Picacho / Tucson NW KOA

Open September 1 - May 1

Reserve: 800-562-4186

Info: 520-466-2966

Email

18428 S. Picacho Hwy

Picacho, AZ 85141

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 781 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 27, 2016
Hookups were good, level wide spot, clean, many small ants, had a generally bad vibe here. Next time we will try another campground.
Sep 25, 2016
Very nice park. Clean and level. We had a large pull thru. Easy to get back on interstate too.
Sep 24, 2016
nice park, big sites just no wifi or cable. wifi only at club house
Sep 23, 2016
Sep 20, 2016
Value for money. Helpful and friendly staff. Clean and well managed facilities.
Sep 19, 2016
Great people, easy in and out.
Sep 19, 2016
Very nice place for a quick getaway. Very friendly.
Sep 19, 2016
Thesis a different type KOA and may not be what some people want. It is a Rustic Desert Park. Clean but do not expect to see a lot of green grass, just gravel and cactus. The staff also was very friendly and helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You forgot our beautiful tall trees. We do have cactus gardens. We are in the Arizona Desert.
Sep 18, 2016
Nearly perfect. Only much traffic noise
Sep 17, 2016
One of the best KOA we have ever stayed in ... great hosts.
Sep 16, 2016
convenient location. clean, friendly staff, quick check in. Equipment worked.
Sep 12, 2016
very neat and clean...so peaceful. loved hearing the cows mooo,oh and the roosters!! probably helped that we were the only ones around!! would definitely go back, it was a very relaxing weekend. thank you!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Please do come back. We loved having you.
Sep 08, 2016
We were a late arrival and the instructions were easy to follow. Thank you!
Sep 08, 2016
This was probably one of the nicest and best maintained camp grounds I have stayed at in 20 years.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much
Sep 06, 2016
Great stay while Dove Hunting! Will definitely be back!!
Sep 06, 2016
Frankie and Jerry are great hosts. The park is clean and quiet. The pool was very nice and our dogs loved the K-9 area. Would love it if you could expand the items in the store (you'd be amazed at the things we forgot in our hurry to leave home) but we will definitely be back.
Sep 06, 2016
This was our first outing in the RV that we recently purchased. The staff went over and above to help us set it up properly and troubleshoot issues we were having. You could not ask for better people. This is a clean and homey park. Can't wait to return when the weather is cooler and the steakhouse is open!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We enjoyed having you stay with us.
Sep 03, 2016
Great People, Beautiful plants, needs WiFi at the sites

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

thank you
Aug 11, 2016
Clean, quiet, pool and Awesome steakhouse!
Jun 27, 2016
I stayed at the picacho peak KOA campground while working on the road for a few months, the campground was clean and well kept, the staff was excellent and extremely polite. I would definitely stay here again if I were camping in the area.
May 15, 2016
Great stay nice people and a great restaurant with super food
May 06, 2016
The Picacho KOA was an oasis in the desert for us, after a long long day of driving from California. Wonderful people, great service, incredibly clean, nicely located tent sites and a fantastic playground for the kids. I would return to this KOA any day!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for your comments. We hope you do come back again.
May 03, 2016
It'seems like we are home when we stay here. Great people and great food at the steakhouse! We will return in October.
Apr 29, 2016
The cleanliness of Restrooms was spectacular. The dish washing sink left more to be desired. Was dirty. Our shoes got stolen on the last day. There wasn't anyone but us and the hosts on the camp ground. One pair was and old worn out sneakers, and the other a very expensive five toe vibram shoes. Overall, it's a great place to stay but watch your belongings!!!!! Not all smiling faces are friendly!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Wish you would have come in to tell us about this. We don't have things stolen here so we're surprised. We've had some dust storms and apologize about the sink. Hope you will come back to see us.
Apr 28, 2016
Clean and beautiful. The hosts are very gracious.
Apr 28, 2016
Enjoyed our nights stay but noisy from interstate traffic, but would not let that keep us from staying again! Great personnel! Enjoyed looking at all the different cacti and flowering bushes.
Apr 26, 2016
Long, Dusty, pool was not working or to cold, wifi only at the office. But the people were very friendly.
Apr 26, 2016
Apr 24, 2016
Even though they were closing up for the season the next week they treated us very good and the facilities were very clean. Miss having cable like most other KOA's though
Apr 22, 2016
Apr 21, 2016
Nice small, clean campground.
Apr 20, 2016
We spend a weekend and it was very nice spot. With 4 little ones that loved the playground. All the facilities we're clean at all times. Unfortunately it was windy the evening we got there and dust was flying everywhere but thats to be expected in the desert. Overall this was a nice place!
Apr 20, 2016
Staff is always friendly and helpful.
Apr 20, 2016
Well maintained and clean. Hosts helpful polite and informative. Only wish wifi would cover into campground sites areas
Apr 20, 2016
Beautiful park and great hosts!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Can't wait to see you again.
Apr 20, 2016
Excellent friendly staff. Lovely location. Couldn't ask for a nicer stay. Service is excellent.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you Matt. Enjoyed having you stay with us. Come back soon.
Apr 19, 2016
Very clean and well-kept campground with friendly and organized staff. Truly a joy to stay there. Thank you!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Its a pleasure to be of service to happy campers so thank you.
Apr 17, 2016
It was a refreshing time of quiet and observing the hummingbirds at the cactus flowers.
Apr 12, 2016
Apr 11, 2016
Great hosts and beautiful grounds. We will definitely stay again.
Apr 09, 2016
Noise from freeway and trains.
Apr 07, 2016
Wonderfully friendly service. Beautiful desert grounds with shade!!!!
Apr 06, 2016
WiFi only available at office. No cable. WAY too loud from the freeway traffic!!!!!!! But Frankies Chuckwagon has the best pulled pork!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It is important to notice these things when you are checking in. You have 1 hour from the time of check in for a full refund at any KOA. If this isn't the right fit for you, please don't stay. We work very hard to have a campground people love. This just isn't the campground for you.
Apr 05, 2016
Friendly, helpful staff. Extended our stay from 4 nights to 7. Thanks! !

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are happy you could stay longer. Come back again.
Apr 04, 2016
Always a great experience with KOA. Picacho is an awesome stop for anyone traveling through Arizona. Thanks, again.
Apr 04, 2016
Very nice, nice roomy spots, restrooms were extremely clean. Pool was nice. We will be staying here again.
Apr 04, 2016
The staff was friendly, and the park met all our needs, and then some. We travel with a child and 2 large dogs. Our son swam in the pool, had lots of room to run and explore, and loved all the horses and cattle surrounding the property. Our dogs had great fun in the large cattle roping field, so that we were able to keep them exercised in a fun way. We'll definitely be back if we get the chance!
Apr 04, 2016
Awesome
Apr 04, 2016
The grounds are lovely; the pool was nice; the staff were very friendly; and the restaurant was enjoyable. We stayed in the cabin, and even though it was cute and cozy, the traffic noise made it very hard to sleep. So, unfortunately we couldn't rate this higher.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Next time we'll see what we can do about the interstate noise for you.
Apr 04, 2016
Usually it is a great experience here. This time the staff was a little grumpy. My wife showed up after I did and one of the guys was very rude to her telling her he didn't recognize the car and she explained that's because the car has never been here before my husband is in there and no I do not know the lot number but instead of saying okay just let me check he was extremely rude to her.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you had an unpleasant experience. There is signage to check in at the office before you enter the campground. Had she checked in we would have escorted her to where you were. Hopefully next time it will be a more cheerful experience. We hope you will come back.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy