Point South / Yemassee KOA

14 Campground Rd (I-95 @ Exit 33) & US 17

Yemassee, SC 29945

Reserve: 800-562-2948

Info: 843-726-5733

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 14, 2015
If you booked a site at the top and the facilities were available you may well give this koa more stars, but we were given a site where recent tree felling had been going on, hence snakes and bugs. I'm a swimmer, they said crystal clear pool, didn't say it wasn't open, we stayed because it will be open tomorrow, never was. Up hill to room for wifi. The owner although notified made no effort. sad

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are confused. We are in the Lowcountry of SC, We have no hills. Our pool is open and clear to bottom. We have 5 separate Wi-Fi locations for high speed internet. Thank You for staying with us for 2 days and have a nice journey back north.
Apr 14, 2015
Great all around....staff included

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! Happy camping until we meet again on your next journey through. JDM
Apr 13, 2015
We were going to have a late arrival, but unforseen circumstances kept us from arriving there at all. But they tried to help with our late arrival - which never happened:(
Apr 13, 2015
We had a great time staying at the KOA Point South. We were there for 2 nights. Our kids loved the pool and the playground. The coffee bar was nice and the wine tasting was nice. This campground is very busy due to it being right on I95. The only things I would like to see are concrete pads and larger sites.
Apr 13, 2015
We have stayed here before, but this time was not good as it was in the past. When we made the reservation they only had a 30 amp with no sewer. No problem we will only run one A/c as it was only a little warm. Then the breaker kept tripping. So we had to move to another site with only a 30 amp and no sewer. I think it is time to join the modern RV parks. More and more RVs use 50 amp.
Apr 13, 2015
We stopped while going south to Florida. Made it in time for Happy Hour (wine tasting) at Point South, SC. Had a great stay.
Apr 13, 2015
Clean & Friendly!
Apr 13, 2015
Good stay with plenty of amenities and clean restrooms. Staff was extremely helpful.
Apr 13, 2015
Nice for stopping though. Great bathroom (really, it matters), nice coffee shop/wine bar, and everyone was really friendly!
Apr 13, 2015
The tent sites behind the pool are very convenient to the facilities and also large with a nice backdrop to the woods. There is a nice walking trail that goes to a small lake and plenty of geocaches in the area. A nice day trip is Beaufort, only 30 minutes away. The staff was extremely helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. Be sure to bring your own grill/cookstove.
Apr 13, 2015
Apr 13, 2015
Stay was a disappointment. Limited bathroom facilities and both toilets in the men's room were out of order. WIFI could not be used due to DNS not responding. Pizza was good, site was fine and service, other than wifi, was great.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Glad you found the service, pizza and everything else great. Wish you would have told us when you were here you had wifi troubles. We would have fixed it. Now we know and have addressed the issue. The one toilet was fixed within a day and the other one is in the ADA shower. Happy travels. JDM
Apr 12, 2015
We stayed here for 2 nights en route from FL to northeast. Nice, clean campground with great pizza and pub onsite. Store had basic needs and Krispy Kreme goodies. Easy access and pleasant staff. Will probably make this one of our in transit stops again in the future.
Apr 12, 2015
Very friendly and helpful kind people. I wish we had people like them up north.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It's a "suthern thang" Y'all. :-)
Apr 12, 2015
Staff was friendly but campsites were very very crowded together. Also showers were COLD - no hot water!!! With half as many RVs it would have been beautiful - consider expanding site and giving more space between sites. Location was good, setting is pretty. MUST fix hot water problem... Another guess said there had been no hot water in the showers the day before we arrived as well.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying at Point South KOA. Please let us and other parks know while you are on premises. We are here to make your stay comfortable but do not know unless you let us know at the time. No one said there was an issue so now we know to address this. We will also adjust the thermostat. JDM
Apr 11, 2015
Apr 11, 2015
Very clean facility
Apr 11, 2015
We were only there one night but it was clean and it was a nice walk around the big pond.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are delighted that you enjoyed our trolley cabin. Happy Camping.
Apr 10, 2015
peaceful and had all we needed. People were kind.
Apr 10, 2015
Dirt Road and no cement Pad. There was a jaccuzi and now It's not working. Employee at the reception was A1

