Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 29, 2017
Loved it, showers could have been nicer
Jul 28, 2017
I was expecting a site with more trees/shade. I also was VERY DISAPPOINTED with the restroom/shower facilities. Often closed for cleaning and the showers were very small. Only the "handicapped" shower was acceptable. I expected more for my $76 per night stay.
Jul 28, 2017
So much fun for kids!
Jul 28, 2017
Very nice campground and staff.
Jul 28, 2017
Stayed for a couple nights and had a great time with the family. We stayed in a gas/electric site (514) on the hill. Love all the trees but the sites are really close together. Our particular site had a few trees on each side making it VERY difficult to back the trailer in. (less than 6 inches on each side). The campground overall was great though. So many activities for the kids!
Jul 28, 2017
Great location and lots of activities. Efficiently handled lots of guests but sights are extremely close.
Jul 28, 2017
Comfort station 4 was the filthiest shower of any KOA I was ever in. Further no cell service or Internet available. It's also to large and commercialized
Jul 28, 2017
This place is amazing!!! The only thing I would recommend for them to do is put a sign on Hwy. 244 to tell people to "TURN RIGHT HERE"!!
Jul 28, 2017
Very nice place, you have many amenities that are not useful to us and that is reflected in your pricing. Will be staying a month next time and need to find a better rate.
Jul 28, 2017
I would give it a 5 star except it did not have wifi or cell service! It says it has wifi BUT no one could get on. I asked several campers! I was travelling with my grandaughter & we were going to update the parents nightly; frustrating that we could not get in touch. Also, I have a 96 yr old father in Canada that I facetime every night & wish I could have warned him. That is my only complaint.
Jul 28, 2017
The bathrooms on the west side of the campground are disgusting messing and stinky to little of a facility and need more cleaning during off busy hours
Jul 28, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were clean. The shower was not so good, the shower head was bad and sprayed weird.
Jul 28, 2017
The people were nice and it was clean. The camp site was small and the include made sleeping in a tent very difficult. The fun zone was good but not great.
Jul 28, 2017
Jul 28, 2017
unusable WiFi. Don't advertise having WiFi if you know the system is unusable. Vert disappointing.
Jul 27, 2017
My only complaint was how busy it was. Very clean and well taken care of.
Jul 27, 2017
So many things to do. Kepted the grandkids busy. Campers were a little packed in. Sad thing was we only got to stay for one night out of three nights reserved due to truck trouble and all booked uo to stay longer. So guess we paid $300 for one night. Glad the grandkids enjoyed it.
Jul 27, 2017
Great place for the entire family. My greatest concern... Feces on the walls in the restrooms. I started going to the main lodge to use the facilities because they were the cleanest.
Jul 27, 2017
The campground is in a great location and a beautiful spot. The staff was very nice. However, the price gouging was beyond ridiculous. You expect to pay a bit of a premium at such places, but this KOA takes it to an intolerable level. We would have spent more had the prices been remotely reasonable.
Jul 27, 2017
When we arrived our original reservation and campsite wasn't available. The staff worked to secure a site and upgraded our reservation.
Jul 27, 2017
We had a great time. Wish we could have stayed longer. The shuttle to the monument was great, we didn't have to break camp. Miles, the driver, was great!!! The amenities were well maintained and very clean.
Jul 26, 2017
Loved the music Sunday night! The gentleman was an excellent entertainer-
Jul 26, 2017
Perfect for families. A bit crowded but overall we had a wonderful time. The kids really enjoyed all of the activities and the scenery was amazing.
Jul 26, 2017
Great family stop. The pools were super crowded, but lots of fun!
Jul 26, 2017
Very nice place to stay.friendly people and nice facilities. We'll be back.
Jul 26, 2017
Great place for kids
Jul 26, 2017
Only issue was the site, very uneven. I think for what they charge, a level site should not be a problem
Jul 26, 2017
our stay was too short, so many things to do. Coming back when we have more time to enjoy. Staff was super, grounds were beautiful, spacious, great amenities. Best KOA we've seen yet!
Jul 26, 2017
Had a great time and so did grandchild!
Jul 26, 2017
There was a lot for the children to do and kept clean we will go back
Jul 25, 2017
awesome staff very helpful awesome love all aspects thank you for the family reunion awesome coming back soon
Jul 25, 2017
Clean with lots of activities. Staff is friendly and helpful. Location is good as close to Mt Rushmore and other sites. A group of 18 of us were there. Cabins seem overpriced
Jul 25, 2017
It's a nice campground with many things for kids. 'My son and friend loved the Gaga ball. Older staff that drives around could be friendlier. Definitely isn't a place to go for peace and quiet and it's very crowded in the camping areas. Our spot was to tiny for our camper. It's a well kept campground.
Jul 25, 2017
My kids had a blast! So much to do for kids that is for sure. Was disappointed that at our campsite we were not able to reach our sewer so in turn we had to go buy two extra sewer hoses in order to reach.
Jul 25, 2017
I'm still blown away by how much was offered for both kids and adults! The fun zone kept my kids entertained all day, while my wife and I took scenic walks. We will definitely be back!
Jul 25, 2017
I would have liked the showers to be cleaned more often. There was trash on the floors each time I Used them. We also wanted to rent a golf cart, but they were all rented out weeks in advance. Also, very disappointed there was no WIFI throughout the campground. Emergencies do happen at home while we are gone! There were a few sites listed, but they were very unreliable.
Jul 25, 2017
Jul 25, 2017
This campground is large and nicely kept up. Great amenities.
Jul 25, 2017
Good stay, bathrooms were crowded as expected! Better Wi-fi is encouraged!
Jul 25, 2017
Lots of fun activities for the kids! Our kids loved it! We appreciated the adult swim nightly. Needs to be enforced by staff. Need benches for poor parents by the bounce pillow. Maybe along the West fence? We would definitely stay here again! Highly recommended! Not necessarily quiet and intimate but fun!
Jul 25, 2017
Jul 25, 2017
Jul 25, 2017
We really enjoyed staying there.
Jul 25, 2017
Everything was amazing except your toilet stalls are too small for larger people. I watched several women struggle to close the door to use the bathroom.
Jul 25, 2017
This KOA was great accept for the space that we were given was way too small for a popup. We asked for a different space and were told they were full even though there were spaces still open. Some of these spaces ended up with tents in them which required no hookups. If you are given 292 and are in anything but a tent, ask for a different space.
Jul 25, 2017
Great camp ground, we had a poor site on hard gravel
Jul 25, 2017
Nice for an overnight stop when traveling. Very parking lot like. Best pool I've seen at any KOA so far.
Jul 25, 2017
Jul 25, 2017
Huge campground, but well run. Would have liked to stay longer, but on a short schedule. They have it all! Two swimming pools, water slides, restaurants, bars, bus ride to Mt Rushmore for the lighting ceremony, etc. Would do it again in a minute. Well run. Very polished operation. Look out Disney!
Jul 25, 2017
Our site was terrible. Had not been maintained. Ridiculous slope. After complaining maintenance built us an additional step and poured a couple buckets of gravel. Firepits 20' apart. Way too crowded. Amenities were great and beautiful. Our bus tour driver, Dale was awesome !
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals