Newton KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-4670

Info: 641-792-2428

Email

1601 East 36th Street South

Newton, IA 50208

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 16, 2016
The park was well maintained,the staff friendly and helpful. The restrooms and showers were always very clean. The showers had plenty of hot water.
Aug 16, 2016
Very nicely maintained campground. It was obvious that the owners were extremely patriotic and my husband even got a military discount. Just beautiful and would definitely recommend and stay there again!
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
The staff at this KOA were very friendly and helpful. The pool was well maintained; clear and clean. The store had convenient supplies. Washrooms and laundry facilities very clean. Sites very narrow and grass very long. Noise from the freeway and cicadas made sleeping difficult. Issues with slow-running sewer.
Aug 15, 2016
This particular KOA was just ok. The spaces are really tight and the grass space that was designated to our site was overgrown and needed to be cut. There was really tall grass around the electrical outlet that needed to be trimmed also. Overall the site served its purpose and there was nothing functionally wrong, but it just wasn't the best.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 14, 2016
O.k.
Aug 14, 2016
Friendly and helpful
Aug 14, 2016
When tenting you need two things-water and a picnic table. Worst table ever. Dirty paint peeling really poor
Aug 13, 2016
We had a nice one night stay. Conveniently located to town which has everything you could need.
Aug 13, 2016
Aug 13, 2016
We did not like our first site. We were given a nice one after we decided to leave. They try hard to be good host. Parts of the campground are very tight.they seem to really care about the client'side happiness. They are so nice it is hard to say negative things

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

WE are always happy to work with our campers if they would like to select a different site from what is available!
Aug 12, 2016
Excellent !!! Stay
Aug 12, 2016
Camp was well kept, good bathrooms,nice flowers all around.....but the full hookups spaces are entirely too close together..people could not use their awnings..slides were nearly touching neighbor's slides..we heard our neighbor sneeze inside his unit when we were in ours! Very difficult to get out of space. We had to get all of our neighbors to watch and help. That is way too closely packed!
Aug 12, 2016
The owners were very nice and helpful. There is a lot of noise from the interstate but that was expected. A lot to do for kids in the park. The facility was nice and clean. Our complaint about the campground is the spaces are very small and crowded together.
Aug 11, 2016
Great time for children and adults. Great fishing play grounds and shower houses very clean. Will be back there for sure !!
Aug 11, 2016
Convenient location and very accommodating hosts. Had a wonderful thunderstorm the night we stayed and the campground was in great shape afterwards.
Aug 11, 2016
Very noisy from highway traffic all night
Aug 11, 2016
We did laundry, went swimming,watched the news and enjoyed NOT being by a big highway!
Aug 09, 2016
Sites way too close together. Next door neighbor's slides touched our awning. Ok for base of operations but not for enjoying the outdoors at the campground.
Aug 09, 2016
Nice clean campground with level sites. Easy access to I 80. There is shopping gas and restaurants near by.
Aug 09, 2016
Wonderfull grassy sites and helpful staff.
Aug 08, 2016
we had 5 girls stay in the deluxe cabin with loft--it was perfect for our bachelorette party! clean, comfortable, and cozy! we can't wait to return with our families! :)
Aug 08, 2016
Staff was so great and helpful and friendly!! Thanks so much!!
Aug 08, 2016
The grass really needed to be cut. Overall, it was definitely not a place set up for tenting. People were friendly and the lots were spacious, if poorly defined. It simply seemed like tents were an afterthought.
Aug 08, 2016
Very Friendly, clean and fun time!! Will go back
Aug 08, 2016
GREAT PLACE. VERY HELPFUL
Aug 08, 2016
The spaces are too close together. We were in space 18 and had our picnic table right next the the sewer hose of the trailer next to us. When extending our awning it was maybe 18 inches away from the neighboring trailer. Needs more trash cans located around the park. Loved the ice cream socials. If we return we would love to have an outside space just so we could set up our outside equipment.
Aug 08, 2016
The campground was clean, shady flat lot, nice pool area. Easy to miss the drive for the Koa if you don't pay close attention.
Aug 07, 2016
WI-FI was out for he first few hours but was fine after that. Needs more lighting in the shower area.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our server was down hense the wifi issue, but it was not on our part. Sorry for any inconvenience.
Aug 06, 2016
Only stayed one night. Not much to say. Staff was friendly.
Aug 06, 2016
Can't say enough good things for staff. They were great. Sites quite narrow and our sewer not far from neighbors picnic table. Glad had nice fenced dog run that we weren't too far from.
Aug 06, 2016
We had a great time. This place has everything and the people are very nice. We will go again soon.
Aug 06, 2016
Sites were a little close together and pretty muddy in area. Nice place to walk our dog. Close to freeway noise.
Aug 06, 2016
We were just passing thru, great place for even just one night! Thank you
Aug 05, 2016
Pros: extremely friendly staff, fairly nice setting Cons: interstate traffic noise, pool was greenish, sites were very close together, bathrooms dated - partially updated but exposed pipe area dirty, campground roadways and sites would be muddy in wet weather
Aug 05, 2016
Cabin was dirty! Spider webs everywhere smelled funny. But it got us by
Aug 04, 2016
Very Very small slots. we could not even fully open our awning. the facilities were clean and friendly but super small
Aug 03, 2016
The interstate noise was very loud. The facilities at this KOA seem very outdated. The restrooms were rarely cleaned. I would not stay here again.
Aug 03, 2016
Thanks Newton KOA for another great weekend. I am just blown away with your service to the campers. And as always another great pancake feed. THANK KOA!!!!
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Friendly staff.
Aug 02, 2016
Everyone is very friendly and helpful! Thank You!
Aug 02, 2016
the owners were friendly but the camp spots were narrow and short. OK for an overnight stay
Aug 01, 2016
was great
Aug 01, 2016
AGAIN I'M GIVING MY OPINION THE ENTRANCE NEEDS TO BE REPAIRED IT IS VERY ROUGH ON THE CAMPERS HOPE BY NEXT YEAR THIS IS TAKEN CARE OF
Aug 01, 2016
Very nice and well cared for establishment. Would visit again.
Jul 31, 2016
Wayne & Helen are the best hosts!!! We stay at their KOA every time we come back to Iowa! Very clean restrooms/showers, clean swimming pool! We just love this place! Steve & Judy Phipps Soldotna, Alaska
Jul 30, 2016
Reserved a 50 AMP pull through site. Got a 30 AMP pull through site. Obviously the coach that took the 50 AMP receptacle was regular customer. They pulled into the adjacent the wrong way and took my site's 50 AMP service. My wife and I are old an have a need for total HVAC control. The reservation process needs to be fixed. They don't have many 50 AMP sites. A double check needs to be done
Jul 29, 2016
Just stayed overnight but the park was clean and the people where nice.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy