Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jun 22, 2017
We stayed one night at the KOA and ate at the restaurant. We loved all the flowers and the cleanliness of the property with the roads maintained very well. We enjoyed the location of our tent area which was in close proximity to the showers and restrooms. Papas pancakes was a nice thing to have for breakfast. We wish we could have stayed longer.
Jun 21, 2017
Exceptional service!!
Jun 21, 2017
This stay at the KOA truly beat expectations! We were tent camping and requested a secluded site and certainly got it. The grounds/facilities are clean and the setup with the pool/slide/bouncy area were great for our 7 & 9 y.o. kids. The proximity to so much is perfect and the rodeo was an incredible bonus! Will both recommend and plan on staying again.
Jun 21, 2017
We were treated as second hand citizens because we choose to tent instead of camper. Check in took longer, the spot was uncomfortable and cramped, the bathrooms were gross and out of service at times.
Jun 21, 2017
It was such an amazing campground!! The only complaint that I have is that the bathhouse was pretty dirty when I was there. Otherwise, everything else was spot on! I would definitely recommend this place and visit again myself.
Jun 21, 2017
It was a wonderful get-a-way for me and my boyfriend. We will definitely be bringing our kids to this KOA soon!!!
Jun 21, 2017
Great resort with plenty to do. Beautiful location. Heated swimming pool was a real treat.
Jun 21, 2017
Staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay.
Jun 20, 2017
Great place to stay with kids!
Jun 20, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
Loved all the fun things for kids. My son loved the water slide & mini golf. I enjoyed the Chuck wagon dinner & pancake tent. I wish there was wooded walking trails & Horse Shoes. Thank you. We had a great time
Jun 19, 2017
Beautiful resort. Great employees. Will definitely be returning.
Jun 19, 2017
Facility was nice but I am very disappointed in the hidden fees. It $40 for 1dog and cat for 3 days plus when I called to tell them I was putting up 2 tents, the lady said no problem but gave us a hard time at checking and said she was adding $6 per night. I also was unable to find a dish washing station as I was tenting. Cold water isn't ideal for washing dishes.
Jun 19, 2017
This Koa was very clean bathrooms were clean there was lots to do for the kids we were only supposed to stay here three days and ended up staying a week and we will be back awesomeness vacation ever
Jun 19, 2017
Stayed here in mid June was a nice clean campground facilities were well taken care of. I have 2 little girls and although the restrooms looked close they were about a 1/4 of a mile away from my sight which made things interesting at 3 in the morning. But Over all a nice stay with lots of fun activities for the kids.
Jun 19, 2017
The music was loud. The man at the desk was hard to understand.
Jun 18, 2017
Lots of fun for the kids! Rodeo was great!
Jun 18, 2017
Great
Jun 18, 2017
It was a quick stop overnight on the way to Mt. Rushmore. The site we had was not ideal for a tent d/t the incline on the mountain but we managed. Overall, clean and well maintained. Staff was courteous. We enjoyed the all you could eat pancakes in the big top for breakfast.
Jun 13, 2017
It had a lot of facilities on site, like food and activities for the kids. Our tent site was extremely uneven and had NO flat spot to put our tent down. It was also right in middle of 3 restrooms, none of which were easy to get to from our area. Not great with a 4 year old. I'm sure other tent areas didn't have this problem, but we sure did. The people working there were great though. Great views.
Jun 12, 2017
Jun 12, 2017
It was so nice that we stayed an extra night. Our kids had so much fun, there were alot of great activities for them! It was safe, clean, and everyone was super friendly and helpful!
Jun 12, 2017
Safe,friendly,clean campground. The rodeo was a blast. So much for kids to do and experience.
Jun 12, 2017
Great location! Amenities were fantastic, our 4 year old didn't even want to leave the site the day after we got there!
Jun 12, 2017
The tent campsite we had did not have a flat area for the tent but otherwise it was a wonderful experience. Everyone was very friendly and lots of activities to do. There really was no reason to leave if you didn't want too! Would highly recooked it this campground just going get a cabin next time.
Jun 12, 2017
We are already planning a trip here for next summer after discovering this hidden gem!
Jun 11, 2017
Friendly & helpful staff. Clean grounds , convenient amenities, great view.
Jun 08, 2017
We had a great stay. Everyone one was very helpful and flexible when we wanted to change tent sites.
Jun 08, 2017
Beautiful campground location, the scenery is incredible. So too were the facilities and the staff who were really helpful.
Jun 07, 2017
Love this campground, been coming here for 30 years and will continue to in the future. Such a beautiful area with so many things to do and see.
Jun 06, 2017
Very nice location and amenities.
Jun 02, 2017
Beautiful campground! Super close to Rushmore and crazy hourse! Loved the all you can eat pancake tent! The only bummer was that there is no cell service to call home and tge wifi is poor. But we would stay again! Dtaff was super friendly.
May 31, 2017
My stay was not pleasant at all for the simple fact that there were no clear sign postings on how to navigate through the park. The campground was too massive to not have signs posted everywhere.
May 30, 2017
I love this KOA. Plenty of stuff to do without even leaving the campground. The staff is friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is great. Kids can run around carefree and participate in lots of activities while the adults can grill out, campfire, and lounge in one of the two hot tubs. I also love that one of the pools has adult hours from 8-10. AWESOME!
May 30, 2017
My stay was great. It gave me w total reset. The only thing is, I would like to have done more swimming but the pool was dirty.
May 30, 2017
May 30, 2017
We've stayed at this KOA many times and never had problems. This time garbage was overflowing, the ATM was out of money, only half the bathroom stalls were unlocked, and the desk agents refused to give us either military discount or AAA discounts. Very disappointing compared to normal. We will be back, so hopefully this was just a beginning of the season oops.
May 29, 2017
Grrrrrrrrrrrreat!
May 27, 2017
WiFi was so spotty unable to connect. Don't know why I had to pay $10.00 per night resort fee when only 1 pool was open, everything else would open the day I left 5/26.
May 20, 2017
Did tent camping. Nice set up & facilities were nice.
Nov 29, 2016
Upgraded from a tent to a cabin last minute. Cabin (site 113) was nice; however did had a few dead flies on one of the mattresses, but I just swept them on the floor. Cabin door is also a bit confusing to use for the first time. View from the front porch was beautiful; liked being up on a ridge overlooking the campgrounds. Bathrooms were clean and not too far from site.
Sep 20, 2016
Staff were friendly, store was well-stocked, bathroom facility was clean and very nice. We would definitely camp here again!
Sep 16, 2016
Great set up and lovely staff!
Sep 15, 2016
We had a great time there. Everything we did was so fun it was the best koa we have ever stayed at. Having activities all for kids was great. The staff was always nice. We are coming back next year.
Sep 15, 2016
The location was fantastic and the hiking was great. Could have used a more secluded camp site, but where we set up was beautiful.
Sep 12, 2016
Stay was great. Would help if maps were more accurate and easy to understand.
Sep 11, 2016
Pretty nice
Sep 09, 2016
During one night of our stay one stall was out of toilet paper. By 9 the next morning more were out and we finally saw a truck in front of the bathrooms a little later. They hold 2 BIG rolls so not sure how there were multiple stalls empty at one time.
Sep 08, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The campsite was beautiful and well maintained. Bathrooms/showers were clean. The KOA is in a great location and is close to all the tourist attractions. I would stay here again.
Sep 07, 2016
This is a great family campground. There are so many fun activities for the kids that they didn't even have time to do everything. The facilities were clean and everything seems well maintained. We have already made plans to return next summer.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals