Philadelphia / West Chester KOA

1659 Embreeville Road

Coatesville, PA 19320

Reserve: 800-562-1726

Info: 610-486-0447

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 30, 2014
The staff were terrific and the campground is very nice. Our only complaint (and reason for the rating) is we should never have been given such a small site (72) for our 33 ft RV. We were so close to the RV next to us we could not open our awning. There wasn't room for a picnic table or matt. It was the smallest site we have ever stayed at. The person who escorted us to our site apologized.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your comments. I researched the reservation and found you had reserved only a week in advance on a weekend we were essentially sold out. In addition, I also see you did not stay on site 72 and that we upgraded you to a premium site without any additional charge.
Sep 29, 2014
Second time we have stayed at this KOA. Very friendly people, close to Philly. Nice facilites. Right on the river.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Our stay was great. Our 3 year old son loved the canoe. Very nice campground nice staff. Only thing we were worried about was the trees over our site were dropping large walnuts. A few hit our camper and could have dropped on our heads but luckily they didn't. I would just suggest taking those trees down.
Sep 29, 2014
Nice campground with many amenities. We actually don't live far from the campground, but I think options for out of towners are great, including tours to Philly. Had a full hook up site with 30 amp service. Could barely make a piece of toast because the electric was low. Other than that, very nice.
Sep 29, 2014
Spent a beautiful fall weekend camping with my husband on the Brandywine River so we could go kayaking and canoeing.
Sep 29, 2014
Clean Bathrooms! They only issues I had were our site which I expected to be gravel was a muddy mess and the sites are a little tight.
Sep 29, 2014
My sister and I are retirees in our 60's. We tent all over the nation. We arrived on a Friday afternoon and found our site excessively muddy. We spent the night anyway and left for the day on Saturday. When we returned after dark, a party of more than 60 young boy scouts ran around our tent and played with our water spigot pouring water into our tent. Our complaints were ignored by management
Sep 29, 2014
I enjoyed your campground but two things could be improved: 1. When following your directions from the Penn. Turnpike, please put distances on your route, it was about 30 miles and I was beginning to think I missed a turn. 2. Many of your campsites need to be leveled better, I drive a motorhome and after putting some blocks under the wheels, the leveling jacks picked the front wheels off the gro
Sep 29, 2014
We had a great stay! We arrived late and our reservation was waiting for us at check in. It was easy to find our site and the Rangers were very friendly late at night when qe were setting up. The facilities were nice and well maintained. We wish we could have stayed longer, but can't wait to come again!
Sep 29, 2014
Very pretty setting. Nice sites, some a little promise than others. We are Workampers that was traveling from one job to the next. This is the only KOA that was inflexible with rules pertaining to vouchers. Not Workamper friendly. That's why you lost a star.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your comments. Please read the workamper guidelines. We honored our commitment to that program providing you with a free night on your way to another workamper position.
Sep 28, 2014
Best rv camp we ever stayed in hidden in the trees
Sep 28, 2014
Very nice,staff very friendly and helpful. Great tour guide,one of the best we ever had..
Sep 28, 2014
We have a 42 foot motorhome with a tow car. There is a narrow bridge with an awful curve coming in one way. Several rigs in our group had damage, flat tires. The other way are trees & signs that will scratch the sides of big rigs. Accessibility for big rigs is terrible. It's a nice campground, beautiful cabins, but access for big rigs gives it a big thumbs down for us.
Sep 27, 2014
The campground is very nice, however, getting there is not an easy task since it is located very far away from any highway and there are several low clearance bridges that must be dealt with. The staff was very helpful, staying on the phone to guide us in through heavy traffic, etc. The road was very curvy and narrow bridges were on the way. For this very reason I would not recommend it to frien
Sep 27, 2014
Sep 26, 2014
Always a pleasure!
Sep 25, 2014
The cabins are not clean. Twice I went there this summer and there were spider webs in the cabin. My family and I spent time cleaning the cabin, which cut down on my hours of stay. Also, check in time should not be 3 since I am paying for the day.
Sep 25, 2014
It is a really nice camp, clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The road in is a little tight but passable. Will stay there again.
Sep 24, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
Nice campground. Appears the big picture, pool, grass, store, etc are nice; but there site maintinence needs more attention. Pick up and raking would provide a more inviting setting.
Sep 23, 2014
The staff was great. Very clean and accommodating. Beautiful views of Brandywine Creek. Stayed in the cabins and had a blast.
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
Not family friendly. Campers on more than one site smoking pot. Campers intoxicated. Loud music. Mens bathroom was filthy. Very disappointed! Stayed at Gettysburg & loved it! Thought we'd try a closer location. Won't ever go back.
Sep 22, 2014
We had the most enjoyable time staying at your campground! Every thing was clean and tidy. The staff was more than willing to go out of their way to make us comfortable and help us enjoy our stay! I do wish there was more activities like bingo, arts and crafts and other things along that line for the weekends but other than that, we will be booking to come back next year!
Sep 22, 2014
YES, WE HAD A NICE STAY AGAIN AT YOUR KOA. THE GRANDSONS HAD A BLAST THEY JUST CAME FOR THE AFTERNOON AND EVENING WITH OUR SON AND HIS WIFE. AND THEY WILL RETURN. THANKS, TINA AND KEVIN W.
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
Friendly staff. Gary is the best!
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
Always a nice time. Clean, pleasant and well taken care of. A definite stop to any camper that's coming to the area. Thank you
Sep 22, 2014
My granddaughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Cabin #1! It was conveniently located next to the playground.
Sep 21, 2014
We took the tour to Philadelphia/Valley Forge with Rick. It was awesome. Rick was very informative and really went the extra mile. Very relaxing!
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 20, 2014
Did not have much time to spend at the campground, but what we saw of it very nice.
Sep 20, 2014
This park is too far from any attractions and the roads are not big rig friendly.
Sep 19, 2014
Other than the road getting to the campground, very narrow, we had a great time and the site and grounds were great. Would stay there again.
Sep 19, 2014
Sep 19, 2014
Great park! But they need to work with the county road department to have the trees along the road to the park trimmed for high profile RVs. My antennas, vents, and wind sensors took a beating going and coming.
Sep 18, 2014
Beautiful, quiet campground! Can be tough to get to and a ways from Philadelphia, but worth it! Nice train ride from nearby into the city.
Sep 18, 2014
We stayed at site #3 on the hill, and had a great view of the campground. Although it was off season, it had everything we needed, and privacy to boot! We'll be back!
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
This is our 3rd or 4th stay at this KOA. Never any surprises. Thanks again.
Sep 16, 2014
Our first stay at this campground. We stayed in a cabin and was very impressed. Very quiet campground, well run. Will definitely return!
Sep 15, 2014
Staff was helpful and courteous. Tours were wonderful and happy they were available on site. Site was clean and nice albeit a little tight for my RV.
Sep 15, 2014
loved camping by the river, but i wish the tent sites had running water on them and not just electric.
Sep 15, 2014
Awesome Campground - Excellement Management - Well maintained facilities!!
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
The campground itself is beautiful. It was a bummer that the lodge was booked for an event during the VKR weekend. There really wasn't much for the kids to do at teh campground. Very little kid friendly items like hay/wagon rides, art&crafts etc...The Wi-Fi at the campground was the worst I've ever seen and impossible to get on and once you did get on, you were cut off within 1 minute.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.