Onawa / Blue Lake KOA

Open April 15 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-4182

Info: 712-423-1633

Email

21788 Dogwood Avenue

Onawa, IA 51040-8665

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 905 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Sep 07, 2016
Sep 04, 2016
Very clean and friendly. Never seen cleaner bathrooms. Had the best time. Awesome playground and pool. And the store was very well stocked.
Aug 20, 2016
The campsite was very clean with many activities available. It was a perfect family getaway!
Aug 15, 2016
you can tell there new owners because the quality of service and friendliness is not there. its like the all year round people control the place.
Aug 08, 2016
It was great.
Jul 27, 2016
Lovely campground on a beautiful lake. Excellent wifi. Nice clean bathrooms too
Jul 23, 2016
We rented cabin #3 and really enjoyed the view of the beautiful lake! It's the closest to the bathrooms too! The staff was great and accommodating. We enjoyed the pool, playground, dock area and the kids liked the tricycle bikes they could drive all over. It felt safe and was quiet at night. Only suggestion is that they get a light fixture at the pool so it can stay open longer than 8pm.
Jul 17, 2016
Isolated area. Nothing around but the lake which is pretty but difficult to access & I saw no one swimming in it ... ??? There is a pool which was in use. It was deserted when I was there so hard to judge but peaceful :)
Jul 13, 2016
We stayed in the non-lakefront cabin. You can see the water from the cabin when you sit on the porch swing. There is a picnic table, grill, and fire pit with grate. Clean and well-maintained. Nowhere at the camp to go down to the lake except for the dock, but about a mile drive away is the Lewis and Clark state park, with free entry, a few hiking trails, mini-museum, and a sandy swimming beach.
Jul 09, 2016
Rustic cabin with a wonderful lakeside view. Nice
Jul 06, 2016
The campground is a nice place and we will be back again!!! Cabin number 3 needs a t.v. so kids can watch movies!!!
Jul 01, 2016
Stay was nice. Just a little too close for comfort sites, felt like no privacy. Also could use a boat ramp. Other than that it was nice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your stay. At check in it was explained to you that the boat ramp is something we are going to be working on. We do not state we even have a boat ramp on any of our campground material. As new owners we have many changes we are making, but that is not the top priority.
Jun 28, 2016
It was a nice and clean place bathrooms were really clean staff friendly will be back again
Jun 28, 2016
It was great and staff were very helpful! Great place to camp
Jun 19, 2016
It is by a beautiful lake and there are lots of trees for shade. The pool was very clean and refreshing. The cabin was clean inside. The front porch and picnic table could have used a good cleaning. The bathrooms and showers were clean. There were only two shower and bathroom stalls as one of each was not working. Overall it was a nice area and taken care of well.
May 01, 2016
Hi - sorry for the poor rating .... The cabin was cute and the bathroom clean but: I arrived at 10:30 and thought I was not going to be able to get in (please go and try the lock - you'll see what I mean)- it took me about 5 minutes to get the door open. Then ..... No Heater!!! It was 46 degrees and I was miserable. Carol

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry about the lock, we have fixed it. As far as the heat, our cabins are unfortunately only air conditioned as stated in our site description. Thank you!
Oct 06, 2015
Beautiful location and very nice KOA. Before we arrived, we were warned via phone that it was very wet and very WET it was -- so much so that we decided to not pitch the tent. We stayed at this same KOA location on our return trip but rented a Kamping Kabin instead. We will be returning to this KOA again.
Sep 14, 2015
We all enjoyed our stay. i do think you charge too much for the banana bikes. I paid for one of my grandsons to ride. We brought all of our bikes to ride.
Sep 08, 2015
Wonderful place to camp we love it there
Sep 07, 2015
This park is awesome.
Aug 31, 2015
had a great time campground was clean cabin was perfect for our stay
Aug 16, 2015
This was the worse stay, there is something biting all of us and we were all bitten up bad. I don't know if it was bed bugs or what but it was not mosquitoes. We will not be staying there again and that was 3 cabins that we rented.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I assure you it was not bed bugs..There are black knats that bite sometimes but unfortunately there is nothing that can be done about it.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
This was a very nice and extremely clean KOA. I was very impressed with prices in the camp store they werent overly priced like other campgrounds. We would definitely stay again..
Aug 05, 2015
Wonderful place, great sites and staff! One of the best KOAs I have stayed at!
Aug 05, 2015
Everyone was really nice. Campground was clean and kept up nicely. Bathrooms nice and clean too! We will definitely stay here again!.
Aug 02, 2015
Third time I stayed will stay again I'm sure.
Jul 31, 2015
Clean, quiet, very nice place to stay
Jul 29, 2015
There's no easy access to the lake for swimming
Jul 21, 2015
The KOA was great. The whole family enjoyed their stay
Jul 20, 2015
Great people! Great place!!
Jul 17, 2015
We loved the lake view from our kabin! I was disappointed, however, that the TV in the cabin was only for viewing DVDs. Previous KOA kabin a we stayed in had a working TV. The WiFi was very spotty and unreliable. We are blogging about our cross country bike journey so the poor WFi made it difficult for us to do our updates. The staff was very nice and favilities very clean!
Jul 09, 2015
enjoyed are stay facilities very clean staff extremely friendly and helpful.
Jul 04, 2015
My fiancé and I were very impressed with the area and amenities. The staff were friendly and helpful. The restroom and shower facilities were spotless throughout our stay. Also, the cabin was clean and comfy. I'd definitely recommend this KOA to others and will be back again. Great area overall.
Jun 26, 2015
Beautiful campground, put us right on the lake. cabins were clean and nice, with air conditioning.
Jun 22, 2015
I would have given this stay a 5 except the woman running the camp was rude abut us having more than one car at the campsite. She said, "It is CLEARLY STATED in the rules on your map. What didn't you understand?" She then followed our daughter to the correct parking site and demanded to see her pass. The large yellow pass was already hanging from our daughter's car mirror. Yeesh!!!
Jun 20, 2015
I have stayed here several times. Always clean and up to date. Nice office personnel, great camp atmosphere.
Jun 16, 2015
I was ok probley would go back
Jun 04, 2015
Only suggestion would be to put screen doors on the cabins so guests might keep the large wooden doors open and enjoy the weather/views even more. Thanks!!
Jun 02, 2015
This is not where I would camp with children, too many unfriendly and excessively loud drunk people. The owners didn't seem too concerned about their unleashed dog or unattended swimming children either.
May 26, 2015
Loved the Kabin and the view of the lake. Everything was clean and in good working order. Staff was friendly on the phone (we came in after hours and left early to get on the road).
May 25, 2015
Great view. Of blue lake extra clean shower
May 17, 2015
Best KOA we have ever been to. Very friendly and the campground was beautiful. Cleanest bathrooms hands down. Tidy and neat. Lovely people
May 14, 2015
Very clean bathrooms and showers. Cleanest I have seen. Owners very friendly and helpful. Loved our stay and will go again!!
May 06, 2015
Second time we have stayed here and just love the Blue Lake setting ! Cabin is very comfortable.
Apr 26, 2015
Only recommendation is portable heaters in the cabins.
Apr 25, 2015
This was the first time we stayed in one of your cabins. We were very pleased with the cleanliness and koziness of the cabin. Our hosts were very gracious and hospitable. We are looking forward to our next trip some time this fall.
Nov 08, 2014
The KOA Onawa/Blue Lake campground is the most immaculate and well maintained campground we have stayed at. The owners/hosts are wonderful people! We will make this campground an annual visit! Thanks!
Oct 17, 2014
We had a brilliant time! It was cold and windy the first night we stayed but our cabin was toasty warm. Beautiful grounds and owners were super friendly and amiable!
Oct 11, 2014
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy