Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
a beautiful place to stay with lots of activities for our kids. The location to all activities was perfect.
Aug 08, 2013
We loved our visit to the KOA in Mt. Rushmore!! It is absolutely beautiful! We are new to the whole camping thing and decided to rent an RV for 10 days and travel west. We spent 2 days here and by far it was our favorite of the 6 we stayed at along the way. The only thing I would suggest is the for campground to use nylon type shower curtains - the plastic ones you have collect mold 8(
Aug 08, 2013
i have been to this campground in the past... i enjoyed my experience again
Aug 08, 2013
The only thing you need to work on is the little shop where you sell the ice cream. They have no customer service. You ask them questions, they just point to the wall. Then, when they make the order, they turn their backs on you. They ignore their customers. I work in a summer community. I know how VERY important customers are.
Aug 08, 2013
We paid extra to have water and electric. We didn't have a camper, but we thought that a site with water and electric would be a nicer flat site. Upon arrival we were in site 102. Per my conversation during reservation this site would be big enough for truck, trailer, and two tents... No way! Then we got our site up on the hill. What a joke. Not a flat area there for tents.
Aug 08, 2013
We had a good experience here, the daily pancake breakfasts are worth coming back for.
Aug 08, 2013
Very nice 'resort' like KOA. However, campsites are pretty tight. Very family/kid oriented so if you are looking for a quiet getaway this is NOT for you! This KOA has everything you would want for entertainment : pools; horseback riding; putt, putt golf, etc. AND it's sooo close to MT RUSHMORE. Great restaurant options and MORE! We enjoyed our visit.
Aug 07, 2013
Mud holes, dirty park and site, ash tray dumped in fire ring, no cable (which we thought we had) and no WI-FI (could never get it to connect). Just to mention a few.....
Aug 07, 2013
We were very pleased with our stay! We loved that so many activities for the kids were included in the price and enjoyed a leisurely day at camp after many days on the road. The staff was very responsive to requests and worked hard to maintain the roads and campsites after three heavy rains during our stay. We'll definitely be back if we're in the area!
Aug 07, 2013
Showers VERY dirty with mud/hair in stalls (multiple days with multiple family members). Camp spot poorly located with dump located higher than camp spot (poor sewer drainage). Fire ants, dirt camp spot rather than gravel (big mud puddle with rain). VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Aug 07, 2013
The people at the registration counter and in the camp store were wonderful. The only issue here was the cleanliness of the showers. There is a lot of use, but the showers need to be cleaned on a more regular basis. This place had different entertainment going on nightly which really was a nice touch to our stay
Aug 07, 2013
I was absolutely blown away by this campsite! I have never been to such a clean and beautiful campsite. The showers were awesome and I could not believe how many activities were made available! I would highly recomend this site to anyone and we will for sure be returning to this site! This was our first KOA expierience and it will for sure not be our last! Thank you!
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 07, 2013
juste avant mon sejour chez vous quelqu un a eu une idee de combler les trous sur les stationnement des vr avec des copeau de bois... qu est ce qui arrive lorsque il pleut et que les copeau de bois flotte sur le terrain des vr... ce n est pas une idee brillante et les terrain de stationnement pour vr devraient etre un peu plus eleve avec du cruchstone et non de la terre rouge qui devient de la bou
Aug 07, 2013
The campsites were extremely narrow,I was told my site was 35' long, but could not park my Jeep Cherokee and 17' trailer on the site. I've been coming to this campground since I was a kid, I'm now 44. It was interesting to see the progress, I appreciate all the kids stuff, I have a 6 and 8 year old. I realize this is a huge tourist area, $70 seemed high, at $70 I expected to be wooed, I wasn't.
Aug 06, 2013
The scenery was great. A nice campground with a lot to offer for the kids to do. The only negative is that the swimming pool and waterslide were a green color. One day the pools were a nice blue and the next a green color.
Aug 06, 2013
We have stayed a number of KOA's. To be honest, we only stay at KOA's when it's easy for an overnight trip when we are doing a long trip. Or we stay when there is not much in the area. I looked up the KOA when we were planning our Mount Rushmore trip, and it looked nice. Once we were there, we were very surprised. It was even more beautiful in person. We loved it there!!!
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
beautiful location with lots of amenities and activities! Showers could have been cleaner.
Aug 06, 2013
This campground is quite pricey for adults only camping. It is much more suited to families with children. We will probably never stay there again.
Aug 06, 2013
Great location. Great service and despite it being a very busy (sturgis) weekend, the park was quiet.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
We loved the water slide and horse riding. If you're not a motorcycle fan avoid the first week of Aug as the camp was " reving" from 7am to 10pm along with the rest of the Black Hills
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Never seen so many campers crammed in, there were people with tents in what we'd call ditches along the road! Sites have NO ROOM. The pool and waterslide were great but were in serious need of cleaning. Hire a CO to clean the bath mats in the public area - they are covered in dirt and mold - or at least soak them in bleach once a week! WIFI & Phones didn't work at campsites. Need more sewer sites
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
The noise from the j ump house all day every day ruined the experience. You have another bounce area. The jump house is not needed. More bathrooms would also be a plus.
Aug 06, 2013
Great location. Muddy sites. Lousy WIFI
Aug 06, 2013
Our stay was great. The pool water was dirty. Probably not enough chlorine. Wifi was poor. Otherwise we had fun. Thx
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
back 2 yrs in a row! We love it here. so much to do with the kids! only complaint we had. was every time the kids rented bikes we had to sign a waiver. they need to have a one time fee and waiver for 3 or more night stay, perfect family vacation!!
Aug 05, 2013
Best KOA we have stayed at!! Beautiful facility. Beautiful scenery. Helpful staff. Best thing is that most of the amenities are included in camping fee. That is SO much easier than having to pay for things individually. I would HIGHLY recommend this KOA to anyone!!
Aug 05, 2013
no way to communicate with family no phone service no internet
Aug 05, 2013
Unfortunately, we were somewhat disappointed with our stay at Mt Rushmore KOA. The problem existed with the cleanliness of the washrooms, everything else was beyond excellent. With a campground of this size, people unfortunately feel anonymous and believe they can act like pigs and it shows in the state of the showers. There must be a better cleaning schedule devised to overcome this behaviour.
Aug 05, 2013
The water in the wading pool, water slide and the Hot Tub did not appear to be very clean. This campground is too large for my tastes.
Aug 05, 2013
Our family really enjoyed our stay at the Hill City KOA. My husband called it 'the Disney World of camping'. We went on the Chuckwagon dinner and horseback riding. Our kids rave about the horses saying it was their favorite thing on the whole trip. We have stayed at many camp locations and some other KOA's and this one was the best! Thanks.
Aug 05, 2013
Friendly & helpful staff. Wonderful amenities.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
We reserved a secluded site with trees, we ended up in the middle of the grounds. We had a septic line from a neighboring RV attach under our pcinic table. We were 10' from neighbors. The fire pit was unusable due to the fact that it was 5' from our camper. The showers and bathrooms were disgusting. There is Wifi but only near the main building (good luck connecting though).
Aug 05, 2013
Great campground for families
Aug 05, 2013
Dirty bathrooms, dirty showers. Some showers worked well while others did not work, flooded, etc. One shower had just been "cleaned" & it had a bottle cap & cotton swab on floor. BUT lots of great activities for the kids and family. Stores and kids play activities are open most of the day late into the night which was great and different than most campgrounds w/ limited hours. Great location.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Need to work on reservations better had to move 3 times because you did not get my reservation right when we called .
Aug 05, 2013
Too Expensive, Sewer connections not placed within reach, no WiFI, no cable TV.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.