Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 4

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 28, 2016
This is the second time that I have stayed at this KOA. There has been many changes made since I stayed there.
Jul 28, 2016
Given wrong spot number. Made to move spots in a hail storm. Tried to remedy situation. Took 4 trips to the office to finally get someone to assist us. Park is overfull and the spots are small and crowded. I would NOT stay here again.
Jul 27, 2016
We had a family reunion at this KOA, and stayed 7 nights. It was a good place for the reunion EXCEPT for the lack of a useable internet connection. Internet access was non-existent, even at or near the so-called "hot-spots". A bare-bones WiFi system such as this is no longer acceptable to many of us who use it for banking, bill paying, reservations, e-mail, etc.
Jul 27, 2016
this is a perfect place for families--so many kid friendly activities. I probably would have rated it higher if it had WiFi
Jul 27, 2016
bathrooms always dirty. And showers . Left a day early!Our campsite was on gravel .No grass. Very disappointed!!!!!!
Jul 27, 2016
This Park is set up for kids of all ages. It needs some TLC in the kid zone but it worked. If you want a quiet park do not come here. Something is always moving horse drawn wagons, tractors, kids and Rigs. Plus the horses love leaving surprises, it normally gets cleaned up after a while.
Jul 27, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
Enjoyed our stay very much! So much to do! Wish a cell phone booster was installed in the campground. Overall a near perect facility.
Jul 27, 2016
too crowded ad noisy
Jul 27, 2016
Fantastic great people very helpful been there three times this was parexcelant
Jul 27, 2016
My daughter enjoyed the horse ride very much. All of your employees were very nice. However, you've created a tiny version of Branson Mo. Near Mt. Rushmore. It's noisy, chaotic, and opposite of what camping should be. Between the family's watching big screen tvs outside their mobile homes & waking to the sound of pressure washers st 6am...never again.
Jul 26, 2016
Excellent campgrounds and staff. Well kept and maintained.
Jul 26, 2016
Lots for kids to do and the whole family.
Jul 26, 2016
I am surprised, this is suppose to be a resort location. I will never go here again because: The site wasn't nice The bathroom stalls were so small you had to stand in the toilet to open the stall door The resturants were filthy The camping site was downwind from the horses it smelled like a barn The staff was unhelpful when I asked to be moved my family has horse allergies.
Jul 26, 2016
This is a wonderful place to stay if you like the open country and the smell of the clean fresh air, the campgrounds has everything you could possibly need while staying, great experience 🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸
Jul 26, 2016
Great Campground. Pool was a little cold. Wi fi not so good. Loved the store.
Jul 26, 2016
Anyone with kids should stay here but would not recommend for a quiet evening by the campfire. Sites were great but rules/regulations were not enforced. Neighbor was washing his RV - water running down the street. Across street was a 5th wheel, 2 tents and 4 vehicles on one site. Staff was excellent. Kudos to grounds keeper. Flowers/etc beautiful and well tended. Second time I have stayed.
Jul 26, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
Great accommodations and the staff were very friendly at check in. Everything was just right! Thank you!
Jul 26, 2016
Great location and wonderful and helpful people. It's a great place to camp with lots of activities for the whole family.
Jul 26, 2016
Enjoyed our stay,
Jul 26, 2016
I love the bazillion flowers I saw all over the camp site!! It was hot but God gave me an opportunity to use one of two beautiful pools. We read, chatted with neighbors, had fudge, pizza and ice cream and explored the camp site. This is our second year and I am still raving about it to all our neighbors back home in Nebraska. Way to go South Dakota...it was our home away from home for five days:
Jul 26, 2016
Our stay was a bit disappointing. The space 135 had numerous issues. We had to run the water for 10-12 minutes to get rid of the rusty brown color. The Cable connection was broken. For first timers I suggest your host who guides a camper to their sight ask if one has questions before driving off. The men's shower/bathroom close to 135 was nasty and in need of remodeling especially the showers.
Jul 26, 2016
The only issue was that we were not co-located close to family we were meeting, but our location was more remote, wooded, and quiet than theirs, so in the end it worked out okay.
Jul 26, 2016
great amenities but sooo crowded and the hot tub was disgucting
Jul 26, 2016
we had a small site, but so much to do it didn't matter
Jul 26, 2016
Campground was great but please don't advertise wireless when there is none.
Jul 26, 2016
Workes were friendly campsights a little small some of the restrooms needed attention
Jul 25, 2016
Friendly staff, Good central location to all the sites to see. No wifi in camping area (only at lodge)or cell service in campground and for a couple of people in our group kind of a pain as they had to check in with work while there. They rent 4 wheel bikes that hold 4 kids no designated area for them to ride so they are doing on streets of campground and of course they are not watching.
Jul 25, 2016
The facility at Mount Rushmore, SD was very nice. the site we reserved and stayed in was supposed to be 75ft. but we are 60 ft. total and had just fit in the pull-through. Very clean and staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 25, 2016
Le WiFi n'est pas toujours opérationnel. Pas de réseau téléphonique.
Jul 25, 2016
Great time lots of stuff for the kids
Jul 25, 2016
Our stay was fantastic however we would like to see a recycle station for water bottles and such after all camping is about being in the outdoors and being in the outdoors is loving mother nature and taking care of her
Jul 25, 2016
AMAZING! Just the most wonderful stay at a campground I have ever had. We got the free Rodeo. All the fun activities etc. Truly a resort experience!
Jul 25, 2016
Beyond FANTASTIC!
Jul 25, 2016
Great place for kids, not so much for a retired couple like us. Expensive and our site was adjacent to an overflowing dumpster, flies and smell were bad.
Jul 25, 2016
Family friendly campground, so many activities for the family to do together. Grounds are well kept and staff was friendly. Centrally located to surrounding area attractions.
Jul 25, 2016
Scenery was beautiful but staff was rude and not helpful what so ever. Extremely disappointed.
Jul 25, 2016
I liked the seasonal staff. I did not find the permanent staff as friendly.
Jul 25, 2016
My one complaint was that people who weren't staying at the resort came to swim. The pool was busy enough with paying guests.
Jul 25, 2016
We just finished a cross country trip staying at multiple different campgrounds. Some KOA, some not. We had three boys with us - ages 11, 12, & 13. This campground by far was the favorite. The staff was friendly. The campground bathrooms were clean. The setting of the Black Hills was amazing! Great place to stay!
Jul 25, 2016
The accommodations and activities offered would require an extended stay to experience fully. Clean, friendly, and accessible, this is a destination KOA, not just a stop along the way.
Jul 25, 2016
Kids loved it! We were not happy with the site we parked in. It was right on the main corner near the kid zone, too much activity, everyone walks by, kids movie on until after 9. We faced that way so no way to get away from it. Would stay again but tell the reservation not to put us ther.
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Everything u could want, but too busy for us. Tent beside us too close, talked each nite til 2 am, loudly. Nice activities.
Jul 25, 2016
Site was too small. - no place to park vehicle...on hill with little space. The pool was suppose to stay open until 10:00 PM and kids were told to leave at 9:15. Restroom facilities were good.
Jul 25, 2016
Love the campground but cabins were way overpriced for what you get!
Jul 24, 2016
Great for kids activities, which we did not need. No shade for most sites so it was really difficult to enjoy the campsite.
Jul 24, 2016
We were disappointed in our camp sites. When we reserved our sites, I thought we were getting two sites next to each other or very close. We were miles apart. I said we would take full hook ups for both sites(pop-up didn't require full hook up as travel trailer did)as we wanted to be near each other. We feel we should have been told at time of reservation that we would not be near each other.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy