Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 17, 2016
The pancake tent took my money And refused me service even though I had pu.t my service dog outside! Disappointed in the anti American attitude. They got angry because I tried to discuss it ,and they refused to serve me. They said it was their right! Wish I did not buy that membership card!
Jun 17, 2016
Great for families with children
Jun 17, 2016
First time with RV and Mt Rushmore. Very nice hospitality. Did not come for the Rodeo but after that the first night it was all great.
Jun 17, 2016
Great kids activities. Clean. Pizza and restaurant were good, not great. Quiet campground. We didn't do the trail rides but watched others enjoying it, horse stalls were very nice. Fun bikes to rent. Check-in easy. Only complaint was our camper was way to big for the place we were assigned. Tree right there couldn't use awning.
Jun 17, 2016
Registration was quick. Everyone was very pleasant to work with and extremely friendly. Facilities were in excellent condition and very clean. We can't wait to stay again!
Jun 17, 2016
Wish we could of stayed longer. So much to do. Great place.
Jun 17, 2016
Amazing amount of amenities! Friendly, helpful staff, very clean facilities. Very close to Mt. Rushmore.
Jun 16, 2016
Loved it!! We had our 3 kids with us and there was so much to do for them - we had a blast!
Jun 16, 2016
Great campground with great amenities and lots for the kids to do. Almost didn't want to leave to go see the local attractions!
Jun 16, 2016
Great service. Friendly and efficient employees. My only complaint is in regards to the water. It was a clear brown. My water filter took care of some of it, but brownish water still flowed through the faucets in my trailer.
Jun 16, 2016
Super fun - wifi horrible. That's ok, you're on vacation.
Jun 16, 2016
Absolutely gorgeous KOA! Very well run and organized.
Jun 16, 2016
He overall grounds were nice however the bathroom facilities closest to our site was disgusting. Overall the concerns paled in comparison to the Mount Rushmore monument.
Jun 16, 2016
Was an awesome place to stay close to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse.
Jun 16, 2016
We were very disappointed with this busy campground. For such a big site the wifi connection was unacceptable, especially as there is no mobile coverage . The service in the Ponderosa restaurant was poor we waited over an hour for food which still didn't arrive. The management of this site needs an overhaul.
Jun 15, 2016
Not perfect, but above the median.
Jun 15, 2016
Wonderful stay. A lot of activities. Great staff. A little pricy.
Jun 15, 2016
We liked it! But whit such a luxury campground and then no Wifi, it was hard to stay in touch with our family in the Netherlands that was a disappointment. Then when you accept a stay from a 2 person without kids party. Why put them next to the playgrounds. Beside this we had a great time!
Jun 15, 2016
Too big, too many people. The sites were literally on top of one another. The sites on either side and right behind us were so close we could have all shared the same fire ring. Bathrooms were not clean - out of soap and toilet paper. Other campers were walking through our site all the time. This is probably what you get with such a big operation - think we will stick to the smaller KOAs in future
Jun 15, 2016
Our only concern was that we did laundry and had a shirt ruined. The signs should warn about the water affecting all laundry, not just whites. The manager did take care of us though.
Jun 15, 2016
Jun 15, 2016
Certainly kid-friendly. Numerous, well built and clean restrooms. Activities for young and old. Music, chuck wagon dinner ride, shuttles, restaurant on-site, water park and MORE!!! I am 70 and would stay again, any day.
Jun 15, 2016
Great staff and facilities. This trip changed my opinions of KOA. this was a top notch resort for r v folk and one of the most family friendly resorts I have ever been to. Simply outstanding.
Jun 15, 2016
I made reservations 2 months ahead. 4 adults 1 teen. And 3 children. You stuck me in a very small space not even fit for tent roads on three sides. No shade and no room at all for kids to play. My camping spot was made for A pickup camper not tents. Was a very bad first time camping experience for my grandchildren. I seen plety of empty tent sites. But when i ask to move to one i was told no
Jun 15, 2016
Very family friendly,a lot of ammentie.staff is very helpful.
Jun 15, 2016
Park was very nice, But we ask for cable TV and when we got there I was told all the spots with Cable are full and we booked it 5 months in advance, then they parked us in a spot with the dumpster 6 ft from our door and it was a little high priced for no WiFi or cable and no phone service. Staff was very nice and polite and it was nice with a PUB and Wine bar and places to eat.
Jun 15, 2016
Tents in between coaches, are u kidding me? Parking beyond unreasonable. Fire or emergency services would be hampered by such negligence in this area.
Jun 15, 2016
every staff member was super friendly!The place was very clean with lots to do, we will be back!
Jun 15, 2016
Seemed like a big parking lot. And didn't work for us because we need access to the internet and PHONE. Probably good for families with with younger kids.
Jun 15, 2016
Staff was extremely easy to work with. Original site given would not worked for or rear entrance camper and were glad to move us to a site that worked. Plan on recommending to all my coworkers
Jun 14, 2016
The wifi is horrible. I cant get the agreement page to load to connect. We stayed here for 6 days and were depending on that feature. Stop advertising WIFI as a feature until it works. Also, the mens toilets are usually clogged and repulsive. The staff and groundskeeping is amazing as well as swimming pool/slide.
Jun 14, 2016
Very clean campground, courteous staff. Pools were cold though, even in 100 degree heat.
Jun 14, 2016
We had a wonderful stay at the KOA in Palmer Gulch. They had so many things for our kids to do! Our only complaint was on the last day, the kids wanted to swim before we left and the pool was supposed to open at 9, but they were still doing chemical treatments. So just a suggestion to do chemical treatments earlier, so pool can open when it's supposed to😉
Jun 14, 2016
So many things to keep the kids entertained!!!! Makes the parents life a little easier :)
Jun 14, 2016
Highly recommend for a family!
Jun 14, 2016
Jun 14, 2016
Jun 14, 2016
Great campground especially for kids. Restrooms should be attended to on a more frequent schedule.
Jun 14, 2016
We had an amazing time at koa resort in South Dakota! Kids had a blast! This is a resort, with lots of fun family activities. Good was delicious. We will be back for sure!!!
Jun 14, 2016
One night stay was fine.
Jun 13, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
Family Reunion, which is always fun. Have been there before for a Reunion. Will be back again Labor Day for a different Family Reunion. So much to do to keep all age groups busy. Had a great time.!!
Jun 13, 2016
Very nice place to stay. Limited cell service. Great for kids. Chuck Wagon dinner was wonderful. Couple workers rude when asking what time different events started or ended. This happened twice.
Jun 13, 2016
Great fun for kids! Loved the rodeo.
Jun 13, 2016
This campground was very family friendly! I loved that. I do wish there was more of a connection with the wifi because our cell phones had absolutely no service. But other than that, it was great!
Jun 13, 2016
Lots of a activities for a family. Great facility except for the very limited wifi. With no cell service or tv reception made communicating difficult.
Jun 13, 2016
We loved the tons of activities for the kids. Great amenities from the ice cream to the coffee and wines. Shelley from Pennsylvania was an AMAZING barista!! I enjoyed her great coffee/fudge making skills and she has such a GREAT personality that makes you feel right at home. My husband and I tried to get wine at 9:30 one night and Stacy wouldn't serve us because it was drizzlin and she closed earl
Jun 13, 2016
We took our grandchildren for the first time we were impressed by all the things you had to offer. The campground was impressive. it was well maintained and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It had enough stuff to make everyone happy at any age. we have been to many campgrounds also many KOA campgrounds but I think this was the best by far.
Jun 13, 2016
Just a great stay and the kids loved all of the things available to them
Jun 13, 2016
Beautiful campgrounds, our favorite on our trip. Clean bathrooms, campsite was great and very near attractions.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals