San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 26, 2015
We have been coming to your KOA for 15+ years there have been great improvements. We really love Lyle's pool parties, Kaeroke & dance party. Would like to recommend u have less long term tenants during memorial weekend & summer months as they take up some of the prime RV spots and that doesn't allow families to get spots together. Keep tenants in back area near storage only
May 26, 2015
Highly recommended. Lots of scheduled activities for the kids. Lyle's pool party and karaoke is amazing not only the kids are having a great time but the adults are equally having fun! Very clean koa. Staff is friendly. Nice dog park. Best place to stay!
May 26, 2015
Great stay, we love coming back every year. I recommend cutting the lower 10 feet of branches off the trees by the playground - older kids climbing can get hurt. Also, have a real scavenger hunt for younger kids at night...find a cheerio, a q-tip, etc...
May 26, 2015
Woody and his team are exceptional. One of a kind KOA!
May 26, 2015
We had a great time! Thanks!
May 26, 2015
Kerokee way too noisy and late. Awful.
May 26, 2015
great KOA I have told everyone we love it there we made reservations for next year
May 26, 2015
very well maintained and well spaced out. Great service and friendly staff. It is a large campground though with lots of activity when full.
May 26, 2015
Always a good time very clean KOA and friendly people
May 26, 2015
This is a wonderful park to stay at. We stayed long term and really felt at home here. The only downside was during the busy weekends. We really like calling a place home and felt like the weekends that got really busy we felt a little overwhelmed. But the staff is friendly, the petting zoo was a real draw for my son and the park was quiet at night.
May 26, 2015
Memorial day weekend...4 nights=$400 to stay. I think that's outrageous since Friday nights festivities were completely cancelled for the kids, park is so packed you can barely walk around, and staff are policing you every time you turn around. Not a good time. Best part was the DJ and his pool party, karaoke, and parties for the kids. Permanent campers are mixed with all the others should NOT be.
May 26, 2015
Our 4th trip here and once again it beat our expectations. By far our favorite things are the pool party, karaoke, petting farm, mining, beautiful park, and the face painting! We unfortunately only had one issue that was our neighbors were quite loud. We did ask them to be quiet around midnight the first night and they moved their camp party across the street so they did fix the problem.
May 26, 2015
We were there in a tent, negative: too many people, pool cold, campsite slanted and tiny, too bright- light of cabin next door and streetlamp, many things cost extra + sites:arts, activities, campstore jumphouse, playground, hot tub, clean restrooms, good staffing, movie night.
May 26, 2015
Petaluma is one of our favorite KOAs and we have stayed at various ones throughout the country. The kids love the activities and we love the close proximity to Napa and Sonoma. We are moving from California and sad to say goodbye (for now) to Petaluma and our fun times at the KOA.
May 26, 2015
I was lied to. I was told only 4 people were allowed on each site, so I paid for 3 sites for 10 people. We didn't use 1 site, so I wasted almost $200! (The people next to us had at least 10 people on one site!) As a KOA member, I was trying to follow the rules. Instead, I was penalized. Also, the bathroom was not kept clean. When we requested toilet paper from an employee (Ross), he was rude!
May 26, 2015
Very pleased with counter staff. Needed adjustment to Value card pts and they handled it! Disappointed with the age and # of kids in the hot tub. I thought the CA state law states must be 14 yrs & a max. #. Nothing posted. Also, unable to get SF Giants game on Direct TV. Campground overrun with kids on holiday weekend! Great place for families though. Lots of activities going on all the time.
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
My family and I loved it and cannot wait to go again!
May 26, 2015
*
May 26, 2015
Been staying here for 5 + years have never been disappointed. Kids have a blast every time and parents get a break because they are always entertained!
May 26, 2015
The campground was completely full this weekend, and also fully staffed with friendly people. Makes all the difference!
May 26, 2015
We stayed here for it's location near San Francisco. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The park was fairly easy to navigate.
May 26, 2015
Though the facility is nice. There were too many unsupervised minors and about 100 people a day walked through my campsite to get to the restroom instead of going around. Restrooms very well maintained. Pricey for a KOA !!!
May 26, 2015
the campground is run very well by exlence team members. camp spaces are very clean and restroom are vert clean
May 25, 2015
very humbling Child orientated and will visit Koa again
May 25, 2015
Great KOA in a beautiful location. Of course it was packed with families for the Memorial Day holiday. As busy as they were, staff was great too.
May 24, 2015
great staff the staff there was wonderful the bad part the park is very old needs updating some serious updating.
May 24, 2015
I thought the cabin was beautiful and extremely comfortable! For the price difference next time we will choose to use the community bathrooms, they were very clean! Great way to stay in the relaxing camping feeling with all the amenities of home.
May 23, 2015
May 23, 2015
Huge pile of mulch in our site, obstructing patio area, value to price was not worth it.
May 23, 2015
Great way to introduce camping to our three year old. Lots of fun things for him to see and do. Everything was clean and there seemed to always be a large staff on hand to assist and care for the grounds.
May 22, 2015
I was very impressed with the activities that they offered.
May 22, 2015
We assumed that a sewer connection was included (we're novice trailerites) and found out we did not have one...very disappointed. That should have been mentioned when we booked. Other than that...a nice stay
May 22, 2015
We picked this KOA because of the location to wine country and it was perfect! Staff was very helpful and we had a great time
May 21, 2015
May 21, 2015
This review may not reflect the true character of this KOA as we were there during a special event. That being said, there were some issues. 1) "Quiet Hours" seemed to be very...flexible. 2) WiFi clearly not up to the task of a full camp. 3) Not nearly enough bathrooms/showers for the number of sites/people. AND...parents, control your children and teach them some manners.
May 21, 2015
The day we took the San Francisco tour John the tour guide was the best. The ground were outstanding.
May 21, 2015
Cleanest restrooms we've ever seen! The staff was very helpful and friendly. The spots are large and shaded.
May 20, 2015
No doubt that it's a fun place for kids but we found that the quiet hours on the campground was not enforced and there were groups partying until 3 AM and keeping everyone else up. We would've appreciated closer follow-up to enforce your policy.
May 20, 2015
This KOA is well run and nicely maintained. Very good security.
May 20, 2015
Enjoyed the hot spa and the clean restrooms.
May 19, 2015
While this park has great potential, we've stayed in park for low rates with nice level pads of asphalt or cement. Our site was located next to a road and we had some traffic early. Many sites are not-level and gravel, among shade trees. Facilities were some of the best we've seen and very clean.
May 19, 2015
May 19, 2015
This is a really nice park. There is some distance between each site, not like some RV parks where you're right up against your neighbor. Lots of things for children to do here.
May 19, 2015
I can't say enough about this place. This was the first time experiencing a KOA and I'm telling myself and others why didn't I know about this place sooner. Beautiful lay-out, superb staff. We're definitely coming back. Thanks everyone.
May 19, 2015
May 19, 2015
Awful customer service.Stuff will go wrong, its about how you deal with it when it does. We had an internet access issue for 5 days and were consistently told it was our problem, other campers had no issues, go use it at the nearest Starbucks if you need it... When they eventually accepted they did have a problem it wasn't fixed before we left. No apology, no compensation offered, no clue!
May 19, 2015
Best KOA we have seen. Also the biggest. Very nice place.
May 19, 2015
Staff was friendly, professional and spoke more than one language. The grounds and facilities were clean and beautiful. Dog park, pool, jump pillow, petting zoo, etc... What a wonderful place!
May 18, 2015
Everyone was friendly (which is hard to do on Mother's Day Weekend). Very clean, inviting place. We were there for our son's wedding in Sonoma.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.