Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Nov 18, 2013
excellent location. Extremely close to mt rushmore. Close to all of the other tourist attractions in the black hills. Not the best place for tent sites because there just are not many of them. Even if you are in a tent, though you get access to all of the amenities which are excellent. The people were very nice and for the price it is very good.
Oct 09, 2013
Sep 29, 2013
Sep 20, 2013
Sep 14, 2013
Excellent customer service. I needed to leave a day early and received a refund which I was not expecting. Very friendly staff.
Sep 13, 2013
Overall everything was fantastic. Very clean bathrooms. Well maintained. My only complaint would be that the staff member who helped us when we arrived to register was not very kind or helpful.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
The only things we were unhappy about was with the temps in the 90's that the other pool and water slide Were not open. We were very unhappy with the all you can eat pancake breakfast. We arrived st 8:30 and there was only 3 tables with customers and they were all eating. We waited until 9:30 for a table and placed our order and it took until 10:15 to get our pancakes. Very slow service.
Sep 09, 2013
Although I'm against forced "resort Fees" for the use of attractions I will not use (pool, concerts, pancake breakfast, wine tasting, etc), I am especially appalled at having to pay $10 a night extra for that fee after Labor Day when the services are no longer available! The flowers were beautiful, the resort is clean and the staff friendly and plentiful, but paying $60 extra bugged me.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 08, 2013
It is clean.Family oriented environment is fantastic.But it just felt too crowded.
Sep 07, 2013
Never a dull moment! Enjoyable for kids and adults alike!
Sep 06, 2013
The only reason I have been coming back to Mount Rushmore koa is because i been going every summer as a kid. Other than that I'm In the military been for 10 years and the bathrooms at your koa are sick. I have seen better bathroom in the military. That and people (campers) are rude. They drive around fast and loud with there brights I brought everything up they said what do you want us to do
Sep 04, 2013
Awesome place! Tons of fun activities for the whole family. Very clean. Only complaint was that the shower doors were difficult to open and close.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Staff awesome. Ryan the director does great work!!
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Awesome would be how I describe our visit. The staff were great,very helpful. We enjoyed the horseback rides too.
Sep 01, 2013
Overall the say was okay. Friendly and helpful staff. If you have kids there are great amenities BUT our tent site was extremely small and had no cover. It was almost impossible to place a tent, small car picnic table on our site in a way that the fire pit wouldn`t affect everything.
Sep 01, 2013
Our stay was perfect! From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed.... The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the bathrooms and showers were top notch. the pancake breakfast was tasty and a fun way to start the morning. we will return and we have already recommended this location to our friends!!
Aug 28, 2013
Palmer Gulch KOA is well-kept, and in a beautiful setting. The staff of the camp has obviously worked hard to make sure there are a lot of activities to choose from for all ages. There is simply too much to fit it all in! It was so nice to start the day with a hot cup of tea at Grapes and Grinds in the morning and end it around the campfire before retiring at night. Camp stores are well stocked!
Aug 27, 2013
This KOA was nice with a lot of things to do. The restaurant staff at the Ponderosa could have been more courteous and there was no waiting area for a table and it was raining outside.
Aug 26, 2013
Great if you have kids and are staying awhile. We were staying one night and it was too busy and tons of people. Very nice KOA/resort though. Would love to come back when we have kids.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
we had the noisy neighbors and after I told the management about loud noise until 12midnight they were up until 1am the next night and I heard them say they were told they would get kicked out... do you think they cared and no one from KOA was around at midnight to tell these people to be quite... 4 nights of noise until 1am... and so I will never go back there again... or another KOA
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Great time
Aug 23, 2013
If you've got kids, then this should be the campground that you stay at. There are so many things to do, that we didn't even leave the campground on our last day here.
Aug 23, 2013
unsubscribe me please
Aug 23, 2013
Just your restrooms need some serious attention
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
If you have kids, find a way to stay here! What a fun place and there is so much to do in the area! Wish I could have stayed longer!
Aug 21, 2013
We loved our stay at this KOA. The staff was great and the services made our family vacation perfect. Thanks!
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Very crowded, but it's the height of vacation season. The bar and restaurants are a great touch.
Aug 19, 2013
We loved it! Its a very wonderful place for any family with or without kids.
Aug 19, 2013
When we took a shower the stall was musty smelling and had mold in the stall. The tent spots either had no shade or was not level so we were at a tilt. The fire pit was not cleaned out. Sites were way too close to each other no privacy. At the breakfast we had three orders of bacon and the guy argued with us that we only had two when he seen the colored chips we had.
Aug 19, 2013
Clean and fun place for entire family. First time camping there and really enjoyed it. Will definitely be back next year. Thanks
Aug 18, 2013
There are plenty of activities for campers to do, especially the kids. And the all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast is a big plus!
Aug 18, 2013
Our greatest complaint is that the kids were having too much fun to leave the campground to sightsee. Wonderful time! We have 6 kids and there was something to keep them all entertained. Great location.
Aug 17, 2013
This camp ground sounded fun but further inspection proved otherwise. The grounds were poorly kept (dirty restrooms, moss growing in the pool, hot tub and play areas) when we arrived our tent site fire pit was full of garbage. Over heard several complaints from other campers including a gentlemen that had an emergency and needed to get to the hospital and was told by workers that they were busy.
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
It was stormy late at night but no shelters for tent campers. Restrooms should have paper towels so sink counters can be wiped down after using. Also, restrooms should be cleaned more often during busy weeks such as Sturgis Rally
Aug 14, 2013
Would definitely stay here again if we ever make it back to Mt. Rushmore. It was so clean and had a lot of activities to offer. We thoroughly enjoyed our campsite and the pancake breakfast!
Aug 14, 2013
The restrooms and especially the showers were not kept very clean! Also, would be really nice to have cell phone service at the campground. Makes it really hard to call anyone if there was an emergency or to get ahold of family. You should consider getting a tower. Otherwise our stay was great :)
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.