Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Jul 30, 2015
awesome place to set up base camp for the area's attractions. Lots of activities and extras here. staff was well developed and attentive to the campers. Our only complaint would be the Bathroom and Shower facilities. The size of this place should consider slightly larger facilities, people were dancing around the building waiting to relieve themselves. showers needed a little maintenance.
Jul 29, 2015
Upon arrival, we were sent to 3 different sites that already had ppl set-up at them. After 1 1/2 hours, we were finally given a site, but 2 other parties were sent to our site and told they had been assigned there. Very disorganized & frustrating after a long day of traveling!
Jul 29, 2015
Too loud, too busy. Our neighbors had 12 people and 3 tents in I single tent spot. Older children were hanging out at the playground past 11pm. Multiple campers asked them to be quiet before they finally dispersed. Lots of activities for kids but not worth it if you're only staying one night and don't want to spend all your time at the campground.
Jul 29, 2015
It was great. The only thing Ican recommend is maybe when people check in, you have it on the literature as to where to go when bad weather moves in such as the hail storm while we were there. There were kids running back to their campground in the hail from the water pad area and got with hail. Otherwise awesome stay.
Jul 28, 2015
This is the third time we have spend time at this very top rated KOA, we were spending our second honeymoon there as today is our 25th adv. everything was wonderful, i did miss the tour buss to Crazy horse that you had ten years ago. Specially love see the HIll City Slickers again.When we plan on a trip to the black hills our first choice is your place. thanks for making our weekend great.
Jul 28, 2015
Great location. So much to do onsite. Clean facilities but could be a bit more accessible - just a small pathway to get between the RVs. We had a great time, even with the wind storm!
Jul 28, 2015
Great fun for the kids. The bathrooms were always a bit crowded and not as clean as I would have liked but overall the whole experience was wonderful.
Jul 27, 2015
Beautiful campground with amazing activities for the kids.
Jul 27, 2015
Bad thunder storms both nights(golf ball size hail). Not their fault! Very crowded. Got poison oak from creekside campsite!!
Jul 27, 2015
We felt very lucky to get a same-day site and appreciated the stores and food vendors available (as we got in too late to eat outside of the camp). My only critiques were that we were put right next to the playground (would've at least liked to have known that even if that's all that was open) and wish the sites were just a bit cheaper.
Jul 27, 2015
Would give 5 stars if they didn't bring the horses through the trail at 6 A.M. with VERY obnoxious yelling every morning.
Jul 27, 2015
Kids love this place. . .my only concern this year was the WIFI connection was not very good.
Jul 27, 2015
We were disapointex when we were awake at 5 in the morning becausd some people decided to go to the toilet with there harley. Rules of common life were not respected and we are thinking to avoid koa camping anymore. Moreover, wifi was not available and we paid 10$ fees for a resprt we don't enjoyed. Hope our next experience eill be better
Jul 27, 2015
Good facilities, clean fun camp
Jul 27, 2015
We have stayed here several times now, and each time I like this campground more. You have great activities and amenities, and the staff is always very helpful and efficient. A major plus is that you have great coffee!! My only concern was that the pools seemed a bit green, but I must admit that it wasn't bad enough to keep me from letting my kids swim. We will be back!
Jul 27, 2015
I've stayed at this campground before so it was not the 1st time. Check in was great. Easy and the staff were very pleasant, but the campsite that we were assigned to was terrible. I had asked for a spot for 2 tents. This spot was very small and there was no level ground there at all. For over $40 per night just for a place to pitch a tent, I was very disappointed.
Jul 26, 2015
Great friendly staff! The park was clean & loved the many flower arrangements. The many amenities were phenomenal for entertaining our young children. We had a large wooded tent site which is exactly what we were hoping for, however, if we were in an RV, the sites seemed very tight. Loved having a restaurant & horse stable on-site. That was great!
Jul 26, 2015
Loved our spot and the area. Would recommend the staff to smile or wave to people. I would wave hi and many would just look at me. The bathrooms were ok. The activities were great and kept us occupied. I was recommend the spot we had by what I told the reservationists. He hit the jackpot for what my family needed.
Jul 26, 2015
We were assigned a tent site that the number wasn't visible from the road and there were people in it then the second site we were assigned was barely big enough for our truck and tent. There were no bathrooms near our tent site and when we did travel to one to take a shower the hot water ran out mid shower.
Jul 25, 2015
Lots of fun for the kids! Magic show was super fun.
Jul 25, 2015
I would like to have seen recycling containers for beverage bottles. And I would recommend benches for parents to sit on in splash pad and playground areas. Otherwise, this was a fabulous, fun "resort-style" campground and I would highly recommend for families!
Jul 25, 2015
Very nice facilities. Some tents spaces are on a hill. Loved the cafe/wine bar. Perfect proximity to Mount Rushmore and other attractions.
Jul 25, 2015
Very friendly staff, Big campground with many amenities especially for the kids, Bathrooms were small and not always very clean.
Jul 25, 2015
the site is great, but the is a lot of noise from other campers.. The staff didn't do much about it.
Jul 25, 2015
More than we expected. Nice central location. Friendly staff. Great place for families.
Jul 24, 2015
This KOA was so busy and they had a difficult time keeping up with the demand of the campers. Lines were too long and access was not convenient for everything from coffee to showers. Showers and restrooms were very dirty. We waited 35 minutes for a coffee.
Jul 24, 2015
One of the nicest KOA's we've ever stayed at! Would recommend for couples...families...or anybody! Great resort! We even got to do free mini golf in town by showing our receipt for staying at the KOA!
Jul 24, 2015
Very nice campground, within minutes of Mt Rushmore. Plenty of activity for kids and adults. Well kept and clean bathrooms and showers. This is a large place, that at times got crowded, may not be a good fit for people who need a more laid back atmosphere.
Jul 24, 2015
I originally was excited about this koa, especially when we checked in and saw the facilities available. However we got to our 'site' which was a 25 sq foot patch of gravel and grass hugging 2 roads and a parking lot where there was barely room for us to park. It was ridiculous. We were planning to stay in KOA's all the way to California but after seeing how you pack in guests I probably won't.
Jul 23, 2015
When we arrived the family that had reserved the 2 sites next to us were overflowing into our site. It was awkward to have to have that conversation with them. They were nice about it, but I think they had been confused by the way the tent spaces were marked. Bathrooms could have used more attention. Minor issues, but overall great stay, though! Thank you so much!
Jul 23, 2015
Really nice campsite, so much entertainment! Little too crowded for my taste, but probably great when traveling with kids!
Jul 23, 2015
We loved the overall facility. Almost like a resort! Dislikes were the Internet ( or lack of) never could get on at all. The showers were also in need of attention in the AM. Very dirty around 6am from the night before of swimming I'm guessing. Very dirty to take a morning shower. Other than that the facility was great. I Would love to stay there again!
Jul 23, 2015
Staff is extremely friendly, activities are fun, bathrooms/ showers are clean. The problem is the number of people they cram into the space. It is insane. We had to go to 3 different camp sites before we found room to set up our tent. People are right on top of each other. There is no privacy or peace. Between babies crying, dogs barking, car alarms going off all night, sleep is impossible!
Jul 22, 2015
Had a great time. Lots of fun and great set up for kids.
Jul 22, 2015
Beautiful and clean place with lots of things to do and excitement!
Jul 22, 2015
Lots of fun at Mt. Rushmore KOA! It was busy, but the kids had a great time with the water slide, pools and games/activities! Disappointed that the rock wall was down, but plenty of other things to do. Really enjoyed the complimentary attractions in Keystone that were included with our stay as well! Thanks!
Jul 22, 2015
Awesome! Kids loved it - SO much to do. We will definitely return!
Jul 21, 2015
we like that there was a lot to do at the site, thanks for giving us a great time.
Jul 21, 2015
So many great things for the kids! Wish i could stay longer, Beautiful bathrooms and warm showers - love it!
Jul 21, 2015
The place was very nice, very peaceful at night despite many people there. Many showers but only two toilets. The wifi was not working. Not enough deckchairs around the pool.
Jul 20, 2015
When we arrived we had a medium sized site but our 12 man tent wouldn't fit so we asked if we could switch and with hesitation we were directed to a site perfect for our overly large tent. Thank You KOA for making our stay so comfortable and helping us find an area to suit our needs!!!!
Jul 20, 2015
- LOTS of activities for the kids. - Nice tent campsites. (BTW - Had to go to registration desk three time to be reassigned a site as the first site didn't exist and the second was occupied. We finally just picked our own site and then told the registration desk which one we were in.)
Jul 20, 2015
My children loved. All the activities
Jul 20, 2015
The tent spot we were given was very tiny. Our tent barely fit. The bathrooms were filthy and one toilet was broken the entire time of our stay. We created a wait in the women's bathroom.
Jul 20, 2015
Lots of fun activities for the kids!
Jul 20, 2015
Had a great stay. It was beautiful. If I could have waved a wand to change anything, it would have been 1) bigger bathrooms, and 2) have soap available for sale :) Otherwise, everything was a delight. We took advantage of the wax museum and mini golf and enjoyed that too. We will return!
Jul 20, 2015
Fine place.
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Bathrooms were filthy. Campers crammed in like sardines. No observation of 10pm quiet time.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.