Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 23, 2016
Super clean, lots of amenities. Great stay
Jul 22, 2016
What a great place to have a family reunion. However, some of us needed to stay connected due to our jobs and had to travel 5 miles or more to get cell service and WIFI. I was told at the front desk that you have three hotspots but sorry to say that none of them worked. Very disappointed with WIFI availability. I did like that there were lots of activities for the kids.
Jul 22, 2016
We had a great time! All 63 of us have a great time!
Jul 22, 2016
Had almost no water pressure the first morning in our camper. Some camping site extremely close together. We had a very nice stay.
Jul 22, 2016
Many improvements from last year, seen a big price jump in things from last year. Still one of the nieces camp grounds.
Jul 22, 2016
The campgrounds had so many activities such as the ATV rentals, horseback riding, chuck wagon dinner, swimming, putt-putt, and daily kids activities that you could never get bored. The staff was very helpful. It was a great place for our family to stay and enjoy the Black Hills.
Jul 22, 2016
This campground has everything! Clean, a lot of activities, and options for everything. We wish we would have been able to stay longer. We plan on returning. It was in a great location and absolutely beautiful!
Jul 22, 2016
Jul 22, 2016
Kids loved it! They really, really, really loved it. But beware: if you plan to work while you stay, plan for no wifi nor cell coverage. Best place is going into a nearby city and find free wifi and enjoy cell coverage. Still a great place especially if you plan to get away from it all.
Jul 22, 2016
Our site was muddy. The staff said it rained. No other sites were muddy. Our bbq (we paid for deluxe site) started on fire - it was so dirty!! We called for help to put the fire out. No one ever came and cleaned it. Good central place and great for people with kids.
Jul 22, 2016
While this KOA has fantastic amenities, the bathrooms were in poor shape needing a lot more attention to cleanliness. Very dirty!
Jul 22, 2016
It was a great place to stay with the kids/grand kids. Nice variety of events and activities/
Jul 22, 2016
A very nice place. Good facilities and plenty to do. We will probably come back when we have time to do more of the activities.
Jul 22, 2016
A little too large for us; camping sites close together, but probably necessary for the area. So many activities, we should have planned an extra day to stay there! Also disappointed that the individual at the information desk discouraged us from Crazy Horse Memorial by telling us it was $25 per person to get in. When we looked in the brochure, it was actually $28 per car. For the 5 of us, tha
Jul 22, 2016
Jul 22, 2016
The place was perfect except the showers were filthy. The cleaners were there once and it didn't look any better after they left.
Jul 22, 2016
Outlying restroom could be a lot cleaner.
Jul 22, 2016
We had a wonderful family vacation & enjoyed all the amenities your resort provided from the horseback riding to the water slide!
Jul 22, 2016
Wonderful views. Very clean! Loved the UTV rental.
Jul 22, 2016
The shop did not have sufficient clerks to help everyone, people were in line for 15-20 minutes to buy ice in the evening before we left for the lighting ceremony. We needed to purchase an item but couldn't wait and the store was closed when we returned.
Jul 22, 2016
We don't usually stay at KOA. This was a great location and we liked the stay. Very large place with lots to do. The bar makes good drinks! People are so nice at camp, I wish the world was one big camp grounds.
Jul 21, 2016
Stayed here many times. Very clean. Family friendly. Rodeo was a special treat! Wish you would reinstate recycling. Looking forward to next summer! Thank you for a great stay.
Jul 21, 2016
Absolutely amazing. Great activities and very friendly staff
Jul 21, 2016
Had a wonderful time. Campsite was in excellent condition. The fun park had what every child would want. I would recommend this campsite to anyone that wants a fun get away.
Jul 21, 2016
My kids love all the activities, highly recommended!
Jul 21, 2016
Way over priced. No WiFi ,no TV for news,no phone service.. Could not get an emergency call. Lost family member. didn't know for two days.Water bad can't even wash clothes. Would not recommend
Jul 21, 2016
Concrete patio, swing, grill and fire ring!! 15 min from Mount Rushmore and other attractions. Staff was very friendly.
Jul 21, 2016
Great place to stay! Lots to do with kids of all ages.
Jul 21, 2016
Everything was good except that we had some trouble to level out the motorhome. The site was so uneven that the standard yellow wedges were not good enough.
Jul 21, 2016
This KOA is probably great for families with children, but for two retired folks we did not care for it. The wifi did not work and we needed to do banking and check our travel plans and could not. We had to go Mt Rushmore to get any wifi. Our phones did not work well either. We felt the sites were small for the prices. Again if you have children this KOA is probably just what you want.
Jul 21, 2016
Friendly
Jul 21, 2016
Jul 21, 2016
Best we have stayed at. Staff was wonderful.
Jul 21, 2016
We didn't have enough time for the kids to play because it rained. But we still had a great time!
Jul 21, 2016
First time at a KOA and was skeptical to try but this facility out performed our expectations as it was clean, with many extras we never knew would have been offered. The staff was well organized, courteous, and helpful in every way. I'm sure not all KOA's are this nice but this one was great. We were given a nice quiet spot on the outer edges of the campground after calling the same day.
Jul 21, 2016
1)Packed in like sardines! 2)There was meant to be a dump at your site but I never found it. 3)Noisy. 4)Incredibly expensive for what it was. 5)Crap food at their restaurant Ponderosa. 6)No internet service even though they promise free wifi. 7)Badly lit areas with very small signage - impossible to find your spot at night. 8)Lousy customer service:I rang 8 times in a 2 hour period. No ans
Jul 20, 2016
Had a blast! Kids loved the fun zone.
Jul 20, 2016
Plenty to do if you have young children.
Jul 20, 2016
Second time here. The people are friendly and always willing to help if needed. We had family flying out of Rapid City . They rented me a vehicle and allowed me to leave my camper there after my days were up until I could get back from Rapid. We will be back.
Jul 20, 2016
For the busiest KOA in the country it ran really well. Major thunderstorm with hail as we were setting up. The staff was very helpful and made sure everyone was alright.
Jul 19, 2016
This is by far the best KOA we stay at. This is are 4th summer here. There is something for everyone. We can't wait to come back next summer.
Jul 19, 2016
Best yet! Extremely family friendly, kids loved it.
Jul 19, 2016
Great for all ages!Very clean and fun activities all around!
Jul 19, 2016
We had a great time! This is the place you want to stay if you have kids! There's so much for them to do! Our family loved the UTV ride and the horseback riding as well. There's something for everyone young and old:)
Jul 19, 2016
The camp was everything we wanted and the kids needed - things to do for the kids that were easily accessible in a lovely setting - great pancake breakfast made it easy to get the family ready for adventures in the nearby area - Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Sylvan Lake, Custer State Park and the amazing Mammoth Site. Kids did not want to leave and asked to come back next year - just fabulous!!
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
We absolutely loved our trip and this Kampground was our first KOA experience. we couldn't say enough great things about the staff and how many great activities they have. It was so hard to leave.
Jul 19, 2016
Everything is great except for cell and internet coverage which are horrible.
Jul 19, 2016
Wifi was very poor. Would have liked cable. Everything else was great.
Jul 19, 2016
Horrible!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals