Point South / Yemassee KOA

14 Campground Rd (I-95 @ Exit 33) & US 17

Yemassee, SC 29945

Reserve: 800-562-2948

Info: 843-726-5733

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 07, 2015
A very nice stop over or home base while visiting the low country.Friendly staff, great wings!!!
Apr 07, 2015
This is our favorite place to stay on our way to Florida.
Apr 07, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff. Went above and beyond to get my water heater working. Great place.
Apr 07, 2015
Very crowded, thus low water pressure , rigs parked overnight on interior roads......

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for staying with us & wish you happy travels. our water is a public utility. Point South has a water tank that regulates pressure @ 60 to 70 lbs. We have one overflow site that is in a road that is not needed when the park is full.
Apr 06, 2015
Great location within short drives to great locations. Very friendly staff that made the stay delightful.
Apr 06, 2015
Stayed one night while traveling home.
Apr 06, 2015
Great koa

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Great guests! Thank you for being a promoter of Point South KOA. We are thrilled you found us to your liking. Have a wonderful trip and we look forward to hosting your next stay as you travel down I95. JDM
Apr 06, 2015
Apr 06, 2015
Great atmosphere. This KOA is the perfect size for all campers. We enjoy it every time we visit.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for continually choosing to camp at Point South KOA. We are so glad you found a place to recharge and regroup as you vacation with us. Happy Travels. JDM.
Apr 06, 2015
This was my first time using my new Coachman RV. They made me feel like family. They helped me with my spot an hook ups. They also show me how to empty the tanks out. I would recommend this site to everyone. It was a blessing to me. I thank God for directing me their. Thank you again for caring. Looking forward to camping there again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank You for the kind words. May the road rise up to meet you. May the wind always be at your back. May the sun shine warm upon your face, and rains fall soft upon your fields. And until we meet again, May God hold you in the palm of His hand.
Apr 05, 2015
Apr 05, 2015
too expensive for this campsite, hard to get in. to crowded

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are in the mid-range for KOA pricing. As Yogi Berra said ""Nobody goes there anymore because it's too crowded."
Apr 04, 2015
Our stay was so peaceful and relaxing. Everyone was exceptionally nice and helpful. The kabin was perfect......
Apr 04, 2015
We stayed overnight. It was a nice campground and great staff. Would stop again if in the area.
Apr 04, 2015
Bathrooms new and very clean. George, who helped us to our site, was the best guy we have ever had to help us in a site. That is saying something since we have been staying in KOAs for 7 years. Felt safe there.
Apr 04, 2015
It was a very unique campground with the wine bar and pizza. VERY clean bathrooms, nicely decorated and the staff was very friendly
Apr 04, 2015
Delightful people. Showers need looking after at least once after 9 pm.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being a promoter of Point South KOA. We will definitely continue to make certain the staff checks the bathroom throughout the evening. We can check it at 9:00 then we reopen at 7 am. Thanks for the heads up. JDM
Apr 04, 2015
stayed here many times

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Welcome back to the Shaw family. May your travels be safe and happy until we see you again. Thank you for choosing to camp and for being a promoter of Point South KOA. JDM
Apr 03, 2015
Booked 3 wks ahead & received conf.for w/e/s.Upon arrival we had been moved to w/e only without notice(supposed computer glich??).Will not take a chance there again. Owner gave refund but that does not give confidence for future issues.Hope this is not policy for all KOA's now. Would like to give more info but not enough room to give details. There is a little more to the story.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are very sorry for the mistake. Unfortunately, we as all individuals make them. We profusely apologized.This was and is an usual occurrence and nothing in our norm.You seemed very happy with us working hard to make it right at the time. We were completely full and had no where for you to move.JM
Apr 03, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We only stayed overnight on our return from Florida.
Apr 03, 2015
PERFECT

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for being a promoter of Point South KOA. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you if your journey brings you this way again. JDM
Apr 03, 2015
Very friendly campground. Workers went above and beyond to assist you. The spots are pretty tight and not all have full hook up

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the nice comments. We are going into our 4th week of being full or almost full every night. We thank all 1044 different campers who have stayed with us this last month.
Apr 03, 2015
Larry,was extremely helpful above and beyond on our check-in. Improved mens room would change rating to 5.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the comments. We remodeled the men's room in Nov. 2014 complying a with Federal ADA rules. We cannot read your mind as to the issues you had or what you want beyond the upgrades as photographed on line or what you experienced.
Apr 02, 2015
everyone was helpful and friendly. love the wine bar and tasting and being able to get pizza. we plan on returning in May.
Apr 02, 2015
Very friendly great place.
Apr 02, 2015
The help was exceptionally friendly and helpful.
Apr 02, 2015
Smiling staff to welcome & help you! Good pizzas, chicken wings. Spotless facilities
Apr 02, 2015
We enjoyed the staff as they were quite pleasant and helpful. The wine tasting was fun. The showers were clean and refreshing. Loved the pizza!!
Apr 02, 2015
Stayed one night on way home from Florida, nice campground with friendly staff.
Apr 02, 2015
This area has received lots of rain it was very muddy everywhere This is right off of I95 so easy on and off . Lots of turn over every night in the campers that are there due to people driving north

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are an overnight campground serving the traveling campers on I-95, we believe that it is appropriate to expect that we would have new guests every night. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and wonder why you stayed with us on 2 separate nights the same week?
Apr 02, 2015
Not a destination campground like most KOAs. the roads and campsites are minimally maintained so when it rained we were covered in mud. The staff and service was great and they did all they could to alleviate the mud issues. If it weren't for the staff this would have a very poor rating from us.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us for 6 nights. We are sorry that it rained for the entire time and we are putting new gravel on the sites. We hope that your future travel will be sunny & Fair. We do not claim that we are a destination, we are between Charleston & Savannah and serve the I-95 camper.
Apr 02, 2015
We enjoyed our visit. Jennifer(owner mgr) and Bob were fantastic! We love the upgrades. Have stayed there before and Will definitely stay there again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing to stay at Point South KOA. We are so glad you had a lovely stay. We look forward to hosting you again. Happy Camping. JDM
Apr 02, 2015
This area had received lots of rain and the whole campgrounds was very muddy

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have thought about putting a geodesic dome over the entire campground. but being an extremely wet year we put off the project until next year. We wish you clear skies & smooth sailing.
Apr 01, 2015
Apr 01, 2015
The staff is great, friendly and helpful! loved the pizza store on site and coffee shop was fabulous--it's as good as starbucks. wish they had more trails around to explore. overall a very good experience.
Apr 01, 2015
Very friendly. Nice stay.
Apr 01, 2015
Comfy and friendly. Bathhouse seemed to be a little congested.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for staying with us. We are sorry for the congestion in the shower area. This is the busiest time of the year and we were full the night you visited us. Happy camping
Apr 01, 2015
tres dispendieux pour les services offerts. 2 services incluant 30 amp pour $45.00. les koa sont réellement beaucoup trop cher pour les services donnes. Ns avons payes ailleurs $35.00 et 29.00 pour tous les 3 services . J ai une carte de koa et je ne renouvellerai pas mon abonnement. Merci .

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for you comment. We are in the middle of all KOA rates. But, we like you in Quebec have a GST for accommodation. Our is 1% less than your sales taxes on all purchases. We are fortunate that the average all our GST tax levels are 6% points below yours. Merci.
Apr 01, 2015
need to improve your roads

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have brought 4 truck loads of granite rock in the last 3 weeks and will continue. The sands of the Lowcountry churn it under and wash it away so we continually replace it. Happy Camping. JDM
Apr 01, 2015
Very friendly. Good pizza & coffee. Clean. Awesome showers. Love the woods around. Trolley & caboose cabins are so cute 😊.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Than you for choosing to stay at Point South KOA. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Happy travels to you and yours. JDM
Mar 31, 2015
We were only visitors for 1 night, traveling from Fla to NY. The pizza & wings available are wonderful after a long days ride! Showers were very clean as well.
Mar 31, 2015
Staff very kind. Pizza and wine bar excellent.
Mar 31, 2015
The campground is near the highway so road noise is an issue, however the KOA staff are friendly and helpful and the campground is well maintained.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The highway is why we are here. We are a city block away from I-95 with a pine forest as a buffer any ambient noise is in direct relation to the traffic.
Mar 30, 2015
Mar 30, 2015
Mar 30, 2015
Loved the wine tasting!
Mar 30, 2015
We thought the staff were helpful & courteous. Convienent to have pizza available after a long drive. Clean & level sites.
Mar 29, 2015
We just stayed overnight. We were very pleased with the CG. Had on site pizza which was very convienent and a coffee and wine bar. Everyone was very pleasent. Escort to campsite which helped being we were in a back in space . Very modern restrooms and very clean. We highly recommend this CG.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being a promoter of Point South KOA. We are thrilled you enjoyed our newly remodeled bathrooms. We look forward to hosting your next stop through if your journey brings you our way. JDM
Mar 29, 2015
We were on our way home from a month in Florida and saw your sign and pulled in! What a delightful setting! We were escorted to our site so there was no guessing! The owners were very kind and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being a promoter of Point South KOA. We are so glad you saw our sign and decided to give us a try. We are here 365 days a year open 14 hours a day to better serve you. We look forward to seeing you again. Happy Travels! JDM
Mar 28, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.