Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 10, 2015
Everything OK, but in our idea, it is a too big campground. We like the smaller ones. But everybody was very vriendly and helpfull.
Jun 10, 2015
Great KOA but my experience wasn't so great. Middle of week reservation (lots of vacancies) but assigned a pull-thru spot next to road (at bottom of hill) There was lots of road traffic & then thunder storm, so we couldn't eat at picnic table or enjoy outside because of mud (lots of mud!) we would have ask for different spot (higher up) but too hard for my husband to unhook & rehook!
Jun 10, 2015
First two sites they placed us at were small and on a hill and not level. Third site was flat and large. Look at the actual site before paying. The printed maps don't show the whole picture. The staff member Jack was very helpful in making sure our camper fit in the spot without problems. Reassured us that we would get situated. It was pouring rain the whole time we went from spot to spot.
Jun 10, 2015
Trevor is AWESOME! He helped us locate a better spot for our rig. Great campground for folks with kids, never ending fun. Thanks again!
Jun 09, 2015
The staff are amazing!!!!! They went out of their way to help us and make sure we had what we needed. Otherwise, I prefer to not have the crowds and stay at a smaller site.
Jun 09, 2015
We had a an amazing visit kids begged to stay! Only disappointment for kids was the waterslide was not yet operating, but they had plenty of other fun activities to do! Only concern was that the water had a brown/yellow tint and I didn't fill my RV with the water. Great pancake breakfast! Loved hearing the frogs sing at night!!!
Jun 09, 2015
Jun 08, 2015
Park was clean and nice. WiFi was POOR. Could not stay connected.
Jun 08, 2015
Loved all the activities to keep kids busy. Very organized and friendly. Only thing could have made it better would be chairs by the trampoline for the parents!
Jun 08, 2015
We have been to your campground several times and continue to send everyone there who are headed to south Dakota
Jun 08, 2015
This is an awesome place for a family
Jun 08, 2015
very clean and and very helpful
Jun 08, 2015
Nice campsite, the free wifi is misleading because you have to be right on top of the main building to get a small signal & no cell reception. But we loved the concrete patio & everything was maintained well.
Jun 08, 2015
Jun 08, 2015
We always enjoy staying at this KOA. It is run so very well.
Jun 08, 2015
Poor drainage when it's wet. Pack your boots. Beautiful views and excellent staff. Pancake tent was a hit with my family.
Jun 07, 2015
Great location. There is a ton to do both at the Kampground and the surrounding area. It was a little wet when we stayed, and the stuff worked to get us a better site. Top Notch.
Jun 07, 2015
The mud and water in our site was quite a disappointment. We had standing water the entire time and the last two days the lawn on our site was under water
Jun 07, 2015
Campground is wonderful for families. Our only disappointment was the dog park. So many people travel with their dogs, so it would be so nice to have a place for them to be off leash. Your park was unkempt, overgrown and almost under water. You might want to find another location for it, and maybe even have more than one.
Jun 07, 2015
This KOA is just OK. Great location but a lot of stuff was not working or being repaired. I'm sure they will be working later, just disappointed. We will be back the the Black Hills just not here.
Jun 07, 2015
We visited in the "rainy season". The campgrounds moved us because of high water in our assigned space. No extra charge. The pancake breakfast was delicious and our stay was great. Laundry needed help though.
Jun 06, 2015
Wonderful place to stay. Good central location for all the sights. Great stores, pools, hottubs, area. Highly recommend it!
Jun 06, 2015
We came to see the sites and enjoyed our stay. The amenities are outstanding!
Jun 06, 2015
Very courteous and helpful staff. The wifi connection was a little spotty.
Jun 06, 2015
If you are near Mt. Rushmore this is a great place to hang out. Great pub and plenty of eats. Friendly staff even if you are site picky (thanks). Only negative is very spotty wifi but then again why would you need it.
Jun 05, 2015
The staff was friendly and available to answer questions. Considering the storms, the facility was well maintained. I highly recommend this KOA!
Jun 05, 2015
Beautiful site and very friendly and helpful staff
Jun 05, 2015
Great location, beautiful campground
Jun 05, 2015
so many activities for kids. On site stores and restaurants. Shuttle bus to Mt. Rushmore for a fee but you would have to pay a fee if you drove your own vehicle. Pricier than most KOA's but a lot to offer plus location.
