San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 30, 2015
Aug 30, 2015
This is our absolute favorite KOA and we've been to a bunch!! Gorgeous site, lots of trees, super clean, safe and TONS of activities for the kids. One of the best things too is that activities are not just limited to the weekends. Lots of fun stuff every day!! And so much of it was included in the price of our stay!! WE LOVE PETALUMA KOA!!!
Aug 30, 2015
only stayed 1 night, our grandson had so much fun,lots of stuff for kids of all ages.we plan a return visit,will stay longer.
Aug 30, 2015
We camped in a tent and was very impressed with the set up. Close to all amenities and we loved the camp kitchen. Great for families but not recommended if you want a quiet spot for a tent.
Aug 30, 2015
Love love love this Koa! They treat you like family!!
Aug 30, 2015
Very disappointed upon my arrival to find out that we were in what they referred to as a "mystery" site that was used for overflow. There was no indication when we booked online that this was going to be the case nor was there any indication of a discounted rate. Our tent was pitched on an incline. We were very unhappy with our experience however the facilities were nice.
Aug 30, 2015
Well laid out. Restrooms nice and clean.
Aug 29, 2015
help was very friendly , lots of kids stuff and campground was kept very clean
Aug 29, 2015
We stayed for three nights four days. The overall campground is great. The staff is great but the real highlight was the tour to San Francisco, lead by John the tour guide. That was awesome he is a top notch professional!!!
Aug 28, 2015
Beautiful location and a lot of amenities . Our complaint is the space next to us was long term and the person was not staying there he had found an apartment. He had workers come and work on his RV to get it ready to sell. Car part cleaners,Obie RV repair so it was very loud with the generator machines, pounding and drills. When ask about this and person at the desk said it is OK
Aug 28, 2015
Will definitely be back, great place.
Aug 28, 2015
Great site, great facilities, great staff, great location. Awesome KOA!
Aug 28, 2015
Everything was nice.
Aug 28, 2015
You guys have it all figured out!!! Family fun activities, all the amentities you could dream of, and super friendly staff. This was our second experience at a KOA (first one was in Mansfield, Ohio) and it was a dream. We look forward to making it an annual event for our family of four. Thank you for a memorable vacation.
Aug 28, 2015
very clean and well taken care
Aug 28, 2015
Wonderful place for our 9 year old grandson. He was a pro on the climbing wall. Excellent for biking.
Aug 28, 2015
The entire staff was awesome, especially if the San Francisco tour guide, John, totally went out of the way to give us a wonderful time. The campground was clean, well organized, just awesome! !! Should get 10 stars! Great job folks.
Aug 28, 2015
Always a blast. Super clean, friendly staff, great amenities. Our kids love this KOA.........and we've been to a lot of them!
Aug 27, 2015
Aug 27, 2015
Aug 27, 2015
it was a great time met alot of nice people and my son loved it and i loved the fact he was never bored we will be back again
Aug 27, 2015
I can't believe that you charge an extra $10 to guarantee a site. It was a mad house there and the management didn't seem to care. Your prices are over the top $84 and then $10 more if you want to guarantee the site. Very stressful weekend! Never again.!!
Aug 27, 2015
It was the worst experience of my life. The check in was terrible. I was told that out of the three days that I had reserved for, I would have to move to the site next to ours after the first night. When we got there, the gal checking us in said that she had no idea which site we would have to move to. It turns out that they charge an extra $10 to hold a site. What a rip off. Never again!!
Aug 27, 2015
Aug 27, 2015
Really loved most everything about this KOA--jumping pillow, karaoke, the kids dance party, etc. The only flaw, and it's a big one, was when we needed a jump start to leave our spot and check out. At most campgrounds, even State/Federal ones, a kind ranger will come by and help out. When I attempted to get help at this KOA, I was told it was a $20 fee! Nickel-and-dime: NOT COOL
Aug 27, 2015
We have a new favorite space (30)! So enjoy our stays at Petaluma KOA. Beautiful campground, friendly & helpful staff, and great laundry facilities. The pool is great, too. Thank you!
Aug 26, 2015
Would have given 5 stars but they allow large and very noisy groups to congregate at one cabin :-( Otherwise it's well run and clean.
Aug 26, 2015
We stayed here for a week as our base for exploring San Francisco and Napa /Sonoma Valleys. Nice treed sites. Took the SF tour and would recommend that to any first timers to the city it was fun,informative and took in all of the highlights. Only downside was the bathrooms could use updating
Aug 26, 2015
The campground was crowded and noisy. Kept up by neighbors partying until 2 a.m. only to be woke up by a neighbor revving his Harley at 6 a.m. A family friendly place but not a place to stay if you're looking for some peace and quiet.
Aug 26, 2015
good location, very clean toilets and bathrooms, nice kids playground and pool. Good to have a children farm
Aug 26, 2015
Petaluma KOA has great amenities, kids watched TV shows don't get at home, but forced them outside. Arcade, park area fun, liked dog park. Cabin neighbors loud late at night, but slept OK. Guest illness closed pool; KOA extended checkout to 1pm since pool reopened 11am on checkout day. Not place to go for peace & quiet, but ideal location. Thanks!
Aug 26, 2015
Wonderful place! We plan to return a lot.
Aug 26, 2015
very bussy and noisy with uncontrolled dog barking. very expensive. staff is pleasant and it is convenient to san fransisco.the spaces are very nice and well kept.
Aug 26, 2015
We took the tour of San Francisco through the KOA. Very well worth it. John was our guide and kept it very interesting & fun!!! Might even do it again if we get to come back.
Aug 26, 2015
I can't think of anything to improve on you guys got it going. Open up one in Sac. area we need one. Please
Aug 26, 2015
Wifi needs to be improved
Aug 25, 2015
Had a great time with lots of family and friend on our annual group camping trip. We will be back !
Aug 25, 2015
Deluxe/Cabins were beautiful. Bathroom locks were not working. We were not comfortable using the bathroom. Some of the staff not friendly.
Aug 25, 2015
This is a great place for families but not for retired folks just looking for a comfortable place to stay for a few nights. We also had difficulty finding a site level enough for our 38 ft motorhome.
Aug 25, 2015
Had a great time, cant wait to come back!
Aug 25, 2015
Friendly, clean, good playground, space enough and distance to neighbors fair. Good for trip to outlet, petaluma downtown, napa valley and also San Francisco.
Aug 25, 2015
It was fun and nice first time experience.
Aug 25, 2015
Very nice campground with allot to do for families. The San Francisco tour is awesome and the driver John gave the best tour I've been on. Awesome staff.
Aug 25, 2015
Great for families. Plenty to do. Fun pool parties. Worth the KOA premium price.
Aug 25, 2015
I won't recommend this KOA for many reasons. A) Tent spots were in the side of the road B) It was busy like ever seen C) It was loud and dogs were barking all evening long and worse it started at 5AM D) only two restrooms for the number of people was a bit short. Positive note is that the shower were not busy, could be because of the code.
Aug 24, 2015
We had a wonderful time, just like we always do. The grounds are clean and staff is friendly and helpful. We especially like all the fun activities for kids. Thanks!
Aug 24, 2015
We had an amazing time. This was our first time "camping" and the kids first time to northern California. I learned about KOA via Undercover Boss the show. So glad we chose you over a hotel!
Aug 24, 2015
good value. Great for kids and families.
Aug 24, 2015
We didn't have any children but thought the KOA did a great job with kid activities. The KOA is respectful of those without children by adhering to the 10pm quiet time.
Aug 24, 2015
Amazing program of children's facilities and all-day activities. This location is perfect, therefore for families, but can become noisy. Extremely well run, overall.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.