Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 17, 2015
Good place for kids
Aug 17, 2015
Great place to hang out and relax.
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
We had the best family weekend! So much to do for all ages! Will definately be back next year!!
Aug 17, 2015
My kids absolutely loved it there. They loved all the activities that were offered. I very much loved the cleanliness of the bathrooms & showers. We will definitely be visiting again.
Aug 17, 2015
A better wifi system would make it 5 stars.
Aug 17, 2015
We have stayed at Palmers Gulch almost every year for several years this year a 4 night stay, pretty expensive, the water was yellow didn't really want to shower in it but had to! Might try it again next year we'll see ?
Aug 17, 2015
Great campgrounds! It is beautiful, clean and close to many things to do. There are plenty of activities for the kids. We can't wait to come again!
Aug 17, 2015
Excellent time for kids. Wifi was not usable
Aug 17, 2015
The nicest KOA we have ever stayed at!
Aug 16, 2015
While the campground, as a whole, was great, the mud was unbelievable! The RV sites are too close to each other. The staff was great and there was a lot to do. Also, I think it's the most expensive KOA.
Aug 16, 2015
Considering the time of year and the Sturgis rally we had a great time!!! Was our third visit to Mt Rushmore KOA, and will always plan to stay there we we visit the Black Hills
Aug 16, 2015
Shame shame..I've told 100 people to stay away from this koa. Not only did the staff not care about the way this dump was being run, neither did corporate. You lost my business along with ten family members and so far, half of the 100 people I have told. So glad I used my credit card to pay, I've reversed the charges and I'll see you in court-bet I'll win
Aug 16, 2015
This was by far the best campground we've ever stayed at. The facilities and grounds were beautiful! Our kids enjoyed the water slide and rock wall as well as all of the activities. The staff went out of there way to be friendly and helpful! Palmer Gulch is in the perfect location for all of the attractions near Mt. Rushmore.
Aug 16, 2015
Three night stay. Accomodating site. Clean restrooms.
Aug 16, 2015
Street light in middle of campground made star viewing and sleeping difficult.
Aug 16, 2015
Very nice facilities. Well taken care of and maintained. Great activities for the children. Disappointed about the extra $10/day fee not mentioned upon the reservation. Fees are already very high. Laundry facility inadequate. Need to update dryers and the time notice on the wall. It took twice as long as noted to wash and dry clothes. Beautiful setting and area.
Aug 16, 2015
Had a wonderful time, and the facilities were great. Loved being greeted by a guy on a golf cart helping us park our big rig. Wireless internet doesn't actually work except at the coffee shop, and even there it was extremely slow.
Aug 16, 2015
This has to be the biggest and best KOA I've ever stayed in. Really enjoyed my stay there!
Aug 16, 2015
What a great place to stay, it has everything you could every want. I wish we could of stayed more then 2 days
Aug 16, 2015
When we needed assistance to stay longer we were moved to a spot with no full hookups noticing the one we were in never got occupied. Moving a rv is not the funnest. They could have made effort to keep us in the original. Other than that no trees for shade And all else was great with entertainment. Thank you
Aug 16, 2015
This isn't your typical park and sleep campground. There are so many activities for everyone and is super close to Mount Rushmore. There is no internet or cell service at all though.
Aug 15, 2015
Atmosphere/appearance wonderful and over the top. Cleanliness extremely poor. Young personnel staff very rude and unhelpful. Internet amenities horrible, should of had a mini business center with a few hard wired internet computers since there is no cell coverage. Very disappointing. More cable sites would have been nice to be at least able to see the weather channel, or a lounge that with TV.
Aug 15, 2015
Very expensive, too muddy, no phone or tv reception, not enough room for parking, should not be watering plants at 6:00am.
Aug 15, 2015
Sites are very close together, Wifi is non existent
Aug 15, 2015
It was great. Few things:lots of kid workers hanging around doing nothing when there was things to be doing, bathrooms could be cleaned more often, worker shortage in main office, always out of coffee, poor lightening in pool area very unsafe even for an adult to watch child, grumpy worker at pizza place.
