Ouray KOA

US Hwy 550 - CR23, PO Box J

Ouray, CO 81427

Reserve: 800-562-8026

Info: 970-325-4736

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 05, 2013
Ouray KOA is about "par" for this brand/company, i.e., lots of people jammed together to maximize revenue - this one has a few unrepaired mud holes (the monsoon only happens EVERY summer!) to slow down the 3-4am noisy diesel truck making a round or two - of course, the music as well as dogs (dozens!) barking during 10pm-8am "quiet" hours were typical of any KOA these days. Decent bathrooms.
Sep 04, 2013
We have been staying at the Ouray KOA for about 11 or 12 years, made reservations for Labor Day weekend next year and I always recomend Ouray KOA to friends.
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
The tent-only portion of the campground was beautiful and secluded. All of the usual facilities were first rate for the camping experience.
Sep 04, 2013
Clean and quiet. Not just a parking spot on a flat, no shade pad.
Sep 04, 2013
Very well kept campsites, lots of trees and decent space between campers. When we arrived there was a mix up on our reservation but the owner David and his wife were quick to make things right. Took good care of us getting us into a site that was comfortable and provided us a discount for our stay. Also offered a discount for any future visit. Good clean facilities, staff friendly and helpful.
Sep 04, 2013
Although the mattress in the cabin was extremely uncomfortable, everything else about our stay was wonderful.
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
Other campers were allowed to set up their tent at 2:3o am, making quite a lot of noise (1st night). (second night others left with a lot of noise at 4:30 am. Wish somemone would have told them to respect other campers more. We on the other hand had to make sure that our dog was quiet and even had to sign a paper for that.
Sep 04, 2013
This KOA has one of the prettiest settings we've seen. Lots of green grass and trees. The Kampground is set away from the highway, so was quiet. The staff was first rate: I'd given Netflix their address for a DVD shipment and one of the staff members made a special trip into town to make sure we would get our delivery. Town is 5 miles away, so I could this as exceptional service. Many thanks!
Sep 04, 2013
This is one of the best campgrounds we've stayed in. The facilities were in topnotch condition. The staff was outstanding ... they really made a difference.
Sep 04, 2013
Did not get the 50 amp site as told. site 65A was a 30 amp and the map was wrong. Host tried to cover up the mistake in place of relocating us. Told other sites were full for our stay but no one ever arrived. Kept putting all arrivals together in one large group in rear and no one could have privacy. Management was rude when checking In. Had a 35' trailer on 30 amp in a very small site, no help!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This guest is way out of line. David and I did everything we could to help them. Yes, there was a mistake by one of our staff in moving a site, but we worked especially hard for this guest and did give them a 50amp site after lots of juggling. Guest did not understand anything about requested sites.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
We stayed in one of the kabins and it was just perfect! Very clean, right size and an easy walk to the bathrooms. Everyone that works there is so friendly!
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
the office personal were extremely helpful &any time we met any of workers they were very friendly only con was we had no sat reception at our site (2 weeks with no tv i loved it wife not so much!) would be nice if cable was option would stay here again if we return
Sep 03, 2013
This is one of the nicest KOAs and I would stay here again!
Sep 03, 2013
Beautiful camp ground. I like that we pulled our motorhome onto grass and not gravel. Very clean. Staff was very welcoming and friendly.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
We enjoyed our stay, and will probably come back again. Our site was a little small, but the facilities and staff were good.
Sep 03, 2013
Very friendly staff and well maintained campground. Beautiful setting just a short drive off the main road so was nice and quiet. Our kamper kabin was very clean as well. Can't wait for the next trip to the area and another stay here.
Sep 03, 2013
We stayed in a tent during our stay at Ouray KOA. The tent sites could use more gravel as it is the monsoon season and makes everything muddy. The breakfast was very inexpensive and the staff at the breakfast stand were a delight. The meals were big portions and cooked very good. We enjoyed our stay, but it would be nice if the bbq pits could be cleaned out daily.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Thanks to Dave and Deb for a great campground in a beautiful place
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
This is our 2nd stay here and like the first it was wonderful! The staff and hosts were extremely nice and very helpful. My only complaint is that the coffee was stronger!
Sep 01, 2013
Everything is clean and employees cheerful. Great place to stay
Sep 01, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
crowded and run down, only positive is location
Aug 31, 2013
been there several times and plan on staying there again in the future.
Aug 31, 2013
Aug 30, 2013
What can I say, Ouray Colorado!!!! The KOA was clean and well organized. Wonderful staff, friendly, helpful and interesting! Food available in onsite facility was like Mom used to make. Camped here for a week with three other campers(including our Mom). Will make plans to return with camping party next spring!!! HAPPY CAMPING ALL !!!!
Aug 29, 2013
We stayed in the deluxe cabin that accommodates 4 people. It was adorable. Almost brand new. They didn't skimp on anything. The queen mattress was not your typical hotel mattress, much better quality. To our surprise, the cabin not only had a front porch but a good size deck with a table and 4 chairs and two flower hanging baskets. A firepit for those cozy nights. We were very happy!
Aug 29, 2013
Very nice people, and an exceptional location with spectacular scenery!
Aug 28, 2013
Mostly satisfied however Restricted from using the Side by Side Polaris to visit other campsites where our friends were because of my handicapped wife I got in trouble parking the rather large pick up at their sites even though I was standing by it and ready to move it if needed. Because of this I will have to stay elsewhere in the future.
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
We love staying at this KOA! Super clean. Fantastic personnel to work with. Beautiful surroundings! Wish we could go more often.
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Great campground. Awesome location. Wonderful people. We've been coming back every summer for 12 years, and they never fail to impress.
Aug 27, 2013
was good and nice...
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Great food, friendly people, sites with elbow room and grass in a fantastic setting at the base of the San Juan mountain range.
Aug 27, 2013
We liked the fact the KOA site was off the highway. Staff was friendly and helpful, breakfest was great. Will be back.
Aug 27, 2013
Very nice staff and the park is very clean. Staff were very nice and helpful . We will be back
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Bathroom need updating No tv Sites. Not anything Stream is a ditch

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

What an extreme opinion in contrast to our very happy guests. Perspective is everything, and unfortunately, these negative ones ruin it for everyone.
Aug 26, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.