Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 12, 2015
They need more bathrooms for the number of campers. Because of the traffic, the bathrooms and showers weren't always acceptable. Drainage needs to be addressed because the roads were washed out and needed to be repaired 3 times during our 7 day stay. A child threw up in the pool and no one responded to the request for assistance. Sites are way too small! Great location!
Jul 12, 2015
Kids sum it up amazing restaurant food was very good highly impressed over all
Jul 12, 2015
Once we got a pull through site that we requested and paid for instead of back in that they wanted to put us in. Things were good
Jul 12, 2015
older bathrooms were hard to get into to very small, other than that very friendly and accommodating and clean with lots to do at this site.
Jul 12, 2015
Your Office Staff were extremely obliging. Your campgrounds are totally inadequate. (potholes, no pads, no WIFI, overpriced, uneven grounds, totally unsatisfactory)
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
Overall, great place. Much to do for our kids. They loved it! Cannot get internet/cell phone access. Bathrooms in the registration building needed much attention. For such a large operation, it was run fairly well.
Jul 12, 2015
I don't like the $10 per camper pack this campground adds to the rate. Something about value - beyond me.
Jul 12, 2015
I enjoyed the stay at Mt. Rushmore KOA. My only complaint is that I sent multiple emails trying to ask questions prior to my stay, only to have those emails not answered. Also, the day of our arrival, we were coming in very late and we repeatedly tried calling from the road and was unable to get anyone to answer the phone. Very disconcerting. campsite was great, communications poor.
Jul 12, 2015
Very clean and very friendly staff. Lots of on-site activities and the Ponderosa restaurant staff was excellent and served good food.
Jul 12, 2015
Great place to stay if in the Mr Rushmore area. The only suggestion I have is for more benches and chairs in the kid zone area for parents is with younger kids. With that being said, the kid zone is a great place to keep the kids entertained with water slideas and climbing walls and the pool
Jul 12, 2015
Nice campground with a lot of things to do, my kids loved it!!!
Jul 12, 2015
It was too high priced! We were seniors placed in the fun zone for kids. No wifi, no internet! Too far from camp sight to front and last but not least the shower floors were full of sand and water with no safety Matt to stand on. Too many in bathroom . Three deep to mirror. There were three nice people there. Other than that, wouldn't go back
Jul 11, 2015
enjoyed tie dying, pancakes, ATVing, seeing the sights.
Jul 11, 2015
lots of fun
Jul 11, 2015
The campground wAs awesome:). Facilities were clean. tons of activities! Staff was awesome. Special shout out to Bill the golf cart guy.
Jul 11, 2015
Best family campground we have ever been to!
Jul 11, 2015
My kids loved all the activities that were included in our stay. We are use to having a lot more room at the campsite itself but the neighboring campers were respectful so it was okay being that close
Jul 11, 2015
Stayed there 4 out of 5 years. Will not stay anywhere else. Great time for the kids!
Jul 11, 2015
This was our first time staying at this KOA- I was very impressed with the staff who went out of their way to make us comfortable. The activities for our kids was also plus! If we are ever in the Hills area again- you'll be seeing us again!
Jul 11, 2015
A beautiful resort, with plenty to do. Only downfall was very limited internet access. But, the idea of camping and relaxing is to become disconnected.
Jul 11, 2015
Great campground. Wasn't to excited about the $10.00 a day extra charge for campground activities. They sais it was for wine tasting and pool charge and entertainment charge. I feel that should be included in the daily camping rate. Need to fix the GPS address brings you in he wrong way.
Jul 11, 2015
The wifi and cellphone service could be a little better.
Jul 11, 2015
Loved it so much we decided to stay longer! We loved the atmosphere; beautiful flowers everywhere, and picturesque mountains. Numerous thing for evertone to enjoy. Loved the Hill City Slickers, the water slide, TurtleTown food, and jumping pillow. The only disappointment was my daughter was too young to go on a horse/trail ride. You must be six. Plenty of other things to keep you entertained.
Jul 11, 2015
The price was way too much for what we received. Our site included a patch of grass approximately 6 feet by 6 feet; not even big enough for our tent. Also, the showers and bathrooms were not clean. On the positive, there were a lot of kids activities available.
Jul 11, 2015
Very small camping area
Jul 11, 2015
WiFi advertised but did not work. Have stayed at this KOA two times previously and our phones worked and my hotspot worked. This time no phone signal and my hotspot did not work so counted in the KOA's WiFi which did NOT work at all. Had to drive a few miles away and use my Sprint Hotspot. Will NOT stay at this KOA and will no longer recommend to friends and colleagues.
Jul 11, 2015
The campground has a lot to offer kids and adult and that was great. As it is one of the largest campgrounds in the country, it would have been nice to have more staff on call during the lead up to July 4. I spent a lot of time waiting in line to check in and later to ask questions. But the staff was terrific, the facilities were clean, the pool was fantastic for the kids, and--wow--a wine shop?
Jul 11, 2015
Loved our stay! Staff was great ;)
Jul 11, 2015
Our family has stayed here before and overall we really like this campground. There are tons of fun activities for the whole family. Our only complaint is that some of the campground sites are extremely small and crowded right next to someone else's. This time our fire pit was literally <6 ft from the designated camper spot, and was on a steep incline so couldn't get chairs by it, etc.
Jul 11, 2015
Promised specific site - changed at checkin. Said they don't promise sites so someone at the 800 number told me lies. Was promised room for a tent plus a popup but there definitely was not - we all had to squeeze into the popup for 5 days. My first stay at a KOA; campground was good but not sure I will try KOA again - can't believe anything I'm told. 400 chars is not enough for this comment!!!
Jul 11, 2015
This is a true resort, not just a campground. Plenty for kids to do. Our area of the campground, which looked newly developed, was quite soggy during our stay, reportedly due to a spring nearby.
Jul 11, 2015
Wonderful location,right in the middle of everything. Loved seeing the horses Would really be nice if there was cell reception for emergencies. Also need internet and tv service
Jul 11, 2015
There was plenty to do there. We had fun. Yet some were not very friendly.
Jul 11, 2015
If you have young children this is the only place you should stay. They will be so busy and happy here. The campground is a great location to Mount Rushmore. They offer shuttles, car rentals, horseback riding. Everything you can think of. The spaces are tight, it is more like a city and there is no cell service and really no wifi even though they say there is. There's not. It is great for a
Jul 10, 2015
No tv no wifi poorly maintained sights
Jul 10, 2015
Nice clean park. Lots to do and location is great for many of the local attractions.
Jul 10, 2015
It really made me mad that you advertised free wifi when, over the course of a week, I was never able to connect. Would have been fine had we known previously, but I had planned for connection and no one could help. Change your website! There is no wifi!!!!!
Jul 10, 2015
We stayed with our daughter and 2 granddaughters and had a blast! The girls loved all of the activities and especially the horses! The bathrooms and grounds are very clean! Would definitely go back!
Jul 10, 2015
I am coming back. I didn't get to do everything and I really want to. Thank you so much.
Jul 10, 2015
Poor Customer Service
Jul 10, 2015
Most overpriced, overstated and under delivered mess of a site I have ever stayed in. I would maybe call this a patio site, but no way would I call it deluxe. Was really looking forward to this campground, but now would never stay again.
Jul 10, 2015
Had a wonderful time as always. When (Jack) took us to the campsite, as I was attempting to back in, the neighbor lady and kids came out and were extremely belligerent.Her son or grandson said to me,"Yea, I hope you like the looks of our back window". I asked to be moved to another site. Sara (front desk) and Jack worked it out and moved me away from them. Thank you
Jul 10, 2015
This campgrounds has a lot of activities and is in a great location. We loved the pool and splash pad and the breakfast. Other activities cost too much money. Our site had very little tree cover and so it got really hot. Would have been nice to have a better recommendation from the reservations line when I reserved the specific site (and paid extra for the site selection).
Jul 10, 2015
We are handicapped and put up on a hill that we could not walk back up so we stayed in the rv. We rented one of their cars by calling and I had asked for the car for 24 hours no problem the girl said on the phone. We were then charged for two days. We were charged for a service dog. And we were charged for an activity fee of $20 that we were neve told about
Jul 10, 2015
Nice but we could not find a phone number to contact the campground directly with a question before the stay.
Jul 10, 2015
Standing water draws mosquitos
Jul 10, 2015
Noise partiers in the 2 sites behind ours until 2:00 am. Swearing drinking and playing loud ball games. No security to be found, believe they may have been seasonal employees. I also videoed some of their activities. But to what end?
Jul 10, 2015
pet park, inch of water to walk pets, wifi poor,no cable no cell service, muddy. To pricey for these inconveniences.
Jul 10, 2015
This is not a campground, it's a small city. Over priced, and not as advertised. Wifi did not function for two days. No cell service in the area either. Shuttle service only to Rushmore or Crazy Horse, nothing else. Pool was ok, hot tubs were nasty. Bathrooms were just ok. Mini golf was a complete joke, even my 6 yo said it was terrible. Pancakes tent was rip-off. Laundry dryers only 7 min not 11.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.