Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 11, 2015
This was our first time staying at this KOA- I was very impressed with the staff who went out of their way to make us comfortable. The activities for our kids was also plus! If we are ever in the Hills area again- you'll be seeing us again!
Jul 11, 2015
A beautiful resort, with plenty to do. Only downfall was very limited internet access. But, the idea of camping and relaxing is to become disconnected.
Jul 11, 2015
Great campground. Wasn't to excited about the $10.00 a day extra charge for campground activities. They sais it was for wine tasting and pool charge and entertainment charge. I feel that should be included in the daily camping rate. Need to fix the GPS address brings you in he wrong way.
Jul 11, 2015
The wifi and cellphone service could be a little better.
Jul 11, 2015
Loved it so much we decided to stay longer! We loved the atmosphere; beautiful flowers everywhere, and picturesque mountains. Numerous thing for evertone to enjoy. Loved the Hill City Slickers, the water slide, TurtleTown food, and jumping pillow. The only disappointment was my daughter was too young to go on a horse/trail ride. You must be six. Plenty of other things to keep you entertained.
Jul 11, 2015
The price was way too much for what we received. Our site included a patch of grass approximately 6 feet by 6 feet; not even big enough for our tent. Also, the showers and bathrooms were not clean. On the positive, there were a lot of kids activities available.
Jul 11, 2015
Very small camping area
Jul 11, 2015
WiFi advertised but did not work. Have stayed at this KOA two times previously and our phones worked and my hotspot worked. This time no phone signal and my hotspot did not work so counted in the KOA's WiFi which did NOT work at all. Had to drive a few miles away and use my Sprint Hotspot. Will NOT stay at this KOA and will no longer recommend to friends and colleagues.
Jul 11, 2015
The campground has a lot to offer kids and adult and that was great. As it is one of the largest campgrounds in the country, it would have been nice to have more staff on call during the lead up to July 4. I spent a lot of time waiting in line to check in and later to ask questions. But the staff was terrific, the facilities were clean, the pool was fantastic for the kids, and--wow--a wine shop?
Jul 11, 2015
Loved our stay! Staff was great ;)
Jul 11, 2015
Our family has stayed here before and overall we really like this campground. There are tons of fun activities for the whole family. Our only complaint is that some of the campground sites are extremely small and crowded right next to someone else's. This time our fire pit was literally <6 ft from the designated camper spot, and was on a steep incline so couldn't get chairs by it, etc.
Jul 11, 2015
Promised specific site - changed at checkin. Said they don't promise sites so someone at the 800 number told me lies. Was promised room for a tent plus a popup but there definitely was not - we all had to squeeze into the popup for 5 days. My first stay at a KOA; campground was good but not sure I will try KOA again - can't believe anything I'm told. 400 chars is not enough for this comment!!!
Jul 11, 2015
This is a true resort, not just a campground. Plenty for kids to do. Our area of the campground, which looked newly developed, was quite soggy during our stay, reportedly due to a spring nearby.
Jul 11, 2015
Wonderful location,right in the middle of everything. Loved seeing the horses Would really be nice if there was cell reception for emergencies. Also need internet and tv service
Jul 11, 2015
There was plenty to do there. We had fun. Yet some were not very friendly.
Jul 11, 2015
If you have young children this is the only place you should stay. They will be so busy and happy here. The campground is a great location to Mount Rushmore. They offer shuttles, car rentals, horseback riding. Everything you can think of. The spaces are tight, it is more like a city and there is no cell service and really no wifi even though they say there is. There's not. It is great for a
Jul 10, 2015
No tv no wifi poorly maintained sights
Jul 10, 2015
Nice clean park. Lots to do and location is great for many of the local attractions.
Jul 10, 2015
It really made me mad that you advertised free wifi when, over the course of a week, I was never able to connect. Would have been fine had we known previously, but I had planned for connection and no one could help. Change your website! There is no wifi!!!!!
Jul 10, 2015
We stayed with our daughter and 2 granddaughters and had a blast! The girls loved all of the activities and especially the horses! The bathrooms and grounds are very clean! Would definitely go back!
Jul 10, 2015
I am coming back. I didn't get to do everything and I really want to. Thank you so much.
Jul 10, 2015
Poor Customer Service
Jul 10, 2015
Most overpriced, overstated and under delivered mess of a site I have ever stayed in. I would maybe call this a patio site, but no way would I call it deluxe. Was really looking forward to this campground, but now would never stay again.
Jul 10, 2015
Had a wonderful time as always. When (Jack) took us to the campsite, as I was attempting to back in, the neighbor lady and kids came out and were extremely belligerent.Her son or grandson said to me,"Yea, I hope you like the looks of our back window". I asked to be moved to another site. Sara (front desk) and Jack worked it out and moved me away from them. Thank you
Jul 10, 2015
This campgrounds has a lot of activities and is in a great location. We loved the pool and splash pad and the breakfast. Other activities cost too much money. Our site had very little tree cover and so it got really hot. Would have been nice to have a better recommendation from the reservations line when I reserved the specific site (and paid extra for the site selection).
Jul 10, 2015
We are handicapped and put up on a hill that we could not walk back up so we stayed in the rv. We rented one of their cars by calling and I had asked for the car for 24 hours no problem the girl said on the phone. We were then charged for two days. We were charged for a service dog. And we were charged for an activity fee of $20 that we were neve told about
Jul 10, 2015
Nice but we could not find a phone number to contact the campground directly with a question before the stay.
Jul 10, 2015
Standing water draws mosquitos
Jul 10, 2015
Noise partiers in the 2 sites behind ours until 2:00 am. Swearing drinking and playing loud ball games. No security to be found, believe they may have been seasonal employees. I also videoed some of their activities. But to what end?
Jul 10, 2015
pet park, inch of water to walk pets, wifi poor,no cable no cell service, muddy. To pricey for these inconveniences.
Jul 10, 2015
This is not a campground, it's a small city. Over priced, and not as advertised. Wifi did not function for two days. No cell service in the area either. Shuttle service only to Rushmore or Crazy Horse, nothing else. Pool was ok, hot tubs were nasty. Bathrooms were just ok. Mini golf was a complete joke, even my 6 yo said it was terrible. Pancakes tent was rip-off. Laundry dryers only 7 min not 11.
Jul 10, 2015
Huge site with tons of kids activities. But as with many mega destinations some details are neglected. Front desk was understaffed and impersonal, bathrooms are hall closet sized, driveways muddy and uneven, wifi was useless and no cell svc. That said, the scenery is gorgeous and the kids amenities extensive. If you don't expect to the VIP treatment and have kids this is a pretty awesome KOA.
Jul 09, 2015
This is the BEST KOA we have ever stayed at. Lots to do and great staff.
Jul 09, 2015
Nice KOA. Very crowded,but plenty of bathrooms and showers. Alot of activities to do for kids. Pancake breakfast is a serious bargain and good to eat. Mt. Rushmore is 10 minutes away, tram available for $6 per person. Beats finding parking.
Jul 09, 2015
The best thing is they had a lot of great activities for the kids. It's huge so we had to walk a ways or drive to the pool but it was a neat place for a walk or morning run. I only showered once and it was either scalding or freezing but I don't know of anyone else that had this issue. It's a great location if you're going to see all the sights.
Jul 09, 2015
Great
Jul 09, 2015
My kids had a great time except for the day when there was no electricity-it was our last full day and they were not able to swim, jump, get ice cream or fudge...there was a lot closed, which is understandable but I kind of feel like I should get a partial reimbursement since we were not able to use all the facilities. The only thing we could do was a trail ride(expensive). Generators needed. Thx
Jul 09, 2015
The campground is nice. The facilities are nice. The activities are good. BUT we were totally disconnected from our families because of the total lack of phone service and Internet. No texts, calls, messages, wifi.... Not even TV. We would likely stay elsewhere next time.
Jul 09, 2015
We enjoyed our stay so much that we stayed an extra day. Our son enjoyed the activities at the fun zone and the horseback riding. Hannah and Christina were our guides and did a fabulous job!!
Jul 09, 2015
We had an excellent time! You had everything there for parents and children to have a wonderful time! My children loved riding the horses.
Jul 08, 2015
our family loved the "family" focus at your campgrounds. our younger campers were safe to go to the pool, jumping tent or anyplace on the grounds. We had grandchildren in their 20's down to 6 years old and they all loved our family reunion thanks in part to the wonderful facility. We plan to come back again in 2 years! Grandma Eliason
Jul 08, 2015
Huge campground, lots to do within while touring the area. Sites are large, great friendly staff
Jul 08, 2015
Very family friendly and had great service. Definitely will go back.
Jul 08, 2015
Would had been nice to have some cell service in case of emergencies. Other than that, it was the best koa we've stayed at yet.
Jul 08, 2015
Had a nice time. Our granddaughter loved it. So much for her to do.
Jul 08, 2015
This KOA is awesome! Great location to everything. There is no internet or phone service until you are in the next town but there is plenty to keep you busy. The pizza place is great and fudge shop fantastic! The all you can eat pancakes are good but the service is not that good- If you have any allergies they can't tell you what's in their food? Stay was great, I would return.
Jul 08, 2015
You need to have a better way so family's can have sites together. I included a note on my reservations that I wanted 2 sites together and when we checked in they said there were no sites together yet the site next to mine had new campers in it almost every day or was empty the time we were there. The check in person was not willing to move someone or help us in any other way. We camped for 5 days
Jul 08, 2015
Enjoyed our 2 overnight stay, very well organised for the size of the site Thank you
Jul 08, 2015
We enjoyed the stay at My. Rushmore KOA. However, the 2 issues we had were, our campsite was too small and narrow for our camper and there were no bathroom/shower facilities on the hill where our campsite was located, they were all where the larger campsites were located. We had to drive to use the facilities.
Jul 08, 2015
We had a blast, met so many wonderful people and our grandkids had so much fun. We will be back and tell others about your KOA!!!!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.