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry about closing the Hot Tub. The ADA rules would not allow us to rebuild. We thank you for stopping, but if we do not meet your expectations we offer a full refund within one hour of check-in.
Apr 09, 2015
Apr 08, 2015
Very nice campground -- well kept. Love the wine tastings & freshly-made pizza!
Apr 08, 2015
Apr 08, 2015
Apr 08, 2015
Outstanding staff, Pizza delivery, a cappuccino bar, wine tasting....it doesn't get any better than that. Look forward to our return trip, Thanks a bunch . The Smyths
Apr 08, 2015
Any visitors to Parris Island should take advantage of this very special KOA in my heart. I stay there everytime I visit Parris Island.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Semper Fi. We salute all who are in uniform. Thank You
Apr 08, 2015
friendly staff,nice park.only negative lots of mosquitoes

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are in the LowCountry of South Carolina in the spring. Critters come with every season no matter where you are. The county does spray to keep the population at a minimum.
Apr 08, 2015
We are Florida Snowbirds and We always use your Campground going and coming to Florida. This year you surprised me with your newly remodeled Ladies room. How nice!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank You for coming back and seeing us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our new showers. Happy travels. WCO.
Apr 08, 2015
Très bon accueil. Excellent service.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Merci.
Apr 08, 2015
I wouldn't stay here for anything other than one night as a place to stop and go the next morning. The staff is friendly, but they pack you in like sardines. We had a camper parked on the road right behind us, with his plug and hose extended to our pedestal.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that we are full. We did have a site for you and we're happy to accommodate. If you had been a little later we would have had to turn you away like we did for many the night you were here.
Apr 07, 2015
has always been excellent.
Apr 07, 2015
Nice clean and quiet campground
Apr 07, 2015
A very nice stop over or home base while visiting the low country.Friendly staff, great wings!!!
Apr 07, 2015
This is our favorite place to stay on our way to Florida.
Apr 07, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff. Went above and beyond to get my water heater working. Great place.
Apr 07, 2015
Very crowded, thus low water pressure , rigs parked overnight on interior roads......

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for staying with us & wish you happy travels. our water is a public utility. Point South has a water tank that regulates pressure @ 60 to 70 lbs. We have one overflow site that is in a road that is not needed when the park is full.
Apr 06, 2015
Great location within short drives to great locations. Very friendly staff that made the stay delightful.
Apr 06, 2015
Stayed one night while traveling home.
Apr 06, 2015
Great koa

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Great guests! Thank you for being a promoter of Point South KOA. We are thrilled you found us to your liking. Have a wonderful trip and we look forward to hosting your next stay as you travel down I95. JDM
Apr 06, 2015
Apr 06, 2015
Great atmosphere. This KOA is the perfect size for all campers. We enjoy it every time we visit.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for continually choosing to camp at Point South KOA. We are so glad you found a place to recharge and regroup as you vacation with us. Happy Travels. JDM.
Apr 06, 2015
This was my first time using my new Coachman RV. They made me feel like family. They helped me with my spot an hook ups. They also show me how to empty the tanks out. I would recommend this site to everyone. It was a blessing to me. I thank God for directing me their. Thank you again for caring. Looking forward to camping there again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank You for the kind words. May the road rise up to meet you. May the wind always be at your back. May the sun shine warm upon your face, and rains fall soft upon your fields. And until we meet again, May God hold you in the palm of His hand.
Apr 05, 2015
Apr 05, 2015
too expensive for this campsite, hard to get in. to crowded

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are in the mid-range for KOA pricing. As Yogi Berra said ""Nobody goes there anymore because it's too crowded."
Apr 04, 2015
Our stay was so peaceful and relaxing. Everyone was exceptionally nice and helpful. The kabin was perfect......
Apr 04, 2015
We stayed overnight. It was a nice campground and great staff. Would stop again if in the area.
Apr 04, 2015
Bathrooms new and very clean. George, who helped us to our site, was the best guy we have ever had to help us in a site. That is saying something since we have been staying in KOAs for 7 years. Felt safe there.
Apr 04, 2015
It was a very unique campground with the wine bar and pizza. VERY clean bathrooms, nicely decorated and the staff was very friendly
Apr 04, 2015
Delightful people. Showers need looking after at least once after 9 pm.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being a promoter of Point South KOA. We will definitely continue to make certain the staff checks the bathroom throughout the evening. We can check it at 9:00 then we reopen at 7 am. Thanks for the heads up. JDM
Apr 04, 2015
stayed here many times

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Welcome back to the Shaw family. May your travels be safe and happy until we see you again. Thank you for choosing to camp and for being a promoter of Point South KOA. JDM

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.