Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 24, 2015
hadn't stayed at a KOA until this trip it was nice and clean with plenty of activities to keep the kids busy
Aug 24, 2015
Our stay was very good and clean areas for your camper, Although the showers needed hand rails to keep from slipping.
Aug 24, 2015
As usual pretty good stay, Busy place but bathrooms can be cleaner and WiFi has got to be fixed. Has been an issue for the last three years. Since cell reception is so bad WiFi is a must.
Aug 24, 2015
Our site was at the top of the hill and was wonderful. Beautiful setting and friendly people.
Aug 23, 2015
Beautiful resort with lots to do. Great amenities. Great family resort but too many kids riding rented bikes, etc. Very dangerous. If you go, be sure you stop by the wine tasting and ice cream shop!
Aug 23, 2015
This KOA has it all. Our secoƱd time there. Will definitely stay again.
Aug 23, 2015
Only wish the map was better.
Aug 23, 2015
Aug 23, 2015
Really fun place for kids. Bathrooms and showers are clean. My only "complaint" was we were sleeping in a pretty big tent and were given a very small tent site. This place is so big that I didn't want to drive back to the registration desk to ask for a different site so made it work. So if you are tenting, be sure to ask for a site that will accommodate your tent size at check in.
Aug 22, 2015
Loved everything about the campground and most of all the Staff went beyond in helping us when we had truck problems! Thank you for making our week a wonderful family trip!
Aug 22, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
Kids loved it! Very family friendly!
Aug 22, 2015
Absolutely no cell service or available wifi make an otherwise great campground pretty inconvenient. We had to drive to make a phone call.
Aug 22, 2015
You are too expensive and the receptionist was rude to my brother from the minute he walke into your office.
Aug 22, 2015
Staff is super friendly and helpful. At fist I was worried about staying up the hill, but it did work out and quieter then below. I have a service dog and I was treated very well. We enjoyed our stay. stay.
Aug 22, 2015
Poorly trained staff did not offer escort to site and provided useless directions. Hotspot wifi useless because instructions not provided. Too much money for such poor service.Hilltop site very tilted and uneven. Road to hilltop difficult to get traction on for heavy, large rig.
Aug 22, 2015
Very high price, with too few toilets, and no campsite WiFi; WiFi was only available at 2 campground entrance WiFi hotspots - vacations and the need to stay in touch are not mutually exclusive! Also, despite the offer of guides to take us to our campsite, the polite office folks should have been able to show us how to get there on our own, but were not able to do so.
Aug 22, 2015
Makes you feel like a kid again.
Aug 22, 2015
Nice but virtually no internet or cell service available and had a terrible bartender

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your review! While we are unable to control the cell service here in the valley we are actively looking at ways to improve our WIFI throughout the park. I will pass along to the restaurant about your experience with their bartender. We know they will appreciate your feedback!
Aug 22, 2015
Wonderful stay and many things to do for the kids,our 9 and 11 year old had a great...

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your most recent stay at our Resort! We love hearing that your family had such a fun time during your visit. We hope to see you next camping season! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Aug 21, 2015
Lots to do here. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because no phone or internet service or cable.
Aug 21, 2015
WOW, it was absolutely beautiful!! There was so much to do especially if you brought children. We hope to bring our grandson next year.
Aug 21, 2015
The park was nice and centrally located to see everything. Our site was muddy but overall a good stay.
Aug 21, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Very nice campground. Could use more bathrooms. Overall vry nice
Aug 20, 2015
Beautiful park, so many things to do for all age groups. So close to all tourist sights. Thank You for hospitality.
Aug 20, 2015
It's an OK facility. Hot tub was filthy. Sites were anything but level. We had two days of rain and some of the sites had 6" of water in them. No cell phone service whatsoever. Paid for the 5 grandchildren to take a trail ride but they were cancelled and closed, so I'm not sure how I'm going to get the $150+ back. ATV's were a blast.
Aug 20, 2015
The place is too big and too impersonal.
Aug 20, 2015
Although it was cold and rainy most of our stay we had one nice day to do many activities and the campground. The pool/waterslide was super cold to me but the kids seem to like it ok. I wished the wifi was a little better...not a huge deal but would be better to get a hold of family to coordinate activities outside the campground. Overall we love the KOA!
Aug 20, 2015
loved all the activities that we could do there. The dinner, pools, rides, and the accessibility to Mt. Rushmore.
Aug 20, 2015
Really great stay ... I think you could have more groceries available and your wifi was absolutely terrible and you need to upgrade your system immediately or you will lose valuable customers!!!!
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 19, 2015
Hands down the best KOA! (And we've camped at a lot of them!) We highly recommend this campground. Sooo much to do there. Conveniently located to lots of attractions. Can't wait to go back!!
Aug 19, 2015
Our stay at Mount Rushmore, SD KOA was wonderful! No Complaints what-so-ever. The staff was cordial and the services were tip top. The location is great and it's very easy to get anything you wish to see. We will definitely stay here again during our next trip to Mount Rushmore!
Aug 19, 2015
Very convenient to Mt. Rushmore. Unfortunately stayed only one night. Up the hill in the woods, far from restaurant and other amenities. In the Black Hills, okay. On our way to Littleton CO to meet family.
Aug 19, 2015
We were originally placed in a rather flooded site but KOA accommodated us with a drier site nearby. The bathrooms were VERY clean!!! Very clean park and facilities. There are a lot of activities for the kids and daily extra activities. The campground was one of their favorite things on the trip. I would only suggest having some of the activities later or twice a day as people are on day trips.
Aug 19, 2015
Too expensive. No cellular telephone access. WiFi only available near the office and speed was worse than "dial-up" of many years ago. We drove into Hill City and used our "hot-spot" for WiFi. The horse corrals are adjacent to the swimming pool which was unpleasant. They need to put down some gravel -- I had to wade in the mud to hook-up my car when we left. The flower displays were nice.
Aug 19, 2015
Aug 19, 2015
Very muddy in front of camper they need more gravel in someofthe camp sites,the lady that checked me in did a great job and found me a dealer to take my truck to to get fixed.
Aug 19, 2015
Nice campground but a little too pricey for lack of cable and wifi. A lot of activities and great location for Mount Rushmore
Aug 19, 2015
Just an overnight stop. Wish it was longer. Great campground with lots to do. Very large.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We wish you could have stayed longer too! Thank you for your great review! We hope the next time you are in the area you will be able to stay a little longer and enjoy all of the fun things we have to offer! Sincerely, Danielle Akey Assistant Manager
Aug 18, 2015
Great place for great views
Aug 18, 2015
This campground is not the same as it was 6 years ago. Too crowded and staff not helpful. Campground does not warrant their high cost or the resort fee. If someone wants to use the "resort" activities, let them pay for it rather than everyone....resort fee is not warranted. I have stayed in many, many other KOAs that are much nicer and less expensive.....
Aug 18, 2015
Busy campground so not a great place for my young child as they couldn't really be outside unless held. Cars, trucks, campers were going by at all times of the day and night. Lots and lots to do for older children. Wifi does not work at all. Even the person in the coffee shop/Internet cafe couldn't get it to work. I gave up after the second day and went to Mt Rushmore to use theirs.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
This was our second stay. Only complaint was the significant sewer gas odor throughout our stay. This included the restrooms which consistently smelled bad.
Aug 18, 2015
This was our first time at a KOA as new RV owners. We previously have only tent/pop up camped in state parks. We chose this KOA so we could stay near friends renting a cabin. We found the sites to be much closer together than what we are looking for. Obviously the convenience of hookups was awesome. The kid zone was great and we loved playing in the open space and climbing the big rocks.
Aug 18, 2015
our stay was very enjoyable. Every year there is something new and fun. Our 5 year old enjoyed the many events put on by the sun shiners. The rockets, strawberry floats and the coloring t-shirts. We have done every event that is offered whether free or a additional cost and always worth the time and or money. We always meet and make new friends. Wish every where we stayed we had this much fun
Aug 18, 2015
We stayed in a site that had the patio set on cement which we liked, but the cable TV did not come in, it was all fuzzy and the restroom/shower house was not very desirable.
Aug 18, 2015
This was kid HEAVEN! My family enjoyed every minute. The pool, playgrounds, waterslide, and jumping pillow were huge hits. Love the easy access to Mount Rushmore, the on-site general stores, and the activities. We will be back! My only complaint: no cell service and an overwhelmed wi-fi. Did not expect to be completely disconnected.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.