Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 20, 2015
It would depend on what kind of stay they wanted.
Jul 20, 2015
We liked the campground and the activities it had to offer for the kids. At $72+ per night it got to be a bit high, beings we had our own camper, compared to getting a motel room, however we were ok doing this vs motel.
Jul 20, 2015
It was very noisy all day and night. Our camping spot was very wet and swampy.
Jul 20, 2015
Water slide looked sketchy/ water was science experiment. Bathroom/shower area could use deep clean, not just touch up. But your staff was AWESOME! Everyone was so nice and truly happy to help!
Jul 20, 2015
We had a great time and the campground was clean and had a lot of activities.
Jul 20, 2015
I was very dissatisfied with the site we were given. It was too short (back of Motorhome hanging over small stream) and nothing more than a "mud hole" with a 4 x 8 ft. sheet of plywood as our "front yard". We liked everything else about the park, especially the restaurant and the beautiful local scenery.
Jul 20, 2015
This is a awesome campground. One if the nicest places I've stayed.
Jul 20, 2015
Absolutely wonderful! Would recommend to all. Only two items were a tad bit disappointing the showers and the laundry. Both did not match the high caliber of the rest of the facilities and the great service of the staff. Thank you for a memorable time in South Dakota!
Jul 19, 2015
We enjoyed a fantastic visit at the Mount Rushmore KOA. The location is close to everything! Rent the UTVs! It's a ton of fun! My only gripe is the lack of decent WiFi. I know everyone says we are roughing it, but it's 2015! Having reliable connectivity would have made it easier to monitor the weather (we had severe weather), research nearby restaurants etc.
Jul 19, 2015
Fantastic! So close to all the attractions. Wonderfully helpful staff.
Jul 19, 2015
one of the best KOA campgrounds we have stayed at. Your assistant mgr Danielle Akey resolved a issue on a mix up on reservations done by call center with professionalism and speed. reat job.
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Loved it! So many activities for the kids! they had a ball. Loved the dance party at night for the kids, especially our 5 year old.
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Great place to stay. Everyone (staff) was nice
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Everything was great, only suggestion is to increase the wifi ability
Jul 19, 2015
A few friendly staff and a few not so friendly. No one seemed to have answers. Site was not level, didn't have enough blocks to get level. our fire pit was our neighbors bump. 5 feet in front of our door was the neighbors water and electric. Directly behind that was the open sewer. Camping site was awful, campground was ok, busy and packed but that was expected. Pick another campground, not here.
Jul 19, 2015
WIFI service was very poor to non existent. The constant stench from the horse stables was an unwelcome greeting.
Jul 19, 2015
Nice campground, but packed a little tight. Good activities for the kids, but know that there's no cell service and no working wifi (even though they claim to have it) so if you have to contact anyone or check your email you have to leave the grounds.
Jul 19, 2015
Beautifully maintained; nice to have transportation to Mt Rushmore; and the horseback riding tour was amazing!
Jul 19, 2015
BEST KOA EVER! They do charge a daily resort fee, but that means that just about everything there is included. The kampground is HUGE, has lots to do, including a restaurant and mini-mall area. We will definitely be back, as this is now our favorite KOA, and the one we are comparing all others to, which isn't fair, because it's the best!
Jul 19, 2015
Only stay for one night. Wish I can stay for more. I can stay at this campground for week. This is a resort and got lots of resort activities
Jul 19, 2015
What a great place for the kids! So many activities in the campground and amazing sights in the area.
Jul 19, 2015
We chose this campground for our son. The resort has many activities for children that will keep them occupied after a long day of sightseeing. The bathrooms were clean and showers were well maintained. The proximity to other campers is close and can be loud at times. Our biggest complaint was the road surface material which turned into a thick, slick mud after it rained.
Jul 19, 2015
It was too big and not very personal like the other KOAs we've been to before. Camp site was sloped and too close to neighbors. Bathroom was dirty and too far from oure site even though I asked for somewhere not too far because of little ones.
Jul 19, 2015
Bad wifi
Jul 19, 2015
Need to level out some of the sites, my husband has never had so much trouble setting up trailer because of the unlevel site. Setting is beautiful and lots of amenities even though we didn't use them. Should consider not charging people who don't use them just stayng to camp.
Jul 19, 2015
Great campground but nonfunctional wifi is big disadvantage. Other than that, great!
Jul 19, 2015
Excellent! Most of all, your reservation staff member went out of her way to accommodate us on short notice! My sincere gratitude!
Jul 18, 2015
We stay every year for the last 9 years and no dissapointment this time either had a great 2 weeks at the park and will be back next year
Jul 18, 2015
Your facility has gotten to big our first time we stayed was about ten years ago. It was smaller and all amenities were closer. It's was still an enjoyable stay but to big.
Jul 18, 2015
I have stayed in many KOA's, and this is the prettiest location we have ever seen. The campground has several amenities like horseback riding and restaurant that were really nice. However, the mgmt of the campground is severely lacking. For campsites, you don't get what is advertised (and paid for), and the restrooms were not cleaned often, and were quite disgusting on several visits. Its a shame
Jul 18, 2015
This is a very nice campground with very friendly people and beautiful setting. It may be a bit tight for some people and a bit pricey but they provide a lot of things. We enjoyed our stay
Jul 18, 2015
Jul 18, 2015
Fantastic location! Tons of things for kids to do. Highly recommend !!
Jul 18, 2015
Put in too small of a lot. Smelled like sewer the whole time we were there. Grossly over priced ($75/day). Good if you have kids. Campsites far too close together.
Jul 18, 2015
Site for our pop-up (#298) was TINY, as were the surrounding sites. Our fire pit was, literally, six feet from our neighbor's pop up. (Yikes!) NO internet - even in cafe. Wranglers would wake everyone VERY EARLY with whistling and hollering as they brought up horses from pasture. Plenty of activities for the kids + nice pools. Spotless bathrooms + hot showers. Very nice staff and scenery!
Jul 18, 2015
Our campsite could've been better as we had a drainage ditch running through it with a good deal of muck and mud. However, the entire resort and staff customer service were very pleasant. In fact, we've chosen to hold our family reunion here in 2016. Looking forward to trying out more of your services then. Thank you!
Jul 18, 2015
Your add should state that there is no cell service, cable or internet connection.
Jul 18, 2015
Lied to us about cell phone reception and wifi availability. Left as soon as we could find another park.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.