Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 19, 2016
This place is amazing! My husband and I had a wonderful stay here for my birthday, only downfall is the bathrooms and shower stalls, they were disgusting and need to be cleaned on a regular basis thruought the days.
Aug 18, 2016
Not happy about a few things. You advertise free Wi-Fi, we get there to find out its free Wi-Fi hot spots and if you don't log in first thing in the morning you probabley won't get in. Second and most important, the water at the sites is brown. How do you think this is sanitary for your guests? The third item, there is no place for adults to swim!!! NOT A HAPPY CAMPER.
Aug 18, 2016
Bathrooms need better daily cleaning in the children's camp area
Aug 18, 2016
Was not satisfied with original location. Manager Mike moved us to a great site!! Thanks
Aug 18, 2016
Lots of stuff to do! Very nice, and people were pretty helpful.
Aug 18, 2016
Very nice with many activities for all ages. Would definitely go back.
Aug 18, 2016
The camp ground was nice, except lay out of some of the camping spots was confusing, our neighbours were using our fire pit and table d/t poor lay out.
Aug 18, 2016
The overall campground was great for kids. I was a little disappointed with the fact there was no cable or WIFI for the price we paid. As adults needing a place to stay this would not be my first choice in the future.
Aug 18, 2016
Need to state cable tv hookups are very limited. Very nice campground for our grandkids. Lot of things for young kids to do. Very clean and well maintained.
Aug 18, 2016
The showers were gross - wouldn't use them. Great place for kids - came in late on Fri - got chased out on Sunday - could have enjoyed some kid activities prior to leaving but were told to leave because of check out time - mostly empty campgrounds should encourage people to stay - not push them out the door
Aug 17, 2016
Showers dirty Steep hill to get to bathroom Long lines at store/check-in Very disappointing
Aug 17, 2016
Great visit, our three kids had a blast and we didn't even scratch the surface on all there is to do! Campsites are a little tightly packed, but we didn't stay here for a camping experience.
Aug 17, 2016
Aug 17, 2016
Very nice. Lots of things to do. The trip for the lighting of Mount Rushmore was very nice and the program was very moving.
Aug 17, 2016
Poor or no wifi. Does 911 work? Patrick
Aug 17, 2016
Love all the options for the kids and appreciate that most of them are "free" (easier to pay the $10 resort fee ahead of time than each time they want to do something)
Aug 17, 2016
Too big for us. Got put on just about worse site in campground.
Aug 17, 2016
Our only complaint is that we didn't have cell phone service or Internet.
Aug 17, 2016
Aug 17, 2016
Very nice campground with lots of kids activities. WiFi was not very strong in the camp sites. Worked best at the office and when you are out of country and rely on WiFi to contact people at home to let them know you are safe poor strength in campsite is not helpful.
Aug 17, 2016
Awesome! Kids had a great time! Everyone was friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.
Aug 16, 2016
Beautiful campground! Pancake breakfast was a perfect start to our day! Very friendly staff! Only complaint was the hike from our tent site to the bath house....
Aug 16, 2016
Great campground with LOTS of features and activities. Unfortunately wifi is unusable and cell service is very unreliable so you end up being very isolated - for better or for worse.
Aug 16, 2016
Nice place to stay. Would have given 5 stars, but for the wifi. It advertised 3 hotspots, but connection was unusable almost the entire time.
Aug 16, 2016
The showers an bathrooms near our site were picked up but not as clean as I expected. Shower seats had mold in crevices, the bathroom didn't smell very good even immediately after the cleaning staff was in there and the toilet water was yellow in color several times during our stay which made me question how clean the water was that I showered with.
Aug 16, 2016
Great place, but pricey.
Aug 16, 2016
Our stay her was very good the campground is spectacular. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The manager even took me to the Post Office to get a package that was sent to me.
Aug 16, 2016
lots to keep the kids going
Aug 15, 2016
Clean friendly lots of fun.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
Host was great. Will stay again
Aug 15, 2016
Wonderful stay and nice mountains and trees
Aug 15, 2016
Beautifull resort!Treated excelent!
Aug 15, 2016
great place for the family!
Aug 15, 2016
A fun, fun place...so much to see and do. Wish we could have stayed a week.
Aug 15, 2016
had a blast
Aug 15, 2016
Great place!
Aug 15, 2016
My family and I had such a great time camping there (I have been camping plenty of times personally, but it was the rest of my family's first time). My wife is now fully on board with camping in the future and she has already been looking into camping at other KOA sites around the country.
Aug 15, 2016
Been staying here since 2000 always been excellent nicest Koa we stayed at keep up the good work thanks mike
Aug 15, 2016
Lots of activities for the kids. Great campground.
Aug 15, 2016
Good campground with lots to do! Close to mount Rushmore which is why we picked it. Only downsides were that the tent site we had was very small, so we were cramped and didnt have much room to cook, and that there were no trees that provided shade where we were. We will probably come again but will have to pay for a pull through site or something.
Aug 15, 2016
Great experience at this family friendly campground. Lots of amenities and good store if you forgot something! clean shower building. Would go here again. Sites are a little tight, and not many trees in this valley to give privacy, had a broken water spigot also.
Aug 15, 2016
Very family oriented , organized and friendly helpful staff. I have a handicap and the service drivers were willing to meet our requests. Thank you
Aug 15, 2016
Stayed here 7 years now for the Sturgis rally...Always great!! They have everything you need plus ALOT more !!
Aug 15, 2016
friendly staff gorgeous stores!
Aug 15, 2016
Love this place, one build would be to have an Wifi connection that actually works. I have stayed for a couple of years, but to know you have to leave the campground and go into Hill City to get a signal can be annoying.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
I loved the location. I loved the amenities. I was profoundly disappointed in how I was treated by some of the staff. I was given false information concerning rentals. And I felt like I was being "scammed" by threats of additional charges.
Aug 15, 2016
Loved it
Aug 15, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals