Rapid City KOA

3010 East Highway 44

Rapid City, SD 57703

Reserve: 800-562-8504

Info: 605-348-2111

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Aug 30, 2015
It was a wonderful stay - everyone was very nice and it's located in a great place.
Aug 26, 2015
Great hot tub and pool.
Aug 24, 2015
I stayed here for two nights due to bad weather. Barb from ME checked me in and she was wonderful, sweet and very helpful. She really made me feel welcome and at home. Can't say enough good things about her. Rapid City KOA is lucky to have her for the season.
Aug 20, 2015
My husband and I had a great time. I would only say 2 things were not that great. On most days the showers were gross and the guy at the end who checked us out was very rude to both my husband and I, not a great way to end our stay, I believe his name was Tanner. Otherwise our stay and all of the other people working at this KOA were awesome. Thanks!
Aug 17, 2015
We arrived in the late eve and found our information waiting for us making it easy to navigate to our campsite which was laid-out nicely. The site was spacious, clean and welcoming. The staff were friendly and helpful in the morning. A lovely stay in a lovely campground. Thank you!
Aug 16, 2015
Super friendly staff, but way too loud both nights of our stay to consider staying again.
Aug 16, 2015
Easy access, friendly, great pool, delicious pancakes! Regret not asking for a new tent site, as we were packed like sardines in our row when the spots across the path were all free. Speedway is SO loud!
Aug 15, 2015
Thanks for a great stay!
Aug 14, 2015
At check in...Carla was extremely helpful with my tent site reservations and made arrangements so I would have to move sites during my stay. Your facilities are clean and enjoyed the breakfast. Sincerely AL J.
Aug 12, 2015
This was our third KOA that we stayed in on our motorcycle trip out west. The teenager working the front desk was less than enthused to check us in. We were given the campsite right next to the playground and had children constantly running through our camp and playing on the playground at 6:30 in the morning.
Aug 10, 2015
The campground was in a good location. Very easy to find and get to, but out of the way and higher than the rest of the traffic. The bathrooms were clean and easy to get to and find. The pool area looked nice, and overall the campground was clean and pleasing. The staff were very helpful!
Aug 09, 2015
AS ALWAYS , just love the staff here , always smiles, laughter, clean bathrooms, always makes us fill important , my favorite place to stay during sturgis, year after year, thanks to all , great job!!!!!
Aug 09, 2015
Excellent campsite, amenities! Nice people clean enjoyed our stay! Just lower the price a tad, most expensive primative campsite we stayed at in the KOA Across the upper US ! 😎😎
Aug 08, 2015
Great place to stay, all employees were very friendly and helpful.
Aug 07, 2015
We loved everything about our stay except the wifi. This could be made better for logging into work stuff.
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
John Horton Need I say more!! Ok, you're all great,but come on to stumble and have the glorious opportunity to have a few words with the last of real men WOW !!! Thanks KOA Oh! That Carla real cool too!
Aug 06, 2015
Only annoying thing were the pool lights after 10pm. Still a little bright but I am sure they are minimum for safety reasons
Aug 05, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Bathrooms are far too small for the amount of people in this campground. The staff did an excellent job of keeping them relatively clean, but there just aren't enough "holes" to keep people moving through. Had loud, rowdy campers one night and while the staff did finally go quiet them down, it wasn't till about 1:30 in the morning! Breakfast was awesome, and staff was very All in all, a good stay.
Aug 02, 2015
I pulled in at the last moment. The staff found me a campsite that was very nice! Close to all the amenities. The breakfast in the morning was great and reasonable. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend them to everyone!
Jul 31, 2015
I really did not like the co-ed showers that opened into a high traffic hallway. Also, unless you are a Sturgis enthusiast, I do not recommend staying here in the week or so before Sturgis begins. Too many drunken domestic disturbances, confederate flags, etc. for me.
Jul 29, 2015
Thank you for listening to my special request and giving us a campsite with a mature tree for shade! We found the staff and campers to be super friendly. It was a relaxing stay.
Jul 29, 2015
Friendly service, great facility. We will definitely stay again!
Jul 25, 2015
It was in a good location - close to attractions, grocery shopping, etc. Our site was nice and shady, but there were many sites without much shade. The bathrooms were often in need of cleaning. The staff was nice and helpful. We loved the pancake breakfast and the men making the pancakes made efforts to make them special for our son, which we really appreciated!
Jul 25, 2015
A lot of tents in a little place. But it was quite and clean.
Jul 24, 2015
Great stay. Clean and friendly.
Jul 24, 2015
We had a great time and the staff was very responsive and friendly. The facility was very clean. We chose this KOA because it was right in the middle of everything we wanted to do while in the Black Hills and the location really served us well. The only reason I gave a four star rating is for something the KOA really has no control over. There is definitely some general traffic noise.
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
Nice campsite, breakfast was ok. But great location, close to downtown, pretty view over Rapid City from the tentsites!
Jul 23, 2015
Loved the pancake breakfast and smores party.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
The staff was wonderful and the facilities were always very clean. The pool and hot tub were always in great condition and the water temperatures for both were perfect. My husband and I definitely stay here next time we visit. :)
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Friendly & helpful staff, in spite of very heavy client load; clean facilities; grounds well kept up. A pleasure.
Jul 13, 2015
The facilities were well laid out and above average. Teh location was nice on top of the hill! Very clean and the staff was quite friendly! Loved it!
Jul 13, 2015
Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and well maintained. Only negative is the nearby road noise. Would stay there again as it is close to Rapid City
Jul 13, 2015
Great KOA
Jul 12, 2015
It was nice! Too many tent areas with no shade what so ever so during the day just way too hot to be in the tent (so ask for a shady tent location at check in). Breakfast was WONDERFUL and the facilities were clean - water pressure was perfect. We would stay again!
Jul 10, 2015
Extremely nice employees, I felt at home and my kids loved breakfast!!
Jul 09, 2015
We were next to the basketball court the balls were hitting our tent our truck and while we were eating balls were flying on our table. We ended up leaving the next day because of these things.
Jul 08, 2015
It was an ok place to stay. We had reserved an electric site and got checked in just to go to the site and someone was in it. They were able to give us another site close to the pool:) There is not a clear path to the bath house and we had people walking through our site to get to the bathroom. It was a little annoying. Pool was fun and Breakfast was good and reasonable.
Jul 08, 2015
Very clean, beautiful grounds with the most helpful staff I have ever seen. Wish I could stay longer!
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
The campground alittle urban ,but location was great. The 1st night I think there is a race track somewhere because all we heard was racing cars until about midnight. Don't go on 4th of July weekend unless you don't have a problem with the noise. We enjoyed seeing fireworks from our camp, but lighting fireworks all night. It didn't seem like the no fireworks on camp ground was inforced,one landed
Jul 06, 2015
This is a great place.
Jul 03, 2015
sad lack of trees for shade. Very noisy as so close to the highway
Jul 01, 2015
We had a great stay, a wonderful campsite and loved the friendly staff. The only strange thing was that the campground is truly right in the city. That was a little weird. But still a wonderful experience. Thank you to all staff members!!!
Jun 29, 2015
We enjoyed our stay, there were so many things to do at the camp ground. Clean showers and restroom! :)
Jun 26, 2015
Nice location close to downtown Rapid City area.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.