Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

May 29, 2017
So friendly
May 28, 2017
Awesome campground, especially for families with small kids. Lots of different options for accommodations including regular lodge rooms. DUE to location, cellular data access is poor and their WIFI is weak, so plan to just enjoy your surroundings.
May 28, 2017
Wonderful experience!
May 28, 2017
May 28, 2017
Ba beautiful and well kept koa. The only problem is the price! We paid 79 a night plus they charge a 10 a night resort fee! Do they think they are the Marriot? Koa is really pricing themselves out. We could of stayed in a hotel for 10 more a night and had a buffet breakfast too. Again, it is a beautiful campground but it is only a campground. Nice clean bathrooms, wide pull throughs,2 pools.
May 27, 2017
Loved the resturant and bar and entire staff and rv park.
May 27, 2017
May 27, 2017
This KOA was the best we've been to. It's clean, well groomed and there are so many features, things to do and options for your stay. Cabins are darling and it's nice to be able to pull up the camper on a site and have a cabin just a few feet away for friends and family. Great experience and we will be back and will recommend it. Thank you
May 27, 2017
Clean, Friendly park but Camping Sites are very close together. They advertise WiFi, but we could not get connected and when we finally did get connected...it didn't work. It's early in the season and there were minimal campers in the park, so they can't blame it on too many users. Its just a very poorly designed.
May 26, 2017
Clean, customer service great, a lot of activities, beautiful surroundings. Will stay again!
May 26, 2017
May 26, 2017
Really nice campground. Only wish there had been Wi-Fi for the campground. Cable for all sites would have been nice.
May 26, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. Clean facilities and a very friendly staff
May 26, 2017
We didn't get to enjoy all the things to do but I can tell you the place is AWESOME !! I felt like we had stepped back in time a bit as we walked around and having spent some time on my cousins ranch in North Dakota Wow just wow !!
May 25, 2017
All the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It is a beautiful park with very nice amenities!
May 25, 2017
Very nice campground. We were off season a bit so we didn't take advantage of the amenities. But we did have a nice stay.
May 24, 2017
Beautiful Campground everyone was very helpful very and knowledgeable about the area. We came in having problems with our fifth wheel they gave us advice as who to call for repair. It would be a nice area to go back and stay another time
May 24, 2017
We were there the week before Memorial Day weekend and were so pleased that the hot tub was open early. That was a treat. The ability to get our propane tanks filled on site was another gift. The location was ideal for the sightseeing we had come to Folks were all so friendly and helpful and we were sorry that we were too early to enjoy the pancake breakfasts. Hope you all have a great summer
May 24, 2017
This is a great place to stay. Beautiful, clean and a lot of things to do. Very close to Mt Rushmore and other points of interest. Enjoyed my stay here very much.
May 24, 2017
May 23, 2017
Excellent campgrounds, with a very friendly, cooperative staff.
May 23, 2017
Everyone that we met or had any interaction with was professional, knowledgeable and most important FRIENDLY!!!! Special kudos go to Tom and Mark helping with our site. Mike in the office and all the LADIES who work for him. The Michelle's in the restaurant and Pub along with Hector Holly and Monty!!! I'm probably forgetting a few but EVERYONE was GREAT!!! MIKEY and CATHY. MYSTIC CT.
May 23, 2017
WE WILL RETURN
May 23, 2017
Great except wifi wasn't working
May 23, 2017
Great KOA. Staff was very friendly and helpful and grounds were very well maintained. As others have stated previously the only negative is the lack of wi-fi. Would highly recommend this for families as there are many things for kids as well as adults to do.
May 21, 2017
well kept campground with lots of amenities. nicely located near several national parks and monuments.
May 21, 2017
Very nice and huge campground. Need to improve the internet coverage, for the high price we paid for deluxe site. Would have given 5 stars except for this.
May 20, 2017
Wow, Place is huge and nice with friendly staff. Bathroom/shower could use some updating. Had a great stay there.
May 19, 2017
This place was amazing, even though many parts were not open yet we had an awesome time. The staff was very friendly and everything was clean.
May 19, 2017
This Campground was wonderful and more of a resort than a campground. Unfortunately we went in off-season and most of the amenities we're not opened yet.
May 19, 2017
We had a great stay! Beautiful campground, with very friendly and helpful staff. It rained part of every day (3days and 4 nights) we were there. I wish I had known about the deluxe campsites with cement patios!
May 19, 2017
I think you should invest in a network extender for phone service & increase your internet service.
May 19, 2017
May 19, 2017
What a big campground. Great gift shop. Lots of helpful folks. Beautiful spot.
May 19, 2017
Great park. Centrally located to so many area attractions
May 18, 2017
wow such facilities and activities in a great little secluded valeey amongst the peaks.
May 18, 2017
Pros: Beautiful park and very clean showers. Really nice workers. Convenient to be near Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore. Con: don't advertise that it has WIFI. It was almost non-existent.
May 17, 2017
This is a beautiful, pristine, well maintained campground with friendly staff and many things to do located 2 miles from Mount Rushmore. There are so many thing for both adults and children to do that no one will be less than happily tired by the end of the day! We had five perfect days/nights!
May 16, 2017
Great base for visiting the Bllack Hills. Nice clean campground in a beautiful setting. They rent cars and UTVs as well. Lots to explore in the Black Hills and this is a great location.
May 16, 2017
May 16, 2017
wish we had children now .
May 15, 2017
The grounds were keep clean and keep up. The staff answered every question we had.
May 15, 2017
Bathroom station #1 needs updating to be just like station #2. Thank you for refunding our 3rd evening, we ended up in Deadwood at that KOA and DID NOT expect the refund, thank you! We can only assume that during the summer, this place must be PACKED!
May 15, 2017
Overall we enjoyed our stay. It would have been better if the grass and holes in the K9 Bark area would be tended too.
May 15, 2017
Beautiful park! Everything and more you want in a resort park.
May 15, 2017
Label the men's and women's bathrooms better in comfort station 2. A man walked into bathroom while my 12 was in there

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the feedback. We will fix this immediately.
May 14, 2017
I know it's early in the season, but if you are going to open your doors, you should also open your services, or offer a reduced "pre-season" rate.
May 13, 2017
WE HAD A GREAT STAY AND ALL YOUR PERSONNEL WERE GREAT.WELL REVISIT AGAIN IN FUTURER.
May 13, 2017
great,clean campground with amazing facilities, BUY WORST INTERNET EVER. THEY NEED TO UPGRADE.
May 13, 2017
The only problem is the Internet Connection other wise this is a great KOA with a very friendly and accommodating staff.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals