Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 11, 2015
Promised specific site - changed at checkin. Said they don't promise sites so someone at the 800 number told me lies. Was promised room for a tent plus a popup but there definitely was not - we all had to squeeze into the popup for 5 days. My first stay at a KOA; campground was good but not sure I will try KOA again - can't believe anything I'm told. 400 chars is not enough for this comment!!!
Jul 11, 2015
This is a true resort, not just a campground. Plenty for kids to do. Our area of the campground, which looked newly developed, was quite soggy during our stay, reportedly due to a spring nearby.
Jul 11, 2015
Wonderful location,right in the middle of everything. Loved seeing the horses Would really be nice if there was cell reception for emergencies. Also need internet and tv service
Jul 11, 2015
There was plenty to do there. We had fun. Yet some were not very friendly.
Jul 11, 2015
If you have young children this is the only place you should stay. They will be so busy and happy here. The campground is a great location to Mount Rushmore. They offer shuttles, car rentals, horseback riding. Everything you can think of. The spaces are tight, it is more like a city and there is no cell service and really no wifi even though they say there is. There's not. It is great for a
Jul 10, 2015
No tv no wifi poorly maintained sights
Jul 10, 2015
Nice clean park. Lots to do and location is great for many of the local attractions.
Jul 10, 2015
It really made me mad that you advertised free wifi when, over the course of a week, I was never able to connect. Would have been fine had we known previously, but I had planned for connection and no one could help. Change your website! There is no wifi!!!!!
Jul 10, 2015
We stayed with our daughter and 2 granddaughters and had a blast! The girls loved all of the activities and especially the horses! The bathrooms and grounds are very clean! Would definitely go back!
Jul 10, 2015
I am coming back. I didn't get to do everything and I really want to. Thank you so much.
Jul 10, 2015
Poor Customer Service
Jul 10, 2015
Most overpriced, overstated and under delivered mess of a site I have ever stayed in. I would maybe call this a patio site, but no way would I call it deluxe. Was really looking forward to this campground, but now would never stay again.
Jul 10, 2015
Had a wonderful time as always. When (Jack) took us to the campsite, as I was attempting to back in, the neighbor lady and kids came out and were extremely belligerent.Her son or grandson said to me,"Yea, I hope you like the looks of our back window". I asked to be moved to another site. Sara (front desk) and Jack worked it out and moved me away from them. Thank you
Jul 10, 2015
This campgrounds has a lot of activities and is in a great location. We loved the pool and splash pad and the breakfast. Other activities cost too much money. Our site had very little tree cover and so it got really hot. Would have been nice to have a better recommendation from the reservations line when I reserved the specific site (and paid extra for the site selection).
Jul 10, 2015
We are handicapped and put up on a hill that we could not walk back up so we stayed in the rv. We rented one of their cars by calling and I had asked for the car for 24 hours no problem the girl said on the phone. We were then charged for two days. We were charged for a service dog. And we were charged for an activity fee of $20 that we were neve told about
Jul 10, 2015
Nice but we could not find a phone number to contact the campground directly with a question before the stay.
Jul 10, 2015
Standing water draws mosquitos
Jul 10, 2015
Noise partiers in the 2 sites behind ours until 2:00 am. Swearing drinking and playing loud ball games. No security to be found, believe they may have been seasonal employees. I also videoed some of their activities. But to what end?
Jul 10, 2015
pet park, inch of water to walk pets, wifi poor,no cable no cell service, muddy. To pricey for these inconveniences.
Jul 10, 2015
This is not a campground, it's a small city. Over priced, and not as advertised. Wifi did not function for two days. No cell service in the area either. Shuttle service only to Rushmore or Crazy Horse, nothing else. Pool was ok, hot tubs were nasty. Bathrooms were just ok. Mini golf was a complete joke, even my 6 yo said it was terrible. Pancakes tent was rip-off. Laundry dryers only 7 min not 11.
Jul 10, 2015
Huge site with tons of kids activities. But as with many mega destinations some details are neglected. Front desk was understaffed and impersonal, bathrooms are hall closet sized, driveways muddy and uneven, wifi was useless and no cell svc. That said, the scenery is gorgeous and the kids amenities extensive. If you don't expect to the VIP treatment and have kids this is a pretty awesome KOA.
Jul 09, 2015
This is the BEST KOA we have ever stayed at. Lots to do and great staff.
Jul 09, 2015
Nice KOA. Very crowded,but plenty of bathrooms and showers. Alot of activities to do for kids. Pancake breakfast is a serious bargain and good to eat. Mt. Rushmore is 10 minutes away, tram available for $6 per person. Beats finding parking.
