Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 07, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
Great place to stay, lots of activities. We were very disappointed with your restaurant. Server and MGR rude and very slow, it was not busy the staff was just busy eating and doing personal things like using IPHONE and such.
Jul 07, 2014
Although we didn't use a lot of the amenities it was still a very nice experience. With 600 sites at the campground I didn't feel like I was crowded out at all. Facilities were nice and conveniently located.
Jul 07, 2014
Loved this KOA. Tons of amenities for kids and the pancake breakfast is wonderful. Location is perfect for a visit to Mt. Rushmore. Plan to stay more than one night to fully enjoy the experience.
Jul 07, 2014
It is like going to camp for families with what felt like camp counselors even. Staff was absolutely wonderful and so many activities at the KOA that the kids never wanted to leave. Only drawback is that we were parked right in front of the bathrooms and that was a bummer with all the foot traffic. Just ask to not be parked there and you are good to go.
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
This was our first ever experience with an RV at a campground...WE LOVED IT AND THIS KOA!! Would HIGHLY recommend to all who visit Mount Rushmore! So many things to do there, you don't even have to leave the campground! Pancake breakfast was so good & SUPER PRICE!! Thank you!
Jul 07, 2014
I thought it was a lovely campground. The only thing I found a little disturbing is when I was in the laundry room I heard 2 people talking about how one's kids shoes were stolen, the other lady said her laundry was missing several pieces. I know you cant control thief's but it was unsettling and I felt that I could not leave my stuff outside for fear of someone stealing it.
Jul 06, 2014
Many amenities especially for children. Restrooms were horrid in the morning. They need cleaning more than once a day due to the number of campers.
Jul 06, 2014
We believe this is quite possibly the best campground we have ever stayed at. Super family friendly - and yet affordable at the same time. We will most definitely be back!!!
Jul 06, 2014
I was a very friendly place. The campsite needed a little work and the bathrooms needed a little work also but all in all it was a good stay
Jul 06, 2014
The reservation did not detail all the charges until you were there. I think the charges were high. The bathrooms were not maintained on a regular basis and there were not enough. Location was great, but too many sites in too little space.
Jul 06, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Beautiful setting; well maintained campground. Lots of activities. Friendly staff. Sites a bit crowded, but we were at the end of a row, so didnt have to deal with that.
Jul 06, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Fantastic Campground in a beautiful area! All KOA campgrounds we stayed at were good -- some just better than others! The Ft. Smith Arkansas is also very nice.
Jul 05, 2014
Jul 05, 2014
Was nice, especially liked the showers. Appreciated providing bus to take us to the lighting of Mount Rushmore. Asked why $10.00 resort fee and was told because they had a pool, which does not make sense. Appreciate the program with Christian Colleges for workers.
Jul 05, 2014
The park was very clean, organized and had plenty of activities for adults and kids. I gave a rating of 4 stars instead of 5 because: They packed campers in tight. In the main area RV's are stacked in side by side; closer than my house is to the next house. Barely a tree. The hilly sites had trees; the main area had little to no trees. The other thing I don't like with commercial campgrounds is th
Jul 05, 2014
Every member of the staff that I encountered was wonderful.
Jul 05, 2014
Terrible campsites. I was on a gravel drive that had lots of muddy holes. The area I was assigned had very small, short gravel parking. They have lots of amenities for kids, many at extra cost, but he camping is BAD. Most sites had NO shade.
Jul 05, 2014
The fishing was terrific. But they still owe me one dollar.
Jul 04, 2014
Surprised with the $10 dump fee
Jul 04, 2014
Other than a hail storm that came by surprise, it was a beautiful and memorable stay. Our grandson did not want to leave. There were so many activities for him to do. Horse riding was excellent. We will go back!
Jul 04, 2014
Only one night in this site. Very nice with concrete patio and cable TV We used this campground for a home base to sight see.
Jul 04, 2014
We were moved to this site after staying in a larger site the night before. The bathroom was near this site and was very nice and clean but, people used our site as a cut thru. No cable! I would like to see the weather before heading out to sight see. The kids used the camp water park and play ground and had a lot of fun! Made new friends!
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
Everything was FANTASTIC! All KOA's need to use this location as an example of how it should be!!!
Jul 03, 2014
Not a bad place, but certainly not first class. Nice showers, nice pool, decent value. Hot tub was luke-warm and dirty. Spots were the tightest I'd ever seen. If my neighbor hadn't left before me, I might not have been able to pull out of my pull-thru spot. Internet didn't work at all, which made it tough to plan our next stop. I expected a bit more from a KOA.
Jul 03, 2014
We love this KOA. Come every year now. Only thing I would love to see improved is the WIFI connection. We were right in the lobby of the Lodge and still couldn't get on. Normally I wouldn't mind except I had a paper due for college and had to go in to town to submit it instead of being able to right there.
Jul 03, 2014
There is no cell so when. They say call 911 for help how can you with no cell in the park. Also they say they have wifi but during a five day stay we were only able to get on once and we did that by going to the main store. It never worked again and I talking to the staff and other thay all agree it's bad and that you are out of touch during your entire stay!
Jul 03, 2014
We had a great time. The staff was amazing! They were all happy, friendly and went out of their way to help. The campground was clean and our kids loved all of the activities.
Jul 03, 2014
My family loves to camp here...there is so much fun stuff for the kids to do.
Jul 03, 2014
Great amenities, views! Tight roadways. Helpful staff
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Super place for kids! Amazing amount of things to do! Beautiful area! Mt. Rushmore is a bucket list place....KOA a fun place to stay while accomplishing!
Jul 02, 2014
Lots of activities for the kids, clean and friendly . Planning our next trip soon!
Jul 02, 2014
Great please to stay, wish we could have spent more time there. Will go back for sure.
Jul 02, 2014
Only complaint was the staff driving too fast throughout the grounds. Several examples were seen in our four days, including two kids on bikes being cutoff by a golf cart while other guest vehicles were waiting for the kids to clear the intersection.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Absolutely the best KOA we have ever stayed at. The only negative was the poor wifi which may be due to the location ,
Jul 02, 2014
This is a very large KOA with lots of families, but still very quiet, staff always had a smile, very helpful. Many activities, we loved our stay. Close to many tourist attractions.
Jul 02, 2014
Good amenities and kids activities. Our spot was noisy, dusty, small, worst we've had in 30 yrs of camping. 10 year old grandson got stuck in the shower twice as the big wooden doors swell up and stick. Everyone was complaining about the doors.
Jul 02, 2014
Large campground with plenty of activities. Very noisy in the central part of the campground, especially around the maintenance building. Thought atv rental cost was too high.
Jul 02, 2014
We stayed for two nights and rented a car from the KOA. That was convenient and reasonable in order to drive to the local destinations. Was a nice campground.
Jul 01, 2014
Had planned a family reunion the previous year. Had many problems from the start to the very end. Everything went wrong from planning and reservations all the way down to green firewood. Would never recommend for a large group.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.