Onawa / Blue Lake KOA

Open April 15 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-4182

Info: 712-423-1633

Email

21788 Dogwood Avenue

Onawa, IA 51040-8665

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 707 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 01, 2015
Nice campground - no highway noise. Lots of seasonal campers
Sep 01, 2015
Lovely spot by a lake. Friendly people. Big trees. Needs more grass at sites. Muddy. Maybe 90% of the sites are seasonal rentals. Pump out station sewer lid won't rise enough to put a 90° sewer hose fitting into it.
Aug 31, 2015
had a great time campground was clean cabin was perfect for our stay
Aug 31, 2015
Second time camping here. Lakeside campsite......AWESOME!!
Aug 31, 2015
Spaces closer together but lots of amenities. Friendly service and it was quiet. Have a nice store, serves breakfast, and has a fenced dog area.
Aug 29, 2015
Aug 26, 2015
A wonderful park run by excellent owners - Very impressive, clean, very relaxing!
Aug 26, 2015
Clean bathrooms and friendly staff. Only stayed overnight. Easy to get to from the highway.
Aug 24, 2015
It is a great place to stay. Very shaded and nice people.
Aug 24, 2015
We like the fishing. Like the showers and its lose to home
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
Clean and quiet !!!!
Aug 23, 2015
I have been a regular here all summer... every weekend.... love it here
Aug 22, 2015
Very pretty and quite. Great stop over. Wish I could have stayed and rested for a while.
Aug 19, 2015
Awesome campground!!
Aug 19, 2015
Campground and restrooms ans showers were clean. Staff friendly and helpful
Aug 19, 2015
The camp host was most rude when we checked in. In the brochure it states that you may check in early if available and may pay small fee. The camp host was very rude when told that our spot was vacant and we would like to check in a few hours early.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I think you have our campground confused with another. We do NOT have "you may check in early if available and pay small fee on our brochure."
Aug 18, 2015
Very nice sites, well maintained. Would visit again.
Aug 18, 2015
Friendly, quiet, very clean and maintained well ! will be back again soon
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
Very clean and pleasant spot. New owners. Well kept.
Aug 17, 2015
friendly staff, quiet campground with all the amenities listed.
Aug 17, 2015
Very nice park.
Aug 16, 2015
This was the worse stay, there is something biting all of us and we were all bitten up bad. I don't know if it was bed bugs or what but it was not mosquitoes. We will not be staying there again and that was 3 cabins that we rented.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I assure you it was not bed bugs..There are black knats that bite sometimes but unfortunately there is nothing that can be done about it.
Aug 15, 2015
Great place to stay.
Aug 13, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Very nice and quiet campground. The lake is beautiful.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Owners are very nice, campground clean and well maintained.
Aug 11, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. Staff was very helpful and their little store had things we needed. We needed alonger sewage hose they had it. And my husband liked the pull though site. First time for that. This is our first season with 5th wheel.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
campground and facilities were very clean. pool was freezing(the one reason we stayed here vs state park. no allowed to have a mat in front of your camper, made for a lot of tracking in. why is this different than a tent being on the ground?
Aug 10, 2015
Very clean and well kept. Everyone was friendly.
Aug 08, 2015
The staff was friendly and helpful. The original site assigned was not orientated well for my camper's hook-up, after talking to the staff they could a site that worked better.
Aug 08, 2015
Easy access and friendly staff
Aug 08, 2015
Nice and quiet and clean!
Aug 08, 2015
Very beautiful spot with great host. Have stopped here for many years on our trips home.
Aug 07, 2015
This was a very nice and extremely clean KOA. I was very impressed with prices in the camp store they werent overly priced like other campgrounds. We would definitely stay again..
Aug 07, 2015
Great place to stay on my motorcycle trip to the Sturgis Rally. I had a quiet tent site next to the lake. Staff was friendly at check-in. Showers/bathrooms were clean. Great location,just off the interstate, but quiet. Definitely would return/recommend.
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 05, 2015
Wonderful place, great sites and staff! One of the best KOAs I have stayed at!
Aug 05, 2015
Beautiful locale with great staff and well organized.
Aug 05, 2015
Everyone was really nice. Campground was clean and kept up nicely. Bathrooms nice and clean too! We will definitely stay here again!.
Aug 05, 2015
Probably the best KOA we've stayed at. Good people, great park!
Aug 05, 2015
We did like our stay.
Aug 04, 2015
Nice level pull-through that looked out to a green field. The Blue Lake is nice although we were at the other end of the park. Surprised at the number of long-term guests, however areas were well kept. Very nice to provide doggie bags all through the park.
Aug 03, 2015
We actually came during very rainy weather. The sun was out the day we stayed but the ground was totally saturated. If not for the saturation, would have been perfect.
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
Third time I stayed will stay again I'm sure.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps