Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Jun 26, 2015
The campground was clean and well maintained. When our reserved testate was very mucky from the unusual amount of rain, the staff was very helpful in allowing us to move to a drier site.
Jun 25, 2015
Overall we had a ton of fun at all the attractions, appreciated the clean bathrooms and showers and it was mostly good weather. The only thing we didn't like was that our campsite was on a hill and it was hard to find a good spot for our tent.
Jun 25, 2015
Jun 24, 2015
Great Campground for families. Not so much for those of us wanting a quieter experience. Very large campground but just too many people. Did experience Golf Ball size hail stones in the evening. Made it one of the most memorable nights at a campsite at which I have stayed.
Jun 24, 2015
Wonderful staff and facility.
Jun 24, 2015
Was not told about incoming storm at check-in, campground has no emergency weather notification plan. Internet was out, so I had no other source to know it was coming. Endured life-threatening hailstorm in a tent with no warning to seek shelter.
Jun 23, 2015
A great spot to use as a staring point to local things to do and see. If you decide to stay at the campgrounds lots of things to do there as well. People were very friendly. Great for families that are not rough-it type of campers. Awesome for kids. The site got hit with golf ball size hail. KOA employee checked on us as we were in a tent. Definitely will be back again!
Jun 23, 2015
We have been to this KOA several times and this is the dirtiest it has ever been! The showers were terrible! We were told that the reason we could not get on the internet was due to our type of computer. After arriving home, we read comments and found out the internet had not been working for a long time. We felt like we needed a refund due to services that were not available. May not return!
Jun 23, 2015
Although this KOA has many great qualities I was not impressed by any of the staff members. They were rude, unfriendly, not willing to help with anything and certainly didnt make us feel welcome. This KOA is nice for the activities they provide but if you are looking for a relaxing stay go somewhere else!!
Jun 23, 2015
The campground is pretty nice. Luckily for us, the people in the tent spot next to ours didn't show up or else it would have been really tight. They cram everyone in. But it's cheaper than getting a hotel in the area.
Jun 23, 2015
Good sight but tent sights not level. Options available ex.) bikes ,atv, a little $$. Bathrooms and showers great but need more maitanence attention to keep so with traffic flow of occupants. On the plus side pool and hot tub nice and clean.
Jun 22, 2015
Internet only at the reservation center. Very poorly maintained. Tent sites not level. Bathrooms very dirty. Worst KOA we've ever stayed at.
Jun 21, 2015
Jun 21, 2015
My 6 year old daughter had an amazing time!!!!!
Jun 21, 2015
We had never stayed at a KOA location before and were a little nervous about what to expect. The facilities were nice, as were our fellow campers. A nice change to some of the other places we have tent camped!
Jun 20, 2015
By far the best KOA we have stayed at!
Jun 20, 2015
Staff were very friendly and accommodating.
Jun 20, 2015
Real nice. Good and clean.
Jun 19, 2015
Would like to have stayed longer.
Jun 19, 2015
The tent sites are way too close to each other. However, my son loved all the activities.
Jun 16, 2015
Nice facility. Easy to navigate. Bathrooms/showers great. Nice amenities.
Jun 15, 2015
waterslide not working.
Jun 15, 2015
Our tent site was a bit small, but overall the location was great! The showers could be cleaned more frequently as a lot of people stay at this KOA. The service was very friendly, pancake breakfast was a hit with my family. Overall it was a nice camping site, next time we hope the water slide is open.
Jun 15, 2015
Very clean and very nice facilities. The staff was pleasant and the restaurant, Ponderosa, that we ate at had good food. Nice for a pit stop but if looking for actual camping, I would choose a place where the sites aren't right on top of each other. There is no privacy whatsoever.
Jun 15, 2015
Excellent experience! Loved the clean washrooms! The fire pit was very difficult to cook on, it was our only complaint (not deep enough).
Jun 15, 2015
We had a great time. Loved all the amenities that were offered, great customer service working with me to get coordinating spots, and the friendliness of the staff. However we were very disgusted that the bathroom/showers were not cleaned once in the 4 days we stayed. By the time we left only 1 of the 4 toilets were functioning. It was very disappointing as this campground is great overall
Jun 14, 2015
Tent site not level, although it was nice grass. Water running down all the streets so you had to walk in mud. Sites crowded together. WIFI didn't work at all at our campsite and was way slow to useless everywhere else.
Jun 13, 2015
Jun 12, 2015
This KOA campground was amazing. We have a rooftop tent on our 4Runner and they let us drive around to find the perfect spot. The emenities were clean and handy and the people were great!!!!
Jun 11, 2015
I understand that the weather had an impact on some of the activities but was a little disappointed that nobody ever made any offer or effort to compensate us for the inconvenience. Many of the things that we selected this campground for were unavailable to our kids while we were there. (Climbing wall, jump station, water slide etc.)Our kids were looking forward to these things!
Jun 11, 2015
The employees were rude when asked questions, the showers were incredibly filthy, and the "camp spot" that we were given was nothing more than a parking spot with a picnic table. I was underwhelemed and it did not stand up to what I thought was the KOA name.
Jun 10, 2015
The layout of the campground was terrible. Bathrooms were not easy to get to from really anywhere. The numbering made no sense. Showers had no vents and were really dirty. The pools were okay but the outdoor hot tubs were pretty gross.Check-in and check-out was fairly easy.Although they were going to put us in the tent site that had been flooded the night before. But did change it when asked
Jun 10, 2015
It was great to say there we loved it we definitely come back and stay again loved it
Jun 10, 2015
Great facility. Very accommodating - we were there on a quite day - our campsite was quite out of the way and on a hill (had rained heavily for days, very muddy) - they moved us no problem and helped us select a better site of those available. Super friendly and helpful staff.
Jun 09, 2015
I got myself lost and ome of the staff driving around offered to give me ride to where I was attempting to go. The young lady working at the store by the mini golf area was also very friendly and great with the kids.
Jun 08, 2015
Clean,well kept,beautiful,friendly staff.Will be returning to this site in the future.
Jun 08, 2015
Always a great place to stay!
Jun 07, 2015
Vergas Boy Scout troop #322 had a great time camping there and everyone so nice!
Jun 07, 2015
One of the best KOAs we've stayed at!
Jun 06, 2015
This was our first time to stay at a KOA, and we were very pleased. This is an EXCELLENT camp sight with tons of fun things to do and extremely helpful staff. We really enjoyed our stay! It was also a perfect location between Mt. Rushmore and Crazyhorse.
Jun 06, 2015
This was my third stay at this KOA so obviously I keep coming back. My only complaint and the reason I don't give it five stars is the price for tent camping is just too high.
Jun 01, 2015
I arrived after a day full of rain and was camping in a tent. The site they had initially reserved for me was washed out with rain. The friendly employee on his ATV gladly found me another site that was dry with a level ground for my tent without me even having to ask. The campground was very clean, including the restroom facilities. PERFECT campground for families or reunions!
May 26, 2015
May 23, 2015
May 18, 2015
Wonderful....well....2 thumbs up!
Sep 23, 2014
Beautiful, clean campground with so much to do. Can't wait to go back!!
Sep 21, 2014
I was traveling alone with my dog, and as a female traveling alone can be scary, but the members of this koa were wonderful. They put me in a spot that I was near the restrooms and the office and one member whose name I'm sad I didn't get brought my dog a tennis ball and told me where I could get someone if I ever needed help. Thank you!
Sep 19, 2014
Amazing kampground! Super friendly and helpful staff. Well maintained grounds and restrooms/showers. Very convenient location between Crazy Horse and Mt Rushmore. We definitely plan to stay here again!
Sep 16, 2014
Prefer more private restrooms as at Moab UT.
Sep 14, 2014
After ariving and setting up my tent I found that there was a stream of water 4 feet wide seperating my site from the rest of my site I called and talked to the assistent manager and he told my it was my fault I asked to speak to the manager and he never called me back and he wouldn't take my calls when I called This is by far the worst KOA I have ever stayed at!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.