Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 05, 2014
Terrible campsites. I was on a gravel drive that had lots of muddy holes. The area I was assigned had very small, short gravel parking. They have lots of amenities for kids, many at extra cost, but he camping is BAD. Most sites had NO shade.
Jul 05, 2014
The fishing was terrific. But they still owe me one dollar.
Jul 04, 2014
Surprised with the $10 dump fee
Jul 04, 2014
Other than a hail storm that came by surprise, it was a beautiful and memorable stay. Our grandson did not want to leave. There were so many activities for him to do. Horse riding was excellent. We will go back!
Jul 04, 2014
Only one night in this site. Very nice with concrete patio and cable TV We used this campground for a home base to sight see.
Jul 04, 2014
We were moved to this site after staying in a larger site the night before. The bathroom was near this site and was very nice and clean but, people used our site as a cut thru. No cable! I would like to see the weather before heading out to sight see. The kids used the camp water park and play ground and had a lot of fun! Made new friends!
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
Everything was FANTASTIC! All KOA's need to use this location as an example of how it should be!!!
Jul 03, 2014
Not a bad place, but certainly not first class. Nice showers, nice pool, decent value. Hot tub was luke-warm and dirty. Spots were the tightest I'd ever seen. If my neighbor hadn't left before me, I might not have been able to pull out of my pull-thru spot. Internet didn't work at all, which made it tough to plan our next stop. I expected a bit more from a KOA.
Jul 03, 2014
We love this KOA. Come every year now. Only thing I would love to see improved is the WIFI connection. We were right in the lobby of the Lodge and still couldn't get on. Normally I wouldn't mind except I had a paper due for college and had to go in to town to submit it instead of being able to right there.
Jul 03, 2014
There is no cell so when. They say call 911 for help how can you with no cell in the park. Also they say they have wifi but during a five day stay we were only able to get on once and we did that by going to the main store. It never worked again and I talking to the staff and other thay all agree it's bad and that you are out of touch during your entire stay!
Jul 03, 2014
We had a great time. The staff was amazing! They were all happy, friendly and went out of their way to help. The campground was clean and our kids loved all of the activities.
Jul 03, 2014
My family loves to camp here...there is so much fun stuff for the kids to do.
Jul 03, 2014
Great amenities, views! Tight roadways. Helpful staff
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Super place for kids! Amazing amount of things to do! Beautiful area! Mt. Rushmore is a bucket list place....KOA a fun place to stay while accomplishing!
Jul 02, 2014
Lots of activities for the kids, clean and friendly . Planning our next trip soon!
Jul 02, 2014
Great please to stay, wish we could have spent more time there. Will go back for sure.
Jul 02, 2014
Only complaint was the staff driving too fast throughout the grounds. Several examples were seen in our four days, including two kids on bikes being cutoff by a golf cart while other guest vehicles were waiting for the kids to clear the intersection.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Absolutely the best KOA we have ever stayed at. The only negative was the poor wifi which may be due to the location ,
Jul 02, 2014
This is a very large KOA with lots of families, but still very quiet, staff always had a smile, very helpful. Many activities, we loved our stay. Close to many tourist attractions.
Jul 02, 2014
Good amenities and kids activities. Our spot was noisy, dusty, small, worst we've had in 30 yrs of camping. 10 year old grandson got stuck in the shower twice as the big wooden doors swell up and stick. Everyone was complaining about the doors.
Jul 02, 2014
Large campground with plenty of activities. Very noisy in the central part of the campground, especially around the maintenance building. Thought atv rental cost was too high.
Jul 02, 2014
We stayed for two nights and rented a car from the KOA. That was convenient and reasonable in order to drive to the local destinations. Was a nice campground.
Jul 01, 2014
Had planned a family reunion the previous year. Had many problems from the start to the very end. Everything went wrong from planning and reservations all the way down to green firewood. Would never recommend for a large group.
Jul 01, 2014
We were part of a reunion and had our camping reservations for several months. Those of us who had campsites were very pleased with the sites and camping facilities.
Jul 01, 2014
Still noisy after 10 pm. Quieted down after 11. Would do better enforcement of quiet hours.
Jul 01, 2014
Had two night here and the facilities were excellent. Proximity to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse Monuments make it a must stay.
Jul 01, 2014
First time camping at a KOA. Loved all the activities offered but didn't like that the sites were on top of each other.
Jul 01, 2014
Awesome time! Super fun horeseback ride, and covered wagon cookout. Kids didn't want to leave the campground due to waterslide, pool, inflatables, and all the other activities. Morning pancakes were great. Clean your bathrooms more and the stay would have been 100% perfect.
Jul 01, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay and all the family freindly amenities. Our campsite was very small. To the point where our car was parked maybe 2 feet from our picnic table. The fire pit only being several feet from the picnic table. This made for a lot of smoke infiltrating the eating/prepping area. There was no escaping it. Also there was no shade. The showers could have been maintained better.
Jul 01, 2014
it was Awesome! I wish the other KOA's would follow your footsteps. great fun!!
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Too big, not. Personal, frist AID needed but no help offered, inadequate for foreigners from outside the US!
Jul 01, 2014
Great place. Awesome stay. We extended our stay twice, moved campsites twice, but was worth it.
Jul 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Great facility, however we feel that management needs to be more involved in the day-to-day operations. We had a family reunion there recently with many reservations made in Feb. However, when we got there, one cabin had been given to someone else, even though it was reserved for us and checked on the day before. Also, a dirty cabin was given to some in our party with nothing else available.
Jun 30, 2014
Grea place! Conveinient to all the major attractions and the staff was tremendous. Only negatives were the shower house next to our area being cleaned too early in AM so we had to trek to another one; Hot tib in pool area looked very dirty; lack of abilility to comunicate with the outsoiide world (also a +)
Jun 30, 2014
We had a great time at Mount Rushmore KOA. this KOA can be a vacation stay all together. Many things to do at this KOA. Staff was always helpful, and greeted you every time when you entered the door.
Jun 30, 2014
Nice place, however they missed our request to have our two parties located together. The staff tried to correct the problem but said they couldnt find two sites together. Funny, because we had open spots next to us both nights. This put us walking clear across the campground to have meals with our family. Otherwise, great place in a beautiful location. Well situated to visit Rushmore.
Jun 30, 2014
Disney version of KOA-lots to do. They kids has so much to do. The pancake b'fast was super fun, nice shopping, chuck wagon diner a score, all and all we loved it!!!!
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Clean, beautiful and close to everything. Flower pots everywhere
Jun 30, 2014
I could say a lot of different things here, but really the words of my 5 year old daughter sum up this campground best, "Mommy, this place must REALLY love kids!" We had a great stay. Thanks so much we will certainly be back!
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.