Onawa / Blue Lake KOA

Open April 15 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-4182

Info: 712-423-1633

Email

21788 Dogwood Avenue

Onawa, IA 51040-8665

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 906 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 25, 2016
Very friendly people. Loved sitting by the lake and watching the sunset in our spacious grassy site. Bathroom music piped in made it enjoyable
Sep 22, 2016
Beautiful site! Clean restrooms & showers. Nice staff.
Sep 21, 2016
It was such a beautiful setting. We were only passing through but we're very pleased with all the facilities and loved the lake view.
Sep 19, 2016
A Very nice KOA - good site, etc- only issue is all of the burning of wood fires.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your recent stay, I am sorry you did not approve of the campfires, I am assuming this was your first stay at a campground.
Sep 17, 2016
Very nice campground. Beautiful lake views.
Sep 17, 2016
Really, really organized for late arrivals and wonderful grounds!
Sep 16, 2016
Beautiful lake on the property
Sep 16, 2016
Sep 15, 2016
Great campground loved our stay will continue to come back again and again. Friendly staff and great store.
Sep 13, 2016
Our site was a bit muddy due to the rains. Possibly put down grass seed? Friendly staff.
Sep 13, 2016
Second stay at this campground. I'm sure there will be a third!
Sep 13, 2016
Stay was fine but we had our aunt and uncle visit us and they were charges $2.00 a piece and was told they had to park their car and walk in. First of all the aunt is on oxygen and the uncle isn't in the best of health they are 75 years old. They let him drive the aunt in to the park to our camper but was told he had to bring the car back out and park it by the play ground and walk back in.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your recent stay but none of this was brought to our attention so I am sorry that we couldn't do anything about it, the rules were given to you at check in. You could have offered to drive the car into the visitor parking for your uncle or left your vehicle in the visitor parking.
Sep 13, 2016
To many barking dogs. Loud & boisterous guests lasted until 11:30 PM. WILL NOT BE BACK!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your stay, if there was a problem you should have told us and we would have taken care of it during your 3 day stay.
Sep 12, 2016
Very nice campground!! Will def go back!!!
Sep 12, 2016
Sep 11, 2016
Campground was in great condition and the hosts were very accommodating.
Sep 10, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay at Onawa Blue Lake.
Sep 09, 2016
It was clean and quiet. The only thing I didn't care for was that many of the sites seem occupied by long-term residents. I can't really fault them because they aren't in a big-draw tourist area - they have to make their money!
Sep 09, 2016
Sep 08, 2016
Great and friendly staff had a great time awesome campground we recommend it to anyone
Sep 07, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
We like coming to owana .close to home. Bathrooms are clean and camp ground is well kept. Also the little store helps out with ice and other things you need when you forgot them. My grandchildren enjoy riding the bicycles as well.
Sep 05, 2016
When we arrived at the campground the site we were given had plastic bottles, cigarette buttes and other trash in the fire pit. The hook-ups were placed so that we would not be able to extend our slide on the Motorhome and still connect. Also our entry step would be in mud.The office person was rude when we asked to move and charged us an additional fee for 50 amp hookup. Very Dissatisfied.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You definitely have us confused with another campground that you stayed at on your trip.
Sep 04, 2016
Very quiet and shady. Friendly staff.
Sep 04, 2016
Very clean and friendly. Never seen cleaner bathrooms. Had the best time. Awesome playground and pool. And the store was very well stocked.
Sep 03, 2016
The grounds were well cared for and there was a beautiful view of the lake. The pool was clean and the staff was friendly.
Sep 03, 2016
Sites are two close together
Sep 02, 2016
Nice place but lots of permanents. Not alot of choices in sites. Available sites ran along road. Nice employees
Sep 02, 2016
Aug 31, 2016
Overall this park is tired and needs to show some sign of ongoing improvements. It teeters on being labelled a "trailer park" otherwise.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your stay, but since you have never stayed at our campground before your opinion is without basis and merit. As new owners we have been and are continuing to do many things to our campground.
Aug 30, 2016
This was our 3rd stay here! Always very pretty and relaxing!
Aug 29, 2016
We loved our first experience at KOA! There were so many things to do while camping with 2 little kids!
Aug 29, 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Nice campsite,quiet,and friendly staff.
Aug 29, 2016
Planned one night. Mechanical problem with truck 8 miles down the road after we left. Limped back to the campground and Angela opened up the office early to get us back in the same spot. Disconnected trailer so tow truck could get my vehicle to the dealer. Two extra nights...nice CG to deal with the delay and continue our cross country trip.
Aug 29, 2016
Great stay. Glad to see the new owners putting improvemebts into this camp. Looking good.
Aug 29, 2016
Great time, family friendly and safe feeling. Wish there were bike trails of some sort, but no complaints.
Aug 29, 2016
Aug 28, 2016
Loved the view of the lake. Friendly staff. Clean restrooms. However, when we got ready to leave we could not get our propane tank filled because the man who does this wasn't going to be back until 5 pm. Disappointing.
Aug 27, 2016
Aug 27, 2016
Aug 27, 2016
Very nice place. Quiet and easy to get in and out. Clean lamp. Thank you.
Aug 27, 2016
Very nice campground, very clean, and loved the piped in music while using the bathhouse. :)
Aug 26, 2016
Convienent, clean, comfortable place to stay while traveling,
Aug 25, 2016
Nice people...Nice place
Aug 22, 2016
Very nice KOA. Great location on the lake. Nice grassy tenet sites! Very clean facilities.
Aug 22, 2016
Best camping trip of the year!!!! Level sites and clean.
Aug 22, 2016
Peaceful setting, wifi doesn't work very well
Aug 21, 2016
Nice Camp site. The pet walk area was pretty much taken up with boats and trucks however.
Aug 20, 2016
The campsite was very clean with many activities available. It was a perfect family getaway!
Aug 20, 2016
Nice place it stay. Staff is very helpful!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy