Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 06, 2015
Enjoyed our stay very much. Very sorry we were not able to stay longer.
Aug 06, 2015
We stay every year...love it.
Aug 05, 2015
Rushmore KOA has it all. Great location and facilities.
Aug 05, 2015
We had a great time
Aug 05, 2015
It was so fun! Very affordable and we loved ever second of being there!
Aug 05, 2015
Great location!
Aug 05, 2015
Need more bathrooms only 8 toilets for over 300 + females. The tables on some sites are bad, broken. The staff provided top notch service. We were escorted personally to our site. The folks in th camp store were super friendly. There were plenty of activities for kids. The food at the Resort restaurant was fantastic and reasonbly priced. Highly recommend!
Aug 05, 2015
Very nice, clean friendly place to stay! A lot of things for kids and families and very convienent location for Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse!
Aug 04, 2015
It was a great experience and wonderful campground. The only comment I would make is that the motorcycles often started up way before quiet hours were over at 7 (5:45am) and were quite loud after 10pm. But other than that, everything was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Aug 04, 2015
Awesome KOA
Aug 03, 2015
professional...organized...well maintained. Nice area.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Our fifth wheel site was fine. The problem was the tent site. We had two and they were both in low lying areas. It rained and the tents were in the path of water running across the road. Other tents were also flooded. We had actually changed from the first site as it was in tall grass and obvious that rain ran through it also. If there is not a tent site available just so:(
Aug 03, 2015
It was good fun with lots of things to do in the camp but also in a great location for the local sites.
Aug 03, 2015
I thought the Rushmore KOA was a good fit for my family because of all of the stuff we could do on the resort, but our campground was sloped and there was no grass. Also, I didn't think the pools were kept very clean & showers needed more hooks for clothes and towels.
Aug 03, 2015
The tent site was nice but the resort fee was not ($10 a day) and for what??? All the camp bathrooms and showers were absolutely filthy. Trash and human waste left in the stalls for days and a thick film of mold with filth mixed in. When we complained to the manager and showed photos he offered a few days refund but that's not what we wanted we want the problem resolved. Clean up your act!!!!!!!!!
Aug 03, 2015
Good activities for kids, good location, glad we could reserve it, but OMG too crowded! While we were sleeping in our tent (site481) our neighbors built a giant fire in their fire pit. It was just feet from us. We could've gone up in flames!
Aug 03, 2015
This was my second stay at this KOA. The lodge/cabin I stayed in last year was wonderful. This time we camped in a tent and our site was very small and there was not much grass so everything got muddy. I probably wouldn't recommend the tent camping here.
Aug 03, 2015
Great stay ! There's nothing they don't have and the pancakes were great!
Aug 02, 2015
Lots of fun!
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
Our stay was Great! The staff were fun. Plenty to do at the facility. We had a great vacation.
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
Great place to stay. Lots of things to do for the kids and close to Rushmore. Would be nice to have a life guard at the pools :-)
Aug 02, 2015
.
Aug 01, 2015
Beautiful campground! Lots of activities for kids, teens, and adults. Very clean. Courteous staff. We enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely return for a future stay. Thanks for the great experience!
Aug 01, 2015
We enjoyed our stay! So much for kids to do! We would come back and the kids asked when! The dryers were not working in our area so I went to another one. Not enough bathrooms and showers for the campground either. We always waited. The one water slide needs to be fixed/updated/or more water pressure. You go down at a snails pace. Definitely a disappointment.
Aug 01, 2015
Friendly, clean and lots for kids to do at the campground. We loved it.
Aug 01, 2015
Very nice camping grounds! We loved it and plan on going back there.
Jul 31, 2015
We loved all the amenities, great location, and helpful staff.
Jul 31, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
awesome place to set up base camp for the area's attractions. Lots of activities and extras here. staff was well developed and attentive to the campers. Our only complaint would be the Bathroom and Shower facilities. The size of this place should consider slightly larger facilities, people were dancing around the building waiting to relieve themselves. showers needed a little maintenance.
Jul 29, 2015
Upon arrival, we were sent to 3 different sites that already had ppl set-up at them. After 1 1/2 hours, we were finally given a site, but 2 other parties were sent to our site and told they had been assigned there. Very disorganized & frustrating after a long day of traveling!
Jul 29, 2015
Too loud, too busy. Our neighbors had 12 people and 3 tents in I single tent spot. Older children were hanging out at the playground past 11pm. Multiple campers asked them to be quiet before they finally dispersed. Lots of activities for kids but not worth it if you're only staying one night and don't want to spend all your time at the campground.
Jul 29, 2015
It was great. The only thing Ican recommend is maybe when people check in, you have it on the literature as to where to go when bad weather moves in such as the hail storm while we were there. There were kids running back to their campground in the hail from the water pad area and got with hail. Otherwise awesome stay.
Jul 28, 2015
This is the third time we have spend time at this very top rated KOA, we were spending our second honeymoon there as today is our 25th adv. everything was wonderful, i did miss the tour buss to Crazy horse that you had ten years ago. Specially love see the HIll City Slickers again.When we plan on a trip to the black hills our first choice is your place. thanks for making our weekend great.
Jul 28, 2015
Great location. So much to do onsite. Clean facilities but could be a bit more accessible - just a small pathway to get between the RVs. We had a great time, even with the wind storm!
Jul 28, 2015
Great fun for the kids. The bathrooms were always a bit crowded and not as clean as I would have liked but overall the whole experience was wonderful.
Jul 27, 2015
Beautiful campground with amazing activities for the kids.
Jul 27, 2015
Bad thunder storms both nights(golf ball size hail). Not their fault! Very crowded. Got poison oak from creekside campsite!!
Jul 27, 2015
We felt very lucky to get a same-day site and appreciated the stores and food vendors available (as we got in too late to eat outside of the camp). My only critiques were that we were put right next to the playground (would've at least liked to have known that even if that's all that was open) and wish the sites were just a bit cheaper.
Jul 27, 2015
Would give 5 stars if they didn't bring the horses through the trail at 6 A.M. with VERY obnoxious yelling every morning.
Jul 27, 2015
Kids love this place. . .my only concern this year was the WIFI connection was not very good.
Jul 27, 2015
We were disapointex when we were awake at 5 in the morning becausd some people decided to go to the toilet with there harley. Rules of common life were not respected and we are thinking to avoid koa camping anymore. Moreover, wifi was not available and we paid 10$ fees for a resprt we don't enjoyed. Hope our next experience eill be better
Jul 27, 2015
Good facilities, clean fun camp
Jul 27, 2015
We have stayed here several times now, and each time I like this campground more. You have great activities and amenities, and the staff is always very helpful and efficient. A major plus is that you have great coffee!! My only concern was that the pools seemed a bit green, but I must admit that it wasn't bad enough to keep me from letting my kids swim. We will be back!
Jul 27, 2015
I've stayed at this campground before so it was not the 1st time. Check in was great. Easy and the staff were very pleasant, but the campsite that we were assigned to was terrible. I had asked for a spot for 2 tents. This spot was very small and there was no level ground there at all. For over $40 per night just for a place to pitch a tent, I was very disappointed.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals