Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 03, 2017
Nice campground. Lots of amenities onsite. Close to major attractions. Clean and maintained. Due to the amount of things to see in the area, I wish I chose a cheaper campground because I was never at the campground to use any of the amenities except to do laundry. Camp sites are small and crowded but most are pull-thru. Gave 4 stars only because of the small sites.
Jul 03, 2017
Jul 03, 2017
The campground was extremely cramped. All of the sites were right on top of each other. The comfort stations weren't very convienient to most sites. The two main ones were right in the middle of the rv sites and most rv'ers don't even use the comfort stations! We had to drive to the comfort station from our site. Also our tent site was not even level enough for a tent.
Jul 03, 2017
Soo close to lots of activities but in campground comfort stations were so far away from some campsites it made it difficult.
Jul 03, 2017
Jul 03, 2017
This campground was huge and had so much to do. My kids loved it. The location is great and the area was pretty. Clean facilities. Only drawback was the small pull through site. Everyone was crammed together
Jul 03, 2017
We had a great time at the KOA - lots of things to do on the campground and location was great to see other things close by. We did the chuck wagon dinner - horse back riding and ATV at the campground and had a great time
Jul 03, 2017
We camp a lot, so we have a decent frame of reference. This place is amazing! Very busy, but well managed and overflowing with fun. Only slight issue we ran into was logistics because we were a bigger group and there is no cell service. There IS very spotty, slow wi-fi at three hot spots. But we will be back! Horseback riding, Fun Zone, chuckwagon dinner, the list goes on... Five Stars!
Jul 03, 2017
Great resort and well staffed and maintained. The services offered were excellent and fun for the whole family. We really appreciated the front desk staff which was helpful and was ready with tips and suggestions for touring the area.
Jul 03, 2017
Great place to stay! Lots of fun activities to enjoy!
Jul 03, 2017
Great staff. Lots for kids to do
Jul 03, 2017
great facility , lots of activities for the kids
Jul 03, 2017
Jul 03, 2017
We enjoyed our time, but the campsites were WAY too small. We luckily had no immediate neighbors until our last day, but then we heard them talking normally and it seemed very loud at night. Going to the showers/toilets, we had to uncomfortably walk through people's sites because there was no easy, quick, way to the stations. KOA should remove a fourth of the sites and make the rest larger.
Jul 03, 2017
a little tough for big rigs unless you are at the bottom where it is flat.
Jul 03, 2017
Nice campground lots of things to do for kids tentsite was a little small and unlevel slightly expensive
Jul 03, 2017
The campground has many amenities for families staying but we were only in for one night. Not all of he staff is equally informed in the area and the KOA. We asked one employee if there was food at Mount Rushmore and they did not know. Asked another employee where the water hook up was in our sight (they are situated on the posts differently than we are used to) and he didn't know.
Jul 03, 2017
The older bathrooms had mold in the caulk, also the shower area floor had one inch of old standing water kinda of nasty. The sand volleyball area was not exactly sand, I played VB for about an hour my feet were bleeding. The internet service was non existent, being self employed was not able to conduct any business. I would not come back again.
Jul 03, 2017
Great campground if you only have older kids. Not much in the way of activities for younger kids.
Jul 03, 2017
I have never been to a campground that had so many campers move spots as often as this one. We had to move - which was fine- but had a nasty gram on our camper accusing us of staying in the wrong spot. Had to go to the office to straighten it out and still got accused of it while at the office. Ridiculous when the campground had our camper's license plate but didn't bother to check. Very ㈶
Jul 03, 2017
The amenities were very good. Plenty of stuff for kids to do... However, our full hook up site was the worst we've had at any KOA campground. Was on a hill, sewage was above lvl so could not drain properly, big tree limbs hit our RV, and our site was a LONG ways from the amenities and there was mud most of the way. Also, wifi did not work at all. Worst part was it was the most we've ever paid KOA
Jul 03, 2017
Even though there was a mix up with our reservation the staff was prompt to correct it and the manager stopped by our site to offer credit to us. Very clean.
