Point South / Yemassee KOA

14 Campground Rd (I-95 @ Exit 33) & US 17

Yemassee, SC 29945

Reserve: 800-562-2948

Info: 843-726-5733

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Cabin Reviews

May 11, 2015
Enjoyed our stay at the Point South KOA, the cabins were comfortable and clean, we enjoyed the wine tasting and pizza, the staff were friendly and helpful.
May 11, 2015
Everyone was friendly and every place was clean. Loved the lake and services. Only problem was the cabin smelled like a toilet, even though it looked very clean. I was very disappointed with the smell. A previous KOA we stayed at had a strong musty odor so I guess we need to get in the habit of bringing fresheners. We would still stay there again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry for the disappointment. Please let us know while you are here so we can assist you. I assure you it was entirely cleaned then aired out with the air purifier and opened windows. This will be addressed. We are glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay and our amenities. JDM
Apr 28, 2015
This KOA was very neat and clean. Super nice people. Nice setting. Convenient to I95. Made a nice base to explore the surrounding area.
Apr 22, 2015
it was all great everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. our only problem was the weather sucked those 2 days. but can't wait to make another reservation.
Apr 19, 2015
We loved the Deluxe Cabin that we used at Point South. The location was convenient to I-95 too. The only suggestion that I would make is that the store have a better selection of food choices for those that want to make their meals in their cabins. Otherwise, I'd recommend the nearby Duke's BBQ (Thursday, Friday and Saturdays only) or Justin's Porch on the Lake for dinners.
Apr 19, 2015
This is our home away from home as we commute each year from FL to NC and back and FL to ME for the summer and back. We had our 1st ever problem on this stay, having no hot water, but the office was already closed at 9PM when we realized it. I did call and report it to the manager in the AM and they assured me it would be checked out ASAP. We love the lodges, pizza, and the people! We'll be back!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry for the water issue, please tell us so we can try to find the problem. We are converting the water heaters in our lodges to Rannai tankless gas heaters this week.
Apr 17, 2015
We love it there even in the rain and with power failures! Only lasted a minute and the lights were on! Thanks for your hospitality!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for understanding that life happens. Also, we appreciate you being a promoter of Point South KOA. Have a great trip and safe travels until we see you again. JDM
Apr 13, 2015
We have stayed here before, but this time was not good as it was in the past. When we made the reservation they only had a 30 amp with no sewer. No problem we will only run one A/c as it was only a little warm. Then the breaker kept tripping. So we had to move to another site with only a 30 amp and no sewer. I think it is time to join the modern RV parks. More and more RVs use 50 amp.
Apr 12, 2015
Very friendly and helpful kind people. I wish we had people like them up north.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It's a "suthern thang" Y'all. :-)
Apr 08, 2015
Outstanding staff, Pizza delivery, a cappuccino bar, wine tasting....it doesn't get any better than that. Look forward to our return trip, Thanks a bunch . The Smyths
Apr 08, 2015
Any visitors to Parris Island should take advantage of this very special KOA in my heart. I stay there everytime I visit Parris Island.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Semper Fi. We salute all who are in uniform. Thank You
Apr 04, 2015
Our stay was so peaceful and relaxing. Everyone was exceptionally nice and helpful. The kabin was perfect......
Apr 01, 2015
The staff is great, friendly and helpful! loved the pizza store on site and coffee shop was fabulous--it's as good as starbucks. wish they had more trails around to explore. overall a very good experience.
Mar 16, 2015
I have stayed at this KOA three times. This is a great place to stay if you are passing through the Low Country or just want a place to spend the weekend with your kids. Very friendly staff.
Mar 14, 2015
This was a very nice KOA. The staff was very nice & helpful regarding the area. The only thing that I would change is the mattress in the main bedroom & the bunk beds. The mattress on the bunk bed sunk down when you laid on them & it felt like you were laying on the wood. The mattress in the main bedroom was hard as a rock. Other then not getting very much sleep we enjoyed this campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you did not tell us about this issue until the day you left. We have had this lodge for a little over 2 years and this is the first time anyone has mentioned the mattress firmness. We will look into the issue.
Feb 26, 2015
really liked your campground. Wish we had more time to enjoy it. Maybe next time through.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing to camp at Point South KOA. We look forward to seeing you again and wish you safe and happy travels. JDM
Feb 15, 2015
we stayed in a deluxe kabin and were very pleased. Had all the linens-bed made and heater on! Coffee maker and coffee provided. Totally enjoyed the wine tasting & pizza!
Feb 15, 2015
twickingham cabin is the way to go very comfortable nice deck 2 tvs
Feb 09, 2015
Everyone at this KOA is extremely nice and helpful. We love the nightly wine taste...a perfect way to unwind after a day of travel.
Feb 09, 2015
We stay here about 4 times a year. we are the cabin dwellers! Love the Lodges, always ckean and ready when you need them. One of my favorite KOA's. The staff are friendly and always ready to help if you need them.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being a promoter of Point South KOA! We are so glad you found it to be a great place for you and your family to stay. We look forward to hosting you again on your next Journey through. Happy Travels. JDM
Feb 04, 2015
Jan 29, 2015
We only stayed one night, in one of the deluxe lodges, but it was excellent! In the morning we had lattes at the onsite coffee shop, which was a nice treat. Bill, the owner, knows his way around an espresso machine. We plan to return to use this KOA as a base for touring the surrounding area on our motorcycles.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being a promoter of Point South KOA. We are so glad you enjoyed the deluxe lodge, Twickenham, and look forward to hosting you on your next journey through. Happy Travels!
Jan 19, 2015
It was awesome!! It was clean, quickly accessible from the highway and pet friendly. The people were super nice. Had great pizza delivered. Could not have been better
Jan 18, 2015
We loved it when we were towing! We love it now that we are not! This is the greatest KOA on our route from Canada to Florida and back again each year! Chris and George Vaughan
Jan 11, 2015
Great staff. Great location within an hour drive to charleston Beaufort savannah and hilton head. Very clean. Excellent cabins
Jan 06, 2015
Awesome spot! We booked the caboose but opted to move to a camping cabin due to the smell- its an oil smell that comes from it being a working caboose but strong enough to be an issue for our noses. Its also bare bone The camping cabin was great. Exactly what we expected- clean and sparse but perfect and cozy for us. Wine tasting was AWESOME and loved having the coffee shop in the AM

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so glad you found an enjoyable spot just for you. Thank you for choosing to stay and we look forward to seeing you again if your journey brings you back this way. The coal smell does bother some and others aren't bothered. We certainly understand and are glad for options. Thank you again.
Dec 29, 2014
I was a late arrival and spoke with the office about this. They were very accommodating to my needs.
Dec 28, 2014
this was a stop in our travels. loved the upgrades done.
Dec 28, 2014
Dec 10, 2014
Nov 19, 2014
It was all we needed for a 1 night lay over.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying in one of our Deluxe Cabin Lodges. Early next year we will be adding a 3rd Deluxe Cabin. :-)
Nov 11, 2014
Should be an award winner. Owners think of everything. Best stay in a KOA.
Nov 10, 2014
Nov 08, 2014
Great place to stay. Most of the staff is super but a few of the part time staff think they are god,one man in particular but I did not get his name as it was check in time and you guys were very busy. Maybe he was having a bad day. This was the first time I had anyone get uppity with me and we have stayed at this KOA many times. You all the best and we sure will see you next year

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for any issues with our staff. We try to make all welcome and listen to issues. Thank you for the stay and we promise to be better.
Nov 03, 2014
Oct 26, 2014
We stayed in a deluxe cabin. It was very clean, well appointed and had everything needed to make our stay comfortable. We'll stay there again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so thrilled you enjoyed our deluxe cabin. We strive to make it a great stay with every convenience of a hotel room with upgraded and increased amenities. Thanks again! Happy Travels. JDM
Oct 25, 2014
Beautiful campground and the staff was beyond accommodating. Warm cabin on a cool night after a long drive was HEAVEN!!
Oct 15, 2014
Awesome campground. Friendly staff and love the atmosphere. We stayed one night...pizza was great..we will be going back!
Oct 12, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Every campground should be this clean and well managed. We thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations, pizza, wings, and Wine tasting. Stay a night or a week, you won't be disappointed.
Sep 20, 2014
Aug 27, 2014
I liked the campground and the staff was pleasant. However, they need to improve directions to the camp and I was disappointed in the Kamp K9 area.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry about the Kamp K9 area. Unless you tell us why, we cannot improve it. We are located in a commercial area and instruct everyone to turn at Waffle House & follow KOA signs to us. A map is on all digital info & in the KOA directory. DMV does not allow for anymore road signs.
Aug 25, 2014
We love the place, but this time we found dead & live roaches & spiders.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry for the issue. We clean the lodges after each use and do not understand how this could happen. We are sorry that you did not inform us of the problem. We have inspected the lodge and made sure any issues where corrected. WCO
Aug 19, 2014
Great stay at this KOA. Great staff. Everyone worked hard to ensure a great stay. Very impressed!
Aug 18, 2014
Always a pleasure to stay here. Friendly staff, clean and relaxing.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so thrilled, Sandra, that you and your family enjoyed staying in our lodge. Our goal is to provide you with the most pleasurable experience while staying in our campground. Hope to see you again if your journey brings you this way. Happy Travels. JDM
Aug 10, 2014
I loved the size of the cabin. Perfect size for our family of five. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 10, 2014
All good we were just passing through. Wish we could stayed longer. Nice staff
Aug 10, 2014
As a repeat customer, feel I should let you know. Couple of things were not up to par as they normally are. Pool had green slim on sides and bottom,I do realize with all the rain it is hard to keep up with. The door to the lodge would not close all the way. My other half went out to get breakfast and the gentleman must have thought we were gone,He walked right in as I was getting out of shower.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have checked the front door on the lodge. We are sorry for the intrusion. We have addressed the issue and will knock harder to make sure that the lodges are empty before entering. Sometimes events have a way of happening without warning. Sorry and this is certainly an isolated incident.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Had a great time and you Guys and Gals were great. See you in November. Keep up the good work.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We look forward to your return visit in November. You will even be able to enjoy our new ladies room which will be completed by mid Oct. Thank you for being a promoter of Point South KOA. Happy Travels.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.