Aug 15, 2015
The WiFi is poor, I understand it was busy being the last weekend of the Sturgis Rally but accepting the agreement and actually connecting was difficult. Even having a decent signal on my laptop I was never successful in connecting. On my iPhone only when in the lodge, I was able to connect and sort of use the very slow WiFi. I will be paying two late fees because of my inability to connect.
Aug 15, 2015
Loved camping on the hill. It was like camping but we had the luxury of a resort. Thanks for the great time.
Aug 15, 2015
The camp site was in somewhat poor condition with a very large rut from a very large vehicle right outside our camper door, their resolution was a piece of plywood. Our site was also very wet and muddy a majority of the time of our stay. The staff was nice and friendly. Disappointed in our stay for what it cost because of the crappy camp site.
Aug 15, 2015
No Internet available due to being around mountains. Small sites, and no septic, only dump station. Positive points were that there were alot of activities and play areas for kids. Town nearby was very quaint and old time feel. Over all, good location and nice stay.
Aug 15, 2015
I felt that the campground was extremely over priced for the value. For the amount paid, the campsite amenities was disappointing. No TV and inadequate WIFI was something I didn't expect. I thought the supervision of the children's activities were lacking. The pool needed supervision, since parents on older kids weren't there to keep them in line. As a grandparent I was concerned for safety.
Aug 15, 2015
Lets see no phone service, weak wifi, no television, and an extra $10 a day resort fee. Yes it is the closeet to Mt. Rushmore, that is lucky isn't it!
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
Many things to do. All of the staff were very friendly and helpfull
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
We were part of 5 RV group to use this campground. The consensus is: if you like your water full of sediment, restrooms that smell of urine, high prices,useless wifi and a general disregard for reservations made, this is the place for you.Only two of us got the sites we reserved.They did not want to fix it until it was pointed out that the units would not fit on the assigned sites.
Aug 14, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
We were really disappointed with the cost of this park for the lack of services. No internet or phone service. No cable. The activities we might have considered cost even more like the shuttle to my Rushmore. It's very kids oriented and I could see more value for a family. We also had a medical issue and had to rent a car in emergency. We returned the car within three hours but had to pay a day
Aug 14, 2015
Modern clean facilities and plenty of activities for the whole family, many of which are free.
Aug 14, 2015
The campsite was nice but there was no WiFi or TV as was advertised. And the layout was very confusing, There were no road directions.
Aug 14, 2015
we were just stopping by. too busy for a pass thru. great for a family and kids.
Aug 13, 2015
water quality is terrible! ruined a new water filter in two days,it was like I was filtering muddy water right from a creek.first five minutes of running water it smelled like toilet water.
Aug 13, 2015
Water for our site was unusable. Rusty
Aug 13, 2015
Great staff. But. You spend a lot on the camp store and the sites are mud puddles and swamp like when it rains For 100 bucks a night this camp was way way over priced
Aug 13, 2015
Very friendly, helpful, and professional........ Thanks for everything ........
Aug 13, 2015
Totally awesome. Great lay out and super friendly staff made our stay 1 of our best trips yet. We will be back.
Aug 13, 2015
Site had standing water. Was impossible to set up a tent. Was an awful site for my small grand children. I asked to move to a different site and was given worse options. Receptionist was not helpful.
Aug 13, 2015
Bathrooms, pool and showers were dirty. Workers were just playing basketball with each other. Bathrooms in the morning didn't have power so showers were cold. Toilets were plugged up.
Aug 13, 2015
Wonderful campground!!! So much to do for both children and adults. Very clean campground and friendly staff. My only downfall was poor wifi, hard to keep in touch with family.
Aug 13, 2015
Had a great time at the KOA! Kids loved the park and many things they were able to do!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals