Newport / I-40 / Smoky Mountains KOA

240 KOA Lane

Newport, TN 37821

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Info: 423-623-9004

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 06, 2013
Very friendly staff. They took the time to first show me the site since we were coming in with a large class A motorhome. Sites were level, clean, and good power. Road noise was non-existent. Love to come back here again.
Aug 06, 2013
We had a wonderful time at this campground- what ever we needed the staff were more than happy to assist us. Thanks.
Aug 05, 2013
Not up to KOA standards. Unfortunately this was our longest stay. If we did not have a nice bathroom in our RV we would have left, their toilet/ shower room is not up to KOA standards. The water in the pool is green ... won't stay there again. The only good thing is the people working there.
Aug 05, 2013
we found the road leading into the camp and the bridge we had to go over to be narrow. when you are 32 feet long and pulling a vehicle behind there is not a lot of room crossing the bridge, but the camp was nice to stay in.
Aug 05, 2013
Staff very friendly and helpful.... kicked the breaker and they were there within 5 min to reset. Very well kept park.
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
The onsite KOA-Kamper was extremely helpful. We came in really late and he guided us to our site. We are in a 42' motorhome (towing a Jeep) and he ensured that we plenty of clearance. He also talked to our neighbors - it was a busy weekend - to clear the roadway for our early morning start. The Kampground is very well manicured; however, it was really tight for larger sized motorhomes (w/ a tow)
Aug 01, 2013
helpful & friendly staff clean campground enjoyed my stay went home relaxed
Jul 31, 2013
Friendly staff and clean kabins!!! Greatest value in the Gatlinburg area!
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
The electrical currect was not up to par. The area needed new gravel laid around the area for it was mostly dirt.
Jul 29, 2013
There was a "monster truck rally" at the campground that kinda ruined the whole experience for us. One of the trucks ran over and crushed the water supply pipe resulting in no water for the entire campground. Not necessarily the campground's fault, but annoying still...
Jul 29, 2013
staff was friendly and helpful, campground was neat and clean. Only complaint was highway noise from inter-state, but would stay again.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Very Clean park, shady, park owners were very nice folks.
Jul 28, 2013
I will be complaining to the authorities over the animal cruelty that we witnessed a KOA staff member commit. The skinny redneck in the yellow hat picked up a little dog by its leash (hanging it by its neck) and slammed it down on the ground.The rest of the staff was very helpful, but we couldn't overlook the abusive behavior of this one KOA employee. This is not a safe place for your pets!!!!!!!!
Jul 28, 2013
Nice, clean, easy to get to.
Jul 26, 2013
The staff was not friendly. Upon entering the store immediately after hooking up, I overheard the staff asking if we had paid for everyone in our RV. Then the staff member was asking my spouse questions about our 3yr old daughter, is she potty trained becuse they don't allow trainers in the pool. Training diapers don't come off in the pool. The surrounding grounds were in desperate need of mowing.
Jul 24, 2013
The campground was very nice and clean, and all the staff were very friendly. I will be staying at this campground again next year!
Jul 24, 2013
Bert and his staff were great. We were made to feel welcome and we had a great time at the 56h annual RiffRaff Diesel event held at the Kampground. We will be back ! The Duncans
Jul 23, 2013
Easy in and out roads. The only complaint I have is the noise from the highway, which couldn't much be helped. Very friendly staff and kept up property.
Jul 22, 2013
The entire staff that I dealt with was very friendly and helpful. Thank you!
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
The people here care about your stay!! Had a great time!!
Jul 17, 2013
There pool is digusting! The entrance isnt appropriate for big RV`s.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Very Friendly, Very Helpful Staff!
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
All the staff really helpful. Only thing we didn't like was that the pool was open to people who weren't staying at the campground.
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Great!!
Jul 12, 2013
Campground is a little off the beaten path but it is beautiful. the lots are nice with great shade trees and the staff is helpful.
Jul 12, 2013
It's a great stop and wonderful people, but the road was way too tight getting in and the sites were mounded with rocks to get them somewhat level which caused the sides to drop down. Not easy getting down the coach steps. Not the best place for large Class A's.
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
not as friendly as it use to be need ceiling fans in cabins need to stock fishing lake this is the 6th time I stay there and may be my last
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Always very nice and very clean. We really enjoy this campground!!!!!
Jul 08, 2013
This is the third time I've been to this KOA. Always seeing to our needs and a great location with surrounding activities. I will be back.
Jul 08, 2013
Sites are small and ours was close to the interstate - noise
Jul 08, 2013
We thought the campground was very nice and well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our one and only complaint would be the size of the tent sites, but we would definitely stay again.
Jul 07, 2013
Very nice people
Jul 07, 2013
Great value!
Jul 06, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 05, 2013
Not KOA quality. Maybe there was a problem with the lawn mower or the rain--grass too tall. The sites were not level. Laundry room was not as clean as it should be.The employees were very helpful & friendly.
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
great location for my purposes. close enough to Knoxville or Asheville to enjoy either .Older campground but well tended.
Jun 30, 2013
Unfortunately we had a 50 amp site that did not full power. Thinking that we had problems with our unit because our air conditioner and microwave would not work. Then finding out at our next stop they did work. So only one leg of your power was working.
Jun 30, 2013
Very quiet location. Small but clean area and easy to get to.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.