Salinas / Monterey KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-541-0085

Info: 831-663-2886

Email

8710 Prunedale North Road

Salinas, CA 93907

Get Directions

RV Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 19, 2017
It was exciting. Some young campers a few doors down got in a fight by noon on the first day i was there. The police log stated he hit em with a gun. Wow I left my watch in the bathroom and was pleasantly surprised it was turned in. Thanks again The pool was awesome Jim
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Good location. Friendly staff. Old park that is difficult to get into in big rig.
Aug 16, 2017
Great location - easy access from the 101 and just a short drive to all the beach communities (Monterey/Carmel etc). Freeway noise is there but nothing terrible. Lovely lady at check in welcomed us with a smile and cookies. Nice heated pool and relaxation area. Restrooms and showers need some updating but it looks like they are working on that.
Aug 16, 2017
Wi-Fi was not working most of time. Cable didn't work, dog walk dangerous, One positive was pool
Aug 15, 2017
People were nice. I should have expected a concrete jungle in the bay area... The pool and play area were great! Maintenance could be improved - the fan in the restroom was not working and obviously not cleaned in years...
Aug 15, 2017
Place was nice and was able to accommodate my RV however the space was very narrow making it very difficult to get in out of the RV from my stairs.
Aug 15, 2017
First I requested A 50 amp site and was assigned a 30 amp but due to the moderate Temps it was ok . Second, during The night we lost all water. Thanks to having some water in our tanks, we had toilet and washing water. We left early and no water was available. Everyone's was asking about the Water situation.
Aug 15, 2017
We were in a back in stall with hedges on either side. That was nice for some extra privacy. There was no room for us to sit outside and enjoy the cooler weather. There was a picnic table at our site, but was behind our trailer on the hill we were not able to use. The bathroom/showers were very run down. The noise from the freeway is there, but not completely terrible. I will likely stay again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for sharing your experience. Though our park is small, we do have larger sites that may have made your visit more pleasurable. When you make your next reservation, allow our staff to help you select a site that will accommodate your party better. All the best.
Aug 14, 2017
NICE BACK-IN SITE, VERY FRIENDLY AT RECEPTION
Aug 14, 2017
The place seemed nice. We arrived late and only stayed the one night so we did not see much of the campground. The people in the office were great to deal with.
Aug 14, 2017
Clean campground. Warm pool and hot showers. Managers were fantastic. I would recommend this place if you want to drive 30 minutes to explore Monterey and the Aquarium.
Aug 14, 2017
This KOA is pretty run down. The bathrooms are very old and not clean. The grounds/landscape is mostly dirt or dried up grass. Last night we woke up to NO WATER. They did get it up and running rather quickly.
Aug 14, 2017
I drove from Fort Bragg to attend the races at Laguna Seca all the hotels in the area were booked so I decided to checkout the KOA. I made a two night reservation online and it asked me what type of camping rig I have and I selected van from the dropdown list, specified its length, number of campers one, and no pets. Upon my arrival I was informed that my vehicle was not acceptable.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so sorry your experience wasn't pleasant. The van selection is for camper vans that are self-contained units, not just automobiles. I am updating the information on our website to add more clarity to the issue.
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
The park was convenient to where we wanted to go, Monterey and Carmel. The spaces were tight and too close together. The bathrooms were old and in need of repair.
Aug 12, 2017
Wonderful campground for taking "daytrips" in the area. A lot of helpful amenities at the park. And stores close by for shopping. Park was clean.
Aug 09, 2017
Toilets are dirty and showes was dirty as well. Friendly staff and a nice pool.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry found our restrooms and showers in that condition. If you had brought it to our attention during your visit we would have taken care of it immediately. I hope your future kamping experiences meet your expectations and you kamp with us again in the near future. Thanks for sharing your experience. All the best.
Aug 08, 2017
The new managers are great loved Christmas in July
Aug 08, 2017
Great hosts! Clean grounds!!
Aug 07, 2017
Super friendly staff (Mr Smith), the site was great, Internet not so good at the back of the campground
Aug 06, 2017
Great place if you need a somewhere to stay over night or a couple of nights used as a base camp to visit surrounding areas. Office staff are really nice! Pool area is really nice! Location is great! However, sites are really tight. Would be nice if park was secured and gated. And laundry facility seemed to be tied up by long term residents. Maybe add additional laundry facility for RV guests.
Aug 06, 2017
We only stayed for one night. Got there at 830pm, and left at 630 the next morning. The site was big and fit our party very well. We had 2 trucks and a trailer, so we needed the biggest site possible, the staff at the office was able to accommodate us, by giving us the biggest site they had. Also, i was impresssed with the space available for being able to back in the trailer. Not all have that!
Aug 05, 2017
It's a nice place for one night stay. The people are very, very sweet. And they do funny things like X-mas in July :)). We've had a good breakfast!
Aug 05, 2017
Good location for us. Didnt really hear any traffic noise but we didn't stay at the site too much. Good price compared to other locations. Pool is great. It's heated so the kids really enjoyed it. Game room is nice. Didn't use laundry, showers or bathrooms so cannot comment to those. Cute little shop and front desk staff friendly.
Aug 04, 2017
Very friendly staff, nice pool, clean sites
Aug 02, 2017
I will never go back to this park again because the Owner & the Manager of the KOA Park don't know what the difference is between a tent & a EZ-UP POP-UP with sides because they had us take down our EZ-UP because they said it looked like a tent & they don't allow tents so I took it down & when I went to the office to talk to them about it they were rude and just didn't want to hear it that's sad!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you were unhappy about your stay. We did not have you take down your easy up but rather the tarps around it which turned it into a tent, which is what I explained to you. I hope your future camping experiences meet your expectations. All the best.
Aug 01, 2017
Surpassed our expectations. Great central location to visit Gilroy (Garlic Festival, Gilroy Gardens, Mt Madonna) as well as Monterey (Wharf, Aquarium). Great and Friendly Staff and Awesome Events.
Aug 01, 2017
I know they warn you about traffic noise, but it truly is LOUD! The good is the staff are friendly and accommodating, They planned fun activities and events for July. Cookie in arrival was yummy and welcomed, and their location is ideal to go to Monterey and the surrounding areas. Just really be aware the traffic from the highway is constant and noisy.
Aug 01, 2017
We were warned about the noise so we were happy with the site.
Jul 31, 2017
Our stay was nice but they are renovating a lot of the facilities so I am sure that it will look very nice in the near future. There was a chicken roaming around and she ended up in our camper when she was chased by two roosters at our campsite. Also was a feral cat meowing and roaming the campground.
Jul 31, 2017
The staff was very nice, the park was clean and my boys loved the pool and pool table. Yes, we could hear the freeway, but it didn't deter from the overall stay. Next time we come I'll be sure to reserve a back-in site rather than a pull through, just because they looked a little more homey. Overall a great value for the price!
Jul 30, 2017
The staff was exceptional! My only complaint is the limited availability of 50 amp sites.
Jul 30, 2017
Was alright till we were told to take our pop up down was the 5 day then was told to take it down Not happy
Jul 28, 2017
A great place! Will return! Friendly staff and nice accommodations close to Monterey.
Jul 26, 2017
Very clean, easy access, nice pool and game room for kids.
Jul 26, 2017
This is definitely NOT a campsite. This is a parking lot off the freeway. The bathrooms were disgusting,paint peeling off the walls the shower curtains dirty. I would NEVER go to this rv park again.
Jul 25, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
All staff members were great and very accommodating. What we didnt like was how cramped the sites were and that it was like a parking lot. Some folks couldn't even open there slides. Also could have has some activities for kids and adults at the pool for social gatherings. Management is changing so changes are in the works. Good location with regards to minimal distance to a lot of attractions,
Jul 24, 2017
Very nice people
Jul 24, 2017
Nice convenient location for Monterey and mission San Juan Bautista and don't miss Moss Landing Phil's fish market
Jul 23, 2017
Great store and rec room. The DVD library is good too. The grounds were very clean. The back in spots have great shade and the privacy hedges are fantastic!
Jul 22, 2017
Enjoyable
Jul 22, 2017
great staff great site clean, showers a little outdated
Jul 22, 2017
Nice location. Extremely helpful staff.
Jul 21, 2017
Clean, friendly, close to the highway this camp was a great stop along our California road trip. Loved waking up to the smell of eucalyptus trees
Jul 21, 2017
We found this spot last minute and they were able to accommodate us. The spot was tight, but enough. When we arrived, one of the staff took us to our spot and even helped us move our tow dolly and guided us as we backed into our spot. We were so impressed that he was so friendly. Closeness to the freeway didn't bother us, just the rooster in the houses behind our spot.
Jul 21, 2017
It was a business trip and did not spend much time at the site to give it a fair rating.
Jul 19, 2017
We read bad reviews re highway noise, and rundown grounds and restrooms. We were glad we decided to try it anyway and will definitely go back. The Monterey bay area was hit hard this winter but they have a lot of people working to get it back in shape. The highway noise diminishes at night and not a problem. The cable and wifi worked fine. The restrooms were clean. Great access to Monterey Bay.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals