Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 13, 2017
It was an amazing place to stay with lots to do within the resort, not to mention how close it was to so many attractions outside the resort. Highly recommended!!
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Not just a Kamoground - a real Camping Resort. Great to have all the amenities on-site; especially the extensive trail riding stables. We will be back next year!!!
Aug 13, 2017
Awesome!!
Aug 13, 2017
Great location lots of kids programs. Only bad was last day there went for pancakes and they closed the grill early due to not being used for only 15 minutes had to go find a Mc Donalds
Aug 13, 2017
It was very nice!
Aug 13, 2017
Everything was wonderful except no phone service
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Absolutely awesome place everybody was friendly and courteous loved it perfect can't wait to come back thank you so much.
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
The best camping place I have ever been too. It was amazing.
Aug 13, 2017
We love this campground and this was our second stay here. The waterslide is fun, two pools are great to spread pool crowds and there is a lot of fun activities to do for kids or adults. Tie Dye t-shirts was awesome and making and launching a rocket was super fun as well. Daily fire engine rides, rock climbing, inflatables - this campground really is fantastic, fudge/coffee place, horses/riding.
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
We had an excellent time at your beautiful campground!
Aug 13, 2017
Time there was pleasant enough. Thought this LOW was over-priced!
Aug 13, 2017
the campground was nice enough, but my low rating is solely related to lack of Internet. It's in a cell phone dead zone, which makes wifi pretty important. Wifi was essentially non-existent. I was told as I was checking in that it was close to impossible to get connected. I thought the check in person may be exaggerating, but he was not, there was just no way to connect.
Aug 13, 2017
Very active KOA campground. The amenities were outstanding. We had everything at our fingertips; shopping, restaurants, activities. It was great.
Aug 13, 2017
Loved it! Thanks!
Aug 12, 2017
Great facility. Very smooth registration process!
Aug 12, 2017
Loved it!! Best part no service on phones!!! Please keep it that way!!
Aug 12, 2017
We had a great time! Lots of activities for the kids. We will be back!
Aug 12, 2017
Très beau camping. Pleins d'activités pour les enfants. Très propre.
Aug 12, 2017
The staff at Mt Rushmore KOA was always very friendly and helpful. The facilities were always clean and pleasant to use. Thank you for the plesent experience.
Aug 12, 2017
Loved our stay!!!
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
It's a nice camo ground, I was there for Sturgis bike week I know KOA IS more family oriented. So bikers don't like gravel roads are sites they need paved!! Make it 10 times better, no cable, Wi-Fi sucks if you can even get it. But they keep up on the place. Oh yeah, when you call front desk it transfers to Rapid City which sucks
Aug 12, 2017
Good location. Close to Mt. Rushmore. Clean. Only thing is tent site aren't flat at all.
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
When we checked in we were told that there was limited wifi, I guess limited is the same as none! We could not connect to the wifi anywhere in the campgrounds including at the main office for the 3 days we were there. I know it's camping but I still have a business to run in the evening or early morning. The managers answer was to go into town and use the wifi there. Also we had no cell signal.
Aug 11, 2017
Great place to stay, this was our 6th year staying there for the Sturgis Rally.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
This was our third stay at Mt. Rushmore. Always a great place to stay both for families with children and for bikers staying for Sturgis Bike Week. There is always something for everyone. It is a little hard being "off the grid" for 10 days, as cell and internet service are very spotty to non-existent, and cable is limited to a few sites. Overall great, though.
Aug 11, 2017
the campground was beautiful. lots of activities. but the employees were a bit rude.
Aug 11, 2017
This is a little resort, the showers are phenomenal, staff excellent. A few restaurants, bar, ice cream shop, and all u can eat pancakes. 2 pools, fun zone and a few easy miles to Mt Rushmore. Wish we stayed longer.
Aug 11, 2017
We had a fantastic stay at Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer's Gulch. Our kids didn't want to leave!
Aug 11, 2017
Okl
Aug 11, 2017
No wifi, no cell, many poorly trained staff. Kids enjoyed Fun Zone.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Great LOA site. Very accommodating personal and plenty to do
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Great place. I look forward to coming back. The cell service is not good which is outside of your control but you could improve the wifi and make the stay more enjoyable.
Aug 10, 2017
Zero cell phone coverage and free wifi was nonexistent. You could connect to it but zero bandwidth. Could not stay in touch with family. Nice activities for kids but may need to move them inside at night as it seems everyone is burning a campfire and the topography of the mountains in area keep smoke in place. Can't sleep with windows open unless you want to lose a lung in the process.
Aug 10, 2017
Wonderful resort with one major issue. Worst WiFi service we have ever experienced at an RV camp ground. There is no cell phone service which makes WiFi even more important to stay in contact with family, plan activities in the area, get weather reports, etc. The management really needs to address this problem. Having said that, the staff and activities were absolutely wonderful.
Aug 10, 2017
We really like it. Have stayed there a number of times. So much to do, especially with grandkids. Loved the Rodeo.
Aug 10, 2017
I loved it there! My only complaint was no phone service and lousy internet for the price. It's a great location to see everything.
Aug 10, 2017
Very nice amenities. Sites were too close together and there were no trees on the campsites. Felt like being in a city rather than camping.
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Great place. The kids loved it!
Aug 10, 2017
It is a great location for the entire family. The facilities are maintained well. I have no doubt that I would stay ther again.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals