Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 05, 2015
Great park centrally located reasonably price very well kept up they even pickup your garbage (nice) they have lots of activity,nice pool,wished they had cable and wifi in the whole park we would stay there again
Sep 05, 2015
Best KOA or camp any where!
Sep 05, 2015
Sep 05, 2015
very overpriced-as senior citizens, we felt a $20.00 fee on top of the regular high rate was not necessary. We did not use anything extra and price did not include cable TV. Had to go to 2nd site due to person checking us into a poor site not suited to Class C MH.
Sep 04, 2015
Awesome location, friendly staff, beautiful campground esp with patio sites.. Could use a few more shady spots but we loved it .
Sep 04, 2015
Enjoyed our stay. Lots of amenities. Only disappointment was lack of WiFi throughout the campground. Access to reliable internet is extremely important to those of us who work remotely.
Sep 04, 2015
Diane & Sara gave us a welcome, from there it was all down hill. We waiting 15 mins for an escort that never showed Scott.Our site wasn't level plus small, didn't have cable or wifi. We have traveled KOA's all over the country, never paid this much before plus a resort fee when we didn't use anything. Registered for 2 night tried to get out of 2nd night, no we didn't give them 48hr notice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our Resort. I have refunded your card for the second night that you did not stay. I'm sorry this did not happen at the time of your departure as we do not require a 48 hour notice as was told to you. Sincerely, Danielle Akey
Sep 03, 2015
Great locations! But very small sites.
Sep 03, 2015
We loved everything and the staff was super nice.
Sep 03, 2015
Had a great time, the summer shiners did a great job with our kids. The only issue we had was with our water. It came out of our tap very brown so we had to get water from other sites
Sep 02, 2015
The call center does not understand what each campground's sites are like. Electrical sites with tent's can turn into big ordeal. This campground also floods, as it did where are tent was located...
Sep 01, 2015
The campground is very big and quite expansive. Yet, WIFI is available only at two spots near the entrance. Considering tue high price, this is ridiculous ! Our Site (#602) was at a slope of a hill and not completely even. Friendliness at registration was OK. We had much better KOA campgrounds during our holiday, e.g. Devils Tower, or Erstes Park.
Sep 01, 2015
We had a great experience at Mt. Rushmore KOA. There is a lot to do and it is located close to many different attractions. I highly recommend this campground! Looking forward to coming back again!
Sep 01, 2015
The staff were very nice and the facility is lovely -- especially for people with children. However, the amount of smoke (people burning campfires) at night prevented us from venturing outdoors or opening our windows for the cool air. We even had to take our smoke detectors down inside the RV. This was very disappointing since there was a meteor shower going on that week.
Sep 01, 2015
Lots to do, helpful staff, great location
Sep 01, 2015
real impressed clean nice and lots of features
Sep 01, 2015
The stay was real nice but its so busy, there's not a lot of personal feelings. They didn't carry on with you like the other KOA we stayed at.
Sep 01, 2015
Great and relaxing place to stay!
Sep 01, 2015
Gotta fix the WiFi. Always an issue and cell service is all but non existent.
Sep 01, 2015
The rate for W/E for an overnite stay was outrageous! The only reason we chose this particular KOA was for the evening shuttle for the lighting ceremony @ Mt.Rushmore. The site was not level, the distance to the bathrooms/showers was quite a distance, no real path to them, so had to find my "own way".I realize this is a "resort", however for an overnite stay, the "resort fee" should be waived.
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 31, 2015
The view was great! The bathrooms were clean! It was great!
Aug 31, 2015
One of the best places we've stayed at. They had a lot of things to do, and the staff as awesome!
Aug 31, 2015
Great site for people with families. Lots to do, nice bath house, great location - between Hill City and Mt Rushmore. Pleasant staff. Free wi-fi does not work - at all! In fact, staff told us to go to Hill City for best reception. I don't mind that except website says free.
Aug 31, 2015
The KOA at Palmer Gulch is at a wonderful location and has just about everything you could ever expect, except WIFI available at your site and cell phone connectivitiy. Quite a surprise knowing that is a past KOA "campground of the year".
Aug 31, 2015
Your KOA was the nicest one we have ever stayed at. The only draw back is not having access to our cell phones or Mi-Fi. If they would put in a cell tower your place would be perfect!
Aug 31, 2015
My family stays here at least 5+ times each summer, always a great time and never a bad experience! Actually the staff usually goes above and beyond expectations. Much appreciated.
Aug 31, 2015
i just love your place
Aug 30, 2015
Great place for kids!! Tons to do, next time we will stay for a full week!
Aug 30, 2015
Very Nice campground, plenty of things to do, would be nice to have wi-fi at out rv.
Aug 30, 2015
Loved everything about campground except dog play ground it was in horrible condition! Also need to put trash cans around campground! Had to pay extra for dogs that couldn't enjoy the pet yard! Not mowed and r little guy could get out under fence! Feel I should get a refund for the dogs!
Aug 30, 2015
We had a great time! The kids didn't want to leave to go do anything else!
Aug 30, 2015
Bathrooms dirty, men's smelled like sewer. $10/day "resort fee" for amenities included at other KOA's. No WiFi at campsites, and down more than up in common areas. If you don't have kids, DON'T COME HERE. Stay at KOA in Custer City instead.
Aug 30, 2015
Aug 30, 2015
Very nice and helpful staff. Tons of stuff to do. Very clean and well arranged.
Aug 30, 2015
This is by far the best campground where we have ever stayed. The camp is pricey but it has every thing a person could ask for.
Aug 30, 2015
Great campground. Loads of things to do. You don't even have to leave the campground to have a good time. Kids especially love it.
Aug 29, 2015
This is a resort, so we appreciated all that it had. However, there was so much going on, and the site was so large, that we needed to drive from our tent to the office if we needed something, and during this drive there were people everywhere along the road. Less might be better here.
Aug 29, 2015
Everything was great, except for the Wi-Fi connection was not the best. Quelway in general should not advertise Wi-Fi capability without the bandwidth to support it. We stayed at 6K always last week and none of them had significant couldn't enough band with to cover even our phones.
Aug 29, 2015
Friendly registration. Clean, shaded site. Loved the spacious pet run with swing for pet owners! Nice touch for weary travelers. Already recommended campsite to others!
Aug 28, 2015
Aug 28, 2015
This was our worst experience in staying at a KOA facility and we will not go back. 1st it was advertised with free WIFI but in reality there were only 2 places in the entire park where that was available. 2nd, there was no cell phone service in the park which in today's world is absurd. The only way to make a call was to go to the office and ask to use their phone. 3rd was the activity fee.
Aug 28, 2015
It was Awesome ! A great Beautiful KOA with lots to do for the kids, Very Family friendly.
Aug 28, 2015
We've stayed in about 75 KOA's over the past few years. This had to be one of the nicest. Only problem is no phone or WIFi
Aug 28, 2015
If you are going to charge for pets, please provide poop bags!!!!Beautiful and clean facilities. We will be back!
Aug 28, 2015
Very clean facility with excellent activities for children and adults, close to many Mount Rushmore attractions.
Aug 28, 2015
Very nice place but needs to put some stone in camp sites.
Aug 28, 2015
Bad WiFi. Sites very close together - couldn't open awning without hitting camper next to us. Showers were dirty. The staff was A+ excellent. Kid's activities in evenings were well done.
Aug 28, 2015
This KOA has every amenity you could ask for considering it is quite a way from town but this is an enormous campground. Did not like unattended pool, lots of foul mouthed, rude unattended "over 12" kids at pool. Wasn't safe to swim with 3 y/o with them running jumping and fighting in pool. No KOA member around to tell, anywhere. Outpost store closed office on other side of campground.
Aug 27, 2015
Everyone was very friendly. Staff at stables were great! Very clean. The staff work very hard.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals