Onawa / Blue Lake KOA

Open April 15 - November 15

Reserve: 800-562-4182

Info: 712-423-1633


21788 Dogwood Avenue

Onawa, IA 51040-8665

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 923 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 28, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at the KOA and look forward to the next trip.
Sep 06, 2016
We like coming to owana .close to home. Bathrooms are clean and camp ground is well kept. Also the little store helps out with ice and other things you need when you forgot them. My grandchildren enjoy riding the bicycles as well.
Aug 22, 2016
Very nice KOA. Great location on the lake. Nice grassy tenet sites! Very clean facilities.
Aug 16, 2016
Friendly, quiet and accommodating. The pool is one of the smallest I've ever been in though. Any more than 4 kids and it feels crowded. May want to consider having an "adult swim" hour or two at the end of the night.
Aug 04, 2016
Very clean. Nice campsite. Friendly people.
Jul 29, 2016
Stayed 3 days in tent site. Weekend days Lake very busy. Week days kids camp play music 0730 hrs to 0800 hrs. Typically very quiet. Spent most our time setting at pool or at site reading. Great place!
Jul 22, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Beautiful campground, view of the lake, and amazing sunset. I wish I would have realized that my tent would be no match for the storm that swept through the area. With the impending storm coming, I think it might have been a great opportunity for the staff to up-sell us into one of the cabins. By the time the storm passed, the office was closed, and my son and I spent the night in the car.
Jul 07, 2016
This park is mostly for mobile campers. It's very crowded and small. Fishing off the docks is poor and not safe for kids.
Jul 06, 2016
My family and I had such a fun time at KOA. It was our first time camping and we were pleasantly surprised at how easy the whole experience was. The owner, his family, and the entire staff made us feel right at home from lending us a grate for our fire pit, to having ice and snacks for purchase when we ran low. The campground was clean, well-organized and safe. Thanks Kelly! We'll be back!!
Jul 05, 2016
Had a great time.
Jul 05, 2016
Would come back and visit again. And would recommend to others looking for a camping spot.
Jul 03, 2016
Tent campers beware!Tent sites are not nestled together near the showers/bathrooms,if youre in a group,forget about being near each other.Most RVs have a bathroom (right?) and most tents do not.Our distance from the bathroom was a problem.The girls at the counter were eh.*I was charged an extra $2 on top of my reservation, ice, wood.There was a tailgate atmosphere-loud, drunk, cussing, music >10


Thank you for your recent stay, if your location was a problem you should have asked to be moved, it is hard to address any of your issues in a review, as a reminder this was a holiday weekend, open spots were limited, tent sites are in various locations throughout the park to fit everyone's needs.
Jun 20, 2016
The grounds and facilities were clean and well-kept. The staff was friendly and willing to be of service. My only disappointment was that the quiet time rule was not enforced.


Sorry about the quiet hours, the people that caused the problems are no longer welcome here. Thank you for your stay.
Jun 06, 2016
Beautiful grounds. Friendly staff. Clean facilities. We had a pleasant stay and would visit again.
Aug 31, 2015
Second time camping here. Lakeside campsite......AWESOME!!
Aug 13, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
Great place to stay on my motorcycle trip to the Sturgis Rally. I had a quiet tent site next to the lake. Staff was friendly at check-in. Showers/bathrooms were clean. Great location,just off the interstate, but quiet. Definitely would return/recommend.
Aug 02, 2015
Thanks nice lake in background to tent sites
Jul 14, 2015
Very nice and relaxing place to camp!
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
One night, Tent camping on motorcycle. Would be more motorcycle friendly if you had asphalt instead of loose gravel all over.


Our tent sites are not graveled and are on grass! Asphalt is VERY expensive!!
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 08, 2015
It was a very enjoyable stay. The camp grounds were very neat and the 4th was a nice day for all Thank you
Jul 07, 2015
NICE PLACE. Not ur fault but some campers near had some rather rough & loud talk late into the nite.
Jul 06, 2015
Love this place. Thanks for the fun.
Jul 01, 2015
Beautiful location. Some campers in a cabin were up after quiet hour, talking loudly. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. Check in person was very nice. Thank you
Jun 29, 2015
Dont think kids 12 and under should be charged to stay.
Jun 23, 2015
koa gets a 10 for cleanliness, 10 for friendly management,and a 10 for overall satisfaction.
Jun 16, 2015
we have camped there for the last 12 yrs during the rondevoues and love the people and hope it stays the same
May 26, 2015
from arrival to departure all went very well. Restrooms were clean, campgrounds were neat and well kept. Will use this facility again if in the area.
May 19, 2015
Very nice campground. Everything there. Extremely nice staff. It was a great stay..
May 11, 2015
I stayed at 5 KOA locations all week and this one was by far my favorite. The lady at the front desk was so nice and I couldn't have asked for better service. I didn't have any problems moving my campsite to the lake front and the whole location was just an oasis in the middle of baron farm land. I would love to return here again, as long as I could get a lake front site again. lol
Sep 08, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
Bathrooms were clean. Hosts helpful and friendly.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
KOA is the best place to camp
Aug 05, 2014
I was amazed at how clean the restrooms/showers were and the campground in general.
Jul 31, 2014
Beautiful lakeside tent site. Beautiful sunset with fish splashing in the Lake!
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Very nice campground, great pancake breakfasts, especially with 18 hungry scouts.


We do not have breakfasts... lol!
Jul 23, 2014
closed the office at 6pm. limited time/resources.... and the camp was for sale (sign) A bit run down, but affordable rates.
May 30, 2014
theplace was clean had a great time with friends.do recommend this koa with others rate great place
May 18, 2014
Sep 16, 2013
Beautiful setting, well shaded sites. Campground was well maintained. Restrooms very clean. Hosts friendly and personable.
Aug 07, 2013
Just stayed overnight on a Motorcycle trip with some friends. Really seemed cleaned and the shade trees in the tent camping area were awesome cover from the sun.
Jul 16, 2013
Nice, clean facility. Friendly owners, especially Maggie. Would stay again.

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy