Onawa / Blue Lake KOA

Open April 15 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-4182

Info: 712-423-1633

Email

21788 Dogwood Avenue

Onawa, IA 51040-8665

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 805 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 13, 2015
The owners were great!However, a mean lady who lives here followed us to our site to yell at us and tell us we were speeding!Not true!We have visited dozens of campgrounds & the speed limit is normally 5-10mph.It wasn't posted here so we were going 8mph. She followed us and yelled "THE SPEED LIMIT IS 5 MILES PER HOUR IN THIS CAMPGROUND!!! THERE ARE KIDS EVERY WHERE AND YOU WERE NOT GOING 5 MPH"!Sh

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

There are rules to abide too. Safety is#1 !!!!! We had a 3 yr. old get hit within a fraction of an inch. The speed limit is 5mph and POSTED in the entrance when you entered the park. The lady you mentioned that yelled at you does NOT live here and is a camper with us and told us what happened.
Jul 12, 2015
It was a very nice campground on an inviting lake. However, we were just passing through and did not have enough time to fully enjoy all there was to offer.
Jul 12, 2015
Very nice camp grounds
Jul 10, 2015
Great!
Jul 10, 2015
I wish the store stayed open pass 8 pm and that someone would have driven us to our site.
Jul 09, 2015
Lots of shade. Very smoky on the second day from forest fires in the northwest. Nice place!
Jul 08, 2015
I'll start with the pros: nice pool, most of the time the ONLY 1 bathroom/shower building is clean and stocked. Cons:The sites are too close (the neighbors canopy touched our slide), fire rings are right by the road (you could burn your vehicle or your neighbors), different rules for the owners/friends of owners(their dog can bark all afternoon/evening), the store is WAY overpriced on everything
Jul 07, 2015
Wonderful people, clean campground, beautiful setting!
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
Beautiful little campground. Nice, clean bathrooms and laundry room. Would defiantly recommend this to anyone who wants to go camping. I'm sure my family and I will be back soon!
Jul 07, 2015
We were only there one night. Would have been a wonderful 4th of July except our dog is terrified of anything that goes boom. So was rather stressful. Although the park was packed for the holiday, except for the fireworks display, it was mostly quiet and campers were respectful.
Jul 06, 2015
We have been having our family reunion here for the past 8 years. It is a very family friendly place. The staff is very considerate of our needs.
Jul 06, 2015
The grounds are clean and everyone is very friendly. This is a nice place for a family get away.
Jul 05, 2015
Staff was amazing. Very clean. Restrooms were awesome. Had a very relaxing fun time!
Jul 05, 2015
Very beautiful location.
Jul 05, 2015
the campground was beautiful, the people were very helpful in making sure at our site was ready when we arrived. we had no idea what to expect, since we were just driving through and needed a place to stay, but it was such a beautiful campground, we would like to go back and spend more time there.
Jul 04, 2015
Jul 03, 2015
Good rate ! Beautiful campground along the lake.
Jul 02, 2015
Fantastic. Clean, friendly. Quiet. Everything we wanted!
Jul 02, 2015
Great!
Jun 30, 2015
The staff was excellent, & very pleasant to interact with.
Jun 29, 2015
Very nice. Easy in/easy out. Nice shower house.
Jun 29, 2015
Clean. Shady. Very friendly.
Jun 29, 2015
This was a very nice KOA. Our site was nice and the people were well organized. It was on a beautiful lake. A very nice setting.
Jun 29, 2015
I can't believe they charged me12 per kid . A camp site should be for family!! Not just two adults.it cost me over100.00 for two nights. I will never stay at another koa park !!!!!!!
Jun 29, 2015
This was our first time staying at a KOA and I loved it. I thought the staff upon arrival was extremely nice and helpful. I loved the pool and I loved how clean the grounds were. The restrooms we're very clean and the showers were clean and each time I showered the water was warm:-) I will definately be staying agin!
Jun 28, 2015
Nice lake, very friendly, A stop we would make again. Would recommend to friends.
Jun 27, 2015
Place looked nice. Only stayed overnight and wasnt there very long.
Jun 27, 2015
We loved being by the lake. We loved sharing with the 2 little bunnies.
Jun 25, 2015
Clean, peaceful, friendly and was not even there till after office closed but everything was covered. What a night should be when you're on vacation. An oasis on the road. Was nice to just sit and be. Thanks
Jun 25, 2015
It was good. I enjoyed the pool.
Jun 24, 2015
Although we were traveling with a small pop up, we were placed far from the bathroom. Also, our son was disappointed when the pool and games closed earlier than the posted hours.
Jun 23, 2015
Great place! Very clean, beautiful setting. Well maintained and easy access.
Jun 23, 2015
I think it is criminal that you charge to have guests visit you while you are camping. The bathrooms smelled awful. The posted cleaning schedule for the bathrooms was not adhered to, was more than 30 minutes longer than posted. The staff was NOT friendly at all. Not a happy camper.
Jun 23, 2015
Nice campground but in need of some updates like picnic tables. Very friendly staff. Very clean place
Jun 22, 2015
Love the place!!
Jun 22, 2015
Just an overnite but friendly staff made us feel at home. Good facilities, easy setup and lovely site.
Jun 21, 2015
Jun 21, 2015
Very good
Jun 20, 2015
The campsite was extremely muddy due to lack of grass
Jun 20, 2015
A real nice quiet place, wished we could of spent more time there! Friendly staff too. Very clean bathrooms
Jun 19, 2015
Friendly staff,easy in-easy out for big rigs (just make sure you turn wide enough to get in) Enjoyed walking down by the water with my husband! It was a very comfortable stay. 😀
Jun 19, 2015
Very nice rv park. Friendly staff and everything was neat and tidy. We look forward to visiting this park soon.
Jun 18, 2015
Jun 17, 2015
Nice amenity and very friendly staff.
Jun 17, 2015
Was very clean and well mantained. Camp hosts were great
Jun 07, 2015
Jun 07, 2015
Jun 05, 2015
Very nice campground
Jun 03, 2015
The Lady in the office was friendly as was her dog. Readily answered all questions of the area. Bathrooms were very clean and updated. Great playground for the grandkids.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals