San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Oct 09, 2013
This is a good place to stay with kids. However, the prices are high. Toilet paper at $8 for 4 rolls? Give me a break.
Oct 09, 2013
We asked for our RV to be moved from storage to site. Unfortunately we left our couch entry keys at home. One call to the KOA office and a kind employee drove to our site with a universal key to let us in. I tried AAA, with no succes. The care and service from the KOA staff was above and beyond our expectations. Thank you.
Oct 09, 2013
Oct 09, 2013
We arrived after the office closed but the staff has my paperwork ready for me, the light turned on and the key to the cabin was inside waiting for us! It was fabulous. After a long drive there we arrived about ten minutes before the pool area was closing but the gentleman that worked there allowed to hot tub while he covered the gorgeous pool they have and we were very happy. This KOA is awesome.
Oct 09, 2013
Oct 09, 2013
Internet service was almost non existent. Quiet hours were a joke. A loud diesel pulled in at almost 10 pm. And fired up several times. Then the diesel truck on the other side of us fired up at about 5 am to go somewhere for the day.
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
Our only issue was the wifi didn't work for us. Other then that this campground is beautiful and well kept. It was our 3rd visit and we look forward to the next time!
Oct 08, 2013
We Based here and spent time time in Sonoma etc. Our end site was great. We are planning another trip to Petaluama KOA in Dec. One suggestion, the horse shoe pits are marginal. One set actually has concrete holding the stakes in.That is dangerous and very bad for the shoes. Too close to the road, some kid will be injured. Thank Brian and Carol
Oct 08, 2013
Helpful staff. Great facilities. Please give Tori a pay raise.
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
CONFUSION at the front desk gave me immediate heartburn (I was "wagon leader" for our group). KOA really needs to consider auditing their staff. This woman seemed CLUELESS. Once everything was resolved, tho, everything was perfect. A carefree and enjoyable time was had by all.
Oct 07, 2013
I expected a bit more for what I paid. The wifi appears to be inadequate for the number of users on a weekend-- I couldn't even check for emails from the house sitter because the wifi was unavailable most of the time. Also, on arrival I got a different (smaller) lodge than what I was told at the time of booking.
Oct 07, 2013
We had a great time at KOA this past weekend. We went at this time specifically for the October events. The only thing I would change is the interaction with the employee who ran the events and the kids. For Miners Camp there wasn't any interaction at all and the pumpkin decorating was very limited interaction. Other than that we loved our stay and will definitely be back.
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
We love Petaluma koa. We are locals and this koa is home away from home. The kids had a blast painting pumpkins and trick or treating for free this weekend. Keep it up Petaluma koa!
Oct 07, 2013
The campground was fair. They did provide a picnic table, fire ring, and cable TV. The spaces were reasonable in size. However, the dump station was next to the exit gate. When we were leaving and needed to use the dump station, it was being used. This was not a problem except that there was no place to wait without blocking the gate, so I had to leave without dumping our waste.
Oct 07, 2013
This KOA has been an excellent experience. I'm in my element once again; the smell of campfires, sounds of happy kids running around and friendly hellos from other campers. My family loves it here, especially the daily trips to see the farm animals for my little girl. Smiles all around!
Oct 07, 2013
Significant confusion over our reservation. Our site was moved without our knowledge causing us to relocate unexpectedly. Office staff, with one exception (Eddie), seemed overwhelmed and confused. Eddie was rock solid.
Oct 07, 2013
Always have a great time there!
Oct 07, 2013
Not a bad location or facility. It was just very crowded when we were there, and someone had removed the tables from our campsite, so there was a delay while they found some for us. Felt a little silly wearing wristbands, but I'm assuming they've had security problems in the past and are trying to deal with them.
Oct 07, 2013
Beautiful campground. Internet frustrating and almost non-existent.
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Lots cor the kids to do. Great pool. A bit expensive. Close to town. Close to the beach.
Oct 07, 2013
Stayed in a Kabin. Cute, clean. Fun bunk bed for our 5 year old. Bathrooms nice, clean. Facilities well kept. Recommend for parents with kids. Not woodsy though, lots of RVs. Only negatives were 1) check-in not until 3:00, check out at 11:00 (but they let us stay a few hours later, thanks) and 2) smell of cow manure near high # Kabins (campgroud borders on a pasture)
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 06, 2013
SF tour was great! Friends recommended it and they were right. Donna was excellent and very informative.
Oct 06, 2013
I have been on a 4 week road trip staying at different KOA's the entire way. Simply put, this was the nicest campground yet. Granted, I still have 4 more weeks to go, but I will be hard pressed to find a nicer facility :-)
Oct 06, 2013
Oct 05, 2013
Oct 05, 2013
thanks for a great stay. The tour to San Francisco was incredable probably the best we have ever been on. Your staff was great in helping two newbies get settled, and helping us put the unit in your storage yard. Your staff definitely went above and beyond our expectations.
Oct 05, 2013
We came to see the City of San Francisco. We enjjoyed the tour with John he was great!! Only neg is the office told us the Science Museum was closed due to shut down and it wasn't. I think they should check facts before giving info.
Oct 05, 2013
Great place
Oct 05, 2013
third time here and still the same pleasure. very clean and well organized. Nice people and friendly atmosphere.
Oct 05, 2013
Oct 04, 2013
Staff was very helpful with maps&tours. The San Francisco tour with John was outstanding.
Oct 04, 2013
Oct 03, 2013
The store is well-stocked with practical items. The bathrooms were clean. The staff was professional and friendly.
Oct 03, 2013
Oct 03, 2013
A little too big a campground for us.
Oct 03, 2013
Could use some updating. / maintenance
Oct 02, 2013
Nice park. Very clean. Great stuff for kids
Oct 02, 2013
We stayed here earlier this summer and had a good time although our space was busy near a bathroom so when some friends said they would be there this past wknd chose our spot thinking we would be off the beaten path. End of the road tent camping- we had the last site, so we thought, then on our 2nd night at about 930 pm 2 motor homes showed up taking an undesignated spot??? Not cool!!!!!!!
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
the first thing I noticed was the smell, I think someone was spreading fresh manure. the price of ice was a little much.but it was a place to get off the road for the night and we have only stayed at koa on our trip
Oct 01, 2013
We came for a vintage trailer rally. Nice grass, clean grounds, new bathrooms, peacocks wandering around. Friendly staff. You can smell horses if the wind changes and it can be rank, but overall it is a lovely campground.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.