Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 24, 2016
We had a hard time finding our tent site because it was not marked. We did have to get security to escort us but they were very friendly. We loved the fun zone.The activities had everyone in our group entertained.
Jul 24, 2016
Congested compared to other KOAs we have stayed at. Wanted to purchase something at camp store but waited for approx. 3 minutes and couldn't find a staff to ring it up so we just left.
Jul 24, 2016
Great place, great staff. Only down fall in my opinion were the restrooms & showers. Several shower stalls did not have hooks for clothes and towels or place to set soap and shampoo. Also for size of place, having just 2 stalls in men's room created lines of 5 to 6 people at times. Aside from that the place and all it had to offer were great.
Jul 24, 2016
Love this KOA! Multiple playgrounds, hiking paths, close to Mount Rushmore, activities throughout the day for families, food options, shops! Truly resort camping!
Jul 23, 2016
People at check in were great. I requested a campsite away from kids. Our campsite was 5 yards away from a playground. It was nice to have showers but they were pretty nasty.
Jul 23, 2016
Jul 23, 2016
Nice place with good amenities, but very, very big and crowded.
Jul 23, 2016
Top notch facilities and service. We were amazed four years ago and have been back every year since.
Jul 22, 2016
It really is a great place for kids. A ton of things to do. I wish the Comfort house had more restrooms. But you are camping and so the facilities meet those expectations.
Jul 22, 2016
We found it to be family friendly. It is close to hot spots to check out. The personnel was friendly and service was good. We'll definitely stay there again.
Jul 22, 2016
Hot showers. Plenty to do. Quiet by bedtime. Lots of family options to plan and do. Great facility.
Jul 22, 2016
This was our first time camping at a KOA Kampground. Our original vacation plans were to camp one night and stay in a hotel the next night. We were so impressed when we got to our tent camp site, that we immediately cancelled our hotel reservation and reserved the second night at KOA! We plan on coming back next year, bringing more family, and staying longer!
Jul 22, 2016
Awesome KOA. Great for the kids. Only complaint is that the tent sites are too close together and not level.
Jul 21, 2016
The kids loved all of the activities and amenities, the water slide especially. Lovely setting and great campground!
Jul 21, 2016
we loved the whole experience. There was lots to do and the area was beautiful. They even let us change tent sites so our boys could use their hammocks. The only thing we didn't like was the sand in the Volleyball pit it was full of rocks. They should just make it a grass court. We would definately stay here again!!
Jul 21, 2016
Staff was extremely accommodating, we lost our tent in a bad wind and rain storm and they were so nice in giving us a cabin to stay in for the night till we were able to replace our tent, above and beyond, the only thing that was not good was the food in the restaurants and the prices were a little much, but enjoyed our time for the most part.
Jul 21, 2016
Great stay. Great tent camping spots. The only negative thing I would say is that our camp spot was missing the number plaquered. This made it difficult to find and even the person that escorted us wasn't sure but gave us a spot in the area of where it should be. But I would stay again when I am back in SD.
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
This campground has everything you need, and is kept clean.
Jul 20, 2016
We had a wonderful time. This is the perfect campground for families with hound kids - the amenities and activities were great! My kids loved the pools, water slide, playground, and organized activities like the movies and crafts. The grounds are very pretty and well-maintained. It does get a bit crowded, but we were fine with that!
Jul 20, 2016
Lots of amenities and close to several historic and family fun locations!
Jul 19, 2016
Tent sites are small and not shaded. Wi-Fi is spotty. Not much water pressure in showers. May have enjoyed amenities more if we stayed longer.
Jul 19, 2016
We love the location and amenities that this KOA offers. We loved the pancake breakfast, stables and chuckwagon that are available as extras. The kids enjoyed the jumping pillow. The only downside is that the bathrooms could be cleaned more than once a day with the number of people using them. We will be back if we visit the area again.
Jul 19, 2016
We loved everything about this camping area. Perfect for our family (4yr old and 9 yr old).
Jul 19, 2016
great, clean, fun, place to stay!!!!!
Jul 18, 2016
train and fun but hard to get internet and cell service
Jul 18, 2016
It was my fault for not understanding this was a resort not a campground. People are piled on top of each other. There is no privacy. I would recommend this place to people who do not want to experience the outdoors. If you enjoy camping and scenery, do not stay here.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Very clean. Friendly staff. Easy to find.
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 16, 2016
Great facility! The amenities were greatly enjoyed by the two grandsons. The staff was exceptionally helpful. Bathrooms and showers were clean! No complaints about this place, only complements!
Jul 15, 2016
This place is massive, tent site we had was tiny and sloped badly. Bathrooms were clean but quiet a hike. On a good note, close to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. We won't stay there again.
Jul 15, 2016
Our tenting location was fantastic. The restrooms were busy and could be cleaned more often. Also disappointing non-working wifi!
Jul 15, 2016
We loved it!!
Jul 15, 2016
Although this was a large site, we were very impressed that the camping tents were sited away from the RV's. It was quiet at night, and the facilities were more than adequate and always clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you.
Jul 15, 2016
Excellent Kamground
Jul 14, 2016
5 stars isn't enough! We were so impressed with our stay here. Everyone was friendly, comfort station 2 was very fresh and clean, always. Beautiful grassy campsites next to the lake. so much fun for the kids. I have already given this KOA recommendation to my friends heading to the Black Hills. We all want to come back!! There was so much to do we didn't get to do. Thanks for a fun vacation!
Jul 14, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
I reserved a tent spot with power and water two months in advance and specified the size and dimensions of my tent. arrival discovered that the assigned tent site was way too small for my tent! The staff seemed clueless about the actual size of their campsites and we ended up at a site without per or water. We're it not for a friendly neighbor, we would not have had air in our mattress!
Jul 13, 2016
Campground was better than expected. Comfort stations could have been cleaner.
Jul 13, 2016
We had a great time. The rodeo was awesome! Kids loved all the activities
Jul 12, 2016
It was our first time staying here and we loved it.
Jul 12, 2016
A lot of amenities but tent site was hard to find. The desk clerk was oblivious. At night you can't see tent numbers. Not customer friendly at all. There is no clear separation in grass area so didn't know where to park. It's fine for families and kids. Very noisy.
Jul 12, 2016
When we arrived the people that were supposed to camp next to us were on our spot. The computers were down so it took quite a while for us to be assigned another space. Once we were it was a great time. The kids had lots of activities and loved the pancake breakfast.
Jul 12, 2016
Very disappointed with KOA. This was our first visit and will be our last. We will NOT reccomendation to others. If you are really concerned and really care to find out why feel free to call me and find out why. You have my information.
Jul 11, 2016
Fun!
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
We enjoyed our stay for the most part, but the campground was crowded, different from our experiences camping in state parks. The firewood sold was expensive and due to the type of wood, very smoky. Amenities and staff were great, but not sure we would stay again, opting for a park that affords a little more privacy for campers. Also, our tent site was on a hill.
Jul 11, 2016
Overall out stay was excellent. Great facilities and activities. The only negative I have is that the campsites are too close together which makes it hard to have any privacy within the site. All in all, however, we had a great time
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals