San Diego Metro KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9877

Info: 619-427-3601

Email

111 North 2nd Avenue

Chula Vista, CA 91910

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 29, 2016
Great location, clean facilities, easy check in....only drawback was the lack of any enforcement of quiet hours. Both nights had kids screaming, while playing at playground, at midnight. Tried to call to remedy the situation, but Noone is available at that hour.
Jul 29, 2016
Worst camping experience of my life. Will never stay at a KOA again. Under a freeway, dirty, over crowded and so many other issues. The manager or owner wouldn't even talk to me or call me.
Jul 28, 2016
We bring our family to Metro KOA and they love to play on the jumping pillow, train, the pool, playgrounds and so much more. We are looking forward to the new beach pool. Love how you continue to add improvements and how clean you maintain everything. Waiting for a buy one get a free night coupon in the mail we were told was coming because we are trying to plan our next trip to Metro. Thank you.
Jul 26, 2016
The staff was polite and helpful. The ammenities were in excellent condition, and the location was convenient. Thankyou for the simple solution to our lodging needs!
Jul 26, 2016
We had a great stay, the property is well maintained and all the staff were amazing.
Jul 26, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
We had a wonderful time there!!!! Did not want to leave... The staff and service was fantastic, and there was plenty to do there!!!!
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Great place for a Staycation. Plenty of amenities for the kids!
Jul 24, 2016
My family and I enjoyed our stay very much. Great facility! If ever camping in San Diego again would likely stay there. Now if something could be done about the crows that come in around 5:00 am in the morning squawking and making noise it would be perfect. Friendly staff, very helpful. Showers & restroom always clean which was a big plus.
Jul 23, 2016
great and safe place to stay with the family.
Jul 23, 2016
Nice resort. Staff is friendly and polite. Plenty for the kids to do for a day or two. The freeway is no bother. It's crowded with little to no privacy; not my idea of tent camping. I'll stay at KOAs only when I want to insure my son will have other kids to play with. * Order your firewood at check-in. It takes at least 20 minutes for them to deliver it to your site.
Jul 23, 2016
I have been staying here since I was about 10 Years old now I can bring my kids and they love it!
Jul 22, 2016
The camp is very kid friendly but the adults after 10:00 the noise was loud and kept on until sometimes 2:00 in the morning. There needs to be more of a patrolled by staff after hours.We had two camp site that were extremely noisy out of the tree we were in. other than that we really liked the stay.
Jul 22, 2016
A nice and cozy place that is children friendly. A great place to stay if you are exploring San Diego. If you look at a map, it is close to a freeway, but we slept in a tent and there were no troubling sleeping.
Jul 22, 2016
KOA was a beautiful campground and had clean facilities and was super easy to find. Great staff and helpful with touristy questions. Only downside is that we couldn't stay longer! Definitely recommend and would come back again!
Jul 22, 2016
Nice , clean , safe for kids, you advertised free Wifi but it was very very poor, i had to use my own Data, which was not in my plans to use them
Jul 22, 2016
Clean, good staff, little loud at times, lots of kids activities.
Jul 19, 2016
It was wonderful. My son and I will be back and I have already recommended you to a few friends and family. Hope to see you soon.
Jul 19, 2016
This was our 3rd yr in a row staying a the SD KOA.We enjoyed the quiet family oriented campground and the staff is very friendly.We arrived when the bikes were suppose to be turned in, but the worker stayed after closing hrs to let us ride. No tokens/money for showers. There is a cute barrel train ride for free. The only negative comment I have is there were tons of mosquitoes!Bites all over us
Jul 18, 2016
Website needs to be updated with better descriptions of the tent sites including ambient noise. They need to be described as INTERIOR or EXTERIOR. The exterior, non economy sites still have so much noisy from the nearby freeway. It's not like camping at all. QUIET TIME needs to be better enforced. Our neighbors on both sides were up well past 2am with loud conversations and roaring fires.
Jul 18, 2016
It was an amazing time
Jul 18, 2016
I'm a chulavista resident I live a few blocks away from KOA. I have a couple of negative remarks about this camp #1 KOA wanted to charge me $70.00 bucks more for Thursday on a tent site when most of the tent sites where not occupied, they said that the reason for it being so high is because they consider Thursday a weekend day. #2 why can't I reserve a site when I offer to pay for my site in full
Jul 18, 2016
This campground was very nice.There's lots of activities and plenty of shade. The location isn't great, but close to everything in SD. My only complaint is that the showers and bathrooms need serious attention. Toilets back up easily and mold in the showers. Shower heads are super short, too!
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Really professional. But tentsites very close to eachother and very noisy.
Jul 17, 2016
The staff was kind and extremely helpful, I love all the activities they have planned for the kids. This is the reason we come to the campground. It is hard to drive with all the children whipping around and I do wish they would enforce quite hours, but beyond that a great place for family vacation!
Jul 16, 2016
Have been coming to this KOA for almost thirty years. Will continue to come.
Jul 16, 2016
Our family had a great time. Great activities for kids. Please keep them coming. This was our first time and we already made reservations to come back next month.
Jul 16, 2016
This is great for families. There are a lot of great activities. The area is beautiful and clean. We were there on a BUSY weekend and there were issues with running out of toilet paper and the pool filter wasn't able to keep up with all the swimmers. I would have liked a little enforcement of the quiet time as there were a few sites next to us that didn't stop being loud until about 12am.
Jul 16, 2016
The staff is friendly and helpful. The Safari tent was okay, not enough power to run the coffee maker, but otherwise comfy. The mosquitos were really bad
Jul 16, 2016
It's a great site with a ton of amenities but a little crowded.
Jul 15, 2016
We've camped here several times now and always a great place. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Kids activities are awesome. Can't wait to see their new pool area when constructed. Close to everything in San Diego.
Jul 15, 2016
Extremely crowded and restrooms a bit overloaded, but staff and facilities were great. Very well run facility. Thanks!
Jul 15, 2016
We had a great time at Koa. Nice and friendly environment.
Jul 15, 2016
While the grounds were fine, and the staff friendly, the birds were a huge nuisance. They woke us up at 5, and ruined our tent with their droppings. Our tent was covered in them. Covered. Call ahead to see if they still have the bird problem.
Jul 14, 2016
We stayed in the safari tent and were pleased with the space and kitchen supplies. There were 2 bedroom areas in addition to the main room. However, it could have been cleaner (especially the floors). The beds were very firm, so they were not that comfortable. Our children loved the bouncing pillows and the pool.
Jul 14, 2016
Great customer service! My family and I stayed in the safari tent and reserved 3 tent spots so that family could visit during the day. Pricy but very nice
Jul 14, 2016
We had a wonderful time. We enjoyed everything the camp had to offer. My kids always had something to do which we appreciated!
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
honestly i would stay again if i had an rv. the tent site was ok. But the birds are beyond noisy really like shockingly noisy. The traffic above us was also herd every morning along with planes. but all things that might not have bothered me if i was in an rv.
Jul 12, 2016
Every team member wore that yellow shirt proudly. Everyone was willing to help. Common grounds are always clean... And when it was almost about to be bad, there was already someone there ready to pick up. We were a party of 30 and were asked to be quiet after quit time. Even then, they were courteous and kind. Truly enjoyed our stay!
Jul 12, 2016
Our kids had so much fun. A beautiful campsite, very clean, and great staff.
Jul 11, 2016
Loved the activities, loved the cleanliness and positive staff members.
Jul 11, 2016
The only real bad thing we experienced were the annoying crows and their sounds at 4am through 5:30-6am.
Jul 11, 2016
We had a great stay!! Tent sites were a little tight, but that is to be expected at campground so close to to the city. So many fun activities for families!!
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
The staff, location, appearance, cleanliness, and quality were all better than I expected. Would definitely refer people to stay at any KOA nearest to where they would like to camp.
Jul 11, 2016
We enjoyed the stay in KOA san diego. It was nicely organized. However, there were too many crows there and my tent had a lot of droppings in the morning which was disappointing.
Jul 10, 2016
Well my reservation was to be a three night stay and they messed that up and only 2, and then the person who helped me messed up and it was a big mess!!! So instead of adding an additional night, she made it to where I would check out Friday morning and return Saturday????? So it was a mess, then they accomadated me with a large tent room but i had to pay the difference for there mistake!😖
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award