Newberry KOA

Open May 10 - October 9

Reserve: 800-562-5853

Info: 906-293-5762

Email

13724 State Hwy M-28

Newberry, MI 49868

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 910 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2016
Wifi was awful Sites needed a lot of work
Aug 01, 2016
They are trying real hard. The showers are great. The bathrooms need a lot of work. Most of the sites are not level. The cabins looked new & clean.
Jul 31, 2016
We had a great site just wish there would have been sewer hook up. The pool was warm and the kids liked that.
Jul 31, 2016
Positives: friendly staff, nice warm and seemingly new or refurbished outdoor pool. Large campsite that worked well for our tent. Negatives: location right near a rural highway made for some noisy trucks passing by. The bathrooms were decent but in our 2-night stay it seemed like there were difficulties with the plumbing pressure in the toilets which caused them to clog easily or not flush well.
Jul 31, 2016
Jul 30, 2016
loved the atmosphere and most of everything else. no cable but I dont think anyone else in the area does either!!
Jul 30, 2016
While this KOA is currently under renovation, it is not yet up to expected condition. We stayed at Newberry because of the convenient location, but it is older and much still needs to be done to freshen it up. The owners were friendly and helpful, though.
Jul 30, 2016
feels like a real campground,not too cramped
Jul 30, 2016
Jul 29, 2016
We loved it! The showers were awesome & so was the laundry. Mary was great and got things done quickly and efficiently!
Jul 29, 2016
The staff here is wonderful and extremely helpful! The campsites are a nice size! The pool and bathroom/shower area were clean whenever we used them. Wish the playground had more options for the kids
Jul 27, 2016
We had a great time with our 4 kids! We stayed in a tent and loved that the new pool and the showers were great as well. Nice place to stay.
Jul 27, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
Low voltage. You could barely run one light bulb. It's a shame, pretty campground.
Jul 26, 2016
I think that camp has great potential Mary and John are great just that camp needs some T L C I would like to see the camp in a couple of years it a work in progress thay only had it a couple years could use a couple of outhouse at the back of the camp and maybe a ADA shower and restroom other thay that Mary and John went out of there way to make you like family can't wait to see the improvements
Jul 26, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
This KOA is a in a great location, not to far from anything. On a bad note, this is the worst KOA I've ever been to. There was a dead mouse in the pool. All three of the women's toilets were clogged for a whole day. The bathrooms had no vent so they always smelled. When I started to make a fire in my fire pit, there were maggots crawling all over. The lady at the front desk was very kind though.
Jul 25, 2016
The pool was very warm, so even if it was cool out you could enjoy a nice swim. Everything was very clean bathrooms, showers, pool and if you were bored there were lots of things to do right there, playground, pool table and lawn games. The only bad thing was if you were in one of the cabins way at the back of the campground, it was a 1/4 mile walk to the bathrooms,(in the middle of the night) Ugh
Jul 25, 2016
Our BSA Troop stayed over night on way to Summer Camp. Great experience for all involved.
Jul 25, 2016
It great the people that stay are idiots running generations comeing in after midnight setting up tents no respect for campers who are already there and have been no respect for campers who are there already rude noisy I need to learn respect for others others for the most part my day was good I can't complain the campground was clean and well-kept and the owners were very attentive to us it's not
Jul 25, 2016
I am an outdoors persons and have no issues with bugs but when I pack up my tent and there are more then 100 earwigs on it that I can't get off to pack it up, I am thinking you have a bug issues in that campsite that maybe you need to look into spraying for. We unpacked out tent that night to find at least 50 of them still crawling around the tent. they followed us to 2 other campgrounds. :(
Jul 25, 2016
Very quiet, rustic KOA. Laundry room could us update.
Jul 25, 2016
Campsites are extremely close together and not level, however located in a nice, wooded area. During July stay, could not draw enough power to run a 120V fan, much less our RV A/C, even though we paid for a 30amp site. When mentioned to mgmt, we were told, "Of course, you're not going to be able to run your A/C. Everyone is trying to run theirs, too." We were not offered a refund or compensatio