Jul 09, 2015
The best thing is they had a lot of great activities for the kids. It's huge so we had to walk a ways or drive to the pool but it was a neat place for a walk or morning run. I only showered once and it was either scalding or freezing but I don't know of anyone else that had this issue. It's a great location if you're going to see all the sights.
Jul 09, 2015
Great
Jul 09, 2015
My kids had a great time except for the day when there was no electricity-it was our last full day and they were not able to swim, jump, get ice cream or fudge...there was a lot closed, which is understandable but I kind of feel like I should get a partial reimbursement since we were not able to use all the facilities. The only thing we could do was a trail ride(expensive). Generators needed. Thx
Jul 09, 2015
The campground is nice. The facilities are nice. The activities are good. BUT we were totally disconnected from our families because of the total lack of phone service and Internet. No texts, calls, messages, wifi.... Not even TV. We would likely stay elsewhere next time.
Jul 09, 2015
We enjoyed our stay so much that we stayed an extra day. Our son enjoyed the activities at the fun zone and the horseback riding. Hannah and Christina were our guides and did a fabulous job!!
Jul 09, 2015
We had an excellent time! You had everything there for parents and children to have a wonderful time! My children loved riding the horses.
Jul 08, 2015
our family loved the "family" focus at your campgrounds. our younger campers were safe to go to the pool, jumping tent or anyplace on the grounds. We had grandchildren in their 20's down to 6 years old and they all loved our family reunion thanks in part to the wonderful facility. We plan to come back again in 2 years! Grandma Eliason
Jul 08, 2015
Huge campground, lots to do within while touring the area. Sites are large, great friendly staff
Jul 08, 2015
Very family friendly and had great service. Definitely will go back.
Jul 08, 2015
Would had been nice to have some cell service in case of emergencies. Other than that, it was the best koa we've stayed at yet.
Jul 08, 2015
Had a nice time. Our granddaughter loved it. So much for her to do.
Jul 08, 2015
This KOA is awesome! Great location to everything. There is no internet or phone service until you are in the next town but there is plenty to keep you busy. The pizza place is great and fudge shop fantastic! The all you can eat pancakes are good but the service is not that good- If you have any allergies they can't tell you what's in their food? Stay was great, I would return.
Jul 08, 2015
You need to have a better way so family's can have sites together. I included a note on my reservations that I wanted 2 sites together and when we checked in they said there were no sites together yet the site next to mine had new campers in it almost every day or was empty the time we were there. The check in person was not willing to move someone or help us in any other way. We camped for 5 days
Jul 08, 2015
Enjoyed our 2 overnight stay, very well organised for the size of the site Thank you
Jul 08, 2015
We enjoyed the stay at My. Rushmore KOA. However, the 2 issues we had were, our campsite was too small and narrow for our camper and there were no bathroom/shower facilities on the hill where our campsite was located, they were all where the larger campsites were located. We had to drive to use the facilities.
Jul 08, 2015
We had a blast, met so many wonderful people and our grandkids had so much fun. We will be back and tell others about your KOA!!!!!
Jul 08, 2015
So much to do!
Jul 08, 2015
Clean and lots to do.
Jul 07, 2015
We had a great reunion with 53 people in attendance. 51 were staying on site. The amenities are wonderful. My only negative comment would be that the shelter could use some fixing up-especially the weather curtains and the floor. Otherwise, wonderful!!
Jul 07, 2015
Restrooms with showers toward the front of your complex needs to be updated otherwise everything was great
Jul 07, 2015
Advertise wi-fi and didn't work. Would think for price charged to stay you could afford to update. Need wi-fi or cell service to plan excursions.
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
Great facility with tons of stuff to occupy the kids. This is aside from all of the things to do in the area. There were days the kids wanted to stop sightseeing and go back to the fun zone, or to fish or ride horses. Great place highly recommended. Also there was NO phone service so it was a true vacation.
Jul 07, 2015
We had a great stay! we will return. The staff and management were wonderful and all the amenities were wonderful
Jul 07, 2015
It was overcrowded, muddy everywhere, no wifi.....the worst was the mud. We couldn't leave the motor home. We traveled from New Jersey to California and have stayed in many KOAs. This was the only disappointing one. The staff service wasn't great either. Long lines and not very helpful.
Jul 07, 2015
Very family friendly! Excellent place for kids of any age. UTV rentals were very fun.
Jul 07, 2015
Everything was great. The only complaint was the water slide was broken as well as the hottub.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.