Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Aug 12, 2013
My family and I visited the campground and were amazed at the amenities that were available. The children ‎loved the waterslide and bounce pillow the most. My biggest complaint (and reason for only 4 stars) is the ‎wireless internet didnt work. In this campground you are secluded, and just out of reach of cell phone ‎reception, TV Antenna reception, so without Internet you ha
Aug 12, 2013
Didn't get the area we wanted. Was told it was booked, but saw some available. Did not have any cell service in this location - which is why we requested the other spot - Wi-Fi was horrible when we were told this spot would be great since we had work to do during our visit. Requested rock to be put in under our door to cover the mud pit & it never showed up. May never stay here again.
Aug 12, 2013
Nice and clean and very friendly staff. Lots of fun things for the kids to do!! Enjoyed our stay with you.
Aug 12, 2013
Stayed a week with kids. There was so much for the kids to do, we had a blast! Only issue was my daughter developed a rash I believe from the pool/hot tub. May need to keep a closer eye on the chemical composition.
Aug 12, 2013
I think this campground suffers from size. The restrooms are TOO few, needed maintenance and DIRTY. The front desk was 'manned' by people college age or younger, who lacked basic business skills and the gal helping us couldn't have been less interested. The store only had one person working the register each time I went in and was always backed up. Great setting, badly managed.
Aug 12, 2013
nice bathroom and showers. Friendly staff.
Aug 12, 2013
since we are both over 50 years old, I think there should be a lower rate on the facility charges as we do not use all the things that family's with kids do.
Aug 12, 2013
Facilities were good. Activities we knew about were fun but we had to ask about everything. We were put on the entry/exit road and motorcycles roared by until 2am and started again at 6am. Guests you know are noisy should be put where they will be the least disruptive. Finally, I did not get my member discount at your store because the clerk didn't know about it & her cash register didn't work.
Aug 12, 2013
This was our second time to stay here and everything was really good. The only things we did not like was the WIFI which was intermittent (same as last year). Also, the pads where you park your RV/Trailers need to have more gravel. It rained quite a bit while we were here and our site never dried up so there was water and mud where we parked our RV and vehicle. Thank you.
Aug 12, 2013
Friendly staff, lots of activities for kids to do, location relative to other Black Hills tourist activities great. Big detractor to this KOA is the condition of the bathroom facilities and how poorly they were cleaned. Lots of people at this campground and once-a-day cleaning of the bathrooms doesn't cut it. Would look at other campgrounds/resorts before I made decision to stay here again.
Aug 12, 2013
This was our first time for camping at Palmer Gulch, although we have visited the campground several times in the past years. We enjoyed our stay and even though it was at the beginning of the Sturgis Bike Rally, I was impressed at how quiet the campground became at night. The bikers that stayed were very respectful of other campers. This campground offers so much for families with children.
Aug 12, 2013
Good Ice Cream but I left with a bad taste in my mouth over you $10.00/person "activity fee". I wasn't warned about that ahead of time.
Aug 11, 2013
Close to most of the touristy things, lots of activities nearby for the kids. Just a fun place to stay...although the sites were a little muddy due to alot of recent rain. Even had rental cars on-site.
Aug 11, 2013
Despite the storms and flooding at our campsite overall was very good Bathrooms could be a little cleaner as could the showers many stalls had a lot of mold prices in store should be comparable to actual prices in grocery.
Aug 11, 2013
Everything was awesome. The only complaint we had was the horrible cell phone reception and wifi signal. For the price there should be better coverage.
Aug 11, 2013
We wish we had planned to stay longer. This campground has tons of stuff to do and is very clean
Aug 11, 2013
We had a great time. Everyone was very helpful. We will return! Thanks.
Aug 11, 2013
Great place. Great value. Tons of things to do.
Aug 11, 2013
Great amenities. Extremely small tent campsite with no trees and no privacy. I had to pitch my rent an inch from the road. The water is brown, which the campground says is typical and supposedly normal.
Aug 11, 2013
Over all this was a great place to stay. Our only complaint was our area was not level unless we pulled right up next to the tree on the side and then we couldn't open our awning. The spot we have probably shouldn't be used for a trailer. Other than that, the pools were great and staff was super friendly and helpful.
Aug 11, 2013
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 11, 2013
Clean and friendly, great location for seeing the Black Hills area!!
Aug 11, 2013
I was very disappointed with my stay at this KOA. I paid for a premium back in site. What I got was a back in site with no wifi service out by the stinking horse manure trailer and a million flies. I don't think at this time I would stay there again.
Aug 11, 2013
very poor site
Aug 11, 2013
Somewhat disappointed. Water at first site smelled of sulfer and was dark brown. Could not get cell phone nor wi fi service at either of our campsites. The grounds were beautiful and cleaned quickly after each rainstorm washed out part of our road.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Over all great campground, sites a little to close and tight as far as parking goes but we made it work. Roads need to be maintained a little better. Price of fire wood could be cheaper for what you get.
Aug 10, 2013
Nice areas for kids. Had a lot of rain when we stayed problem with flooding some sites could use more gravel. Wi fi didn't work very well very poor signal strength.
Aug 10, 2013
Wifi was useless, No Cell Phone Reception, inadequate showers and restrooms. Park not equipped to handle Rain storm, 3 nights in a row our area turned into a flash flood due to no drainage plan. Sites too small, Minimal room to park your vehicle, should have more paved roads into campsites to reduce mud.
Aug 10, 2013
You need more bath houses for the size of this campground. I did like the store and staff were friendly and helpful. Nice restaurant that was a plus. Need dryer fire wood. Overall nice stay. Like the area very much.
Aug 10, 2013
Wonderful facilities. Ambassador helped when we had problems with our water heater. Recommended a very reliable mobile RV service, Jim's RV service. He corrected the problem, quickly and efficiently. Met some great people.
Aug 10, 2013
We were not sure how our stay would go as we happened to be there during bike week and your campground was very busy. We were delighted to receive personal help from Kendra when booking KOA sites further in our trip.
Aug 10, 2013
a lot of things for the kids, and very close to Mt.Rushmore. Campsite were not well developed. I know that being in the trees, and on hills sometimes that is impossible to get reasonably level sites. This place is part of a huge resort. Did not get cable or WIFI as expected. The cost was outrageous. $71 + a day!!!
Aug 10, 2013
Noisy, dirty, front desk not attentive, laundry too far away from rv sites. Wifi didn't work expensive and didn't even feel like it was worth the money. Liked other locations in deer lodge, butte, buffalo, west yellowstone, all way better than this location.
Aug 09, 2013
Space had standing water and was muddy during our entire stay. Space was right next to the dumpster. This is the second bad experience. KOA has probably lost a customer. KOA does not seem to care.
Aug 09, 2013
The campground was great so much for the grandkids to do and close to every thing that we wanted to see we -only one draw back the laundry need more washers and dryers and turn up the heat on the dryers,for the cost we should get a little more.
Aug 09, 2013
KOA was an awesome place to stay on our South Dakota Vacation. It was a central location to all the sites we wanted to see. We also came back from our day of site seeing & the kids would have fun doing all the different activities that were offered. The highlight of the trip was Horseback riding & Eva was an awesome guide.
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Web site should state wifi not available at campsites and cell reception. My space was 554.
Aug 09, 2013
We stayed only one night, but it was awesome! The people, the facilities and the pancake breakfast were amazing!
Aug 09, 2013
need to get cell phone service!
Aug 08, 2013
The campground was great and facilities well kept. My only negative was you have no cell coverage and the internet access is super slow even if you can get a signal (which is not often).
Aug 08, 2013
Excellent facilities and staff and programs. Less rain and mud would have been nice.
Aug 08, 2013
This ia the best KOA that I've ever stayed at. Our group did have a small problem when we checked in, but the management team quickly fixed it. I would recommend this camp ground to anyone going to the Mt. Rushmore area.
Aug 08, 2013
Reserved sites in February for 4-sites together. No! No! They tried, Manager arrived, got 3-sites together. CG covered with bikers for "Sturgis" and that's OK. Neighbors were bikers and friendly, cared for others, and were respectful. Some liked to hear their "roar" at all hours. Go figure! Will return to CG for sure but will check our arrival and departure dates for sure.
Aug 08, 2013
Lots of extra stuff to do, even for a KOA. Beautiful scenery and area. Only downfall was one of two pools was green and was closed for a few days.
Aug 08, 2013
This is the best value for a family vacation. We visited in 2010 and thought we would be let down in 2013, but it was even better than we remembered. We were also happy to see that everything had been very well maintained with new things added. We love this campground!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.