Newport / I-40 / Smoky Mountains KOA

240 KOA Lane

Newport, TN 37821

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Info: 423-623-9004

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 23, 2013
Sep 19, 2013
This is an excellent KOA in an area close to attractions and conveniently located for stopovers as well.
Sep 19, 2013
Sep 18, 2013
Great place. Clean. Nice staff. Only draw back is the highway noise. But one I the best KOA's I've stated in. Feels like you stepped out into the wilderness. Quite beautiful camp site. Could not ask for more.
Sep 17, 2013
i have a great time love the only thing that i didnt live was the big gravel it was hard to walk on but that life we enjoy it will be back
Sep 16, 2013
Nice place very friendly staff. Stayed here while I was enroute to Oklahoma City, OK from Virginia.
Sep 16, 2013
clean restrooms large sites the help were helpful and friendly
Sep 16, 2013
great location nice clean park and friendly, helpful workers. Wish you had a dog park thanks
Sep 12, 2013
Excellent RV park
Sep 12, 2013
We stayed there for 8 nights and were pleased with the facilities. We were able to travel to many places in the area to do genealogy research. We would choose to stay there again if we were in the area.
Sep 11, 2013
The campground was clean and well managed. It was family oriented and even though I travel alone, I appreciate this. The staff was excellent.
Sep 11, 2013
Always friendly staff and beautiful surroundings. This CG is underated.
Sep 10, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 08, 2013
Location, location location for us traveling west. A bit noisey but level site. One night only and did not use any the facilities. Husband said the bathroom was clean. Staff nice. Small sites. Good cable and internet a very nice PLUS. Would only stay no move that 2-3 nights.
Sep 06, 2013
Although this was only a short transient stopover en-route to home, the facility was clean and the staff friendly and helpful.
Sep 06, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
Very nice KOA. No problems at all. Office folks were extremely friendly.
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Very nice. Clean and quiet!
Sep 02, 2013
Shower area small no bench, dog area did not have any bags.
Aug 31, 2013
this koa sits directly adjacent to the freeway and an off ramp. the roar of highway traffic and trucks decelerating is nearly constant and quite distracting. the small pool was green when I was there, yet still open and not being treated. the 3 showers are very small with nowhere to sit, additionally there is very little water pressure. for $21 a night I would stay anywhere else.
Aug 28, 2013
People that run this KOA are very friendly! Pool was green and we didn't go in at all! Nothing offered at KOA for entertainment. All campers stayed inside campers - didn't talk to anyone else. Will not return most likely.
Aug 28, 2013
A bit buggy - for some reason the mosquitoes and gnats were really obnoxious so make sure you've got some DEET, but otherwise it was really great! It was clean and had lots of room for the dogs to go walk around. The staff was really friendly and it was conveniently located, too. I really liked this KOA!
Aug 27, 2013
Nice campground nestled in the thick forest close to many attractions. I have stayed here three times and enjoyed each time. Will come again.
Aug 27, 2013
We used to love this KOA and traveled there from Cherokee/Maggie Valley, NC area because we prefer camping in this area. But now, the pool is not fit to swim in - filthy & very green. Everything else is fine & staff is very nice. We left Saturday & drove about 40 miles round trip to pay to swim at a campground in Cosby, TN because no way were we going to get in the pool at the KOA. Fix the pool.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Cable reception was not perfect. It worked fine the first night, but some local channels became snowy. On leaving I was concerned that the exit road was too steep for my Rialta pulling a trailer. It was wet that morning and the Rialta has front wheel drive. We made it by getting a running start. That shouldn't be necessary.
Aug 23, 2013
Pool was green and out of order. Initially the water came out brown. The bathrooms were clean and the staff fair. Would not ever stay again? We had kids and didn't tell us the pool was out of order. Expected much more from a KOA.
Aug 22, 2013
Loved the park ! Negatives :Narrow road with two way traffic wasn't a problem after I got out.Worrisome! Inadequate trash containers.
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Larry and Macy, Camp Hosts were totally awesome! We felt like family from the time we checked in. The owners of the Newport KOA are lucky to find them, as they represent their business in a professional and caring manner. We had a 40 ft RV, with 3 slides and the sites were very accommodating. We highly recommend this campground! Keep up the good work. Dan and Sherri Lowe, Columbus, Ohio.
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
I was disappointed in the pool. It was filthy. Also, We did not appreciate one of the permanent campsite residents, said she was an employee, power washing her camper for 2 hours in the evening. That was very irritating.
Aug 18, 2013
The staff were awesome, very helpful. Beverly was the greatest. Kabins were clean beds not too comfortable. I loved the first one with a comode and sink.
Aug 18, 2013
Great staff Macy & Larry did a great job and made our stay one of the best we have had
Aug 16, 2013
Nothing wrong with the KOA, very friendly staff and nice facilities. But we were not thrilled with the area at all, there are much nicer options in the smokeys.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Very friendly atmosphere, wooded area with level gravel pull through. We camped in a travel trailer 29 ft with 2 slide outs. We had plenty of room to camp. Will camp here again.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
very nice place. The staff was awesome, the little store had all the things one could need also. Great location.
Aug 10, 2013
very nice people in the office. nice wooded grounds.
Aug 09, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.