Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 02, 2017
No internet at all,not even at hot spot.Very packed and crowded.Dirty shower room. No soap shelve, all wet floor and no floor mat to step on.Men and women share shower rooms. The rate was so high for the quality of staying ($78/night)
Aug 02, 2017
Amazing place. Kids loved it.
Aug 01, 2017
Lots of amenities, close to all the sights. Staff was helpful when our trailer had a problem. But the campground is too big,too busy and way, way, way too noisy. All the facilities were crowded. No wifi, cell service or over-the-air tv. Sites are small. Oh and did I mention that it's noisy?
Aug 01, 2017
Absolutely loved this KOA close to everything and so much to do on site. Their handicap bathroom was not in use almost our entire trip and daughter is in a wheel chair was surprised and disappointed not typical KOA to have things broken
Aug 01, 2017
LOTS and LOTS and LOTS of things to do here. Very clean. Very easy to check in. Great food and activities. The kids had a blast! Horse back riding, pools, slides, atv rentals, etc. Very well organized and informed staff. We enjoyed our stay immensely and when back in this area will definitely be back here!
Aug 01, 2017
we loved it was great it has change a lot since we were here in 2009-----Ken & Noel
Aug 01, 2017
Lot's of activities, friendly staff, and great food!
Aug 01, 2017
Most staff friendly, nice sites, clean area, plenty of things for kids to do on site, shopping food on site, close to most area attractions, would recommend.
Aug 01, 2017
1) The bathrooms were very nasty at times. The showers were dirty.2) No Wi-Fi or cell phone connection 3) Could really use some shade. The amenities were great and kids had a wonderful time.
Aug 01, 2017
We loved this KOA. This is ideal for young families as there are multiple activities that kids of all ages can do here. Our kids (5,3,1) loved the pool, bounce pillow, mini golf, and panning for gemstones. There is a nice bike trail that loops around the property that makes it nice to walk for ice cream. We are already planning when we can come back we loved it that much!
Aug 01, 2017
Aug 01, 2017
Very clean place. lots of fun activities. sites were level for rvs. most staff was friendly. perfect location for a koa. Downside was expensive
Aug 01, 2017
This campground was way too busy for my family, and the campsites for us we're too far away from the kid zone, hauling three kids and stuff to the kid zone was crazy! But that being said the staff was friendly! We didn't spend much time at camp anyway. The rodeo was amazing!! The rental cars are super sketchy, ours was overflowing antifreeze at the top of needles hey, 1/2 the day was spent.
Aug 01, 2017
Very fun, lots for the kids to do! They loved the fun zone! Flapjack breakfasts were great! Campsites are very crowded- our fire pit was so close to the site behind us we were practically sitting on top of them. Cost of horse rides and wagon rides seemed expensive.
Aug 01, 2017
Nice family oriented campground. Great activities. Sites way too small. Sewer pipes less than 1 foot from picnic table. Dirty bathrooms and no wifi at all.
Aug 01, 2017
Bathrooms were DISGUSTING!!!! DIRTY, NO TOILET PAPER & SMELLED. The showers were also pretty disgusting too!!! Questionable if I will ever stay again! The activities for kids are good but our camping space was kinda small. Just expected more for price paid.
Aug 01, 2017
Staff was some of the best and most accommodating I have ever seen.
Aug 01, 2017
Front desk staff needs to learn customer service and training. Our bad experience started at the front desk. It took three visits to finally get our issue resolved by Makalay. A previous commitment was made by "Ben" however no notes were added to our reservations which leaves me with no choice but to never visit this KOA or recommend this KOA to any of my camping mates.
Aug 01, 2017
great family park.. numerous things for families to enjoy!I however missed having my wifi to look up my maps etc an even going to some spots I had no service.However it was a welcome change to watch so many families enjoy doing things with their kids !
Aug 01, 2017
Best time ever!!! Rodeo was awesome!! Wished we had more time. Will definitely be back. Will be taking horse back trail rides next time!
Aug 01, 2017
No cell phone service no wifi at camp site no parking at camp site fishing pond smelled of dead fish
Jul 31, 2017
Wi-Fi and/or 4G cell service would be nice
Jul 31, 2017
We brought our grandson with us and he had an epic great time (his words). Mini golf, movies, activities, rock wall, bouncing pillow..... the fun never ended for him. Staff were all great too.
Jul 31, 2017
Was a wonderful place. Lots of activities! However, I was told no pets, and there were tons of pets. We had to kennel our dog because told no pets.
Jul 31, 2017
This is our 2nd stay at this resort. First time was in the Lodge but now we have a motorhome so we were in the campground. Met our kids and grandkids here. There is so much to do at the resort and in the Black Hills. Very enjoyable!
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
Need to clean pool more often
Jul 31, 2017
Beautiful scenery, lots of things for the kids to do and good location for many of the attractions!
Jul 31, 2017
This was a really neat place to stay in the Black Hills area. The kids were at the Fun Zone the whole time we were at our campsite. The chuckwagon dinner show was fantastic! The only concern was that we were shoehorned into a pull-thru that was barely large enough for our camper and truck and took some manuevering to get out of.
Jul 31, 2017
Restroom/Showers (comfort station 1) are inadequate, outdated, filthy, and generally repulsive. Biggest is NOT best! Some capital reinvestment of some of your very high fees is certainly in order.
Jul 31, 2017
Great!
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
If you like a super busy campground, this is for you. It was non stop, people everywhere. Camp sites were right on top of one another, i could hear our neighbors snoring at night. We were backed up to the woods and horse path where we the smell of horse poop lingered for days.
Jul 31, 2017
Very friendly staff, very nice accommodations. Our 6 year old absolutely loves Palmers Gulch!
Jul 31, 2017
Great activities for kids otherwise a miserable experience. Our camp site was a major thoroughfare for people day and night.
Jul 31, 2017
Our kids loved the campground, we loved that there was many activities for the kids to do. However we were not impressed with our spot, very small for a 40 foot camper which left us having to park our pickup away from the camper. It rained a lot while we were there and everything is on gravel which left a huge mess where we were camping. Overall very nice campground and we hope to return!
Jul 31, 2017
Needed medical attention, staff was uniformed as to where urgent care was (was sent to Rapid City, found out later one is in Custer). Also our comfort station #4 was not nearly as clean and nice as #1. I wouldn't shower there again.
Jul 31, 2017
Camping site was narrow due to trees on both sides. Showers were dirty not well maintained. Three of four light bulbs were burnt out in bathroom. Laundry room three of four dryers didn't work. Loved the activities for the kids in the fun center.
Jul 31, 2017
Very helpful especially a young lady on the desk named Skyler. Very clean, well maintained. Excursion to Mount Rushmore excellent.
Jul 31, 2017
Love this place!! Employees are the best!!
Jul 31, 2017
This place has everything! Clean and fun. You kids never want to leave.
Jul 31, 2017
The park was great for families with smaller children as there was lots to do, but with a teen and no cell service, not so much. On top of that, we were put in Space 163 and it was a mud bog. All our levelers were in red mud and our stairs couldn't be put out right.
Jul 31, 2017
Great activities for families with children.
Jul 31, 2017
This koa is beautiful there were lots of things for the kids to do wish we could have had more time.
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
I would recommend this campground to anyone. Great service and very hospitable. One of the things that impressed me was how nice and warm the pools were. I noticed a man getting into the pool with a baby and watched the reaction on there faces was priceless! Thanks Koa for Palmer Gulch, staff and everybody! First class!!
Jul 30, 2017
Your Koa was the best we have ever stayed at the kids loved your fun zone
Jul 30, 2017
Great place to stay. Lots of activities for kid's.
Jul 30, 2017
Nice KOA. A lot of amenities! Great location.
Jul 30, 2017
Palmers Gulch KOA has the best location in the Black Hills. But it is always crazy hectic! Kids going everywhere without supervision. Probably one reason parents like it! Great fun for young kids with lots to do. You have got to keep a sharp lookout all the time!! We were getting as low as 14 amps on a 30 amp hookup. Very low water pressure too.. We had fun, my older kids still had fun too.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals