin was clean and very cute, just wish thee wee a few more bathrooms.
Aug 09, 2014
Top notch....As always!!!
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
This is the first time we've stayed in a KOA. We're more private campers, so the fact that we were 10 feet away (at most) from our camping neighbors on either side was...interesting. It does look like a great place to go if you have kids - all the activities and pool, etc. I can't rate it as far as other KOAs are concerned, but it's not our type of camping. The staff was very friendly, however
Aug 09, 2014
We absolutely LOVED our stay. Wish it was longer, and will definitely be back soon. As a matter of fact, we are already looking at dates.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Ils offrent une excursion à San Francisco qui est vraiment complète. Le guide John est vraiment intéressant, il connait la ville et son histoire. Il nous fait découvrir chaque recoin de S F Il ne compte pas son temps ne ménage pas ses explications en résumé : à la fin de l'excursion tu as la certitude d'avoir vraiment tout vu et su de S F A NE PAS MANQUER
Aug 09, 2014
wonderful place to come with grandchildren
Aug 08, 2014
Only two unisex toilets and two unisex showers for way too many sites. Overly crowded.
Aug 08, 2014
My kids were a little bit hesitant abiot going to camping again coz their 1st camping experience years ago was not a pleasant one. KOA changed everything. They had lots of fun playing volleyball, basketball,swimming and bouncing on that giant pillow. The cabin was a big plus since tenting is not for everybody. We'll definitely come back!
Aug 07, 2014
There were very loud neighbors until 12 am. II informed staff 1st night but nothing happened. I informed office next day and even tried to move, I was told that they would take care of it but group was even louder past 12 am. Office staff was not friendly especially Dianne. I have been to other KOA's who enforce their 10pm quiet time. I will never come back and I will never recommend this place.
Aug 07, 2014
Our stay was great. Very friendly staff. Lots for the kids to do. That was the best part. We LOVED the banana bikes and rock wall.
Aug 07, 2014
Employee was very helpful , camprground very clean and well positionned to visit San Francisco and the valley of Sonoma and Napa . Thank you !!!! To all KOA staff !!!
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Such fun,great service,awesome people,clean,will always come back :)
Aug 07, 2014
Deluxe cabins w/ bathroom are fantastic. Just like a hotel with the camping experience. So don't forget to tip the person who cleans up after you. Kids loved the loft sleeping area, bunk beds. Queen bed was very nice. Wish they had a swing at all cabin; Some do not and that's a real bummer. Family fun campground!
Aug 07, 2014
Was unable to use all amenities , hence the 4 stars, however was impressed with the large variety of activities for all ages. Clean but well used restrooms, common areas not crowded for the number of sites, but would like to see some sand put on the area entering the dog park since the grass is gone. But I could see where the tried to re-sod, but just too much activity . And that is a good thing.
Aug 06, 2014
I have to say the staff was very very good. I thought the showers were very small.
Aug 06, 2014
The staff was wonderful and the kids had fun. The facility was clean and welcoming. The beds were not very comfortable... but that's excusable because we had beds. One of the people in my party lost a phone and never had it returned. That was the low point of the trip. Otherwise, great trip!
Aug 06, 2014
We had a great time!
Aug 06, 2014
my grandson and I on abiys outing it was great
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
I stayed here because San Fran area hotels were pretty much fully booked. Good place to sleep but $50 seems steep for a small camp spot.Overall not bad though and perhaps worth the value if you were to stay for the amenities.
Aug 05, 2014
What a great place to spend time with friends and family.
Aug 05, 2014
Had a good stay, altho' the new water faucets were disappointing!
Aug 05, 2014
We had such a great time and will definitely visit again!
Aug 05, 2014
Enjoyed 1 nite stay in the cabin...very nice campground...one of the best KOA's I've been to
Aug 05, 2014
Was traveling from out of town and was disappointed that family visitors had to pay $12.00 a person to come see us. So they chose not to visit.
Aug 05, 2014
We are former Novoto ites, so it is a great place to hook up with old friends and family.
Aug 05, 2014
Our family (especially our 2 sons ages 11 & 9 ) just LOVE the Petaluma KOA!!! We know they're safe riding around the camp ground on their bikes without us worrying. They have the BEST pool! :D
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
We really enjoyed our visit. You need to fix the brakes of the banana bikes. Mine didn't work and my son rented one the next day and his brakes did't work, You should do a safety checks on each bike each day.Tag bikes so they don't get used until fixed.
Aug 05, 2014
We had a great time once again at KOA Petaluma. Our third time this summer! We brought two families to try for their first time and they loved it as well. We are coming back September 20th for tent camping. We wanted to try something different, but kabins and lodges have a two night minimum. Maybe next year. Thank you.
Aug 05, 2014
Awesome campground! Could use some more private campsites; maybe off to the side or away from othersites.
Aug 05, 2014
have children and want activities, then this place is for you. I on the other hand felt like a combo of county fair & rv dealership. Clean place, all workers extremely nice. When everyone lights a campfire it's kinda overwhelming...just didn't feel like a 'campground' more like a "Kids ground' have to really keep your eyes wide open kids on scooters everywhere...more quiet for these 50+...
Aug 05, 2014
Great campground with so much to entertain the kids. We liked it so much, we started storing our RV here and they tow it to our campsite on check in day and tow it back to storage upon check out. Love it!
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
In our opinion----Horrible service. Incompetent employees and RUDE night helpers, VERY little respect for disabled people. NEVER will I stay here again. NEVER. It was that bad.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

8/6 called cj. arrived after hours and didn't have access to amenities.
Aug 04, 2014
This was our second stay. This time we brought our 3 year old granddaughter and she had a great time. Melissa Herald, one of your employees, deserves special recognition. She was a great help to us while we were there and is a terrific ambassador for KOA and the Petaluma campground in particular.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.