Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 13, 2014
Enjoyed the campground except for several days of rain. Only complaint was the laundry, needs some new machines. Staff did a great job of keeping bathrooms cleaned inspite of the bad weather.
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
didnt get type of sight that i requsted or that i have had in past was dissapointed sight was to small for my truck and trailer
Aug 13, 2014
Everything was fine but our site was a little to small for our trailer and we had a lot of moud after rain. The service was excellent !
Aug 13, 2014
One of the best campgrounds out there.
Aug 13, 2014
Wonderful campground, great amenities. The parking sites would be wonderful if they were paved vs gravel.
Aug 13, 2014
Had a great trip! The pools were a hit with my teen boys and the wine tasting was a nice touch, too! Our campsite was clean and daily trash pick up was a very nice addition! We will be back next year for sure!
Aug 13, 2014
Stay as always for past 6 years was great except for incident in retail store regarding faulty propane cans. Associates made me feel terrible about returning 2nd can that was faulty. Staff made me feel so bad it ruined my day! Ironically, did not want to leave my motor home! I have worked in Exec Office @ Saks Fifth Avenue for 25 years and have never felt so bad...
Aug 13, 2014
Very clean and quiet. Staff was soooo helpful and friendly
Aug 13, 2014
This is a huge park and it was very busy because of Sturgis bike week. Everything went smoothly with check-in. The laundry was clean. But internet connectivity was poor.
Aug 13, 2014
Campers were WAY to close together. Unable to have a camp fire without melting the neighbors camper. Neighbors sewer pipe was a foot from our door step!!! We were unable to play any camping games due to the size of the spot. It's all about the $$$...they try to fit as many as they can in such a small area to make more money. For the price we paid per night we should have been able to have a fire.
Aug 13, 2014
Best part of this place is its staff! Caring, eager-to-assist young staff!
Aug 13, 2014
Where we were put was extremely noisy. We had to park our truck in the grass which took away from our outside space. There was no easy way to get to the restrooms without going thru someone's space. Could not stay connected to WI-FI. We were charged a resort fee for things we would not use. We were not told there was a motorcycle rally in the area when we made reservations.
Aug 13, 2014
This was a bad time to visit Mt. Rushmore. We made our reservations by phone but were not told of a MAJOR motorcycle convention nor that we would listen to rumbling bikes from 6 a.m. to midnight. A great disappointment for a family from Texas to see a National Monument and had to put up with all the motorcycle madness. We left a day early and could not get back any of our reservation money
Aug 13, 2014
We had a great time at this camp. It was like a mini town. Kids had a great time at the shops. Staff we're very friendly. Pancakes were delicious.
Aug 13, 2014
Everything was great.
Aug 13, 2014
The most expensive KOA we have ever stayed at. We were stuck in site 610. Basically a mud puddle with a leaky faucet, a broken picnic table, no trees, neighbor right on top of us and our sewer hook up under our neighbor's picnic table with a broken cap. Beautiful sites up the hill went unoccupied. $71 per night. You can certainly tell this KOA is corporate owned.
Aug 12, 2014
the place has deteriorated beyond compare. Five years ago it was the best KOA in existence. Now it doesn't even have the basics like internet and phone service.
Aug 12, 2014
Sturgis Bike Rally an annual event for us. Always stay here, in same site each year. Love it!
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
The staff was rude and unhelpfull and they just put us in a random spot instead of the spots my family reserved beside each other
Aug 12, 2014
Great place for families, just older adults, not so much, You pay alot more for things you dont use, Plus a lot of the spots are not really good and seem crowded. Mainly the hill area. people were great there.
Aug 12, 2014
Stay was fantastic. Perfect location for the rides we wanted to take while there. We have already booked same location for next year. Lana and Jim Barnett were both extremely helpful the whole time we were there. Having a bike wash was really excellent for us as we did ride thru some muddy locations. Also, the pancake breakfasts were excellent as well, as well as the camp store. Michael Pierc
Aug 12, 2014
Had a great time at this koa, the only thing that i wish they could improve is wifi in the far side of the camp site.
Aug 12, 2014
This is the best KOA we have ever stayed at - the best campground even! Everything was great, staff were friendly, my kids had so much fun. Great location to top it off, will definitely be back!!
Aug 12, 2014
We made reservations a couple months in advance because of the Rally going on. Our site assigned to us was on the end and adjacent to the roadway with heavy traffic. We requested a site change and the girl graciously obliged. Our new site was in the trees and had nice views. I know it was Sturgis, but it would be nice if there were more bathroom stalls.
Aug 12, 2014
The best KOA ever, many things for the family to do.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
we enjoyed our stay and it was really nice, but we were disappointed in the size of the site for the $76.00 we paid. We have a 38 ft. Coachman and we didn't a lot of extra space at all. It was a very family friendly KOA and had a lot for the kids to do.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
No privacy- site was near stables terrible smell of urine-loud campers with bad language late into the night- 56.00 too high
Aug 11, 2014
WiFi service needs improvement. Pappa's Pancake breakfast and the Ponderosa Restaurant are two of the assets that keep us wanting to stay at the Mount Rushmore KOA near Hill City, SD.
Aug 11, 2014
We were there 9 days and could only get on your wifi twice. The showers were filthy.
Aug 11, 2014
Beautiful facility that is well managed however we selected this site as your web site says wifi is available. I am a business owner and have to stay connected and I was in this campground 9 days and 8 nights and was able to get connected once and then got kicked off after a few minutes. Cell service is hit and miss so it was a very trying week had to drive to Hlll City to check email
Aug 11, 2014
I would have rated 5 stars except for internet access non existent. even the internet cafe was offline during my weeks stay.this has been issue for years,it can be resolved if KOA just resolved to do it.
Aug 11, 2014
Fabulous campground!!!
Aug 11, 2014
Was there during the Rally and even though we were not riding the campground was excellent. Clean, quiet and excellent for kids!
Aug 11, 2014
There was no wifi as advertised, no cable, the water pressure was super low making it very hard to shower. The bathrooms were not cleaned. Overall the worst KOA I have ever stayed at. I went and asked for a credit as we left halfway though the visit and they told me there was nothing they could do for me. It was by far my worst KOA experience ever and I will not return.
Aug 11, 2014
Only one pool was open and the the bike trail needs to be longer. Staff is friendly and your camp ground is very nice. Kid friendly. Great location.
Aug 11, 2014
Great time, lots of fun! Definately will be back!!
Aug 11, 2014
Bathrooms dirty and in poor repair. Packed in like sardines. Lots had no room, for the tow vehicle only the trailer. Most employees were friendly. Lack of security.
Aug 11, 2014
Was not as quaint as I remembered from our trip in 1996, but my three kids love all the activities.
Aug 11, 2014
Fun time. Needs better cell and internet services.
Aug 11, 2014
My camper is 38' long and I was placed on a very tight spot Getting out was a big challenge. The main pool was very dirty. My site had a great deal of dog mess's which I cleaned up after getting setup. I find it interesting I have to pay for "my" pets and then also have to cleanup other campers messes. We stayed there in the past and we remember the campground being nicer. Will check around.
Aug 11, 2014
I wish I stay longer, so we could explore more, beautiful camp love to come back.... this time not so close to the garbage...We try your breakfast, it was really good.The personnel was very nice ,helpful and pleasant. Thank Marie
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Les salles de bain devraient être retouchées plusieurs fois par jour plutôt que juste une fois.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.