San Diego Metro KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9877

Info: 619-427-3601

Email

111 North 2nd Avenue

Chula Vista, CA 91910

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jun 20, 2017
We always love our stay there! Looking forward to the new pool being built!
Jun 20, 2017
We visit every year and always have a great time. The camp is clean and has lots of activities for kids.
Jun 19, 2017
Enjoyed being in a Family site which is way in the back and nice and quiet.
Jun 19, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
Great, the only things I thought of that the general store could use was cast iron pans. We forgot ours and had to improvise but if you had them for sale we would've bought one. Also a stamp for the date and the campsite location so they don't have to do it by hand.
Jun 19, 2017
My family had an amazing time. There is a ton of things to do there, we loved it!
Jun 19, 2017
Workers are friendly,and we like what's offered for kids - the arcade, swimming pool, barrel rides, etc. We are disappointed with the quality of the non-electric tent sites, where we found persistent ants, light and noise pollution, and a single water tap which has, for many months now, sprayed out with an unusable force as if someone has put a stick in it. The price for tent sites is too high.
Jun 18, 2017
My group and I spent two night at KOA. The staff was very friendly, they were really nice for us. The cabins were clean, tent site has full shade. My group enjoyed two nights at the KOA. The place was very secure. I would like to recommend you to have a vacation with KOA!!!! I'll visit KOA again!
Jun 17, 2017
Good time with the dogs out camping. My only recommendation would be that large groups have a separate area, as the noise and excessive use of KamperKitchen is very annoying.
Jun 17, 2017
Love this place!!! Kids love it also!!!
Jun 15, 2017
Johnathan who was at the train ride, entertained my kids and me by doing magic AND by teaching the kids how he did it. I was very impressed. Everyone I encountered was polite and very nice. I had a great time. My husband just thinks the cost was too high, therefore I didn't give you 5 stars, but we had a great time. CLEAN BATHROOMS!!!! AWESOME! I'd totally go back.
Jun 14, 2017
Campground is very well equipped and maintained. Very clean. Staff is really friendly. The location is practical for exploring San Diego and the beaches. Shops are at walking distance. Main drawback is the freeways nearby. Some campsites are really close to the freeway and there is a continuous noise from the freeway.
Jun 13, 2017
My family and I are very thankful that a staff member and manager made accomodations for us to change tent campsites that provide more shade than the ones assigned previously.
Jun 13, 2017
Campground and staff exceeded expectations! Watching a great live band and having local beer on tap was such a surprise! Can't wait to visit again!
Jun 12, 2017
Pros: convenient location, friendly staff, free activities, feels safe, clean bathrooms Cons: expensive, tiny tent sites that are way too close to those around you, some communication issues with front desk, too many activities require paying additional to participate
Jun 12, 2017
Jun 11, 2017
2 staff members were helpful but the other I felt were unenthused and a couple bordered on rude. The grounds themselves were well maintained. It would have been nice to know that a few of the tent sites were 100 from a bridge overpass. Also the site measurements were very inaccurate.
Jun 10, 2017
Came to KOA to camp. Was met with a welcoming and friendly person upon checking in. Campground was well maintained and amenities were great as well. Look forward to my next stay.
Jun 09, 2017
They took good care of me. My truck battery died and I bought a self storage battery jumper that needed to be charged overnight. Don in guest services took care of it for me, and the truck started right up the next morning.
Jun 07, 2017
My friends and I had a great time in our tent site. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Facilities were clean and appeared well maintained. Location to points of interest in San Diego was great!
Jun 05, 2017
We had lots of fun! Despite being in the middle of the city, one gets the feeling of a far away camping vacation - we all enjoyed it very much! The place is clean and offers plenty of activities for all family members!! Thank you!! :)
Jun 04, 2017
Jun 04, 2017
Such a wonderful campground! We will be back.
Jun 02, 2017
Stay was wonderful. We stayed at the group campsite for 12 people. Few things to improve: Parking - Not enough parking for 3 cars per campsite Security folks drive every few minutes right next to the campsite throughout the night.
May 31, 2017
Love camping here. We've been coming over 26 years. Seems we need more bathrooms.
May 31, 2017
Have been coming every Memorial Day weekend for over 25 years. Brought our kids, now bring our grand kids.
May 30, 2017
Always a great time. Love SD KOA.I've stayed in a lot of KOA and your the best. Nice to see Clint & staff.
May 30, 2017
We have been going here for years it is by far the best place to go. So much to do. Helpful staff
May 30, 2017
packed cheek by jowl but was as advertised quiet by 10:30, definitely not by 10 pm quiet hours clean bathrooms awesome showers Kamp kitchen was convenient great for families shade coverage was good
May 30, 2017
May 30, 2017
I really enjoyed the amount of things for kids to do. The common kitchen area provided a nice place to meet and cook with other families. Met some very cool people and the kids did as well. Close to beaches too.
May 30, 2017
We had everything we needed. I do think restrooms are a little far. With kids it is a distance to walk at night when they need to use the restore.
May 27, 2017
Great tent space and clean bathrooms!
May 23, 2017
Site was clean. Check in was fast. Limited amount of activities. Had to leave early but received no credit or partial refund.
May 22, 2017
All was great very clean and quite. The young lady at the front desk seemed like we were bothering her,but that's ok,we had a great time!
May 21, 2017
My family enjoyed all the activities available and the grounds were beautiful!
May 21, 2017
Best KOA yet! You guys rock!
May 19, 2017
I loved that it is a family and pet friendly place. Can't wait to go back:)
May 17, 2017
My family and I loved it except for one thing. The service you provide to clean the RV's is very noisy and took away from the peace and quiet from the campground. This service should not be done there in the midst of the campers. Those that were sleeping in could not and the noise continued for hours. Those that want their RV's power washed and polished should take their RV's elsewhere on grounds.
May 17, 2017
May 16, 2017
Was not happy to learn that i paid for full hook ups on a tent site and had to buy an adapter to use the hook up because it wasnt made for regular plugs also had to share the water hook ups with 4 other camp sites. Im not sure what happened or why i had to pay for full hook ups if thats not what i recieved.
May 16, 2017
Great amenities, friendly staff!
May 16, 2017
We love it here! Lots to do with the kids, cafe has great food, clean, quiet and staff is very nice!
May 16, 2017
Very clean in ALL areas! Great activities. Clean pool. Food was great! Employees were very nice and helpful!
May 16, 2017
first time staying at Koa San Diego. unbelievable. from friendly family oriented to super clean. Showers and bathrooms extremely clean. kids run freely and safe. cant wait to book again. Thank you for your great hospitality.
May 16, 2017
My review is very mixed. Although we did have a good time during our visit, I would not recommend KOA to family or friends for the following reasons; 1- Way too crowded! I'm used to a camping experience where you bond nature and gaze at the open horizon. KOA was packed with cars bumper to bumper. It was like a camping culdesac. 2- Noisy--no peaceful sounds of nature... more like horns, and yelli
May 15, 2017
I have brought my family to San Diego Koa 2-3 times a year for the last 22 years. It has been great fun every time!!
May 15, 2017
We had a fabulous time! The staff so friendly and my kids loved the activities! We'd def do again!!
May 15, 2017
Had an amazing time for Mother's Day Weekend. It was our first stay and looking forward to coming back soon. Only issue I had was someone's dog pooped on the sidewalk and it looked like someone had stepped in it. I informed the office and another staff. They said they would take care of it. The next day it was still there. Other than that it was a great time. Lots of activities. Thank you
May 15, 2017
My family and I had a relaxing and funtastic stay here. We will be back very soon
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award