Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 14, 2016
Campsites were stacked together and you are no longer able to pick which site you want; internet was poor at best; the sunshiner's who led the activities acted like they wanted to be anywhere other than here, they were condescending about activities that were scheduled and acted like we were an inconvenience. You need to clone the young man who takes the chips at the pancake stand, he is delightfu
Jul 14, 2016
Awesome activities for the kids, all workers super hospitable, although it was packed we had a delightful time.
Jul 14, 2016
What a great place for families! Beautiful location, so much to do... we loved the 1920s restaurant, Grapes & Grinds, outdoor movies and the entire Fun Zone. Was last at your KOA in 1988, at age 14; what a thrill to come back with my own daughter. Thanks for a great stay!!
Jul 14, 2016
Overall we enjoyed our stay. We tried to extend our stay by 2 nights and I had to talk to several people in the registration office to extend the stay. It was very frustrating and time consuming to simply extend our trip. After getting the trip extended we found a notice on our camper that we were supposed to check out that day so I had to go back to registration to figure it out again.
Jul 14, 2016
We absolutley enjoyed our stay, our kids had an amazing tI me. The only thing I would like to see adjusted is the speed limit, I think it should be 5 mph instead of 10 through the camp..
Jul 13, 2016
If you are going to visit the Black Hills this is the place to stay. A long way in but once there your days are full from morning till night.
Jul 13, 2016
Site are too crowded and little parking at them. But great locations and plenty to do for the kids. No wifi and the sites is a downer as well.
Jul 13, 2016
I cannot tell you how awesome this place is. Disney Land of KOA's. So much to do kids had a blast. Rodeo was awesome, good awesome, horse back riding for my wife and daughter was great. Thank you.
Jul 13, 2016
Flat parking spots are great but if your on the hill side be weary as our spot we couldn't unhook as we were concerned that the trailer would go down the hill.
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
The only negative I found was they only cleaned the bathrooms once a day. There were too many people using them and needed more attention.
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
I have stayed at many KOA's over the years and Mount Rushmore,Palmer Gulch KOA is by far the BEST. The staff was awesome. Totally set up for family fun. I rate the bathrooms/shower a 10.
Jul 13, 2016
We were unaware that this was a resort style KOA. If we had known that we would not have chosen to camp here. With that said, if you like camping with restaurants, multiple pools/spray park, rock climbing, a rodeo and goldmining...this might be a good fit for your family.
Jul 13, 2016
Best KOA we have stayed at, customer service was top notch. Lots of added extras, water slide, pools, horseback riding, wagon ride to dinner, bingo, gold panning, movie nights ( some cost extra some are free), breakfast, close to lots of outdoor activities not just Mount Rushmore just to name a few. Huge camp ground lots of people and kids great place for families.
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
My first thought was wow this is a huge campground. Things are spread out and wasn't a problem. Wish WiFi was available at your campsite but understand the difficulty in that. Was actually nice to be disconnected for most of the week. Great stay. Plan to return.
Jul 12, 2016
Best KOA we have ever stayed at. Helpful staff, clean amenities and beautiful landscaping. The $3 all you can eat pancake breakfast was awesome too!
Jul 12, 2016
My kids had a blast that part was great! The complaint I have is how unclean the bathrooms/showers were. Once a day isn't enough, with all the clay and dirty the showers were always dirty. And the showers are not women friendly. Not to sound gross but were do women put there used hygene items when showering? I was very grossed out and unhappy
Jul 12, 2016
very crowded but still enjoyed it and would come again would get a site that,s not next to a dumpster!
Jul 12, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
There is no wifi, not even in their "hotspots", so do not expect to have service. Additionally, the location of the campground places you in a valley eliminating cell service as well. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 12, 2016
Great for the family. Well oiled machine. Only complaint was with a full campground the amount of bathrooms/showers was inadequate in some areas of the park. Also they need cleaned far more often.
Jul 12, 2016
The campground is amazing! There is so much to do. The only problem was that we didn't have any room at our campsite. We had a nice field behind us, but the other campers were so close we couldn't even put our mat out by our door because there was not room.
Jul 12, 2016
One of the BEST!!! KOA we have ever stayed at. The entire campground was super clean and the staff was very friendly. Highly recommend.
Jul 12, 2016
I live locally and my kids want to camp at your campground at least once per year! Always a family favorite! Thank you for all the wonderful summer memories!
Jul 12, 2016
The campground, overall, was appealing; however, the particular site we were given was too close to the main road and therefore noisy and smelled of exhaust fumes all day long. Had we been assigned a site away from that main road, I would rate the park 5 stars.
Jul 12, 2016
Advertised wifi but it never worked. Very frustrating and waste of time. Reservation software seemed inflexible requiring campsite moves.
Jul 12, 2016
Kids loved the water slide, jump pillow, and pool. Very nice place with lots to do.
Jul 12, 2016
Nothing against the campground, I just didn't have time to explore and enjoy the amenities.
Jul 12, 2016
Second time staying with you and will return!!
Jul 12, 2016
Best campground we have ever been to. Beautiful setting, very clean. Feels serene and peaceful! Much to do. Didn't want to leave.
Jul 12, 2016
Stay was good, but we called to cancel within 30 min of making reservation due to no 50amp sites available and was told that we would have to forfeit the full $83.00. I doubt we camp KOA again.
Jul 11, 2016
No WiFi at all.Site way to close.
Jul 11, 2016
Great stay. Not pleased with not being placed near our friends, especially sincewe booked last december
Jul 11, 2016
Perfect stay. However we ran out of propane at our sight to grill dinner, I told the front desk and it didn't get replaced until the next day ...... We are PB and J for dinner rather than our brats we had planned.
Jul 11, 2016
Super fun campground but the tent sites are super tiny.
Jul 11, 2016
The place has lots of amenities for children and the staff is helpful and friendly. Comfort Station #4 needs to be brought up to the standards of CS #2. The bathrooms need fans installed NOW. The stench floats out to the hallway where people await use of the showers. The showers need more hooks and small shelves for placing shampoo bottles and other grooming aids. The showers were not very clean
Jul 11, 2016
Our family Stayed here at the KOA Rushmore on the July 4th week.super busy time, hats off to all the staff. Campers on the other hand drove way to fast with all the little one ridding and walking around the roads. great clean restrooms until a camper decided to deface the new interior, mean people are just ugly. Great location lots to do within the surrounding area. We will recommend this KOA
Jul 11, 2016
We were not too happy. It was in a great location has some great amenities like the kids park and bathrooms were nice. But the lack of internet/phone reception, no wifi, overcrowded, and over charging for extra amenities, lack of paved the sites and road and too many evening campfires made the entire park very smokey and unpleasant.
Jul 11, 2016
so much to do
Jul 11, 2016
So many things to do that we could have easily forgotten why we came in the first place. Close to everything
Jul 11, 2016
What a neat place! Next time I'm staying longer and getting Full Hok Ups!
Jul 11, 2016
Great campground. lots of stuff for kids and adults. Close to Mt Rushmore and other Keystone town. Would definitely stay again
Jul 11, 2016
What an amazing place to stay!! From the cleanliness of the entire camp ground to the professionalism and friendly faces of all staff personnel, we were extremely impressed with our stay! Thank you for working hard to make your guests feel welcomed and 100% special! Your hard work and dedication to this campground is appreciated beyond words.
Jul 11, 2016
We had a great experience at this KOA. Nice friendly staff, clean park. However, the Wifi and internet reception was not so good but if you are on vacation you shouldn't need that anyway!!!
Jul 11, 2016
Family Vacation, We arrived late on a Friday and left the following Saturday. We have a 6 and 3 year old and this stay was great. Campsites were convenient and easy in and out. They have 2 pools nice playground and activities everyday. Located within 30 minutes of almost everything you want to see. and on all main roads. Stables are right on the grounds, store a bit spendy.
Jul 11, 2016
Very nice campground. Great location and a lot of activities for kids. Staff very friendly. Only issue is I work when I travel and was told there was wifi but no cell service and wifi signal was mostly non existent. Not a big deal for a few days. Just went into town.
Jul 11, 2016
Nice campground with lots of activities and great location. Only downside is there were tons of young children running around with no supervision.
Jul 11, 2016
Wonderful stay my family and I really enjoyed it
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals