Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Our Axel on our camper broke in the way out from WI and had to stay in the repair shop all week! Koa staff immediately got on the task and moved our party of 5 into a Kamping Kabin at no extra charge. We had a wonderful week and will definitely be back. Thank you!
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Site was terribly uneven and rocky. Roads were terrible. The park itself has nice immenities but for me far too big to enjoy. Spread out too much.
Aug 20, 2013
Like KOA's but this one was too big for us. As Retiree's, the walk to the main building was too much for us so we only went a couple of times. I like to see kids having fun; but most kids there seemed to not have parents keeping an eye on them. Riding bikes without a single glance to see if someone was walking.
Aug 20, 2013
Picnic tables were rotting, we had to use neighbors as ours was missing, spacing between rv's was too narrowband price was too much for what we got questioning if going to a koa has any advantages over a mom and pop park
Aug 20, 2013
Super nice staff and campground. Had to arrange a late checkout for a short notice event. KOA helped me out big time! This is the best place to stay in the hills if you have kids...or are just a big kid! Highly recommend this place.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
I loved having the cooking gazebo. The only negative to the campground was the lack of cell phone service.
Aug 19, 2013
Would have rated an 8 or 9, but the bathrooms were not good. Cold showers!
Aug 19, 2013
The site that we were put at was so un-level for a trailer. That hole area needs to be re-stoned and leveled. The water hook up leaked. the fire rings were not placed properly. Some were up side down and needed repaired. The tables needed repaired.looks like all the money is being used on other things that you charge for and not the camp sites.
Aug 19, 2013
We pulled in with an RV/car in a downpour.There was a man with a white beard in a yellow slickers who stood under the awning who waved us on we could barely see & had no idea what he was talking about we drove aimlessly around the campground-this was very frustrating, he should have come up to our RV and told us to pull into the staging area.hottub H2o was green-sadly didn't use them. Internet-bad
Aug 19, 2013
Employees assigning spaces need more education on size of space vs. unit people have. Need to fix some pot holes to keep mud down.
Aug 19, 2013
Bathrooms and showers dirty. Hot tub and children's pool dirty. A lot of amenities need more upkeep.
Aug 19, 2013
Crowded, dirty, very poorly maintained. Wish I could get my money back.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
water rusty at site
Aug 19, 2013
A perfect base location for kids as there is so much to do!
Aug 19, 2013
This KOA was the highpoint in my granddaughter's vacation with me. She loved the horses and the pools
Aug 19, 2013
The best Campground I've every been too. Simply amazing! Thank you fou all the memories!
Aug 19, 2013
All of the staff went out of their way to make you feel at home, it was a great place to go and see all the sites from there.
Aug 19, 2013
Great K.O.A.,was here in 2002 and its gotten better. Long time K.O.A. person, loved it.
Aug 19, 2013
I went here based on previous trips here over the years. Was disappointed with attitude of staff. Quality of campground was down. My grand kids rented a pedal car $15 per hour broke the rule took it out of lower camp are staff had them return it after 15 minutes no refund. Fine they broke the rules. 15 minutes later another group got busted but got to keep them. Only diff was age and color.
Aug 19, 2013
We have stayed here for three years now for a number of days. Always very happy. This last trip really left us scratching our heads. The service was very lac luster and the cleanliness of the restrooms and the property was very disappointing. We did book Labor Day weekend as well hoping things are different. We love this park and want it to be our favorite place to camp.
Aug 19, 2013
people were speeding with vehicles atv's motor homes etc. well in excess of 10mph. down on the paved road near the campsites. That includes all KOA Staff! Most KOA's we stayed at are 5mph. Campsites are too close together it was like being squished in a sardine can.Those sites should be closed and trees planted. You moved us to 611 w was great more space fire pits too close to other RV'S
Aug 19, 2013
I thought it was over price for us staying there , the extra resort fee and it was not for older people to enjoy, there to many fires pits being used, too much smoke, made hard for my 80 yr old mom to breath coming from sea level, Great place for kids and young adults
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Our family had a great vacation and will tell everyone about you!
Aug 18, 2013
Many items
Aug 18, 2013
Amazing activities and beautiful scenery, and the kids never had time to be bored. Best campground and staff I've ever seen. The only downside was the rain and the flys were pretty bad.
Aug 18, 2013
This was our first time to rent an RV and we absolutely loved the KOA campground. The people were great and the location was the best!
Aug 18, 2013
Everything was outstanding at this campground....except for the washrooms. They were very disappointing. Loved all the amenities. We will definitely be back sometime.
Aug 18, 2013
Managers were a little stressed out when we asked questions about cable tv. Wonderful koa going to send our family to stay in cabin.
Aug 18, 2013
Nicely located to near by attractions. And offered a lot of different activities. Irated poorly because your seriously right next to your neighbor!we barely had room to fit our tent. The bathrooms are far away! With little ones it really sucked. We had neighbors come in the middle of the night multiple times and wake us up. The koa didn't give us our 4th night free when it said it on the web
Aug 18, 2013
big campground with lots to do. Always clean an staff was awesome! Not any problems.
Aug 18, 2013
The campground is awesome enjoyed our stay except for the evening storms that rolled through but that is nature which we have no control over. Thanks for the hospitality. Lloyd R.
Aug 18, 2013
There was not enought bathrooms for the number of people at the campground. The pool closest to the front desk was disgusting. The showers/bathrooms had no ventilation so it was very uncomfortable to bath and take care of personal business. Didn't get that loving care feeling like I do at other KOA's.
Aug 18, 2013
This was by far the most elaborate KOA we have stayed at. Unfortunately, the pool water was extremely dirty & chemically off-ballanced, which was obvious by the garbage, insects & debris, as well as the greenish color to the water. The bathrooms were filthy & the programs shown on the brochures were not regularly offered to guests. Asside from this, the park was gigantic.
Aug 18, 2013
My actual stay was 3-11 August 2013. I have been staying with you since the 1970's to present. I have watched the camp ground grow to what it is today. I love staying here, but the prices keep sneeking up. The 10.00 per night fee for all the kids stuff is not real fair to those of us who do not use those amenities. At the cost we are paying we could stay at a hotel. I love my Mt Rushmore KOA!
Aug 18, 2013
Other than the hale storm that damaged our RV, the stay was very entertaining. No worries about the RV damage, we know you can't control the weather, we have never seen ping-pong sized hale before, so we got to add it to our bucket list! That said, I do want to inform you that the water pressure and temp in the rear showers was marginal at best. WORST shower I've ever taken at any KOA facility!
Aug 18, 2013
Beautiful location , nice folks , marginal bathroom cleanliness , would really like to see an I90 exit to take in the KOA book .
Aug 18, 2013
Very expensive. Lots to do with kids but if you don't have any you pay a lot for a so so site
Aug 17, 2013
Restroom always dirty the site where i get set up was always muddy told Mr Allen and did nothing i asked for gravel but nothing was done i m very disapointed whith the service
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
The drive up in the mountains was very nice, however when we got there we found that the washrooms were dirty some showers were missing door handles on the doors and the KOA staff drove to fast for a campground, they did not even move to the side when walking down the road. I would try a different KOA next time in the area.
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Very enjoyable and centrally located for a lot of the attractions. Very family friendly.
Aug 16, 2013
Your campground needs improvements in several areas. Mostly, social networking and also news/TV reception. There is no reason that both cannot be adequately achieved. The other is your maintenance on shower/toilet facilities. When doors won't shut and stools don't flush, it is inexcusable.
Aug 16, 2013
This is a huge campground. On the plus, there was a lot to do right at the campground. We really appreciated the kids programs. On the minus, we reserved online if Feb. but were given a less than desirabe site. Our major complaint was the showers. There was black mold growing on the doorframes and shower curtian. Many showers had grout missing. Hairballs were not cleaned the 4 days we were there.
Aug 16, 2013
We loved the camp ground but the only problem we had was when we arrived at night in the camp ground, we checked in and asked for someone to take us to our site the young girl behind the counter asked the young men and he said no, she said oh its real easy to find. Well we ended up lost and having to call the help line, a security man came and helped us to our site. Our stay was great.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.