New York City North / Newburgh KOA

119 Freetown Highway

Plattekill, NY 12568

Reserve: 800-562-7220

Info: 845-564-2836

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Sep 10, 2013
Just stayed overnight. Nice staff, trash container at every site.
Sep 10, 2013
Camping propre et bien tenu,fidèle au prix des KOA (dispendieux).Leur manière de distribuer leurs sites nous a semblée improvisée,ils n'avaient plus de pull-thru disponibles alors que des petits campeurs de 19 pieds et des tentes-roulottes les occupaient,le camping n'était pas très achalandé,4 au 9 sept 2013,$58/jour/2 services. Endroit parfait pour visiter NYC avec le train de banlieue.
Sep 10, 2013
Out of 14 open sites we were placed next to the one directly behind the welcome center..the camping experience was not as great because of this. We had kids and people walking through our tent which was also very disturbing.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
We had a wonderful time. Everyone was super friendly. We will be back!
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
We have stayed at this KOA many times. We have always been treated well by the employees. I was a little disappointed this time with the amount of garbage at our camp site. There were also some issues with the toilet and the shower not functioning correctly. We were disappointed that the movie was not played in the field, we did not have a tv to see it on channel 3.
Sep 08, 2013
Site given did not suit size of motor home had to back out and could not open all slides tight turns and trees needed trimming Showers ice cold AC set up to high
Sep 08, 2013
Nice setup. Lot's of activities.
Sep 07, 2013
Neat, tidy, well maintained,efficient office staff, rural setting, but close to conveniences.
Sep 07, 2013
Very nice sites, we had a pull thru and had lots of room. Grounds were well kept and clean. We would stay here again.
Sep 07, 2013
GPS should be corrected to turn off into campground. Staff appeared like they didn't care.
Sep 06, 2013
Sep 06, 2013
Beautiful grounds, large, very private sites. Laundry and shower area's were very clean and well lit. Well stocked store and gift shop. Great playground, pool, and jump pillow for the kids. Will definitely recommend!
Sep 06, 2013
wet fire wood bought from the store was a real bummer. other than that we had a blast as usual.
Sep 06, 2013
Sep 06, 2013
My KOA discount was given then taken away with a "resort fee."
Sep 05, 2013
Friendly staff, some wide sites, great lady that walked our dogs! Was slightly disappointed their was no tour into the city, our trip on our on was a little overwhelming. Over all had a very nice time in this campground.
Sep 05, 2013
Hello my family has been coming to the Newburgh KOA for 10+ years.We have stayed at KOA in Niagra Falls Canada & Falmouth MA.We stayed at this KOA on Fathers Day & noticed improvements/changes to office/store & the addition of wine tasting room both very nice.On this stay the site had cigarette butts & beer caps & the 1st nite beverages were stolen from our cooler.Pls. call me 845-878-6260 Donna
Sep 05, 2013
It's the best campground ever ,very safe ,clean,really friendly staff.
Sep 05, 2013
What a great weekend! Even though the place was packed there was plenty of space and activities!
Sep 05, 2013
could not get internet at our campsite.. lots of bugs ... Maybe could spray so there are not so many bugs?
Sep 04, 2013
Staff very helpful. Tour bus for NYC stops and returns from this KOA. Will certainly return.
Sep 04, 2013
The grounds were neat and trim. The personnel were great. The pool needs repair and walls cleaned. The buildings were not clean and needed painting and repair and cobwebs all over and paper on the floors in the bathrooms. Wet floors couldn't be helped due to rain.
Sep 04, 2013
Everything was very good for our children. We were so happy^^.. But staffs who work less than friendly other KOA..^^
Sep 04, 2013
This is a wonderful wooded campground and a great HQ for visiting New York City on the Hudson Line. However, the continuing severe problems with internet access during out stay wasted a lot of our time and made it difficult to find out about hours and days of operation, special events, make reservations, check on weather conditions, and many other basic requirements for travel.
Sep 03, 2013
WiFi not working & was not informed.Staff claimed it was fixed & it was not.A lot of campers did not bother to complain about the WiFi -but being a camper& campers talk we all complained to each other. As much as Scott tried to help, the situation was not corrected. They advertise WiFi - they should deliver WiFi. If they can't then they should remove the WiFi amenity.Not good KOA!
Sep 03, 2013
disappointed at all the mosquitos this year, spraying should be done every year, not every other year!
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Our 5th year at KOA, standards are dropping: No security on the gate No patrol to have people turn their music down. The showers are old/unclean and children have been locked in because of faulty locks. We have booked again for next year but as a group (20) we have decided if things don't improve we will look for another site. Store and wine shop is nice but $ needs to be spent on maintenan
Sep 03, 2013
Great facilities, 2 nice pools, fun activities, friendly staff. A great campground all around.
Sep 03, 2013
Get rid of the resort fee.
Sep 03, 2013
It was a very pleasant experience and the Deluxe Cabin was so comfortable. I loved the free pancakes. I will go back again.
Sep 03, 2013
Site was nice, campground clean and well kept. Staff was not as warm and welcoming as other KOA's and there was no one to escort us to our site like other KOA's (surprising). Do not understand why they have a $2.00 pet surcharge when other KOA's do not.
Sep 03, 2013
Thank you. Fun place to stay. Could use another bathroom facility. Ultra professional and friendly staff. Awesome wine shop but beer a little pricey.......but it was n.y. Craft beer, so who am I to complain.
Sep 03, 2013
I thought it was little pricey for a midweek stay, there was not a lot of activities planned for the week days. The wifi did not work and I felt we should have been told that upon check in and got some sort of price break since we did need it.
Sep 03, 2013
This KOA ADVERTISES FALSELY SO BE WARE.. if your sole purpose of staying at this KOA (which is in the middle of no where ) is to attend the bus tour of NY City be prepared it does not run unless their is a party of 16 which is not often...so we drove hours from Canada and were not able to do what we came to do there. The staff do not promote or try to fill the bus, and they need a weeks notice .
Sep 03, 2013
You can tell that this campground is corporate owned vs. privately owned. While the staff was pleasant it's not the same as a family run/privately owned KOA.
Sep 03, 2013
Very nice park. We loved the free pancakes.
Sep 01, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
Our only complaint is that if KOA says you can't bring firewood into the park...then the wood you sell should actualy burn. I know it wasn't us because all you could smell there was lighter fluid. We bought two bottles of lighter fluid and still didn't have a good fire. We are seasoned campers. Otherwise the campground was great!
Aug 31, 2013
no one could tell me anything when I book the reservation no one answered the number I was given to ask questions the person I checked in with was not familiar with the area thankfully the next morning I found a lady at the check in counter who could help me out and gave me great tips on places to go and see.
Aug 31, 2013
Nice campground but poison ivy everywhere. Needs to be controlled.
Aug 31, 2013
Wonderful campsite but not really close to NY City at all. From Poughkeepsie (nearest Park and Ride that allows RVs) it is still around 100min train ride till grand central....
Aug 31, 2013
Great welcome,Staff was all very pleasant and accomodating. Store had everything we needed and more. Looking forward to camping again at your grounds.
Aug 30, 2013
This park is the best! Spacious sites set in a wooded area, very clean with trash containers for every site. Staff very friendly and helpful. Had a wonderful time!
Aug 30, 2013
We loved the free pancake breakfast every morning and liked that out cabin was in close proximity to the restrooms and showers. The campground was kept neat and orderly and everyone was friendly and happy to help us with any questions we had!
Aug 30, 2013
It is great that they accept dogs. But the cabins are old and unkept ... leaks inside room after rainfall and it looks like it's been happening for years. Out of three toilets...at one point only one functioning. old baths/bathroom. Nice people, nice entrance. Sorry.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.