Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jul 26, 2014
Lots of activities for kids! Comfort stations were always clean, staff was very friendly, and pancake breakfast was the BEST! My only 2 complaints are the constant traffic going through the campground, which w/ a campground of this size I don't know how you would fix, and the wet firewood. Overall, we really did enjoy our stay. Thanks!
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
The campground was fine however, the knants were HORRIBLE in the bathrooms. If you have a problem, there needs to be more than one time of cleaning a day. Also, you have staff everywhere else, someone needs to man the putt putt so some kids that are left to run wild on the grounds, don't hurt someone messing around.
Jul 26, 2014
Excellent bathroom/shower facilities, lots of family activities, pancake breakfast under the tent, variety of small stores on site. Close to Mt Rushmore, but peaceful and serene. Only negatives were that we had to root thru the grass to find campsite #, and ATM was down. Great stay!
Jul 26, 2014
Beautiful surroundings & excellent amenities. Great location in Black Hills Nat'l Park area-very central location to many attractions! Must stay.
Jul 26, 2014
Great location, services, store, pool. We had "Aaron" help us out with a bunch of questions regarding the campground, etc. and he was incredibly helpful.
Jul 25, 2014
Beautiful facility with so much to do for the kids. Highlights were the pool and bouncy castles. The slide was a disappointment tho. The campsites should be monitored better as we rented two spots and someone parked in one of ours. Daddy's Pancakes was good but additional charge for extras was expensive. We had a rude awakening when they moved the horses from pasture to stables at 6 a.m.
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Our family had a lot of fun!!! We liked all if the extras... Hayride, rock wall, and all the fun things to do for kids. I just thought the bathroom and showers needed to be cleaner. Also like that they had a place for us to do laundry but all but one of the dryers was broken. I also thought that the shrubs by the RV's need to be taken care of. Overall we enjoy the camp and others families like it.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
We stayed right along the boat pond and it was a great location! We didn't stay long enough to partake in all the activities, but A+ for having them available and for the quality!
Jul 23, 2014
The KOA was perfect for our family. The only two complaints would be the showers could be cleaned more often and the people who brought the horses in every morning at 6am woke us all up with their yelling. The things to do at campground were great. Thank you.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
The amenities and location were perfect. I only gave it 4 stars though because the water pressure was terrible. The water was literally dripping out of the shower, and switched from hot to cold very quickly without even touching the faucet. Otherwise, it was great!
Jul 22, 2014
a great place to stay and spend a weekend.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We had so much fun! Great family getaway with so much to do. Can't wait to come back again soon!
Jul 21, 2014
The hot tubs were filthy.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.