Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Aug 16, 2013
Great campground for families with kids. Bathrooms need a deep cleaning. Expensive if you just want a place to park a trailer
Aug 16, 2013
Wonderful See you next Year
Aug 16, 2013
We decided to stay at a KOA because we knew KOA had high standards. The campground and it's landscaping is excellent. But the bathrooms were unacceptable. The showers were filthy with trash, hair and filth and did not have hot water. Two of the five toilets remained clogged. I was shocked at the low standard of the bathrooms. We would never return.
Aug 16, 2013
Kids were upset when we had to leave campground to see Mount Rushmore! Amenities were fantastic.
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
If you have kids its great,Also several mean dogs there.something that I don t like.
Aug 16, 2013
No Internet service Although when making reservations The staff said there was good Internet service With high speed broadband Stop advertising you have Internet service when you do not.
Aug 16, 2013
It couldn't have been better. Thank you!
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
Staff very friendly lovely place to stay! A+++++
Aug 15, 2013
Because our children are grown, the one anninity that we would really appreciate is wifi. We have had at least limited service in the past; this year it was nonexistent ! You need improved Internet service; it's the way of the world
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
Great place!! Close to Mt Rushmore. Great place for family and kids!!
Aug 15, 2013
The comfort stations need cleaned more then once a day when busy. The two trees at the entrance blocking the view of the curve in the road need removed. Its hard to see when turning in or out of the campground.
Aug 15, 2013
Awesome! Beautiful facility. Great fun area for kids, family movies lots to do. Highly recommend-we will be back next year!
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
unbelievable, the cost for the site, then how small it was our camper fit from road to road, no place to park the truck. crammed in like sardines so many nice campgrounds around there look around before you go here too highly priced oh and wifi is terrible no phone service in the canyon either!!!
Aug 15, 2013
We arrived after dark. When registering, the associate was very sensitive to giving us a site that allowed for easy pull thru set-up. To do so he gave us an upgraded site. We did not take advantage of the full hookup but the point is he did a great job getting us to a good site. We were all set up in 15 minutes.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Great campground, beautiful scenery but a bit expensive to camp at the water electric site with a tiny camper using little water & electric. Would have been cheaper to not pull the camper and to pay a little extra for a camping cabin. We didn't get to use all the amenities as we were away during the day exploring/doing tourist type stuff - the added cost wasn't worth it for us, but good for others
Aug 14, 2013
Great facilities. A bit crowded and washrooms of variable quality
Aug 14, 2013
Great facility. Alot to do.
Aug 14, 2013
We had Grandma/Grandpa camp and all had a great time. Suggestion is to have check in desk be more knowledgeable about rates, i.e., executive lodge etc. Otherwise very pleased. Thanks.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Used many of the offerings at or associated with the park Entire family found something fun to do. Pool was nice and the hot tube appreciated. Pub and restaurant we a nice hang out, Wifi was spotty in the campsites Rental car process was a breeze. Hertz/Avis should take note. Both daughters ANSI enjoyed the trail rides. Nice alternate diversion. Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 14, 2013
Beautiful facility with many extra immenities and fun things for kids to do. However, the public showers were just gross. There seemed to be a large staff for this huge facility, but clearly the showers had been negected for quite some time.
Aug 13, 2013
The rainy weather could not dampen our spirits when staying at Mt. Rushmore KOA! The facilities were clean, grounds were spotless, personel were friendly and helpful and the views were amazing! The ammenities were fabulous and watching the wranglers heard the horses in at sunrise and out again at dusk gave us a glimpse of the 'old west'. Thank you, KOA!
Aug 13, 2013
Need to fix showers. They need a lot of work. Tiles broken fan didnt work the grout was terrible. We were told our site was 50 ft it was only 30 ft we had to jack up our trailer in the back there was a drop off. There was no room to park our vehicle. We called a week ahead to make sure the lot was 50 ft and was assured it was but it was not. Other than what I have mentioned it was nice.
Aug 13, 2013
We've been staying there for quite sometime, there is so much to do, this time we went horse back riding, it's very clean & the employees are quite helpful.
Aug 13, 2013
This was the 4th time staying with you at the park. When i go out west again I'll stay with you. Thanks
Aug 13, 2013
Food at the Ponderosa food was great. Sites were good. Reasonable prices.
Aug 13, 2013
Cell phone and internet access more a "miss" than a "hit". Great scenery and amenities but getting run down. Bathroom showers disgusting. Should have full time attendant in showers at least to mop/wipe floors between use. Will recommend others to stay closer to rapid city.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
NO Cell service at all. No Internet and the greeter stated lightning had hit it, but we found out they have been having problems with the company that runs it. Need New Internet Server Company and It would be great! Very Nice Facility.
Aug 13, 2013
Overpriced, especially when I camped in the water for my entire stay! a $10 per day cost for facilities that were not used,worst KOA experience ever!No cable or antenna or cell service. I will send photos/comments of my site. please send proper corporate mailing address
Aug 13, 2013
Our stay was very pleasant, staff are very friendly and helpful. Will be back when back in the area.
Aug 13, 2013
It was nice except it would have been better if workers could have gone around to the campsites and alerted people of the hail since there was a weather warning put out.
Aug 13, 2013
This was our third summer to camp at Palmer Gulch and we loved it. Next summer we plan on just staying at the campground instead of traveling to see other sights! There is so much for kids to do - they love it!
Aug 13, 2013
A large park with many amenities make this a great spot for families. The washrooms/showers were a fair distance away. The staff were friendly and helpful but we really missed the personal touches and the feeling that we were part of the KOA family that we have experienced at most other parks in our travels.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
I would have given a 2.5 if half stars had been possible. There were some aspects which were nice, such as the gift shop, laundry facilities, and the convieniance of some of the other stores. Some not so nice. WiFi was spotty and slow, bathrooms and showers dirty, quiet hours not enforced, barista was clueless.
Aug 13, 2013
My kids and I are already planning to spend more time here next time. So much to do at the campground and in the area. Fantastic!
Aug 12, 2013
The only bad thing we have is that the bathrooms/showers were not clean at all in the mornings
Aug 12, 2013
My family likes coming to KOA we like the clean facilities and grounds and plenty for kids to enjoy during stay and its central location to other area attractions
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Great as always. friendly people. only issue was the water did not look good this year had a brown tint to it.
Aug 12, 2013
great place, only down side was the rain had no place to go except right under our camper and through our campsite, that being said I'll be back next year and we still like that spot & I enjoyed meeting Jumping Buffalo he was an interesting fellow
Aug 12, 2013
Great facility and very friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 12, 2013
Everything was fine except I could not get hone or wifi at my campsite.:(

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.