Onawa / Blue Lake KOA

21788 Dogwood Avenue

Onawa, IA 51040-8665

Reserve: 800-562-4182

Info: 712-423-1633

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

Campground Reviews

Sep 10, 2014
Everything was very clean. KOA employee wasvery competent & friendly. The only complaint was I did not bring Bug Spray. We itched terrible & are still itching. Darlene Limoges Bugs were terr
Sep 10, 2014
Nice campground and host. Sites were average size. Lots of trees for shade! Fairly clean bathrooms/showers. We were passing through in our motorhome.
Sep 08, 2014
Sep 08, 2014
We stayed in a one room camping cabin. It was very stale and musty smelling. Not to bad after we opened door and windows. Stormed, so we didn't get to do much. I have stayed here before. Very good KOA.
Sep 07, 2014
had a great time, very nice, friendly people, highly recommend. clean campgrounds..would return again
Sep 06, 2014
Great, A OK
Sep 03, 2014
We had a great stay. Campground well taken care of. Friendly campers. Staff very accommodating. We would recommend to it anyone.
Sep 03, 2014
Very clean.... friendly staff...
Sep 03, 2014
It was a great stay!! The only downfall was they only had 2 paddle boats and we had 8 of us...so we had to split up our times
Sep 03, 2014
This KOA camp was the best! Everyone was friendly, the service was prompt and was exactly what we reserved. It's great for kids and adults. The pool was crystal clear and the bathrooms were extremely clean!
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
Very clean showers/restroom. Camped there on Saturday of Labor Day weekend. Family-like atmosphere. Enjoyed our stay.
Sep 01, 2014
Bathrooms were clean. Hosts helpful and friendly.
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 29, 2014
Parking was muddy, needs new gravel installed in every site. Sites were too close.
Aug 28, 2014
Easy registration, nice RV site, helpful staff!
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Very nice and clean
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Very nice campground. We only spent overnite but would like to have stayed longer. Staff and facilities were top notch.
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Hostess was useless.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your experience but you must have the wrong park. We are very accommodating and we have had ALOT of rain. Not much we can do. Did you ask to be moved?
Aug 20, 2014
Staff went out of their way to give great service!
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Great overnight stop.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
very nice stay!
Aug 18, 2014
It was extremely noisy, people that stayed there had no respect for other campers -- they repeatedly walked through our campsite. Most residents appeared to be permanent. Property is for sale and it appears that owner doesn't care.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you had a bad experience at our park. We do care about our campers! Did you tell management? Our campground is NOT run down and a very groomed campground. We have received awards for 10 years based on customers surveys given out by random by KOA. There are no permanent campers here.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Pool was a little to cold for me. We enjoyed the movie we rented and the beautiful sunset
Aug 16, 2014
Owners are friendly and welcome you to the campground. It was clean with good faciities.
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
everything that i requested or required to make the stay at this location was taken care of in a very timley manor and i was treated with the most friendly yet professional manor. You can look forward to more stays from me. Mitch
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
One night stay. Clean campground. Friendly host.
Aug 13, 2014
Really nice park on a lake. Very friendly and helpful check in person. will definitely stay here again if we are travelling thru the area!
Aug 13, 2014
Enjoyed our stay. Cooling off in the pool after a hot day of driving was great. We really like the view of Blue Lake from the cabin. The facilities were clean & everything worked.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Nice people.Park needs some electric and sewer upgrade at the other end of park where our friends stay.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
We loved the campground. Very beautiful on the lake. The bathrooms were the cleanest. Thank you
Aug 11, 2014
Great for families. Shower house is really clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. Pool was fun for kids and the little bikes were a blast. Will stay again.
Aug 11, 2014
Had a good stay even only one night , Staff was friendly and the camp grounds were very clean!! Was coming home from Sturgis, we will make it a every year rest stop!!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.