Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 07, 2015
I thought our stay was excellent. My only negative feedback would be the tight accessibility to park in the medium to large sized trailer spots. Other than that, I would make the Palmer Gulch KOA a repeate visit every time we visit SD due to the outstanding location and staff.
Jul 07, 2015
I was disappointed that the wifi didn't work at all. I understand the campground was full, but it is difficult to look up area event info with no wifi and limited cell phone signal. Don't advertise that you have it if you can't provide wifi in your busiest season! I was also disappointed that there was only one garbage can for pet waste. It wasn't emptied in days and located in a busy area. Yuck!
Jul 07, 2015
Everything was fun and well-kept. One exception-WIFI. In three days neither us or any other campers we talked with could access the WIFI. You need to be truthful. There is no wifi at your campground. People might be just fine about that, but advertizing/posting that you have wifi is wrong. You don't.
Jul 07, 2015
No cellphone service. Wifi signal practically non-existant. Drive a few miles out of camp to get a signal. Horseback Riding was fun. Pretty clean. Firewood was awful, not dry at all. Neither I nor my neighboring camps could get it to burn. Sit-down Restaurant was okay. Mozzarella sticks were great. Blue cheese burger, too much sauce, not enough cheese for my tastes but okay.
Jul 07, 2015
A big shout out to Dylan for the excellent customer service for helping getting us moved to a site that our camper would fit in. I made our reservation with the call center and they put us in a site that our 5th wheel wouldn't fit. I would suggest that the people from the call center have a little more knowledge of the sites. Also ALL of your staff should be on the same page with your pet policy.
Jul 07, 2015
It's a campground for kids, not adults. With 2 pools, one should be adults only. WiFi was advertised but it never worked and no one was doing anything about it. Since an amenity was not available, I should get a refund. Restrooms are cleaned irregularly so there is no way of knowing when they are open.
Jul 06, 2015
The campground was good but very expense and I was charged a lot more money at check-in than I was quoted the year before when I made my reservation!! Excuse giving was 4th of July weekend!!
Jul 06, 2015
we had a great time! only issue was a general flooding problem at the camp. Take care of that, you get a 10!
Jul 06, 2015
There is no wifi or cell service anywhere on the campground, which most KOA employees admitted to. Also, the power went out for a day and they did nothing to compensate for this. They charged us $350 extra between 5 families to "guarantee" spots next to each other, even though the campground was never full. Would not recommend or ever stay there again.
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Great location, tons of activities, Kids loved this KOA and wished we could have stayed longer. It's a HUGE resort, we were fortunate to be tucked up in off the "main drag". Roads were a rutted mess of mud, but the resort itself was worth a longer stay. Only complaint - charge me $3/day for my dog, and the dog park had 16" high grass in it - unusable.
Jul 06, 2015
We needed to spend at least a week! Your facility has so much to offer for a family. Thank you.
Jul 06, 2015
The location is perfect! Close to everything. The staff is helpful. We didn't have cell service or wi fi very easily. But, it is vacation!
Jul 06, 2015
Our stay was in the middle of June and there had been a lot of rain. Our spot was very muddy, with standing water. I asked to be moved, and was told there were no available spots in our category. I know you cannot control the weather, but a free upgrade to a dry spot or a partial refund would have been great. Not sure if we will stay here again.
Jul 06, 2015
We were very dissatisfied. Our campsite was a muddy mess. Site employees told us they were full but there were empty sites every night. One site was supposedly saved for a 36 ft rig but ended up with a pop up.
Jul 06, 2015
Everything was Fantastic i loved my stay and would stay next year also. I really did not care for the power outage but all and all we had a very good time thank you for your hospitality and see you next year. The Reyes Family.
Jul 06, 2015
Awesome campground, fun for everyone from a 43 foot RV like ours to tent campers. Location to Mount Rushmore couldn't have been better.
Jul 06, 2015
Great place for families! Only recommendation for improvements is internet coverage and cleaner bathrooms/showers.
Jul 06, 2015
Understandably the area has had an abundant amount of rainfull but the staff did not seem to accomodate campers. We went to find our own pallets to be able to walk out out own door. During our stay, at least 2 campers were assigned to the spot next to us (636) and workers would lead the campers to their spot and pull away fast, knowing the spot had been consumed with water.
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Lovely campground, lots of activities! Unfortunately, the men's restroom had two toilets clogged and the pool had to be closed suddenly- suspect it was due to an "accident" that someone has near the pool. It was fourth of July weekend so I suspect some of these issues were because it was SO busy! Hard for staff to keep up!
Jul 06, 2015
Loved the campground Loved the pancake breakfast Didn't care for the people who camped next to us.
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Excellent resort, excellent location.
Jul 06, 2015
Clean & nice we will be back!!
Jul 06, 2015
Had a great time. So much to do with the kids and although it is a very big KOA with lots of people, we never felt over crowded! Shelby Thomas shift supervisor checked us in and was very helpful and accommodating.
Jul 06, 2015
We were very pleased with this resort & would definitely return! We passed many other campgrounds while visiting & I think this one was the nicest by far! Nice bathrooms & grounds well kept. You can't beat the beauty of the location nestled the black hills.
Jul 06, 2015
Great location and beautiful views.
Jul 06, 2015
When you drive into the KOA you are impressed; it is beautiful. But our campsite: very rustic and not what we were expecting for the cost. You can't stop the rain but the owners could do a better job with drain fields, gravel on the roads, and some gravel in each spot. We were all in a muddy mess. There were many private campgrounds close that were much nicer than this KOA.
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Pretty much everything about this place was great. I loved all the activites and options for the kids. Overall we had a great time and would come again. My only complaint is the bathrooms and showers in the Fun Zone. They need more attention and more frequent cleaning. The other showers and bathrooms on site were in much better condition.
Jul 06, 2015
We love this for the kids and all the activities not so much for the camping experience. You are packed in like sardines. The bathrooms are well kept, the activities are great, the scenery is great, just too tight all stacked on top of each other.
Jul 06, 2015
With a few more attentions to details this could rate higher. Buildings are nice. RV sites need some work. Ours was very uneven. Broken plumbing, still worked, Dirty fire pit area, mangled fire ring. Bus ride to Mt. Rushmore is a must. WiFi was impossible to connect. I made sure to ask when reservation was made. I run a .com so wasn't user error, trust me. :) we left a day early w/o a refund ;(
Jul 06, 2015
Kampground has everything you could ask for would recommend for everyone
Jul 06, 2015
Very Family Friendly Campground and helpful friendly staff!
Jul 06, 2015
Wonderful!!! Staff were very helpful and courteous. Lots of things for the kids to do. Bathrooms and showers were exceptionally clean. That was our 2nd stay. Would stay again!
Jul 06, 2015
I would not advertise wi-fi if it doesn't work. If you do, then you should refund for it not working.
Jul 06, 2015
It was a great place. The only thing holding me back from a "10" and "5 Stars" was the condition of the bathrooms and showers in the fun zone area. They were dirty and I was uncomfortable using them. The other bathrooms were in far better shape, cleaner and seemed to get more cleaning attention.
Jul 06, 2015
This was our first ever camping vacation. We rented an RV to go explore South Dakota. The Gulch was the last leg of our stay and we were impressed by the camp grounds. So much to do and so little time. The only negative was that the Wifi was not working and according to the hot tube chat it had not been working for some time but when I made my resorvation I asked and was assured it was.
Jul 05, 2015
The campsite itself was good and we like the campground and all the activities for kids. Unfortunately the shower facilities were run down and dirty. We also were frustrated by the campers flying around on golf carts, UTV's and ATV'S. The roads are narrow and people parked their toys everywhere along the road making it hard to navigate. We also didn't like the drone buzzing campsites around us
Jul 05, 2015
Little pricey but a great place to stay if you are visiting Mt. Rushmore! Campground was well kept and lots of things to do in the campground. A great location to see all of the sites located in the Mt. Rushmore area.
Jul 05, 2015
One of the best camping trip I've had. My kids had a great time enjoying you're activities. Thanks so much
Jul 05, 2015
Our stay was excellent. The KOA had something for the whole family.
Jul 05, 2015
Lots of activities for the kids. Great friendly staff and check in.
Jul 05, 2015
.Very poor internet connection. Should not advertise as having. No cell phone service. Very wet. Need to pave runoff area where they wash cars or put in a drain. Playground very wet.
Jul 05, 2015
Very nice just to big for me
Jul 05, 2015
Last minute reservation. Site given was too small for our travel trailer and the sewer hose would not work for us. No phone service and the WIFI was not working. Pool area near horse stables was "fragrant" and also had a propane odor. Too "big" for our tastes but it looked like a nice "resort" if that is the vibe you were after? A lot of amenities to offer. And easy access to Mt. Rushmore.
Jul 04, 2015
Koa needs to switch over to battery operated maintanace vehicles the current gas ones are to loud at 7:00-7:30 in the morning
Jul 04, 2015
Great location - not honest about lack of cell service and wifi. We paid $3.00 per day per dog and there were very very few facilities to potty the dogs (2 of them). The area marked for the dogs had most of the rear fencing missing and the weeds were waist high. Only found two potty areas (very small) with waste containers - no bag dispensers anywhere. Your Website said wifi available on site.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.