Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 26, 2016
Nice campground with great views in a great location. The firewood is extremely overpriced and the WiFi is terrible.
Jun 26, 2016
This is my third stay at Palmer's Gulch KOA.It is all about location. We had a group of 18 for five nights and did not have enough time to see everything that we wanted. We will undoubtedly visit again.
Jun 26, 2016
Awesome place that has all the things ya need!
Jun 26, 2016
Beautiful setting with helpful staff and something for everyone!
Jun 26, 2016
It is a parking lot. Noisy neighbors. They changed our site which caused 45 min of wasted time. Did not get 50 amp that paid for and reserved. Kept blowing circuit due to this. Gave a credit back on card at least when complained. Sewer hole was way too far from our unit and uphill. Hard to dump.
Jun 26, 2016
friendly and courteous, wonderful sites with excellent hook ups, scenic and beautiful parking areas, I love the culture, the swimming was fantastic, horseback riding was outstanding, the Cowboys and cowgirls are very helpful, I really really really enjoyed mine in my family way to go KOA. good job
Jun 26, 2016
Loved it - great facilities and nice staff
Jun 26, 2016
Everyone was excellent but Hanna was magnificent in solving a problem our neighbor had with the sewer. She got us moved until things could be cleaned up. Wonderful employee.
Jun 26, 2016
Restrooms and showers very dirty.
Jun 26, 2016
We had a great time. There was so much to do at the campground and I the area that we could have used another day. All the staff was friendly and seemed to make sure everything was fun and clean for the guests.
Jun 26, 2016
The kids loved it! The stables were wonderful! WiFi was a downer and the mini golf course needs some work
Jun 26, 2016
It is a great place for a family, they have alot of activities for children.
Jun 26, 2016
Great Cuck wagon dinner show. Problem with people cutting thru our campsite to get to bathroom. There should have been a public sidewalk so the sites were afforded more privacy. Bus trip to lighting ceremony was good.
Jun 26, 2016
The Sellitti's grave and the staff outstanding.
Jun 26, 2016
The largest KOA I have stayed at; with the Fun zone for kids and a Chuckwagon supper this KOA has it all! It is only a few miles from Mt. Rushmore and many other attractions....we will be back next year!!! Thanks for a great stay!
Jun 25, 2016
Even though we were in the area to tour and view the beautiful scenery, when we got back to the campground, they had many great things to do for the kids. I was told this is the best KOA by a co-worker and so far for our experience, this is true. Thank you!
Jun 25, 2016
Jun 25, 2016
It was a great stay I just wish there were a few things that could have been lower in price, like the fire wood bundles. For the a abundance of wood on the forest floor, $6 a bundle was outrageous and made me not want to enjoy having a fire. Thank you!
Jun 25, 2016
Had plenty to do within the campground. Kids loved the slide and splash pad. Bathrooms were nice but could use some ventilation. As soon as anyone showered it was like a sauna in there the rest of the day. Campground was way too crowded though. We had the unfortunate coincidence of arriving on the same day as the rodeo and the place was a madhouse.
Jun 25, 2016
we did not have space for our tent. Went back to the registration desk for help and the lady walked away. We got a hotel and did not stay at the KOA.
Jun 25, 2016
Great for kids - spaces too tight for large rigs - too many people allowed to each site.Front smells like horse pee, and at night it is a huge smoke pit.
Jun 25, 2016
lots to do for kids. very busy. too few showers for the number of campers. Bathroom and shower floors very dirty.
Jun 25, 2016
Fantastic KOA destination! We've stayed in KOA's in so many states and this park takes the cake. Restaurant, bar, pizza & wing shop, ice cream, horse rides, dune buggies on 35 miles of off road terrain. Did it all and we loved it!! So close to everything in the Black Hills. Come here, you'll love it!
Jun 24, 2016
Wonderful amenities and kind helpful staff. The location was perfect for all of the areas activities.
Jun 24, 2016
Beautiful campground with so much for the kids to do! Showers were really dirty though.
Jun 24, 2016
An amazing campground - very friendly staff - great facilities, many options to entertain yourself between exploring Mt. Rushmore and the surrounding natural beauty.
Jun 24, 2016
one of the best We have ever been to. Staff was nice and friendly. Thank you we will be back.
Jun 24, 2016
A very large campground with a number of activities. The staff were friendly and helpful but the full hookup site we had was in very poor condition, a mud hole, not close to level and the sewer connection was up hill! Other sites were like a parking lot ...for $60 a day and not even cable. It was the poorest KOA experience we've ever had. I cannot recommend this campground when there are others av
Jun 24, 2016
We only stayed one night but would return for more nights! Perfect place for kids and we only had time for a few activities of the many offered! Great facility!
Jun 24, 2016
Jun 24, 2016
Awesome resort. The pools and activities were great for the kids and it was clean and centrally located. We would definitely stay here again!!
Jun 24, 2016
This was perfect place nestled in the Black Hills. Perfect for kids and families. My only complaint is the bath houses needed to be cleaned a little more frequently.
Jun 24, 2016
30 amp power almost caught fire because of faulty wiring, the toaster blew the circuit so we were hot with no AC, entire row without power all day to fix, cars speed through this park and the help seem to have no clue to what is going on so when you ask for help....good luck. I wasted my money on this KOA. The store and reservation people are clueless and seem to be lacking training or managment.
Jun 24, 2016
Rv spot very small. Could not put awning out because of tree. Price to high & did not have sewer hook up.
Jun 23, 2016
Great place with a lot to do. We'll be back.
Jun 23, 2016
Very nice place. Wifi didn't work at all
Jun 23, 2016
Jun 23, 2016
Wonderful campground. We rented an UTV and a car. Great place to get ice cream and coffee too. Rodeo was great. Best KOA
Jun 23, 2016
Pull-through spot was extremely small. Not enough room for my TT and truck. This KOA has some great amenities but it was wall-to-wall people crammed in like sardines.
Jun 23, 2016
Loved the grounds. As a former horse owner thought the stables were a-one! Great kid friendly activities! Only complaint was our site was a bit wet and muddy. Some because of rain but even after no rain still a bit soggy!
Jun 23, 2016
Charged a pet fee upon arrival. Front desk was not able to explain what the dog fee went for we are not charged at better koa. Also camp site was small and poorly maintained
Jun 23, 2016
Jun 23, 2016
Fun place with tons of activities for kids and adults!
Jun 23, 2016
Jun 22, 2016
Jun 22, 2016
Only bad thing I could say is a place this big should take you to your sites other than that it was great
Jun 22, 2016
Everything was awesome. Newer comfort station was excellent. Kids had a great time with all the activities available.
Jun 21, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
Site was pretty small: camper and small SUV did not fit on pad, had to park in grass. Wifi was slow and restricted to small areas--which is an issue here (e.g. weather reports) since there was no cellular service (as in "No Service" was displayed on the phone). That being said: the staff and facilities were great and clean, and the location in the heart of the Mount Rushmore area was fantastic!
Jun 21, 2016
Over rated, high priced, no wifi, spaces on hill side were to short for 31 foot trailer. Staff were great.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals