Point South / Yemassee KOA

14 Campground Rd (I-95 @ Exit 33) & US 17

Yemassee, SC 29945

Reserve: 800-562-2948

Info: 843-726-5733

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 26, 2013
Just stayed overnight, but was very impressed by the quality and friendliness of this campground. Very convenient to I-95.
Oct 25, 2013
Our stay was wonderful. The staff were friendly and helpful and the pizza and chicken wings were outstanding. I wish i could remember everyone's name so if I forget yours please forgive me. Dave, Kris, Lacy and Kathy and all the others were fantastic. If you go to Point South ya won't be disappointed. Thank ya'll for everything.
Oct 25, 2013
Beautiful place
Oct 23, 2013
This is a clean friendly camp ground. Pizza is very good too.
Oct 23, 2013
Oct 23, 2013
Oct 23, 2013
Nice improvements with the fire ring, patio and potted plant. See you next time.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! We are working on the sites and are thrilled to hear the feedback. We loved having you stay with us. Have a wonderful trip and hope to see you soon.
Oct 23, 2013
nice time,get the cable tv fixed

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you had trouble with your cable. Please let the office know if you have any issues and we will do what we can to rectify it. We have the same cable in the office laundry room and have had no issues. So, it might be site sensitive. We are eager to fix it when we know. Happy Travels!
Oct 22, 2013
Staff was super friendly / upbeat, eager to please. We marked it no 1 to head for when we are in that corridor of travel.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are always so excited to hear that you had a friendly and welcoming camping experience. We hope your trip is equally as rewarding. See you on your next excursion. Happy Camping!
Oct 22, 2013
The staff was wonderful and did everything humanly possible to make an old worn out campground a pleasant experience. The bathrooms/showers are in really bad shape. They need a complete remodel. Trees need trimming, hot tub needs repair. Food is great, service is great. Wifi is horrible. Price is too high for this run down place. Don't blame the people they did what they could with what they had.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. The hot tub is closed due to expense of ADA upgrades which is why it is not advertised. We have 5 routers for wifi so please ask and it can be reset to better serve you. We are listening to feedback on making your stay more pleasant. Happy Travels.
Oct 21, 2013
Our stay was just a overnight but I would stay there again, owners where very nice & helpful.
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
Great personalities! Nice helpful people. Know what they are doing!Wine bar and real espresso coffee machine!!!Quiet at night! Pizza's made right there and delivered to your sight! What more could anyone want!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so glad you had a great experience at Point South KOA. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip when you pass this way again. Happy Travels!
Oct 21, 2013
Staff was friendly and amenities good. Not much definition to sites. Good for one night stop over.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us. We hear you on site definition and have a priority list to address this issue. We had a lot of sod and rock wash away this summer with the 30" of rain. We have already begun to add pavers and fire rings. More to come to other sites soon. Happy Travels!
Oct 19, 2013
Very nice campground, friendly staff, and great accommodations. We will be back soon.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for adding us to your travel agenda. We are so glad you had a pleasant experience. Happy Camping and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
We were put in a site that my Husband didn't think he could get out, we were told that we could. In the morning after most of the campground was empty we thought we could pull straight across but at 10AM he put someone within a few feet in front of us, when we asked why, he droved away. We will never stay here again and our club will be informed before they leave for Florida.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. We are open from 7 am - 9 pm. Always know that we will help guide anyone out and assist in anyway possible. I will make certain that all of the work kampers know to relate this regardless of how a camper addresses him. Hope your trip improves.
Oct 15, 2013
Well landscaped, nice private sites, quiet and convenient to 95.
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Prices too high, same price with or without sewer which doesn't seem right.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you were disappointed. I will certainly look into it if you were inadvertently charged the wrong rate and give you a refund for the overage. Our ranges differ around $1.50 between full and water/electric hook ups and also 30 to 50 amp. We hope to better serve you given the opportunity.
Oct 14, 2013
Pricey and muddy but great location from freeway for a quick stop over for a night.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
Very enjoyable. The k9 park could use something to make it less muddy. Maybe, some chips, gravel... or, my choice would be sod. Ty
Oct 14, 2013
Could be a lot cleaner. The bath house is in dire need of remodeling.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We certainly hear you regarding the men's bathroom in need of complete remodeling. We clean it thoroughly each morning and check it through the day. Sorry we did not meet your expectations. I hope you have a wonderful trip. We are striving to make continual improvements throughout the park.
Oct 13, 2013
Oct 13, 2013
Oct 13, 2013
Even though we only stayed one night, I thought this was a great KOA. I loved the little extras like a flower pot or garden statue at each site. Although we did not have time to enjoy the wine tasting or the coffee bar, both sounded enjoyable. We hope to return someday with more time to enjoy the amenities and the surrounding low coountry.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for staying with us. We do live in a beautiful area near Beaufort, Charleston and Savannah ~ the heart of the lowcountry. We do hope to have the opportunity to host you in your travels again. Happy Camping!
Oct 13, 2013
Exceptional campground. Will certainly go back. Receptionist was cordial and the man escorting us to our site was great.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for recommending Point South KOA. We hope to see you on your next trip and that you find it as equally rewarding.
Oct 12, 2013
Oct 12, 2013
Great pizza! Nice not to have to cook after traveling nor find a restaurant.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for staying with us. We hope you have a great trip.
Oct 12, 2013
Vary peacefull. All the staff were polite and helpfull. My wife really enjoyed the Wine tasting. We will be back in the spring on our trip back north.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We look forward to seeing you in the spring! We may even have new wines in our tasting. Remember too that March and April are our busiest months so make certain to make your reservation. Have a wonderful winter! Happy Travels.
Oct 11, 2013
Oct 11, 2013
Oct 11, 2013
Oct 11, 2013
The park was nice and the staff was friendly, but it was dirt camping and very expensive at 48.00 per night.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are working hard on improving our sites. 30" of rain this summer washed out all of our sod in a majority of sites. We have already added some pavers and fire rings to some of these areas and are working on adding more. Happy & safe travels.
Oct 10, 2013
It was a for one night. Campground was organized. Our site was level front to back and side to side. Afternoon-Evening staff very helpful. My only negative was the sandy area. They need to put more stone down or pave the campground

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are working on pavers, campfire rings and making your stay more pleasurable. Hope to see you again. Happy Travels.
Oct 09, 2013
Had to take a different site with no sewer as our unit is too big for site 52 took 30 instead so is it same price as full hookup

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I will make certain that the staff understands to refund the difference when a site is moved after check in if needed. The computer moves so efficiently it was apparently missed. I will refund the $1.50 difference in site price. I am sorry for your inconvenience. Thanks for staying with us!
Oct 09, 2013
I always love my stay at the KOA Point South South Carolina ... LOVE LOVE everything about this place

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We love being a trusted place to get away and refresh. Look forward to hosting your next stay!
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
We have stayed in quite a few KOA's & they're all good but this one was the most personal and fun. Wine tasting & pizza & the company of hosts Kris & Dave & Kathy & Lacy made for a special stay. They gave us great advise about local travel too.
Oct 08, 2013
We stay in KOA's all over the country and this is one of the best, if not the best. The coffee bar and wine bar and snack bar were just what we needed after a long day on the road. PERFECT!! And very friendly owners! Hope to get there again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We hope you can get here again as well. Have a great trip! Thanks for staying.
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Nice tree covered sites. Doggie run, clean and great friendly staff. I enjoyed the wine tasting and the pizza was good

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We love our campers including our four legged ones! Thank you for staying with us. Happy Camping!
Oct 06, 2013
staff was pleasant, site was nice, food was yummy
Oct 04, 2013
Having cockroaches in the cabin made my stay less enjoyable. I would recommend people not stay in the cabins. The hosts were very nice and helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry about this issue. We bug bombed this & all cabins. We did not find any critters in the cabin. Because of the part of the country we are in, we have to always defend against intrusions of the local environment and our sub-tropic climate.
Oct 03, 2013
Oct 03, 2013
Very helpful and friendly staff. Everything you need for a quick stopover is right here.
Oct 03, 2013
Very clean campground, excellent location, friendly staff... Keep up the great work. Loved the Marine Corp flag flying, Semper Fi....

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Semper Fi.
Oct 02, 2013
Just a great place to stay, especially if you like camping!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so thrilled to be a part of your travel plans. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again. Happy Camping!
Oct 01, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.