Point South / Yemassee KOA

14 Campground Rd (I-95 @ Exit 33) & US 17

Yemassee, SC 29945

Reserve: 800-562-2948

Info: 843-726-5733

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 27, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
Too expensive compared to other koas Very muddy no grass! Only 1 set of showers Very nice people and cute office center

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Upon reserving, check in and on our website, we inform clearly that our women's room is being renovated. If it is not a match then you are welcome to choose another place that would better suit your needs. The rain is uncontrollable & we have laid sod & will continue as the sands tend to erode it.
Sep 25, 2014
it is always a pleasure to stop here.the coffee,pizza,wings are gr8.staff and owners exceptional
Sep 25, 2014
Campsite is wooded very quiet spaces are level and wide,staff is very friendly and helpful. Cleanest laundry area I've ever seen. Thanks for a great experience
Sep 25, 2014
From driving in, registration, parking assistance and friendliness. Nice small park.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank You for the nice comments :-). WCO
Sep 24, 2014
Great place very friendly will differently make our list to stay at again
Sep 23, 2014
Stayed here in our motorhome. Campground was nice. Bathroom under renovation but should be lovely. The sites are sandy and need to be traveled. Loved our fore ring and beautiful fire. Great pizza and wings delivered to our site. Host and hostess were very accommodating.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Glad you found our accommodations over all enjoyable. We constantly replenish the gravel on the sites as the Low Country sands wash it away. After the complete renovation of the second bathroom this year our plan is to bring in tons of crushed granite. Thank you for choosing Point South KOA.
Sep 22, 2014
The park was very neat and clean. Bathroom being remodeled but what was done looked very nice. We will use this KOA again when we are traveling back and forth to Florida.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so glad you enjoyed our park. Our goal is to have your camping experience a pleasant and enjoyable stay. We look forward to hosting your return on your next journey through our area.
Sep 21, 2014
Site was severely eroded, causing issues when entering and leaving. Heavy downfall of acorns made stay most uncomfortable, due to noise and concern for possible damage to roof. Due to rain, have not been able to assess this issue.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry this was not a match for you. We are wooded and thankful for the shade in the summer. We fill the site you were on over 300 days a year and others have not found the erosion issue. We do recognize the need for more granite and will do this to better serve you.
Sep 21, 2014
Glad to see the men's bathroom improvements.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so glad you enjoyed the upgrades in our new men's room, since being completely remodeled. We are now in the middle of doing the same to the women's room, which should be completed by Oct. 4, 2014.
Sep 21, 2014
Cable was ridiculous with no network channels, WIFI stopped often and ran extremely slow when it did run. Overall, facilities are outdated and shoddy looking

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry for the issue with the cable and Wi-Fi. Our cable company delivers over 60 channels, including all networks in the lower register. Please let us know of any issue, as we are happy to assist, including fixing any of the 4 wifi routers throughout the park, which we can reset, when we know
Sep 20, 2014
Sep 19, 2014
Sep 19, 2014
Very por wifi . Cable TV was very limited

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We provide 60 channels of cable with all local channels on lower network options. Remember to change over to cable from antennae on your tv options for it to register. Our four wifi routers can certainly be reset just let us know and we will assist in anyway possible. Our wifi is typically quick.
Sep 19, 2014
Friendly greeting from the registration office. She explained all of the amenities and also about the on-site pizza and chicken wings restaurant. She said they also deliver right to your motorhome. This KOA is ran by a husband and wife team. The husband took his golf cart and led us to our campsite and then guided my wife who was driving into the site. Great service, will be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so glad you found our staff to be exceptional and helpful. Point South is run by a family team for 31 years and we strive to meet your camping needs and offer a great experience and stay. Service is of utmost importance. We are proud of our staff, as well. Happy travels to you and yours!
Sep 19, 2014
We enjoyed our stay and will return again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being a promoter of Point South KOA. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and certainly look forward to hosting you again when your journey brings you back this way.
Sep 18, 2014
One Night Stay, All went well!
Sep 18, 2014
Usual great service and facilities, especially enjoyed fresh pizza on site or delivered to your vehicle.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you enjoyed our fresh to order pizza made just for you. Thank you for being a valued customer and hope to see you again if your travels bring you our way again. Happy Camping!
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
Great facilities and helpful staff. Sites are spacious and campground is convenient to highway.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing Point South KOA. We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay. Happy travels to you!
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
This is one of the best KOA's that I have stayed at since joining. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the fishing lake. did not see any gators as promised. Lot of activities to do in the surrounding area. the wife loved the pool, said it is the cleanest of all the ones in our visits to KOA this year

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so glad you had a great stay at Point South KOA. The 12 acre lake is beautiful and boasts of birds, turtles and gators as they opt to show themselves. Hopefully you will have more luck in seeing a gator if you find your way back to our park. Have a lovely journey & safe travels to you all.
Sep 14, 2014
Sep 14, 2014
The site itself is very good. No issues with wi-fi, CATV, leveling coach. It rained but site was not overly water logged. The only issue, it's a big one, is the cost. $48 plus tax a night is very high for mid season.
Sep 13, 2014
Very nice area, and nicely laid out sites. Great attitude of staff, with excellent support.
Sep 12, 2014
We stay here every time we're in the area. Beautiful cg, but would be better with some sort of surfacing.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying at Point South KOA. We agree. We have added years of gravel and crush and run which has been churned under our sand. After our total bathroom rehab we are bringing in tons of granite to cover the sites and add more sod. This is a continued effort after 31 years of ownership.
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 10, 2014
Always a pleasure we look forward to staying at Point South. Love the pizza and wine tasting.
Sep 10, 2014
my son love your campground he always want to stop there each year. He told us this is the best peaceful campground the service is great thank you for your great work

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for making us a part of your camping itinerary. We strive to make your stays memorable and enjoyable. Happy Travels until your journey brings you this way again. JM
Sep 08, 2014
Rain water drainage was a problem, our site was in a virtual river during the heavy rain, we were not able to be outside at all, other than that it is a beautiful campground and the staff was great.
Sep 08, 2014
Sep 08, 2014
We were passing thru, and the folks there were most friendly. It was easy to get on and off I-95.
Sep 06, 2014
Sep 05, 2014
Were there a short time, pizza and wine great idea, bit of road noise, hosts were very accommodating, friendly

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Please tell us how we can improve. A 5 out of a possible 10 means that there is an issue, but we need some direction. We are a city block away from I-95, it's like living near the ocean, background sounds are part of nature. The quietness of the park means you can hear distant sound.
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
We have stayed at this KOA on many occasion very quiet clean and easy in and out. See you again
Sep 03, 2014
We enjoyed are stay at Point South. All the employees are friendly and helpful. The facilities are clean and very well kept. We will definitely camp here again.
Sep 03, 2014
Nice quiet park. Convenient to I-95. Great pizza!
Sep 02, 2014
Great location close to 3 major cities full of history and things to do.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

So glad you discovered our hidden gem of history throughout our surrounding area. So many beautiful places to see and experience. Thank you for making us a part of your travel plans. Happy Camping! JDM
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 28, 2014
warm welcome, great pool, winetasting and coffee bar a great feature, loved the walk around the lake - very comfortable campground - lovingly cared for.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being a promoter of Point South KOA. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again, if your journey brings you this way. Happy Travels! JDM
Aug 27, 2014
I liked the campground and the staff was pleasant. However, they need to improve directions to the camp and I was disappointed in the Kamp K9 area.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry about the Kamp K9 area. Unless you tell us why, we cannot improve it. We are located in a commercial area and instruct everyone to turn at Waffle House & follow KOA signs to us. A map is on all digital info & in the KOA directory. DMV does not allow for anymore road signs.
Aug 26, 2014
Like the wine and coffee bar!
Aug 25, 2014
We love the place, but this time we found dead & live roaches & spiders.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry for the issue. We clean the lodges after each use and do not understand how this could happen. We are sorry that you did not inform us of the problem. We have inspected the lodge and made sure any issues where corrected. WCO
Aug 24, 2014
Very clean and employe were there to serve or help you in anyway. Best orginized KOA we ever stayed at.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. What high praise indeed. Our goal is to provide you with the best service so you feel like a welcomed guest in our home. We hope you have a continued pleasant journey. Happy Travels to you and yours. JDM
Aug 23, 2014
Beautiful site and great peeps.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.