Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 26, 2014
We had a wonderful time at Mt. Rushmore KOA! There are so many things to do and activities! We will definitely come back again!
Jul 26, 2014
It was great. Thanks. U may want to leave trash bags daily when u pick up so we could have continued to recycle.
Jul 26, 2014
there does need to be a few more seats in the restrooms, for as many sites and cabins that there are. we love the location and all the wonderful amenities. it was our 3rd time staying at Palmer Gulch! One employee, Jane from Mass. was not as customer friendly as she should be, but the rest of the staff was great.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Great place for kids and close to attractions. The only bad thing is the wifi is terrible otherwise we enjoyed it!!
Jul 26, 2014
Used site 624 cramped,Muddy and you could smell the dumpster behind it. I think I will try another camp ground next time.
Jul 26, 2014
It was great ! We stayed an extra day just because how much fun we were all having !
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
We had a great time . The camp ground are nice and clean and the employes were very helpful and friendly .
Jul 26, 2014
Attendant extremely friendly and helpful, facilities well keep and clean, a lot of activities for families. Only complain the alcohol and cigarette ID purchase require by the manager if you can not differentiate between a 70 year old and a 17 year old them you must may need to find a different job!!!
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 25, 2014
Great place for kids. Disappointed in the wifi, couldn't get service at all.
Jul 25, 2014
Enjoyed the campground . Kids were thrilled with the activities that were available to them. Just a little too much traffic- cars coming and going all the time - made us a little nervous about our little one and getting too close to the road. Also dump site should not be so close to camp sites- pay too much money to have to smell that smell everyday.
Jul 25, 2014
Clean showers , great food , lots of activities.
Jul 25, 2014
So I stayed another night
Jul 25, 2014
There was no internet service at our site or the hotspot indicated on their map. Other than that it was a very nice place.
Jul 25, 2014
We had a great camping site! However, the handicapped accessible shower was out of order the entire time of our 4 night stay. Didn't have kids with us but would be a great spot for kids. Amazingly, by 10 o'clock the campground was very quiet.
Jul 25, 2014
My sister & her family & my family met there (from MT and MN). We had a kamping kabin and a site for a pop-up. We had a total of 7 children between the two families. After a full day of sight-seeing & seeing what the KOA had to offer, our second day was spent completely at the campground. The activities offered were amazing and everyone had a blast. I highly recommend this A+ campsite!
Jul 25, 2014
to many people for the amount of comfort stations that were available. Was unable to use the shower the two times I attempted and the bathrooms ere all ways full. Need more for the number of sites and cabins.
Jul 25, 2014
2 minor complaints NoCell phone service Some more attention to rest room early morning bugs on sinks & floor
Jul 25, 2014
Too busy to be personal. Didn't care that campers were so close to one another that awnings could not be pulled out. Nice activities for kids but water in slide and wading pool very dirty.
Jul 24, 2014
Great location, excellent amenities. But WAY too crowded.
Jul 24, 2014
Just two gents toilette cubicles in a comfort station near Roosevelt with many many people wanting to use the toilet! WiFi hotspots absolutely useless! It's a gigantic RV Park so that the minimal supply of bandwidth is severely clogged by so many people wishing to use the Internet for different purposes and when a kid lgs in and starts streaming videos or games then there's no Internet.
Jul 24, 2014
Great service and great views. People were always friendly and helpful. Being in a valley it was difficult for TV and internet reception, but no need for that with all the sites and things to do.
Jul 24, 2014
I rate your KOA as great. We had a wonderful time. I like to see the water situation get better. Taste very poor. Lots of fun great staff and we will be back next year for a two week stay with my grandson. Thanks everyone. Ron Blasko
Jul 24, 2014
This was a great place with lots of activities for the kids. We stayed here 11 years ago too. The showers were full of gnats so we used our own facilities, but otherwise everything else was great.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
great time and place, it was our 2nd time there thanks.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
The staff was very helpful. The amenities at this KOA are pretty unbelievable (i.e. pool/splash park, volleyball, mini golf, horseback riding, etc). Great location. Only downside is that the tent sites (with electric) are very small but staff as very accommodating helping us find something that would work for our two tents.
Jul 24, 2014
Way too crowded for our tastes. Nice though.
Jul 24, 2014
Advertising "free WiFi", and providing excuses for not having a usable service is known as 'bait & switch'. It is frankly illegal. You should be ashamed of doing that. It is not a technical issue, it is a financial one. Invest in the infrastructure and the problem will go away. Otherwise change your advertising to tell the truth before someone commits to stay there.
Jul 23, 2014
Lots of things for children to do. Need to educate campers not to walk through other's campsites. Need clearer paths for restrooms for cabin campers.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
This koa was not clean and it smelled like sewer the whole entire time. We had to check out 2 days early :(
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
The wii was up but did not work the three days we were there. Tryed about 10 times a day.
Jul 23, 2014
Had a great time, lots of things to do.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Very nice campgrounds and very friendly and nice people on staff. The campground is huge and has lots of amenities for the entire family. Only real complaint would be that the campsites are placed way to close together and have NO privacy. Our fire ring was RIGHT next to the sewer line for the next door camper, kind of gross. Did not use the fire ring.
Jul 23, 2014
Still at a site too small even though I told them my size, springs pop up every where as I am 3 feet from step into a creek. Muddy and weedy. Three managers, lots or sorry but nothing else. Checked out early.
Jul 23, 2014
Great campground for families with children but otherwise very disappointing. Employees are fantastic but bathrooms and showers are dirty. They promise free Wifi but don't have it. Hot tubs waters are full of iron and look and feel grimey.
Jul 23, 2014
Something for everyone! Clean, great staff, quiet at night, great for kids & showers/laundry facilities great. Playgrounds awesome. Would definitely return.
Jul 23, 2014
This place is no typical camping ground. It is a resort for any family. There are tons of activities to do. Make sure you stay there long enough to enjoy all the amenities that are offered
Jul 23, 2014
It was a good stay. Suggest that the birds nest over the camper kitchen be removed. Maybe the birds have moved on.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Not only did the kids have an amazing time so did we :)
Jul 23, 2014
Great family friendly place! Simply rated low because we are not into such crowded places.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.