Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We had so much fun! Great family getaway with so much to do. Can't wait to come back again soon!
Jul 21, 2014
The hot tubs were filthy.
Jul 21, 2014
We had a wonderful time! The grounds are well maintained, people are friendly and it's located an easy drive to most places. Looking forward to returning soon.
Jul 21, 2014
we had a great stay, lots to do for kids and we loved the staff. the only complaint we would have is the online booking for tent spots. we wanted electric and water and when we got to our site there was no room for our tent so that is when we got there they told is no tent sites have that or if you want it you most likely have to put your tent on gravel. thanks to Jim to help us fine a nice spot.
Jul 21, 2014
It was wonderful!
Jul 21, 2014
Very friendly staff running this camp! Impressive all around. Papa's AUCE pancakes were awesome too! Lots to do at camp and everywhere around camp :) THANK YOU KOA MOUNT RUSHMORE!!! What a great place!
Jul 20, 2014
We like how easy it was to check in and get a tent site. When we didn't like the site we choose and found one that we liked, they were accommodating.The bathroom/shower were clean, however there were a lot of showers that were not working so there was a line.There was a lot of fun activities for the kids and they had a great time and that is what camping is all about.Having fun and making memories
Jul 20, 2014
I have rated this KOA 5 stars in the past but this time we tent camped near an older bath/shower station. The bathrooms were old and needed updating. Some of the showers didn't function properly to get warm water. The pools did not look clean and were very uninviting. Employee couldn't tell us what pet fee was used for. They sleep in our tents and WE clean up after them!
Jul 20, 2014
This is the first KOA I have stayed in. First assigned tent site was teeny and crowded. The host agreed and found us a much better one. One of the nearby campers had a dog not on a leash which started to bark at me closely and I feared it would bite me. For an older couple looking for a quite and serene camping space this is not the place. But it seems great for families.
Jul 19, 2014
We were pleasantly surprised at how nice this campground was. The bathroom/shower area was clean and new looking. There is a lot for families to do there. The pancake breakfast was great!
Jul 19, 2014
Nice facility, lots to do
Jul 18, 2014
I was impressed with all of the activities geared towards children. There was always something to do at the KOA after touring around the Black Hills.
Jul 18, 2014
This campground is packed full of extra amenities. They do not have good internet access, but to me that defeats the purpose of camping. My reason for the lower rating is that it is extremely crowded and busy. I prefer the seclusion and quiet offered at other campgrounds. However, since I have now stayed there on three separate occasions over 2 decades it is clearly not a bad campground.
Jul 18, 2014
Palmer Gulch is amazing! Our family had an incredible time and will be back for sure. We have not done a lot of camping and this was a great way to ease into it. Lots of activities and fun for all ages. Thanks to everyone who made it so fun!
Jul 17, 2014
The kamp was very accommodating and had various events. It was convenient being placed by the restrooms and a small playground. I loved that breakfast was cheap with all you can eat pancakes. The location was fantastic for traveling from attraction to attraction. I wish we had more time and better weather to stay and enjoy all of the accommodations that were offered:)
Jul 17, 2014
Plenty to do, nice facilities.
Jul 16, 2014
It was only for an overnight stay while sort of passing through. I found the campground so nice, I wished we were staying longer. Will stay there again if in the area.
Jul 16, 2014
Fantastic! Very kid friendly! Lots to do! Love all the amenities!
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Cleanest, friendliest, quietest.
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
This would be an excellent campground for an extended stay in the Black Hills. It's situated perfectly for a wide range of activities, and it's very well maintained. It's not ideal for a one-night stop along the way, since it's very big, can be a bit loud into the late evening (past 10), and has a "resort fee" that you won't get much use out of.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
I was locked in Shower #2-lock stuck/jammed (shower house by fun zone's main pool) for 45 minutes on Thursday, July 10th I had my cell phone and my husband luckily got the text/call and came to get me out he had to push hard in and then I had to push hard out at same time-told a koa worker on a 4-wheeler and gave us firewood for our inconvenience koa could have done more for claustrophobic feeling
Jul 14, 2014
I thought everything was great...at first our campsite was rocky and small but then a worker had us moved in less than 3 minutes. My kids enjoyed all the extras! Sometimes it was hard to get them to enjoy stuff outside of KOA :) Thanks!
Jul 14, 2014
We loved all the activities that were provided for the kids. The Christian college helpers were awesome! They had great attitudes. Everyone that worked at this campground was very friendly.
Jul 14, 2014
This place was overwhelming! It was fun to have the pub and pancakes on site! The labels on the campsites were confusing and we had to swap with our neighbors because of a mix up.
Jul 14, 2014
we had a great time
Jul 13, 2014
Mike runs the best campground on earth!!!!
Jul 13, 2014
We had a great time If you are in an RV make sure to put a filter on your water line unless you don't mind brown water
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
The tent site was not secluded as stated. There was no number to call for help like when the toilet was plugged. The drunks were loud at night. Plenty to see and do at the campground, especially for kids.
Jul 12, 2014
There were to many people, but that being said it was a great facility with many activities for the family.
Jul 11, 2014
I have camped in many places across the west. I have not seen campers/rvs packed so tight. It was clear koa reduced comfort for revenue. Other visitors felt the same. Tent sites were very tight in places too.
Jul 11, 2014
We had a great time. The site was a little small and tough to find a good spot for the tent. We stayed a couple nights and even used the showers. I would stay there again and recommend it to those looking for a nice campground near Mount Rushmore.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.