Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Aug 26, 2013
Stayed during Faith weekend. Wishore rules on ATV's and Dogs were enforced! Also signage getting to park way to far back from road and hidden by big pine tree. Maybe small sign nearer road would be helpful.
Aug 26, 2013
We really enjoyed the campground and all the amenities. There was almost too much to do at the campgrounds, the kids didn't want to leave to go sight seeing.... thank you for making our stay so wonderful and we will be back.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Fantastic family friendly camping!! Love It!!!!
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
This KOA was an oasis! We had a long trip from Chicago to Mt. Rushmore and this was a terrific reward. My only suggestion...SIGNAGE!!! When you are unfamiliar with the area and the roads are dangerous/steep/zigzags, a couple of KOA signs to ensure you are, indeed, headed in the right direction would be very welcome!!! I think the last one before arriving at KOA was 6 or 7 miles before.
Aug 25, 2013
Loved the entire experience! Beautiful campground, lovely staff & lots of activities to keep everyone entertained! Location is super convenient, too!
Aug 25, 2013
You'd be hard-pressed to find a KOA or other campground with more amenities. Centrally located, as opposed to Rapid City KOA. The latter part of our stay coincided with the beginning of the Sturgis rally, so motorcycles were everywhere and the campground was continually at capacity (AVOID a stay during rally). The sheer amount of people was more than the restrooms / showers could handle (MESSY!)
Aug 25, 2013
This is a GREAT KOA, the best we have stayed in so far. The only thing we would have changed, would be to enforce the 10 mph speed limit, and to stop the pedal riding at dusk...kids were flying around the park, and could hardly be seen, by the vehicles wizzing by going too fast. The park is beautiful, and the shuttle to Mt Rushmore was indeed an unexpected pleasure.
Aug 25, 2013
One of the best campgrounds we have stayed at. Facilities were very nice. Ideally located for exploring the black hills and Custer. All encounters with staff were pleasant. I would stay there again. Thanks.
Aug 25, 2013
The KOA was great. Lots to do, but the staff was not always friendly. We were disappointed that we could not attend the covered wagon dinner - we were told it was full, but found out later that it was not full. Conveniently located.
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
Best campground ever! The grandkids love all of the activities...horseback rides, golf, swimming, and tons of other stuff. Our reservations for the golf carts got messed up, but Marci took care of us and gave us a 4-wheeler for the first day..excellent customer service! Wonderful campsite, also...and we got to have a camfire this year!!
Aug 24, 2013
This was the second time we stayed at the campground. The staff are great and there is every facility you can imagine. However, I was hugely disappointed with the quality of the WIFI. It is terrible! So if that isn't a deal breaker for you, this is the best place to stay for families or couples in the black hills!
Aug 24, 2013
bathrooms were not clean, showers cold at times, with several doors that wouldn't lock, handicap showerstall didn't lock, campsites small, rusty water at site, lots of amenities which were nice especially for kids, am pancake breakfast good and reasonably priced.
Aug 24, 2013
it exceeded our expectations would definitely come back
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
Ad for this KOA is misleading, cable is only on deluxe sites. Wi-fi is horrible, no cell phone service. Good for kids, not so good for older RVer's
Aug 24, 2013
A Level & Easy Drive Thru with Full Hookups. A very well maintained KOA Camp Ground.
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
Great place for children, there are a lot of thins to do for them.
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
This campground is awesome. Plenty of activities, and close by attractions!
Aug 23, 2013
If you have an RV and you are getting the Full Hook-Ups/Cable TV/etc.... it is extremely noisy where these sites are. We stayed in site 143 and were extremely disappointed with our stay as the staff turned on a Generator to charge up the ATV's and whatever else at about 7:45 to 8:00 am EVERY morning. It woke us up every single day. Pros: lots to do for kids.
Aug 23, 2013
One of the nicest places we have stayed in the USA. They have anything u could want or need on site and the staff is great. We will be back!
Aug 23, 2013
This KOA has some great facilities the pills are great and ATVs and horses are a real treat but this KOA had the dirtiest bathrooms of any KOA I have ever stayed at. Besides that there were wild deer and turkey every night in the field and the views of the mountains are amazing.
Aug 23, 2013
free wifi, but could not get on, poor reception
Aug 23, 2013
The drawback is the bathrooms. For such a nice establishment the bathrooms are a black eye to the park, too small and too old.
Aug 23, 2013
Great site---helpful service and great for kids!
Aug 22, 2013
Loved the campground. We had a patio site and liked the location. Lots of activities for kids. My only complaint would be to have someone working at the minature golf, way too many unsupervised kids. Loved having the horseback riding opportunity there. Went to the ice cream store a few times and we always had friendly service. Didn't use their rest rooms so can't comment on that.
Aug 22, 2013
One of the main reasons I booked this KOA was because it advertised wifi. During our stay, there was no wifi available in or near our site and very limited cell service. Otherwise, our stay was great!
Aug 22, 2013
This was an awsome stay for us, even though it rained almost every day. I loved hearing the horses going down to there stable each morning.
Aug 22, 2013
Best KOA we have ever stayed at! Only thing that could be better is cell phone service & internet service.
Aug 22, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
one of the best run campgrounds we have ever stayed in.
Aug 22, 2013
Awesome clean and beautiful campground with plenty to do for kids and adults. Friendly staff and great amenities. Showers were great.
Aug 21, 2013
great-great-great
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
It did rain alot when we were there and the spots we were in maintained the water really well so it was muddy. However, we did enjoy being close to the kids activities to watch them.
Aug 21, 2013
We right in the heart of everything! Close to Keystone our favorite place
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
WATER CONNECTION WAS LEAKING..........WIFI NOT REALAIBLE AND SOMETIME HARD TO LOG ON. FOX NEWS CHANNEL WAS SNOWY.........LAUNDRY IS TERRIBLE. POOR PRESSURE......TOOK 1.5 HOURS FOR ONE MACHINE YOU HAVE A GREAT PLACE .......GET THE EQUIPMENT WORKING AS IT SHOULD
Aug 21, 2013
A Great Resort Site. Many Activities, Pool, Horse Back riding, Roundup dinners, Restaurants, Wine Tasting Etc. Needs Work: Enforcement of Rules, Speed, Kids riding bikes, ATV's and $ Wheelers drive like maniacs. Quiet time. Management must not be afraid to enforce the rules. Clients are going to get hurt. Laundries need updating.
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
This Kampground is huge! Unfortunately, the bath houses were not in great shape - poor plumbing (husband had a cold shower), doors sticking, vent fans not working. We were in a section surrounded by unplumbed cabins and the bath house traffic was horrible! Also the hookups in our pull thru site were way at one end and we had to unhook the car and park it at the far end of the site.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.