Jul 02, 2017
Although we made a reservation well in advance indicating the size of our RV, we got a very small site not suitable for a 25 ft RV.
Jul 02, 2017
Mostly good, terrible wifi, could not get on even at the designated spots. Very noisy.
Jul 02, 2017
Fantastic location at Mt. Rushmore. Love the restaurants, car rental, access to all the attractions and beauty of the location. We will definitely be back!!
Jul 02, 2017
What a GREAT place!! Fun for all ages.....they have everything you want and need. My only complaint was when we first arrived...we waited to be taken to our site for 25 minutes. They kept taking new arrivals in the first 2 rows.
Jul 02, 2017
Great staff. Great family friendly park
Jul 02, 2017
People could look into the restrooms while you showered, terrible wi-fi connection, to commercialized and not private enough.
Jul 02, 2017
We had a great time, wish we could have stayed longer.
Jul 02, 2017
Loved our stay! Even added a day because we wanted to do everything ❤️
Jul 02, 2017
The staff was wonderful and helpful, the layout for the campsites spacious, beautiful views and great activities for everyone! Loved every minute and want to come back.
Jul 02, 2017
Jul 02, 2017
koa.com
Jul 02, 2017
need better wifi
Jul 02, 2017
I like it very much
Jul 02, 2017
Great location, activities, bathrooms, and entertainment. Downside was "limited" wifi, which didn't work and we needed to have contact with family.
Jul 02, 2017
Nice place, nice people.
Jul 02, 2017
This place is amazing for a campground - this is a fantastic place for kids, but it wasn't too noisy either. Great camping spots near the rodeo grounds - great rodeo! We plan on making plans for a large family reunion at this place. We really liked the college staff and their constant willingness to help and just be friendly!
Jul 02, 2017
We loved our stay at Mount Rushmore! The campground was beautiful, the restrooms were clean, and the staff was not only friendly, but also very helpful. We enjoyed the view while we had a delicious lunch the restaurant. Beautiful location, tons of activities for the young and the old alike. Perfect spot! Mark and April H. Lakewood, Colorado
Jul 02, 2017
My kids loved it so much . We almost didn't want to go any place other than the campground. Thank you!!! You made my year.
Jul 02, 2017
Wonderful place I wish all KOA were like this place
Jul 02, 2017
The overnight fee was a bit expensive, but it was a beautiful, clean, and entertaining campground!!
Jul 01, 2017
My family and I stayed here in mid-June. Awesome camp store, very nice putt-putt course, nice kid's zone, clean bathrooms, convenient location near Black Hills attractions, good restaurant. Poor Wi-Fi.Consider paving roads and heating slide water. DO NOT miss the horseback trail ride and chuck wagon dinner show. It was incredible!! The Metzler Family Geneva, Ohio
Jul 01, 2017
Awesome campground had a hard time getting my kids to leave
Jul 01, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay; the campground has lots of amenities to keep a family entertained when not out site seeing. The only negatives would be the lack of cell phone coverage or Wi-Fi and no cable tv on our site.
Jul 01, 2017
Amenities were great, tent sites are very small! Staff is friendly and helpful!
Jul 01, 2017
No cell or Tv reception. Site was extremely small for our longer Rv. Lots of activities for the grandchildren and they enjoyed themselves.Was not told of extra charge for free activities at check-in_ nor was informed of pet charges when making reservations. Would probably use again if had children with but not with just the two of us.
Jul 01, 2017
The camp was great. The only thing I would recommend is that the bathrooms get cleaned more often. The showers and toilets we're pretty gross at times. Other than that is was great. Lots of activities for kids.
Jul 01, 2017
Bigger sites would be great at least so I'm not eating a foot away from someone's sewer hose
Jul 01, 2017
Pros: location and amenities Cons: unclean bathrooms, cramped campsites and way too much traffic without safe places to walk
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals