San Diego Metro KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9877

Info: 619-427-3601

Email

111 North 2nd Avenue

Chula Vista, CA 91910

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2016
we had issues with our fridge and ants and maintenance was so there so fast and solved our issues very quickle. had a blast, kids didnt want to leave. Thank KOA san Diego
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
- close to downtown san diego - many big rv's / trailers around our spot, which we did't like that much - very friendly and helpful staff - pool area could be cleaner
Aug 08, 2016
Clean and safe location. After hours staff checked us in and got us into our site easily. Camping store seemed a little high for having a grocery store on the corner just outside the campground. Came to see SD so didn't spend a lot of time in the campground but met all our needs.
Aug 08, 2016
Wonderful place to stay . A ton of activities for the kids. Close to the beach. This will be our family campsite for years to come
Aug 08, 2016
Really kids friendly our family had a great time.
Aug 08, 2016
It was crowded. We arrived after dark and it was hard to find our spot as they were not clearly marked.
Aug 08, 2016
Having the onsite restaurant is the best idea. However, Stick to simple foods don't need fancy hamburgers just simple In and out types.
Aug 07, 2016
Very good services in this KOA, but this is not really my cup of tea (prefer campgrounds in the nature or National parks); this explains why i would come back or recommend it.
Aug 07, 2016
Tents were really close to one another but other guests were pretty quiet. What is with the crows in the morning?!they were so loud! Shower heads were low and a couple of them were broken. Overall, tons of fun things to do and really well maintained. We loved it! Make sure you know what's happening there as there were really good specials at the cafe. Great food!
Aug 07, 2016
Our stay was great but the wifi was horrid. Campground was fantastic but it was hard driving through it as kids on bicycles and campground rentals did not watch out for vehicles or drive cautiously. Had them turn right in front of us, come bombing out if lanes etc. Was a little harrowing
Aug 07, 2016
In general it was great and I will be back. would like to see the rules inforced a little better noise after hours people watching children better maybe have a time when kids are not allowed at the pool some places I have stayed had certain hours for adults only.
Aug 07, 2016
It was okay. I am not use to camping so close to people. The neighbors smoke nearly choked us out a few times. Their grill was in the front of the camp. Our grill was in the back of our camp site. Some of the KOA workers sprayed an unknown bug killer on our table legs and chairs without our permission. We were never told the name of the poison either. Location was this KOA's salvation!
Aug 07, 2016
This is an excellent place to camp with the children. We were able to see San Diego attractions, then our children had so much to do at KOA we cancelled some of our plans because our kids did not want to leave.
Aug 07, 2016
We always have a great time at the San Diego KOA. This was a quick overnighter so sadly we missed out on all their fun activities. Family friendly and in my case very dog friendly.
Aug 07, 2016
It was great except the wifi was terrible. Couldn't get on the whole stay!
Aug 06, 2016
Love the camp ground workers very helpful and friendly!! We will be back!
Aug 06, 2016
Our stay was good, the facility is very nice, but I really think it is quite dangerous to allow the children riding the rental bikes to ride without helmets or rules. They were all over the roads, wouldn't move out of the way and really in my opinion were at great risk of injury. Even our 5 year old grandson commented on it. I am really surprised that there has not been a major accident.
Aug 06, 2016
We've stayed at a lot of KOAs....this one is by far the best. Clean, friendly, safe, and FUN! You never even have to leave the campground to have a great vacation!
Aug 06, 2016
You say that you have free internet but the quality is so poor that it really is unusable. Time to upgrade your internet
Aug 06, 2016
It was everything we hoped it would be and more. The kids loved the kampgrounds more than anything we did on our vacation.
Aug 06, 2016
We had a mini family get away and the San Diego KOA was the perfect place for us to stay. We rented one of the deluxe cabins on site and our kids LOVED every minute of their stay. The bikes, pool, jumping pillows, and rock climbing allowed them to get their energy out every day. We were about 20 minutes from Petco Park, Old Town San Diego and the mission. The staff was friendly, cabin clean.
Aug 06, 2016
We chose this kampground since they advertised with their wifi, and we needed that for planning our road trip. The wifi didn't work at all because it was too crowded the reception told us..
Aug 06, 2016
We have camp at this site most of the last 10 years. It gets better each time however a bit crowded.
Aug 06, 2016
Great place to stay. Quiet and lots of shade trees, you don't realize you're in the middle of San Diego.
Aug 06, 2016
Being from Arizona we loved sleeping with the windows open, sitting in the shade with a cool breeze blowing and being able to take a cold shower. We had a small fire each night and enjoyed being in town but you don't feel like you are in town until you drive out of the camp.
Aug 06, 2016
Site was clean. Access was easy to ingress and egress.
Aug 06, 2016
Overall stay was good but they didn't tell us about the sprinkler going on at night. It made a lot of our stuff wet even some of the kitchen stuff. And also when I came back from the bathroom, I couldn't get into the cabin for awhile because the water was spraying too much. I even took a picture when it stopped. The ground was flooded and got my feet wet as well. They shouldon't have told us.
Aug 06, 2016
Aug 06, 2016
Great place! Clean bathrooms and showers with a ton of amenities. The kids stayed entertained all week. Highly recommended.
Aug 06, 2016
We have stayed here before. My kids love it here. During this last trip to California, I booked a few nights at a similar campground in San Diego. My 10 and 12 year old kids did not care for it. They begged is to go to KOA instead. It's always relaxing when they are enjoying themselves.
Aug 06, 2016
Very clean and courteous staff enjoyed it very much.
Aug 05, 2016
This is a great KOA. All employee's are friendly, The Sand Castle is a great addition, dont feel like cooking? go to the cafe (great food).
Aug 05, 2016
Aug 05, 2016
Aug 05, 2016
The only thing that found a problem was the men's restrooms located near the cabins they were plug very often.
Aug 05, 2016
Our family was very pleased with the hospitality the camp site offers. Our kids loved all of the great activities and how clean the the whole site is. We are definitely coming back by popular demand ( our kids)!!!
Aug 04, 2016
I understand it's "camping" in a cabin but cobwebs everywhere inside the cabin on the walls. Besides that - the KOA site was nice, staff was super nice, park area very clean. Would definitely stay there again.
Aug 04, 2016
Did not like our space. Too crowded and close. Most likely we will not return.
Aug 04, 2016
Every thing was great, nice and clean. The only negatives were it was very crowded and the spots were very close together. It was the priciest one we've stayed in but worth it due to the proximity to everything (15 min to the zoo).
Aug 04, 2016
wonderful KOA
Aug 04, 2016
Great staff. Tons of fun activities for the whole family. A fantastic place to stay whether you're in a tent, RV, or a cabin.
Aug 03, 2016
Aug 03, 2016
Overall, my stay was good; I did have problems with the breaker on our electric post dropping to "off" on site 6011; tried to explain to maintenance guy, he did not "get it". so for the time at this site, could not run a/c.
Aug 03, 2016
Aug 03, 2016
This was our first time kamping here. Our family of 3 had such a great time. Our son loved the jumping pillows, barrel ride, playground.Our stay exceeded our expectations. All staff were courteous and helpful. Food at the Sandcastle Café was delicious.We are already looking at our calendar to see when we can make another trip.Thank you for making our son's 11th birthday so memorable.
Aug 03, 2016
This is about our 7th stay at San Diego KOA. We love this KOA for a variety of reasons. They always have a great selection of activities daily. All the staff are very professional, helpful & courteous. The maintain the grounds and facilities. We enjoy seeing their improvements every year as well. This year in particular they consistently maintained their bathrooms.
Aug 03, 2016
We really enjoy staying in the cabins. They're a little pricy, would of liked to stay another night. They should offer a discount if you stay more than 2 nights.
Aug 03, 2016
We stayed in the economy site. Not the prettiest sites available but the amenities were great. This is a kid friendly environment. The breakfast at the cafe was very good and a convenient place to eat before heading out to the beach.
Aug 03, 2016
We had a great time. The staff was very friendly, and the camp ground was extremely clean. Lots of fun!!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award