Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 19, 2017
to extensive, campground was very dirty, there was more mud then lawn
Jun 19, 2017
had a blast, kids loved it!
Jun 19, 2017
The campground was great. But site 565 was about the worst spot in the whole campground!! We Tried to relocate but nothing was available. It is crammed on the corner of a Y and the neighbors septic drain was almost in the middle of our site and there slideout encroached as well!! This site should be a green space!
Jun 19, 2017
The staff was very acomadating lots of things for my daughter to do felt very safe and so close to all the sites
Jun 19, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
It was very family friendly! Lots of stuff for the kids to do. However, there were 15 + kids in the small "spa" the whole time we were there, & campsites were right on top of each other with little to no privacy. We were disappointed.
Jun 19, 2017
Excellent kampground! 2 families, 6 kids, 5 adults and We ALL had a blast. We even extended our stay by 2 nights. Next year we are planning 2 weeks!
Jun 18, 2017
No inter net or phone servic
Jun 18, 2017
fantastic location and amenities! Loved our time there. Fun zone is perfect for the kids. Rented UTV...amazing! The only "con" was that the restrooms/shower areas were pretty gross...standing water and mildew smell.
Jun 18, 2017
We stayed here for 6 nights and could have stayed longer. It is in a great location to see all the sights, there is a ton of stuff for the whole family with events every day. The sites were nice and the bathrooms were clean.
Jun 18, 2017
It is a very nice park and the employees are wonderful,but your services such as telephone and wifi sucks,terrible you should not advertise it as a service rather say that it is unacceptable and lousy or say it is very hard to get, enjoy your vacation.
Jun 18, 2017
This place has it all! Stores, places to eat, fun for families and kids. And every staff member that we dealt with in any part of the campground was so friendly. Wish we lived closer we would be back sooner than later!
Jun 17, 2017
Great campground. The arc rental was the best part of the trip hands down. Bathrooms could have been cleaner but the showers were fine A great place for families.
Jun 17, 2017
Wanted to stay longer, but had health issues not related to camp ground. Thank you7
Jun 17, 2017
The slide was down once again for all but one of the days we stayed. Our cabin had a decent amount of spiders and a lot of ants on the deck. The camping kitchen only had 1 good grill and was not cleaned good. This ace is a great unique place and if they paid attention to details it would amazing. I think they should stop raising rates and instead start working on some small yet important details.
Jun 17, 2017
Great for families with young children but not so much for older children and adults campers. Friendly ataff.
Jun 17, 2017
Jun 17, 2017
Jun 17, 2017
Great place! Every staff member we encountered was helpful and friendly.
Jun 17, 2017
One of the best campgrounds we have ever stayed!!!! Very nicely maintained and run!!
Jun 17, 2017
Advertised internet but there is no internet except in a few spots and the worker who signed us in said those are even very sketchy. Advertised a water slide and it was closed. A fellow camper said it's been closed for years. I was charged $3 each for my dogs. I have never been charged for my dogs even at other koa camps. Too expensive, too loud, and no phone signal either.
Jun 17, 2017
Add a second bus on busy nights so the same driver doesn't need to make two runs He was a great bus driver
Jun 17, 2017
Very nice and BIG park. Great for most if not all ages, but particularly those with children. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Jun 16, 2017
Lovely site spoiled by totally inadequate number of showers and restrooms. WiFi hotspots never accessible.
Jun 16, 2017
Great place to stay. The staff was amazing. Many things to do with the kids.
Jun 16, 2017
Beautiful park with lots of fun for the entire family! Great location close to Mt Rushmore. Nice big pull through spots.
Jun 16, 2017
Had a great time very helpful staff and there was a lot of fun activities the best koa I've been to so far
Jun 16, 2017
Loved every moment! Exceeded expectations, truly a vacation destination. Thank you!
Jun 16, 2017
I would have rated it a full 5 but the kids slide was closed 4 or the 5 days we stayed. Some maintenance needed in the restrooms but otherwise lost of fun for the whole family. Beautiful central location. Would stay again for sure.
Jun 16, 2017
Worth the drive! This place is amazing!
Jun 16, 2017
Jun 16, 2017
Lovely park. Wonderfu for children. Wonder about the water we hooked up to. Dirty looking for the most part. I have a filter on my water line and it collected nasty brown stuff. We had a little problem with noise across the way one night. We notified management the next day. I think it was dealt with. The car rental was perfect. The garbage pick up every day was a plus. Enjoyed.
Jun 16, 2017
Campsite was nice but narrow and very expensive. Check in desk was polite and helpful but we waited 20 minutes for concierge service to show us to the site before we gave up and went ourselves.
Jun 16, 2017
No internet service was rough for the kids lol All in all a great experience, great campground, great location Very pleased and would camp there again!
Jun 16, 2017
Great place! We wish we would have more time there!
Jun 16, 2017
We loved all the activities so much. Our boys had so much fun at the kid zone. It was a great location - between Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. The only downside was our campsite was not very level or private.
Jun 16, 2017
We loved this KOA years ago. This time we found the RV space crowded. The unpaved and muddy space seemed overpriced. It was, by far, the smallest and yet most expensive RV site of our entire trip. Personnel were kind and helpful. The family atmosphere was nice.
Jun 16, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay! If I would have known it would be so great, 7 would've planned to stay longer!
Jun 16, 2017
Super nice campground with many family friendly activities. Pool was warm.
Jun 15, 2017
Jun 15, 2017
First the good, the folks here are friendly and efficient. This park is very large and seemingly has something for everyone. The facilities, showers, etc are OK. I'll use the term well worn. The bad, it had rained and our part of the campground was muddy with large puddles in the roadway. How much is it to ask for a few tons of rock to repair the driveways???
Jun 15, 2017
Very busy and active campground. Great fun for the kids and close to attractions. No Cell coverage (Thats a plus actually) but the campgrounds WiFi is way overloaded and slow...
Jun 15, 2017
Only thing I can think of to change is to not let people rent a golf cart for the day they check in. If you come at 8pm, other people can't rent it for the day. Otherwise this KOA was perfect!! Staff was amazing and the accommodations were top notch.
Jun 15, 2017
Fantastic!!!
Jun 15, 2017
Always exceptional!
Jun 15, 2017
Very nice setting, the bathrooms were clean and there were many activities.
Jun 15, 2017
needing some updating
Jun 15, 2017
Huge. Some spots better than others. Ours was a good one. Lots to do. Close and convenient. We liked it.
Jun 15, 2017
So many people, & crowds, our tent was on a side hill with rocks, not at all comfortable.Everything was so far away.
Jun 15, 2017
Great place to stay. We were here two nights. There are so many things to do. The bus to Rushmore at night was great and we'll worth it. Seems like all the workers were a bit lost. Had to go to the office 2 times with something else every time to change the bus day that we scheduled to the next. They acted like they could not start another list for the bus a day later and pondered a refund.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals