Onawa / Blue Lake KOA

21788 Dogwood Avenue

Onawa, IA 51040-8665

Reserve: 800-562-4182

Info: 712-423-1633

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 14, 2013
Plush grass set on a beautiful lake with bricked fire-rings and no bugs. Pool was warm, bathrooms clean and showers great. This is the nicest campground we have ever been to. The rates were fair and reasonable, and the office staff helpful. We wish we lived closer to it so that we could camp there seasonally.
Jul 14, 2013
Most KOAs are nice, this was one of the BEST!
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
The trash pile was so nasty! It was overflowing. Other than that, all was fine.
Jul 11, 2013
This campground is BEAUTIFUL. The facilities are clean and I really appreciate that the laundry stayed open 24 hours, as we pulled in late. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this KOA! Happy Camping!
Jul 11, 2013
Excellent facilities. Clean. Wish that we could have stayed longer. Good value.
Jul 10, 2013
Nice clean campground, beautiful grounds kept in golf course like condition. Owners were very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay again!
Jul 09, 2013
we had a great time here. the staff was very nice, park and restrooms clean, and noise after hours was minimal. best time camping in quite a while!
Jul 05, 2013
Jun 26, 2013
Even though we were there only one night. It was a very nice campground and quiet. Would definitely stay there again.
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 20, 2013
spacious area, kids had a good time. very clean and friendly.
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 16, 2013
Welcoming staff...awesome scenery.
Jun 16, 2013
Jun 15, 2013
Gorgeous location. We so enjoyed the sunset and sunrise on the lake. Quiet,clean and well maintained. We plantovisit again!
Jun 13, 2013
Jun 11, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
The KOA in Onawa is one of our favorite campgrounds. We are repeat customers and plan to keep it that way. Our only complaint was the weather. :)
Jun 10, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
Extremely friendly staff. Very clean bathrooms. Beautiful grounds!
Jun 10, 2013
Camp ground was clean and well maintained. Very wet and rainy which made our camping spot very muddy. Not sure what you could have do e about that maybe more gravel. Overall 5 stars well done!
Jun 09, 2013
Jun 09, 2013
Campground was very well kept and clean. Our site was very level and no problem with trees with our 4 slide outs. The lady at the desk was very helpful and very courteous. We stayed for 2 nights in a motorhome. Would definitely stay here again.
Jun 05, 2013
We were going from Florida to Yellowstone. We try to stay at KOA most of the time. The parks are always different but always have some of the same qualities. This one was unique being on Blue Lake. It was beautiful with the lake and the beautiful trees. And of course the workers were all so helpful.
Jun 03, 2013
Jun 03, 2013
May 30, 2013
May 29, 2013
I like this campground and the staff is friendly and helpful. The campsites are a bit too close together for my preference, but it's a nice place.
May 29, 2013
A rainy weekend but there was still things to do. There is a museum across the lake. Also close to town to get items you may have forgotten. Wonderful park for children. The playground was nice. Good fishing. Arcade in the club house. Very nice campground!
May 29, 2013
Everything was good and the staff was friendly.
May 28, 2013
The stay was excellent. the KOA had plenty to offer. Fishing swimming pool paddleboats and a very nice store. The hosts are gracious and very helpful. can't wait to go back
May 28, 2013
Stay was good, however online res was for pull thru spot but was given a back-in instead. Made it work as didn't tow as thought, system shouldn't allow res if not available. Called in advance and couldn't get spot info.
May 25, 2013
May 25, 2013
campgrounds were OK and staff nice.
May 23, 2013
It was a great campground. Run by very nice people. I'd definitely stay there traveling through again.
May 22, 2013
the only complaint is that office hours are only open until noon and then again at 4 pm. you can't check in until noon and so they are gone and we ended up coming back early that night to check in before they left at 7:30

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have signs posted outside with our hrs until Memorial Day Weekend. 8am to 10am and 4pm to 7:30pm. Also, the after hours box always has all the reservations in it when closed and a selection of sites available.
May 20, 2013
Cable TV would have been nice and the WiFi was slow, but we really liked the campground and will be staying there again, its great.
May 19, 2013
I have been on the road for the past 8 months and this is one of the best parks that I have ever been in. Location, service and staff are outstanding.
May 18, 2013
Staff very helpful and curtious, facilities were well maintined and clean. We didn't spend much time at the camp ground as we were visiting relitives and freinds. We are looking forward to our next chanse to stay at blue lake. thank you Gary Hansen
May 17, 2013
View was wonderful? Very nice campground and friendly staff. Wish I had more time to stay longer!
May 16, 2013
May 15, 2013
We enjoyed staying very much. Everyone is friendly & helpful; it is one of the cleanest & nicest campgrounds & the hosts & staff are the best.
May 14, 2013
May 13, 2013
Nice friendly staff. Very clean facilities! We will be back!
May 13, 2013
One of the best KOA's I have stayed at! Very friendly owner and staff. The campground as spotless. This KOA is our new weekend get-a-way. Dave
May 12, 2013
May 10, 2013
May 05, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.