Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 19, 2015
A few friendly staff and a few not so friendly. No one seemed to have answers. Site was not level, didn't have enough blocks to get level. our fire pit was our neighbors bump. 5 feet in front of our door was the neighbors water and electric. Directly behind that was the open sewer. Camping site was awful, campground was ok, busy and packed but that was expected. Pick another campground, not here.
Jul 19, 2015
WIFI service was very poor to non existent. The constant stench from the horse stables was an unwelcome greeting.
Jul 19, 2015
Nice campground, but packed a little tight. Good activities for the kids, but know that there's no cell service and no working wifi (even though they claim to have it) so if you have to contact anyone or check your email you have to leave the grounds.
Jul 19, 2015
Beautifully maintained; nice to have transportation to Mt Rushmore; and the horseback riding tour was amazing!
Jul 19, 2015
BEST KOA EVER! They do charge a daily resort fee, but that means that just about everything there is included. The kampground is HUGE, has lots to do, including a restaurant and mini-mall area. We will definitely be back, as this is now our favorite KOA, and the one we are comparing all others to, which isn't fair, because it's the best!
Jul 19, 2015
Only stay for one night. Wish I can stay for more. I can stay at this campground for week. This is a resort and got lots of resort activities
Jul 19, 2015
What a great place for the kids! So many activities in the campground and amazing sights in the area.
Jul 19, 2015
We chose this campground for our son. The resort has many activities for children that will keep them occupied after a long day of sightseeing. The bathrooms were clean and showers were well maintained. The proximity to other campers is close and can be loud at times. Our biggest complaint was the road surface material which turned into a thick, slick mud after it rained.
Jul 19, 2015
It was too big and not very personal like the other KOAs we've been to before. Camp site was sloped and too close to neighbors. Bathroom was dirty and too far from oure site even though I asked for somewhere not too far because of little ones.
Jul 19, 2015
Bad wifi
Jul 19, 2015
Need to level out some of the sites, my husband has never had so much trouble setting up trailer because of the unlevel site. Setting is beautiful and lots of amenities even though we didn't use them. Should consider not charging people who don't use them just stayng to camp.
Jul 19, 2015
Great campground but nonfunctional wifi is big disadvantage. Other than that, great!
Jul 19, 2015
Excellent! Most of all, your reservation staff member went out of her way to accommodate us on short notice! My sincere gratitude!
Jul 18, 2015
We stay every year for the last 9 years and no dissapointment this time either had a great 2 weeks at the park and will be back next year
Jul 18, 2015
Your facility has gotten to big our first time we stayed was about ten years ago. It was smaller and all amenities were closer. It's was still an enjoyable stay but to big.
Jul 18, 2015
I have stayed in many KOA's, and this is the prettiest location we have ever seen. The campground has several amenities like horseback riding and restaurant that were really nice. However, the mgmt of the campground is severely lacking. For campsites, you don't get what is advertised (and paid for), and the restrooms were not cleaned often, and were quite disgusting on several visits. Its a shame
Jul 18, 2015
This is a very nice campground with very friendly people and beautiful setting. It may be a bit tight for some people and a bit pricey but they provide a lot of things. We enjoyed our stay
Jul 18, 2015
Jul 18, 2015
Fantastic location! Tons of things for kids to do. Highly recommend !!
Jul 18, 2015
Put in too small of a lot. Smelled like sewer the whole time we were there. Grossly over priced ($75/day). Good if you have kids. Campsites far too close together.
Jul 18, 2015
Site for our pop-up (#298) was TINY, as were the surrounding sites. Our fire pit was, literally, six feet from our neighbor's pop up. (Yikes!) NO internet - even in cafe. Wranglers would wake everyone VERY EARLY with whistling and hollering as they brought up horses from pasture. Plenty of activities for the kids + nice pools. Spotless bathrooms + hot showers. Very nice staff and scenery!
Jul 18, 2015
Our campsite could've been better as we had a drainage ditch running through it with a good deal of muck and mud. However, the entire resort and staff customer service were very pleasant. In fact, we've chosen to hold our family reunion here in 2016. Looking forward to trying out more of your services then. Thank you!
Jul 18, 2015
Your add should state that there is no cell service, cable or internet connection.
Jul 18, 2015
Lied to us about cell phone reception and wifi availability. Left as soon as we could find another park.
Jul 17, 2015
Great fun lots to do and great camp sites
Jul 17, 2015
Jul 17, 2015
too crowded, too tight for an rv, way too much smoke and too much mud.
Jul 17, 2015
A bit costly
Jul 17, 2015
Just left & can't wait to come back,all the way from spokane wa.
Jul 17, 2015
Have stayed here before in June time period and would have rated it a 5. This time we stayed in July. But only rate this stay a 4. The only problem but it did detract from our stay is our reservation for pull through site must have been overbooked as we were initially only offered a remote back in site. They were finally able to get us a pull through but it was partially under water/mud.
Jul 17, 2015
Super nice facility....Huge, bigger than I prefer. Non existent WIFI They should not advertise WIFI that does not work. I need WIFI for work access when I travel. One star off.
Jul 17, 2015
Wonderful. Plenty to do at the camp when not visiting the attractions. Great staff and amenities.
Jul 17, 2015
We got to our site and discovered that it was not a full hookup as we expected. In checking with the office we found out that the original sites were wet so we had been reassigned to an electric only and not charged. However, we found it strange that the person checking us in never mentioned the situation. Also, we were very disappointed that there was very poor wifi during our stay.
Jul 17, 2015
Great Staff Great everything
Jul 16, 2015
Was not happy with this KOA at all. No services as advertised and no compensation. The level campsites were under water and the one on the hill were horribly un-level. Brown water, because of main breaks everywhere and way to big of a campground for our liking. Great for families with kids I guess but it will cost you for every extra activity. Not very clean either and staff was rude.
Jul 16, 2015
Greatest place on earth! Tons of fun for everyone of all ages. Staff are extremely helpful with everything.
Jul 16, 2015
Didn't get the space I reserved. Had to accept a lower level.
Jul 16, 2015
Unfortunately, too much rain the first part of July...lots of mud to deal with...no ones fault!
Jul 16, 2015
Awesome camp site but my actuall spot 234 was awful. Looks like it had bad drainage.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.