Russell Springs KOA

1440 Highway 1383

Russell Springs, KY 42642

Reserve: 800-562-5617

Info: 270-866-5616

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

RV Reviews

Sep 28, 2015
Great pull thru RV sites. Entrance/Exit into the campground from state road needs to be widen. Hard to make a turn with a long RV or trailer without putting trailer wheels into the ditch. Campground workers and host were excellent.
Sep 23, 2015
Quiet, secluded and the staff are friendly and helpful.
Sep 22, 2015
Very nice family owned park,clean and tidy, friendly staff, sat on the little beach with a good book and rented a fishing boat from their marina.A bit hilly for big rigs, we were in a small travel trailer.
Sep 16, 2015
This KOA is in a beautiful setting. The roads are quite bumpy with sharp turns. Several sites were very uneven with deep ruts BUT it was a great stay with very friendly helpful people. We had a good time.
Sep 12, 2015
We have stayed here several times and think it is a great place to stay.
Sep 08, 2015
Great people Never any problems here
Sep 08, 2015
Great Stay
Sep 07, 2015
Sep 01, 2015
The lower lots are not level and difficult to get to and leave from.
Aug 29, 2015
Very quiet, clean and convenient. Friendly helpful staff.
Aug 26, 2015
Enjoyed our stay as usual,this is 3rd year same as always, really enjoyed the bluegrass festival, good music,people & food. Lots of talent there, hope to be there 2016, see ya then!!!!!!
Aug 25, 2015
I always get moved from the front row somewhere in the back but this yr I wasn't notified of any changeswe rent 2cabins &3 camper spots a yr n advance,6yrs now, the lady@ the gate made my family member pay after she was told we were renting!
Aug 25, 2015
Phone signals were poor. I understand this may not be something you can control. We enjoyed the pool, playground (would like to see a little more playground equipment), but was sufficient. Staff very helpful. Enjoyed the bluegrass show extremely. Hope to return next year again.
Aug 24, 2015
I love this koa. I gave this koa 4 stars instead of 5 because of how much out of level my spot was. I cant say that all spots are that way,just the one I used. This is a nice koa. I will be back.
Aug 24, 2015
Quiet and very respectable treatment. Bluegrass Weekend was great, well maintained. Wi-Fi advertised: not accessible from my location (very disappointed). Campground info should have been provided at check-in(where to dispose of trash, expectations, etc..) since website was not accessible.
Aug 24, 2015
We were there for the Bluegrass festival, the staff was very friendly and helpful. A well maintained campground! Plan on going again next year.
Aug 17, 2015
Clean, friendly, and near the lake. We will be back! Thank you!
Aug 16, 2015
Campground is decent. Full hook-ups and close to a full-service marina on Lake Cumberland. Pool is crumbling and dirty enough that people had written their names on the dirt along the walls. Playground is in need of an update. Swings are falling apart and the metal slide is too hot to even touch. Mini golf needs repair as well. Not worth the $1. Game room is nice and laundry facilities are clean.
Aug 15, 2015
I was disappointed that the wifi was local only to the office. This is an Internet world and I couldn't access anything from my camper.
Aug 14, 2015
It was the worst KOA I have EVER been to!! It was dirty and there was hardy any gravel anywhere, just dirt! It was in desperate need of updating and remodeling - I will probably NEVER stay at a KOA ever again! It was in a prime location but there was nothing pmime about it!
Aug 14, 2015
Excellent KOA location. Away from noise typical of campgrounds near highways.
Aug 14, 2015
Your RV sites are too small. We had difficulty getting in and out and watched other campers struggle also. Your spots need to be wider and longer


Thank you for your comments. The site you stayed on are some of our older, less expensive sites. I would suggest the newer, larger sites for your next stay.
Aug 11, 2015
wifi only works at office-we did have a water disaster that was well taken care of
Aug 10, 2015
The description makes you think you can see the lake, well its not to be seen anywhere from the campground..Water went out twice, they need several dump trucks of gravel, mud everywhere at the camp sites, internet did not work, was not well groomed.. Very disappointing.. Would not stay there again..
Aug 07, 2015
Pool was dirty. Half of games in game room didn't work. One member of staff was not very nice. Pretty bad attitide. Campground not as clean as last time we visited. Bathrooms were fine, though. Learned campground Was up for sale, so maybe owners just aren't caring as much about upkeep...
Aug 06, 2015
This is a lovely wooded campground but fairly difficult to get to on small roads, and we had no internet or phone service.
Jul 27, 2015
We had the best spot ever there.. Most of the spots are to close... Need to take out every other one so u could have a little more room..
Jul 21, 2015
Great stay
Jul 20, 2015
Very nice campground. Clean ,beautiful, nice pool, very clean bath houses, and when a tornado that was heading straight for the campground a staff member was going camper to camper knocking on doors warning people and telling them where to get into a storm shelter. Very impressed.
Jul 20, 2015
Check-in was excellent. Sites were small and too close together. Person next door partied loudly until 2:00 am, with six cars of visitors!
Jul 20, 2015
Great stay for a HOT, humid weekend. The staff members were very hospitable. Will definitely stay here again!!
Jul 18, 2015
Everyone was nice and the campground area was clean. But it was not geared around young families. There were no planned activities. The playground is very outdated. There was trash and glass bottles at the beach area. There was also no recycling. Not much to do nearby. Every activity we did was at least 45 min away.


The beach area referred to is not owned in Indian Hills KOA.
Jul 15, 2015
We ended up not staying because we could we could not find the electric box then we moved and the camper would not pop up so we left an hour after we paid..(i know it wasn't the camp grounds fault our camper broke.)


Had we been made aware you were having problems finding the electric we would have been happy to assist you. As the written refund request you left stated the reason you had to leave was due to your popup mechanism not working.
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
The people are great. This is a very nice campground!
Jul 10, 2015
Great place to stay. You need add a boat launch into the lake!
Jul 10, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
I have stayed at this KOA for about 12 years, it is the only campground at the location I want to go, so I have no alternatives. Condition has deteriorated every year, There are dozens of completely un-useable sites, closed BR/Showers, very poor overall condition, more to say but only have 400 characters.
Jul 07, 2015
The only complaint would be the outdated bathrooms/shower houses. They have NO water pressure and VERY limited hot water. Everything else was great!
Jul 06, 2015
The campground needs some tlc! We had no campfire ring at our lot, there needs to be more bath houses as you had to wait for the shower or toilet. The game room and put put are way out dated. The website says it's overlooking the lake? No where could I find a lake overlook,false advertising other than that the stay was not bad.
Jul 04, 2015
All the people were very friendly and helpful. There was a great deal of rain but the site drained quickly. I will be back.
Jul 03, 2015
No real access to the water. The map and the ad makes it look like there is. Bad advertising. The pool is in need of updates. They couldn't get it ready to swim. Even on a sunny day, the system was to old to clean the pool properly. It's too bad, the park is nice aND very clean.
Jun 20, 2015
This place is a dump. 80% live here, campsite in full sun, no fire pit apparently given to one of the "campers" who live there, save your money, go somewhere else!


We are a family campground located in a forested area of Lake Cumberland. Currently 21% of our available site are occupied by seasonal campers who come on the weekends.
Jun 15, 2015
We had family that have long term stay there. It would have been nice to have stayed closer to them.
May 29, 2015
Great camping environment. Friendly and helpful staff. Great weekend!
May 27, 2015
May 26, 2015
Over holiday weekend, wifi could have been better downbelow in pull through and water pressure wasn't good
May 26, 2015
There needs to be actual fire pits at each site instead of just having to make a fire somewhere on your site.


We are sorry you didn't have a fire ring at your site, but we are addressing the problem, thanks so much for staying with us and hope you will consider staying with us again soon
May 11, 2015
The pull thru sites were nice, however, with gravel roads we couldn't pull our camper up the hill to leave, had to turn around and go out the end with the asphalt. The sites need improvement, several sites in the back with trees would be really nice if they had 30 amp electrical and were paved/gravel instead of grass. The showers need to have maintenance. Personnel were really nice.


We are very sorry to hear that you had trouble when leaving the campground, we will certainly address this matter,thanks for staying with us and hope you will consider staying with us again in the near future....
May 01, 2015
Lamp needs updating
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.