Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 13, 2015
Weather wasn't nice while we were here, but there was so much to do, it didn't matter. Two ways to improve things might be to put more gravel on the dirt roads to fill in the potholes and make drainage more efficient, and install a faster skimmer on the south pool to reduce the number of flies in the pool. This KOA overall is great. We stay at a lot of them, but none we have tried had so much.
Jun 13, 2015
Great kids activities and kind, friendly supervisors! We loved our trail ride and the ice cream shop and coffee shop!
Jun 13, 2015
Jun 13, 2015
Sight was not level and very muddy. The picnic table was broken. Dis colored water. Resort fee not an option.
Jun 12, 2015
I know we reserved a campsite just after days of rain, but having made my reservation 9 months in advance, being told I was at the wrong KOA incorrectly given site in standing water. Corrected next day after I complained. Then rented golf cart 2 days in advance, the day I picked it up one cart left that wouldn't run. Poor organization. Close to sites but will not go back
Jun 12, 2015
Great customer service!!!
Jun 12, 2015
Great! Except wifi did not work and the slide was broken. Also, please work on the mini golf course, it's neglected. Otherwise very nice.
Jun 12, 2015
Jun 12, 2015
Had a great time. Camp site was roomy enough for easy pull in and a feeling of privacy. Restrooms and shower facilities were exceptional! We found water pressuee to be a little low but just went to tanks and pump vs city intake. Only neqative was wifi, poor to not available, as well as cell phone connectivity. If you have issues at home you need to keep track of, you might end up stressed A rated!
Jun 12, 2015
We appreciated the mgmt helping to compensate for our not getting the deluxe site we reserved by giving us bus passes to Mt. Rushmore. Beautiful campground!
Jun 12, 2015
The "new" deluxe sites way up in the 250's have major traffic flow on both roads in front and in back of the sites. They are located across the street from the playground, swimming pool, bicycle rentals, basketball hoops and bouncing house. Great if you have kids but not for those who don't. Screaming and yelling ALL the time. These new Deluxe sites are not for everyone and needs to be noted.
Jun 12, 2015
This is the largest KOA I've ever seen! It has some nice facilites - 2 pools, lots of kids activities, plenty of bathrooms, but NO CELL, NO WI-FI as promised. Even the internet cafe lacked service! Plus we were packed in like sardines but there were plenty of spacious sites elsewhere in the park. Had we known, we would've asked for them. If you don't have kids might be better to stay elsewhere
Jun 12, 2015
Other than the bouts with the rain and puddles, (but you can't control the weather). We had a GREAT vacation. So many sights are so near, endless entertainment. Our daughter and grandchildren loved all of the activities at the campground. Thank you! I'd definitely come back!!
Jun 12, 2015
This was the worst campsite we stayed at during our 11 day vacation. It was overpriced, the site was uneven and hard to get into and there was a 10 dollar resort saver package that was charged which we don't even know what it was for. A very bad experience.
Jun 12, 2015
Jun 12, 2015
Great place for kids, very poor wifi for the size of the park, need to maintain cement pads, a little too pricy for what you get
Jun 11, 2015
So much offered at this one location. We stayed at 7 KOA locations thru out the Glacier, Yellowstone, Big Horn and Black Hills area and this one was the second best place we stayed. It is obvious you care about the people that visit your facility. Really enjoyed the stables being right on site!
Jun 11, 2015
The hot tub was broke , water slide did not work , jumping pillow was out of commission, climbing wall broke,miniature golf was under water , but the pool did work and we still had to pay for the $10 activity fee per day for 5 days $50 not bad for the use of a pool.We will be staying at a different campground from now on.
Jun 11, 2015
Jun 11, 2015
The Mount Rushmore KOA is absolutely beautiful. No matter what location you are parked, you have an incredible few. We enjoyed our stay,we had lots of rain and had to move our spot, but the staff handled this with great efficiency. thank you!
