Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 16, 2017
Great location, great amenities, great service!
Aug 16, 2017
Loved how there were so many opportunities for different activities.
Aug 16, 2017
Staff was not very friendly when we arrived. Our tent site was TINY and didn't have any flat space to put our tent on, so we had to sleep on an incline. Restrooms were very clean and well kept, and the campground seemed like a fun and family-friendly atmosphere. Would return someday but definitely request a more secluded or bigger tent site so there's actually space to camp.
Aug 16, 2017
Staff were able to accommodate our request for a different tent site. Very spacious and clean. A lot of fun activities for kids and family. Staff were friendly. Would definitely return!
Aug 15, 2017
I have stayed at this KOA several times and really enjoyed it but when booking a site and stating you are traveling on a motorcycle consideration should be taken for ease of access to your site.
Aug 15, 2017
It was beautiful, the staff were friendly, you have everything available to you, the bathrooms were clean and our tent site was perfect.
Aug 15, 2017
Loved it, very pleasant staff and atmosphere.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
I've been going to this koa for over 20 years I was there when you had gas pumps in front of the small building you signed in on. This stay was excellent except for 2 things , I was quoted when I made my reservation a 10 dollar fee to hold my spot that I wanted. when I got there they charged me 20.00, they said I was mis quoted and it cost 20. so see if you can get your reservation agents up to sp
Aug 14, 2017
Been coming to Palmer Gulch on and off for 25 years and it gets better every time! Excellent facilities and plenty for the kids/grandkids. It's a family tradition. I would 't think of staying anywhere else in the Black Hills.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Very high priced, bathrooms way to far away.
Aug 14, 2017
We had a wonderful time at your facilities. I pastor a urban church and all but one of our children were from the projects. They would not stop thanking me for taking them camping and to SD. Your staff treated us so good that I will recommend you to everyone that I know going to SD. God bless you... In Christ Pastor John Gallegos.
Aug 13, 2017
Great place to stay. Family friendly.
Aug 13, 2017
The perfect campground with perfect amenities
Aug 13, 2017
Awesome..best KOA I have ever been to..highly recommend!
Aug 13, 2017
Nice accommodations and very friendly, helpful staff. Great kids activities
Aug 12, 2017
Love it!!!! Can't wait until next year! ðð
Aug 11, 2017
Stayed only one night but the park was great and the service excellent.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
We had a group of 18 in 3 sites and we loved it. So much to do in the campground itself and all around the area.
Aug 10, 2017
Quiet stay considering it was Sturgis week.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Good location. Lots of activities, especially for kids. Big site, so lots of traffic and crowds during Sturgis Bike Rally. My issue and that of my camping mates was that the shower and restroom facilities were not clean. The get a lot of traffic and I don't think they were serviced once in our 5 night stay.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Staying during the rally sucked. But the facility was amazing.
Aug 09, 2017
The bathrooms and showers were really nice and clean. We enjoyed our campsite next to the pond. We could not get WiFi anywhere on the campground, not even the laundry room.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
We had an enjoyable time. Friendly staff and good amenities
Aug 08, 2017
Facilities were nice. Lots of great activity places for the kids. Staff was friendly. I purchased 5 meals at the Ponderosa Restaurant. The two burger meals took a very long time and when they came out, the burgers were like a hockey puck. The restaurant service was slow and the food was very poor. Much worst quality than the price would have demanded. I lost my $1 off ice cream but purchase
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
There was ZERO wifi - didn't work at all. Overall, the facilities were great. We had a great campground place and easy access to the pool, mini golf, and restrooms. One recommendation would be to have restrooms cleaned more frequently during high-traffic hour. My four year old daughter slipped and fell one morning around 9 am on excess water overflowing from a toilet.
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
We only stayed one night in a tent spot. Did not have any time to experience much of the camp. It was good for what we needed. The girl who checked us in was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 07, 2017
The campground was very nice and well maintained. There are lots of things to do and the facilities are great! We would definitely stay again and tell a friend.
Aug 07, 2017
It is huge! They have a great set-up for tents and the property has so much to offer. The water slide was a bit cold. Don't follow internet directions that take you the back way. Great place, next time we will have to plan on staying longer.
Aug 07, 2017
What a great campground! Staff was friendly and helpful, the kids had a blast, so much to do! The pools are heated, showers and bathrooms are clean. Great place at an affordable rate for the whole family.
Aug 07, 2017
This was our first time tent camping as a family without anyone else, and I was not looking forward to it. I was worried about dirt sites and gross bathrooms, but this KOA had neither! I was so impressed by our beautiful grass-covered site and the bathrooms were clean and very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful, and there were tons of amenities to use. We're looking forward to returning!
Aug 07, 2017
Everyone is so friendly which is hard to find with summer help these days. Clean restrooms. The grounds are very well maintained and the hanging baskets all over the grounds adds a beautiful touch of color. Lots of events to keep the kids busy. They liked the science experiments. This was our 3rd visit to this campground and most certainly will NOT be our last.
Aug 06, 2017
This was our first KOA stay. While we like state parks better because we are tent campers. The bathrooms by all thevRVs were so clean and nice and the kids loved the kids zone.
Aug 06, 2017
Enforce morning quiet hours on playgrounds.
Aug 06, 2017
The tent site was small couldn't use the campfire tent was to close to it. This campsite was packed in like sardines. First time staying here so the church and all kid outdoor avities was a surprise and I enjoyed everything that they offered. How ever we did go to the all you can eat pancakes tent and my kids got sick of the milk that we ordered and threw up. Please check the temperature of frig
Aug 06, 2017
Great location for all the sites. Two pools and great hiking trails across the street.
Aug 06, 2017
The bathrooms near our site were amazingly clean and even had hooks on the back of the bathroom stall doors! We weren't traveling with kids so didn't participate in any family activities, but with playground, horses, etc., & activities offered throughout the day, this spot is ideal for families!!! And anyone else who wants a fresh cup of coffee in the morning or a fully-stocked camping store.
Aug 04, 2017
The tent sites were positioned as far from all restrooms as possible.
Aug 04, 2017
We enjoyed it so much that we didn't want to leave. In fact we stayed an extra day.
Aug 04, 2017
Lots of fun things to do and great facilities. The only issue with the tent sites is that they were open and lacked privacy- felt like we were on a field instead of in the Hills.
Aug 04, 2017
Beautiful location. Bathrooms/showers could be cleaner and bleach treated to clear the mold but otherwise loved it!
Aug 04, 2017
crowded, noisy and expensive. Even with all the extra activity's they had available for kids and adults I would not stay there again. The tent sites were tiny and on a slope. Even though the showers were individual rooms they did not have shower curtains so the closes would get wet hanging on the shower door.
Aug 03, 2017
great location , friendly staff, lots of amenities
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals