Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 19, 2014
the site that we were given needed to be graded, the rain had washed away gravel and left a low spot where the door was. needed to use a milk crate to add a step. Also the site was small, limited level area for chairs and table.
Aug 19, 2014
The only aspect that I was disappointed with was the WiFi connection. It did not work at all and would have presented difficulties if I would have had to complete any work.
Aug 19, 2014
Fantastic stay! Would have been much more enjoyable with kids. There could be a little more space between spots and at least a path between campers to get to the center restroom more easily.
Aug 19, 2014
Awesome campground with great amenities. We stayed here to see Mt. Rushmore while traveling to our new home, but had I realized what was at this location I'd have built at least another day, if not two, to stay and enjoy the facility. Will definitely try to go back again some day.
Aug 19, 2014
Hidden charges added to our daily rate....they charged for our ONE dog and $10 daily activity fees...... The workers buzzed fast around the campground in the ATVs and vans constantly......we were put in a spot in front of the dumpster that was emptied at 7:30 am.....for a site that we paid $71.00 a night for....NO WAY....
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
We had a great time at your KOA. Our eight year old daughter loved the pool and all the activities you provided for the kids. We would definitely come and stay there again.
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
fantastic staff, great KOA, kept up well,lots to do...only suggestion is :to ENFORCE the 8-10 PM ADULT swim time at front pool. we had to ask 2 nights/times for the staff to come and enforce it..BRADY ( great staff) gladly came and handled it...we;d prefer not have to come and have to ask staff to enforce it. We have stayed here many times and will again.
Aug 18, 2014
Th campground was nice
Aug 18, 2014
Bath houses, small, old and dirty. Sites not flat, only deluxe area has concrete roads, nice area, but less than expected.
Aug 18, 2014
All I have come to expect from first level KOA resorts!
Aug 18, 2014
Loved this campground!! It had all the activities needed for the kids, especially the horseback riding and UTV rentals. Only down side was very poor WiFi service, could connect to router but no service. Very poor cell service too.
Aug 18, 2014
Was having a great time until we went to have a drink in the bar. The bartender on 8/16/14 was horribly rude to all of her customers and her father physically attacked my friend. All other aspects of the campground are great and once we were kicked out of the bar a waitress of the resturant apologized to us saying it was not the first time. She even bought us a round of drinks from her own money.
Aug 18, 2014
We were extremely impressed with the cleanliness of the facility and the helpfulness of the staff. The numerous on-site activities for every age and the additional amenities (car rental and such) are the biggest reason we will be back year after year!!! Thanks for a wonderful first vacation for our family.
Aug 18, 2014
They worked hard to get us a convenient spot close to the services we would be using. Great location close to Rushmore
Aug 18, 2014
It is like a hotel that you bring your own room to.
Aug 18, 2014
So many great activities for our kids! All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Will definately be coming back in the future.
Aug 18, 2014
Campground restroom was 'grossly' under served. Staff spent little time to keep them clean. We wont stay there again
Aug 18, 2014
We reserved 3 weeks prior to staying, upon arrival we were escorted to our site which had just been 'fixed' due to a water pipe being broken. The site was a mud pit and I'm shocked the gentleman who took us to the site didn't suggest (or insist) us being moved. The mud wouldn't have been too bad except it rained 3 of the 4 nights we stayed. Not impressed, we won't stay here again.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Wonderful resort. We do understand it is more family orientated but we prefer a smaller more secluded RV campground with much less noise and hubbub. A great staff and all personnel were exceptionally friendly, informative and helpful.
Aug 18, 2014
This KOA was beautifully maintained and offered so much for everyone. Also conveniently located to all attractions.
Aug 18, 2014
We loved it,the views amazing!So much fun stuff that the kids did for free! Loved the horse back riding, rates reasonable.Golf carts & buggy rentals were pricey Disappointed in showers,they were dirty & gross! They were also too small for a mom & child. Overall loved it,seems like a little money back into a few things,& maintenance would be exactly what it needs to be perfect!
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
We brought a wide age range with us and every one rated this the best campground we stayed at! Great job!
Aug 17, 2014
The staff and the shower facilities were great. The water slide is terrible and the pool was dirty, my kids didn't eve want to swim in it.
Aug 17, 2014
We always enjoy your campground ! The grounds are well kept, plenty to do! The help is very friendly!
Aug 17, 2014
Great activities for the kids, cell phone reception has improved in some spots as well.
Aug 17, 2014
Beautiful Setting and a great Staff.
Aug 16, 2014
Very enjoyable, staff were very helpfull.
Aug 16, 2014
No wi fi connection -- ever. Bugs. Mud puddles. Expensive. Up charges for unneeded services. Need a separate area for senior citizens or adults with no children. And discounts for seniors.
Aug 16, 2014
The camp was clean. had a lot of activities for the kids. We enjoyed meeting and talking with Sarah the bartender. She is very sweet. The wifi connection needs to be fixed.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Campground is great for families. Lots of things to do onsite. Grounds are kept clean. Restrooms/showers exceed campground standards. Sigh....the dog run area is sad. Grass overgrown, trash can full and not emptied for several days. Oh and I still cant figure out why a 78yr old woman was denied purchase at the wine tasting event because she didnt bring her ID card with her...really?
Aug 16, 2014
Very poor water pressure . No cel or internet service at all unless right at check in area. Water pressure was my biggest complaint .
Aug 16, 2014
The ponderosa restaurant food was terrible!
Aug 15, 2014
For families with kids
Aug 15, 2014
Was disappointed we couldn't have a fire as our neighbor's slide out was only 2' away from the pit. Was not able to move sites, and the crew sent to move the firepit said it was too much work. Seems like the longer the stay, the worse the site. :(
Aug 15, 2014
It is simply a world-class campground. Having camped across the west, this is the finest facility in any state.
Aug 15, 2014
Super place. Grand kids enjoyed it!!!
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Everything was awesome especially the chuck wagon dinner. The only bad was the internet was terrible could not even get my work emails. My suggestion would be how they manage in other countries. limit by password the number of devices and no video streaming or large downloads,
Aug 14, 2014
A beautiful campground with flowers everywhere! Just a couple of issues. The price were way too high in the grocery "store" and we went into the ponderosa to eat and were told we had to sit in a dark room at the back, even though the place was empty. The hostess said we couldn't sit by.a window because they seat by "sections". What's that all about? We went elsewhere to eat.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
Great KOA including staff and amenities. Only poor was internet.. We rely on internet for our business in which there was none our entire 1 week stay. However, we did learn the entire area is hit or miss.
Aug 14, 2014
The stay at the KOA was comfortable, affordable, and relaxing...so much to do!
Aug 14, 2014
We loved it!!
Aug 14, 2014
Such an amazing experience! We can't wait to go back!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.