Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 21, 2015
The park was nice and centrally located to see everything. Our site was muddy but overall a good stay.
Aug 21, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Very nice campground. Could use more bathrooms. Overall vry nice
Aug 20, 2015
Beautiful park, so many things to do for all age groups. So close to all tourist sights. Thank You for hospitality.
Aug 20, 2015
It's an OK facility. Hot tub was filthy. Sites were anything but level. We had two days of rain and some of the sites had 6" of water in them. No cell phone service whatsoever. Paid for the 5 grandchildren to take a trail ride but they were cancelled and closed, so I'm not sure how I'm going to get the $150+ back. ATV's were a blast.
Aug 20, 2015
The place is too big and too impersonal.
Aug 20, 2015
Although it was cold and rainy most of our stay we had one nice day to do many activities and the campground. The pool/waterslide was super cold to me but the kids seem to like it ok. I wished the wifi was a little better...not a huge deal but would be better to get a hold of family to coordinate activities outside the campground. Overall we love the KOA!
Aug 20, 2015
loved all the activities that we could do there. The dinner, pools, rides, and the accessibility to Mt. Rushmore.
Aug 20, 2015
Really great stay ... I think you could have more groceries available and your wifi was absolutely terrible and you need to upgrade your system immediately or you will lose valuable customers!!!!
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 19, 2015
Hands down the best KOA! (And we've camped at a lot of them!) We highly recommend this campground. Sooo much to do there. Conveniently located to lots of attractions. Can't wait to go back!!
Aug 19, 2015
Our stay at Mount Rushmore, SD KOA was wonderful! No Complaints what-so-ever. The staff was cordial and the services were tip top. The location is great and it's very easy to get anything you wish to see. We will definitely stay here again during our next trip to Mount Rushmore!
Aug 19, 2015
Very convenient to Mt. Rushmore. Unfortunately stayed only one night. Up the hill in the woods, far from restaurant and other amenities. In the Black Hills, okay. On our way to Littleton CO to meet family.
Aug 19, 2015
We were originally placed in a rather flooded site but KOA accommodated us with a drier site nearby. The bathrooms were VERY clean!!! Very clean park and facilities. There are a lot of activities for the kids and daily extra activities. The campground was one of their favorite things on the trip. I would only suggest having some of the activities later or twice a day as people are on day trips.
Aug 19, 2015
Too expensive. No cellular telephone access. WiFi only available near the office and speed was worse than "dial-up" of many years ago. We drove into Hill City and used our "hot-spot" for WiFi. The horse corrals are adjacent to the swimming pool which was unpleasant. They need to put down some gravel -- I had to wade in the mud to hook-up my car when we left. The flower displays were nice.
Aug 19, 2015
Aug 19, 2015
Very muddy in front of camper they need more gravel in someofthe camp sites,the lady that checked me in did a great job and found me a dealer to take my truck to to get fixed.
Aug 19, 2015
Nice campground but a little too pricey for lack of cable and wifi. A lot of activities and great location for Mount Rushmore
Aug 19, 2015
Just an overnight stop. Wish it was longer. Great campground with lots to do. Very large.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We wish you could have stayed longer too! Thank you for your great review! We hope the next time you are in the area you will be able to stay a little longer and enjoy all of the fun things we have to offer! Sincerely, Danielle Akey Assistant Manager
Aug 18, 2015
Great place for great views
Aug 18, 2015
This campground is not the same as it was 6 years ago. Too crowded and staff not helpful. Campground does not warrant their high cost or the resort fee. If someone wants to use the "resort" activities, let them pay for it rather than everyone....resort fee is not warranted. I have stayed in many, many other KOAs that are much nicer and less expensive.....
Aug 18, 2015
Busy campground so not a great place for my young child as they couldn't really be outside unless held. Cars, trucks, campers were going by at all times of the day and night. Lots and lots to do for older children. Wifi does not work at all. Even the person in the coffee shop/Internet cafe couldn't get it to work. I gave up after the second day and went to Mt Rushmore to use theirs.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
This was our second stay. Only complaint was the significant sewer gas odor throughout our stay. This included the restrooms which consistently smelled bad.
Aug 18, 2015
This was our first time at a KOA as new RV owners. We previously have only tent/pop up camped in state parks. We chose this KOA so we could stay near friends renting a cabin. We found the sites to be much closer together than what we are looking for. Obviously the convenience of hookups was awesome. The kid zone was great and we loved playing in the open space and climbing the big rocks.
Aug 18, 2015
our stay was very enjoyable. Every year there is something new and fun. Our 5 year old enjoyed the many events put on by the sun shiners. The rockets, strawberry floats and the coloring t-shirts. We have done every event that is offered whether free or a additional cost and always worth the time and or money. We always meet and make new friends. Wish every where we stayed we had this much fun
Aug 18, 2015
We stayed in a site that had the patio set on cement which we liked, but the cable TV did not come in, it was all fuzzy and the restroom/shower house was not very desirable.
Aug 18, 2015
This was kid HEAVEN! My family enjoyed every minute. The pool, playgrounds, waterslide, and jumping pillow were huge hits. Love the easy access to Mount Rushmore, the on-site general stores, and the activities. We will be back! My only complaint: no cell service and an overwhelmed wi-fi. Did not expect to be completely disconnected.
Aug 18, 2015
Great stay!
Aug 18, 2015
Have always loved staying at Palmer Gulch so much fun for everyone
Aug 18, 2015
Lots to do... Unfortunatley, we had to drive into hill city to get phone service... I had a few papers to trun in for work and the wifi was not working.
Aug 18, 2015
over priced..They also let kids (8-9) drive off road vehicles through the camp. Wi-Fi ? What a joke. There is none & no cell coverage. The water pressure was terrible. But the weather was nice.
Aug 18, 2015
This campground is nice but they have the site's right on top of each other. To crowded!! The man at the bike rental was totally rude and the kids got yelled at everywhere they tried to ride. To much traffic for bike rentals. UNSAFE!!
Aug 18, 2015
This was by far the best KOA that we have ever stayed at! Not only was the beautiful scenery breathtaking, there were so many activities to appeal to both the kids and adults! We will definitely be coming back to this resort.
Aug 18, 2015
It is conveniently close to Rushmore. Very nice. Lots of amenities and stuff to do. Pricey, but it is a resort. However, for that @$!# much money the WiFi should work everywhere in the park but it doesn't work even at the front desk area where they say it works. Ticked cause I really needed that. They need front loading washers for sleeping bags etc.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Too much chlor in pool. Burning eyes and color fadin in bath suit.
Aug 18, 2015
We love this Place we stay here every year. It would be nice to get some kind of Discount as we did in the past for coming back I the next year. I think we have been here 10 out of the last 15 years from KY to SD.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your most recent stay at our Resort! We also appreciate your loyalty and while we currently do not have a repeat coupon we will most certainly look into adding that for 2016. We hope that you will continue to choose to stay at our Resort in years to come.
Aug 18, 2015
I made my reservations back in December 2014 for August 2015 and asked for a full hookup pull through as I was towing a trailer. I was contacted and they found a dry camping spot for me. Once there I found out that people were able to get full hookup pull through spots after I reserved mine. No one contacted me to give me what I requested.???

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Resort. After reviewing the reservation log it showed you reserved a site without sewer. I am sorry for the confusion on your booking and hope that you will give us a chance to exceed your expectations in the future. Danielle Akey
Aug 18, 2015
Love it, just wet beyond their control. Rained at night Sunny in the day time.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great review! We are so glad you and your family had such a great time during your stay. We have definitely had our fair share of rain this year! We hope you will choose to stay with us again when you are back in the area! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Aug 17, 2015
Pricey but alot for children to do!
Aug 17, 2015
Customer Service has went down from last year. I understand it is under new management. A lot of standing water an several camp sites after storms.Was very disapointed from our stay last year.
Aug 17, 2015
did not get what I payed for And I reg 14 mths be for I got there. It seems not one person knows what is going on.
Aug 17, 2015
My family has been staying at this KOA for the last 30 years and we enjoy it every time we come. The opportunities for things to do are endless! One thing I would complain about is the cost, I have gone camping all over the US and this is the most expensive campground I've stayed in, by far. Also, I was there for 8 nights and the WiFi never worked. It would connect and disconnect constantly.
Aug 17, 2015
We love staying here!!
Aug 17, 2015
Simply AWESOME!!!!
Aug 17, 2015
This was the worst. Bad roads, small cramped sites, horrible restrooms (filthy 90%of time), not enough facilities (restrooms or showers).
Aug 17, 2015
Place was great till you realize that they hate tenters. sites for tents are sub-par and the bathrooms are located near people who do not need them
Aug 17, 2015
Beautiful setting...but crowded
Aug 17, 2015
This was our second trip to Palm Gulch KOA. We booked a specific area (sites 247 area) that we stayed in last year. Upon arriving we were given a site which was more or less flooded out. IT had wooden pallets layed down (for our comfort i assume) in front of the site. The site was saturated from rain. We were told there was nothing the KOA could do for us. Our KOA Membership discount wasnt apld

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.