Onawa / Blue Lake KOA

21788 Dogwood Avenue

Onawa, IA 51040-8665

Reserve: 800-562-4182

Info: 712-423-1633

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 22, 2013
the only complaint is that office hours are only open until noon and then again at 4 pm. you can't check in until noon and so they are gone and we ended up coming back early that night to check in before they left at 7:30

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have signs posted outside with our hrs until Memorial Day Weekend. 8am to 10am and 4pm to 7:30pm. Also, the after hours box always has all the reservations in it when closed and a selection of sites available.
May 20, 2013
We had a wonderful time.
May 20, 2013
Cable TV would have been nice and the WiFi was slow, but we really liked the campground and will be staying there again, its great.
May 19, 2013
I have been on the road for the past 8 months and this is one of the best parks that I have ever been in. Location, service and staff are outstanding.
May 19, 2013
I would be nice if they had cable.
May 18, 2013
Staff very helpful and curtious, facilities were well maintined and clean. We didn't spend much time at the camp ground as we were visiting relitives and freinds. We are looking forward to our next chanse to stay at blue lake. thank you Gary Hansen
May 17, 2013
View was wonderful? Very nice campground and friendly staff. Wish I had more time to stay longer!
May 16, 2013
May 15, 2013
We enjoyed staying very much. Everyone is friendly & helpful; it is one of the cleanest & nicest campgrounds & the hosts & staff are the best.
May 14, 2013
May 13, 2013
Nice friendly staff. Very clean facilities! We will be back!
May 13, 2013
One of the best KOA's I have stayed at! Very friendly owner and staff. The campground as spotless. This KOA is our new weekend get-a-way. Dave
May 12, 2013
May 10, 2013
May 05, 2013
Apr 30, 2013
Oct 21, 2012
Oct 17, 2012
Always such a quiet and relaxing stay for our family. However, we'd appreciate the store being open at some point in the middle of the day...not only early and then again late...we had lunch needs one day and my daughter kept wanting to purchase snacks the other day.
Oct 17, 2012
We enjoyed our stay at the Onawa KOA. The owners were very cordial & helpful.
Oct 16, 2012
Oct 07, 2012
Beautiful setting!!!!!!!!!!
Oct 01, 2012
Fantastic. Only place we camp!
Sep 29, 2012
Sep 28, 2012
Sep 26, 2012
Sep 24, 2012
Sep 22, 2012
Could not access WiFi. Other guests had the same issue.
Sep 22, 2012
every other KOA we have stayed at provided a heater in our Kabin in we did a late night check-in. I did not know I had to ask for this and they did not leave a heater for us, knowing we were checking in late and it was a cold fall night. I went into the office the next day to say we froze all night long and the lady laughed and said "you should have cuddled together." She obviously did not care.
Sep 21, 2012
Sep 20, 2012
Staff was friendly and helpful. Sites however were poor, not level and roadways were poor and uneven with holes.
Sep 20, 2012
Sep 20, 2012
Very nicereception
Sep 18, 2012
campgrd very clean and area quiet staff polite and helpful
Sep 17, 2012
enjoyed the beauty of the lake only here for an overnight
Sep 17, 2012
Very nice campground on the lake. We stayed in a kabin - very clean/nice. Nice, friendly people. Loved it! Had a great time and plan on coming back many times.
Sep 16, 2012
Sep 15, 2012
Ony thing lacking was an enclosed dog run. I travel with a greyhound, who is very mild and loves to sleep. But at least once a day he loves to run around. Lots of nice space-wouldn't take much to make a dog run. Thanks.
Sep 14, 2012
We stayed a second night here. It was so peaceful,clean and friendly.
Sep 09, 2012
The internet connection was very poor which was very deceaving! Otherwise it was good.
Sep 09, 2012
Nice grounds!
Sep 07, 2012
Friendly people, clean facility, we will be back.
Sep 07, 2012
THE LAKE BANK IS GETTING BAD IT NEEDS TO BE ROPED OFF IN SOME PLACES.ALSO THE DOCKS NEED TO BE LOOK AT FOR REPAIRS.
Sep 06, 2012
Enjoyed our stay at Onawa/Blue Lake,IA. Really appreciate the friendly staff!
Sep 04, 2012
Everyone was friendly and helpful. The site was level and easy to access. We'll stay there again if our travels pass that way.
Sep 04, 2012
Sep 04, 2012
Great place to camp! Super clean bathrooms. Nice playground and pool. Very friendly staff.
Sep 04, 2012
1st stay ever at a KOA. Had a very pleasant stay. The kids loved the pool and arcade. The bathrooms and showers so clean.
Sep 02, 2012
Great location, super friendly!
Sep 01, 2012
Aug 31, 2012
Friendly staff - good location. Quiet place. Problems with Wifi, but we appreciated the facilities which were very clean. Laundry expensive though. Too bad the 'long term' guests are parked so close to those of us overnighting. There are squirrels in the Park and our dog barked at them creating an issue for someone taking a mid-day nap.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.