Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 4

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 25, 2016
Tried to write a comprehensive review but was cut short by the small number of characters. I'll head over to TripAdvisor to write a full review. Here is the Cole's Notes version. rude and impatient staff in the store Coffee shop not open due to staffing problems $10 resort fee is a joke and shouldn't be charge. Stayed in KOA's every night for two weeks and this one was the worst.
Jul 25, 2016
The 1st clerk at check-in ignored me, then the cashier in gift store was very unpleasant, then at the pancake breakfast, the lady asked me about my bottled water, she said outside food wasn't allowed and followed that statement up with "I wouldn't bring food into your home." ...what was I gonna do, walk all the way back to my tent site, leave my water, and walk back up to the pancake tent...wth
Jul 25, 2016
Mostly it was dirty and lacked the conveniences of other KOAs. Bathrooms were atrocious. No sinks for washing camp dishes. Stayed here bcz I wanted to ride horses, but their stables stunk like old zoo elephant habitats- and I ride, too. Lost my appetite for it.
Jul 25, 2016
I have always enjoyed staying at Palmer Gulch. The staff is so friendly and helpful. There are so many activities right on the campground it isn't even necessary to leave. There is some type of entertainment every night, we saw a chainsaw artist. The restaurant on site is delicious and reasonably priced and they also have a fast food restaurant on site too. And the pancake tent, amazing!!
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Extremely crowded and loud.
Jul 25, 2016
We really enjoyed the all you could eat pancakes, mini golf, and wax museum. Would recommend a better place for women to blow dry after showers. It made the bathroom gross. Also there were so many people that at times I was worried we were going to hit someone while we drove.
Jul 24, 2016
We had a hard time finding our tent site because it was not marked. We did have to get security to escort us but they were very friendly. We loved the fun zone.The activities had everyone in our group entertained.
Jul 24, 2016
Congested compared to other KOAs we have stayed at. Wanted to purchase something at camp store but waited for approx. 3 minutes and couldn't find a staff to ring it up so we just left.
Jul 24, 2016
Great place, great staff. Only down fall in my opinion were the restrooms & showers. Several shower stalls did not have hooks for clothes and towels or place to set soap and shampoo. Also for size of place, having just 2 stalls in men's room created lines of 5 to 6 people at times. Aside from that the place and all it had to offer were great.
Jul 24, 2016
Love this KOA! Multiple playgrounds, hiking paths, close to Mount Rushmore, activities throughout the day for families, food options, shops! Truly resort camping!
Jul 23, 2016
People at check in were great. I requested a campsite away from kids. Our campsite was 5 yards away from a playground. It was nice to have showers but they were pretty nasty.
Jul 23, 2016
Jul 23, 2016
Nice place with good amenities, but very, very big and crowded.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy