Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 02, 2015
The location of this campground is what makes it so special. The people that run and service it are very friendly and make you feel welcome. I would recommend this campground to anyone visiting the Mount Rushmore area.
Jun 02, 2015
Second summer we have been to this KOA and second time kids have NOT been able to use water slide...Something always seems to be wrong...other than that this is a wonderful camp if your in the area...mini golf course could use a few, actually several touch ups...friendly folks and great trash pickup service which is really nice...a little attention to detail and this would be a 5 star!!
Jun 02, 2015
No WIFI or phone service. Come on guys, try harder! Camp sites too close. We felt like sardines. Price was too high for what we got. Would not stay there again.
Jun 02, 2015
Arrived after dark and although they gave us a map to our campsite, it was hard to find in the dark. Made two attempts to find it and finally ran into their security person, who escorted us to the campsite. People arriving after dark should be taken to their campsite (ours was on a hill with not very much lighting to find it).
Jun 02, 2015
This campground fits the description of a "have it all Resort", including the noise. It also come with "Brown" water. Unconcerned staff said not to worry, it's safe. Who drinks Brown water? Would KOA corporate staff have their family drink it? At $80 per night site with Brown water is a disgrace to the Resort description. Also, sites were unkept and weedy.
Jun 01, 2015
wet week but fun, KOA staff very friendly and accomodating
May 31, 2015
Our 5-day stay occurred at a very rainy time when much of the campground was wet and muddy. When we we requested a specific site to replace the original site that was under water, we were told that that site (#213) was not available for our entire stay. We chose another site (#255) directly across from 213 and noted that no one ever checked into that site the entire length of our stay!!!
May 31, 2015
Such a nice campground, unfortunately the weather kept us from using and doing a lot of things. Very impressed how nice staff was, we were concerned with the flooding, but were assured we would be notified if in danger and was offered another spot.
May 31, 2015
Outside staff outstanding. We needed a 2x4 for one of our slides not working properly. The staff found a board for us. Any questions we had they answered. Until this trip we had never stayed at koa's. This past 2 weeks has made us change our minds on quality. Would stay again!!!
May 31, 2015
Can't help Mother Nature but all the gravel roads dotted with pot holes which were filled with water entire stay and also tired of having to level at an KOA. Also put in reservations months in advance and got the primo spot with a view of the utility barn.
May 31, 2015
Water system needs better filtering. They say the minerals are harmless but the sediment plugged the screen in the supply line and the filter element had to be replaced.
May 30, 2015
It was a very lovely camp ground and very accommodating to our last minute request for a cabin. My only reservation was that on more than one occasion, I witnessed show utter frustration and irritation towards the new hire they were coaching and that I found to be unprofessional. It's not what you say, but how you say it. Otherwise, a totally positive experience.
May 30, 2015
Our family was impressed with this campsite. We are so happy we selected this location. We would recommend this site if you are touring the Black Hills. The Services and Staff are Outstanding. After a long day of site seeing it was nice to come back to a resort style full service site to unwind and rest for next day. Perfect for families.
May 30, 2015
never been so disappointed at a KOA. Gave up a free campsite to get cable that was advertised just to be told that even with premier site cable was worthless. Since I had already given up a free site at another area I did stay 4 night but not again at this camp.
May 30, 2015
Over commercialized, COLD SHOWERS, no wifi and 2 times more the cost of other KOA facilities. I was NOT impressed.
May 29, 2015
Wonderful campground, employees are friendly, showers are clean and hot, lots of things to do and great places to eat.
May 28, 2015
We had floods and terrible rain, but the staff made the best of it. We will come back someday, hopefully with better weather. The campground was amazing with tons of great amenities.
May 28, 2015
Had a leaky focet, it was fixed in less than 30 minutes. Amazing service, outstanding views!
May 28, 2015
Enjoy very much our stay..would recommend everyone to stay at this camp and visit all that rushmore has to offer.
May 27, 2015
Rained entire time there. Staff made it as comfortable and convenient as they could, and never missed a beat to help us stay comfortable. Staff members were courteous and diligent. The location and environments they have there are really good. My 9 yr old son and 12 yr old daughter did not want to leave.
May 27, 2015
I'm a single female traveler with safety as a priority. This campground is located very close to Mount Rushmore and is a very safe place to stay. The staff is friendly and the accommodations are clean. Sites are well maintained. I would definitely stay again!
May 27, 2015
My family n i stayed at ur KOA Memorial weekend and all it did was reason non stop.we had to evacuate our site (502) cuz it became flooded.but ur staff was AMAZING! they helped us in every possible way they could.every one of ur staff workers every where we went were so nice n very helpful worth any thing we needed.there was so much to do for activities n events.We had a great time n will be back.
May 27, 2015
Not much was open since it was b4 memorial day but the site is clean, beautiful & the ppl are so nice! I wish all KOAs were like this one!!
May 27, 2015
The only issue were the children behind us making noise until midnight
May 27, 2015
Rain effected stay. Water system was producing brown water. Decided not to take on water and moved on. Sites were muddy.
May 26, 2015
Nice campground. However, WiFi did not work and water was brown. The water could be due to the large amount that it rained.
May 26, 2015
Very kind and helpful .. My family will be back 😀
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Everyone was very nice and very helpful. Even when the weather was not.
May 26, 2015
We had an issue with not realizing that the Basic Cabins do not come with heat. Compounded with the fact we arrived very late. The gentleman in the white truck was a blessing...he was able to get my Parents into a Room and then guided us to our campsite. Your Team is Awesome!!!
May 25, 2015
So many fun activities and the staff were amazing. So helpful and accommodating.
May 25, 2015
Wow, can't wait to come back. Would come in summer, we had snow. Still it was beautiful. Loved the restaurant.
May 25, 2015
This KOA is in a beautiful setting. It snowed while we were there and it was like a postcard. The staff was very helpful. We appreciated the little store that they have there for things we ran out of. The only complaint, and it is not their fault, is the cell service is very spotty. But, your are in the mountains so that is to be expected.
May 25, 2015
Very nice for any age camper. Lots of activities for kids and adults
May 24, 2015
What a great place. Friendly people, fantastic views, and super amenities.
May 23, 2015
We appreciated the "upgrade" to a better site, but, it would've been better if the "upgrade" wasn't right in front of the broken water line repair, with its associated backhoe...
May 23, 2015
We were there before May 31st, so things weren't up and running yet, however the main disappointment was being park in a site filled with water, which we had to walk in to put pads down for our stabilizers and tongue stand, when there were site all around us that didn't have a water hole. Someone on a golf cart could have selected site not to rent, as you had plenty of sites available. Sorry
May 22, 2015
Friendly staff, but way over priced.
May 21, 2015
Best KOA stayed at. Exceptional amenities, indoor shower closets, hot water, very clean and well maintained, superb gift shop and restaurant, several extras in season. The views are spectacular of the Black Hills all around. This would have received a 5 star except with no cell service, Wi-Fi is mandatory for planning sight seeing and travel. Half their Wi-Fi was down the three days we stayed
May 21, 2015
STAFF WAS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!
May 21, 2015
Very nice KOA. good location!
May 19, 2015
Camp ground was great, staff was very friendly and scenery was awesome! Cant wait to come back!
May 18, 2015
Great staff and campground. Already booked a second trip
May 18, 2015
This campground was beautiful! The staff was helpful above and beyond the call of duty. We had a special request that they helped us with without hesitation. They do their job amazingly well.
May 17, 2015
May 17, 2015
Way to expense as all KOA's are now.
May 16, 2015
Everyone there took care of us promptly and effectively. Storm came through and staff had a plan for potential issues, sharing the plan and offering assistance 24/7. This group of people are a great team. My wife and I would highly recommend a stay here. The staff and the campground was one of the best camping experiences we've ever had.
May 16, 2015
Office staff very inept & not terribly welcoming. If park is open for the season then all the amenities should be open at same time.
May 15, 2015
This was absolutely the nicest KOA we ever stayed at. The bathroom/shower room was great. Wish we could have stayed longer and that the snow didn't shorten our stay. Thank you for everything!
May 15, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.