Point South / Yemassee KOA

14 Campground Rd (I-95 @ Exit 33) & US 17

Yemassee, SC 29945

Reserve: 800-562-2948

Info: 843-726-5733

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Feb 24, 2014
Very nice people running this park, very accommodating.
Feb 24, 2014
Feb 24, 2014
Feb 23, 2014
All good. Nice people. Clean
Feb 23, 2014
we was just passing through on our way to florida.the stay was nice and peaceful. very nice..delores
Feb 22, 2014
Feb 22, 2014
Feb 21, 2014
Overnighter. Nice folks. Clean, quiet, and right where we needed it!
Feb 21, 2014
Easy off & on I95;very clean bathrooms : escort to site in the dark Is very good.
Feb 21, 2014
Feb 20, 2014
Clean, friendly, and well run. Good fun.
Feb 20, 2014
Feb 20, 2014
Our campsite (#18) was very muddy. That site should not be used until it is regraded with gravel to eliminate the mud.
Feb 20, 2014
Great atmosphere. Wine tasting, pizza, etc. Great staff. I stay here every year on my way to and from Florida
Feb 19, 2014
Feb 19, 2014
Feb 19, 2014
5 stars
Feb 19, 2014
It's a great Kamground, and we're stayed there 2 or 3 times before. Regular stop on outr way from Maine to or from Florida. Have told friends they should try it!
Feb 16, 2014
Feb 16, 2014
Got in late left early. Paid too much for what I got!
Feb 14, 2014
Nice folks. Love the K9 Kamp enclosure for pets. Nice sites, lots of trees. Fun locomotive-like camp cabins. WiFi all through the campground but we had a hard time getting signal at site 30 in the back of the park.
Feb 11, 2014
Feb 11, 2014
We stayed at this campground overnight on our trip home from Florida. We have a 33ft 5th wheel with slide outs. This campground has everything you need, and is very close to the I95. We will definitely stay here again, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They deliver wood and pizza & wings to your site. Laundry room was very nice as well.
Feb 11, 2014
These were some of the friendliest folks you'd ever want to meet, Campground was very nice and bathrooms are being renovated. If you are traveling to Florida, or on your way back, you won't find a better stop over than right here.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for staying with us and also for understanding our growing pains. The men's room is open and beautiful in it's completion. Have a lovely trip and hope to see you again if you pass by.
Feb 10, 2014
super friendly and very helpful,higly recommend to stay here
Feb 09, 2014
Wet and muddy. Sites have very little grass if any. Staff friendly. Ok overnight stopover place.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The inundation of rain has been immense this season. We have hired a contractor to improve the drainage and replace the sod, which we lost with the crush & run, due to the rain, sandy soil and Lowcountry terrain. We are working hard to address this issue. Hope you have a great trip from here.
Feb 07, 2014
Site was level. Restrooms clean. Cozy nice site. Great people.
Feb 07, 2014
Wonderful owners who are totally involved in their campground. The new bathrooms are fantastic and we always love the pizza and wine tasting in the evenings. Thanks for a great time. Kathy and Richard Griffin

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for camping with us. WE enjoyed having you stay and hope to see you if you pass by again. Happy Camping from all at Point South KOA!
Feb 06, 2014
the site we had was not worth 47$ - way too expensive; it was bare, muddy and narrow; it looked more like a roadway than a RV site;

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We hear you about the sites. We are replacing the crush & run which churned under our sandy soil. Have hired a contractor to help improve the drainage. Living in the Lowcountry at and below sea level creates it's own issues. We are listening and constantly working on improving. Happy Camping!
Feb 05, 2014
very pleasant, helpful, professional personnel.
Feb 05, 2014
stayed two nights on our way south, try to stay it this park because of its uniqueness. We have never stayed a a campground like this.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for making Point South KOA a part of your travel plans. We are so thrilled you enjoyed the uniqueness of our park with various statuary, a coffee & wine bar with art in the bistro. May your travels continue to be as enjoyable.
Feb 04, 2014
The men's restroom was being remodeled, which is understandable, but the campground should have gave some type of concession for that problem. They charged regular rates and schedules hours for men to use the ladies restroom and showers. If I had been an owner of this business I would have made more of concession to the travelers. Also the restroom was not clean and made me very uncomfortable.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately, the bills on the campground don't stop when construction begins. We are so sorry for your discomfort. There was a learning curve with the porta potty and we rectified the issue immediately when made aware. The men's room is open and beautiful. I hope your trip is lovely from here.
Feb 03, 2014
Feb 03, 2014
Very nice owners and workers! Will be back the end of year we hope!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so glad to be on your itinerary and look forward to seeing you again! Have a wonderful trip.
Feb 03, 2014
Stayed here before. Reserved ahead. On arrival, men's bath house under construction and had been for at least a month. No mention was made of this situation on KOA website. After traveling for hours I was told if I wanted to use the restroom, I could use the pot-a-john, which was used by construction crew. It could have used a cleaning and pump out. Not too appealing.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so sorry you had to endure our growing pains and that you did not see it posted on the web site. The notice was there from the time we started until finished. It did take longer than expected because the ADA shower was not delivered on time. It is open now and beautiful. Have a lovely trip
Feb 03, 2014
The men's restroom was under renovation, so to shower had to use the women's facility during selected hours. The porta john that was available for use was full and putrid. The rains had turned the driveways into mud pits....need a coupla hundred tons of stone to make it more acceptable. Should not have been charged but 50% for the stay! Worst KOA we've visited! People at the counter were OK.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We did have severe growing pains with a tremendous learning curve. So sorry it was such an unpleasant experience. The men's room is done and beautiful. We've hired a contractor to improve drainage and lay more sod which washed away along with the gravel. We strive to improve by listening to you.
Feb 03, 2014
Roads are not paved. Very muddy.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We hear you. The sandy soil has churned the 4 dump trucks we brought in last summer. We have hired a contractor to improve drainage, add more sod and work on replacing the crush and run. Sorry we did not meet your expectation. Happy Camping!
Feb 02, 2014
Hard to improve on excellance, everyone great and best stay for this leg of trip

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for your glowing comments. We continue to improve where we know we need to to make it GREAT for our guest. Happy Travels and hope to see you on your next trip through.
Feb 02, 2014
Very friendly. Hats off to all the ladies that made it fun at the wine tasting. You have a great staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We love our staff and appreciate all of their hard work in helping our guests have a memorable and pleasant time. Happy Camping on your travels. Hope to see you again if you are in our area.
Feb 01, 2014
one night stay .. Friendly young man in office,nice place
Feb 01, 2014
Bathrooms under construction. Shared facilities with men and woman. Porta Potty was not very clean. No toilet paper.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our growing pains have been difficult and I am sorry for the great inconvenience you experienced. Our new men's restroom opens very soon. We are thrilled. Hope you have a pleasant trip.
Feb 01, 2014
paid more for this junky looking place than I did for nice ones in Florida. sites were muddy with standing water. I had to stand in a large puddle to plug in my power cord. people in the office were nice but the place is just sucking money from RV's that want a clean & safe place to stop for the night. it wouldn't cost much to add a few inches of gravel to each site to raise them above the standin
Jan 31, 2014
Le seul commentaire négatif est que nous avons dû attendre entre 10 et 15 minutes afin de nous faire mener à notre site. Merci.
Jan 30, 2014
Jan 30, 2014
We enjoy this campground and stay here one night on the way to Florida every January. The black dirt was problematic this year as our two dogs tracked it all over the carpeting. This also was the most expensive campground on our way south. Very friendly folks in the office here.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The crush and run installed in Aug. has been churned under during the excessive rains this season. We have called in experts to improve drainage and lay new sod. Our rates are middle of the KOA spectrum. Sorry we did not meet your expectations. We strive to make it GREAT and will continue.
Jan 29, 2014
We have stayed at Point South twice before and it has always been a good experience. Staff is very good and helpful.
Jan 28, 2014
Jan 28, 2014
Excellent

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so glad you found your experience at Point South KOA a great one. May your travels continue to provide you with pleasant experiences.
Jan 28, 2014
Sites too confined and muddy. Need to lay down gravel or other ground cover on sites. OK overnight stop but not multiple days.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We certainly understand the drainage problem and have hired a company to once again help rectify it. We had 4 trucks of gravel spread at those back sites Aug. 2013 and it has already churned under the sand from the environment coastal living provides. We are also adding more sod to those sites.
Jan 27, 2014
too expensive! Poor sites! Bad entrance! Just another KOA bummer!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.