Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 15, 2015
everything was great as usual
Jul 15, 2015
the sites at this location do not meet my standards. no room, barely room for the camper! I was given site 599 which had sewer hook up at my front door and my fire ring to close to neighbors camper. the amenities here are fine, but would not stay at this location again because of the sites. if not for Jack(staff member) I would never stay KOA again. He found us a better site. I have more to say...
Jul 15, 2015
We made res. 6 Weeks in advance for two sites. They put us in muddy sites, the good sites were keep for the over nighters. Our friends camein from Canda to be with us and had to put boards down to get to there door. We all paid the same as the people that had concrete pads. We are very dissatisfied with the conditions and the price we had to pay. Sincerely, Ed And Lois Shinkle
Jul 15, 2015
Wifi sucked. Mini golf was old and wore out, "water slides" we're slow and cold. Our site dropped off so bad we needed pallets to get out of camper. People were nice though.
Jul 15, 2015
Great campground for the kids. Location is fantastic. Pancake breakfast can't be beat. This was our 4th time visiting and we'll be back.
Jul 15, 2015
I'm sure families enjoy this KOA but it was too big and too hectic for our likes. Restrooms were muddy when we went to take a shower. Wifi useless too.
Jul 15, 2015
Beautiful Location Great Times
Jul 15, 2015
Although we were dissappointed we missed out on the chuckwagon because it was already full, we loved the horseback riding. We appreciate that everything is so clean and the staff was very nice. Thank you for a great weekend!
Jul 15, 2015
Too big. Too loud. Small sites. Had to move 2 cars to get in our site.
Jul 15, 2015
Not a good end. Campsites were on top of each other, quiet hours were not enforced, no internet connection on the WiFi.
Jul 15, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
Wonderful scenic location! All staff was very helpful and pleasant. We had a family reunion there. The meal was delicious and the Ponderosa Catering staff was very nice and great to work with. Papa's Pancake tent had delicious pancakes! The only complaints were the lack of Wifi or cell service. And the smell from the horse stables was a little strong at times. Otherwise it was wonderful.
Jul 14, 2015
Lots to do for kids.
Jul 14, 2015
You can't beat this place if you have kids. Horseback riding, kids activities and pools and playgrounds. Convenient in site car and atv rentals. Excellent restrooms. We have stayed here twice and will be back. And don't miss the shuttle to Mt Rushmore.
Jul 14, 2015
Great amenities for kids. It was unusually wet summer however and our site was muddy and soggy - yuck! Beautiful surroundings but then all campers cramped together - disgusting to have my picnic table right next to neighbors septic drainage!
Jul 14, 2015
My grandkids had a ball with all the fun things to do at Palmer Gulch. So much so they didn't want to leave! We had some problems with our water hose leaking and your maintenance man Dick could not have been nicer!!!!! We also needed a repair for a leak in our bathroom and your check in people were so helpful to recommend and call the Mobile RV Repairman for us. He was great too!
Jul 14, 2015
We had to immediately request a new site because the site they gave us was FLOODED and 1 foot deep in mud. After some seriousness they switched us. But we did love the campground so much and our new site that we extended our stay by a few days. The shower houses need mats of some sort, so you dont have to step directly on the puddles on the floor. Also, they ran out of gold mining kits.
Jul 14, 2015
Camp site (tent w/ elec & water) was clean and roomy. Bathrooms and showers were clean and had hot water. Definitely a family campground so be prepared for family noise at all times. Plenty to do for my kids aged 8 and 10.
Jul 14, 2015
Too expensive. Not informed of pet charges. When escorted to our site, the W&E hookup was ankle deep in water and sewer cap was totally under water. Expressed our concerns to the KOA team member and he said some sites were worse and took off on his golf cart. Showers were swell holes. Overall we were ripped off. Not a pleasant vacation experience.
Jul 14, 2015
the camp site had every thing you needed. the only thing that was needed was more bathrooms and closer to the hill site in 552.for the amount of people that stay there more bath rooms would be nice.
Jul 14, 2015
A very nice campground.
Jul 14, 2015
first night was mud hole for camp spot they did try to fix it but did not move us
Jul 14, 2015
One of our favorite Koa'S but too bad no bus o Crazy Horse like the first 2 time we were there but wonderful camp ground
Jul 14, 2015
It's always fun to stay at this KOA. The only real issue we had was that there was no phone service and no internet service although it advertises WIFI. We have stayed at this KOA every summer for several years now.
Jul 14, 2015
The Ponderosa Restaraunt was fantastic. We traveled here from Yelowstone on our way back to Michigan. Great park for those staying in the area for a while but my ratings are based on the sheer numbers of people in the park. We were in the back area with a large rig and we were crammed in. There was also some swampy areas around he area. The back area was a sloppy mess off Drive, some ditching need
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 13, 2015
My family and I will never our wonderful vacation memories at the campground and had an amazing time! KOA has everything to offer and especially for the kids. (putt golf was often flooded and muddy though) We are Deaf indiv and use American Sign Lang (ASL) and glad to meet THREE staff who knows ASL. We felt fortunate to watch the Lakota dance event on July 3rd and it was the BEST part!
Jul 13, 2015
I would say one of the nicest places to stay in the area enjoyed our stay very much
Jul 13, 2015
Great for families. It was tough to see the sights and attractions because the kids just wanted to get back to the campground!! Some of the sites looked a bit tight... But we were at 246 which was a very nice size and perfectly located next to the fun zone. I already have recommended this campground to friends!!
Jul 13, 2015
Great time.
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
There was so much to do for people of all ages! It was impossible to not have fun. I can't wait till our next day at this campground. I can't wait till our next day at KOAs were this awesome!
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
The first site we were put in was terrible. It was right next to the horse barn and smelled terrible. They were able to change us to a different and great site. The kids loved the daily activities. We would stay agian, but would be sure to request a site away from the barn.
Jul 13, 2015
One of the best koa campgrounds we have ever stayed in. Lots for kids and adults to do. Wonderful views. Very helpful and friendly staff. Great experience.
Jul 13, 2015
Very crowded. Hard to get a camper in and out due to the number of campers there. Many sites on the side of a hill that is very steep. I made a reservation a month in advance for a full hookup, but when I arrived at my site I realized it was water/electric only. I was told it was either that or nothing as they had given my full hookup site to someone else.
Jul 13, 2015
Love it great place and polite staff
Jul 13, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 13, 2015
(1) Absolutely no cell phone reception. Was not advised of this until after we had signed in. Should have been informed & other arrangements would have been made. Very inexperienced help in check in office. Stayed an extra day & rec'd msg that we should have checked out even though we had paid for the extra night & had to move to another space. Again, shouldn't have happened. Could write more.
Jul 13, 2015
There were a few issues. 1) We notified staff about a child being sick around the pool area and nobody would take responsibility to clean it up.2) Garbage can by pool area was overflowing and again not cleaned up.3) Asked questions at the service desk and the responses were not positive.4) Large amounts of rain ruined many sites ours included and nothing was being done to resolve the issue.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.