Onawa / Blue Lake KOA

21788 Dogwood Avenue

Onawa, IA 51040-8665

Reserve: 800-562-4182

Info: 712-423-1633

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Cabin Reviews

Jul 21, 2015
The KOA was great. The whole family enjoyed their stay
Jul 20, 2015
Great people! Great place!!
Jul 17, 2015
We loved the lake view from our kabin! I was disappointed, however, that the TV in the cabin was only for viewing DVDs. Previous KOA kabin a we stayed in had a working TV. The WiFi was very spotty and unreliable. We are blogging about our cross country bike journey so the poor WFi made it difficult for us to do our updates. The staff was very nice and favilities very clean!
Jul 09, 2015
enjoyed are stay facilities very clean staff extremely friendly and helpful.
Jul 04, 2015
My fiancé and I were very impressed with the area and amenities. The staff were friendly and helpful. The restroom and shower facilities were spotless throughout our stay. Also, the cabin was clean and comfy. I'd definitely recommend this KOA to others and will be back again. Great area overall.
Jun 26, 2015
Beautiful campground, put us right on the lake. cabins were clean and nice, with air conditioning.
Jun 22, 2015
I would have given this stay a 5 except the woman running the camp was rude abut us having more than one car at the campsite. She said, "It is CLEARLY STATED in the rules on your map. What didn't you understand?" She then followed our daughter to the correct parking site and demanded to see her pass. The large yellow pass was already hanging from our daughter's car mirror. Yeesh!!!
Jun 20, 2015
I have stayed here several times. Always clean and up to date. Nice office personnel, great camp atmosphere.
Jun 16, 2015
I was ok probley would go back
Jun 04, 2015
Only suggestion would be to put screen doors on the cabins so guests might keep the large wooden doors open and enjoy the weather/views even more. Thanks!!
Jun 02, 2015
This is not where I would camp with children, too many unfriendly and excessively loud drunk people. The owners didn't seem too concerned about their unleashed dog or unattended swimming children either.
May 26, 2015
Loved the Kabin and the view of the lake. Everything was clean and in good working order. Staff was friendly on the phone (we came in after hours and left early to get on the road).
May 25, 2015
Great view. Of blue lake extra clean shower
May 17, 2015
Best KOA we have ever been to. Very friendly and the campground was beautiful. Cleanest bathrooms hands down. Tidy and neat. Lovely people
May 14, 2015
Very clean bathrooms and showers. Cleanest I have seen. Owners very friendly and helpful. Loved our stay and will go again!!
May 06, 2015
Second time we have stayed here and just love the Blue Lake setting ! Cabin is very comfortable.
Apr 26, 2015
Only recommendation is portable heaters in the cabins.
Apr 25, 2015
This was the first time we stayed in one of your cabins. We were very pleased with the cleanliness and koziness of the cabin. Our hosts were very gracious and hospitable. We are looking forward to our next trip some time this fall.
Nov 08, 2014
The KOA Onawa/Blue Lake campground is the most immaculate and well maintained campground we have stayed at. The owners/hosts are wonderful people! We will make this campground an annual visit! Thanks!
Oct 17, 2014
We had a brilliant time! It was cold and windy the first night we stayed but our cabin was toasty warm. Beautiful grounds and owners were super friendly and amiable!
Oct 11, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Oh, my beloved and I like to share a shower, and this KOA had the showers within the men's and women's bathroom areas (instead of having the showers separate from the bathroom areas)... Nuts! Everything was clean. The owners were polite. Everything was pretty much as expected.
Oct 05, 2014
no problems - all went well. Just stayed one short night
Sep 24, 2014
Outstanding facility in a beautiful setting !
Sep 10, 2014
Everything was very clean. KOA employee wasvery competent & friendly. The only complaint was I did not bring Bug Spray. We itched terrible & are still itching. Darlene Limoges Bugs were terr
Sep 08, 2014
We stayed in a one room camping cabin. It was very stale and musty smelling. Not to bad after we opened door and windows. Stormed, so we didn't get to do much. I have stayed here before. Very good KOA.
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Enjoyed our stay. Cooling off in the pool after a hot day of driving was great. We really like the view of Blue Lake from the cabin. The facilities were clean & everything worked.
Aug 11, 2014
Great for families. Shower house is really clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. Pool was fun for kids and the little bikes were a blast. Will stay again.
Aug 07, 2014
Friendly hospitality, clean bath house and campground. We statyed in the airconditioned cabins on the lake.
Aug 07, 2014
Even though it was just a quick in-and-out overnight stay, it was very pleasant.
Aug 06, 2014
As always our group had a great time.
Aug 04, 2014
Super clean and consistently updated.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
come every year - rent all 3 cabins and will be back til the end of time
Jul 15, 2014
Gorgeous setting. Impeccably clean facilities. Very friendly staff. We loved it!
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
Great view from our cabin! Clean KOA with shaded sites. Not much nearby, so you may want to bring in dinner.
May 16, 2014
May 12, 2014
Cleanest campground I've stayed in over 40 years!
Oct 10, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
Beautiful lakeside setting. We had a chance to explore the keel boat moored across the lake from our cabin, and learned more about the history of the area from the outdoor plaques. Facilities and fixtures were adequate, but are in need of refurbishment. Our hosts were friendly and helpful once located. Thank goodness our key was in the drop box when we arrived mid afternoon.
Sep 17, 2013
This KOA has had friendly staff both time we stayed there. It was very clean both times. The only thing that my husband and I didn't like was the boat and fishing docks. The entrance to the boat dock is a scary non-paved and very narrow. The docks are old and ready to fall apart. They feel as if they will fall over if you stand to one side. The fishing docks are just as bad and in need of repair.
Sep 10, 2013
Our stay was great. We liked the facilities, especially the pool. The setting on the lake was great as well. We enjoyed looking out at the lake from our cabin in the evening & again in the morning. Maybe we'll be able to stay longer if we're back your way again.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.