Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 28, 2016
Works can't truly express how great this campground is. It is very large and has so many activities for the kids. Horseback riding is a must (Extra Charge). Would love to stay here again.
Aug 28, 2016
Aug 28, 2016
A nice clean campground, but I would have liked more of a camping experience and less of a resort experience. The constant music blaring from where the kids played was a big distraction and ruined the beautiful mountain sounds like the stream running, birds singing, and so forth. For kids, this would be a great campground, for older adults, not so much.
Aug 28, 2016
amazing place and great tour!!!
Aug 28, 2016
We loved it here!! Lots of things for the kids to do. Nice showers.The grounds were well maintained. The flowers were beautiful. I would recommend this KOA to everyone!
Aug 28, 2016
Aug 27, 2016
Very good services, plenty of things for kids to do, very clean...enjoyed our stay
Aug 27, 2016
Very nice place. Great for kids. Close to everything. Could of had better Catv.
Aug 27, 2016
This is an amazing KOA, large with tons of activities. Just too busy for us, even at the end of the season. We prefer smaller resorts, but it was nice to try.
Aug 27, 2016
If there are children involved then great place to stay. Our only complaint is that we paid $80 for the 8 nights we stayed for an entertainment fee which we never used. Also, WIFI wasn't available at our campsite whereas other campgrounds have WIFI at the site.
Aug 27, 2016
The place is great, only negative things is that the sites are right on top of eachother. I know they want to have asome much room as possible, but it makes the stay less enjoyable. We did meet some new people though!
Aug 26, 2016
Aug 26, 2016
We were thrilled with the establishment & all it offered but even more that we got to attend their rodeo.
Aug 26, 2016
My wife and I have stayed at this campground two times in the past few years. We really enjoy it and will be back. The staff and grounds crew get a kudos from us always friendly and very well maintained. Keep up the great work!
Aug 26, 2016
Too small of site the neighbor camp fire was right by my camper. Other than that I was happy with my stay
Aug 26, 2016
A great family campground with numerous activities for the family! Campground is clean and very friendly staff. camoground is conveniently located to all things you wanna do/see in the black hills!
Aug 26, 2016
Spent four days here with our grandchildren. First they tried to put us on a hill site where my granddaughter rolled down the hill and scratched her face up. no place to sit and the picnic table was at such a slant that you could never serve a meal on it. Went to the office and complained and luckily they moved us. My only other complaint is that the shower and bathrooms weren't kept the clean
Aug 26, 2016
So much fun things to do in beautiful setting. Friendly helpful staff
Aug 26, 2016
Super clean grounds, helpful and friendly staff. Washrooms/shower were really great but personally I would like shower area cleaned a bit better.
Aug 26, 2016
Great fun in pool, horse ride, shows and movies. See you next summer!
Aug 26, 2016
Ideal for families. Had a lot of things to keep the children amused. We enjoyed the night shuttle to Mount Rushmore. The campground is so big and spread out that it took 15 minutes of fast walking to get to the KOA office from our camp site.
Aug 26, 2016
Nice camp grounds. The only thing is that the showers could have been cleaner.
Aug 26, 2016
Aug 26, 2016
What a beautiful place... We loved everything about this KOA. Everyone was extreamly helpful and my three boys loved the fun zone. We would highly recommened Mt. Rushmore KOA to anyone. We hadn't even left and we where already planning are return for next year. Thank you for the unforgettable memories that we made.
Aug 26, 2016
The cost for food items seemed much higher than expected in KOA store.Crazy..
Aug 26, 2016
Everything you might want in a resort.
Aug 25, 2016
Very large and busy place. Very tight sites, really just a parking lot. Premium price but no cable, wifi and weak phone service. Great location in the middle of the area attractions. Lots of kids activities.
Aug 25, 2016
Over all our stay was wonderful! The facility was clean and well kept! I was disappointed in the fact that I couldn't ride horse with my family, due to being more than 240 pounds (but I guess that's my problem not your). Also our fire pit was located very close to our neighbors camper. Thanks!
Aug 25, 2016
GREAT! Have stayed before. Plan on staying again. Need more cell phone service other than at office area.
Aug 25, 2016
We enjoyed the Mount Rushmore KOA Palmer Glutch so much!! It exceeded our expectations! With such a friendly staff and such a variety of activities and events, we can't wait to come back! Thank you so much for making our family vacation so incredible!
Aug 25, 2016
Overall we had a wonderful stay and the last minute car rental saved our vacation. Only downside was a small campsite for our size RV and fire pit could have used some TLC.
Aug 25, 2016
The BEST ever time we had with all the kids! Will be back next year! Thank You for a GREAT vacstion!
Aug 25, 2016
Great,friendly place!! Lots to do....
Aug 25, 2016
Great resort with lots to do! Only negative was the site we had was partially covered with water.
Aug 24, 2016
Great park. Great staff.
Aug 24, 2016
Nice park, very large establishment. Sites were small, had a section of grass on my site removed. Caused more dirt and mud (rained during our stay)to be track into the trailer.
Aug 24, 2016
It was wonderful kids really enjoyed it will definitely come again
Aug 24, 2016
Excellent campgrounds especially if you have kid lots to do and clean facilities.
Aug 24, 2016
Pancake deal, not such a deal for larger groups. Will suggest others skip it due to cost. Consider allowing byo beverage/shareable sizes of meat at a discount. Great time with the grandkids, 8-6-2. Right across from Kids Zone.They had a blast! Thank you!!
Aug 24, 2016
Wish we had our grandkids with us!! They would have loved your campgrounds too!
Aug 24, 2016
We absolutely love going to the Mount Rushmore KOA. We were very disappointed to find that the water slide was closed for "maintenance" for the duration of this stay, as that is our daughter's favorite activity there, but it was still a good experience overall
Aug 24, 2016
This campground is priced too high unless you have small children to use the facilities. I stayed here because I could not find other suitable space. The showers were not maintained as well as they should have been. The wifi is only available at three places over a very large campground. There are flies everywhere and the cable is not up to date and maintained. I had to pay a resort fee.
Aug 24, 2016
Shower house 3 needs some work. It should be more like shower house 1. $5.00 for a dozen eggs!? We were there for only two days. Great place for young families. Just stock up groceries before you arrive.
Aug 24, 2016
The person taking the reservation on the phone told me we would have premium site. When we arrived the site wasn't a premium nor was was it dry. ( it was a giant mud puddle) After paying more for a premium site we asked what the extra $40.00 was for, we were told it was for the pool and other activities. We were never told about this. We cut our stay short and will not return
Aug 24, 2016
Very friendly staff! Many things to do at the campground.
Aug 24, 2016
A great place for the family but not for relaxing.Tight spaces, dirty bathrooms and I don't mean just mud. I was unable to enjoy the serenity of being in the woods. There was just too much commotion and noise. The entrance is grand and so is the KOA building but that's about it. Expensive.
Aug 24, 2016
Disappointed. Campground was dark, crowded and confusing. Roads had no signs, gravel, direction signs or exit signs. No campground lighting. Office people were nice.
Aug 24, 2016
Very well managed campground with friendly attentive staff. Overpriced and then they add another $10 "resort fee". Not sure what that was suppose to cover but I was annoyed that it was charged after already paying too much for a campground that doesn't even have 1 WiFi spot. with very limited cell phone coverage WiFi is a must to keep in contact while traveling.
Aug 23, 2016
Need a little more Dust control
Aug 23, 2016
Helpful friendly staff fabulous stores!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy