Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 06, 2015
The best place to stay in the Black Hills. TONS of activities for kids to do. We will definitely be backnext time we come to South Dakota :)
Aug 06, 2015
KOA Palmer Gulch is a great place to camp - a beautiful location. There are so many activities for children and adults. The night sky is phenomenal!!
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
It was great, except for the restrooms which were too HOT for comfort, if you know what I mean...
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
Our campsite left a little to be desired, but overall, we were satisfied
Aug 06, 2015
Great place for family fun!!!
Aug 06, 2015
great place for kids
Aug 06, 2015
Very organized! Nice amenities. Would return again!
Aug 05, 2015
we have been staying here for the last 13 yrs. and have seen very little improvements to the shower houses, bathrooms, and laundry rooms. the campsites back by site 625 were bad. When it rained there weren't any good drainage practices in place, and the sites would pond up and flood with water. Bath houses weren't clean and lacked warm water. Toilets weren't maintained and there was too few of the
Aug 05, 2015
Great location and a lot to do! Hot tub water was questionable, but overall a great experience!
Aug 05, 2015
Nice campground. Well kept. Thanks
Aug 05, 2015
Many amenities at the camp ground do not work or fall short of expectations, I brought these obvious problems to management and was told to leave, it being the Thursday before Sturgis and having made my reservations here a month earlier I wasn't able to, the black hills are wonderful, The KOA management knows this and uses it to allow them to be as rude as they are incompetent.
Aug 05, 2015
This was our 2nd stay this summer. Kelsey (in the lodge) was helpful and sweet! She was able to find us 2 close sites during this busy summer season to accommodate our family. It was very much appreciated! We look forward to our next stay!
Aug 05, 2015
Good KampGround. Will go their again. (even with thunder storms, flooding etc.) Traveling on their dirt roads on a motorcycle, w/trailer was interesting... Loved the area.
Aug 05, 2015
We stay for three nights, before motorcycle rally. Had a nice site-534, Could have been a little bigger for our family size tent. Enjoyed the facility very much and everyone was very Friendly!!! Would like to come back another time.
Aug 05, 2015
I followed through with reservation after learning the total of $250+ for a tent space with water and electricity only because I had committed to meeting others there. The space was hardly large enough for us and I feared that another camper backing a pop-up camper into the adjacent space could easily have hit our tent that first night of our stay. Will stay at Custer SP next trip.
Aug 05, 2015
nice stay but more expensive than thought it should be. we had no children so most of the amenities were not of interest to us.
Aug 05, 2015
Excellent location for all Black Hills things to do. Shuttle to Mt Rushmore. Large RV pull thrus, excellent clean restrooms, friendly helpful staff. Full service restaurant on property. Loved our whole experience here and would return here next visit.
Aug 04, 2015
This camp is well maintained and convenient. However, if you need cell phone service or wifi forget it.
Aug 04, 2015
By far the largest KOA we have stayed at, with a large variety of activities for the whole family. From car rentals, 4-wheelers, horse rides, swimming, mini golf, 2 swimming pools .very clean and well kept. Will definitely return in the future.
Aug 04, 2015
The staff were all wonderful and friendly!! We were disapointed that our third party was in a site a few spots down when the one across from us was open or had different campers move in and out daily. The wifi was terrible. Location was super & grounds tidy. Also disapointed in lack of recycling bins for a campground that claims to be "green" It was expensive, ok if you spent lots of time there!
Aug 04, 2015
Nice clean area and the staff was very nice
Aug 04, 2015
The Wireless connection can be achieved in lobby but no where to sit, otherwise Wireless connection is not available at RV sites. The staff is friendly and the sites are maintained.
Aug 04, 2015
A Great place for camping with the kids
Aug 04, 2015
We had a great stay. I think you should post on your website the sturgis bike rally for people who are from away. The people were wonderful but the 6 am bike rev ups were not pleasant as were the midnight bike revs. We had very little sleep which was not so much fun as we are on a 14 day trip.
Aug 04, 2015
Lots to do, very family friendly, campsites packed closely together, busy bathrooms and not very clean.
Aug 04, 2015
Personnel unfamiliar with campsites, fees are over priced for sites and breakfast.
Aug 04, 2015
We had a great time. Staff was very nice & helpful
Aug 04, 2015
We enjoyed every minute! While our main reason to stay at Palmer Gulch was to have a place to park/camp for a few days, we quickly began to realize that staying at Palmer Gulch was vacation enough and if we wanted, we didn't even have to go anywhere else! From the daily activities to swimming, the pancake breakfast, and restaurant~we were happily entertained! I can't wait to go back!
Aug 04, 2015
Had a great time at this KOA. Lots of activities for the kids, great trails and lots of amenities. Staff was great. Would definitely come back. 5 stars.
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
Nice campground...but our spot was literally in a swamp with 4 inches of mud surrounding all the hookups and the pad. Staff was professional but not particularly helpful.
Aug 04, 2015
This maybe a good campground for parents with children but without Internet service at most sites, and no television or cellphone service it is hard to recommend this place to older folks except as a stop over spot for visits to Mt Rushmore. On the positive side it is a pretty setting. We stayed in a full service spot.
Aug 04, 2015
Need more shuttle service from remote sites to areas around park
Aug 04, 2015
Noce very large KOA. Very close to Mt Rushmore
Aug 04, 2015
There is a lot of fun things to do there and the people who work there treated us great!
Aug 03, 2015
Wonderful campground, I would have given it a 5 star, but the sights are quite small, otherwise, there is a ton for kids to do all day, a wonderful place to stay, and would recommend to everyone.
Aug 03, 2015
Nice campground for a family vacation, many activities to keep children busy and a good location for visiting interesting sights in the surrounding area.
Aug 03, 2015
Un seul problème on nous a déclassé sans pré avis pour nous localiser dans un espace trop petit pour notre roulotte suite à notre mécontentement on nous installe sur un site de qualité inférieure à ce que nous avions demandés ils nous ont chargé un prix moindre mais je suis quand même beaucoup decue
Aug 03, 2015
a huge kaon but had a smaller feel very well run wish wifi would have been available at site
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Reservation for 6 nights, stayed 4. Overall a typical KOA with sites very close together and packed in tightly. This KOA is very large with NOT enough staff to tend to it. The amount of taffice in/out daily requires twice the staff they had. Dirty showers and bathrooms were the norm. The staff overall were helpful, but many were not. Very poor directions from check in staff re lot location/no help
Aug 03, 2015
Had a great time. Campsite and comfort station were clean and organized!! Staff very helpful and friendly.
Aug 03, 2015
Very clean, , laundry facilities are below par, not recommended. If you want wifi or cell service spotty if any. The pool facilities are great, we are traveling with grandchildren and this place was made for them. We have a 40 ft towing and it was easy in out.
Aug 03, 2015
Enjoyed the stay..dissatisfied with the fire pit location
Aug 03, 2015
We love this KOA (5 years in a row). They have made great improvements every year. But this year we had a few issues. Two different days we had cold showers(stayed 4 days). And the water at the RV site and in the bathrooms was discolored(light brown and had an odor). Not sure what caused these issues but the overall facility is very good.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Great place in Black Hills with a ton of things to do for the kids. Treed spots are nice but like most KOAs you are pretty close to your neighbour. I would have given 5 stars but our site wasn't level at all. Great service though, when we needed more levelling boards they gave us a free 2x6 board to cut down into what we needed.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.