Newport / I-40 / Smoky Mountains KOA

240 KOA Lane

Newport, TN 37821

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Info: 423-623-9004

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 11, 2013
not as friendly as it use to be need ceiling fans in cabins need to stock fishing lake this is the 6th time I stay there and may be my last
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Always very nice and very clean. We really enjoy this campground!!!!!
Jul 08, 2013
This is the third time I've been to this KOA. Always seeing to our needs and a great location with surrounding activities. I will be back.
Jul 08, 2013
Sites are small and ours was close to the interstate - noise
Jul 08, 2013
We thought the campground was very nice and well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our one and only complaint would be the size of the tent sites, but we would definitely stay again.
Jul 07, 2013
Very nice people
Jul 07, 2013
Great value!
Jul 06, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 05, 2013
Not KOA quality. Maybe there was a problem with the lawn mower or the rain--grass too tall. The sites were not level. Laundry room was not as clean as it should be.The employees were very helpful & friendly.
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
great location for my purposes. close enough to Knoxville or Asheville to enjoy either .Older campground but well tended.
Jun 30, 2013
Unfortunately we had a 50 amp site that did not full power. Thinking that we had problems with our unit because our air conditioner and microwave would not work. Then finding out at our next stop they did work. So only one leg of your power was working.
Jun 30, 2013
Very quiet location. Small but clean area and easy to get to.
Jun 30, 2013
Staff was helpful with anything I needed. Storm came thru lightening hit tree 40 yards away . They were out checking things out as soon as possible. Fixing washed out places, removing tree limbs .
Jun 27, 2013
Shady, and clean with friendly and helpful staff
Jun 26, 2013
beautiful, had a wonderful time!
Jun 24, 2013
Nice campground, clean and very accommodating staff. Quiet campground but traffic noise (I-40) was noticeable but OK with the A/C on for sleeping. Good place to stay and drive to attractions in the area and come back to.
Jun 24, 2013
Really enjoyed out stay there - except the weather ;-( Everyone on the KOA team there were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed out spot and the surroundings - a very, very nice park.
Jun 22, 2013
Be careful of narrow road before park entrance.
Jun 21, 2013
overpriced for site and facilities. Found a pile of rusty nails not far from where we parked! Volunteers were great.
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 20, 2013
The staff was super. The pull thru site was designed by a non rver; the full hookups are at the rear of the sites, where the tow car is situated. It takes a long water hose and two sewer hoses just about make it. The entry road is very narrow as is the concrete bridge over the stream. BUT the staff were personable and helpful. We'll stop at a real pull-thru park next time through the area.
Jun 18, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
Very helpfull KOA workers. We enjoyed our stay very much. Thank Doyle
Jun 17, 2013
Friendly staff, great location. Would recommend anyone interested in traveling near Newport, TN stay here.
Jun 17, 2013
People were extremely friendly here. Camp seems to be getting runned down and needs some TLC. We had a nice night camping and slept well.
Jun 16, 2013
As always our stay was great. Newport KOA is the best.
Jun 15, 2013
Jun 15, 2013
Jun 12, 2013
The campground is clean and quiet and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Jun 12, 2013
Great location with excellent staff. This is a must stop on any trip we make to the north.
Jun 11, 2013
Jun 09, 2013
Jun 07, 2013
Good clean place to stay while on way to another destination. Not as close to things like the Smokeys as I thought. Advertised as a smokey mountain KOA not really.
Jun 05, 2013
We were pleased to be with ypu. and we may be back.
Jun 04, 2013
The people were great and very helpful. We did have electrical problems as we kept blowing the main campground circuit for our spot. An upgrade would be beneficial. However, the campground personnel rapidly assisted us in reconnecting.
Jun 02, 2013
To close to the highway (Noisy) The site I was in was very Buggy. The road in seemed a little bit of a poor section of town. The staff were friendly, not crazy about trailers with year round campers and the mess around their trailers. It wasn't a bad stay other wise.
May 31, 2013
Road noise was terrible and the owners house was right behind my tent. His dog kept coming down to my tent and barking at me. I left early because of it.
May 31, 2013
Lots of interstate noise, but secluded area. Would like to have had a bit more level area. Friendly and nice. Shower rooms were very nice.
May 31, 2013
Wi-Fi didn't work well, cable reception poor, couldn't get satellite as requested
May 30, 2013
People that run this campground were extremely helpful. The highway was fairly close and very noisy. Our neighbor came out to get his puppy with his pants around his knees and his black underwear (thank goodness he had some on) for all to see.
May 28, 2013
very friendly very clean restroom/showers as well!
May 27, 2013
Average compared to other KOAs that we have stayed in. Sites were unmowed. Very slow wifi (0.6 mbps). Clean bathrooms however. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The volunteer staff were the best. We couldn't thank Larry enough for his help. He alone is responsible for the 7 rating.
May 27, 2013
Really nice. Arrived little late and Larry still stayed to help us get set up and settled.
May 27, 2013
Campground is ok. Bathrooms closest to most sites were locked. Road to camp in poor shape and very narrow.
May 24, 2013
May 22, 2013
May 22, 2013
Couldn't us my satellite unit, cable TV was awful!
May 21, 2013
Close to family and friends, KOA emploies were very friendly and nice. The facilities were clean and neat.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.