Onawa / Blue Lake KOA

21788 Dogwood Avenue

Onawa, IA 51040-8665

Reserve: 800-562-4182

Info: 712-423-1633

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Cabin Reviews

Oct 17, 2014
We had a brilliant time! It was cold and windy the first night we stayed but our cabin was toasty warm. Beautiful grounds and owners were super friendly and amiable!
Oct 11, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Oh, my beloved and I like to share a shower, and this KOA had the showers within the men's and women's bathroom areas (instead of having the showers separate from the bathroom areas)... Nuts! Everything was clean. The owners were polite. Everything was pretty much as expected.
Oct 05, 2014
no problems - all went well. Just stayed one short night
Sep 24, 2014
Outstanding facility in a beautiful setting !
Sep 10, 2014
Everything was very clean. KOA employee wasvery competent & friendly. The only complaint was I did not bring Bug Spray. We itched terrible & are still itching. Darlene Limoges Bugs were terr
Sep 08, 2014
We stayed in a one room camping cabin. It was very stale and musty smelling. Not to bad after we opened door and windows. Stormed, so we didn't get to do much. I have stayed here before. Very good KOA.
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Enjoyed our stay. Cooling off in the pool after a hot day of driving was great. We really like the view of Blue Lake from the cabin. The facilities were clean & everything worked.
Aug 11, 2014
Great for families. Shower house is really clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. Pool was fun for kids and the little bikes were a blast. Will stay again.
Aug 07, 2014
Friendly hospitality, clean bath house and campground. We statyed in the airconditioned cabins on the lake.
Aug 07, 2014
Even though it was just a quick in-and-out overnight stay, it was very pleasant.
Aug 06, 2014
As always our group had a great time.
Aug 04, 2014
Super clean and consistently updated.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
come every year - rent all 3 cabins and will be back til the end of time
Jul 15, 2014
Gorgeous setting. Impeccably clean facilities. Very friendly staff. We loved it!
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
Great view from our cabin! Clean KOA with shaded sites. Not much nearby, so you may want to bring in dinner.
May 16, 2014
May 12, 2014
Cleanest campground I've stayed in over 40 years!
Oct 10, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
Beautiful lakeside setting. We had a chance to explore the keel boat moored across the lake from our cabin, and learned more about the history of the area from the outdoor plaques. Facilities and fixtures were adequate, but are in need of refurbishment. Our hosts were friendly and helpful once located. Thank goodness our key was in the drop box when we arrived mid afternoon.
Sep 17, 2013
This KOA has had friendly staff both time we stayed there. It was very clean both times. The only thing that my husband and I didn't like was the boat and fishing docks. The entrance to the boat dock is a scary non-paved and very narrow. The docks are old and ready to fall apart. They feel as if they will fall over if you stand to one side. The fishing docks are just as bad and in need of repair.
Sep 10, 2013
Our stay was great. We liked the facilities, especially the pool. The setting on the lake was great as well. We enjoyed looking out at the lake from our cabin in the evening & again in the morning. Maybe we'll be able to stay longer if we're back your way again.
Sep 05, 2013
Beautiful campground, right beside Blue Lake. We stayed in a cabin which faced the lake and was very clean. Showers and bathrooms were 1st rate!
Sep 03, 2013
We had lots of fun and the kids loved the playground and pool cabin was small but we enjoyed being there wished we could have stayed longer.
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
Very clean bathrooms, you could actually bend over in them, clean cabins with some nice touches, like a rug. The grounds were picked up with no run down buildings. A great KOA.
Aug 14, 2013
In the middle of a corn field next to a lake. . . . . and a very funky smell about the campground - not sure what it was but it stunk. General facilities okay.
Aug 11, 2013
Our cabin overlooked the lake with an awesome view of the Lewis and Clark keelboat. Linda, in the office was friendly and helpful. Bathrooms clean. Loved our stay!
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
I have stayed in many KOA campgrounds and Onawa is a very nice and friendly place to stay. I appreciated the clean bathrooms too!
Jul 22, 2013
we make it an ANNUAL family vacation with our kids & grandkids -- even the 20 somethings kids STILL come-- a great place for all ages
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
Jun 19, 2013
Your staff is courteous, friendly & professional. The cabins were neat, clean and had everything necessary. Great vacation!
Jun 06, 2013
May 20, 2013
We had a wonderful time.
Sep 22, 2012
every other KOA we have stayed at provided a heater in our Kabin in we did a late night check-in. I did not know I had to ask for this and they did not leave a heater for us, knowing we were checking in late and it was a cold fall night. I went into the office the next day to say we froze all night long and the lady laughed and said "you should have cuddled together." She obviously did not care.
Sep 17, 2012
Very nice campground on the lake. We stayed in a kabin - very clean/nice. Nice, friendly people. Loved it! Had a great time and plan on coming back many times.
Sep 02, 2012
Great location, super friendly!
Aug 27, 2012
This was our first stay at a KOA. We had a great time! The cabins were great, my kids thought it was thier club house! The only thing I would complain about is the boat docks. They are in serious need of maintenance. They are almost to the point of being totally unsafe! Other than that, wonderful place! We can't wait to explore other KOAs! Thanks!
Aug 18, 2012
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.