Onawa / Blue Lake KOA

21788 Dogwood Avenue

Onawa, IA 51040-8665

Reserve: 800-562-4182

Info: 712-423-1633

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2013
Pool was small for amount of people (standing room only)most of camp ground seemed to be long term renters which had all the best spots locked up.sites are extremely narrow.On a positive note all the people we ran into were very friendly but the park is a bit dated.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

32 rv sites that are not long term and no one can live here, they are exceptional seasonals. The pool area is very busy in July, but it is 24' x 40' and very, very well kept up and very clean.
Jul 20, 2013
I can say that the host was very nice. It's hard to rate because we were tired from a long drive and really didn't take in much of the campground, we didn't even use the bathroom/shower. Everything looked good as far as I could see driving in. I wish I could say more. We were just tired. But this not to say we wouldn't go back. It's a plus with us when the host is nice, and she really was nice!!
Jul 20, 2013
Campground was clean and service was friendly
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
Good place to stay. First time here was in 1977. Second time is 2013.
Jul 18, 2013
Clean koa.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Nice, clean facility. Friendly owners, especially Maggie. Would stay again.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Loved the quiet, restful atmosphere.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
We were just traveling through and need a place to stay for the night, this campground just like all of Iowa were a very pleasant surprise. I would definitely stay here again preferably for a couple of days, it is a lovely campground and has a welcoming feel to it.
Jul 14, 2013
Plush grass set on a beautiful lake with bricked fire-rings and no bugs. Pool was warm, bathrooms clean and showers great. This is the nicest campground we have ever been to. The rates were fair and reasonable, and the office staff helpful. We wish we lived closer to it so that we could camp there seasonally.
Jul 14, 2013
Most KOAs are nice, this was one of the BEST!
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
The trash pile was so nasty! It was overflowing. Other than that, all was fine.
Jul 11, 2013
This campground is BEAUTIFUL. The facilities are clean and I really appreciate that the laundry stayed open 24 hours, as we pulled in late. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this KOA! Happy Camping!
Jul 11, 2013
Excellent facilities. Clean. Wish that we could have stayed longer. Good value.
Jul 10, 2013
Nice clean campground, beautiful grounds kept in golf course like condition. Owners were very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay again!
Jul 09, 2013
we had a great time here. the staff was very nice, park and restrooms clean, and noise after hours was minimal. best time camping in quite a while!
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 05, 2013
Jun 26, 2013
Even though we were there only one night. It was a very nice campground and quiet. Would definitely stay there again.
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 20, 2013
spacious area, kids had a good time. very clean and friendly.
Jun 19, 2013
Your staff is courteous, friendly & professional. The cabins were neat, clean and had everything necessary. Great vacation!
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 16, 2013
Welcoming staff...awesome scenery.
Jun 16, 2013
Jun 15, 2013
Gorgeous location. We so enjoyed the sunset and sunrise on the lake. Quiet,clean and well maintained. We plantovisit again!
Jun 13, 2013
Jun 11, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
The KOA in Onawa is one of our favorite campgrounds. We are repeat customers and plan to keep it that way. Our only complaint was the weather. :)
Jun 10, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
Extremely friendly staff. Very clean bathrooms. Beautiful grounds!
Jun 10, 2013
Camp ground was clean and well maintained. Very wet and rainy which made our camping spot very muddy. Not sure what you could have do e about that maybe more gravel. Overall 5 stars well done!
Jun 10, 2013
The stay was wonderful.
Jun 09, 2013
Jun 09, 2013
Campground was very well kept and clean. Our site was very level and no problem with trees with our 4 slide outs. The lady at the desk was very helpful and very courteous. We stayed for 2 nights in a motorhome. Would definitely stay here again.
Jun 06, 2013
Jun 05, 2013
We were going from Florida to Yellowstone. We try to stay at KOA most of the time. The parks are always different but always have some of the same qualities. This one was unique being on Blue Lake. It was beautiful with the lake and the beautiful trees. And of course the workers were all so helpful.
Jun 03, 2013
Jun 03, 2013
May 30, 2013
May 29, 2013
I like this campground and the staff is friendly and helpful. The campsites are a bit too close together for my preference, but it's a nice place.
May 29, 2013
A rainy weekend but there was still things to do. There is a museum across the lake. Also close to town to get items you may have forgotten. Wonderful park for children. The playground was nice. Good fishing. Arcade in the club house. Very nice campground!
May 29, 2013
Everything was good and the staff was friendly.
May 28, 2013
The stay was excellent. the KOA had plenty to offer. Fishing swimming pool paddleboats and a very nice store. The hosts are gracious and very helpful. can't wait to go back

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.