Onawa / Blue Lake KOA

21788 Dogwood Avenue

Onawa, IA 51040-8665

Reserve: 800-562-4182

Info: 712-423-1633

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 26, 2015
It always rains when we're there. The campsites do not drain and the roads have standing water. I don't mind camping in the rain as long as there are ways to stay out of the mud. My husband's wheelchair was not able to navigate the campground without his wheels getting jammed up with mud and pea gravel. It was not pleasant for him. I don't think we'll be back :-(
May 26, 2015
from arrival to departure all went very well. Restrooms were clean, campgrounds were neat and well kept. Will use this facility again if in the area.
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Loved the Kabin and the view of the lake. Everything was clean and in good working order. Staff was friendly on the phone (we came in after hours and left early to get on the road).
May 25, 2015
May 25, 2015
Great view. Of blue lake extra clean shower
May 24, 2015
Seems they cater to permanent sites not over the road campers
May 23, 2015
Very nice campground, the staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was nice. Will definitely stay there again.
May 21, 2015
clean and close to freeway
May 19, 2015
The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was tight at the entrance to the campground but was very nice inside the park.
May 19, 2015
Beautiful facility, spotless rest rooms & showers. Horrible wifi.
May 19, 2015
Very nice campground. Everything there. Extremely nice staff. It was a great stay..
May 18, 2015
One of the best KOA's we have stayed in. Terry & Linda are very good hosts and help you in every way to make your stay a pleasant one. Nice bonus to be by the lake.
May 17, 2015
Best KOA we have ever been to. Very friendly and the campground was beautiful. Cleanest bathrooms hands down. Tidy and neat. Lovely people
May 15, 2015
Very neat and clean. Owners very friendly and helpful.
May 14, 2015
Very clean bathrooms and showers. Cleanest I have seen. Owners very friendly and helpful. Loved our stay and will go again!!
May 12, 2015
Only suggestion is the office/store hours should be a little longer - hopefully during the summer they are - very pleasant staff - thanks
May 11, 2015
I stayed at 5 KOA locations all week and this one was by far my favorite. The lady at the front desk was so nice and I couldn't have asked for better service. I didn't have any problems moving my campsite to the lake front and the whole location was just an oasis in the middle of baron farm land. I would love to return here again, as long as I could get a lake front site again. lol
May 09, 2015
No complaints.
May 07, 2015
Nice size sites and level, easy in and out. Thanks!
May 06, 2015
The grounds are well maintained and clean. Staff is very helpful and friendly. It is nice and quiet, very peaceful and relaxing. We enjoy that is close to activities such as the casino and a library in Onawa. Nearby is a wonderful place to eat in Decauter, NE.
May 06, 2015
Second time we have stayed here and just love the Blue Lake setting ! Cabin is very comfortable.
May 03, 2015
Friendly staff /owners. Well maintained.
Apr 26, 2015
Only recommendation is portable heaters in the cabins.
Apr 25, 2015
This was the first time we stayed in one of your cabins. We were very pleased with the cleanliness and koziness of the cabin. Our hosts were very gracious and hospitable. We are looking forward to our next trip some time this fall.
Mar 13, 2015
Nov 08, 2014
The KOA Onawa/Blue Lake campground is the most immaculate and well maintained campground we have stayed at. The owners/hosts are wonderful people! We will make this campground an annual visit! Thanks!
Oct 17, 2014
We had a brilliant time! It was cold and windy the first night we stayed but our cabin was toasty warm. Beautiful grounds and owners were super friendly and amiable!
Oct 14, 2014
Enjoyed the lot overlooking the lake, very peacful and relaxing.
Oct 12, 2014
We had a wonderful time everyone very helpful
Oct 11, 2014
Oct 11, 2014
All OK EXCEPT no heat in restrooms on below 40 degree stay
Oct 08, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Oh, my beloved and I like to share a shower, and this KOA had the showers within the men's and women's bathroom areas (instead of having the showers separate from the bathroom areas)... Nuts! Everything was clean. The owners were polite. Everything was pretty much as expected.
Oct 06, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay at Onawa/Blue Lake, IA!
Oct 05, 2014
no problems - all went well. Just stayed one short night
Sep 28, 2014
Sep 26, 2014
Very clean and nice spot---great for the kids in summer---fishing!!!
Sep 24, 2014
Outstanding facility in a beautiful setting !
Sep 22, 2014
A very well kept camp. Friendly people from staff to fellow campers. Quiet and peaceful setting next to the lake.
Sep 22, 2014
Always fun...good people and great staff!!!
Sep 19, 2014
Nice, large grassy sites. Friendly staff.
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
We stayed in our 5th wheel. Friendly staff. Used laundry facility which was clean. Pool was closed for the winter. Pet friendly.
Sep 16, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
Wonderful hosts. bathrooms and store always clean and well stocked. Camp sites are well maintained. Definately will come back.
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 13, 2014
Nice sites. Host were very nice. Very helpful and willing to help when we needed it. Nice camp sites. Paddle boats were broke and not available. Would of been nice to have a heated pool and cable, but other then that a very nice stay for us.
Sep 12, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.