Newport / I-40 / Smoky Mountains KOA

240 KOA Lane

Newport, TN 37821

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Info: 423-623-9004

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 31, 2013
Road noise was terrible and the owners house was right behind my tent. His dog kept coming down to my tent and barking at me. I left early because of it.
May 31, 2013
Lots of interstate noise, but secluded area. Would like to have had a bit more level area. Friendly and nice. Shower rooms were very nice.
May 31, 2013
Wi-Fi didn't work well, cable reception poor, couldn't get satellite as requested
May 30, 2013
People that run this campground were extremely helpful. The highway was fairly close and very noisy. Our neighbor came out to get his puppy with his pants around his knees and his black underwear (thank goodness he had some on) for all to see.
May 28, 2013
very friendly very clean restroom/showers as well!
May 27, 2013
Average compared to other KOAs that we have stayed in. Sites were unmowed. Very slow wifi (0.6 mbps). Clean bathrooms however. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The volunteer staff were the best. We couldn't thank Larry enough for his help. He alone is responsible for the 7 rating.
May 27, 2013
Really nice. Arrived little late and Larry still stayed to help us get set up and settled.
May 27, 2013
Campground is ok. Bathrooms closest to most sites were locked. Road to camp in poor shape and very narrow.
May 24, 2013
May 22, 2013
May 22, 2013
Couldn't us my satellite unit, cable TV was awful!
May 21, 2013
Close to family and friends, KOA emploies were very friendly and nice. The facilities were clean and neat.
May 21, 2013
Staff was very friendly,kind and helpful,they done their best to make us feel welcome. I hope they stay there forever.!!!!!!!!!
May 19, 2013
KOA in Newport is the best campground in the town. The only real thing that I see wrong with this and every KOA that I have ever stayed is the costs is too high. Other campgrounds have just as much at sometimes half the cost.
May 18, 2013
The campground is great. Clean bathrooms. Area is well kept.
May 18, 2013
Such friendly people.. I'm a new RV'er, and had a problem with my awning as I was leaving. Larry, a volunteer there, spent 45 minutes helping me figure it out! WOW!
May 15, 2013
One of my favorite KOA's. Beautiful grounds and great staff.
May 14, 2013
May 14, 2013
Would stay there again. Very friendly staff.
May 13, 2013
This KOA has the cleanest bathrooms we have ever seen. Check-in and duration of stay was very great. We have already recommended this KOA to family and friend. Thanks for a wonderful adventure at Newport, TN.
May 10, 2013
May 10, 2013
May 08, 2013
Their hospitality was outstanding, Gordon & Shirley
May 07, 2013
One of the better kept KOAs we have stayed at in a long time. Wish the quality that your park displayed was the norm for KOA, like it used to be.
May 06, 2013
Nice area. Sites very close together. Wi-Fi useless. Friendly staff.
May 06, 2013
NO fishing
May 05, 2013
Too much road noise!
May 03, 2013
Fabulous and Friendly!!!!
May 03, 2013
Advertized free wi-fi but no internet available. Office hours not long enough for campers. They closed at 4:45 and we couldn't get a few things we needed (coffee, firewood etc) We stay at a lot of KOA's and this was by far the worst! They also had me doublebooked but we got there before the office closed and did get re-inbursed for the mistake. Would not stay at this KOA again.
May 03, 2013
May 02, 2013
Staff very friendly
May 01, 2013
Way too much road noise, very messy junky permanent sites, old unusable picnic tables. Friendly workers. Dog poop not picked up. Didn't get much sleep due to the noise.
Apr 29, 2013
I have always liked this KOA in Newport. Even though it rained every day and the pool was not opened yet, we still had a good site and time. Thanks,
Apr 26, 2013
Campground was noisy from I40 traffic. Bathrooms were clean but hand air dryer failed to work due to electical problem in mens room. Owner fixed the problem after being informed of lack of lights and dryer over sink areas.
Apr 23, 2013
Outstanding place to stay. I have in the past and will stay again in the future.
Apr 22, 2013
Arrived after hours and had to leave early as we were driving cross country. Late registration process was easy - including credit card payment option. Thanks!
Apr 17, 2013
staff was great, campground clean and quiet,close to mountains
Apr 17, 2013
Camp store was not fully stocked.
Apr 16, 2013
The campground is too small for large coaches. We could not even connect to the sewer. Large trees in campsites are a hazard in event of wind or storms.
Apr 10, 2013
It's a great place for a one night layover in travel...not sure there are activities close by that would be of interest to us. Had a great stay as it was exactly what we needed that night.
Apr 10, 2013
the site are not clean, level or appealing. ground are a mess
Apr 09, 2013
Apr 06, 2013
The hosts are very helpful and accommodating. Nice clean camp.
Apr 05, 2013
Wonderful. We were cold they brought us more heat. They put our fire wood in a dry place when it rained. We're new to camping. Staff were helpful with ideas of things to do during our smoky mountain vacation. We had a spectacular trip! Thanks
Apr 04, 2013
Very tight quarters in and out. Office not open all day.
Apr 03, 2013
Owner let his dog run loose. Muddy sites. Hard to get into.
Apr 02, 2013
Mar 28, 2013
Mar 26, 2013
Great camp ground! We loved the standard Kabin (no bathroom) we stayed in and plan to stay in the delux Kabin (1/2 bath) next time we visit.
Mar 25, 2013
Getting into the campground was not very well done. The road getting there was vey narrow and not suited for large motorcoach. The bridge that had to be crossed was very narrow and the road curved making it tight to say the least when towing. Sites felt too crowded.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.