Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 21, 2016
Staff was extremely accommodating, we lost our tent in a bad wind and rain storm and they were so nice in giving us a cabin to stay in for the night till we were able to replace our tent, above and beyond, the only thing that was not good was the food in the restaurants and the prices were a little much, but enjoyed our time for the most part.
Jul 21, 2016
Great stay. Great tent camping spots. The only negative thing I would say is that our camp spot was missing the number plaquered. This made it difficult to find and even the person that escorted us wasn't sure but gave us a spot in the area of where it should be. But I would stay again when I am back in SD.
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
This campground has everything you need, and is kept clean.
Jul 20, 2016
We had a wonderful time. This is the perfect campground for families with hound kids - the amenities and activities were great! My kids loved the pools, water slide, playground, and organized activities like the movies and crafts. The grounds are very pretty and well-maintained. It does get a bit crowded, but we were fine with that!
Jul 20, 2016
Lots of amenities and close to several historic and family fun locations!
Jul 19, 2016
Tent sites are small and not shaded. Wi-Fi is spotty. Not much water pressure in showers. May have enjoyed amenities more if we stayed longer.
Jul 19, 2016
We love the location and amenities that this KOA offers. We loved the pancake breakfast, stables and chuckwagon that are available as extras. The kids enjoyed the jumping pillow. The only downside is that the bathrooms could be cleaned more than once a day with the number of people using them. We will be back if we visit the area again.
Jul 19, 2016
We loved everything about this camping area. Perfect for our family (4yr old and 9 yr old).
Jul 19, 2016
great, clean, fun, place to stay!!!!!
Jul 18, 2016
train and fun but hard to get internet and cell service
Jul 18, 2016
It was my fault for not understanding this was a resort not a campground. People are piled on top of each other. There is no privacy. I would recommend this place to people who do not want to experience the outdoors. If you enjoy camping and scenery, do not stay here.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Very clean. Friendly staff. Easy to find.
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 16, 2016
Great facility! The amenities were greatly enjoyed by the two grandsons. The staff was exceptionally helpful. Bathrooms and showers were clean! No complaints about this place, only complements!
Jul 15, 2016
This place is massive, tent site we had was tiny and sloped badly. Bathrooms were clean but quiet a hike. On a good note, close to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. We won't stay there again.
Jul 15, 2016
Our tenting location was fantastic. The restrooms were busy and could be cleaned more often. Also disappointing non-working wifi!
Jul 15, 2016
We loved it!!
Jul 15, 2016
Although this was a large site, we were very impressed that the camping tents were sited away from the RV's. It was quiet at night, and the facilities were more than adequate and always clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you.
Jul 15, 2016
Excellent Kamground
Jul 14, 2016
5 stars isn't enough! We were so impressed with our stay here. Everyone was friendly, comfort station 2 was very fresh and clean, always. Beautiful grassy campsites next to the lake. so much fun for the kids. I have already given this KOA recommendation to my friends heading to the Black Hills. We all want to come back!! There was so much to do we didn't get to do. Thanks for a fun vacation!
Jul 14, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
I reserved a tent spot with power and water two months in advance and specified the size and dimensions of my tent. arrival discovered that the assigned tent site was way too small for my tent! The staff seemed clueless about the actual size of their campsites and we ended up at a site without per or water. We're it not for a friendly neighbor, we would not have had air in our mattress!
Jul 13, 2016
Campground was better than expected. Comfort stations could have been cleaner.
Jul 13, 2016
We had a great time. The rodeo was awesome! Kids loved all the activities
Jul 12, 2016
It was our first time staying here and we loved it.
Jul 12, 2016
A lot of amenities but tent site was hard to find. The desk clerk was oblivious. At night you can't see tent numbers. Not customer friendly at all. There is no clear separation in grass area so didn't know where to park. It's fine for families and kids. Very noisy.
Jul 12, 2016
When we arrived the people that were supposed to camp next to us were on our spot. The computers were down so it took quite a while for us to be assigned another space. Once we were it was a great time. The kids had lots of activities and loved the pancake breakfast.
Jul 12, 2016
Very disappointed with KOA. This was our first visit and will be our last. We will NOT reccomendation to others. If you are really concerned and really care to find out why feel free to call me and find out why. You have my information.
Jul 11, 2016
Fun!
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
We enjoyed our stay for the most part, but the campground was crowded, different from our experiences camping in state parks. The firewood sold was expensive and due to the type of wood, very smoky. Amenities and staff were great, but not sure we would stay again, opting for a park that affords a little more privacy for campers. Also, our tent site was on a hill.
Jul 11, 2016
Overall out stay was excellent. Great facilities and activities. The only negative I have is that the campsites are too close together which makes it hard to have any privacy within the site. All in all, however, we had a great time
Jul 11, 2016
Great campground. Always stay there when in the Black Hills.
Jul 11, 2016
Had a tent site that was okay but didn't have a good level spot. Lots of ants crawling on the tent. Shower/bathroom could use updating, small and hot. On a motorcycle so didn't like having to drive on the gravel road.
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
really close to Rushmore and highways. a bit of a circus with OCEANS of people and RVs. felt a bit like a football field with RVs but that's not the fault of KOA. it is REALLY geared towards kids and activities where I had just come from quiet and seclusion. comfort station 1 needs to be updated - no REALLY.
Jul 10, 2016
The place has a great family atmosphere. We stayed in the tent area. Which was nicely landscaped and maintained with grass. Wish we had a tree to shade us though. Loved the fact that they have a trash pick up every morning! We didn't have kids with us but still appreciated that there was plenty to do for them. I would love to take my grandson there. Will recommend to others!
Jul 10, 2016
Great place to stay! Easy to get to so many places because it is centrally located in the Black Hills. Nice places to eat and the general store has everything you might need.
Jul 10, 2016
Very nice place, great location and lots of stuff to do for everybody!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals