Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 12, 2015
Great spot to go with kids as there are a lot of activities. Camping spots are small, old picnic tables and showers aren't very clean. Over priced!
Aug 11, 2015
Have stayed each year during the rally 14 consecutive years, this was my last, changing camps. The prices have doubled over time, at $87 per night for 30 amp site it's just gouging us. Park is over crowded with no park controls on noise, excessive length trucks & Fifth wheels blocking streets due to small sites. Every year camp turns into a mud hole w/rain, solution PAVEMENT? Moving Rafter J Bar.
Aug 11, 2015
Repeat visit for us, loved the shuttle to mt Rushmore, pancakes, and great coffee shop! Came for Sturgis but love the country camping. The Young's
Aug 11, 2015
The site I was at the fire pit is plaste right were the back of the camper would be 😟
Aug 11, 2015
it was fine.
Aug 11, 2015
the best
Aug 11, 2015
6 year during rally,,,, always good ,,,,bathroom shower house this year was a little under par....but other wise great stay..
Aug 11, 2015
Not long enough to take advantage of all that was offered. Inconvenient no cell service. Couldn't figure out pay phones.
Aug 11, 2015
Clean, Quiet, good food, freindly staff,full facilities-pool,laundry,showers,store
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Best Campground, we ever visited. Beautiful, clean, friendly staff, great activities.
Aug 10, 2015
it is always a pleasure to stay
Aug 10, 2015
only problem was camp site was not what i told it would be but bike week you make the best of things
Aug 10, 2015
Amazing staff, very helpful. The park was beautifully taken care of, we will be back in the future.
Aug 10, 2015
GREAT PLACE VERY CLEAN DURIGN STURGIS RALLY HAD A GREAT TIME
Aug 10, 2015
It would be great if you could boost the WiFi set up in your area
Aug 10, 2015
Excellent camp ground, have stayed there a couple of times. Will return in the future.
Aug 10, 2015
Was not pleased that we were charged extra $20 for this campground. Traveling with 2 other families, told we were charged extra because we asked to be near each other. That is ridiculous. WE booked at many other KOAs without extra charge.
Aug 10, 2015
Great campground
Aug 10, 2015
Enjoyed the area tremendously. Wonderful time.
Aug 10, 2015
Very lively KOA, beautiful location
Aug 10, 2015
very nice
Aug 10, 2015
Great campsite although campers are jammed in pretty tight. The resaurant was nice. We stayed during the Sturgis motorcycle rally unknowingly and that was a little aggravating. I also think the prices were jacked up because of it. Beautiful area and really appreciated the shuttle to the evening ceremony at Rushmore.
Aug 10, 2015
Great Location but the rate is the highest we have ever paid. We had reservations for 2 nights but noise from motor cycles was too much for us. We ask and received a refund for the second night.
Aug 10, 2015
Great
Aug 10, 2015
Very commercial and busy site.
Aug 10, 2015
Fantastic. Clean, friendly and great activities for the kids.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Not nearly enough bathrooms for the amount of people. Our narrow campsite had little grass - and a large water tank.
Aug 10, 2015
Had a great time. Nice place
Aug 09, 2015
The issues that I have is the Very poor wireless Both Internet and cell... I have to do business while there every year and had to drive to Hill city to do my business taking away from time enjoying the resort and riding the Ralley. I have stayed with you at Palmer Gulch since 2002. Worst witless seen. Made me think about moving to different camp. Staff was fantastic but 1young male supervisor. Ru
Aug 09, 2015
The site was a bit wet but that was weather issues We also had no water 1 morning but again because of weather the water was dirty and probably plugged filters But it was resolved right away Campground overall very tidy great location and lots to do
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
It was incredible everything there was clean and very well maintained thanks for a wonderful week we will be back.
Aug 09, 2015
We loved it! So much to do especially for a family. We were there for the 75th Anniversary for Sturgis, but will stay again if we are in the area.
Aug 09, 2015
Had a great time. We were there ten years ago, this was our second time.Cant be better!
Aug 09, 2015
Poor rating due to the fact that we made reservations 10 months in advance to be told we cannot have the site we requested. The resort was very understaffed and not at all prepared for the busy week. We were very disappointed and will not return to this location.
Aug 09, 2015
Our campsite was so rocky and uneven it was difficult to walk without tripping. It rained and it became a mud pit. There was NO wifi even though you advertise an Internet cafe on the grounds. Ok campground for children and that's it. For the amount we were charged, it would have covered the cost of a hotel and we could have parked the RV in their parking lot!
Aug 09, 2015
Long delays at check in. RV site was unsuitable for our size of 5th wheel. Very unlevel - almost impossible to step into RV. Sites crowded. People and RV/truck traffic encroaching on site. Chaotic KOA. Signs to KOA not sufficient when travelling from East.
Aug 09, 2015
Centrally located to everything. Friendly staff. They have everything for sale that you will forget when you leave home. And on site restaurants , entertainment, dog walking area, conveniently placed restrooms. They got it all there, man. Cabins to rent, spaces for trailers, or tents (mine). Very memorable. I am sure there so much more and I didn't see it.
Aug 09, 2015
We had a wonderful time at the Rushmore KOA! Staff members were very helpful in meeting our needs. The facilities were clean and kept up.
Aug 09, 2015
no phone service,was not told in advance, no wifi,no cable ,was not told in advance my next call Monday morning will be to koa ceo
Aug 08, 2015
You need to do something about the WiFi no WiFi or phone service It would be nice to have one or the other @ least. We checked out some other Camp Grounds while we were there and they all had phone service and WiFi!! Don't think we will be staying @ Pulmer gulch KOA again!!
Aug 08, 2015
asked to use our reward points upon/before registration but were told we couldn't . the points were not honored, then when we persisted were told it would be a huge ordeal to go back, refund and start over, We felt they just did not want to do it, we would use them elsewhere. While at camp we were accosted by a group of con men, we reported this to the office, otherwise a good stay.
Aug 08, 2015
Internet is not very good, no cable for tv, and only 1 hot shower out of 6. Staff was very pleasant and kind.
Aug 08, 2015
Me and my wife have been coming here for years we love this place being at a great campground with it has to offer that's why we come back thank you for making our stay here always a great one
Aug 08, 2015
The campground is in a great location for all of the tourist sites. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The shuttle to the lighting was very convenient. One of the best we've been to in our travels!!
Aug 08, 2015
Palmer Gulch KOA was in the center of all the sites around Mt. Rushmore. Facilities were clean, adding to the comfort and experience for camping with my family.
Aug 08, 2015
X

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.