Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
The staff was very helpful. The amenities at this KOA are pretty unbelievable (i.e. pool/splash park, volleyball, mini golf, horseback riding, etc). Great location. Only downside is that the tent sites (with electric) are very small but staff as very accommodating helping us find something that would work for our two tents.
Jul 24, 2014
Way too crowded for our tastes. Nice though.
Jul 24, 2014
Advertising "free WiFi", and providing excuses for not having a usable service is known as 'bait & switch'. It is frankly illegal. You should be ashamed of doing that. It is not a technical issue, it is a financial one. Invest in the infrastructure and the problem will go away. Otherwise change your advertising to tell the truth before someone commits to stay there.
Jul 23, 2014
Lots of things for children to do. Need to educate campers not to walk through other's campsites. Need clearer paths for restrooms for cabin campers.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
This koa was not clean and it smelled like sewer the whole entire time. We had to check out 2 days early :(
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
The wii was up but did not work the three days we were there. Tryed about 10 times a day.
Jul 23, 2014
Had a great time, lots of things to do.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Very nice campgrounds and very friendly and nice people on staff. The campground is huge and has lots of amenities for the entire family. Only real complaint would be that the campsites are placed way to close together and have NO privacy. Our fire ring was RIGHT next to the sewer line for the next door camper, kind of gross. Did not use the fire ring.
Jul 23, 2014
Still at a site too small even though I told them my size, springs pop up every where as I am 3 feet from step into a creek. Muddy and weedy. Three managers, lots or sorry but nothing else. Checked out early.
Jul 23, 2014
Great campground for families with children but otherwise very disappointing. Employees are fantastic but bathrooms and showers are dirty. They promise free Wifi but don't have it. Hot tubs waters are full of iron and look and feel grimey.
Jul 23, 2014
Something for everyone! Clean, great staff, quiet at night, great for kids & showers/laundry facilities great. Playgrounds awesome. Would definitely return.
Jul 23, 2014
This place is no typical camping ground. It is a resort for any family. There are tons of activities to do. Make sure you stay there long enough to enjoy all the amenities that are offered
Jul 23, 2014
It was a good stay. Suggest that the birds nest over the camper kitchen be removed. Maybe the birds have moved on.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Not only did the kids have an amazing time so did we :)
Jul 23, 2014
Great family friendly place! Simply rated low because we are not into such crowded places.
Jul 23, 2014
Loved everything, but the WiFi is awful and only in "hotspots". This should be more clear in their listing.
Jul 22, 2014
not sure if it was just the time of year or not but we experienced gnat problems in the restroom. other than that the activities and resort were fine.
Jul 22, 2014
Great place if you want to park your rv or trailer on a carnival fairway. Mobs of kids on bikes tearing through your site. Constant stream of people walking past site. Not a place for those who are looking for relaxation and quiet. Great place to be if you enjoy crowds.
Jul 22, 2014
The activities team was great. Kids REALLY enjoyed themselves (and us parents did too!) The campground was very clean and well taken care of. Very nice place to vacation!! Will recommend to anyone travelling to the Black Hills.
Jul 22, 2014
Amazing camping resort! So much fun for the whole family. Friendly, helpful staff! We have made this our annual family vacation spot!!!
Jul 22, 2014
OMG, not sure you will be happy with this rating... Checked in at dark ,we were instructed to campsite #599. reservations for our 36 ft (40 ft incl 5th wheel ext )to include 50 amp. We were directed to circle past the site & back in. Impossible!! R steps were 5" from the neighbors sewer. Ugh . Site had 30 amp, unstable, terrribly small, maintenance were the best, the rest was bad. Not recommen
Jul 22, 2014
It was so great we recommended it to our friends and they stayed there the next week!
Jul 22, 2014
Great for families, but not great for quiet older people
Jul 22, 2014
Nice helpful staff. Big but cozy! Family fun...
Jul 21, 2014
Great location, great amenities and great staff.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Very happy to help when wanting to stay another night in same site. Very helpful upon arrival early. Only improvement pool needed attention sometimes Great place will be back next year
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
We had a wonderful stay. There were so many amazing activities that were available for our kids. We will be staying here again.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Outstanding KOA - one of the best that we have stayed at!!!! Would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the Mount Rushmore area!!!
Jul 21, 2014
Awesome
Jul 21, 2014
The camp/ resort overall was awesome. The staff was very flexible and helpful when we needed different site for our tent due to size! The only thing that was a major negative for me and my family was when the horse wranglers were screaming non stop at 5:45-6:00 am! This happened every day we were there and because our site was less than 30 feet from the horse trail....! Not good!
Jul 21, 2014
The grounds were clean. The staff, except one girl who needed to go home, were all great. The pancake place got it done for sure!!! Good Times
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
You had everything we needed in a great location, but I suggest that you build more comfort stations. We were in 538 and it would been a nicer space if it were level so that we could use the table and fire ring. We liked the trash pick up and recycling.
Jul 21, 2014
Camp site was ok. Not as private as description on website. Every thing ws good except the comfort stations were horrible. They were never clean. The sinks and toilets were always dirty and the showers were disgusting.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Laundry too many machines out of order; pathetic you can't do anything about iron stains; poor wifi; bathroom by our site (108) was beautiful
Jul 21, 2014
Great campground. Tons of activities for my 8&9 yo kids
Jul 21, 2014
We plan to come back....wonderful place to camp!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.