Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 05, 2015
Good KampGround. Will go their again. (even with thunder storms, flooding etc.) Traveling on their dirt roads on a motorcycle, w/trailer was interesting... Loved the area.
Aug 05, 2015
We stay for three nights, before motorcycle rally. Had a nice site-534, Could have been a little bigger for our family size tent. Enjoyed the facility very much and everyone was very Friendly!!! Would like to come back another time.
Aug 05, 2015
I followed through with reservation after learning the total of $250+ for a tent space with water and electricity only because I had committed to meeting others there. The space was hardly large enough for us and I feared that another camper backing a pop-up camper into the adjacent space could easily have hit our tent that first night of our stay. Will stay at Custer SP next trip.
Aug 05, 2015
nice stay but more expensive than thought it should be. we had no children so most of the amenities were not of interest to us.
Aug 05, 2015
Excellent location for all Black Hills things to do. Shuttle to Mt Rushmore. Large RV pull thrus, excellent clean restrooms, friendly helpful staff. Full service restaurant on property. Loved our whole experience here and would return here next visit.
Aug 04, 2015
This camp is well maintained and convenient. However, if you need cell phone service or wifi forget it.
Aug 04, 2015
By far the largest KOA we have stayed at, with a large variety of activities for the whole family. From car rentals, 4-wheelers, horse rides, swimming, mini golf, 2 swimming pools .very clean and well kept. Will definitely return in the future.
Aug 04, 2015
The staff were all wonderful and friendly!! We were disapointed that our third party was in a site a few spots down when the one across from us was open or had different campers move in and out daily. The wifi was terrible. Location was super & grounds tidy. Also disapointed in lack of recycling bins for a campground that claims to be "green" It was expensive, ok if you spent lots of time there!
Aug 04, 2015
Nice clean area and the staff was very nice
Aug 04, 2015
The Wireless connection can be achieved in lobby but no where to sit, otherwise Wireless connection is not available at RV sites. The staff is friendly and the sites are maintained.
Aug 04, 2015
A Great place for camping with the kids
Aug 04, 2015
We had a great stay. I think you should post on your website the sturgis bike rally for people who are from away. The people were wonderful but the 6 am bike rev ups were not pleasant as were the midnight bike revs. We had very little sleep which was not so much fun as we are on a 14 day trip.
Aug 04, 2015
Lots to do, very family friendly, campsites packed closely together, busy bathrooms and not very clean.
Aug 04, 2015
Personnel unfamiliar with campsites, fees are over priced for sites and breakfast.
Aug 04, 2015
We had a great time. Staff was very nice & helpful
Aug 04, 2015
We enjoyed every minute! While our main reason to stay at Palmer Gulch was to have a place to park/camp for a few days, we quickly began to realize that staying at Palmer Gulch was vacation enough and if we wanted, we didn't even have to go anywhere else! From the daily activities to swimming, the pancake breakfast, and restaurant~we were happily entertained! I can't wait to go back!
Aug 04, 2015
Had a great time at this KOA. Lots of activities for the kids, great trails and lots of amenities. Staff was great. Would definitely come back. 5 stars.
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
Nice campground...but our spot was literally in a swamp with 4 inches of mud surrounding all the hookups and the pad. Staff was professional but not particularly helpful.
Aug 04, 2015
This maybe a good campground for parents with children but without Internet service at most sites, and no television or cellphone service it is hard to recommend this place to older folks except as a stop over spot for visits to Mt Rushmore. On the positive side it is a pretty setting. We stayed in a full service spot.
Aug 04, 2015
Need more shuttle service from remote sites to areas around park
Aug 04, 2015
Noce very large KOA. Very close to Mt Rushmore
Aug 04, 2015
There is a lot of fun things to do there and the people who work there treated us great!
Aug 03, 2015
Wonderful campground, I would have given it a 5 star, but the sights are quite small, otherwise, there is a ton for kids to do all day, a wonderful place to stay, and would recommend to everyone.
Aug 03, 2015
Nice campground for a family vacation, many activities to keep children busy and a good location for visiting interesting sights in the surrounding area.
Aug 03, 2015
Un seul problème on nous a déclassé sans pré avis pour nous localiser dans un espace trop petit pour notre roulotte suite à notre mécontentement on nous installe sur un site de qualité inférieure à ce que nous avions demandés ils nous ont chargé un prix moindre mais je suis quand même beaucoup decue
Aug 03, 2015
a huge kaon but had a smaller feel very well run wish wifi would have been available at site
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Reservation for 6 nights, stayed 4. Overall a typical KOA with sites very close together and packed in tightly. This KOA is very large with NOT enough staff to tend to it. The amount of taffice in/out daily requires twice the staff they had. Dirty showers and bathrooms were the norm. The staff overall were helpful, but many were not. Very poor directions from check in staff re lot location/no help
Aug 03, 2015
Had a great time. Campsite and comfort station were clean and organized!! Staff very helpful and friendly.
Aug 03, 2015
Very clean, , laundry facilities are below par, not recommended. If you want wifi or cell service spotty if any. The pool facilities are great, we are traveling with grandchildren and this place was made for them. We have a 40 ft towing and it was easy in out.
Aug 03, 2015
Enjoyed the stay..dissatisfied with the fire pit location
Aug 03, 2015
We love this KOA (5 years in a row). They have made great improvements every year. But this year we had a few issues. Two different days we had cold showers(stayed 4 days). And the water at the RV site and in the bathrooms was discolored(light brown and had an odor). Not sure what caused these issues but the overall facility is very good.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Great place in Black Hills with a ton of things to do for the kids. Treed spots are nice but like most KOAs you are pretty close to your neighbour. I would have given 5 stars but our site wasn't level at all. Great service though, when we needed more levelling boards they gave us a free 2x6 board to cut down into what we needed.
Aug 03, 2015
We were there with family and friends. Our campsite was on a slope so made getting in and out of camper a little difficult. Camp water was worse than we've ever seen it and had to go someplace else and run good clear water thru our whole water system to flush out the brown residue. Campsites are expensive for what we get and do. May not stay again.
Aug 03, 2015
A lot of things to do. Atvs were awesome. Kids loved riding the horses. Showers were great
Aug 03, 2015
Great service and located right in the middle of everything we wanted to visit
Aug 03, 2015
My family of 4 stayed here for 4 nights. The location in relationship to Mount Rushmore was perfect. The food at the Ponderosa restaurant was surprisingly good for a campground. The reason we cannot rate this five stars are because of the shower facilities, the non-existant wi-fi, and the rudeness of a few people. Stopped at 7 different KOA's over the past 10 days. Showers here the worst.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
There's no phone service, no WiFi, and no over-night patrol to keep people from partying all night. They say there's WiFi but it will not let you get to the internet. There are fewer toilets/showers than there should be and theyre always dirty. Otherwise, this is a good campground and in a great location to get everywhere. Ive been here twice but I wont pick this place again.
Aug 03, 2015
Nice facility Bathrooms clean and sites good size I did NOT like that you had to go to office for wifi or that no quiet hours were enforced-- there were loud motorcycles after midnite and before 6am
Aug 02, 2015
Very good area for the grandkids to play .close to everything in the Black Hills
Aug 02, 2015
We really had a wonderful time and would stay here again if we come back to the Black Hills area.
Aug 02, 2015
Lots of activity for the kids...but the wifi HOT spots (not even available unless you take a trip) were a JOKE. We have used primarily KOA campgrounds on this trip but this has now been the THIRD or FOURTH KOA that advertised Wifi that was a JOKE!! EVERY camper we spoke with has complained about this being a real problem on the road. I am guessing they don't really care because of locations!
Aug 02, 2015
Positives:lovely amenities: stables, snack/coffee/wine shops, restaurant, firepits, pools, events. Negatives: NO CELL OR WIFI SERVICE AT SITE! Truck needed service asap in Rapid City, comp office telephone made it difficult to connect with busy business.Car rental dirty inside/out, dog hair, mothball smell, allergic wife incurred hives,refunded. Don't stay here if you need connection to world!
Aug 02, 2015
Had an awesome time! Excellent staff!
Aug 02, 2015
Other than the hail storm everything was great!!!
Aug 02, 2015
Loved this campground! Plenty for kids and adults to do. Our only complaint was our waitress in the restaurant for breakfast two separate days (older white thin woman. Never smiled, service was terrible, had to tell the hostess we were leaving before she personag got our drinks for us. What was so difficult about 3 waters and an iced tea...). The evening wItresses were great as was the food.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.