Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Appreciated the early check in, approximately 2 hours. It allowed my children the opportunity to do some horseback riding. Great stay. Thank you.
Jun 29, 2014
Excellent Location, extras and amenities are way too expensive. Some of the staff are less than courteous at the front desk. The 10.00 per day activity should be used for those who wish to use the services, and not a mandatory charge. The advertisement suggest that the shuttle service is complimentary and not an additional charge.
Jun 29, 2014
Staff was outstanding! All hardworking and attentive. Mini golf was worn out,useless and covered with water and/or mud most of the time. Two of the four women's toilets were not in use many times. When we paid for electric and water hook up, we were disappointed that it had no dumping hole. All others in our row had it.
Jun 29, 2014
W stayed for 4 days with reservation, we were placed in the lowest part of the camp. there was constant mud and at one time there was 3" of muddy water at our door. we also lost water because some one drove into a water specked. not happy, with our site, the camp grounds would have been nice if we were not dealing with the mudd!
Jun 29, 2014
Great resort!
Jun 29, 2014
WiFi was non-existent!
Jun 29, 2014
Sites full of trash and excessively small. Would not recommend this KOA to anyone. Kids loved all the things for them to do.
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Our stay was very nice. As two adults with no children, we didn't use any of the extra facilities but we did find the location very good for our visit to Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park. It would have been nice to have had Cable TV. One suggestion, all KOA's should have a much better recycling program, i.e., paper, all plastics and all glass.
Jun 28, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
The site is nice and close to Mount Rushmore. However, it is a busy site. Great if you have children, not quite as relaxing people without would like. Also, they have new showers that are like Saunas! No venting or any type of air movement. This is the reason I am giving this site a 4 and not a 5. The wood doors on the shower stalls are swollen and very difficult to close.
Jun 28, 2014
Wonderful staff, especially the maintenance crew. Everyone was very helpful when we had to extend our stay 4 days because of a broken 5th wheel hitch and landing gear. Our grandkids had a blast and the pancake breakfast was a hit. The only negative was the lack of cell service; which would have really helped when we were working on our hitch repairs.
Jun 28, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
Great employees. Need more showers and fix clothes dryers not working.
Jun 28, 2014
NEVER STAY HERE. After staying here I'm ready to cancel my KOA membership
Jun 28, 2014
We thought your campground was beautiful and offered all the amenities except the dog park needed attention. It was run down!
Jun 27, 2014
This KOA was great. Something for every member of the family. The free pancakes were amazing!
Jun 27, 2014
Awesome campground lots of amenities. Would definitely recommend
Jun 27, 2014
Beautiful campgrounds! Bathrooms were very clean and well maintained. We had a tent campsite and it was rather small. It was one on the end and it was small for what we paid, but the campground amenities were very nice.
Jun 27, 2014
Awesom sites
Jun 27, 2014
They have to get a couple of things fixed. We come to relax and get away but require working internet service to check in with family, work, etc. During our 5-day stay they had ZERO service. We went to their so-called "hot spots" and even their little 2-station internet cafe- BASICALLY NO SERVICE. Kids activities were way off this year- jumping pillow was broke down, foam pool was a bust.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
Reservation was mixed up in office and lots of mud in some RV spots. Other than that the facility was great and much enjoyed by our kids. We would surely come back. Thanks!
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
We had a great time. There was quite a bit of things for the kids to do. Nice, clean campsite and facilities.
Jun 27, 2014
Staff were reasonable and fulfilled my special request. the kamping kabins could have been cleaner. Many extras for the family and close enough to be a base camp I did stay one extra day
Jun 27, 2014
Stayed here in a fifth wheel, awesome park, much more than we expected!
Jun 27, 2014
I was very happy with the staff and the way I was received when I arrived . the campground was clean and presentable. Problably could use a better WIFI ssyste.
Jun 27, 2014
If you are traveling with kids you will love this KOA. If you like to socialize you will love this KOA. This park has everything including horseback riding.
Jun 27, 2014
Great place if you want to be isolated from the world, lots of entertainment and things for kids, wifi is weak and only a few sites get cable, but great location for Rushmore and Crazy Horse, forget cell phone reception, so it is great for families, can spend some quality time, Margie is an angel, really sweet lady, and Assistant Mgr Brent I believe, good man, friendly and helpful
Jun 27, 2014
We were put in a site made for a camp trailer (we are a 40' diesel pusher) even the escort knew we were too big for the site but we were not allowed to move. when my wife inquired at the desk if they knew the coordinates for direct TV she was told it was her responsibility to know that. it is my opinion that thisark in more interested in filling sites than caring for people already there.
Jun 27, 2014
Great campground for kids. We very much enjoyed our stay there. Will be back again sometime.
Jun 27, 2014
Everyone was so very helpful! Would be terrific to bring kids for vacation with all ever activities available. However, the lack of wii fi was a Huge negative. We had no way to contact our families as even cell service was hit and miss, also. We were told at the desk this was a long term problem. No service for us would be a reason we would not stay here again.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
The campground was not to my liking, just personal. the staff was fantastic. Everything runs like clock work and I know the families that stayed there had a wonderful time. NG
Jun 27, 2014
Had a problem with the original site I was assigned. Staff found me a new site with no problem even though they were full. Great facility. Tons of things to do and very friendly staff.
Jun 26, 2014
This campground has virtually NO wireless internet service although they advertise that it is available. I missed an important meeting since there is no cell phone service either. Full hookups does not include cable. Other than those issues the campground was good.
Jun 26, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
It was great!
Jun 26, 2014
AWESOME campground. The kids had a great time. Everyone was very friendly. This is THE place to stay in the Mount Rushmore area.
Jun 26, 2014
it is expensive, however we knew that. Great for kids(we have none). Everyone very focused on great customer service. Very friendly welcoming staff
Jun 26, 2014
This is a wonderful campground. It is very clean, with modern shower houses and they respect the quiet times. Loved all the activities. There is only one thing they need to improve and that would be the wireless internet. We were there in a GIANT hail storm and had no idea -no storm warnings at all due to no wifi and no cell service out there. Otherwise this is the best KOA in South Dakota!
Jun 26, 2014
Our first night was a storm. The second night we got a new site and it wasn't a mud pit.
Jun 26, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
A lot of services and activities, but the RVs are packed in like sardines. Also, the bathhouse was less than adequate, with 1/2 of the showers out of order and only 4 toilet stalls, which were not clean. I understand daily use contributes to being dirty, but there was feces smeared on the wall for at least 2 days. However, the camp location simply cannot be beat.
Jun 26, 2014
Site # 180 needs to be rebuilt so it is out of the mud when it rains. I informed Grounds crew & was told they would rebuild after I left the site. Should have been fixed & rebuilt before I even arrived.
Jun 26, 2014
Low marks probably not KOA's fault. Due to days of rain our site was under water, shorted out our electric, and caused 8 of us to stay inside.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.