Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 24, 2015
When we checked in the older dark haired woman was not friendly at all. We felt like cattle being herded through a gate. this was by far the dirtiest and muddiest KOA we have ever stayed in. Roads need a lot of improvement and so do the campsites. Very noisey, could not use wifi in any area and no cable tv. We will not be back
Jun 24, 2015
It had rained before we arrived so it was so muddy. The showers were extremely dirty. Hair in the drain, what looked like mold on the bath mat,toilet plugged & muddy footprints on floor.I didn't use that shower but none of them were very clean. Looked in them the next day & looked as if they had not even been cleaned. We stayed in June in a Trailer.
Jun 24, 2015
KOA- our favorite in Midwest. Rushmore altered opinion. Excited about trail rides; during ride, "gentleman" freely smoked vapo-cig and veered off trail, saying he wanted some fun. Do you want your guests' children to be exposed to this behavior at your facility? Your guests were clueless-walking thru occupied sites. A camping etiquette handout might be helpful at check-in.
Jun 24, 2015
Camp site was a swamp asked for new site after they gave away site we were suppose to be in that was high and dry and was told all other sites were full we proceed to see full hook up which is what I had be empty through out are stay and numerous so called deluxe sites wasn't Even offered to get one if I paid difference I was put in crappy site that they had no plans of using by there mistake
Jun 24, 2015
No one showed us to our site. I had to flag down help since my site had too much water to stay on and ask for a different site.
Jun 23, 2015
You need to clean the restrooms and for gods sake, spend some money on gravel, the mud was unacceptable and quite easily overcome with some money and elbow grease
Jun 23, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
Durning our week stay the campground was a mud hole. This was not the first rain and won't be the Last. The sites need to be raised and gravel need to be put on all the roads. It didn't rain every day but because the pot holes were never attended to it was a swamp just getting to and from the camper. Every camper couldn't believe the condition of the sites and roads. Not worth what we paid!
Jun 23, 2015
You have a great facility that is in a great location. No cellphone service and little to no wifi signal negates your well run facility.
Jun 23, 2015
Way too expensive! Wifi did not work. Everything costs extra and is over-priced. Premium space is not premium. It is the same as all the others. Concrete patio was missing pieces. Maintenance staff was not friendly. Full report will be at www.rvparkreviews.com
Jun 23, 2015
Tons of things to do, very well run.
Jun 23, 2015
You don't get what you pay for when they can move you around and around to accommodate someone else
Jun 23, 2015
We had a great stay, It would have been great if you would have stopped the rain
Jun 23, 2015
Had a great time the staff did a wonderful job keeping the campground clean even with all the rain the have had
Jun 23, 2015
Move the horses away from the pool and food and it would be much better for the front sites. Other than that and the price of ice we had a wonderful stay.
Jun 23, 2015
We were promised WiFi and cable and did not have any WiFi at all and no cable until late the last day of our stay. Absolutely unacceptable with the promise made to us. My husband had to work online and couldn't because of this. For what we spent on a premium site we were not happy.
Jun 23, 2015
Beautiful setting but no connectivity - cell phones, internet, or TV. They say they have Wi-Fi, but we were never able to connect.
Jun 23, 2015
I stayed at two particular sites at Rushmore. This particular site was spectacular. Definitely recommend. A lot of fun activities for the children to do. Very clean amenities. Great location.
Jun 23, 2015
We had an amazing time at the Palmers Gulch KOA. The staff are outstanding. They did everything they could to make our stay memorable. The grounds were clean and the facilities were amazing. I would definitely come back to this campground in a heartbeat. Thanks again for helping us make a life time of lasting family memories. Front desk girls were above and beyond helpful and friendly.
Jun 23, 2015
Very much enjoyed our stay. everyone was so friendly and helpful.
Jun 23, 2015
We had no fire pit most likely due to the rain washing it away, but it would have been nice to know about it before the camper was situated. Tight spots if neighboring campers have multiple slides. Our spot was muddy which was difficult with a dog. Staff were friendly.
Jun 23, 2015
The campground had a lot of fun activities and was the largest KOA that I have ever stayed at. I didn't care for the site that I stayed at as I had a lot of standing water, which attracted a lot of bugs. I am sure that most other sites were nice. I would stay at this camp ground again.
Jun 23, 2015
Hail destroyed all four of my air-conditioners and my car. won't be back. Site was muddy, needed some gravel in it. for the money it cost,was not good
Jun 23, 2015
Lots of hail damage but KOA staff wonderful - out in full force. Wish prices were better for nightly rates but still a wonderful facility.
Jun 23, 2015
No internet service which we paid for. Too many packed into a small space
Jun 22, 2015
We have visited this KOA three times in the past four years. This year was disappointing. Very disorganized, less events for the kids, but worst of all, the most unfriendly staff we've ever encountered. We certainly hope things change, or we may need to look elsewhere for a campground next summer. Best of luck that you can figure things out and update the KOA and improve overall!
