Newton KOA

1601 East 36th Street South

Newton, IA 50208

Reserve: 800-562-4670

Info: 641-792-2428

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 20, 2015
Great view's
Jul 20, 2015
Nice place. But, the camp spaces are too close together.
Jul 20, 2015
Uneven gravel sites. Very narrow sites: can't extend awning, neighbor's slide at our front door. Felt gouged due to minimum stay. Staff was nice and accomodating. Paper towel dispenser empty for 2 days...
Jul 20, 2015
Great hosts. Spaces are a little close together, great fishing and close to everything.
Jul 20, 2015
Small lots, not for big rigs, it was a race weekend so big crowds.
Jul 20, 2015
Wayne and Helen Rose are outstanding hosts, and did a great job in getting one of the new cabins ready for our stay. They went above and beyond what I expected when I reserved it, and made it a great stay.
Jul 20, 2015
Nice people. Clean campground
Jul 18, 2015
This was okay as far as KOAs go, but it was right next to the freeway. Sleep did not come easy.
Jul 16, 2015
We only stayed overnight but was very nice.
Jul 15, 2015
NOISY!!!
Jul 15, 2015
The campground was well maintained and very friendly. Only drawback it is very close to the interstate. I would stay here again.
Jul 15, 2015
Very nice
Jul 13, 2015
good playground nice pool
Jul 13, 2015
Kampground hosts Wayne and Helen are very friendly. Bob, campground worker, is the perfect asset to keep your campground running smoothly.
Jul 13, 2015
Staff was friendly and accmodating. Store had items such as ice readily available. Place looked clean and the showers were great. We stayed in the tent area but no fire pit was provided and the noise from the highway was extreme.
Jul 13, 2015
Our stay here was great. We arrived late and our campsite information was taped to the window of the main office. The staff was very nice. We didn't stay long, but would have liked to have taken advantage of the amenities. Our electricity hookups weren't working, but otherwise it was great.
Jul 13, 2015
clean, quiet and friendly. Thanks!
Jul 13, 2015
Nice for an on the way stop. Friendly staff, nice pool and playground. Pretty setting. Lots of highway noise and rv sites are very tight so wouldn't stay for extended periods. Enjoyed it though! Thanks!
Jul 12, 2015
We only stayed for one night, the sites were level and the campground was clean, I do have to say that the stalls in restroom were very cozy, glad I am not a big guy
Jul 12, 2015
wifi unreliable
Jul 10, 2015
Small campground right off the freeway, level sites though things can get muddy with any rainfall. The playground was VERY old and outdated. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 10, 2015
Traffic noise. Not able to level my RV, the parking pad was not flat.
Jul 09, 2015
The grass wasn't cut and the sites were small. On the other hand, we were pulling out at 7am and checked to see if the office was open to get propane. It was not, but the owner was driving by and asked what we needed. Even though they weren't open yet, he stopped where he was going and filled our tanks. Very nice, friendly, helpful man.
Jul 08, 2015
Jul 08, 2015
Very nice hosts. Only issues were road noise and trash canister that was unsafe--too full, unable to place trash, afraid would fall on me.
Jul 08, 2015
Great stay, friendly KOA team, love the pancakes
Jul 08, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
Ejoyed our stay.
Jul 07, 2015
Very pleasant and the staff was excellent love it
Jul 06, 2015
The space provided would be adequate for an overnight, however quite narrow for a longer stay. Stayed 5 nights. Good cable and best WiFi than most. Staff friendly and courteous. Lots of larger spaces available, however believe they were reserved by locals or repeat customers - traveling from out of state.
Jul 06, 2015
We had a great time the kids loved it. Thanks so much for a great weekend.
Jul 06, 2015
Very clean, nice ammenities. Most spaces are close together. Interstate traffic loud.
Jul 06, 2015
Nice people, nice neighbors camping. Spots are a little close to each other. Almost sideswiped a picnic table pulling in.
Jul 06, 2015
Loved the 1am tornado drill, glad they have a shelter on site. Felt like my last deployment, a community of friends making the best of a bad situation.
Jul 05, 2015
Friendly staff, clean bathrooms. Very few tent sites. The pool looked fun and the location is easy to get to.
Jul 05, 2015
Our family had a wonderful time! We loved the clean bath house and fun pool. Very quiet and clean for a totally booked campground. We will be back again.
Jul 05, 2015
The spaces are too close together - this is the only major concern. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Jul 04, 2015
Had a main water line break when we were there. Staff were very nice. Very close to the highway with lots of road noise.
Jul 04, 2015
Thought it was too close to the highway -- very noisy
Jul 04, 2015
This is the 4th year we have stayed at this KOA and have enjoyed every stay. It is a well kept campground and all of the employees are helpful and friendly. Only complaint is that some pet people refuse to use pet area and let their dogs do their business on other peoples sites and DON'T bother to pick it up.
Jul 04, 2015
nice place, real friendly staff
Jul 03, 2015
A very nice place, nice to be able to move around. The fireflies were fantastic. A little close to the highway.
Jul 03, 2015
Very nice staff, always available if needed. Restrooms/showers are well maintained- sites were compact to accommodate the number of sites needed for the racetrack but still enough space to put the awning out!
Jul 03, 2015
was just a quick one night stay, but was very impressed with cleanliness of location and politeness of staff
Jul 03, 2015
Jul 03, 2015
Had to back out of our pull through need I say more
Jul 03, 2015
Campground clean and close to interstate.Good for overnight stay but freeway noise will deafen you,
Jul 02, 2015
Restroom are clean. Washer and dryer worked well. Basketball court was good, just fix the rim. Need a path to dog park, rocks, etc. shoes got wet every day.
Jul 02, 2015
Well maintained, great staff. Maybe let people know they do a tornado alarm practice Wed mornings.
Jul 01, 2015
helpful, knowledgeable staff! Fun activities

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.