Jul 24, 2016
Nice Folks!
Jul 24, 2016
Like the area. Liked our site, but we prefer full hook ups and were not able to get one. Need more full hook up sites.
Jul 23, 2016
Jul 23, 2016
Excellent service very friendly and very clean
Jul 23, 2016
This was one of our worst sites yet. Talking to the young girl on the phone was not pleasant. We asked for a level site did not happen. The site was very unappealing moss on the picnic table. Garbage in the fire pit I would love to talk to someone personally on this matter. Never been so disappointed in KOA ever.
Jul 23, 2016
Place was a mess. Saw only Mary working long shifts. No maint being done by anybody. Disaster not to mention muddy sandy sites. Not what we expect at koa. :(
Jul 22, 2016
Very friendly staff and great showers!
Jul 21, 2016
Awesome time in upper michigan
Jul 21, 2016
Pads need both fill dirt and leveling. Overall the site appears to have drainage issues during heavy rainfall. Many pads are below normal ground level and become part of the rainwater runoff pathway during heavy rainfall.
Jul 20, 2016
les toilettes très sales,les douches également...ainsi que la buanderie,les laveuses etaient pleines de saletés,très vieillles...pas de table à pique-nique sur notre terrai n...obligé de deamder d'en avoir une...tables vieilles et deguelasse...jamais je ne recommanderai ce camping...bien au contraire j'écrirai à la FQCC our leur dire de ne pas le mettre dans leurs favoris
Jul 19, 2016
The KOA in Newberry was a nice and quiet place. Our only issue is that the so-called internet was pretty much non-existent.
Jul 19, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. Very quiet atmosphere. Clean showers and a nice pool. loved our campsite and would stay again.
Jul 18, 2016
The park is close to local attractions and friends. Very easy to find. The campsite was spacious and had electric and water. gravel, but had a nice flat spot in the middle. very quiet. mixed tent & RV camping and small cabins for rent. John and Mary ere very helpful. We were ready to leave our trailer brakes froze. John spent time in researching the module. Mary found us a rural route home.
Jul 18, 2016
clean, staff friendly, lots of trees for shade, good walking areas.
Jul 18, 2016
Great no fuss campground, clean bathrooms and showers. The campsite boundaries were a bit unclear. The putt putt course was unkept but was no charge. Overall we had a great time. Close to both tahquamenon falls and pictured rocks. A must see.
Jul 18, 2016
The campground is all dirt, no grass, cut a few trees and put gravel or cement pads in and it would be a great i provement. The bathrooms were dirty.
Jul 18, 2016
Tent site, very hard, tree rooted uneven ground. Bathroom remodel going on, should be nice once done. Very outdated playground.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
We only stayed for 1 night, but the facilities were very nice and the staff friendly.
Jul 18, 2016
We liked the location, and pretty much everything but the sites were not level. Noticed a bulldozer in the property that could be used to level sites out! Unhooking a 5th wheel was difficult with the trailer at one height and truck at another! Hooking up was worse and took us a long time to engage the kingpin. Maybe level sites or think about where 5th wheels could go on a flatter surface!
Jul 18, 2016
I stayed for two nights in a tent with my girlfriend. The campsite was spacious and very open. Never got the chance to use the pool, but looked cleaned. Restrooms were clean and stocked. Showers were somewhat small, but worked like a charm. The office staff was very helpful and the prices in the tiny shop were just right.
Jul 17, 2016
Unfortunately, the sites are dirt and with rain, it's a mess. Otherwise, just wonderful.
Jul 17, 2016
Very quiet place. The new owners were very accommodating to our needs. The new pool looks great, and you can see the improvements.
Jul 17, 2016
Your shop could use a little upgrade and also if you provide better coffee your location could be one of the bests KOAs we have visited
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Ugly campground!
Jul 17, 2016
Hookups are at front of site, not in the back where they are needed, had to run an extra 25' extension cord. Sites not level, all messy dirt - would hate to be there in the rain. Park is old and not maintained well.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals