Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 27, 2015
Everyone was very friendly. Staff at stables were great! Very clean. The staff work very hard.
Aug 27, 2015
Very nice and convenient location & friendly staff
Aug 27, 2015
Reserved a tent site and paid for it-when arriving at KOA to checkin-I was "upgraded" to a site that was not for a tent, small and no grass for 2 nights we paid over $200- didn't feel like we got our moneys worth.
Aug 27, 2015
Aug 27, 2015
When we arrived, my family were welcomed by a wonderful staff. The guy who escorted us to our campsite was very helpful and he made sure the lot accommodated my large tent and family. Also the lady at the info desk was very helpful with all my needs from fishing, directions and even a location for cellphone signal at breeze point view location. My family and I were very happy for our week stay.
Aug 27, 2015
More WiFi would be great
Aug 27, 2015
Beautiful place. Well located for Mt Rushmore and Iron Mountain.
Aug 27, 2015
staff could have been a little more friendly
Aug 27, 2015
Good place to do serious family camping, as long as you don't need ANY phone or wifi...because there's none. Seriously overpriced, very noisy, and don't ask the staff questions because it's an obvious imposition. AND, be prepared for disgusting yellow to brownish water to fill your rv pipes. Will never go back.
Aug 27, 2015
Great for young people. very close to all attractions. a lot to do.
Aug 27, 2015
Aug 27, 2015
Everything was great except for the advertised wifi, it was non existent. For the price chg they should have decent wifi.
Aug 27, 2015
One of the best KOAs we have ever stayed at! Lots of activities or adults and kids. The summer shiner program made our stay exceptionally enjoyable.
Aug 26, 2015
Great clean friendly campground , close to attractions, would defiantly stay there again.
Aug 26, 2015
We loved it... The kids had a blast!
Aug 26, 2015
No wifi for my 4 day stay. Inconvenient and unnecessary. Would stay elsewhere in future.
Aug 26, 2015
We've stayed at KOA Mount Rushmore for the last 6 years and it has always been great. With all of the new improvements it was nice to see but it also took away some of the charm that kept us coming back.
Aug 26, 2015
good for kids ,lots to do good pizza and morning pancakes, however fairly tight pull throughs, but a very enjoyable 2 days
Aug 26, 2015
We had a very good visit. The only problems were there was not wifi where we were parked and I have never had to pay for my dog at a campground. $3 per night for a dog to walk outside, never heard of such
Aug 25, 2015
Very pleased with our stay there. Camp grounds nice and clean. Staff always willing to help. It's to bad it rained off and on during are stay. But my family really enjoyed them. Thank You
Aug 25, 2015
I made my reservation several months ago. When I got to the campground, I was given a spot that was flooded due to the rain. Everything was covered in mud, and there was water everywhere. When reporting this I was told there was really nothing anyone could do, but that it would be reported to maintenance. This was the worst camp site I stayed in my entire 6 1/2 weeks on the road. I may not be back
Aug 25, 2015
Great location, very nice place to stay with the family... Thank you
Aug 25, 2015
the only issue was that our sewer drain was much higher (uphill) than the black water tank in any RV that could use that site. site 596
Aug 25, 2015
Staff was very courteous great place to stay loved our spot 600. Thanks for the great memories!
Aug 25, 2015
Lots to do for the kids but Wifi is non existent. Bathrooms are great.
Aug 25, 2015
No wi-fi, no cable , and no phone service . Very large place with lots for the kids to do . very close to Rushmore and Hill City and Custer State Park . If you have kids this is a great place to go . If you don't , it is a very expensive place to just sleep .
Aug 25, 2015
Very large, lots of activities to do, dirt sites some better than others, seemed packed in. Best part VERY close to Mt Rushmore itself.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
Great place! Love it for kids. Only thing is we would have enjoyed more kid organized activities as the few they had were a huge hit!
Aug 24, 2015
Always the very best! Love this KOA. New sites are great. People are friendly. So clean and well maintained. Recommend to everyone. Thank you A+++++
Aug 24, 2015
Fabulous amenities. Outstanding staff. My only complaint is the amount of vehicle traffic in the campground, including KOA vans and trucks.
Aug 24, 2015
Great family activities and location!
Aug 24, 2015
The campground was clean and neat. Sites were small for the size of my camper and truck. Load truck came in at midnight and was running for an hour next to us while they set up.
Aug 24, 2015
Wifi was on existent. No one we spoke to could get a signal.
Aug 24, 2015
Our stay was womdrful!!! There is so much here for the kids to do & the location is perfect!! We did however end up getting a smaller calming spot than what I had originally confirmed. Our spot was suppose to be long enough for our semi & trailer - but it was just barley long enough for just our trailer.
Aug 24, 2015
Nice and clean campground. Friendly staff. Location is close Mt. Rushmore and other area attractions.
Aug 24, 2015
We enjoyed the convenience and accomodating staff. It was so quiet, we slept well. We did lose a matt that we had layed down at 167 because of the mud. We were there 4 nights and after the third night it disappeared. Other than that, we had a great time!
Aug 24, 2015
I would rate this KOA as five stars for anyone with children under 12 and those who want to "escape" cell phone and internet intrusions. Lots of stuff for young families. For myself I would not return only because of the lack of both phone and internet connection. We couldn't use our hot spot either. They need someone to answer the phones. Once you get hold of a person they are accommodating
Aug 24, 2015
the park was very nice with lots of great amenities. Too bad the internet is so very poor. Went to the lodge every day to try it and it worked half the time. Loved the campfires with s'mores and the convenient location to the area's best sites and parks.
Aug 24, 2015
We drove in from Indianola, Iowa. Check-in was very easy. Our 3 kids ages 3years to 12years all had a lot of fun. There was a lot of activities and things to do for all ages. All your employees were nice and interacted well with the kids. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are traveling to see Mt. Rushmore. We stayed in a tent and it was chilly at night so we bought a heater. Fun!
Aug 24, 2015
Great camping resort for both adults and children - will definitely be back again!
Aug 24, 2015
hadn't stayed at a KOA until this trip it was nice and clean with plenty of activities to keep the kids busy
Aug 24, 2015
Our stay was very good and clean areas for your camper, Although the showers needed hand rails to keep from slipping.
Aug 24, 2015
As usual pretty good stay, Busy place but bathrooms can be cleaner and WiFi has got to be fixed. Has been an issue for the last three years. Since cell reception is so bad WiFi is a must.
Aug 24, 2015
Our site was at the top of the hill and was wonderful. Beautiful setting and friendly people.
Aug 23, 2015
Beautiful resort with lots to do. Great amenities. Great family resort but too many kids riding rented bikes, etc. Very dangerous. If you go, be sure you stop by the wine tasting and ice cream shop!
Aug 23, 2015
This KOA has it all. Our secoƱd time there. Will definitely stay again.
Aug 23, 2015
Only wish the map was better.
Aug 23, 2015
Aug 23, 2015
Really fun place for kids. Bathrooms and showers are clean. My only "complaint" was we were sleeping in a pretty big tent and were given a very small tent site. This place is so big that I didn't want to drive back to the registration desk to ask for a different site so made it work. So if you are tenting, be sure to ask for a site that will accommodate your tent size at check in.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals