Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
The facilities are very good, a great place for an extended stay. One big gripe. If you advertise WiFi, then have enough WiFi bandwith. It was unusable the entire time (was told too many people). I chose this KOA in part due to WiFi accessibility for work, and had none for 3 days.
Jul 05, 2016
The whole family had a great time, things to keep busy, and relax in the beautiful surroundings!
Jul 04, 2016
this was a superb site, all the facilities we needed, central location, friendly staff, all in all an excellent stay.
Jul 04, 2016
Lots to do at the campground!!!! Very family friendly, but can be noisy in the morning because of the crowds at the campground.
Jul 04, 2016
Family friendly, clean, and tons of fun.
Jul 03, 2016
Amenities were fabulous and the kids enjoyed them all. However the campsite were way too close together. I felt very crowded
Jul 03, 2016
The best KOA we've been too!
Jul 03, 2016
It was great. Shower water was lukewarm
Jul 03, 2016
This is a great family friendly site. The views were amazing. KOA staff was circulating throughout the facility to offer help, directions, and security. There were plenty of activities for our family to do. I wish we had the time to stay an additional night.
Jul 01, 2016
We stayed here for 3 nights and i have been amazed with the fun zone they have for kids. Bathroom and shower is AAA+
Jun 30, 2016
Love KOA, and Palmer Gulch is one of the best.
Jun 29, 2016
Why would u put 2 adults no kids right up against a playground? Children unruly & running thru my camp site. Bathroom smelled & dirty. Informed supervisor. Nothing done. Should have adult only section.
Jun 29, 2016
Try another place. We were placed in a terrible tent site, it did not have shade and was right next to a playground. The bathrooms were NASTY! We had to walk to the middle to find a clean shower. Over crowded. Good pool and good stores. Close to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy horse. 30 miles from Walmart.
Jun 27, 2016
Friendly staff, nice facilities. Unlimited pancake breakfast option was great!
Jun 26, 2016
Bathrooms and showers were very clean. Campsite was nice and spacious. Just need to improve wifi coverage and ban smoking on the grounds or have a designated spot for it.
Jun 26, 2016
Staff was rude, very busy place and overpriced for what you get.
Jun 26, 2016
Tent site on a slope, very disappointed. Cabin neighbors loud past midnight.
Jun 25, 2016
Fun place. Tent site was huge . Slight hill was a bit awkward for tent, but well kept grassy site, lots of trees. Enjoyed the night sky and watching bats at dusk.
Jun 25, 2016
Lots of stuff to do and great that it was all open late! Close to all the attractions.
Jun 25, 2016
The staff were all courteous and helpful, campsites were nice, the only complaint we had it felt like they were understaffed. The bathrooms by us didn't look like they got cleaned as often as the should have.
Jun 25, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. For such a large campground, it was very quiet. The highlight of our trip was the chuck wagon dinner on our last night!
Jun 24, 2016
If this was my first experience at a KOA, I would not stay at another one. The restrooms were very dirty and not well maintained. The campground itself is fine, just a little confusing do to its size. This location has zero cell service and only wifi at specific locations. Wifi throughout the campground would be beneficial. Also, the tent sites are stacked on top of each other.
Jun 22, 2016
Wonderful KOA! So many activities, restaurants and places to go, we wish we could have stayed longer to take advantage of everything there. Our tent campsite was great, reasonably secluded and very quiet. Bathrooms were updates and quite clean. Would definitely come back.
Jun 21, 2016
The only thing we didn't like was that there were nightly movies advertised on the website/brochure, but there were no movies during our stay. We were looking forward to having something to do after dark.
Jun 21, 2016
My family and I had a blast camping over father's day weekend
Jun 20, 2016
we had a blast! nice tent sites with shade, close to everything!
Jun 20, 2016
LOTS of fun for all! Bathrooms were CLEAN & impressive! Our tent site (310) was great! (The drinking water spigot needs to be fixed. It sprays water everywhere.) Thank you for a great experience!! We'll be back! Running the horses by our tent at 6:30 the 1st morning scared the crap out of us. Thought it was some guy yelling at his dog! But the next morning, it was like a natural alarm clock! :-)
Jun 20, 2016
What a great KOA! The nicest I have been in yet! So much to do in the area and in the campground.
Jun 20, 2016
I don't have enough time for all the issues I had here.
Jun 19, 2016
Stayed 3 nights. Was a good stay. Would do it again.
Jun 17, 2016
They were accommodating when it came to switching our site to another that we liked better. Beware of what your neighbors might be like though.... The staff is great!! you will probably enjoy it. We are of a different kind, so if we were still who we used to be, we probably would have had a ball... Very convienently located and lots to do. MOTORCYCLES Will love this area!!! It's very nice.
Jun 17, 2016
So much to do, kind helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere! Our kids favorite stop on a lengthy trip! Bathrooms were a bit messy at times, but with the number of people here it would be hard to keep up. Highly recommend requesting a tent site near the creek. Lots of fun!
Jun 14, 2016
We had an amazing time here! Campground employees were extremely informative, helpful, and kind. So much more to do here than we expected! Super fun family vacation!
Jun 14, 2016
We LOVE going to Palmers Gulch and have made it a family tradition every summer!! So much fun for the entire family! Also, it's awesome that we can see the wax museum and so the mini golf for free in Keystone as well! Thanks for keeping it clean and family friendly!!
Jun 13, 2016
Campground itself was nice. We had a tent site and everything was good until our neighbors showed up. They came in at 11 pm on Friday and set up very loudly and proceeded to party throughout the night with an adjacent cabin site. No security showed up and they were being very loud, rude, and disrespectful until 4 am. I would not recommend this KOA to anyone looking for a tent camping experience.
Jun 13, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
I wish that camp rangers patrolled at night. Our neighbors were very disrespectful of quiet hours.
Jun 13, 2016
the non power camping sites should really be placed around trees. they are completely exposed and the camper sites are provided trees and shade.
Jun 13, 2016
We had a really great time. Loved the pool, horseback riding and the rodeo was awesome. The location of the park was great too. We really enjoyed ourselves. Thank you.
Jun 13, 2016
Everyone had a great time! We will definitely be back!
Jun 13, 2016
This place was awesome so much to do the family loved it wish I could've stayed longer. The only Thing I didn't care for was a few campsites near us had way to many people and cars they are parking in my campsite and blocking my car and had their kids running through our site all day and night
Jun 09, 2016
N/A
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals