Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
The campground was fine however, the knants were HORRIBLE in the bathrooms. If you have a problem, there needs to be more than one time of cleaning a day. Also, you have staff everywhere else, someone needs to man the putt putt so some kids that are left to run wild on the grounds, don't hurt someone messing around.
Jul 26, 2014
Excellent bathroom/shower facilities, lots of family activities, pancake breakfast under the tent, variety of small stores on site. Close to Mt Rushmore, but peaceful and serene. Only negatives were that we had to root thru the grass to find campsite #, and ATM was down. Great stay!
Jul 26, 2014
Beautiful surroundings & excellent amenities. Great location in Black Hills Nat'l Park area-very central location to many attractions! Must stay.
Jul 26, 2014
Great location, services, store, pool. We had "Aaron" help us out with a bunch of questions regarding the campground, etc. and he was incredibly helpful.
Jul 25, 2014
Beautiful facility with so much to do for the kids. Highlights were the pool and bouncy castles. The slide was a disappointment tho. The campsites should be monitored better as we rented two spots and someone parked in one of ours. Daddy's Pancakes was good but additional charge for extras was expensive. We had a rude awakening when they moved the horses from pasture to stables at 6 a.m.
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Our family had a lot of fun!!! We liked all if the extras... Hayride, rock wall, and all the fun things to do for kids. I just thought the bathroom and showers needed to be cleaner. Also like that they had a place for us to do laundry but all but one of the dryers was broken. I also thought that the shrubs by the RV's need to be taken care of. Overall we enjoy the camp and others families like it.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
We stayed right along the boat pond and it was a great location! We didn't stay long enough to partake in all the activities, but A+ for having them available and for the quality!
Jul 23, 2014
The KOA was perfect for our family. The only two complaints would be the showers could be cleaned more often and the people who brought the horses in every morning at 6am woke us all up with their yelling. The things to do at campground were great. Thank you.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
The amenities and location were perfect. I only gave it 4 stars though because the water pressure was terrible. The water was literally dripping out of the shower, and switched from hot to cold very quickly without even touching the faucet. Otherwise, it was great!
Jul 22, 2014
a great place to stay and spend a weekend.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We had so much fun! Great family getaway with so much to do. Can't wait to come back again soon!
Jul 21, 2014
The hot tubs were filthy.
Jul 21, 2014
We had a wonderful time! The grounds are well maintained, people are friendly and it's located an easy drive to most places. Looking forward to returning soon.
Jul 21, 2014
we had a great stay, lots to do for kids and we loved the staff. the only complaint we would have is the online booking for tent spots. we wanted electric and water and when we got to our site there was no room for our tent so that is when we got there they told is no tent sites have that or if you want it you most likely have to put your tent on gravel. thanks to Jim to help us fine a nice spot.
Jul 21, 2014
It was wonderful!
Jul 21, 2014
Very friendly staff running this camp! Impressive all around. Papa's AUCE pancakes were awesome too! Lots to do at camp and everywhere around camp :) THANK YOU KOA MOUNT RUSHMORE!!! What a great place!
Jul 20, 2014
We like how easy it was to check in and get a tent site. When we didn't like the site we choose and found one that we liked, they were accommodating.The bathroom/shower were clean, however there were a lot of showers that were not working so there was a line.There was a lot of fun activities for the kids and they had a great time and that is what camping is all about.Having fun and making memories
Jul 20, 2014
I have rated this KOA 5 stars in the past but this time we tent camped near an older bath/shower station. The bathrooms were old and needed updating. Some of the showers didn't function properly to get warm water. The pools did not look clean and were very uninviting. Employee couldn't tell us what pet fee was used for. They sleep in our tents and WE clean up after them!
Jul 20, 2014
This is the first KOA I have stayed in. First assigned tent site was teeny and crowded. The host agreed and found us a much better one. One of the nearby campers had a dog not on a leash which started to bark at me closely and I feared it would bite me. For an older couple looking for a quite and serene camping space this is not the place. But it seems great for families.
Jul 19, 2014
We were pleasantly surprised at how nice this campground was. The bathroom/shower area was clean and new looking. There is a lot for families to do there. The pancake breakfast was great!
Jul 19, 2014
Nice facility, lots to do
Jul 18, 2014
I was impressed with all of the activities geared towards children. There was always something to do at the KOA after touring around the Black Hills.
Jul 18, 2014
This campground is packed full of extra amenities. They do not have good internet access, but to me that defeats the purpose of camping. My reason for the lower rating is that it is extremely crowded and busy. I prefer the seclusion and quiet offered at other campgrounds. However, since I have now stayed there on three separate occasions over 2 decades it is clearly not a bad campground.
Jul 18, 2014
Palmer Gulch is amazing! Our family had an incredible time and will be back for sure. We have not done a lot of camping and this was a great way to ease into it. Lots of activities and fun for all ages. Thanks to everyone who made it so fun!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.