Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jul 04, 2015
Fun, good and just what we expected.
Jul 03, 2015
Absolutely the best campground I have ever stayed at. It was very clean. Only negative thing is with bad weather wish we would of known. With no WiFi we had no idea. We could of been better prepared for the storm.
Jul 03, 2015
Great campground, just needs better wifi signal since there is terrible cell service
Jul 03, 2015
When we arrived at our campsite, we realized that we would not be able to use the electricity because we did not have an RV. We went to the office and Diane was very helpful in getting us a new campsite for our tent. We were very pleased with our stay except the thunderstorm that blew in through the night was a little scary. If we ever feel the need to visit Mt Rushmore again, we would stay here!
Jul 03, 2015
FnFan
Jul 02, 2015
The campground has a lot of fun activities but charges a lot more than other campgrounds to compensate. The staff was friendly and helpful. They need to put more effort into maintaining their wifi. The campground is in a cell phone dead zone for Verizon and AT&T, and their wifi is non-existent in most of the campground and overburdened where it exists.
Jul 02, 2015
I've never seen a campground like this before! It was simply amazing. Of course we left to do touristy things, but we certainly didn't have to! Water slide, splash pad, pools, activities, playgrounds, pedal car rentals, this place had it all! All, that is except for a strong wifi signal, WHICH WAS GREAT! We loved being totally unplugged. Thanks for a great stay!
Jul 02, 2015
Had a great time! Definitely would come back. This would be a great place for a family reunion - tons of stuff for kids and adults.
Jul 01, 2015
Great family activities, loved the Kamp Kitchen and shower facilities. Kids loved the pool (I loved the hot tub) and splash areas. If we had stayed longer, we would have enjoyed the bike rentals too.
Jul 01, 2015
This Koa is really too crowded and tight for us. The front desk check in was fantastic and the guides. Bathrooms and showers were disgusting.
Jul 01, 2015
The resort aspect of the campground was a surprise to me and is not to my personal taste of how I would enjoy nature. The resort fee took the price of the campground from expensive to very expensive. Wifi access and performance was poor and there was a lack of publicly accessible power outlets for anyone not staying at a powered site. However, staff was nice, facilities were nice and clean
Jun 30, 2015
Staff was nice.There were activities for the children but too over crowded, bathroom facilities were crowded. Our site for our 5th wheel wasn't level and hard to rehook as a result. We also had a tent site , I felt I was a little more in a refuge camp.
Jun 30, 2015
My only complaint is the Internet. In a place where there is no phone signal Internet is the only hope for communicating with the outside world. I think there should be investment made in a major upgrade
Jun 29, 2015
Bathrooms needed to be cleaned more often.
Jun 29, 2015
Great location. But campsites very close together. Also, wifi never worked so I was quite frustrated. But fabulous amenities and activities for kids. They loved the playgrounds splash park pool etc
Jun 29, 2015
Other than the crazy storms the campground was great. Centrally located we saw a lot and had fun in or out of the KOA grounds.
Jun 29, 2015
Was fun
Jun 29, 2015
Great camp site. The only issue I had with it is pricy firewood but just buy your own outside KOA and you'll be fine. Everything else was great.
Jun 29, 2015
Perfect location, comfortable, tons to do!
Jun 29, 2015
Very wet on the back road to the tenting area (mud). First campsite had standing water, the change was very easy. The camp staff was extremely diligent and friendly. The WIFI was terrible.
Jun 29, 2015
Loved it! Just wish there was more shade at some of the fun zone places.
Jun 29, 2015
I feel as though you took advantage of me you charged me $20 for extra services when I didn't use or need any of them the day I made my reservation I was told that you need to pay the extra $20 if you were going to use the services such as the showers that's the only service I used I was just traveling through an extra $20 to take a shower I got all my camping fee is ridiculousalso the campsite th
Jun 29, 2015
We had a great time the staff was amazing very friendly and accommodating. I wish there was someone that patrolled the grounds at night we had a rough second night with an intoxicated neighbor around 3aam led to very little sleep. I also noticed the bathrooms were poorly maintained. I let someone know there was a stall that was backed up went back over 3 hours later and it still want fixed.
Jun 28, 2015
Wifi did not work and two employees told me it wasn't just me; it just doesn't work. No cell phone reception. Dirty showers. Dirty bathrooms. Given a camp site next to a children's playground even though i was camping without kids. Coin machine did not work in the laundry room.
Jun 27, 2015
Tent sites were really small!
Jun 27, 2015
Was a nice campground. I think the $10 resort fee per night is a bit high, knowing that some of the activities cost extra. But with having kids, it was nice to have things to do when we were not sight seeing. (But with all to see in the area, we really didn't use the amenities all that much) If you are not looking for a more rustic camping experience, then this was really nice.
Jun 27, 2015
KOA Campground? More like a KOA Resort! We came from California to see Mt. Rushmore but I think the kids liked the pool & water slide more! Excellent facilities and friendly staff too.
Jun 27, 2015
Other then the rain for the day. Know it's not the camps fault for that. Got a lot more then expected. Can't wait to travel home and go camping again.
Jun 27, 2015
The campground was clean. Tons of fun activities for the kids. Staff went the extra mile for us.
Jun 26, 2015
The campground was clean and well maintained. When our reserved testate was very mucky from the unusual amount of rain, the staff was very helpful in allowing us to move to a drier site.
Jun 25, 2015
Overall we had a ton of fun at all the attractions, appreciated the clean bathrooms and showers and it was mostly good weather. The only thing we didn't like was that our campsite was on a hill and it was hard to find a good spot for our tent.
Jun 25, 2015
Jun 24, 2015
Great Campground for families. Not so much for those of us wanting a quieter experience. Very large campground but just too many people. Did experience Golf Ball size hail stones in the evening. Made it one of the most memorable nights at a campsite at which I have stayed.
Jun 24, 2015
Wonderful staff and facility.
Jun 24, 2015
Was not told about incoming storm at check-in, campground has no emergency weather notification plan. Internet was out, so I had no other source to know it was coming. Endured life-threatening hailstorm in a tent with no warning to seek shelter.
Jun 23, 2015
A great spot to use as a staring point to local things to do and see. If you decide to stay at the campgrounds lots of things to do there as well. People were very friendly. Great for families that are not rough-it type of campers. Awesome for kids. The site got hit with golf ball size hail. KOA employee checked on us as we were in a tent. Definitely will be back again!
Jun 23, 2015
We have been to this KOA several times and this is the dirtiest it has ever been! The showers were terrible! We were told that the reason we could not get on the internet was due to our type of computer. After arriving home, we read comments and found out the internet had not been working for a long time. We felt like we needed a refund due to services that were not available. May not return!
Jun 23, 2015
Although this KOA has many great qualities I was not impressed by any of the staff members. They were rude, unfriendly, not willing to help with anything and certainly didnt make us feel welcome. This KOA is nice for the activities they provide but if you are looking for a relaxing stay go somewhere else!!
Jun 23, 2015
The campground is pretty nice. Luckily for us, the people in the tent spot next to ours didn't show up or else it would have been really tight. They cram everyone in. But it's cheaper than getting a hotel in the area.
Jun 23, 2015
Good sight but tent sights not level. Options available ex.) bikes ,atv, a little $$. Bathrooms and showers great but need more maitanence attention to keep so with traffic flow of occupants. On the plus side pool and hot tub nice and clean.
Jun 22, 2015
Internet only at the reservation center. Very poorly maintained. Tent sites not level. Bathrooms very dirty. Worst KOA we've ever stayed at.
Jun 21, 2015
Jun 21, 2015
My 6 year old daughter had an amazing time!!!!!
Jun 21, 2015
We had never stayed at a KOA location before and were a little nervous about what to expect. The facilities were nice, as were our fellow campers. A nice change to some of the other places we have tent camped!
Jun 20, 2015
By far the best KOA we have stayed at!
Jun 20, 2015
Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.