Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 05, 2014
This is the best KOA we've ever stayed at. We will be recommending it to all of our friends as well as fellow campers we meet. It was very clean, staff were professional and helpful. Amenities were great. We'll be back!
Aug 05, 2014
My family enjoyed our stay! Lots of activities and very family friendly. Cell service was nonexistent so it was hard to do business but we managed and had a great time.
Aug 05, 2014
had an amazing time. loved the palmer gulch Koa. would recommend it to anyone.
Aug 04, 2014
tHE CAMPGROUND IS WELL MAINTAINED, FLOWERS ETC. VERY NICE BUT LOTS OF PLUMBING ISSUES IN THE SHOWERS AND BATHROOMS. HAD TO WAIT WHILE SEVERAL SHOWERS WERE UNUSABLE. PEOPLE WERE GREEAT AND HELPFUL
Aug 04, 2014
Very nice KOA. Only issue I had was with the laundry. The Washing machine I used did not have cold water although I selected it. Because it used hot water there was rust/iron stains on all of my new white shirts. There was a sign about iron in the water that I belatedly read. But living in an area with iron I know that cold water is less likely to have iron stains.
Aug 04, 2014
Wish we could have been given a quieter section of the park. Being at the front of your main drag did not lend itself to a peaceful dinner.
Aug 04, 2014
best KOA ammenities ever
Aug 04, 2014
I enjoyed my time at the KOA. Lots to do. The wood though was pricey and lots of smokey fires. Mud in the shower stalls can't be helped but overall, the showers were not very clean. The coffee shop needs more help and more counterspace. I would increase the size. Our laundry was stained by the washing machines and we used 3 of them.
Aug 04, 2014
400 characters not enough. Store and front were great. Campsites w/ water and electric tiny. Showers dirty and moldy. Bathrooms dirty. Other than the front, worst KOA I've stayed at.
Aug 04, 2014
THE ONLY PLACE TO STAY ( OUR 3RD TIME ) . YOU NEED TO RE-THINK THE RELIGEOUS GROUP DOING SKITS @ THE STAGE. MANY FOUND IT IN-APPROPRIATE !
Aug 04, 2014
We always love staying at the Palmer Gulch KOA! So many things for the kids to do while mom and dad relax!! We love the horses, the pancake tent, the pools but mostly we love the awesome views! Thanks for a great vacation again!
Aug 04, 2014
This is a wonderful KOA! There is so much to do for kids. My children loved the water slide, pools, jumping pillow, climbing wall, mini golf, hayrides and the many other fun things to do here. The KOA also had a group called the Summershiners who planned so many fun, family friendly activities throughout the day and we're always so friendly. I would highly recommend this KOA!!
Aug 04, 2014
great place to camp if you are wanting to see the sights of the area.. the facilties were good but seemed "over used".. alot of campers and not enough accomidations.. but the people were great and with the addition of some more showers and bathrooms this could easily be my favorite KOA!!
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the Rushmore KOA while visiting the Black Hills!
Aug 04, 2014
Great location. Tons of activities. Laundromat could use some maintenance.
Aug 04, 2014
Well, I started to give two stars but that's not really fair because it was just to crowded for us..We did stay in July, the most traveled time of the year.I gave 4 stars because it it a very nice campground. parking for checking in was crazy, we were 4 abreast and 4 deep waiting. an outside check in would solve the problem.
Aug 04, 2014
The campground was much too big for personal preference. The map was very confusing so we struggled to find showers and the swimming pool based on the map. The staff was friendly.
Aug 04, 2014
Bathrooms need to be cleaned more often!
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
We were there along with our daughter and grandson and their families as we attended our oldest sons retirement from the Air Force in Rapid City on Aug. 1st. This was our second year of camping at your KOA. The campground is very well kept and pretty quiet. It was a little annoying hearing the wranglers whooping and hollering early while gathering the horses in.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
We were very disappointed by the poor (non-existent) internet service. We loved the campground for everything else and plan to return with our grandson.
Aug 04, 2014
Overall the facility was a great oasis for the family during our trip to Mt. Rushmore. Our individual site could have used some gravel as well as the roads. Lots of mud when it rained.
Aug 04, 2014
Way too loud, there were manhy koa vehicles and golf carts cruising the park but still loud music was allowed til 11pm that kept us awake and the music started again at 7am, I know it was Sturgis weekend but still you need to consider your other guests and enforce the noise rules. Probably wont stay here again. Tom West
Aug 04, 2014
2 few bathrooms small camp site drain system in middle which made site smaller dirty bathrooms no escort to find site
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Bathroom and showers were under maintained. A pool of water was always in the hallway to bathroom. Ceiling tile in showers needed to be replaced.
Aug 04, 2014
Amazing KOA, fantastic facilities and kids entertainment, it is certainly a holiday destination and was difficult to drag our daughter away! Thank you for reasonably prices laundromat too.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Extremely crowded KOA. Our site was right up against our neighbors. Noisy. When we asked several staff members what to do with our grey water, they asked, your what? You know, our dish water. They asked, you do dishes? We found no facilities for doing dishes. Did love the shower house. Finally one I could stand under the shower head and have enough room to move around.
Aug 03, 2014
Are trip was great and koa made it even better. Everyone was so helpful and kind. And the stable people were excellet . This place was the clean's camp ground I have been in. Beautiful place to stay. We will be back. The Whites from Indiana.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
During our week long stay the pool was filthy and cloudy. The bathrooms were always full of bugs and no where to put your clothes while showering to keep them from the bugs. The campsites were too crowded. The restaurant food was not even close to good. The activities for the children were great though and the staff was great as well.
Aug 03, 2014
I've been here twice now and this is the very best KOA ever!
Aug 03, 2014
This KOA was the best we stayed at. It offered the most activities and facilities. This KOA set our expectations too high to even compare any other site without sounding like we were complaining. If every KOA was this nice we would travel more.
Aug 03, 2014
Received limited wifi. Campground was well maintained and clean with a beautiful setting.
Aug 03, 2014
Awesome stay. very pretty. nice location. bathrooms a little dirty. Water slide water was dirty. over all---an ok stay
Aug 03, 2014
Good service, friendly staff. Lots of activities for families. Some sites are more close together than others. Overall this was a great KOA.
Aug 03, 2014
Nice location, but too big and chaotic for its own good. Cons: Basically two kinds of campsites: Flat and no shade, or shaded with rocky terrain. (Our site had a culvert-fed wash that ran through the middle of our site.) WiFi does not work, period. Bathrooms were a bit gross, even by KOA standards. Pros: Pancake breakfast is cheap and fun. Decent prices in the store, too.
Aug 03, 2014
Nous avons trouvé très désagréable que les gens du secteur des tentes circulent sur notre terrain pour aller au bloc sanitaire. Ce serait intéressant qu'il y ait un passage d'aménager.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
loved everything---but the trail ride girl needs to do some fact checking. Raspberries have been growing wild for hundreds of years, and her horse knowledge is also poor/humorous but not correct.
Aug 03, 2014
Would have gave it a perfect score except for having only one paddle boat for the entire camp ground and got to the last hay rack ride only to be told they were filled. Even after showing up on time!Isn't that why we paid extra for all the activities!? over all great location for all other surrounding attractions
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
The only reason it is not 5 stars and extremely likely is that you advertise WiFi but it does not work, and no cell phone service, in these times people use he internet to plan there day and have a need to be in touch with the outside world, I talked to someone at your desk and they said everything has been tried, we have a car on Mars that we comunicate with, SD much closer, plese don't advertise
Aug 02, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.