San Antonio KOA

602 Gembler Road

San Antonio, TX 78219-1013

Reserve: 800-562-7783

Info: 210-224-9296

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Nov 15, 2014
Great facilities
Nov 12, 2014
We had a lot of fun. We weren't sure that our kids (ages 7, 7, and 3) would have as much fun at a KOA vs. a state park, but we ALL had a blast! And the bathrooms were always clean! I would love to camp there again.
Nov 03, 2014
Nov 02, 2014
Staff and property were a delight. Well stocked store. I would not recommend the city bus to ANYONE as we were on it and rode with gangbangers both in and out of town.
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 22, 2014
Oct 16, 2014
Nice campground, but not too friendly staff at the office.
Oct 14, 2014
need to better maintain tent sites - red ant hills everywhere and sites are not level. top notch location - my best so far
Sep 29, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
other than the picnic tables being infested with termites..they stay was great.bathrooms were clean and kids enjoyed pool. our neighbors were very loud after quiet time..woke up kids a few times
Aug 19, 2014
Huge canpsite and well mainted.but toilette is unisexual.
Aug 11, 2014
Arrived late first night, set up camp and was immediately informed by the park staff severe weather was coming. My daughter still approaching campsite after hours with her friends during the storm was hospitably welcomed and reunited with my grand daughter thru the brunt of the storm. The STAFF their RULES! Had 2 more nights of San Antonio heaven! Thanks guys! Love the trees!
Aug 04, 2014
This was my first time camping. I went with a hiking group. The staff in the office is friendly, very helpful to answer any questions, and the campground was perfect!
Aug 02, 2014
Loved this campground it was very clean quiet and relaxing the only thing i recommend to anyone going to camp there is bring lots of bug spray the mosquitoes were crazy but other than that i loved the camp grounds
Jul 29, 2014
Bathrooms were filthy every time we used them (only cleaned once per day). There was unabashed drug use with campers openly seeking drugs from other campers. If we had our son with us, we would have left. Quiet time is supposed to start at 10pm. Campers were loudly partying well into early morning hours.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize about the issue you encountered. We do clean the restrooms thoroughly once a day but after that they are kept up as needed throughout the day. I will communicate to our overnight patrol that we need to make sure we are enforcing quiet time.
Jul 21, 2014
We love what you did to the restrooms in the Tenting area; however, we sometimes the water pressure was to low, almost a trickle. Also, the lights are too bright, anyway you can dim them a bit, other than that we enjoyed our stay. Been coming to your park since 1992!! Miss the ice cream social...
Jul 21, 2014
The welcome from your staff were very friendly and helpful. Your camp sites were great.
Jul 10, 2014
This was our best camping experience to date! Extremely clean facilities, really nice pool, fun playground for the kids, and friendly staff! We will definitely visit again!
Jul 09, 2014
Omg it was awesome first time for my grand kids they loved that pool I never spend so much time in a pool like we did these time out my own kids group camping there now the next generation must learn also we'll probably go out again before they head back to school thank you very much for such wonderful adventure they loved the movies as we'll
Jul 03, 2014
The camp is clean, well located, and well maintained. I had a great time, and I will probably camp there again when next I spend a weekend in San Antonio!
Jun 30, 2014
Gated!! Clean!! Quiet!! We camped for 5 nights and never had a single complaint about anything. Thanks!!
Jun 23, 2014
Nice and clean facility, quite in the tenting area, but the flies where terrible, every time we sat down to eat they would sworn in. Not much you can do. Pool area was nice, except every now and then you could smell the septic or sewage from the bathrooms. But overall nice place to stay.
Jun 16, 2014
We were hugely impressed with the facilities and amenities provided. My son and I had a great time camping in our tent at KOA, and we will definitely do it again!
Jun 14, 2014
Very clean facilities, kids loved the pool. The only issue was a nasty storm rolled in close to11 pm, camp staff did offer to let us move to a cabin but couldn't tell us if rate would be reduced or same? So we left.
Jun 12, 2014
except for the location, the neighbohood who didn't seem safe, everything was perfect. The staff was very nice, the tent site was large enough for all of us. Don't forget your repellent, the mosquitoes are awful.
Jun 12, 2014
Traveling with a Boy Scout troop and camped in your area. The campsite was great. It was close to the bathroom & showers. Really enjoyed the "Chuck Wagon" for breakfast. Great value. At our last scpout meeting where we reviewed the trip KOA was mentioned as one of the things they most enjoyed about the trip. Thank You.
Jun 03, 2014
Liked location, ac showers, convenience of store. Did not like loud campers at 2:30 & 3:00 am on 2 nights. They woke me both times & had a hard time getting back to sleep. Where was night patrol? Never had late night noise in a state park! Main complaint was mosquitoes. They were impervious to 2 kinds of off, flying insect killer, & citronella candles. After 4 nights, I counted 125 bites . Koa

