Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jun 26, 2016
Tent site on a slope, very disappointed. Cabin neighbors loud past midnight.
Jun 25, 2016
Fun place. Tent site was huge . Slight hill was a bit awkward for tent, but well kept grassy site, lots of trees. Enjoyed the night sky and watching bats at dusk.
Jun 25, 2016
Lots of stuff to do and great that it was all open late! Close to all the attractions.
Jun 25, 2016
The staff were all courteous and helpful, campsites were nice, the only complaint we had it felt like they were understaffed. The bathrooms by us didn't look like they got cleaned as often as the should have.
Jun 25, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. For such a large campground, it was very quiet. The highlight of our trip was the chuck wagon dinner on our last night!
Jun 24, 2016
If this was my first experience at a KOA, I would not stay at another one. The restrooms were very dirty and not well maintained. The campground itself is fine, just a little confusing do to its size. This location has zero cell service and only wifi at specific locations. Wifi throughout the campground would be beneficial. Also, the tent sites are stacked on top of each other.
Jun 22, 2016
Wonderful KOA! So many activities, restaurants and places to go, we wish we could have stayed longer to take advantage of everything there. Our tent campsite was great, reasonably secluded and very quiet. Bathrooms were updates and quite clean. Would definitely come back.
Jun 21, 2016
The only thing we didn't like was that there were nightly movies advertised on the website/brochure, but there were no movies during our stay. We were looking forward to having something to do after dark.
Jun 21, 2016
My family and I had a blast camping over father's day weekend
Jun 20, 2016
we had a blast! nice tent sites with shade, close to everything!
Jun 20, 2016
LOTS of fun for all! Bathrooms were CLEAN & impressive! Our tent site (310) was great! (The drinking water spigot needs to be fixed. It sprays water everywhere.) Thank you for a great experience!! We'll be back! Running the horses by our tent at 6:30 the 1st morning scared the crap out of us. Thought it was some guy yelling at his dog! But the next morning, it was like a natural alarm clock! :-)
Jun 20, 2016
What a great KOA! The nicest I have been in yet! So much to do in the area and in the campground.
Jun 20, 2016
I don't have enough time for all the issues I had here.
Jun 19, 2016
Stayed 3 nights. Was a good stay. Would do it again.
Jun 17, 2016
They were accommodating when it came to switching our site to another that we liked better. Beware of what your neighbors might be like though.... The staff is great!! you will probably enjoy it. We are of a different kind, so if we were still who we used to be, we probably would have had a ball... Very convienently located and lots to do. MOTORCYCLES Will love this area!!! It's very nice.
Jun 17, 2016
So much to do, kind helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere! Our kids favorite stop on a lengthy trip! Bathrooms were a bit messy at times, but with the number of people here it would be hard to keep up. Highly recommend requesting a tent site near the creek. Lots of fun!
Jun 14, 2016
We had an amazing time here! Campground employees were extremely informative, helpful, and kind. So much more to do here than we expected! Super fun family vacation!
Jun 14, 2016
We LOVE going to Palmers Gulch and have made it a family tradition every summer!! So much fun for the entire family! Also, it's awesome that we can see the wax museum and so the mini golf for free in Keystone as well! Thanks for keeping it clean and family friendly!!
Jun 13, 2016
Campground itself was nice. We had a tent site and everything was good until our neighbors showed up. They came in at 11 pm on Friday and set up very loudly and proceeded to party throughout the night with an adjacent cabin site. No security showed up and they were being very loud, rude, and disrespectful until 4 am. I would not recommend this KOA to anyone looking for a tent camping experience.
Jun 13, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
I wish that camp rangers patrolled at night. Our neighbors were very disrespectful of quiet hours.
Jun 13, 2016
the non power camping sites should really be placed around trees. they are completely exposed and the camper sites are provided trees and shade.
Jun 13, 2016
We had a really great time. Loved the pool, horseback riding and the rodeo was awesome. The location of the park was great too. We really enjoyed ourselves. Thank you.
Jun 13, 2016
Everyone had a great time! We will definitely be back!
Jun 13, 2016
This place was awesome so much to do the family loved it wish I could've stayed longer. The only Thing I didn't care for was a few campsites near us had way to many people and cars they are parking in my campsite and blocking my car and had their kids running through our site all day and night
Jun 09, 2016
N/A
Jun 07, 2016
The staff was great and the "fun zone" was great, but the tent sites were extremely small. They would pass as large parking spots but not a tent site. Definitely not a site size worth paying $170 for. The National forest camping has nicer(bigger) tent sizes and is a third of the price.
Jun 07, 2016
Enjoyable stay. Will tell my friends
Jun 07, 2016
Jun 06, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. The only thing that was frustrating is that the site map is hard to read & it took us a while in the dark to find our campground. Other than that it was fun!
Jun 03, 2016
Great place. My kids and I loved it. The amenities were nice.
Jun 03, 2016
Jun 01, 2016
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
So much fun! Clean, safe, friendly, accommodating, too much to do and not enough time. Very affordable. Will be back soon. Best camping trip ever! Will be telling everyone! This KOA was the best one for our kids.
May 31, 2016
This is a beautiful KOA! Tons of activities, eateries, nice showers and restrooms, and two pools and hot tubs. It was our oasis in the Black Hills. We loved our stay.
May 31, 2016
Our tent was a little close to the next person, but other than that we had an amazing time. I will definitely be recommending your campground to friends.
May 31, 2016
This KOA is great for kids, lots to do to keep them busy. However our kids are grown and gone and for me it's too crowded and noisy to be a "camping" experience. We had two different neighbors that were noisy late into the night. We use them because my wife likes the bathrooms and showers, and these were clean and well maintained.
May 30, 2016
What a great spot! I heard it was the Disneyland of koa and it definitely was! Loved watching nba tournament at the bar!
May 30, 2016
LOVED the bartender Jim 😀 Great showers and space
May 29, 2016
An oasis with everything you need 😏
May 28, 2016
It was great!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals