Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
We were very disappointed by the poor (non-existent) internet service. We loved the campground for everything else and plan to return with our grandson.
Aug 04, 2014
Overall the facility was a great oasis for the family during our trip to Mt. Rushmore. Our individual site could have used some gravel as well as the roads. Lots of mud when it rained.
Aug 04, 2014
Way too loud, there were manhy koa vehicles and golf carts cruising the park but still loud music was allowed til 11pm that kept us awake and the music started again at 7am, I know it was Sturgis weekend but still you need to consider your other guests and enforce the noise rules. Probably wont stay here again. Tom West
Aug 04, 2014
2 few bathrooms small camp site drain system in middle which made site smaller dirty bathrooms no escort to find site
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Bathroom and showers were under maintained. A pool of water was always in the hallway to bathroom. Ceiling tile in showers needed to be replaced.
Aug 04, 2014
Amazing KOA, fantastic facilities and kids entertainment, it is certainly a holiday destination and was difficult to drag our daughter away! Thank you for reasonably prices laundromat too.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Extremely crowded KOA. Our site was right up against our neighbors. Noisy. When we asked several staff members what to do with our grey water, they asked, your what? You know, our dish water. They asked, you do dishes? We found no facilities for doing dishes. Did love the shower house. Finally one I could stand under the shower head and have enough room to move around.
Aug 03, 2014
Are trip was great and koa made it even better. Everyone was so helpful and kind. And the stable people were excellet . This place was the clean's camp ground I have been in. Beautiful place to stay. We will be back. The Whites from Indiana.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
During our week long stay the pool was filthy and cloudy. The bathrooms were always full of bugs and no where to put your clothes while showering to keep them from the bugs. The campsites were too crowded. The restaurant food was not even close to good. The activities for the children were great though and the staff was great as well.
Aug 03, 2014
I've been here twice now and this is the very best KOA ever!
Aug 03, 2014
This KOA was the best we stayed at. It offered the most activities and facilities. This KOA set our expectations too high to even compare any other site without sounding like we were complaining. If every KOA was this nice we would travel more.
Aug 03, 2014
Received limited wifi. Campground was well maintained and clean with a beautiful setting.
Aug 03, 2014
Awesome stay. very pretty. nice location. bathrooms a little dirty. Water slide water was dirty. over all---an ok stay
Aug 03, 2014
Good service, friendly staff. Lots of activities for families. Some sites are more close together than others. Overall this was a great KOA.
Aug 03, 2014
Nice location, but too big and chaotic for its own good. Cons: Basically two kinds of campsites: Flat and no shade, or shaded with rocky terrain. (Our site had a culvert-fed wash that ran through the middle of our site.) WiFi does not work, period. Bathrooms were a bit gross, even by KOA standards. Pros: Pancake breakfast is cheap and fun. Decent prices in the store, too.
Aug 03, 2014
Nous avons trouvé très désagréable que les gens du secteur des tentes circulent sur notre terrain pour aller au bloc sanitaire. Ce serait intéressant qu'il y ait un passage d'aménager.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
loved everything---but the trail ride girl needs to do some fact checking. Raspberries have been growing wild for hundreds of years, and her horse knowledge is also poor/humorous but not correct.
Aug 03, 2014
Would have gave it a perfect score except for having only one paddle boat for the entire camp ground and got to the last hay rack ride only to be told they were filled. Even after showing up on time!Isn't that why we paid extra for all the activities!? over all great location for all other surrounding attractions
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
The only reason it is not 5 stars and extremely likely is that you advertise WiFi but it does not work, and no cell phone service, in these times people use he internet to plan there day and have a need to be in touch with the outside world, I talked to someone at your desk and they said everything has been tried, we have a car on Mars that we comunicate with, SD much closer, plese don't advertise
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Original campsite #607 was unsuitable, no where to even sit around th campfire, we were given one other spot to move to. Did not appreciate the extra $10added to the daily fee without even bing told about it. I'd prefer to chose which activiies i would pay extra for. Also didnt appreiciate the horse wranglers making so much noise at 615am bring the horses in, i was trying to sleep.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
1. Slide not being watched by workers. Girl sat against the railing eating lunch. Kids ran into each other at bottom of slide. 2. Bathhouse closest to office is awful. Should be bulldozed and replaced. 3. Grass was mowed in premium site area and not blown off cement. Campers were left with grass to track into rvs.
Aug 02, 2014
The grounds were very clean and well maintained. Lots of activities for everyone from kids to adults to do. All the employees were very friendly and helpful showing us to our site. I would like to have better WIFI at campsite. The only time I would have liked a little more help was when I asked one employee at the desk about the crappy TV reception. He said it can get that way and it was not full.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
If you plan to do a lot of sight seeing while in the area, this place is not worth the money because you will not get your money's worth with all of the activities at this campground. The shower/bathroom facilities were less than desirable.
Aug 02, 2014
Bathrooms filthy. Both pools and water slide filthy. Not usable. Lots of wonderful amenities that take the attention away from the basics required to be comfortable. Florals beautiful and saw a gentlemen tending to them daily. Yet even at 5 am the bathrooms just intolerable.
Aug 02, 2014
We had a lot of fun and really enjoyed the camp ground!
Aug 02, 2014
Great campground..been there many times..you do however need to get your wireless internet fixed...if you don't I won't be back.
Aug 02, 2014
Loved your campground. It was very well kept - stayed in a delux pull through with a motorhome. Loved all the conveniences....
Aug 02, 2014
we have stayed at this KOA before. we were disappointed in the condition of shower house this stay. shower curtains had mildew on them and smelled like mildew. 2 showers out of service most of stay, 1 leaked so badly large puddle in middle of hallway at all times, 1 had zero water pressure. also everyone should be able to have fun but the ATV's running around half the night got really old listenin
Aug 02, 2014
Absolutely a the greatest, cleanest, funnest campground!
Aug 02, 2014
We just returned from our five day stay at your park and the kids are still smiling! The activities for kids were amazing and so much fun they didn't want to leave! The valley that the campground is located in is really beautiful and well laid out. My favorite part of the park was the friendly staff. Everyone was helpful and kind. We are already planning our return trip for next year!Thank you!
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Fun amenities, could be cleaner and pools/hot tub were out of order some times. Close camping sites, felt we would have liked more space. A bit rundown, with a little more work, could be much nicer. Activity schedule was fun for the kids. Staff were friendly. Bathrooms needed daily cleaning, soap was out frequently. Liked the wine tasting.
Aug 02, 2014
It was a great to time at your campground but the showers needed much attention and in need of remodeling. The odor in the showers from mold-mildew is overpowering.
Aug 02, 2014
Campground was nice, but crowded. If you have children, they can literally stay busy all day, with activities, the pool, bouncy tramp, and other things. Our slot, even though we paid for full service, was very small, and on a gravel road. Reception of cell phones is sporadic, at best, and hotspots were not so hot. Staff was wonderful, and very accommodating.
Aug 02, 2014
Lots of fun activities for kids and very friendly staff. Bathrooms could be cleaned more often.
Aug 02, 2014
We only stayed one night to check the campground out for a future stay with the grandkids. There are lots of activities for all ages. It's a little pricey for an overnight stay without taking advantage of the extra amenities.
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
We have gone to this KOA twice and will continue coming back because of the wonderful experience we always have. My kids have the time of their lives.
Aug 01, 2014
Big campground with many activities and amenities, would never have to leave campground! Wi-fi not good, but they told you that when you checked in. Two pools for kids. Beautiful setting and close proximity to Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.