Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 01, 2016
Great staff, tons of amenities for all ages. Had an amazing time with the family.
Aug 01, 2016
Campsites are packed ridiculously close together. Showers and bathrooms were filthy. Way too many people, it was like camping downtown. Not my favorite KOA by any means.
Aug 01, 2016
This place is fantastic!!! My family loved everything about this campground. There is so much to do. The only thing that I did not care for is the wifi we happened to be there when it was rain on and off and it was impossible to plan ahead due to the fact that the wifi was terrible and we could not get radar on our phones. Clean, staff so friendly and helpful. Location excellent!
Aug 01, 2016
Bathroom and shower facilities were small and dirty constantly.
Aug 01, 2016
GREAT resort- would recommend it to ANY camper!
Aug 01, 2016
Very friendly staff, beautiful campgrounds, very clean. Arriving late wasn't an issue, someone was there to take us to our site which we really appreciated.
Aug 01, 2016
This was an amazing facility with every amenity we could have asked for. Location was great. DO NOT expect to be able to communicate with the outside world. Verizon and most other carriers do not cover the area. AT&T has very weak 3g coverage (T-mobile can use it too) but the connection drops out constantly. Campground wi-fi is a single satellite connection for all guests so DO NOT plan to use it.
Aug 01, 2016
Fun great people
Aug 01, 2016
Was clean and people were helpful. Very busy and hard to call anyone for help - hold lines were 30 min plus
Aug 01, 2016
Excellent
Aug 01, 2016
False advertising by KOA by stating they have WIFI. When I asked the manager how I could get access he stated you probably won't! I asked why he said they only allow 250 devices are allowed access and they have ~500 campsite. Also there is no cell service to provide your own wifi access. KOA is falsely advertising!!!
Aug 01, 2016
This KOA is fantastic for families. This is our fifth time back and we will return again. From horseback riding to a restaurant and an ice-cream shop plus a water-slide to a rock climbing wall, there is something for everyone. The Wifi is non-existent but bathrooms/showers are exceptional and service is great.
Aug 01, 2016
This KOA is so kid friendly. Little ones always have something fun to do. From swimming to the big jumping pad to out door MOVIES!! My boys by love mini Golf!!! There are also Adult activities scheduled during the evening when the kids have an activity for them to attend! Awesome
Aug 01, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
Was here for a family reunion. No way of communicating with others as well we're spread so apart.
Jul 31, 2016
Great facility! The kids had a great time and the fire pit area in each site was awesome! Plus the accommodated us by putting us next to our travel buddies! Perfect stay!
Jul 31, 2016
Concrete patio was cracked and standing water after rain events, better drainage in some locations needed.
Jul 31, 2016
Biggest KOA we stayed at on our USA tour. Just to many people crowded together for our taste. Never used the pools (kids). Laundry was the best of all our KOA's.
Jul 31, 2016
We had a wonderful time! My kids loved all the amenities, swimming, water slide, bikes, rock climbing, gem mining, ice cream at Turtle Town, horseback riding. There were endless possibilities of things to do. The scenery was beautiful too!
Jul 31, 2016
Everything was nice about the campground except the showers. Quite possibly the dirtiest, most disgusting showers we have ever had. Every door we opened was more disgusting than the next, i.e.. Bloody towels laying on the floor. Staff was fine. The pool, water slide and mini golf all nice.
Jul 31, 2016
Nice friendly place to stay. You can go and do your sight seeing and come back an relax in hot tub,pool. Has something for everyone young and old.
Jul 31, 2016
Campground is great, however they along with other KOA sites have a tendency to mess up reservations and do nothing to accomadate. The Ponderosa Restaurant at this site is a joke at best... ask for a grilled cheese and you will see :)
Jul 31, 2016
Solid Internet connection is needed and should be available for the cost of the sites.
Jul 31, 2016
Plenty of amenities. Pretty tight quarters for some campers. We had a fairly large sight with 3 big holes to either fill with water in the rain or twist an ankle while walking. The bathrooms and showers were not very well kept. Stall doors were grungy and no one cleaned around the backside of the faucets. It was busy enough that the bathrooms/showers needed complete cleaning more than once a day.
Jul 31, 2016
Over the top good for activities and for camp spots - Under the top poor for camp spots - just a tight parking lot
Jul 31, 2016
A little hard to find, better signage would be an asset.
Jul 31, 2016
This is so over priced. We got there and checked in and were told there was some water at the site but it would dry up soon. It never dried up and after some rain our camper was surrounded by water.They did give me another site after talking to management.I have stayed at many KOA's and this was the WORST. They need more drainage and better planning for rain. Contact me for more info
Jul 30, 2016
What a fun campground. We stayed with our grandsons and they had so much fun with all the activities in the fun zone. We appreciated having a fire ring for preparing s'mores!
Jul 30, 2016
Lots of fun so much to do
Jul 30, 2016
Wifi advertised, but in 2 days only 1 text message went through. Forget sending a picture. Just to get 3 words through to husband "we are fine" kept kicking back as undeliverable. Wifi, if advertised, should be available, regardless of "too many people". There should be enough wifi for all.
Jul 30, 2016
Lots to do and keep the family entertained.
Jul 30, 2016
Ce camping est une usine, trop de monde, emplacements trop petits et serrés, aucune intimité. Même pas de wifi qui fonctionne alors que c'est un minimum. Faites un effort pour régler ce problème de wifi et empilez moins les gens !
Jul 30, 2016
This was the best camp ground we have stayed yet! There was something to do for the whole family. Great facility's
Jul 30, 2016
Stay was great however when we made the reservation we asked for a pull through and got a back in on top of a hill-😒 For a senior not very comfortable with backing a camper that did not sit well. Great pools, activities, location. Might have more selection of menu at Ponderosa! Loved Papa's pancakes! Great idea and great way to start the day!
Jul 30, 2016
We loved the campground and all of its amenities!
Jul 30, 2016
we had only one night reservation but wanted to stay 3 nights we were told we may need to move every day but we could stay that was accepted but it sure used up a lot of our time the camp is great for famlies. the laudry rooms had a lot of broken machines.
Jul 30, 2016
Wow, more of a resort than a campground. We could have stayed at just the campground and enjoyed the many amenities and been very happy. Not sure the spots with concrete pads / picnic tables are worth it as they are close the front, no shade and are very tightly packed in. Be sure to double check the address on your GPS so you don't get directed to the back service road like we did!
Jul 30, 2016
Jul 30, 2016
Was so busy going to see everything else that we didn't have the time to enjoy what this site has to offer! So many different activities and amenities that we are looking forward to coming back and using this as our hang out.
Jul 30, 2016
This was a fun resort to stay at but there were a lot of people there.
Jul 30, 2016
very well located to tour the black hills and surrounding areas of Rushmore and custer.
Jul 30, 2016
Great experience. Lots of fun things to do for all ages. Great staff. Highly recommend.
Jul 30, 2016
Over-all, this is a great campground. It is too bad a few things leave negative thoughts about our stay. For Pete's Sake, level out the drive-ways and haul in gravel. Recent rains caused water to stand on the campground streets and campsites. Standing water was under our vehicle, and in the pull-through sites the three days we were there. Pot Holes also were filled with water, making rough roads.
Jul 30, 2016
We found this park too large for our liking. Pool slide was not working. Breakfast at the Ponderosa restaurant was sub par, except for the biscuits and gravy. Shuttle to Mt. Rushmore was a convenient redeeming quality. Ice cream stand closed just before the first bus arrived back from the Mt. Water was highly chlorinated, would not recommend for drinking.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize about the pool slide we had it off-line for one day for maintenance, bummer it was the day you were there. Our drinking water is perfectly safe and falls within all standards. We are glad you enjoyed the shuttle.
Jul 29, 2016
Great location to the tourist sites. Activities for kids are fantastic. Wifi doesn't exist despite supposed hot spots. Full hookup sites are too close and muddy. Still worth the stay.
Jul 29, 2016
It was great. We had a problem with the ice cream lady and the mgr went to work and made us 100 percent satisfied. Way better than I had expected. All of the employees were fantastic and made us feel so welcome and comfortable. See ya next year .
Jul 29, 2016
Our wonderful time was marred by the actions of one of your employees who SCREAMED at my sister for trying to allow traffic to flow around the dump station. She was really shook up over just trying to be kind. :(
Jul 29, 2016
Jul 29, 2016
It't great for families with kids. Activities that kids will want to do over and over again. Unfortunately it didn't work for us since we are in need of either cell service or reliable wifi due to our business we conduct while traveling. There is no cell service since it's located in a gulch and the 3 hotspots are a joke. No reliable connection to the outside world. Bigger isn't always better!
Jul 29, 2016
We had a great time in your campground. You could improve on your wifi
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals