Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
As they say, "It's always a good day at Palmer Gulch KOA". We've been staying at Palmer Gulch since 2002, always clean, employees helpful, the pancakes are great. It is a large place, we haven't gotten lost yet! I recommend to all who ask where to stay in the Hills. We'll be back, again, and again
Jul 17, 2016
Extremely pleased with the amenities at this KOA. Everything a family could need or want during their vacation including UTV/car rentals, horse back riding, pools, restaurants etc. The list goes on and on! We will definitely put on our "to return" list!
Jul 17, 2016
The Palmer Gulch KOA Kampground is amazing. There is always something to do, the grounds are clean, and the staff is very friendly. Definitely one of our favorite places to stay!
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Like To See cable tv&Wifi,The Campsite Was To far from Restrooms&playground, To rocky For Bike Riding, For Grandaughter.
Jul 17, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. We stayed for 2 nights. We enjoyed all the amenities and liked that it was so close to Mount Rushmore. We really enjoyed the rodeo!
Jul 17, 2016
The kids dance party was top notch! I'd wished the showers had been updated and cleaner but nothing is perfect.
Jul 17, 2016
It was one of the best and nicest campgrounds we have stayed at I would recommend it to anyone
Jul 17, 2016
Great place to stay with kids
Jul 17, 2016
There are so many opportunities for different activities there. It is well cared for and clean.
Jul 17, 2016
Super Clean bathrooms that are cleaned periodically throughout the day. Great coffee shop for the AM. Splash pad, Pool, Water slide for the kids... and adults lol. On site store has a decent amount of things and a good price. Planning on staying here again.
Jul 17, 2016
A great campground to stay at-beautiful setting😊
Jul 17, 2016
this was the worst campsite we have ever had. Below the hill where you can see when you drive in is pretty, but where they stuck us and many other campers that were to big for the spots were nothing but dirt and over crowed. We heard nothing but complaining from other campers for the same reasons. I would not recommend this KOA to anyone on the the campsite alone.
Jul 17, 2016
A really big KOA with lots to do. The showers started out ok, but by the third day they were horrible. Hair everywhere, benches were dirty, and there was a tampon in one shower stall.
Jul 17, 2016
They were very accommodating when I wanted to stay a 3rd night. In fact I even liked the site better than the first.
Jul 17, 2016
very nice and lots for kids to do had a bad site for leveling the office cleared it up right away and got us a new site
Jul 17, 2016
Expensive, water is brown and bad tasting. Campground wayyyy to jammed in and busy. Very noisy.
Jul 17, 2016
Very nice
Jul 16, 2016
Good location for all the side trips in the area. Sites too short and too close together. Garbage containers not emptied often enough.
Jul 16, 2016
I have been going to this KOA for thirty years and love it. However, this year service in the reception area and in the store was non-existened, no service and did not care. I still love this KOA and will try one more year, if not improved I will not go back.
Jul 16, 2016
Would have liked more tables and shade around pool areas
Jul 16, 2016
Jul 16, 2016
It was everything we hoped it would be
Jul 16, 2016
Stayed for a week and would definitely stay again. Location is the best. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Jul 16, 2016
Great place to stay, lots of great amenities. I just wish they had better internet. It was basically non existent as even the Internet cafe people told me it hardly ever works. Even with that, I still highly recommend this KOA.
Jul 16, 2016
Jul 16, 2016
Such an awesome place! Friendly staff, lots of activities and the pancake breakfast is awesome!
Jul 16, 2016
Worst stop on our trip. Bigger is not better! Horrible customer service, they have an horrible I don't care attitude. Managers Ben and Dillion did not impress. Dirty bathrooms, brown water green spa & NO wifi! Had to relocate as spot given was I. Horrible condition, told to go to other spot which was taken, then told no more spots. found site, and then got red tagged next day for their mistake
Jul 16, 2016
Campsites are packed in tight for a resort, and lack of reliable wifi or cell service is annoying for the price and having to pay a resort fee.
Jul 16, 2016
We did not get the site we reserved. But staff were very helpful!
Jul 16, 2016
Not senior.friendlywife fell on grade while directing parking. Limbs obstructing site. Cold shower at bathhouse
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 15, 2016
The campground for kids is top notch, the activities,movies swimming water slide and the grounds rate all great big kid or little. The cleanliness of the bathrooms and showers are a 3 star. If you have kids no better place to stay around Mt Rushmore. Four stars only because of restrooms and showers not cleaned routinely
Jul 15, 2016
Great resort, plenty of places to ear, the food was good. Many activities for children and adults . Only negative is WiFi doesn't work and no cell coverage in the park . Some premium sites have Cable TV if that's important otherwise just 2 channels with air antennae . The best KOA we have stayed in 10's for everything
Jul 15, 2016
Really Great campground!!! Beautiful views and so much to do!!!
Jul 15, 2016
Kid zone and rodeo were a lot of fun and kept kids busy. Location of KOA is great as many outside activities are close by Ned not far to drive too.
Jul 15, 2016
There is no wifi at this park. They say there is in designated areas, but you can't connect. I asked several employees "what's the trick to connect"? They told me they can't connect to it either. Fix the wifi or quit advertising that you have it!!!!
Jul 15, 2016
It was neat and clean. Everyone was helpful and kind. Loved that it had something for all ages!
Jul 15, 2016
Palmer Gulch KOA is a wonderfully fun place to take the family. Lots of activities for everyone, busy but not so packed you are unable to participate in everything. We love going here every year.
Jul 15, 2016
Reservations were messed up. They tried to move me to a site with no electricity. Wifi isn't spotty it's non-existent. Hot tub was full of toddlers with no adult supervision. I have nothing good to say about this campground. No apologies were given by the staff just excuses.
Jul 15, 2016
The park is huge and offers a ton of stuff to do. Which is good, because you are not going to want to Be in your site, the sites are small, not level and the sewer connection was actually above my camper, which is obviously difficult. Very close to Mt Rushmore, which is nice.
Jul 14, 2016
Great location. Not as nice as other KOAs at which we stayed. Office and store a little crazy. Young man with accent who filled propane was very courteous and helpful.
Jul 14, 2016
Lots of nice activities for kids, front store was nice, campground was nice and clean, great location. Drawbacks were cell coverage/wifi coverage - I missed a couple of work calls while I was there. Would also be nice to have a few more trees so you don't feel quite as close to the neighbors.
Jul 14, 2016
Wow! What fun KOA. Friendly service and tons of fun activities. There was never a dull moment and this KOA is a perfect location for day trips. We will be going back!
Jul 14, 2016
We are family of 5 with kids (8, 2 and 1) and they all had a blast! In the future the camp would benefit from another swimming pool but either way the fun zone was awesome. We will be back in a couple of years to do the activites we didn't fit in like trail rides on horse and UTV and the chuckwagon supper. Thank you for wonderful 6 day vacation.
Jul 14, 2016
Campsites were stacked together and you are no longer able to pick which site you want; internet was poor at best; the sunshiner's who led the activities acted like they wanted to be anywhere other than here, they were condescending about activities that were scheduled and acted like we were an inconvenience. You need to clone the young man who takes the chips at the pancake stand, he is delightfu
Jul 14, 2016
Awesome activities for the kids, all workers super hospitable, although it was packed we had a delightful time.
Jul 14, 2016
What a great place for families! Beautiful location, so much to do... we loved the 1920s restaurant, Grapes & Grinds, outdoor movies and the entire Fun Zone. Was last at your KOA in 1988, at age 14; what a thrill to come back with my own daughter. Thanks for a great stay!!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals