Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 30, 2016
Lots to do and keep the family entertained.
Jul 30, 2016
Ce camping est une usine, trop de monde, emplacements trop petits et serrés, aucune intimité. Même pas de wifi qui fonctionne alors que c'est un minimum. Faites un effort pour régler ce problème de wifi et empilez moins les gens !
Jul 30, 2016
This was the best camp ground we have stayed yet! There was something to do for the whole family. Great facility's
Jul 30, 2016
Stay was great however when we made the reservation we asked for a pull through and got a back in on top of a hill-😒 For a senior not very comfortable with backing a camper that did not sit well. Great pools, activities, location. Might have more selection of menu at Ponderosa! Loved Papa's pancakes! Great idea and great way to start the day!
Jul 30, 2016
We loved the campground and all of its amenities!
Jul 30, 2016
we had only one night reservation but wanted to stay 3 nights we were told we may need to move every day but we could stay that was accepted but it sure used up a lot of our time the camp is great for famlies. the laudry rooms had a lot of broken machines.
Jul 30, 2016
Wow, more of a resort than a campground. We could have stayed at just the campground and enjoyed the many amenities and been very happy. Not sure the spots with concrete pads / picnic tables are worth it as they are close the front, no shade and are very tightly packed in. Be sure to double check the address on your GPS so you don't get directed to the back service road like we did!
Jul 30, 2016
Jul 30, 2016
Was so busy going to see everything else that we didn't have the time to enjoy what this site has to offer! So many different activities and amenities that we are looking forward to coming back and using this as our hang out.
Jul 30, 2016
This was a fun resort to stay at but there were a lot of people there.
Jul 30, 2016
very well located to tour the black hills and surrounding areas of Rushmore and custer.
Jul 30, 2016
Great experience. Lots of fun things to do for all ages. Great staff. Highly recommend.
Jul 30, 2016
Over-all, this is a great campground. It is too bad a few things leave negative thoughts about our stay. For Pete's Sake, level out the drive-ways and haul in gravel. Recent rains caused water to stand on the campground streets and campsites. Standing water was under our vehicle, and in the pull-through sites the three days we were there. Pot Holes also were filled with water, making rough roads.
Jul 30, 2016
We found this park too large for our liking. Pool slide was not working. Breakfast at the Ponderosa restaurant was sub par, except for the biscuits and gravy. Shuttle to Mt. Rushmore was a convenient redeeming quality. Ice cream stand closed just before the first bus arrived back from the Mt. Water was highly chlorinated, would not recommend for drinking.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize about the pool slide we had it off-line for one day for maintenance, bummer it was the day you were there. Our drinking water is perfectly safe and falls within all standards. We are glad you enjoyed the shuttle.
Jul 29, 2016
Great location to the tourist sites. Activities for kids are fantastic. Wifi doesn't exist despite supposed hot spots. Full hookup sites are too close and muddy. Still worth the stay.
Jul 29, 2016
It was great. We had a problem with the ice cream lady and the mgr went to work and made us 100 percent satisfied. Way better than I had expected. All of the employees were fantastic and made us feel so welcome and comfortable. See ya next year .
Jul 29, 2016
Our wonderful time was marred by the actions of one of your employees who SCREAMED at my sister for trying to allow traffic to flow around the dump station. She was really shook up over just trying to be kind. :(
Jul 29, 2016
Jul 29, 2016
It't great for families with kids. Activities that kids will want to do over and over again. Unfortunately it didn't work for us since we are in need of either cell service or reliable wifi due to our business we conduct while traveling. There is no cell service since it's located in a gulch and the 3 hotspots are a joke. No reliable connection to the outside world. Bigger isn't always better!
Jul 29, 2016
We had a great time in your campground. You could improve on your wifi
Jul 29, 2016
great resort for kids and lots to do for them. my 4 year old and 21 month old absolutely loved the water slide and pool. biggest negative was no WiFi or cell reception. unable to connect with the WiFi anywhere on the resort. we had an emergency and couldn't call anyone using our cells which use at&t data.
Jul 29, 2016
Additional washroom need for campground C and D
Jul 29, 2016
Nice park.
Jul 29, 2016
Lots to do for a family but priciest campground we have ever been in!
Jul 28, 2016
This KOA has it all EXCEPT WIFI. Lots of fun for the kids and roomy sites. In an area with no cell service they should provide better WIFI.
Jul 28, 2016
Great place, lot of activities, kids loved it. Beautiful grounds. Only negative is do not count on wi-fi.
Jul 28, 2016
Great place!
Jul 28, 2016
This is the second time that I have stayed at this KOA. There has been many changes made since I stayed there.
Jul 28, 2016
Given wrong spot number. Made to move spots in a hail storm. Tried to remedy situation. Took 4 trips to the office to finally get someone to assist us. Park is overfull and the spots are small and crowded. I would NOT stay here again.
Jul 27, 2016
We had a family reunion at this KOA, and stayed 7 nights. It was a good place for the reunion EXCEPT for the lack of a useable internet connection. Internet access was non-existent, even at or near the so-called "hot-spots". A bare-bones WiFi system such as this is no longer acceptable to many of us who use it for banking, bill paying, reservations, e-mail, etc.
Jul 27, 2016
this is a perfect place for families--so many kid friendly activities. I probably would have rated it higher if it had WiFi
Jul 27, 2016
bathrooms always dirty. And showers . Left a day early!Our campsite was on gravel .No grass. Very disappointed!!!!!!
Jul 27, 2016
This Park is set up for kids of all ages. It needs some TLC in the kid zone but it worked. If you want a quiet park do not come here. Something is always moving horse drawn wagons, tractors, kids and Rigs. Plus the horses love leaving surprises, it normally gets cleaned up after a while.
Jul 27, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
Enjoyed our stay very much! So much to do! Wish a cell phone booster was installed in the campground. Overall a near perect facility.
Jul 27, 2016
too crowded ad noisy
Jul 27, 2016
Fantastic great people very helpful been there three times this was parexcelant
Jul 27, 2016
My daughter enjoyed the horse ride very much. All of your employees were very nice. However, you've created a tiny version of Branson Mo. Near Mt. Rushmore. It's noisy, chaotic, and opposite of what camping should be. Between the family's watching big screen tvs outside their mobile homes & waking to the sound of pressure washers st 6am...never again.
Jul 26, 2016
Excellent campgrounds and staff. Well kept and maintained.
Jul 26, 2016
Lots for kids to do and the whole family.
Jul 26, 2016
I am surprised, this is suppose to be a resort location. I will never go here again because: The site wasn't nice The bathroom stalls were so small you had to stand in the toilet to open the stall door The resturants were filthy The camping site was downwind from the horses it smelled like a barn The staff was unhelpful when I asked to be moved my family has horse allergies.
Jul 26, 2016
This is a wonderful place to stay if you like the open country and the smell of the clean fresh air, the campgrounds has everything you could possibly need while staying, great experience 🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸
Jul 26, 2016
Great Campground. Pool was a little cold. Wi fi not so good. Loved the store.
Jul 26, 2016
Anyone with kids should stay here but would not recommend for a quiet evening by the campfire. Sites were great but rules/regulations were not enforced. Neighbor was washing his RV - water running down the street. Across street was a 5th wheel, 2 tents and 4 vehicles on one site. Staff was excellent. Kudos to grounds keeper. Flowers/etc beautiful and well tended. Second time I have stayed.
Jul 26, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
Great accommodations and the staff were very friendly at check in. Everything was just right! Thank you!
Jul 26, 2016
Great location and wonderful and helpful people. It's a great place to camp with lots of activities for the whole family.
Jul 26, 2016
Enjoyed our stay,
Jul 26, 2016
I love the bazillion flowers I saw all over the camp site!! It was hot but God gave me an opportunity to use one of two beautiful pools. We read, chatted with neighbors, had fudge, pizza and ice cream and explored the camp site. This is our second year and I am still raving about it to all our neighbors back home in Nebraska. Way to go South Dakota...it was our home away from home for five days:
Jul 26, 2016
Our stay was a bit disappointing. The space 135 had numerous issues. We had to run the water for 10-12 minutes to get rid of the rusty brown color. The Cable connection was broken. For first timers I suggest your host who guides a camper to their sight ask if one has questions before driving off. The men's shower/bathroom close to 135 was nasty and in need of remodeling especially the showers.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals