Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 01, 2014
Big campground with many activities and amenities, would never have to leave campground! Wi-fi not good, but they told you that when you checked in. Two pools for kids. Beautiful setting and close proximity to Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park.
Aug 01, 2014
The KOA facility was very nice, with wonderful amenities. For those whom might need internet connectivity, you might want to look for a more suitable facility. For the price per night, additional boosters or technology should be invested in. We had better support in remote sections of the hills. This shouldn't be.
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Awesome view of the rock formation to the south. Friendly staff and evey thing you need at the main lodge. The grand kids loved all of the activities. Will come back in a few years.
Aug 01, 2014
Wish for more teen things to do. (ie) movie nights - large field area of land up by cabins could have been an ice cream & movie screen area for teen movies. -bathrooms/showersrestrooms should be tended to & looked in on multiple times a day/more often. Golf cart rentals/ family bikes were $ too high.. More in fleet to lease & for less per day. Pancake tent was great. All in All, so fun, Great Jo
Aug 01, 2014
A very busy place...
Aug 01, 2014
Your staff was extremely helpful in finding us additional sights and an RV repairman when we had to extend our stay during one of their busiest weeks due to a problem with our coach.
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
It was the best KOA we stayed at. There was so much for the kids to do.. In fact we extended our stay we liked it so much! We would stay here again if we ever come back out west!!
Jul 31, 2014
Your camp ground is very nice. My 2 suggestions are your advertised wi-fi was a joke. Even up to the front the service was sketchy at best. The other suggestion is we paid for a better RV space. The cement pad out side the door was broken and I tripped and nearly hit the deck. Please consider if you advertise wi-fi, make sure you really have it. Your campground is very nice.
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Even though we had to make multiple changes to our reservation the staff was always friendly and helpful. The kids thought we were in paradise with all of the awesome activities! Great place to stay.
Jul 31, 2014
WE thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My son just had back surgery and was able to horseback ride and he had a ball. Kudo's to the staff at the stables. They were awesome. We also enjoyed the restaurant and pub and the balcony was delightful. Only negative was the restrooms by our site. I have to say it was not management or maintenance's fault. The men's room was disgusting due to guests behavio
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
very busy, was moved 3 times but very clean and nice.
Jul 31, 2014
HUGE Campground, well stoked and well run. CLOSE to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse + everything else. LOTS fo do in Cmpgd.
Jul 31, 2014
Lots of things to do but we paid extra for wifi and it didn't work at all. Even outside was useless.
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
I can't understand the mentality of stabling horses next to the eating areas. The stench was overwelming! I will not be coming back.
Jul 30, 2014
Lots of fun things to do at this KOA The Resort is ok, the horse rides were less than expected. Great base camp for exploring the black hills. Breakfast was good, just get there early or wait a while.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
This is our second year staying and we look forward to the third!
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
The stay was great but they need to do something about the internet.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
My wife, my grandson, and I had a great time. We wish we could have stayed longer. We do plan a longer stay in the future. We got turned around while on our way there. KOA people, on the phone, did a great job of helping us find our way. A wonderful bunch of people! MT. Rushmore had so many things to do and is so close to a variety of other activities!
Jul 30, 2014
This resort comes exactly as advertised. More expensive than most KOA's but a TON of stuff to do. We never left the campsite for 2 days.
Jul 30, 2014
Extremely busy & crowded. Man escorted us to our spot & someone was in it. Instead of sending us to a new spot had to drive my rig back to office & stand in long line again. Moved us one spot over. Water in laundry so brown (from iron) it blotched & ruined a $60 white sweatshirt. Daughter had a hair in her nachos from small onsite deli. Laundry and showers rooms filthy. Wouldn't go back.
Jul 30, 2014
very busy campground. Lots of things to do for kids. The mini golf course should be upgraded. It looks very old and not maintained.
Jul 30, 2014
Our stay would have been so much better with reliable internet service which you advertised
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
This park was just too big for me. Of course I was there during peak season. The facilities were nice but the constant traffic gave the impression of being in grand central station. We paid extra for cable and it never worked.
Jul 29, 2014
I liked the KOA office and all that it had to offer. Our camp site left a little to be desired. For the money we spent to stay there I expected better. When it rained nearly all of our site was flooded and the site was so small we where walking out our door and stepping on the neighbors cords and hoses and I wouldn't have wanted them to build a fire as close as they where to my camper.
Jul 29, 2014
Great campground. Staff is always great.
Jul 29, 2014
WiFi did not work. Was told to many people using it. Dont say there is WiFi if it doesnt work. Everything else was great.
Jul 29, 2014
Mount Rushmore was an amazing KOA. So much fun stuff to do there. Only negative thing is our tent site was not the greatest. The site was on a hill, so we had to sleep at an angle.
Jul 29, 2014
Wonderful trip to SD. This was my kids first REAL camping trip and this KOA had soooo much stuff for them to do. The only complaint that I really had was the spaces were so close together. Fun Zone was awesome, good pancakes and love the daily activities for the kids.
Jul 29, 2014
Too crowded. Spaces too close together. Too many gnats. Bathroom and showers were disgusting. Price was way too high when considering what you receive for the price. They charged us extra for our dog. I would not recommend this RV park when there are dozens of nicer ones (we moved to Crooked Creek outside of Hill City which was nicer and much less expensive) and will not stay there again.
Jul 29, 2014
Everyone was friendly and very helpful. Enjoyed being able to rent a car on site as well everything else that was available to rent. My family really enjoyed staying there.
Jul 29, 2014
I was promised cable hookups when I made reservations but was told after check in that cable was not available on most of their sites and they did not have any left. They have an additional mandatory charge for activities but they were only available for a limited amount of time. One of the two pools was green and water slide was closed for repairs. Numerous other problems.
Jul 29, 2014
Fun for the entire family! We traveled with our two and nine year old. Both kids had a blast. Thank you to all of the staff members who made our weekend enjoyable.
Jul 29, 2014
Loved this KOA. So much to do, my son said he was "in heaven"! I, for one, appreciated the lack of technology -- it forced me to relax! Thank you!
Jul 29, 2014
The only complaint I have is that the water in the pools and water slid were very dirty

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.