Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Jul 23, 2013
Great facility overall, we had a great time. The only complaint I have is the quality of the water. It had a dark rust color to it when I first turned on the faucet (or hose before hooking up) and even after it ran for a while, still had a yellow tint to it. I used my fresh water tank we filled prior to arriving for the minimal amount of water we needed. We used the community showers.
Jul 23, 2013
Our site was a tiny patch of land at the tip of a Y intersection that barely had enough room for us. Our fire pit was filled with trash and the showers were dirty. The road was steep which is fine but the road needed more gravel and to be re-graded so it was navigable. No way we'll be back here!
Jul 23, 2013
There isn't wifi, (they said it was down) no cell service, no tv service except for one fox channel by antennae & no cable in most sites. People do not control their children. Adults & children cut through sites. They need gravel fill in sites because after rain for several days you walk in mud. On the positive you are close to Rushmore & Crazy H. KOA in a valley so campfires smoke everywhere.$
Jul 23, 2013
Very comfortable. I do wish the wifi was better. Everything at this camp is so awesome, but could hardly ever get wifi.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
Great amenities! Lots to do in camp. Everything you need is around camp. Loved the convenience of the shuttle to view Mt. Rushmore lighting at night. Only wish the pool wasn't green.
Jul 22, 2013
Wonderful campground with great activities. Horse riding was fantastic. However you need to dramatically improve traffic patterns as I witnessed several close calls with RV's and kids in the street. We will definitely stay again.
Jul 22, 2013
It was fun, but over crowded. Summer staff was not knowledgeable about much and there wasn't nearly enough staff to control guests. Kids speeding in and out of traffic constantly. Food at the restaurant was poor. The chuck wagon dinner was awesome; best meal we had the week we were there.
Jul 22, 2013
After booking months in advance, we were given a scrap site that was on a hill with two tree stumps and absolutely no room for any size tent. I called the office, was transferred and disconnected. Finally got a site, got set up in the dark, went to get supper but all was closed. Fees for everything and the bathroom toilets were all cracked. So disappointing.
Jul 22, 2013
It is close to Mt. Rushmore and easy to get to, but it is a very large KOA and the sites are too close to each other with no privacy. We traveled as a group with 2 other campers and we had so many fly's at our campsites, it was miserable to be outside. You couldn't eat outside without them being in everything. The pools were dirty and the water slide pool was green, I wouldn't let my kids use i
Jul 22, 2013
The campground was great, and all the extra activities - Horseback riding, cowboy dinner was wonderful. The only complaint is we did not get the shaded spot that we reserved in March online and the office staff was not very helpful. They had us originally in spot 169 and was able to move us to 604 but it was close to the road and no trees/shade. They stated online booking not as good as calling
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Great location and very beautiful. Stopped at others on our way home and would not recommend them. Sioux Falls looked like a parking lot.
Jul 22, 2013
There are so many great things at the Mr. Rushmore/Hill City Kao that my kids can't wait to go back next summer!
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
We were unable to connect to the WIFI sysem at our campsite. I understand we were camping. But you shouldn't advertise WIFI if you can't get it all over the campground. But other then that we had a great time.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
We had a wonderful time at the campground. It is a great place to stay and we will be back on our next trip to the Black Hills.
Jul 22, 2013
The park has really gone downhill in the last year. Last July we stayed here and loved it. This year was awful, the pools were dirty with many floating things, the bathrooms were unclean, the kids activities seemed never to be happening especially rock wall. Our site was too small for 50' camper. I am embarrassed that I recommended this campground to my family and friends in the last year.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Was great except the pool water and slide water was disgusting!
Jul 22, 2013
Absolutely loved it!! There was so much to do for the family!
Jul 22, 2013
Great stay! Many family friendly things to do. Thank you!
Jul 22, 2013
Our stay was great. Kids had a blast and it was great to let them run. I thought the sites were a little close together, but the customer service made up for the crunch in space. Your staff was fantastic. Penny Bruns
Jul 22, 2013
We had a great time!!!! Very clean and a lot of fun things to do.
Jul 22, 2013
The pools were not clean, when they were open. The "comfort station" rest rooms were horrid.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.