Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 13, 2014
Nice, clean place but cold showers.
Jul 13, 2014
Grouchy morning rental desk help and two of the young employees enjoy taking the single reclining rental bikes and repeatedly crashing head-on into one another. The campsite is beautiful and there are lots of things to keep children entertained.
Jul 13, 2014
This was our 6th summer vacation spent at the Mount Rushmore Koa and won't be our last. Great new additions, especially the rock wall!
Jul 13, 2014
Nice campground
Jul 13, 2014
Je n'apprécie pas du tout d'avoir à payer un supplément de 10$ obligatoire en plus du tarif déjà très élevé pour y séjourner. Ce supplément sert ,à ce que l'on m'a dit ,à payer pour les infrastructures récréatives installées pour les enfants...que je n'ai évidemment pas utilisé.
Jul 13, 2014
The only complaint I have is site 557 really isnt big enough to have a pop up camper and utilize the camp fire. It also needs a bit of leveling. But overall it was great.
Jul 13, 2014
There was some issue with KOA not receiving the reservation we made. The staff went out of their way to squeeze us in to a spot. The Manager was excellent and should be commended for his customer service.
Jul 13, 2014
Staff was friendly!
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
My only disappointment was the wi fi connection. Even at the store where it is advertised to work. Part of the reason we stayed there was the wi fi as I had to work some.....and then was unable to do so. Don't advertise wi fi when you have such a poor connection.
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
there was so much to do at this site. the location is great also
Jul 12, 2014
The events for kids are awesome. The shower i used had a cracked floor pan and smelled of sewer. But overall we had a great time. You could add some zip lines in the campground.
Jul 12, 2014
Nice clean campground. Friendly staff, just don't plan on WiFi even though it states you get it. Even had trouble at the "hot spots".
Jul 12, 2014
Pool looked green but hopefully from iron only. Bathrooms needed more attention during the day more then once. Needed to mow sites more often. Great location to touring sites quick and easy wood cost a lot and was little wet hard to start fire. Fun but busy place lots to do with kids
Jul 12, 2014
Shower houses were filthy. Staff was rude except for the parking guides. Pools were dirty and hot tubs did not work. My wife forgot her shampoo in showers, asked the front desk if clean up found it. She rolled her eyes and said " some camper probably already stoled it!" Wife recovered shampoo from cleaning lady days later by herself. Will never stay at a KOA again, almost ruined our vacation
Jul 12, 2014
This was our first time ever camping and it could not have been better. We had a great RV site (243) on the creek. There is so much for kids to do here. My 8 and 10 year old boys rode their bikes everywhere and had a blast. Everything is very clean and well-maintained. We would definitely come back.
Jul 12, 2014
Lack of usable WiFi and muddy pool water lowered your score. Otherwise nice campground
Jul 12, 2014
I can't describe how much my kids loved their stay. This campground was family friendly and full of amenities. The staff was helpful and accommodating. We worked to secure a rental vehicle with Linda Lacerda. As a seasoned RVer she and her husband were able to provide valuable insight as to our next stop, the KOA in Cody. Without a doubt we will plan to stay longer next time. Thanks again!
Jul 11, 2014
We had a great time..there was so much to do for the kids. We will definitely be going there again!
Jul 11, 2014
The only issue I had was the beds in the loft were not comfortable. They sunk in the middle and not very comfortable. The kids had a blast and there were lots of things to do and the rooms and everything were very clean.
Jul 11, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. Kids had a lot to do. It was busy over the 4th, but not as bad as I thought it would be. Loved our site (#598). Away from everything & looking out over a beautiful hillside of trees.
Jul 11, 2014
We loved our stay for the most part, Very friendly initial greeting. Our last night in our tent they put a humongous RV bus thing next to us that kept us up all night. We had asked if they could move the people but told us no, We could move but they wouldn't & told it's we could move our tent & all the gear we had set up for the last three days. Just felt like 2nd class citizen in a tent.
Jul 11, 2014
Many fun activities for the family. Attractive, clean park. Rental bikes in need of repair, but great fun when finally given a bike that worked.
Jul 11, 2014
My family had a great time enjoying not only the local attractions but the wonderful activities the camp provides also.
Jul 11, 2014
Everyone was very helpful and accommodating! The site was beautiful, we enjoyed horseback riding, and the food from the pub was delicious! The pancake breakfast was a huge hit with the family too! We had a great time and would recommend your KOA to friends and family.
Jul 11, 2014
Right from the start other campers introduced themselves, the staff was extremely helpful. At night it is QUIET during quiet hours. We enjoyed the pool, waterslide, mini golf and pancake breakfast! It was close to Mt Rushmore, Custer Park and Hill City. Would definitely go back!
Jul 10, 2014
Place was a blast - wish we could've stayed longer. There was some trash and left over food on the grill upon arrival but otherwise great!
Jul 10, 2014
Enjoyed pancake breakfasts under the tent. Nice location!
Jul 10, 2014
The site was large, the KOA had many ammenities. The downside was the water which would be yellowish to brown. We used separate water to drink/brush teeth, 3 filters to the trailer but the water was still yellow to brown (varied). High iron content per staff The KOA otherwise was great, alot of things to do.
Jul 10, 2014
We did not appreciate the constant parade of ATV's and Golf charts by both ends of our camper all day. I've never stayed anywhere this noisy. We also weren't able to leave any windows open due to the smoke from the neighbors campfire which was only a few feet from our camper. I guess we are just spoiled by state parks, but this was not a camping experience.
Jul 10, 2014
We had an amazing time here! Friendly, helpful staff, tons if things to do, and great location !
Jul 10, 2014
Crowded, WiFi not working and everything is far away.
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Wonderful employees! Only complaint is the showers need to be cleaned more often!
Jul 10, 2014
Loved it the car rental was the best we set up and got to go and see everything
Jul 10, 2014
Beautiful campground with lots of activities for the entire family!
Jul 10, 2014
There were a ton of great activities to do for the whole family. We had no idea what to expect, but it was like Summer Camp for us. The only downside: nearly zero cell phone signal, and despite there being a wi-fi signal, I was not able to connect to the internet anywhere on the grounds, which is fine, if I know to plan ahead, but the presence of a network is a little misleading.
Jul 09, 2014
We have been staying there for 20 years now. The campground has grown along with our family! We love it there and will continue to stay there every Fourth of July. My only recommendation would be to update bathrooms and laundry by the pool.
Jul 09, 2014
Jul 09, 2014
Love the location, beautiful views and great amenities!
Jul 09, 2014
Very uneven rv spots
Jul 09, 2014
We stayed at several KOAs on this trip. The Mount Rushmore KOA was by far the best. I wish we had more time to spend there. It had a resort feel. The pancake breakfast was great!
Jul 09, 2014
It is a great family campground wiith lots of things for kids. As a retired person, no connection for pnones, wireless or tv, I will not stay here again.
Jul 09, 2014
Wifi NEEDS improvement!!!!!
Jul 09, 2014
I was very impressed by the cleanliness of the entire campground bathrooms and showers especially!!! My kids had a blast at the pools and water slide!!! All the staff were super nice and helpful and the highlight of the trip for them was the trail ride on horses. Big shout out to the riding stable as well they were awesome!!!!!
Jul 09, 2014
The only issue we had was the wifi. It was advertised wifi was available, but even at the 'hotspots' it didn't work. The employees said it was because so many people were using it. While I understand that and the campground was busy it wasn't completely full and at the hotspots at least it should have worked.
Jul 09, 2014
Tons of things to do at the KOA campground for kids, even my little one (2 years old). Men's shower was not the cleanest according to my husband, however. Otherwise, great stay- wish we had more time to stay
Jul 08, 2014
This campground has the feeling of being run down and un kept, I feel there is a lot of money going through this site and they should be using it to do much more maintenance then it seem they are doing, sites are small and un mowed, mini golf was old and unmaintained looking.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.