Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Aug 28, 2014
Thank you for a great visit!
Aug 27, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
this was our first time staying at a koa campground and my first time at Mt Rushmore. I couldn't be more pleased with everything. Keep up the good work and we will be back. As a matter of fact our kids are coming this weekend.
Aug 26, 2014
Great place to stay! The climbing wall was not available and the items on the printed schedule didn't always match up to what was going on exactly. Overall, we had a good experience.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Amazing first camp experience!! My kids absolutely loved all the activities!! Very clean as well!
Aug 24, 2014
We had a wonderful time! Thank you! We were also excited to find out our weekend was on Family Faith weekend. It was the icing on the cake and we were joyful.
Aug 24, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
So much to offer- we had a great time! Loved the water areas and slide
Aug 21, 2014
It is a little difficult to get to the bathrooms from the tent sites without walking thru the RV sites which is king of rude...maybe a path thru would be nice
Aug 21, 2014
Amenities were really great. Bathrooms and shower building clean and well light. Kids fun zone was very creative and kids loved it! The pool for the waterslide was dark grey brown and I wish the cleaned the water mid day or something. Other pools and hot tub clean. Biggest dissapointment was wifi didnt work, not even near hot spot. No clear instructions how to troubleshoot.
Aug 20, 2014
Well run campground. Only complaint is that good tent sites are disappearing to make way for cabins. Have been coming to this campground for over two decades but may have to find a new campground that caters more to tent campers.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
the staff was very accomadating and friendly. On a bad note,I was struck by a child riding a bicycle and was bruised and cut and terribly sore. Maybe there should be bicycle paths so these accidents don't occur.The staff was right there to assist me when this happened and continued to check on me during our stay Thank you to the staff!
Aug 18, 2014
the girl on the slide was busy playing with her cell phone the whole time the kids were up there very inappropriate. on the bounty pad the young kid was busy chatting with his friend not watching the kids on the bouncy pad and there were over 20 of them. A couple of them were bumping into each other getting hurt. I finally said something to him and then he finally watches them.
Aug 18, 2014
We came camping with some of our friends, we brought a total of 8 kids. With all the activities and fun things to do, we never struggled to entertain them and this made cooking so much easier.
Aug 18, 2014
Good family fun.
Aug 17, 2014
It was clean and quiet at night and we wish we could've stayed longer to enjoy all they have to offer.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Mt. Rushmore koa was awesome. Great staff, stores, activities, and location.
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
This is more of a resort than a campground. Our family enjoyed the pool and the horses. There was a lot of trash in the fire ring.
Aug 15, 2014
Great accommodations, but KOA was a little too big and a little too crowded for my liking.
Aug 14, 2014
This KOA is SOOO AWESOME!! It is beautiful property, lots of activities to do, staff is very helpful at check-in giving helpful suggestions of activities on the grounds, closest restroom and water. This is the BEST KOA location we have been at. Only complaint was the water in the kids slide was dirty but probably from the dirt on the stairs to go to the top.
Aug 14, 2014
Fun Zone was fantastic for my kids!!
Aug 13, 2014
Great facilities. Even with all the motorcycles it was a good place to get some sleep.
Aug 12, 2014
My kids and I had an exceptional stay. There was so much to do at the campground and close by. Everything was clean and the staff was friendly. I have recommended this to all of my friends. We will definitely be back. THANK YOU!! Sandra Kappes & Kids.
Aug 12, 2014
we really enjoy our stay this is a place that I recommended to all my friends and family very friendly people safe and family oriented
Aug 12, 2014
Small campsite, with no trees around, it was a tent only site. Had to clean up the dog poop before we could pitch the tent. Noisey--people did not honor the 10 pm quiet time, especially the RVers. Bathrooms and showers very, very clean. Would stay again, but would request certain campsites we noted that had shade. Yes I would recommend this KOA.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
I came with a Girl Scout Troop. The lady at the registration desk was very polite and informative. The girls loved the swimming pool. They really wanted to ride the horses, but it wasn't in our budget. My Co-Leader and I liked the nightly movie; it put the girls to sleep. Thank you.
Aug 11, 2014
Enjoyed the stay. Bathrooms were fantastic. Internet service could be better.
Aug 10, 2014
The staff were very helpful and made us feel very comfortable. The facilities were clean and well maintained.
Aug 10, 2014
The lady that checked us in and the people in the gift shop need to smile more. The restrooms and the shower rooms were always clean.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Great place to stay! Staff was very helpful in finding us a spot for our big tent when the spot we were assigned was too small. Plenty to do to keep you busy not only in the KOA park but also driving distance. We will be returning!!
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
8 of us camped on sites 304 and 305, it was amazing! We fished every morning, license were reasonable. The campsite was perfect, something to do everyday. We rented the ATVs and the golf carts, what a blast. The canoes and pedal boats were free, they were pretty fun too.
Aug 07, 2014
We had a quick stay, no problem checking in at 11:00 PM was nice. And who doesn't like all you can eat pancakes.
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
I asked for shade for my tent site, but didn't get any. And, the site was on a slope so had to pitch right next to the road, which was the flattest part of the site. Showers were not as good as I have seen at other KOAs.
Aug 06, 2014
Had a great time, the activities kept the children engaged and busy in a fun atmosphere. All the staff were excellent and helpful. This is a great place to stay, Thank you all.
Aug 06, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.