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize about the noise factor.... We will touch base with our Overnight Patrol and make sure this doesn't happen again moving forward.
May 28, 2014
This is our second year staying at the KOA over Memorial Day Weekend. We have decided to make this an annual tradition. We are very pleased with the facilities and staff.
May 28, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Great staff, really friendly and helpful.
May 27, 2014
May 14, 2014
I ve camped my entire life, this is my first Texas camping experience (New England gal here). This is a great one. A rare find where campfire is allowed (per weather and drought issues of course) in this state! We were thrilled! Coming back again, for sure.
May 13, 2014
This property, like several other KOA's, has problems with its sewer system that affect the quality of a stay there. The odors around the bath houses and pool are substantial. The location on a back route to downtown that is on the money-saving busline is helpful.
May 12, 2014
This park is centrally located in San Antonio with plenty of access to shopping, resturants and events. The only drawback is the noise level from industrial parks, airplanes, and trains until early in the evening.
May 12, 2014
Wonderfual campground - friendly and clean campground. Quiet in the evenings. Clean bathrooms. Will be back again for sure.
May 06, 2014
Friendly service
Apr 28, 2014
Staff was helpful. Camp site was great! My kids had a great time at the pool.
Apr 26, 2014
Great camping, gated in and they have a great breakfast at the chuck waghon. Will stay here again when in the area
Apr 21, 2014
Bicycle Rider paradise. Clean from grounds to restrooms. Courteous service. Even decent prices on goods from the store. Quiet time is 10:00 PM. Not necessarily monitored at the cabins, as the polka music was running til past midnight at loud volume. Next time we'll insist on a "P" location rather then "K" but otherwise top rated.
Apr 18, 2014
Loved the open space. Having the bus stop right out front was a hugh plus. Unfortunately the ice machine was broken/unavailable during our stay. The staff was unapologetic and offered no suggestions on where to find ice.
Apr 11, 2014
Apr 07, 2014
Very friendly and clean ! Another great stay at a KOA !
Apr 01, 2014
Nicest KOA we have stayed at ever. Amazingly friendly staff. Gracious to tenters with lovely grassed tent sites backing a forested area. Very clean, modern bathrooms. Gary and Wanda at the Chuck Wagon serve up THE BEST home cooked breakfasts Wednesdays through Sundays and are such a sweet couple. Can't remember all the staff names but Russ and Steve were particularly welcoming and helpful.
Mar 30, 2014
Grate facilities. Clean. Safe environment. Grate location. The bike trail is awesome and it supper long.
Mar 25, 2014
Mar 24, 2014
wery good camping
Mar 22, 2014
Fantastic! A great place to take the family or a get away for 2. Fun things to do on site and great hospitality from staff! I was very impressed.
Mar 22, 2014
I was in a tent, and was given a beautiful, quiet, and somewhat private spot for my 2 nights. The park is very clean, quiet, and kept up very well. All of the staff are great! I'll be back!
Mar 19, 2014
I think they may need one more bathhouse for busy weekends.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.