Jun 11, 2015
Jun 11, 2015
Staff was friendly No cable tv could not hook up to wifi sites very muddy Very high price on everything left two days early
Jun 11, 2015
Great facility with many amenities however they need to upgrade their internet service you can not get any or very weak internet or phone service anywhere in the park for the price being charged to stay overnite you should be able to provide that
Jun 11, 2015
We've stayed multiple times. On spur of the moment, we called ahead for weather concerns, and didn't get adequate answers. On arrival, we were sent to a site way too small, muddy, and through uneven terrain- causing my 5th wheel to rub my pickup box. First I've ever been sent through, and to a spot so uneven. 2 attempts to speak to a manager, never made it past supervisors. Pretty upset this visit
Jun 11, 2015
Nice site. No wifi!! Lots of pot holes on road. Washrooms need more attention. Pub not open on time for happy hr. Expresso machine broken in coffee shop. Not possible to check tire pressure on way out. -- otherwise a very nice stay!! Not likely to return.
Jun 11, 2015
Lot at 20% angle. Roads full of deep craters.
Jun 11, 2015
Excessively expensive; besides paying a very high rate per night we had to pay $10 resort fee for the excessively luxurious facilities. As we only wanted water and electricity we were put at a site far away from offices and those facilities. WIFI only at three hotspots. We have traveled the US for the last 10 months staying at 30+ KOAs; we rate this the lowest value for money by far.
Jun 10, 2015
My family had a wonderful time. This is a beautiful resort with very friendly staff!
Jun 10, 2015
Lots of fun things to do. Gravel roads however need some work to get rid of ruts and the WIFI experience is not good.
Jun 10, 2015
Little to tight for campers but great place. Great workers out and about.
Jun 10, 2015
The kids had a great time with a the things to do. The pancake breakfast was great. The only down side was the jumping pillow wasn't working . That was due to flooding
Jun 10, 2015
There were two problems during our 5 night stay. Very little or no service for cell phone use or Internet.. More trouble than that is the fact that no student working there had any knowledge of any questions asked regarding activities at the KOA. I think they need more training. Other than that, great place for kids of all ages and adults too.
Jun 10, 2015
Jun 10, 2015
Staff were good when we were having finding a campsite that wasn't a mud pit for the kids as there has been so much rain. Kids facilities were amazing. A perfect spot for the family-we were sad to leave and move on!
Jun 10, 2015
Everything OK, but in our idea, it is a too big campground. We like the smaller ones. But everybody was very vriendly and helpfull.
Jun 10, 2015
Great KOA but my experience wasn't so great. Middle of week reservation (lots of vacancies) but assigned a pull-thru spot next to road (at bottom of hill) There was lots of road traffic & then thunder storm, so we couldn't eat at picnic table or enjoy outside because of mud (lots of mud!) we would have ask for different spot (higher up) but too hard for my husband to unhook & rehook!
Jun 10, 2015
First two sites they placed us at were small and on a hill and not level. Third site was flat and large. Look at the actual site before paying. The printed maps don't show the whole picture. The staff member Jack was very helpful in making sure our camper fit in the spot without problems. Reassured us that we would get situated. It was pouring rain the whole time we went from spot to spot.
Jun 10, 2015
Trevor is AWESOME! He helped us locate a better spot for our rig. Great campground for folks with kids, never ending fun. Thanks again!
Jun 09, 2015
The staff are amazing!!!!! They went out of their way to help us and make sure we had what we needed. Otherwise, I prefer to not have the crowds and stay at a smaller site.
Jun 09, 2015
We had a an amazing visit kids begged to stay! Only disappointment for kids was the waterslide was not yet operating, but they had plenty of other fun activities to do! Only concern was that the water had a brown/yellow tint and I didn't fill my RV with the water. Great pancake breakfast! Loved hearing the frogs sing at night!!!
Jun 09, 2015
Jun 08, 2015
Park was clean and nice. WiFi was POOR. Could not stay connected.
Jun 08, 2015
Loved all the activities to keep kids busy. Very organized and friendly. Only thing could have made it better would be chairs by the trampoline for the parents!
Jun 08, 2015
We have been to your campground several times and continue to send everyone there who are headed to south Dakota
Jun 08, 2015
This is an awesome place for a family
Jun 08, 2015
very clean and and very helpful
Jun 08, 2015
Nice campsite, the free wifi is misleading because you have to be right on top of the main building to get a small signal & no cell reception. But we loved the concrete patio & everything was maintained well.
Jun 08, 2015
Jun 08, 2015
We always enjoy staying at this KOA. It is run so very well.
Jun 08, 2015
Poor drainage when it's wet. Pack your boots. Beautiful views and excellent staff. Pancake tent was a hit with my family.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.