Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Absolutely the best KOA we have ever stayed at. The only negative was the poor wifi which may be due to the location ,
Jul 02, 2014
This is a very large KOA with lots of families, but still very quiet, staff always had a smile, very helpful. Many activities, we loved our stay. Close to many tourist attractions.
Jul 02, 2014
Good amenities and kids activities. Our spot was noisy, dusty, small, worst we've had in 30 yrs of camping. 10 year old grandson got stuck in the shower twice as the big wooden doors swell up and stick. Everyone was complaining about the doors.
Jul 02, 2014
Large campground with plenty of activities. Very noisy in the central part of the campground, especially around the maintenance building. Thought atv rental cost was too high.
Jul 02, 2014
We stayed for two nights and rented a car from the KOA. That was convenient and reasonable in order to drive to the local destinations. Was a nice campground.
Jul 01, 2014
Had planned a family reunion the previous year. Had many problems from the start to the very end. Everything went wrong from planning and reservations all the way down to green firewood. Would never recommend for a large group.
Jul 01, 2014
We were part of a reunion and had our camping reservations for several months. Those of us who had campsites were very pleased with the sites and camping facilities.
Jul 01, 2014
Still noisy after 10 pm. Quieted down after 11. Would do better enforcement of quiet hours.
Jul 01, 2014
Had two night here and the facilities were excellent. Proximity to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse Monuments make it a must stay.
Jul 01, 2014
First time camping at a KOA. Loved all the activities offered but didn't like that the sites were on top of each other.
Jul 01, 2014
Awesome time! Super fun horeseback ride, and covered wagon cookout. Kids didn't want to leave the campground due to waterslide, pool, inflatables, and all the other activities. Morning pancakes were great. Clean your bathrooms more and the stay would have been 100% perfect.
Jul 01, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay and all the family freindly amenities. Our campsite was very small. To the point where our car was parked maybe 2 feet from our picnic table. The fire pit only being several feet from the picnic table. This made for a lot of smoke infiltrating the eating/prepping area. There was no escaping it. Also there was no shade. The showers could have been maintained better.
Jul 01, 2014
it was Awesome! I wish the other KOA's would follow your footsteps. great fun!!
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Too big, not. Personal, frist AID needed but no help offered, inadequate for foreigners from outside the US!
Jul 01, 2014
Great place. Awesome stay. We extended our stay twice, moved campsites twice, but was worth it.
Jul 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Great facility, however we feel that management needs to be more involved in the day-to-day operations. We had a family reunion there recently with many reservations made in Feb. However, when we got there, one cabin had been given to someone else, even though it was reserved for us and checked on the day before. Also, a dirty cabin was given to some in our party with nothing else available.
Jun 30, 2014
Grea place! Conveinient to all the major attractions and the staff was tremendous. Only negatives were the shower house next to our area being cleaned too early in AM so we had to trek to another one; Hot tib in pool area looked very dirty; lack of abilility to comunicate with the outsoiide world (also a +)
Jun 30, 2014
We had a great time at Mount Rushmore KOA. this KOA can be a vacation stay all together. Many things to do at this KOA. Staff was always helpful, and greeted you every time when you entered the door.
Jun 30, 2014
Nice place, however they missed our request to have our two parties located together. The staff tried to correct the problem but said they couldnt find two sites together. Funny, because we had open spots next to us both nights. This put us walking clear across the campground to have meals with our family. Otherwise, great place in a beautiful location. Well situated to visit Rushmore.
Jun 30, 2014
Disney version of KOA-lots to do. They kids has so much to do. The pancake b'fast was super fun, nice shopping, chuck wagon diner a score, all and all we loved it!!!!
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Clean, beautiful and close to everything. Flower pots everywhere
Jun 30, 2014
I could say a lot of different things here, but really the words of my 5 year old daughter sum up this campground best, "Mommy, this place must REALLY love kids!" We had a great stay. Thanks so much we will certainly be back!
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Everything was wonderful and lots to do for the kids. I would recommend that the shower facilities be checked more frequently as our bathroom was nasty with people not flushing and plugging toilets. Also would recommend a sign stating to flush by pushing the top button as most walk away thinking it is automatic. Otherwise very nice!
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Awesome campground for our family. Kids had such a great time with all the kid amenities. Showers were ok but bathrooms were very clean and well kept. We would definitely bring the family back for another camping trip!!
Jun 30, 2014
As always....it was great!
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
The sites are small and not well maintained. We have 5thwheel camper & a slide the site was small and was on a slope. It was a muddy mess do to all of the rain so adding more pea gravel in pot holes. We did ask for another site but no one showed up to take us there. We found it the next morning and it was smaller. The noise level from weddings was loud which other campers were talkin overthe music
Jun 30, 2014
Everything was very convenient. Our only problem was that we did not see the little sign on the bulletin board warning about iron spots in the laundry room until our clothing was already in the washer. Needless to saw our white clothing was all stain and some unwearable. Not a good thing when you are traveling across the country. 😞
Jun 30, 2014
Staff was friendly. Campsite was smaller than expected and womens bathroom only had 2 stalls that weren't out of order the whole weekend. I probably should have said something but didn't. Otherwise, pools, playground, pancakes were great! Very nice Bartender in the bar. Wonderful views of the hills. We would stay again.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Restrooms dirty, wifi never worked. For a destination koa and what I paid my expect ions were much higher.
Jun 29, 2014
The food at the Ponderosa didn't meet our expectations. The campground was lovely and located in a very beautiful location. We enjoyed our stay very much!
Jun 29, 2014
The scenery at this campground is stunning and it is such a great place for families to go. There is so much to do here that my children would have had as much fun staying there all day. Renting ATV's was by far the best part of our trip. I loved having so many activities for them to choose from. The staff here is very accommodating as well. Will definitely be coming back.
Jun 29, 2014
Great. Only problem, Grass un-mowed in my spot for the whole week.
Jun 29, 2014
Filthy bathrooms, showers, plugged up toilets for over 12 hours, shower faucet broken, yuck.
Jun 29, 2014
Bad RV site. Muddy area and sloping ground. Good and diverse offer.
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Appreciated the early check in, approximately 2 hours. It allowed my children the opportunity to do some horseback riding. Great stay. Thank you.
Jun 29, 2014
Excellent Location, extras and amenities are way too expensive. Some of the staff are less than courteous at the front desk. The 10.00 per day activity should be used for those who wish to use the services, and not a mandatory charge. The advertisement suggest that the shuttle service is complimentary and not an additional charge.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.