Jun 22, 2015
Awesome staff, great amenities, great food, nice sites, strange camp fire placement, nice bathrooms and showers.
Jun 22, 2015
We have stayed at this koa a number of times. This is the first time we have had to jump puddles to get to our site. Which we wouldn't have minded as much, but we had asked for a different site and were told no. We had seen drier stops that were open the whole time we were there. Otherwise our stay would have been very nice.
Jun 22, 2015
Need one or the other, WiFi or cell phone access. Need emergency contact with family and friends outside.
Jun 22, 2015
Internet doesn't work even in hot spots. Cable fuzzy. Deluxe patio falling apart. If you are on main road, constant noise and traffic and noise. Crowded and expensive
Jun 22, 2015
We love coming out because everyone is so friendly and helpful. Place is very clean. We loved our 601 spot! Also, my first time horseback riding in 28 years. My husband lost his voice box to cancer so he speaks very softly. Girls that took us out riding constantly checked if he was OK. Very conscious of his not being able to yell out if he was in trouble. See you June 2016...
Jun 22, 2015
Our site was very muddy/wet - I know it rained a lot but other sites were nothing like ours. We have stayed there 2 other times and convinced our family to do a reunion there due to our pleasant stays in the past - not so this time. The gravel roads are horrible!! There were pot holes and washouts all over - piles of gravel were there but in our 5 days we never saw anyone do anything about it.
Jun 22, 2015
We had sewer back up at our site and all the sites down our road stunk. It was not even enjoyable to go out side.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Called to verify my reservation and our group could be together and was told it was possible, but wasn't at check in. Also asked the condition of the campsites, due to the recent rain, told they were ok, but we stayed in a mud hole. The last thing is the showers were nasty and hadn't been cleaned that day, and it was 11 am.
Jun 22, 2015
One of the BEST campgrounds we've ever stayed at!!!!!
Jun 22, 2015
pros-We had a great time! This is a very nice campground. Large lots. Very clean. cons- no cellular service, little to no Wi-Fi. Need to have more sites with cable hook ups. Firewood is expensive for the size of the bundles considering it is pine and burns quickly. It takes several bundles to have a small camp fire for smores. The kids loved the 3 wheeled bikes but were to expensive to ride mor
Jun 22, 2015
Very nice campground. They recieved a lot of rain recetnly and the staff was working to improve the roads. We had some major storms come through and it would have been nice to see the weather but there is no cell service or wifi in most of the park. We had a great time renting the ATV and the chuck wagon dinner as well as the rest of the parks amenities.
Jun 22, 2015
We had road that started at 0530 right outside our camper.
Jun 22, 2015
They charged me more when I got there,different from when I made online reservation. Wifi doesn't work at all so plan on no phone at all when there. They charge everyone a resort fee per night, even if you don't use anything. And even still some of the stuff costs more money. Most expensive KOA, we used to stay all the time, but no more. Too many people if you are wanting to get away.
Jun 22, 2015
While the campground was clean and offered a variety of activities and amenities, the lack of cell phone service and internet availability in this day in age, was disheartening.
Jun 22, 2015
After driving 13 hours I was so impressed with the hospitality and service and kind workers there. Very clean and fun for us. Thank you to you all. There was not one person that was not helpful. We did the horse ride as well and those girls are very kind also. Great customer service!!!! thanks again. Kim
Jun 22, 2015
We were put in a site that was muddy with standing water.Grass needed mowing No cell service and no wifi. Hail storms both nights. Damage to RV. Not a pleasant experience at all!
Jun 22, 2015
Charged us daily Resort Saver Package fee of $10 for KOA amenities that are free at every other KOA we have visited. Charged for our dogs which have been free at other KOAs. No cable and water slide closed even though we paid for these in Resort Saver package.We feel ripped off.Beautiful location, we will use another campground next time.
Jun 22, 2015
Oh my. The disneyland of KOA's! The campground was beautiful. The shuttle up to Mt Rushmore was a nice feature we took advantage of. Already thinking about when/how we'll be back!
Jun 22, 2015
Very clean, safe, friendly, and fun for adults and kids of all ages! The WIFI was not accessible for some reason. We were told the wrong time for the shuttle bus to MT. Rushmore, so we missed it and had to drive our RV. Times for shuttle busses should be printed on receipt. We will be back :)
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Close to Mt. Rushmore and in the trees. Resort style campus with lots of amenities.
Jun 21, 2015
Zero cell service. Advertise wifi but barely works. All laundry coin change machines were broken. Water quality is very rusty. Kids had a great time with all the activities. If all the mentioned issues were taken care of I would have rated it much better.
Jun 21, 2015
Great amenities and friendly staff, but the entire camp is unpaved and it rained every day so it was a mud pit when walking the dogs. Adding to the fun, the drain hole was on a slight hill higher than the camper. Needless to say, gravity had the last laugh when emptying the gray/black water--terrible.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.