Philadelphia / West Chester KOA

1659 Embreeville Road

Coatesville, PA 19320

Reserve: 800-562-1726

Info: 610-486-0447

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 15, 2014
The Philly tour is given by Rick, a KOA person. He is great. My wife and I enjoyed it, with lots of extra info too. The PA roads are a little tough when towing, very narrow and sharp turns. Bath house is a little older but is spotlessly cleaned every day.
Sep 15, 2014
The roads getting there are scary at best. Glad we didn't have a bigger rig. The free Internet was terrible. The staff was excellent. Very helpful and nice.
Sep 15, 2014
We had a great time. We really enjoyed being able to stay right on the river. All the amenities were clean and comfortable. The staff was always helpful and friendly. We will be back next year.
Sep 15, 2014
Had a great quite time. Nice clean cabin, very helpful employees
Sep 15, 2014
Everyone was super friendly and helpful. Really nice staff. We stayed in a Kampong Kabin. The full bed mattress was pretty hard but beats a tent! The bunks had a bit thicker mattresses. The public bathrooms/showers were well kept. People seem to drive a bit fast inside the campground. My kids brought their bikes and were on them constantly. We had a great time.
Sep 15, 2014
Needs a second dumping station so it doesn't get backed up.
Sep 12, 2014
This was a wonderful campground, situated as it is near Phladelphia. Beautifully maintained, but it is quite hilly.
Sep 09, 2014
My wife, grown children and grandchild have been making a trip to your campground the end of summer for the past five years and love it! The fond memories we have had turned our visit to you into a family tradition!!! Thanks so much for being such wonderful hosts!
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Park was fine, a little to hilly roads, but the big issue is the road leading to the park entrance.
Sep 09, 2014
The only complaint we have is on the weekend there was a lot of Machinery going, when you go camping you go to relax, not listen to mowers, backhoes leaf blowers etc... all around you. Especially at 8:00 am or earlier. We just love camping by the river, so I guess it was worth all the noise.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your comments. The machinery must have been the neighbors since we do not mow or perform other maintenance items on weekends except when absolutely necessary.
Sep 08, 2014
The campgrounds were great and the site was bigger then expected. However, we were hit by heavy rain and our site (site 126) had water over our ankles causing us to pack up in the rain and leave a day early.
Sep 08, 2014
Great experience, helpful people, great site.
Sep 08, 2014
Sep 08, 2014
Only one in two to three campgrounds close to the Philadelphia area. The staff is generally friendly. Highlights are the cleanest public bathrooms ever seen in the area, well-maintained premises as well as the beautiful scenic location of the Brandywine. The crown jewel in my opinion, was the general store which has everything. Only drawback is that they need a small cafeteria / snack bar.
Sep 05, 2014
We utilized the Pool regularly and the washrooms were clean. The store was usefull snd well stocked.
Sep 04, 2014
Nice friendly campground. A little difficult to get to in a large rig but doable. Quiet. Only problem was our sewer hookup ran uphill and it was difficult to adjust.
Sep 03, 2014
To far from Philadelphia. Poor lighting and many turns at night to return to campground.
Sep 03, 2014
Nice, but hilly
Sep 02, 2014
As expected my stay was great. Staff,grounds and facilities were all great.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Nice place. Good people. Roads to get there terrifying.
Sep 02, 2014
My family and I had a wonder time. A grounds keeper Paul and what I understood to be the owner Gary went out of there way to entertain the kids and were extremely courteous. The staff as a whole were very friendly. The bathrooms were always clean, the pool was nice, the grounds were well kept! They do an excellent job. It is a wonderful spot to car camp with kids.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
1st timers and felt very at ease. Great fun.
Sep 02, 2014
The sewage system backed into our site during a torrential downpour covering the area in toilet paper. The rest of the stay was great. Nice flat site.
Sep 02, 2014
Excellent location and overall camp ground. Plenty to do, very clean, very friendly staff
Sep 02, 2014
We had a nice time. We were camping with family and appreciate that we were in buddy sites with our camper doors facing. The staff was very nice and accommodating. This was our 2nd stay and we would stay here again.
Sep 02, 2014
It's nice because it is so close to home.Nice get away for day or weekend.Been there three times already this year.Only suggestion for improvement would be to have porta potty at bottom where tent sites are so you don't have to climb hill every time you need to use restroom.
Sep 02, 2014
The staff was very friendly and the facilities were very well kept. We had a great time.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
The deluxe site was worth every penny. Beautiful, clean, and friendly campground.
Aug 30, 2014
my friend and I were very impressed with the camp gound, esp w/ the amount of items stocked in the kitchen. We would really like to see the internet connectivity beefed up.
Aug 30, 2014
Beautiful location. Philly tour availability a double +. Roomy sites.In the middle of nowhere,but that's a plus.Lacked 4G not KOA'a fault but limited me. Come to this place, you won't regret it.
Aug 30, 2014
This was our HQ for visiting Philadelphia - highly recommended, particularly for seniors, who get a $1.00 train fare each way on the hourly commuter trains from nearby Thorndale. It saved us $100 at least in parking and gas to take the train in 3 days instead of driving. Great city to visit, we're coming back when the ICA opens again. Great site, well-maintained grounds, beautiful local area.
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 28, 2014
This is one of my favorite campgrounds ever. The owners and staff are extremely nice and always go out of their way to make our stay great!
Aug 27, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Facilities are very good but the proximity to several major metro areas keeps costs high.
Aug 26, 2014
The staff was respectful and super friendly. The whole campsite was immaculate and super clean. I definitely would recommend this to any couple, family or individual for a getaway.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Even though it poured rain during our weekend, we still had a great time and loved the Wine & Cheese tasting. This KOA was also one of the cleanest campgrounds I have ever camped at. A muddy weekend, yet, crystal clean facilities. A friendly staff too. Thank you!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Extremely friendly staff showed us to our campsite. Very well kept grounds with lovely landscaping. Lots of activities to do for the whole family. Everything you need is in the campground. Very clean, flushing bathrooms - although the walk from the tent sites is up a very tiring hill. We were a little concerned that our neighbor's dog was not leashed and kept barking.
Aug 24, 2014
very disappointed we couldn't take the guided tour even though it was described in the book, main reason we chose your camp, and we were placed in the middle of 5 campers with lots of kids and dogs, even though we didn't have our kids or dogs with us, so it wasn't a relaxing time ended up leaving two days earlier than inteneded.
Aug 23, 2014
Pas pu tout apprécier (in & out de 10 hres), mais bien boisé et accueil très cordial à la réception, un peu carré pour l'escorte au site (nous ne l'avions pas attendue). Chemin pittoresque mais sinueux à la fin, il faut être prêt à sacrifier 1 hre pour faire le détour de Philadelphie cependant.
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Good fun, clean bathrooms, fun pool.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.