Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Tent Reviews

Aug 28, 2015
Great place, lots of amenities. Were happy to let us choose a different tent site from available ones after we arrived. Great stay
Aug 28, 2015
I don't think my words can come close to expressing how amazing this campground is! The employees are amazing and so kind. I was moved to tears for the kindness shown to my family & especially to My little boy Noah. Noah has autism which makes outing & vacations difficult but not this trip! You made his world! Thank you for making it a vacation we never wanted to end!
Aug 26, 2015
with nice view and great facilities, especially wonderful staffs!!!!
Aug 25, 2015
Campground is very nice, but was a bit disappointed with the tent site...not very level or large.
Aug 25, 2015
Do not plan ur stay during Sturgis Week!!!!
Aug 25, 2015
We had a great time at this KOA. We have never stayed at a KOA and this was way more than we expected! The kids enjoyed all of the activities and we enjoyed knowing they were having fun. Thank you!
Aug 24, 2015
Great clean camp. Have been staying here for 5 years, and never fail to impress. Always something to do, fun for everyone.
Aug 24, 2015
Nice clean place. Convenient showers/restrooms and friendly staff.
Aug 23, 2015
Wonderful,so much for the kids and family.grandkids loved the planed entertainment each night. and the facilities where clean. A great exsperience.
Aug 23, 2015
Aug 23, 2015
Very nice and affordable campground. Lots to do.
Aug 22, 2015
Great accommodations a just a little to crowded for us if you do return we will reserve a site that is a little more off the path of cars.
Aug 22, 2015
Minus the all day and all night rain it was a beautiful area for a campground but the tent sites were too close to the cabins as well as each other. The bathroom facilities were nice and showers clean!
Aug 22, 2015
Great place to go
Aug 22, 2015
Can't wait to come back.
Aug 22, 2015
The KOA itself was great- except that the property was SO big it took us nearly 20 minutes to find our campsite (it was dark, but did not have enough signage). The bathrooms were very clean! Unfortunately, we were given a spot no more than 15-20 feet away from a playground so we were awoken well before 6am from children playing. Great place for kids- I would NOT recommend if you don't have kids.
Aug 21, 2015
Lots of amenities, activities and excitement! A very large, crowded KOA, not a quiet camp experience. It was much harder to let my kids roam free because it was like being at an amusement park. I would go there again.
Aug 21, 2015
It was GREAT!
Aug 21, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Nice place. Stayed there many times. Very family oriented with tons of kids playing. So if you want quiet solitude not the best. But it is a good basecamp in the heart of the hills. Recommend.
Aug 19, 2015
The campgrounds are very nice lots to do here. The only thing is you need to bring your bike to ride around because it takes you forever walk around. Some of the tent sites are on big hills and are not flat for your tent to go on. Also the staff should have a time zone for when they clean the washrooms NOT 9AM when people are getting out of bed and need to use them.
Aug 19, 2015
Very accommodating. Originally put in a tiny sloped tent spot without shade. Went to the office and they allowed us to move spots with no hassle.
Aug 18, 2015
We had a great stay! The kids were kept busy with all the activities. They loved the water slide and the bouncy ball! We had great meals at the 2 restaurants and fun entertainment at the wine bar. It was very relaxing.
Aug 18, 2015
Great stay and our tent site was a pleasure. Enjoyed the pool, hot tub and pancake breakfast, too.
Aug 18, 2015
This was a great find. Hard to believe the other KOAs can charge the same amount for the amenities they are lacking in comparison.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great review about our Resort! We work hard to exceed our guests expectations and I'm so glad to hear that we accomplished that for your family on this trip! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Black Hills! Sincerely, Danielle Akey Assistant Manager
Aug 17, 2015
Great place for a family reunion. Excellent facilities. Pleasant staff. Great location to tour the Black Hills.
Aug 17, 2015
This is my second year at koa, and it's getting beter and beter, ur family the satisfaction its gives and all feel refresh when we leave, the staff is very professional and very helpful and hospitality is great ! We will be back!👍
Aug 17, 2015
Great, helpful staff. Always greeted with a smile. Clean restrooms and showers. Campsite a bit rocky but nice neighbors. Great stay!
Aug 17, 2015
It was an amazing experience. It made our trip affordable but extremely enjoyable. The cleanliness and warm hospitality makes me want to come back just to hang out at the camp ground for relaxation.
Aug 16, 2015
I had a horrible mice problem in my tent site 303. Everyone around me did too. Killed 3 mice in one day. One even chewed a whole through the bottom of my tent. Was able to move to a new site that was better. Also rented ATV for our last day but was told last minute that we couldn't go because it was broken. Not happy about that. Overall, it was a good place to stay.
Aug 16, 2015
Campsite was dirty from previous campers lots of cigarette butts around. Showers were very worn and tired. Overall wasn't the worst but definitely not worth the extra " resort" fee.
Aug 16, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
This site has so much potential with the right mgmt team the Wifi was down and the staff had no urgency to correct it. Other staff members could be heard taking about poor mgmt practices-very disappointing
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
The only thingcthey should do different is open the store before 7 am. Everything else was great.
Aug 14, 2015
Aug 13, 2015
Showers were GROSS, as in no one was cleaning them! And we had NO Wi-Fi service. Otherwise the campground was great! Lots for the kids to do!!
Aug 13, 2015
The campground is extremely clean and well-laid out. It is a very pleasant atmosphere, and very family friendly. We enjoyed the little church service on Sunday, too! The registration clerk, Adrianne, was extremely helpful, and very friendly. A very pleasant and welcoming first impression of your campground!!
Aug 12, 2015
Nice and friendly people. Clean and a lot of things to do onsite. Announcements what's going on on SlickerStage could be better.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
I have been 9 times now for the Sturgis run and would not stay anywhere else.Close to everything here in the black hills. Staff are wonderful. Lots of amenities to keep occupied. First class
Aug 12, 2015
Clean neat and very organized. Firewood delivery was spot on. Awesome tent camping experience!
Aug 12, 2015
It was great, the only down side is the walk to the bathroom. Otherwise it was very quiet peaceful, and friendly.
Aug 11, 2015
I am a Viet Nam Vet and 68 years of age. I reserved a tent site in April at $32.71 a night but by the time I got out of there, I was overcharged more than $150 dollars. Due to my health, I had to leave early and go home. I have always camped at KOA's and the price included everything on the property. This was a classic example of price gouging. Never again.
Aug 11, 2015
Nice location. Beautiful scenery. Wi-fi spotty at best. Cell service practically non-existsnt.
Aug 11, 2015
Very pleasant. Our best KOA yet.
Aug 11, 2015
My only complaint is the lack of hot water for showing in the comfort station. It's the one in the way back near our campsite 419. Maybe add more water heaters. Other than that..we love staying there during the Sturgis Rally week.
Aug 11, 2015
Just had a hard time finding our site and had to ask 3 people for help. Everything else went fine.
Aug 10, 2015
It was a great stay. The only downside to the stay was the restaurant. The food was not very good both times in the evenings and seriously over priced.But the campsites and bathrooms were very well maintained and clean. All the staff was very friendly.I would certainly stay there again, just not eat there again.
Aug 10, 2015
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.