Jun 04, 2015
Great place to stay our only disappointment was not being able to have a campfire on our site
Jun 03, 2015
I love the location of this campground but they really need to work on the quality of the equipment in the kids areas especially the mini golf. The staff at the main office could defiantly be more friendly and open the other facilities on the campground on time as is posted on the building. I would recommend this place because of the views and location I'd love to give it a 5 star but it needs TLC
Jun 03, 2015
Jun 03, 2015
Great place to stay.
Jun 02, 2015
The location of this campground is what makes it so special. The people that run and service it are very friendly and make you feel welcome. I would recommend this campground to anyone visiting the Mount Rushmore area.
Jun 02, 2015
Second summer we have been to this KOA and second time kids have NOT been able to use water slide...Something always seems to be wrong...other than that this is a wonderful camp if your in the area...mini golf course could use a few, actually several touch ups...friendly folks and great trash pickup service which is really nice...a little attention to detail and this would be a 5 star!!
Jun 02, 2015
No WIFI or phone service. Come on guys, try harder! Camp sites too close. We felt like sardines. Price was too high for what we got. Would not stay there again.
Jun 02, 2015
Arrived after dark and although they gave us a map to our campsite, it was hard to find in the dark. Made two attempts to find it and finally ran into their security person, who escorted us to the campsite. People arriving after dark should be taken to their campsite (ours was on a hill with not very much lighting to find it).
Jun 02, 2015
This campground fits the description of a "have it all Resort", including the noise. It also come with "Brown" water. Unconcerned staff said not to worry, it's safe. Who drinks Brown water? Would KOA corporate staff have their family drink it? At $80 per night site with Brown water is a disgrace to the Resort description. Also, sites were unkept and weedy.
Jun 01, 2015
wet week but fun, KOA staff very friendly and accomodating
May 31, 2015
Our 5-day stay occurred at a very rainy time when much of the campground was wet and muddy. When we we requested a specific site to replace the original site that was under water, we were told that that site (#213) was not available for our entire stay. We chose another site (#255) directly across from 213 and noted that no one ever checked into that site the entire length of our stay!!!
May 31, 2015
Such a nice campground, unfortunately the weather kept us from using and doing a lot of things. Very impressed how nice staff was, we were concerned with the flooding, but were assured we would be notified if in danger and was offered another spot.
May 31, 2015
Outside staff outstanding. We needed a 2x4 for one of our slides not working properly. The staff found a board for us. Any questions we had they answered. Until this trip we had never stayed at koa's. This past 2 weeks has made us change our minds on quality. Would stay again!!!
May 31, 2015
Can't help Mother Nature but all the gravel roads dotted with pot holes which were filled with water entire stay and also tired of having to level at an KOA. Also put in reservations months in advance and got the primo spot with a view of the utility barn.
May 31, 2015
Water system needs better filtering. They say the minerals are harmless but the sediment plugged the screen in the supply line and the filter element had to be replaced.
May 30, 2015
It was a very lovely camp ground and very accommodating to our last minute request for a cabin. My only reservation was that on more than one occasion, I witnessed show utter frustration and irritation towards the new hire they were coaching and that I found to be unprofessional. It's not what you say, but how you say it. Otherwise, a totally positive experience.
May 30, 2015
Our family was impressed with this campsite. We are so happy we selected this location. We would recommend this site if you are touring the Black Hills. The Services and Staff are Outstanding. After a long day of site seeing it was nice to come back to a resort style full service site to unwind and rest for next day. Perfect for families.
May 30, 2015
never been so disappointed at a KOA. Gave up a free campsite to get cable that was advertised just to be told that even with premier site cable was worthless. Since I had already given up a free site at another area I did stay 4 night but not again at this camp.
May 30, 2015
Over commercialized, COLD SHOWERS, no wifi and 2 times more the cost of other KOA facilities. I was NOT impressed.
May 29, 2015
Wonderful campground, employees are friendly, showers are clean and hot, lots of things to do and great places to eat.
May 28, 2015
We had floods and terrible rain, but the staff made the best of it. We will come back someday, hopefully with better weather. The campground was amazing with tons of great amenities.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.