Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 25, 2017
We really enjoyed staying there.
Jul 25, 2017
Everything was amazing except your toilet stalls are too small for larger people. I watched several women struggle to close the door to use the bathroom.
Jul 25, 2017
This KOA was great accept for the space that we were given was way too small for a popup. We asked for a different space and were told they were full even though there were spaces still open. Some of these spaces ended up with tents in them which required no hookups. If you are given 292 and are in anything but a tent, ask for a different space.
Jul 25, 2017
Great camp ground, we had a poor site on hard gravel
Jul 25, 2017
Nice for an overnight stop when traveling. Very parking lot like. Best pool I've seen at any KOA so far.
Jul 25, 2017
Jul 25, 2017
Huge campground, but well run. Would have liked to stay longer, but on a short schedule. They have it all! Two swimming pools, water slides, restaurants, bars, bus ride to Mt Rushmore for the lighting ceremony, etc. Would do it again in a minute. Well run. Very polished operation. Look out Disney!
Jul 25, 2017
Our site was terrible. Had not been maintained. Ridiculous slope. After complaining maintenance built us an additional step and poured a couple buckets of gravel. Firepits 20' apart. Way too crowded. Amenities were great and beautiful. Our bus tour driver, Dale was awesome !
Jul 25, 2017
Wonderful time! Grandchild loved all the activities!
Jul 24, 2017
Only thing we wish for at this KOA is free bike rentals like Fort Collins Lakeside KOA. Thank you!
Jul 24, 2017
The volume of people is too great to not clean the showers multiple times a day. They are gross, and need better drainage.
Jul 24, 2017
Loved it. Great. Better than I would have thought. So much to do, great people and services. My neighbors were a bit noisy, I wouldn't mind some control over that type of partying sound in a close environment past 11PM.
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Great fun. Great activities for kids
Jul 24, 2017
This place was like a camping Disneyland! There are so many things to do not only at the campsite but in the general area too. We could have stayed a few more days here. It says they have WIFI but we could never get any service the entire time we were there. Not sure why they put the food by the stinky horse stables either. My kids had a blast here. Not many rules though I do t think kids
Jul 24, 2017
Wonderful KOA! My family really enjoyed their stay and were sad to leave. Helpful staff and great amenities.
Jul 24, 2017
Great place just wish there was cell phone service. I knew making reservations that there was limited service and stayed anyway.
Jul 24, 2017
Was not happy about no fire rings and events that were told would happen did not occur
Jul 24, 2017
Great location, well stocked store, plenty for kids to do, many amenities. Poor wi-fi is a major inconvenience.
Jul 24, 2017
Way too congested for our taste
Jul 24, 2017
Our grand daughters asked to come here for the 2nd time. They love seeing sights in the black hills and then coming to the park to relax, swim, ride bikes, crafts etc
Jul 24, 2017
Campground offered many activities but staff seemed unhappy. We were ignored at one shop but we were taken to our site ahead of someone else even though they had been waiting longer - need better protocols. Internet service is spotty and no cell phone service makes it difficult for small business owners to check in on their business. Our back-in site was a pull through on the main street. Ick.
Jul 24, 2017
Consistently clean. Pleasant staff throughout our 3 day visit. Excellent Fun Zone.
Jul 24, 2017
this is better than any hotel ive ever stayed at. These people put on vegas style customer service, and constantly having something going on that makes you want to be there all day instead of looking at the sites. Well done, my family loved it here.
Jul 24, 2017
The campground was very beautiful and filled with so much to do. The pictures don't do it justice. I enjoyed waking up early every morning and just taking in the sights of the mountains. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Just a wonderful experience and we loved it there!
Jul 24, 2017
Awesome campground! Too bad we didn't plan to stay longer!
Jul 24, 2017
We had a very nice stay here. Lots of things to do. Our only complaint is the showers. Needed to be cleaned more often and more showers or comfort stations for the amount of guests. Other than that we had a great site and really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 24, 2017
My husband and daughter enjoyed horseback riding. We visited the ice cream and fudge shops a few times. I don't think there were enough restrooms/showers for the number of possible campers. I appreciate the staff came to our site to clean out grill before we set up and they took our trash away.
Jul 24, 2017
Amazing resort like atmosphere. The soacecwe had was large and although there were tons of campers we were not bothered one bit. We will be back
Jul 24, 2017
Nice campground with a lot of activities. Would have received 5 stars except for 2 issues, the bathrooms were not cleaned frequently enough and there was no seating near the splash pad for adults. We really enjoyed staying here. We used the showers every day, at different times, only saw the cleaning person once.
Jul 24, 2017
Great campground.
Jul 24, 2017
We loved our site tucked away from it all in the trees. Convenient to the showers/restrooms, which were very clean. Our granddaughter loved everything about the Kid Zone. Very nice KOA and a great location located near Mount Rushmore. Will definitely stay here again.
Jul 23, 2017
Need to have better wifi and cell phone service.
Jul 23, 2017
love it great place to stay we can all the way from knoxville tennessee thank you
Jul 23, 2017
it was fantastic most friendly staff poeple to deal with and all the things that you could do there was great be back next year!
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
Great place for a family vacation! Many activities to keep families busy! Conveniently located to attractions!
Jul 23, 2017
Great place should have stayed all week with the amp nt of stuff to do in area. Some sites are congested but ours was open to the back and had lots of room but no trees gave the ac a work out.
Jul 23, 2017
There is so much to do! Fantastic place for kids of all ages. We actually extended our stay by a day just so we could enjoy everything the resort had to offer!
Jul 23, 2017
Loved the campground, all of the kids area was in one location. We had some great neighbors,lots of amenities.
Jul 23, 2017
7/18 - 7/22/17. Loved this place. My 9 year old had so much fun. A lot for everyplace else to live up to. WOW Thanks alot Palmer Gulch.
Jul 23, 2017
This place was great!
Jul 23, 2017
Bathrooms not cleaned enough. Dirty all the time we were there. Internet was none existent. Lot of money for poor service. If we had kids with us there would have been lots for them to do though. Very family friendly
Jul 23, 2017
WiFi here is non-existent. Frustrating since the activities like horseback riding require you to sign up online. Tons of activities for the kids if that is what you are looking for. It was like the Disneyland of KOAs. Check-in with the gate system was ridiculous when stuck behind a long line of cars. Loved the services available and the two pools.
Jul 23, 2017
Very neat and clean. lots of activities available. beautifully landscaped.
Jul 23, 2017
all the things you could want, great staff, just big
Jul 23, 2017
Manager at Mt. Rushmore PALMER Gulch and entire staff went beyond call of duty to make our stay enjoyable. Manager went beyond call of duty to help us depart. My husband become very ill and was unable to hook up our truck to our fifth wheel. Manager helped us hook-up and get our unit to exit. He also was a great source of advice.
Jul 23, 2017
bathrooms were not cleaned and garbage full all time
Jul 23, 2017
I was surprised at the lack of customer service. This site has something for everybody and that may be why. It seemed like everyone was too busy to focus on our family. Of all the sites we stayed out (12) this one had the best facilities but the worst service. Loved the location.
Jul 23, 2017
It was awsome. The kids loved it. You had Everything possible to keep kids out doors and active. Just beautiful up there right by Mt Rusmore.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals