Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 03, 2015
We were there with family and friends. Our campsite was on a slope so made getting in and out of camper a little difficult. Camp water was worse than we've ever seen it and had to go someplace else and run good clear water thru our whole water system to flush out the brown residue. Campsites are expensive for what we get and do. May not stay again.
Aug 03, 2015
A lot of things to do. Atvs were awesome. Kids loved riding the horses. Showers were great
Aug 03, 2015
Great service and located right in the middle of everything we wanted to visit
Aug 03, 2015
My family of 4 stayed here for 4 nights. The location in relationship to Mount Rushmore was perfect. The food at the Ponderosa restaurant was surprisingly good for a campground. The reason we cannot rate this five stars are because of the shower facilities, the non-existant wi-fi, and the rudeness of a few people. Stopped at 7 different KOA's over the past 10 days. Showers here the worst.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
There's no phone service, no WiFi, and no over-night patrol to keep people from partying all night. They say there's WiFi but it will not let you get to the internet. There are fewer toilets/showers than there should be and theyre always dirty. Otherwise, this is a good campground and in a great location to get everywhere. Ive been here twice but I wont pick this place again.
Aug 03, 2015
Nice facility Bathrooms clean and sites good size I did NOT like that you had to go to office for wifi or that no quiet hours were enforced-- there were loud motorcycles after midnite and before 6am
Aug 02, 2015
Very good area for the grandkids to play .close to everything in the Black Hills
Aug 02, 2015
We really had a wonderful time and would stay here again if we come back to the Black Hills area.
Aug 02, 2015
Lots of activity for the kids...but the wifi HOT spots (not even available unless you take a trip) were a JOKE. We have used primarily KOA campgrounds on this trip but this has now been the THIRD or FOURTH KOA that advertised Wifi that was a JOKE!! EVERY camper we spoke with has complained about this being a real problem on the road. I am guessing they don't really care because of locations!
Aug 02, 2015
Positives:lovely amenities: stables, snack/coffee/wine shops, restaurant, firepits, pools, events. Negatives: NO CELL OR WIFI SERVICE AT SITE! Truck needed service asap in Rapid City, comp office telephone made it difficult to connect with busy business.Car rental dirty inside/out, dog hair, mothball smell, allergic wife incurred hives,refunded. Don't stay here if you need connection to world!
Aug 02, 2015
Had an awesome time! Excellent staff!
Aug 02, 2015
Other than the hail storm everything was great!!!
Aug 02, 2015
Loved this campground! Plenty for kids and adults to do. Our only complaint was our waitress in the restaurant for breakfast two separate days (older white thin woman. Never smiled, service was terrible, had to tell the hostess we were leaving before she personag got our drinks for us. What was so difficult about 3 waters and an iced tea...). The evening wItresses were great as was the food.
Aug 02, 2015
Great place, lots of kids stuff, water at the site was unusable but there are cooking and dishwashing area close by
Aug 02, 2015
Great stop for kids. So many fun activities. Central location to all attractions.
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
We have stayed here for many years. Love this koa
Aug 02, 2015
Didn't realize it was a "resort" when we booked. Felt the daily rate was high, then to be charged an amenities fee was unexpected. Since we didn't use any of the "amenities" except the pool, we felt like we were being taken advantage of. Wouldn't stay there again. Prefer the smaller, family oriented KOAs.
Aug 02, 2015
It was great, just not long enough of a stay for us to really enjoy. Would love to come back again!!
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
Their is a lot to do on site. Great time
Aug 02, 2015
We had a great time and wished we could stay longer! We hope to come back again soon. We loved the convenient location and all the fun camp ground activities. The only thing that I would change is the wifi connection reliability. I didn't mind not having a phone connection, but I did need to make contact with family.
Aug 02, 2015
Fantastic! Did not have enough time to enjoy everything....have to return 😀 Thanks KOA!!
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 01, 2015
Great experience. Friendly staff, more than enough things to do for the kids, clean facilities, easy in and out for the RV.
Aug 01, 2015
It was just beautiful! Everyone was very helpful and very present! We want to come back soon!! Everything cernterally located. Perfect
Aug 01, 2015
this campground was excellent everything you would ever need to enjoy your vacation is right here. very very comfortable and enjoyable
Aug 01, 2015
Great place to stay. Very family friendly. But in today's world they should have cell phone and wifi service. Absolutely zero wifi and cell phone service. Otherwise a wonderful campground.
Aug 01, 2015
WONDERFUL!The Hail Storm added to our adventures in the Black Hills!
Aug 01, 2015
Great location, super kid friendly, will do it again. Staff and support personnel were great as well
Aug 01, 2015
Loved the campground. Staff very friendly.
Aug 01, 2015
Love the central location to so many attraction in the Black Hills, and the number of activities for the kids
Aug 01, 2015
Tent sites are cramped, site we were in there was a large SUV (KOA worker had a trailer parked in the vehicle spot) parked in the grass on our site, we were forced to put tents on the neighboring site.
Aug 01, 2015
Wow,just wow!
Jul 31, 2015
For a campground this size and during the busiest time, I would rate it about an 8. They definitely need more washers and dryers. The visitors did a good job with the 10 mph speed limit, but some of the young KOA workers drove too fast. The KOA did do an excellent job of repairing the roads after the hail/rain storm. I was impressed with that!
Jul 31, 2015
Great place. Great people. Unfortunately we couldn't stsy longer tonseize all tje attrations of this kamp
Jul 31, 2015
The campground was incredibly crowded and packed in,there is very little space between you and the next camper. The bathrooms are very limited and not easily accessible. We stayed up on the hill in the 500's and with my mom and her bad knee along with small kids we had to drive to the bathrooms each time, especially in the middle of the night. The WiFi NEVER worked even at the internet cafe.
Jul 31, 2015
All good, however the sewer is up hill? Tree over grown couldn't put out the awning. You have a lot of activity for the whole family really like that.
Jul 31, 2015
The scenery is beautiful and the amenities are plentiful but be warned it's a very busy campground. A lot of traffic coming and going. Our kids were a bit old to appreciate the fun zone. Perfect for young families.
Jul 31, 2015
If it rains, there are very few activities available for children. Unfortunately for my family, it rained.
Jul 31, 2015
Friendly, helpful staff! Our golf cart guide went out of his way to help us find a place to park our boat before taking us to our site. We loved the facility and activity options, but were only there for a quick overnight. Our only complaint was how crowded and close the sites were.
Jul 31, 2015
it was a great camp ground. Will be back.
Jul 31, 2015
This campground was a lot of fun, Our high maintenance boys, who always have to be doing somthing were never bored. Two pools, Basketball, ATV's and trails to ride them, Horse back riding, and a great playground for the youngsters, And your in one of the most beautiful places in America. Worth the trip.
Jul 31, 2015
Great place to camp. Just wish there was a little more grass at tent sites with electricity and also that the Wi-Fi would work.
Jul 31, 2015
It is the nicest KOA we have been to, and that is a lot of them. However, they should not advertise wifi. It only works about 5% of the time. There also is no cell service.
Jul 31, 2015
I would not stay here again. They do not tell you that there is no cell reception or WiFi. The campground is overpriced for 1 person with no children. Would not recommend to others.
Jul 31, 2015
The electric box did not include standard 110 volt wire cords and had to purchase two adaptor so that we could use our extension cords. The small site (507) was real nice with flowing brook on three sides. Restroom/showers-pool were close by. We would stay here again.
Jul 30, 2015
We had a wonderful time. Camp ground is very close to Mt Rushmore, Wind Cave National Park, and Custer State Park--all places we planned to visit. Highly recommend.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.