Newport / I-40 / Smoky Mountains KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Info: 423-623-9004


240 KOA Lane

Newport, TN 37821

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 11:00 am, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 725 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 11, 2015
Thought we would have a peaceful night back in the woods , however it was very noisy feom the road traffic. The playground and picnic facility was very nice however the dog walk left much to be desired ! No bench , high wet grass , this should be improved .
Jun 10, 2015
Stayed here before. Great overnight stop when traveling. Secluded yet easy access to freeway. Several nearby gas stations set up to accommodate motor homes and trailers.
Jun 08, 2015
I just hope that all KOA's will have standard cable
Jun 06, 2015
great place
Jun 04, 2015
A quiet and friendly visit.
Jun 02, 2015
too noisy by I40, but a friendly small well-maintained campground.
Jun 02, 2015
real friendly staff person, clean campground and peaceful.
Jun 02, 2015
Owners are great campground is clean with nice trees
Jun 02, 2015
We liked the convenience of checking in after hours on our own without having reservation because it wasn't our planned stop but had to stop earlier. We thought this KOA campground was extremely well kept up and the owner was real polite and courteous.
Jun 01, 2015
We had a 1 room Cabin..very clean and cozy. We loved sitting outside around the campfire. The grandkids loved the pool. Nice Campground and very friendly.
Jun 01, 2015
Loved it and will be back soon.very peaceful.
Jun 01, 2015
Nice campground friendly staff clean restrooms
May 31, 2015
Very nice place. Very clean and well kept with friendly and helpful staff! Five stars for a campground!
May 31, 2015
1. No paved roads 2. Cable consists of you having to hook up a cable box, that they give to you at no extra charge, to your TV. We are unable to "get behind" our TV, so we had no TV for our 2-night stay. It would have been good if we knew that when we made the reservation! I'm sure we would not have stayed there!
May 28, 2015
Very quiet, but challenging to enter and get to your site. Roadway coming in from Rt. 25 is narrow and the roads in the campground are also quite narrow for a large coach. But it was very peaceful once parked.
May 27, 2015
Use old cable boxes. Our TV is against wall and could not plug in box for cable..Local channels and few and fare between.
May 27, 2015
Nice layout with lots of trees. Desk staff was friendly and accomodating. The only drawbacks were the truck noise from the freeway and men's room (disgusting).
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
We had a great time. We'll be back for sure.
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
May 25, 2015
Stayed in Motorcoach. Gravel roads and pads. Friendly staff. Nice setting.
May 25, 2015
Not clean.
May 21, 2015
office does not open until 9 a.m. We had a tv "box" and no where to leave it - emails not returned, camp phone went unanswered. Noise from highway traffic. No one to call in case of camp emergency. Felt we were on a desert island.
May 19, 2015
I wasn't very pleased with the site, unlevel and the hookups were not conveniently located, especially for the price. Doubt we'll ever stay again. The hostess on duty was very pleasant though.
May 19, 2015
Great overall.
May 19, 2015
The staff was so nice We had a great stay Very nice place Great staff and people Very ckean
May 17, 2015
The folks in Newport are the perfect description of Southern Hospitality. Highly recommended for your camping enjoyment.
May 16, 2015
We didn't get in until 8:30 at night and she was awesome and stop by to see if we needed anything. Brought us firewood. Thank you for helping making our trip across the east side of America awesome!
May 10, 2015
Reserved and got confirmation for 50-amp big rig site. Arrived to find that we were assigned to a 30-amp site. Host found a 50-amp site, but not really for big rigs. Due to layout of site my wife was not able to exit the coach the entire time we were there. Overall park is attractive but seems not well managed.
May 10, 2015
May 10, 2015
We had a late check in but everything we need was left in the night box. Everyone seemed friendly. We only stayed one night. We were in a motor home with a tow car. We ask for a pull thru and everything was fine.
May 09, 2015
May 05, 2015
Pleasant and nice staff. Very clean bathrooms/showers.
May 05, 2015
Clean bathrooms. Well kept lawns. Friendly workers.
May 04, 2015
It is a nice clean campground.Clean restrooms and showers. Perfect for staying close to attractions like Dollywood. I was just disappointed there was no fishing at the advertised catch and release pond and the noise from the interstate is loud but we were in a tent so we could hear everything.
May 02, 2015
Beautiful setting. Road in/out a little narrow. Cable needs to be fixed. We were unable to use as we couldn't access back of TV. Loved campfire. Friendly staff. Would stay again if in area.
Apr 29, 2015
It must be at the beginning of the season as tidying up the landscaping was not started. All gravel/ grass sites made it difficult for my husband with a walker. Cable means getting a receiver and instructions attaching to TV which is a little more involved . Decided against its use. Bathrooms other than at office not for use. Derelict campers and vehicles were parked in view of site. D
Apr 28, 2015
it was ok. good cable and wif.
Apr 27, 2015
Stay was fine. Very clean and well managed but cable system did not work with new Charter box!
Apr 26, 2015
It was restful and pleasant. The kabin and rest rooms were clean and the folks were all friendly and helpful. Thank You
Apr 25, 2015
Made reservation for pull thru late arrival. Got there at 7pm, ticket clipped to box, site was an easy level spot, never unhooked. Great overnight stop.
Apr 20, 2015
Apr 20, 2015
Poorly maintained campground. Host wasn't particularly friendly.
Apr 19, 2015
The campground needs a lot of work and the bridge at the entrance sucks!!!!
Apr 19, 2015
The campground was nice, and the service was fine. However, the new digital TV boxes suck. I own an older RV, and it's difficult to get the box to work. Hook it up. THen program the remote to your Tv. it was such a pain, we never did get to watch TV. We were tired from being on the road,and certainly didn't enjoy messing around with the dumb box.
Apr 15, 2015
Only staying for the night and arrived late, and hosts came by to offer their assistance. Thought it was a little more off road from interstate, but after winding around and driving pretty far back into the woods, it had circled back to right next to the interstate. However, it was still a nice stay, and we slept well.
Apr 12, 2015
Apr 12, 2015
There were dog dumplings on our campsite, the outdated playground was next to a trash mount. The website was very misleading (pictures). The nice features were the showers: lavatories and the fast internet.
Apr 11, 2015
wash rooms were nice but the rest of the grounds need upkeep

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy