Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 05, 2016
This was our 3 red visit to Pulmer Gulch KOA and we love all the amenities. However, with limited cell service and no wifi, we were disappointed. Also cable was only available in the most expensive campsites. REALLY.?
Jun 05, 2016
Jun 05, 2016
Jun 05, 2016
Kid had a great time - lots of amenities!
Jun 05, 2016
The Internet did not work,we had awful directions and couldn't find our camp site, the numbering of the campground is very confusing, 200. 400 600 all mixed together. The staff acted like they didn't care when we addressed our issues, they literally said, " ohh okay," while rolling eyes. The place is beautiful but not worth the money at all!
Jun 05, 2016
Very nice, clean campground. We were extremely impressed with the improvements they've made over the past 2 years. New picnic area, new chairs, tables, and they dramatically improved the all you can eat pancake tent. Really nice. People at the front desk were excellent and helped us with questions we had. Employee's KOA truck was desperately in need of repair...but he had a great attitude.
Jun 04, 2016
Beautiful campground, lots of activities for the kids including hirseback riding. The view of Mt. Harney is tremendous!!!
Jun 03, 2016
First KOA we had to pay for our dog. Very poor WI-FI, I realize it is in the mountains but have stayed at other campgrounds in the mountains and Wi-Fi worked much better.
Jun 03, 2016
Was not pleased that Cell and Internet were not there to use on site
Jun 03, 2016
Way over-priced!!!!! This is a "resort" KOA with lots of amenities - all for additional fees but NO cable and wifi only available at certain hotspots and not very good. With no cell service anywhere in the campground or surrounding area, this was a huge problem. The campground is huge and very well maintained and staff was friendly.
Jun 02, 2016
My family really enjoyed our stay. There was plenty of activities for the whole family.
Jun 02, 2016
Very nice facilities but I mis represented in the brochers. You'll have NO wifi contrary to what they say and I didn't see any 90' spaces and my 40' coach barely fit. Overall it's a nice place to stay though, just don't bring a trailer.
Jun 02, 2016
beautiful. even though it was early in the season, we were very pleased with our stay
Jun 01, 2016
Awesome resort! Tons of activities for the whole family!
Jun 01, 2016
Jun 01, 2016
What a wonderful way to spend any family vacation. The amenities are wonderful. Hot showers and clean bathrooms. The site is beautiful with so much to offer. Thank you for a a great time.
Jun 01, 2016
Had a great time lots to do
Jun 01, 2016
This KOA has everything you could want and more. Not only is it in a beautiful setting, it has numerous things for kids to do, as well as adults. Good restaurant and pub, as well as coffe/wine shop, and ice cream shop. Minutes from Mt Rushmore.
Jun 01, 2016
Clean nice KOA liked the pancake breakfast
Jun 01, 2016
Very Nice. Enjoyed our stay.
May 31, 2016
The place was really neat. Biggest campground I have ever seen. The weather could have been better, not KOA's fault. Also didn't like the neighbors and there 5 ATV's coming and going. Over all really liked it.
May 31, 2016
We loved that there were so many activities for the kids. The staff was really great. The only down side was the space that we rented was very small and on their main interior road. With small kids it was dangerous and overall dusty from all of the traffic. Had we known, we would have requested a different spot.
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
Amazing place for families with children. The staff was super with the kids and they were fully involved with them. Playing basketball, games and they even taught my 4 year old how to ride a bike! Definitely returning next year for vacation!
May 31, 2016
Centeral Location to everything you will want to visit. Staff and Campground was worth the money. Campground was clean and well laid out.
May 31, 2016
Great campground, tons to do, clean restrooms, and friendly staff! We will be back!
May 31, 2016
Kids loved all the activities.
May 31, 2016
There were several mishaps that could have made our trip terrible but the friendly staff were able to take care of them in a swift manner. Our electricity did not work and a water main broke near the restroom. Again, the staff was great about taking care of it quickly. I wish there was a restroom closer to site 514
May 31, 2016
Beautiful Camping Resort! Lots of fun things for the kids to do. Near all major attractions. Decent price.
May 31, 2016
Everything was great! Our only regret was that we could not stay longer! Well done!
May 31, 2016
Property will nickle and dime you for everything for the amount it is to stay a night. Couldn't use the sewer as they had place them alone side the road where no one can reach.
May 31, 2016
Loved it
May 31, 2016
What a wonderful, clean and fun place! Staff were so helpful and kind, we only wish the rain would have stayed away!
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
Great time . Good people .Lots of fun things for the kids to do .
May 31, 2016
Everything was clean and easily accessible. There were a number of activities for kids and it was in a good location.
May 31, 2016
Nice park
May 30, 2016
By far the best KOA I have stayed at, and I have been to at least 30. The staff is very friendly. Amenities are amazing. Great large kids play area. Already planning our trip there for next year.
May 29, 2016
Great location near Mt Rushmore - we did the bus to the night show which was great- pancake breakfast and all the other amenities were awesome
May 28, 2016
It would have been nice to know that the fun zone didn't open up until memorial weekend ahead of time other than that it was a great place to stay!
May 27, 2016
NO WIFI..Without a doubt the pinnacle of KOA Kampgrounds. Has everything and then some. Friendly staff great location. My BIG complaint is why is wifi limited to the store area and not available throughout the camp. No cell reception so wifi is NEEDED without leaving your camper. It has everything else especially for kids. Cant say enough about the beauty..NO WIFI and we were close to the store.
May 27, 2016
We were quite disappointed with this KOA due to their lack of being prepared for the season. We understand that they just opened, but felt they should have been more set up for customers than they were. We were also upset that the charged for the dogs, yet the K-9 kamp was overgrown and there were no bags or scoopers available. We were unhappy with the unprofessionalism of the younger staff.
May 27, 2016
Great place with great views and so close that you can drive to mount rhusmore at night too.
May 26, 2016
Very helpful staff. Just wish they would publish when things open ie- the Restaurant no notice it opened the day we left.
May 26, 2016
The campground was nice. However, for the price and the additional resort fees, we were very disappointed that there was no cable or WIFI away from the main office. Without cell service in the area, that left us cut off from family, in the event of an emergency.
May 25, 2016
Just not that great. The person who shoes us to our site was kind enough, but it's hard to like a camp site without even a tree and I'm really sorry but if WiFI is advertised, it ought to reach to our campsite. So KOA name sometimes just means expensive electricity for a parking space.
May 24, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. The campground is very clean and the staff very courteous and helpful. We were able to bring our 4 wheeler along and ride the trails on the Federal Land. We were able to do day trips to many sites. We have stayed here before this last trip and plan to return again with all the family.
May 24, 2016
loved the location and looks of the park, we were off season so some things were closed
May 24, 2016
KOA campgrounds are such a blessing to have when traveling in the "RV" world! The staff at these campgrounds are so friendly, courteous and professional! You want a CLEAN place to stay? You got it! You want a helpful place to stay? You got it! You want a nice physical location to stay? You go it! My wife and I cannot say enough as to how great the KOA Campgrounds are!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals