Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 23, 2015
The grounds were beautiful, but 3/4 of the campground was already closed for the season. No WiFi or cell coverage. The pool and shops out front were already closed for the season. The prices were still high. I wouldn't stay there again. Not worth what they charge.
Sep 23, 2015
Sep 23, 2015
Clean facilities and campground. Close to about anything you would want to do. Nice store and excellent service.
Sep 22, 2015
great
Sep 22, 2015
Restrooms and showers need attention
Sep 22, 2015
The least friendlist KOA that we have stayed at in a month as well as the most expensive. they charged us full price plus extra for our dogs but most of the services were closed down (pool, hot tub and the general Store). Also no Wifi in the campground unless you wanted to sit at the main building. They were not very helpful. when we phoned to book a campsite we asked about the evening tour
Sep 21, 2015
Very well planned and operated camp ground.Well staffed,clean and friendly.We have stay there many years and will come back in the future.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great review about our Resort! We love to hear that we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for your loyalty and we will see you on your next trip to the Black Hills! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 21, 2015
The campground was great but two days later I realized it was Value Kard Appreciation Weekend and I had paid full price for 2 nights, even using a $50 rewards. I called to try to fix this oversight but just got the phone call run around.
Sep 21, 2015
My stay at the campground was great I liked everything about it and will definitely be back
Sep 21, 2015
Beautiful grounds. Restaurant and cabins were great. Lovely place to stay and lots of kids' activities.
Sep 21, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
Dogs not on leash. People speeding in the campground. Was given s very poor space when many others were available. Staff ok but still driving way too fast.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our Resort. Thank you for making us aware of the speeding and pets not on a leash; we will address the speeding with our staff and be on the lookout for pet owners not adhering to our leash rules. Sincerely, Danielle Akey
Sep 21, 2015
This weekend was after the "season" which resulted in almost all of the facilities were closed. There was no pools, water slides, climbing wall, or bouncing pillow open. Just the put put course. When we asked about the bouncy pillow we were told there was no one to man it. We would have gladly paid the $10 "resort" fee to have some of the other activities open.
Sep 21, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay, everything was perfect for us.
Sep 21, 2015
Stay was great but it would have been nice to know all the stuff for kids was shut down for the season. We didn't see that advertised anywhere. Campground was clean, nice and friendly staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great review! I'm sorry we did not communicate effectively that our activities run from Memorial Day to Labor Day. We will work to have this in a more visible place so you will not run into this problem in the future. We hope to see you next camping season! Sincerely,Danielle Akey
Sep 21, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
Excellent t facil Excellent facility but wi co needs to be improved a lot He Excellent ca iLife
Sep 20, 2015
Amazing place! Something for everyone! Highly recommend it!
Sep 20, 2015
Just Wonderful!
Sep 20, 2015
Perfect location. Very well maintained.
Sep 20, 2015
Sep 19, 2015
no cell or wifi service
Sep 19, 2015
Best KOA this trip (5 visited). Staff was very friendly, lots of activities. Kids loved the pool and golf, parents the hot tub. Very close to everything in the black hills and showers were hit and clean, spacious.
Sep 19, 2015
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Sep 19, 2015
Too close to next campsite; grass yellowed from dogs; no wifi or cell service
Sep 19, 2015
The service was excellent. The bathrooms were modern and clean. Great location for venturing out to sightsee. Nice views. Restaurant was good. The only thing that could be improved is WiFi service. What more could you ask for than a coffee and wine bar next to the Laundromat!
Sep 19, 2015
Nice resort. Great facilities.
Sep 19, 2015
Employees were all very nice and helpful. It is a beautiful park. The prices were a little high due to the fact that WiFi only worked when we were close to the office and cell service was not available. However, they did provide a phone in the office to use for free. Beautiful area!!!
Sep 19, 2015
Sep 18, 2015
The entrance was very nice and people that work there were very nice. Need to fix concrete pads, fix lawn furniture and trim the lots. Was close to points of interest. over all we enjoyed our stay.
Sep 18, 2015
Sep 18, 2015
Location is great. Staff helpful, clean and well kept.
Sep 18, 2015
Beautiful and clean park, we enjoyed are stay. crappy wi-fi though, need to work on that.
Sep 18, 2015
very nice campground. Clean and enjoyed the polkagalooza
Sep 18, 2015
Our second stay. We feel,the rate was too high for closed amenities and Iron water that we couldn't drink. No cell signal and no wifi at sites.
Sep 18, 2015
Loved it all, except for the brown water?
Sep 18, 2015
I would have given you a 5 star rating if it wouldn't have been for the Ladies Bath House. The stalls were so narrow it was either straddle the commode or squeeze between the commode and wall to get the door open. The bathhouse door had been propped open all day so by night time the vanity was full of bugs, both dead and alive. Not an appetizing way to brush one's teeth.
Sep 18, 2015
Great friendly staff. Thought The spaces were told close and noisy.
Sep 17, 2015
Beautiful park with so much to do.
Sep 17, 2015
Outstanding park with terrific employees. We will return!
Sep 17, 2015
This is one of the nicest KOAs we have stayed in!
Sep 16, 2015
Top notch facility. Best in the west.
Sep 16, 2015
Awesome place - center to all of Black Hills - there are correct on web site - don't trust your GPS - be sure to pay attention to directions on HWY 244 - it gets really dark in Hills at night nice sites, nice showers - great stay grate activity place breakfast under tent was totally convienient
Sep 16, 2015
I understand it wqs Labor Day weekend,but too busy for our taste. Late night noise next site. Quiet time not enforced. Camper in next site left.
Sep 16, 2015
Campgrounds were clean and tidy. The staff was always helpful. The only negative was the restaurant. The staff was awesome the food left a lot to be desired. The cocktails were perfect. This is an opportunity to make a restaurant shine. The friendly staff can not make up of substandard food
Sep 16, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at Mt. Rushmore KOA. It is a large park in a beautiful setting. The staff was courteous and friendly. I understand the park has little to do with the lack of cell phone reception however the lack of Wi-Fi throughout the park can and should be remedied by the park. The pull through spaces were a little short for todays longer RVs forcing most to park their tow/pull vehicle
Sep 16, 2015
Totally Awesome place! We highly recommend this place!
Sep 16, 2015
Beautiful resort. Restrooms are big and gorgeous. Spaces could be longer so you don't park on the grass.
Sep 15, 2015
Relaxing, Friendly, Quite & Well Maintained
Sep 15, 2015
I reserved a site and informed this KOA that I was bringing our 2 little dogs along. The dog park/dog run was absolutely horrible. The grass was not trimmed, lots of weeds, a broken teeter totter and the poop bags were not located in the dog run. I did not take my dogs to this dog run after seeing it once for fear of either snakes, fleas or ticks in the long un-kept grass. Dogs are not welcomed.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals