Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Sep 14, 2014
After ariving and setting up my tent I found that there was a stream of water 4 feet wide seperating my site from the rest of my site I called and talked to the assistent manager and he told my it was my fault I asked to speak to the manager and he never called me back and he wouldn't take my calls when I called This is by far the worst KOA I have ever stayed at!
Sep 12, 2014
Best time my family has had in a long time. Nice clean family friendly campground. Lots of fun!!!!
Sep 10, 2014
Place was a mini city! Nice lady at the front discounted me 10 because i paid too much online. Honesty! The pub was awesome and had excellent food and service! Shame I had to leave after one nite. Bathrooms and showers were immaculate. Great time and beautiful surroundings!
Sep 09, 2014
Unclean bathrooms, pool area smelled like sewer waste, unfriendly staff. We have had better stays at KOA-PG, but will probably not ever be back.
Sep 09, 2014
It is a nice campground. We got a great spot near the lake where we could see sunrise in the morning. Staff are helpful and friendly.
Sep 08, 2014
Great place to keep the kids busy! Campground is the largest we've ever stayed at, but very organized. The restaurant had an estimated 30 min wait, but it ended up taking 60 mins. So we were hungry and the food was good. Loved the 2 pools and pancake breakfasts.
Sep 08, 2014
They had above and beyond accommodations in a beautiful setting. I'd love to come back!
Sep 07, 2014
Sep 07, 2014
Pools are cold. They do not have wifi as they claim. water at bottom of slide is brown. They sell expired milk for breakfast and don't tell you about it.
Sep 03, 2014
Our family had so much fun here. We stayed in a tent and we really enjoyed the camping kitchen. The only complaint is the pool near the kiddie place was dirty and smelled of the bathrooms.
Sep 02, 2014
Our stay was good. Our picnic bench was broken, but we hardly used it. We were at site 308. The bathrooms were clean and the property was nice. The general store was a little overpriced. I know you're there to make money. But some of that stuff was double I paid in the near by towns.
Sep 02, 2014
Too many kids on bikes (against your policy) site space small compared to other sites, too much smoke from campfires, family next to us was up and screaming at 6am, they didn't put out fire, burned my tent
Aug 31, 2014
Location is great including the peaceful camping feel and lots to do.
Aug 28, 2014
Thank you for a great visit!
Aug 27, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
this was our first time staying at a koa campground and my first time at Mt Rushmore. I couldn't be more pleased with everything. Keep up the good work and we will be back. As a matter of fact our kids are coming this weekend.
Aug 26, 2014
Great place to stay! The climbing wall was not available and the items on the printed schedule didn't always match up to what was going on exactly. Overall, we had a good experience.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Amazing first camp experience!! My kids absolutely loved all the activities!! Very clean as well!
Aug 24, 2014
We had a wonderful time! Thank you! We were also excited to find out our weekend was on Family Faith weekend. It was the icing on the cake and we were joyful.
Aug 24, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
So much to offer- we had a great time! Loved the water areas and slide
Aug 21, 2014
It is a little difficult to get to the bathrooms from the tent sites without walking thru the RV sites which is king of rude...maybe a path thru would be nice
Aug 21, 2014
Amenities were really great. Bathrooms and shower building clean and well light. Kids fun zone was very creative and kids loved it! The pool for the waterslide was dark grey brown and I wish the cleaned the water mid day or something. Other pools and hot tub clean. Biggest dissapointment was wifi didnt work, not even near hot spot. No clear instructions how to troubleshoot.
Aug 20, 2014
Well run campground. Only complaint is that good tent sites are disappearing to make way for cabins. Have been coming to this campground for over two decades but may have to find a new campground that caters more to tent campers.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
the staff was very accomadating and friendly. On a bad note,I was struck by a child riding a bicycle and was bruised and cut and terribly sore. Maybe there should be bicycle paths so these accidents don't occur.The staff was right there to assist me when this happened and continued to check on me during our stay Thank you to the staff!
Aug 18, 2014
the girl on the slide was busy playing with her cell phone the whole time the kids were up there very inappropriate. on the bounty pad the young kid was busy chatting with his friend not watching the kids on the bouncy pad and there were over 20 of them. A couple of them were bumping into each other getting hurt. I finally said something to him and then he finally watches them.
Aug 18, 2014
We came camping with some of our friends, we brought a total of 8 kids. With all the activities and fun things to do, we never struggled to entertain them and this made cooking so much easier.
Aug 18, 2014
Good family fun.
Aug 17, 2014
It was clean and quiet at night and we wish we could've stayed longer to enjoy all they have to offer.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Mt. Rushmore koa was awesome. Great staff, stores, activities, and location.
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
This is more of a resort than a campground. Our family enjoyed the pool and the horses. There was a lot of trash in the fire ring.
Aug 15, 2014
Great accommodations, but KOA was a little too big and a little too crowded for my liking.
Aug 14, 2014
This KOA is SOOO AWESOME!! It is beautiful property, lots of activities to do, staff is very helpful at check-in giving helpful suggestions of activities on the grounds, closest restroom and water. This is the BEST KOA location we have been at. Only complaint was the water in the kids slide was dirty but probably from the dirt on the stairs to go to the top.
Aug 14, 2014
Fun Zone was fantastic for my kids!!
Aug 13, 2014
Great facilities. Even with all the motorcycles it was a good place to get some sleep.
Aug 12, 2014
My kids and I had an exceptional stay. There was so much to do at the campground and close by. Everything was clean and the staff was friendly. I have recommended this to all of my friends. We will definitely be back. THANK YOU!! Sandra Kappes & Kids.
Aug 12, 2014
we really enjoy our stay this is a place that I recommended to all my friends and family very friendly people safe and family oriented
Aug 12, 2014
Small campsite, with no trees around, it was a tent only site. Had to clean up the dog poop before we could pitch the tent. Noisey--people did not honor the 10 pm quiet time, especially the RVers. Bathrooms and showers very, very clean. Would stay again, but would request certain campsites we noted that had shade. Yes I would recommend this KOA.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
I came with a Girl Scout Troop. The lady at the registration desk was very polite and informative. The girls loved the swimming pool. They really wanted to ride the horses, but it wasn't in our budget. My Co-Leader and I liked the nightly movie; it put the girls to sleep. Thank you.
Aug 11, 2014
Enjoyed the stay. Bathrooms were fantastic. Internet service could be better.
Aug 10, 2014
The staff were very helpful and made us feel very comfortable. The facilities were clean and well maintained.
Aug 10, 2014
The lady that checked us in and the people in the gift shop need to smile more. The restrooms and the shower rooms were always clean.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.