Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 19, 2015
Excellent! Most of all, your reservation staff member went out of her way to accommodate us on short notice! My sincere gratitude!
Jul 18, 2015
We stay every year for the last 9 years and no dissapointment this time either had a great 2 weeks at the park and will be back next year
Jul 18, 2015
Your facility has gotten to big our first time we stayed was about ten years ago. It was smaller and all amenities were closer. It's was still an enjoyable stay but to big.
Jul 18, 2015
I have stayed in many KOA's, and this is the prettiest location we have ever seen. The campground has several amenities like horseback riding and restaurant that were really nice. However, the mgmt of the campground is severely lacking. For campsites, you don't get what is advertised (and paid for), and the restrooms were not cleaned often, and were quite disgusting on several visits. Its a shame
Jul 18, 2015
This is a very nice campground with very friendly people and beautiful setting. It may be a bit tight for some people and a bit pricey but they provide a lot of things. We enjoyed our stay
Jul 18, 2015
Jul 18, 2015
Fantastic location! Tons of things for kids to do. Highly recommend !!
Jul 18, 2015
Put in too small of a lot. Smelled like sewer the whole time we were there. Grossly over priced ($75/day). Good if you have kids. Campsites far too close together.
Jul 18, 2015
Site for our pop-up (#298) was TINY, as were the surrounding sites. Our fire pit was, literally, six feet from our neighbor's pop up. (Yikes!) NO internet - even in cafe. Wranglers would wake everyone VERY EARLY with whistling and hollering as they brought up horses from pasture. Plenty of activities for the kids + nice pools. Spotless bathrooms + hot showers. Very nice staff and scenery!
Jul 18, 2015
Our campsite could've been better as we had a drainage ditch running through it with a good deal of muck and mud. However, the entire resort and staff customer service were very pleasant. In fact, we've chosen to hold our family reunion here in 2016. Looking forward to trying out more of your services then. Thank you!
Jul 18, 2015
Your add should state that there is no cell service, cable or internet connection.
Jul 18, 2015
Lied to us about cell phone reception and wifi availability. Left as soon as we could find another park.
Jul 17, 2015
Great fun lots to do and great camp sites
Jul 17, 2015
Jul 17, 2015
too crowded, too tight for an rv, way too much smoke and too much mud.
Jul 17, 2015
A bit costly
Jul 17, 2015
Just left & can't wait to come back,all the way from spokane wa.
Jul 17, 2015
Have stayed here before in June time period and would have rated it a 5. This time we stayed in July. But only rate this stay a 4. The only problem but it did detract from our stay is our reservation for pull through site must have been overbooked as we were initially only offered a remote back in site. They were finally able to get us a pull through but it was partially under water/mud.
Jul 17, 2015
Super nice facility....Huge, bigger than I prefer. Non existent WIFI They should not advertise WIFI that does not work. I need WIFI for work access when I travel. One star off.
Jul 17, 2015
Wonderful. Plenty to do at the camp when not visiting the attractions. Great staff and amenities.
Jul 17, 2015
We got to our site and discovered that it was not a full hookup as we expected. In checking with the office we found out that the original sites were wet so we had been reassigned to an electric only and not charged. However, we found it strange that the person checking us in never mentioned the situation. Also, we were very disappointed that there was very poor wifi during our stay.
Jul 17, 2015
Great Staff Great everything
Jul 16, 2015
Was not happy with this KOA at all. No services as advertised and no compensation. The level campsites were under water and the one on the hill were horribly un-level. Brown water, because of main breaks everywhere and way to big of a campground for our liking. Great for families with kids I guess but it will cost you for every extra activity. Not very clean either and staff was rude.
Jul 16, 2015
Greatest place on earth! Tons of fun for everyone of all ages. Staff are extremely helpful with everything.
Jul 16, 2015
Didn't get the space I reserved. Had to accept a lower level.
Jul 16, 2015
Unfortunately, too much rain the first part of July...lots of mud to deal with...no ones fault!
Jul 16, 2015
Awesome camp site but my actuall spot 234 was awful. Looks like it had bad drainage.
Jul 16, 2015
Jul 16, 2015
We loved it. You have a very nice facility!
Jul 16, 2015
The facility and location is wonderful, but our "camper comforts" were horrible. We had no water pressure, not enough ampage to run tv and microwave at same time, no internet, and only one TV station. Too many people in the camping area. Had to drive evrrywhere because of steepness of roads. We will not be back.
Jul 16, 2015
Wi-fi usually wouldn't connect; once connected was weak & disconnected after a minute. Site was hard to find, very close to neighbors. Roads muddy and air full of campfire smoke. Closest whirlpool very green, other very small (max 6). Adult swim time not enforced. Surprise mandatory $10 daily fee for kids' activities, and we had no kids. Very close to Mount Rushmore.
Jul 15, 2015
What a great place! Perfect for families, with lots to do! Everything from the pools, jumper, mini-golf, horse back riding and not to mention the best of what the Black Hills have to offer! We made the mistake of only staying a couple nights to visit Mt Rushmore and regretted it. Take at least three days(4-5 better) to get in the Monument, the Black Hills and relax at this resort
Jul 15, 2015
A very busy KOA but lots to do and very beautiful. Great staff
Jul 15, 2015
We had a fantastic stay. The staff is friendly and helpful and there is SOOOOOOO much to do. Definitely could have spent more than 3 nights there EASILY!
Jul 15, 2015
Great! Kids love the pancake breakfast and activities. Wifi was awful, even next to a hotspot. That should be improved since the is zero cell service.
Jul 15, 2015
Great please to stay, a lot of amenities; however it was crowded,the tents and RV's were very close together so that was kind of uncomfortable.
Jul 15, 2015
everything was great as usual
Jul 15, 2015
the sites at this location do not meet my standards. no room, barely room for the camper! I was given site 599 which had sewer hook up at my front door and my fire ring to close to neighbors camper. the amenities here are fine, but would not stay at this location again because of the sites. if not for Jack(staff member) I would never stay KOA again. He found us a better site. I have more to say...
Jul 15, 2015
We made res. 6 Weeks in advance for two sites. They put us in muddy sites, the good sites were keep for the over nighters. Our friends camein from Canda to be with us and had to put boards down to get to there door. We all paid the same as the people that had concrete pads. We are very dissatisfied with the conditions and the price we had to pay. Sincerely, Ed And Lois Shinkle
Jul 15, 2015
Wifi sucked. Mini golf was old and wore out, "water slides" we're slow and cold. Our site dropped off so bad we needed pallets to get out of camper. People were nice though.
Jul 15, 2015
Great campground for the kids. Location is fantastic. Pancake breakfast can't be beat. This was our 4th time visiting and we'll be back.
Jul 15, 2015
I'm sure families enjoy this KOA but it was too big and too hectic for our likes. Restrooms were muddy when we went to take a shower. Wifi useless too.
Jul 15, 2015
Beautiful Location Great Times
Jul 15, 2015
Although we were dissappointed we missed out on the chuckwagon because it was already full, we loved the horseback riding. We appreciate that everything is so clean and the staff was very nice. Thank you for a great weekend!
Jul 15, 2015
Too big. Too loud. Small sites. Had to move 2 cars to get in our site.
Jul 15, 2015
Not a good end. Campsites were on top of each other, quiet hours were not enforced, no internet connection on the WiFi.
Jul 15, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
Wonderful scenic location! All staff was very helpful and pleasant. We had a family reunion there. The meal was delicious and the Ponderosa Catering staff was very nice and great to work with. Papa's Pancake tent had delicious pancakes! The only complaints were the lack of Wifi or cell service. And the smell from the horse stables was a little strong at times. Otherwise it was wonderful.
Jul 14, 2015
Lots to do for kids.
Jul 14, 2015
You can't beat this place if you have kids. Horseback riding, kids activities and pools and playgrounds. Convenient in site car and atv rentals. Excellent restrooms. We have stayed here twice and will be back. And don't miss the shuttle to Mt Rushmore.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.