Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Aug 16, 2014
Mt. Rushmore koa was awesome. Great staff, stores, activities, and location.
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
This is more of a resort than a campground. Our family enjoyed the pool and the horses. There was a lot of trash in the fire ring.
Aug 15, 2014
Great accommodations, but KOA was a little too big and a little too crowded for my liking.
Aug 14, 2014
This KOA is SOOO AWESOME!! It is beautiful property, lots of activities to do, staff is very helpful at check-in giving helpful suggestions of activities on the grounds, closest restroom and water. This is the BEST KOA location we have been at. Only complaint was the water in the kids slide was dirty but probably from the dirt on the stairs to go to the top.
Aug 14, 2014
Fun Zone was fantastic for my kids!!
Aug 13, 2014
Great facilities. Even with all the motorcycles it was a good place to get some sleep.
Aug 12, 2014
My kids and I had an exceptional stay. There was so much to do at the campground and close by. Everything was clean and the staff was friendly. I have recommended this to all of my friends. We will definitely be back. THANK YOU!! Sandra Kappes & Kids.
Aug 12, 2014
we really enjoy our stay this is a place that I recommended to all my friends and family very friendly people safe and family oriented
Aug 12, 2014
Small campsite, with no trees around, it was a tent only site. Had to clean up the dog poop before we could pitch the tent. Noisey--people did not honor the 10 pm quiet time, especially the RVers. Bathrooms and showers very, very clean. Would stay again, but would request certain campsites we noted that had shade. Yes I would recommend this KOA.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
I came with a Girl Scout Troop. The lady at the registration desk was very polite and informative. The girls loved the swimming pool. They really wanted to ride the horses, but it wasn't in our budget. My Co-Leader and I liked the nightly movie; it put the girls to sleep. Thank you.
Aug 11, 2014
Enjoyed the stay. Bathrooms were fantastic. Internet service could be better.
Aug 10, 2014
The staff were very helpful and made us feel very comfortable. The facilities were clean and well maintained.
Aug 10, 2014
The lady that checked us in and the people in the gift shop need to smile more. The restrooms and the shower rooms were always clean.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Great place to stay! Staff was very helpful in finding us a spot for our big tent when the spot we were assigned was too small. Plenty to do to keep you busy not only in the KOA park but also driving distance. We will be returning!!
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
8 of us camped on sites 304 and 305, it was amazing! We fished every morning, license were reasonable. The campsite was perfect, something to do everyday. We rented the ATVs and the golf carts, what a blast. The canoes and pedal boats were free, they were pretty fun too.
Aug 07, 2014
We had a quick stay, no problem checking in at 11:00 PM was nice. And who doesn't like all you can eat pancakes.
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
I asked for shade for my tent site, but didn't get any. And, the site was on a slope so had to pitch right next to the road, which was the flattest part of the site. Showers were not as good as I have seen at other KOAs.
Aug 06, 2014
Had a great time, the activities kept the children engaged and busy in a fun atmosphere. All the staff were excellent and helpful. This is a great place to stay, Thank you all.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
The tent site the facilities and the services were all excellent - we will be back.
Aug 05, 2014
Dirty bathrooms, even worse showers were not cleaned daily. Both pools were dirty and 2/4 dryers in laundry blew cool air. No "out of orders signs" were placed on dryers, so people just kept putting in quarters and not getting clothes dry. Riding horses looked dirty and thin. Shops were clean and staffed with quality people. Reasonable prices for camping. The Kid Zone was safe and well staffed.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The workers are very friendly and I'm sure its a fine KOA. But I would not recommend this as a place & time to stay because it was rather loud with bikers coming in late and leaving early. Cabins are very close to tent sites. The men's bathroom stalls had foul language and pictures draw on them. Inappropriate for kids and disgusting to see appeals for sex acts.
Aug 04, 2014
We had a great stay and didn't have enough time to do all the activities we wanted to do.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Awsome campground! Loved all the great things to do there! Only complaint is that the ponderosa restaurant is garbage ,,,, waitresses were unorganized and it took way to long to get our food. We gave it four chances to get better during our stay and all four time were bad, however the food is great. Loved renting the atvs...
Aug 03, 2014
We loved our tent camping trip at KOA Mt Rushmore. The staff was over the top friendly. Pancake breakfast delicious. My only complaint would be the pool was dirty (1/2 closed for 2 days) the registration bathroom was down one stall for 5 days and the bathrooms by tent site rarely had hand soap. All things we could deal with. Would come back again if our travels take us this way.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
After 2 weeks in beautiful campgrounds around Yellowstone and Glacier National Park, this campground felt more like a county fair than actual camping. It was crowded, there were screaming kids everywhere, the water out of the taps was brown, and the RVs outnumbered tents 20 to 1. If you want any kind of relaxing, authentic camping experience, skip this campground. It was a circus.
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
First time campers...LOVE IT!
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Super close to Mt Rushmore. Great facilities. Bathrooms were clean. The pancake breakfast is a great deal.
Jul 31, 2014
We enjoyed the camp ground! Sites are a little tight but didn't really bother us. The pool was a little gross looking towards end of the day but that happens with kids. The horses were great and we loved the chuck wagon ride!
Jul 31, 2014
Most amazing KOA we've been to. Now my boys have high expectations that may never be met again!
Jul 30, 2014
Far and away the worst KOA stayed at. We booked a tent site. Because they had overbooked there was a pickup truck, towable RV and boat trailer in our site when we came back. Staff said we had to share. There was not even room for my car left and had to park several hundred yards away. Our RV neighbors drank, smoked and partied less than 10 feet from our tent. Staff would not do anything. No sleep.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
This KOA is a great place to stay if you're visiting the area. It would also be a great destination spot. The kids loved all the activities provided. Facilities seemed fairly well maintained. The only complaint would be that the woman running the horses went right by our site every morning at 6:00 (during quiet hours) and was whooping and hollering extremely loudly.
Jul 30, 2014
Had a great time! Kids loved the Ghost Ride & swimming pools. Only downside was privacy. Felt campers were a bit too close together. Thank you for having us!!
Jul 29, 2014
Wow. So much to do. Extremely friendly staff! Thank you!
Jul 29, 2014
Friendly and courteous staff. Convenient location to all the sites. Quiet peacefull nights. Many activities for all ages. On our return trip we will ride the four-seat bike and take a trail ride. We were also impressed the politeness of the other campers, including the children. A lot of good people! See you all again next year:)
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.