Newport / I-40 / Smoky Mountains KOA

240 KOA Lane

Newport, TN 37821

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Info: 423-623-9004

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 07, 2013
One of the better kept KOAs we have stayed at in a long time. Wish the quality that your park displayed was the norm for KOA, like it used to be.
May 06, 2013
Nice area. Sites very close together. Wi-Fi useless. Friendly staff.
May 06, 2013
NO fishing
May 05, 2013
Too much road noise!
May 03, 2013
Fabulous and Friendly!!!!
May 03, 2013
Advertized free wi-fi but no internet available. Office hours not long enough for campers. They closed at 4:45 and we couldn't get a few things we needed (coffee, firewood etc) We stay at a lot of KOA's and this was by far the worst! They also had me doublebooked but we got there before the office closed and did get re-inbursed for the mistake. Would not stay at this KOA again.
May 03, 2013
May 02, 2013
Staff very friendly
May 01, 2013
Way too much road noise, very messy junky permanent sites, old unusable picnic tables. Friendly workers. Dog poop not picked up. Didn't get much sleep due to the noise.
Apr 29, 2013
I have always liked this KOA in Newport. Even though it rained every day and the pool was not opened yet, we still had a good site and time. Thanks,
Apr 26, 2013
Campground was noisy from I40 traffic. Bathrooms were clean but hand air dryer failed to work due to electical problem in mens room. Owner fixed the problem after being informed of lack of lights and dryer over sink areas.
Apr 23, 2013
Outstanding place to stay. I have in the past and will stay again in the future.
Apr 22, 2013
Arrived after hours and had to leave early as we were driving cross country. Late registration process was easy - including credit card payment option. Thanks!
Apr 17, 2013
staff was great, campground clean and quiet,close to mountains
Apr 17, 2013
Camp store was not fully stocked.
Apr 16, 2013
The campground is too small for large coaches. We could not even connect to the sewer. Large trees in campsites are a hazard in event of wind or storms.
Apr 10, 2013
It's a great place for a one night layover in travel...not sure there are activities close by that would be of interest to us. Had a great stay as it was exactly what we needed that night.
Apr 10, 2013
the site are not clean, level or appealing. ground are a mess
Apr 09, 2013
Apr 06, 2013
The hosts are very helpful and accommodating. Nice clean camp.
Apr 05, 2013
Wonderful. We were cold they brought us more heat. They put our fire wood in a dry place when it rained. We're new to camping. Staff were helpful with ideas of things to do during our smoky mountain vacation. We had a spectacular trip! Thanks
Apr 04, 2013
Very tight quarters in and out. Office not open all day.
Apr 03, 2013
Owner let his dog run loose. Muddy sites. Hard to get into.
Apr 02, 2013
Mar 28, 2013
Mar 26, 2013
Great camp ground! We loved the standard Kabin (no bathroom) we stayed in and plan to stay in the delux Kabin (1/2 bath) next time we visit.
Mar 25, 2013
Getting into the campground was not very well done. The road getting there was vey narrow and not suited for large motorcoach. The bridge that had to be crossed was very narrow and the road curved making it tight to say the least when towing. Sites felt too crowded.
Mar 25, 2013
Had a wonderful time. Koa was very clean And friendly and knowledgeable staff. The only negative was so close to the freeway, car noise. But we came in the wintertime/ Early spring So I'm sure when there are trees on the leaves the road noise isn't so much. Koa are very family focused. Keep up the great work thank you
Mar 25, 2013
Mar 24, 2013
Mar 24, 2013
Mar 21, 2013
Friendly staff and a nice park
Mar 16, 2013
Mar 13, 2013
Mar 11, 2013
Mar 10, 2013
Très bel endroit- Nous avons été très bien accueillis. On nous a aidé à faire notre réservation pour notre prochain camping.. Cet endroit doit être super beau l'été avec son lac et ses canards et dans le décors des montagnes.
Mar 02, 2013
Feb 25, 2013
It was a great stay. We wanted to stay longer, but enjoyed only overnight due to tight schedule.
Feb 07, 2013
No wifi and they would not answer their phone. VERY frustrating! Wifi is part of the deal and it was out. My husband is a computer tech, so he could have trouble shot it and gotten it back online if they had answered the phone. Felt like this was not a true KOA experience.
Jan 21, 2013
Scott was the friendly person who checked us in and worked with us on a site that met our needs, as well as filling our propane tank. This campground is more than adequate, and facilities seemed good. We visited in January. There is some road noise from nearby I-40 and the entrance road is narrow, but adequate. I'm sure it's beautiful in the summer and fall. Would stay there again
Jan 08, 2013
Absolutely superb! Nice, clean, and quiet stay. Great prices on everything including propane. Would highly recommend for folks wanting a quiet and 'slower pace' lifestyle stay.
Jan 04, 2013
Friendly, helpful!
Dec 31, 2012
Dec 17, 2012
Dec 09, 2012
got there late, in the dark, left early. Attendant was polite. Nothing specially good or bad.
Nov 28, 2012
Nov 28, 2012
Nov 18, 2012
Nov 13, 2012
It was a nice quiet stay and can't wait to visit again. wish it had a hot tub!!!!!!
Nov 11, 2012
Very friendly and helpful staff and restrooms very clean

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.