Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

May 30, 2017
The campground was ill prepared for the Memorial Day weekend kickoff to the camping season. The main pool in the kids area was not available and the mini golf course was being resurfaced throughout the weekend making it unplayable. If you don't prepare and plan ahead, you fail. It's unfortunate all who booked and paid for this weekend didn't get their full value.
May 30, 2017
May 30, 2017
It was disappointing that the pools were not open due to needing to be painted and also that they were working on the mini golf during the same time. These things could be done outside of Memorial day to Labor day...in the other 9, non vacation months.
May 30, 2017
Wonderful facility and people
May 30, 2017
My family loves this place! So much to do and everything is kept nice. Can't wait to plan our next visit!
May 30, 2017
Great for our grandchildren 👍👍
May 30, 2017
We were there for a quick overnight stay but wished we had more time to explore. Great KOA with lots of fun activities and places to explore.
May 30, 2017
May 30, 2017
Had a great time at the Koa so much to do for kids the staff was so friendly and very helpful would recommend this place to everyone
May 30, 2017
Great place except... the WIFI is useless and there is no cell service. so if you want to stay connected then go somewhere else, otherwise it's a very nice place and the people are really great!
May 30, 2017
The campground was awesome it's really large and has everything possible u would need they have a little store, coffee shop, restaurant, car rentals, golf cart rentals, bike rentals. Activities to do for the kids and adults, trail rides I could go on and on...amazing place!
May 30, 2017
We and our grandchildren really enjoyed our camping experience. The only negative was the service an attitude at the Ponderosa restaurant. We walked out.
May 30, 2017
People were great. A more informed sign in person would help. Not all pull throughs are created equal and when you have over 40 feet it would be nice to know you can fit.
May 30, 2017
Very nicely maintained facility with activities to keep everyone happy!
May 30, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. Only problem was the service and attitude of the employees at the Ponderosa restaurant. After waiting over 30 minutes for a table,we left.
May 30, 2017
Friendly staff and helpful. Clean and lots of great things to do. I would definitely stay there again.
May 29, 2017
I rated with 4 stars because I was very disappointed with the WiFi hotspots. Only 3 and even then not working well. I needed it for my roadtrip so I really missed it.
May 29, 2017
very well run !!!
May 29, 2017
Very enjoyable stay. The adults loved the full service coffee shop, and the kids enjoyed all the activities (particularly the ride in a fire truck!). The showers could have stood to be a little cleaner, but it's a busy campsite and that was somewhat expected.
May 29, 2017
May 29, 2017
Mike the manager was very helpful good man. Wifi and no phone service not good.
May 29, 2017
So friendly
May 28, 2017
Awesome campground, especially for families with small kids. Lots of different options for accommodations including regular lodge rooms. DUE to location, cellular data access is poor and their WIFI is weak, so plan to just enjoy your surroundings.
May 28, 2017
Wonderful experience!
May 28, 2017
May 28, 2017
Ba beautiful and well kept koa. The only problem is the price! We paid 79 a night plus they charge a 10 a night resort fee! Do they think they are the Marriot? Koa is really pricing themselves out. We could of stayed in a hotel for 10 more a night and had a buffet breakfast too. Again, it is a beautiful campground but it is only a campground. Nice clean bathrooms, wide pull throughs,2 pools.
May 27, 2017
Loved the resturant and bar and entire staff and rv park.
May 27, 2017
May 27, 2017
This KOA was the best we've been to. It's clean, well groomed and there are so many features, things to do and options for your stay. Cabins are darling and it's nice to be able to pull up the camper on a site and have a cabin just a few feet away for friends and family. Great experience and we will be back and will recommend it. Thank you
May 27, 2017
Clean, Friendly park but Camping Sites are very close together. They advertise WiFi, but we could not get connected and when we finally did get connected...it didn't work. It's early in the season and there were minimal campers in the park, so they can't blame it on too many users. Its just a very poorly designed.
May 26, 2017
Clean, customer service great, a lot of activities, beautiful surroundings. Will stay again!
May 26, 2017
May 26, 2017
Really nice campground. Only wish there had been Wi-Fi for the campground. Cable for all sites would have been nice.
May 26, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. Clean facilities and a very friendly staff
May 26, 2017
We didn't get to enjoy all the things to do but I can tell you the place is AWESOME !! I felt like we had stepped back in time a bit as we walked around and having spent some time on my cousins ranch in North Dakota Wow just wow !!
May 25, 2017
All the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It is a beautiful park with very nice amenities!
May 25, 2017
Very nice campground. We were off season a bit so we didn't take advantage of the amenities. But we did have a nice stay.
May 24, 2017
Beautiful Campground everyone was very helpful very and knowledgeable about the area. We came in having problems with our fifth wheel they gave us advice as who to call for repair. It would be a nice area to go back and stay another time
May 24, 2017
We were there the week before Memorial Day weekend and were so pleased that the hot tub was open early. That was a treat. The ability to get our propane tanks filled on site was another gift. The location was ideal for the sightseeing we had come to Folks were all so friendly and helpful and we were sorry that we were too early to enjoy the pancake breakfasts. Hope you all have a great summer
May 24, 2017
This is a great place to stay. Beautiful, clean and a lot of things to do. Very close to Mt Rushmore and other points of interest. Enjoyed my stay here very much.
May 24, 2017
May 23, 2017
Excellent campgrounds, with a very friendly, cooperative staff.
May 23, 2017
Everyone that we met or had any interaction with was professional, knowledgeable and most important FRIENDLY!!!! Special kudos go to Tom and Mark helping with our site. Mike in the office and all the LADIES who work for him. The Michelle's in the restaurant and Pub along with Hector Holly and Monty!!! I'm probably forgetting a few but EVERYONE was GREAT!!! MIKEY and CATHY. MYSTIC CT.
May 23, 2017
WE WILL RETURN
May 23, 2017
Great except wifi wasn't working
May 23, 2017
Great KOA. Staff was very friendly and helpful and grounds were very well maintained. As others have stated previously the only negative is the lack of wi-fi. Would highly recommend this for families as there are many things for kids as well as adults to do.
May 21, 2017
well kept campground with lots of amenities. nicely located near several national parks and monuments.
May 21, 2017
Very nice and huge campground. Need to improve the internet coverage, for the high price we paid for deluxe site. Would have given 5 stars except for this.
May 20, 2017
Wow, Place is huge and nice with friendly staff. Bathroom/shower could use some updating. Had a great stay there.
May 19, 2017
This place was amazing, even though many parts were not open yet we had an awesome time. The staff was very friendly and everything was clean.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals