Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 09, 2016
Great, family friendly campground
Jul 08, 2016
No water pressure, sometimes no water at all. When reported, no one cared or tried to do anything. Cramped space.
Jul 08, 2016
We had an amazing time camping here! My boys loved being able to swim, slide, basketball all the activities and Movie night many things for kids to do! We enjoyed our 1st family vaca in mount Rushmore KOA.we loved the horses riding behind our camp! So many things to do and. We'll be back for future vacations! Thank you so much for such a great time
Jul 08, 2016
Put the location aside, this campground is one of the best. The location obviously makes it better. Your activities and their staff, store, facilities were the best. Specifically your activity staff, they were some of the nicest people we have ever met and made my kids feel like family. My kids are at home writing letters to some of them.
Jul 08, 2016
Loved our stay here! One minor complaint would be the need for a few more showers, and air conditioned bathrooms. Hope to be back again!
Jul 08, 2016
When I made reservations I was not informed that I would be charged $3 a day for my two pets nor was I told that there was a $10 a day resort fee in which we did not use the pool, or any other amenities that the fee was for. The roads could also need some improvement as well. I spent over $400 for 6 nights for a space barely long enough for our trailer and truck to fit in.
Jul 08, 2016
Great campground. Love all the amenities. And who can beat the view, priceless!
Jul 08, 2016
We would have enjoyed our stay more, but unfortunately my wife had been sick.
Jul 08, 2016
It was a good place to stay, given that we didn't know the area. Because of the price, though, we would probably stay somewhere else next time.
Jul 08, 2016
very nice location; everything was perfect
Jul 08, 2016
We had an excellent stay! Our kids loved all the activities!
Jul 08, 2016
Disappointed about the lack of cell reception. Promote you have wifi, but is really non-existant. Sites are extremely tight, barely room to park on your own site. Husband had egg shells in his fried egg from the restaurant. If you like being in the middle of no where, this is a great option. Kids loved seeing the horses and the ice cream was delicious.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for the lack of great connectivity this is why we do not promote our WiFi we actually warn you on our webpage that we are in the mountains and lack the infrastructure for great bandwidth. We hope that your time of being disconnected was relaxing nonetheless.
Jul 08, 2016
The campground states they have free Wi-Fi but out of all the visits I've stayed there, the Internet is either inaccessible or so slow that it won't perform.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for the lack of great connectivity this is why we do not promote our WiFi we actually warn you on our webpage that we are in the mountains and lack the infrastructure for great bandwidth. We hope that your time of being disconnected was relaxing nonetheless.
Jul 07, 2016
The whole family had a blast and memories were made for a lifetime. The no service spots for WiFi was frustrating but the again we were on vacation
Jul 07, 2016
Love the place the kids had a good time. Already made reservation for next year.
Jul 07, 2016
So much to do...Staff very friendly. Very convenient to surrounding excursions. Grounds and bathrooms well taken care of. Overall great stay.
Jul 07, 2016
Great place/activity for kids. Many low places when it rains. Will book premium site next time.
Jul 07, 2016
Very nice campground with amenities for the kids.
Jul 07, 2016
We loved this KOA. We had a couple hitches. Our sites werent connected; the wifi didn't work at all (not cool with work deadlines); bathrooms were accessible but often dirty and wet. Otherwise, the staff was lovely, pools beautiful, location gorgeous. Definitely recommend!
Jul 07, 2016
Our site was incredibly flooded and muddy. All sites around us were flooded and staff continued to try and put others in the empty flooded sites. Unacceptable that a campground that large doesn't have recycling.
Jul 07, 2016
If only they had reliable internet it would be the best KOA in the whole wide world.
Jul 07, 2016
This was our third time at Palmer Gultch. Every time we visit the experience gets better. We love staying here.
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
It was awesome..great location and great faculities
Jul 07, 2016
Very nice campground with lots of fun things to keep us busy. We had a great time!
Jul 07, 2016
a great place to see the black hills etc
Jul 07, 2016
Top notch! A little something for everyone! Wonderful facility. Great kids activities. We all enjoyed ourselves.... nice, well-stocked store, friendly arrival, horses, 4-seater bikes to rent, big play structure, splash pad, pool with hot tub and mini golf. We will be back!!!
Jul 07, 2016
Did not appreciate a charge for something called a "Super Saver Package" or something like that. I have no idea what this is for and you are the only KOA that charged me for this. I feel ripped off.
Jul 06, 2016
The stay was awesome everyone loved the horse back riding & the facilities!
Jul 06, 2016
Great location! This KOA had some many amenities. You have to try to be bored. Courteous staff and well kept campground. Definitely would stay again.
Jul 06, 2016
my site held a lot of water and stayed muddy but loved the campground
Jul 06, 2016
Internet is non existent but you won't need it...there is so much to do!
Jul 06, 2016
We stayed two nights. Absolutely no wifi anywhere. We asked and were told to go the wine bar for good wifi. None! This is a huge KOA. Tons of people. Lots of things for the kids to do.
Jul 06, 2016
Great site! Great location, awesome amenities and friendly staff. Only drawback was dirt roads throughout, got a bit muddy in rain, but it is camping. 😀
Jul 06, 2016
This resort was fantastic except for the bathrooms and the Wi-Fi. The bathrooms never seem to be clean and the Wi-Fi never worked.
Jul 06, 2016
If you are tent camping some of the areas are rather cramped. It would be nice if there were more sites designated camping sites. The staff at the ice cream shop were very rude to my children. They dumped my sons ice cream on the counter & yelled at him for making a mess and they made my daughter get their own ice for their smoothies. A plan for notifying guests of severe weather would be nice.
Jul 06, 2016
Best campground we've visited! There was so much to do...for adults and children alike! Staff were all friendly and professional.
Jul 06, 2016
Our stay was awesome! We got in at 1:30, our map and info package was by the front office waiting for us, the security guy escorted us to our spot after a 15 hour drive. Never caught his name, but Thank you! Manager Ben Larson a big Thank You to you and your staff for making our time at the Mount Rushmore KOA an awesome memory!!
Jul 06, 2016
I would have given it a 5 star, however there a few rude employees in the general store that could benefit from customer service lessons. The site was beautiful however, lots to do for the kids and well Maintained.
Jul 06, 2016
Great overall experience. The grounds and pool areas were very clean. The restroom cleanliness and restroom maintenance could be improved
Jul 06, 2016
Jul 06, 2016
Ran out of hot water at showers. Son and wife not happy...
Jul 06, 2016
So many activities for the family to do but most cost extra. Very busy place! Had fun!
Jul 06, 2016
Bathrooms and showers were dirty. We had a 30 amp slot with no sewer dumpage for 2 nights. VERY crowded. Kid stuff was good

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for no sewer on your site as they were all booked. We recommend that you make reservations as early as possible to get the best site for your needs.
Jul 05, 2016
General Mgr. Mike made extra effort to make up for dissatisfactions I had with less than satisfactory conditions in the shower and campground water system. Busy weekend, but maintenance items should have been dealt with -- like no hooks in the showers and broken legs on benches. He was very eager to make us happy customers, and I would stay there again.
Jul 05, 2016
Had a great time! will be back for sure the kids just loved it! by far the best koa we have stayed at!
Jul 05, 2016
camping prices are way to high!
Jul 05, 2016
was told there was wifi, but it sucked. Also, no use of our phone - wasn't able to contact our sons to even let them know what site we were on...luckily didn't need phone for an emergency...Other than being muddy it was ok.
Jul 05, 2016
Fantastics 3 night stay. Kids are already asking to go back.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals