Onawa / Blue Lake KOA

21788 Dogwood Avenue

Onawa, IA 51040-8665

Reserve: 800-562-4182

Info: 712-423-1633

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 21, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Enjoyed very much. Nice, clean, & quiet. Lakeside view was great.
Aug 19, 2013
A lake, pool, trees, level pads...what more could an RVer want!
Aug 16, 2013
Beautiful park located on lakefront. Park was extremely clean. Staff very helpful and friendly. No problems. Enjoyed our stay.
Aug 14, 2013
No hot tub or cable. Parked next to a soy bean field. A bit off the beaten track. Nice people, but would skip next time.
Aug 14, 2013
Great place. Needs cable TV. Staff is Great!
Aug 12, 2013
We loved it so much we set up 2 more reservations in the weeks coming.
Aug 12, 2013
Very nice...quiet...lots of trees with lake and pool access. We will go again. Really close to Omaha but far enough to be quiet!
Aug 12, 2013
always a 5 star stay!!
Aug 10, 2013
Tall shade trees. Love pizza delivered from the office to your site. Pleasant cheery host.
Aug 08, 2013
I have stayed in this campground twice now, and find it to be clean, friendly, and pleasant. The campsites are mostly shaded, and it is very pet friendly. The staff is helpful, and the pool is clean. All in all, no negatives.
Aug 07, 2013
We had a great time. Staff was friendly. Very clean grounds. Lots to do at campground and nearby!
Aug 07, 2013
The lady in the office was so nice and polite and very helpful. We didn't get to stay long but we loved it.
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 07, 2013
They need to trim their dead tree branches. Otherwise this is a great park
Aug 07, 2013
This is the best campground we have ever stayed at. And is clean beyond any compare the grounds are beautiful and kept in top shape. The flowers and pool are fantastic with the pool being in a great sunny location with lots of chairs and a gazebo. I will stay here whenever I'm passing thru.
Aug 06, 2013
Good Campground
Aug 06, 2013
we had a wonderful time also had a great spot thank u to all the wonderful folks there
Aug 05, 2013
This is a really nice place to stop for a couple days. The most shade trees I've seen anywhere in the USA. Wonderfully friendly and helpfull staff. It was our pleasure to stop here for a night and wish we had time to stay longer.
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 03, 2013
The spacing of the sites left a little to be desired -- we were practically right on top of our neighbors. Luckily they were good campers and we had no problems.
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 03, 2013
Lovely spot under the trees, place was full but the staff were super. Will use this KOA again next year!
Aug 03, 2013
Just passing through on the way to our destination. Will stay there again if we pass that way again.
Aug 03, 2013
Very nice! Quiet; helpful personnel; big, beautiful lake and State Park nearby.
Aug 02, 2013
To be rated 5 stars they would need to put in concrete pads.
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
great lot. very nice people. Really liked the pull through large lot by the lake. Only thing keeping it from perfect was the pool was very cold. Other than that it was wonderful!
Jul 29, 2013
Love the area, the office help were friendly, area was clean. Thanks Kerry
Jul 29, 2013
This campground is very well kept the bathrooms are clean and well kept. It is a very shady so it depends a lot on the weather. The Lewis and Clark state campgrounds on the west side of Blue Lake which has much better lake access and more open layout. The only place to do any fishing from the KOA side was off the docks. Steep bank down to water. Great staff and friendly service. Nice pool.
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Great office staff. Clean facilities.
Jul 28, 2013
Although we we only stayed for 1 night at this campground we were very pleased. The staff was very friendly and hefpful.
Jul 27, 2013
Had a fabulous site right on the water--perfect!
Jul 27, 2013
Very nice campground, well kept...the owners are doing renovations! We had a lovely site (#75) overlooking the Lake! Beautiful sunsets!!
Jul 25, 2013
The campground was beautiful. The lake was lovely and the pool was nice and clean. This was a wonderful campground.
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
Did not get to stay long, just passing through on our way home, BUT the entire place, especially restrooms and showers were immaculate.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
This was our second stay at Onawa/Blue Lake, IA KOA. The campground was clean and the staff was friendly. Very good overall impressions with only minor negatives. Internet was down for a period of time. The other negative was that were very close to the neighbor's site. Our sewage hose was very close to them. We were in site 12 for reference.
Jul 22, 2013
First time travel trailer user. Great campground. Clean and everything worked, including stuff for the kids. Nice shaded sites.
Jul 22, 2013
Pool was small for amount of people (standing room only)most of camp ground seemed to be long term renters which had all the best spots locked up.sites are extremely narrow.On a positive note all the people we ran into were very friendly but the park is a bit dated.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

32 rv sites that are not long term and no one can live here, they are exceptional seasonals. The pool area is very busy in July, but it is 24' x 40' and very, very well kept up and very clean.
Jul 20, 2013
I can say that the host was very nice. It's hard to rate because we were tired from a long drive and really didn't take in much of the campground, we didn't even use the bathroom/shower. Everything looked good as far as I could see driving in. I wish I could say more. We were just tired. But this not to say we wouldn't go back. It's a plus with us when the host is nice, and she really was nice!!
Jul 20, 2013
Campground was clean and service was friendly
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
Good place to stay. First time here was in 1977. Second time is 2013.
Jul 18, 2013
Clean koa.
Jul 17, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.