Onawa / Blue Lake KOA

Open April 15 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-4182

Info: 712-423-1633


21788 Dogwood Avenue

Onawa, IA 51040-8665

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 700 Reviews

RV Reviews

Oct 18, 2015
It was good, convenient and staff was courteous.
Oct 15, 2015
Friendly staff, easy checkin, nice and quiet area
Oct 13, 2015
One of the nicest KOA's that we have ever stayed at. Always pleasant and accomodating regardless of what size rig you drive. We know that we will have a pleasant night after a long driving day. This place is like a park as it borders on a beautiful lake. Expect spectacular sunsets!!
Oct 12, 2015
I've stayed twice. both times we had low voltage problems. we were told it was something on our end. He checked it with his voltage tester but wouldn't show my husband what it said. He lied. that is the only place we had problems so it wasn't us. she is rude not someone who should be in customer service.
Oct 12, 2015
Great people & campground!
Oct 10, 2015
Internet was very limited emails with attachments would not work. KOA camping is mostly top of the line not here on the internet. the rest was great.
Oct 05, 2015
It would have been nice if the office was open more hours. Our guests arrived at different times during the day. She chastised us for not registering our guests. Nice location and clean.
Oct 01, 2015
It's beautiful.
Oct 01, 2015
clean,, friendly hosts, just a great place to stay...
Sep 30, 2015
The campground itself has nice showers and is clean. However we have never been treated so rudely at check in. There was a sign on the door saying where the after hours check in was located. However since it was not after hours we waited for someone...when she came she asked if I could read the sign on the door and why did I not get the info out of the box
Sep 29, 2015
nice place. owners were friendly. would stop here again if ever in the area
Sep 27, 2015
Came in after dark. Had a little trouble finding the campsite in the dark (map could have been a little clearer) but a fellow camper helped us. Nice facilities. Would stop here again.
Sep 26, 2015
This is a great quiet campground and the owners are great too
Sep 25, 2015
Good staff. Nice view next to the lake.
Sep 25, 2015
Loved everything except the thunderstorm.
Sep 25, 2015
We had a spot right on the lake. It was beautiful, quiet and we ordered a pizza that wad less than 5 minutes away. It was delicious. However, it rained hard for hours. We really couldn't get out and enjoy our stay, but would definitely go back
Sep 23, 2015
Sep 22, 2015
Made our reservations on line on short notice which worked out well. Requested a pull-through for our 40' fifth wheel. Again, no problems in fact I got to select our site. Most importantly, unlike most KOA, this KOA was two miles off the interstate which got us away from the highway noise. Huge trees and well kept grounds were a bonus. A very pleasant surprise with easy in & easy out parking.
Sep 22, 2015
Very pretty. We were there in mid sept. WE had to find our site buy are self. We did it but it sure would of been nice if the host would of taken us there. We were very tired So the help would of been nice
Sep 21, 2015
Very nice quiet campground
Sep 14, 2015
Please evaluate the speed bumps at the entry. Those travelling on 2 wheels are greatly impacted by such large speed bumps
Sep 13, 2015
clean grassy sites. The lake was beautiful. The staff extremely accommodating and friendly! Would use them again.
Sep 12, 2015
Sep 10, 2015
Very friendly staff. Met some friendly other campers. Ran to Casino for supper. Beautiful large camping spot for our pull behind fold out motorcycle camper trailer. Very quiet during the night.
Sep 09, 2015
Beautiful place to stay! We loved it!
Sep 08, 2015
the staff was very friendly
Sep 08, 2015
Super nice people. They make you feel like you want to go back
Sep 08, 2015
Clean Campground but the spots are really tight, hard to put out awning without almost hitting your neighbor.
Sep 08, 2015
It was nice at the campgrounds. The pool was great for the kids. The price for camping was too expensive.
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 07, 2015
We Only stopped for the night. Found the staff very courteous. Site clean and easy in and out.
Sep 07, 2015
When we got there we were told we should have never received reservations because it was a holiday weekend, and we had requested water/electricity and our rig should never have been put in that site. We were squeezed in between 2 permanent sites with 30 amp. Did not care for the campground either.
Sep 07, 2015
Just wish the water pressure was a little better in the showers.
Sep 06, 2015
I thought I had made a reservation but I was confused. They let us stayed and we had a great spot excep we couldn't get our Dish to work. Is a beautiful camp and wished we had stayed longer. We will plan for a stay in the future. Nice reception from the employee. Thank you.
Sep 04, 2015
Nice park,wonderful helpful staff. Clean easy to get into.
Sep 03, 2015
Great campground and very friendly staff
Sep 02, 2015
Great camping experience. Wonderful management & friendly staff. One of the cleanest campgrounds we have been to this summer.
Sep 02, 2015
Very friendly people relaxed setting dog friendly Only wish would be some beach access. I'd stay again tho
Sep 01, 2015
We arrived after the office closed, but check-in was easy enough. The site designated as available was like parking in someone's yard, we had to guess where we were supposed to pull in. Otherwise, it was a quiet campground and fine for an overnight stop. We did not use the bathroom/shower facilities.
Sep 01, 2015
Nice campground - no highway noise. Lots of seasonal campers
Sep 01, 2015
Lovely spot by a lake. Friendly people. Big trees. Needs more grass at sites. Muddy. Maybe 90% of the sites are seasonal rentals. Pump out station sewer lid won't rise enough to put a 90° sewer hose fitting into it.
Aug 31, 2015
Spaces closer together but lots of amenities. Friendly service and it was quiet. Have a nice store, serves breakfast, and has a fenced dog area.
Aug 29, 2015
Aug 26, 2015
A wonderful park run by excellent owners - Very impressive, clean, very relaxing!
Aug 26, 2015
Clean bathrooms and friendly staff. Only stayed overnight. Easy to get to from the highway.
Aug 24, 2015
It is a great place to stay. Very shaded and nice people.
Aug 24, 2015
We like the fishing. Like the showers and its lose to home
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
Clean and quiet !!!!
Aug 23, 2015
I have been a regular here all summer... every weekend.... love it here

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy