Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 10, 2017
with out a doubt Mount Rushmore KOA was the best campground we have ever stayed at. Friendly staff, beautiful grounds, all kinds of fun things to do. I highly recommend this campground if you are in going to Mount Rushmore . You won't be disappointed .
Jun 10, 2017
Jun 10, 2017
The only complaint is the Wi-Fi and cell reception was terrible... but we were in the valley of a mountain range, so it makes sense. Friendly staff and amazing amenities. Will go again!
Jun 10, 2017
I work all the time, everywhere I go and internet (wifi) is a must for me. Very disappointed and surprised that a KOA this day in age didn't have it!
Jun 10, 2017
Wonderful place! My grandson enjoyed the giant jumping pillow, pools, water slide--everything! We especially enjoyed the trail ride on the horses with our awesome guide, Sammie!
Jun 10, 2017
No internet!!! No T.V.!!! For the price we paid not at all impressed. Was suppose to stay 3 nights stayed 1, spent other 2 nights at Custer KOA, much better, with internet and tv.
Jun 10, 2017
Lots to do the kids loved it and we were able to extend our stay an extra day. Close to Mount Rushmore.
Jun 10, 2017
Best KOA ever. Awesome location, friendly staff, very clean, and beautiful view.
Jun 10, 2017
Great time with plenty of things for the kids to do!!
Jun 10, 2017
This is our second year staying at this KOA. And we will return again.
Jun 10, 2017
It is basically set up for kids. However having trouble walking it was to large most everything was a half mile or so away. With such a large site they did not have suitable WiFi access. So was unable to call, text, or email family that we were there and OK.
Jun 10, 2017
We experienced brown and stinky water at our hook-up - not drinkable. Used the water for showers and dishes and still got sick. Too many families at this campground not to comment. Authorities should test the water for safety issues. We were in upper camp ground area site 569.
Jun 10, 2017
We took a long walk around the camp ground. It was like a well run city with lots of happy people in a beautiful setting.
Jun 09, 2017
We had a fabulous time. Very clean and the staff were very professional.
Jun 09, 2017
A good place to camp.Poor t.v.reception. Kind of hard to get around on foot for the eldrly. quite expensive. over all its clean and friendly,
Jun 09, 2017
The staff was great, great activities for kids. Lack of communication was the downside. When you are there with your great grandchildren, you need to have the ability for them to contact their moms and dads. You also need the ability for someone from home to be able to contact you for an emergency at home. Understand the cost for wifi in a campground that large, but could have a tower for cell
Jun 09, 2017
Thought they had more water slides for adults, the people were helpful and really nice, first time in a Koa and it was a good experience....we had to leave early do to health reasons but we want to come back
Jun 09, 2017
First site directed to was totally inadequate. It seemed to take a long time to get reassigned.
Jun 09, 2017
Was very loud with a lot of traffic near the fun zone. Beautiful setting.
Jun 09, 2017
We loved the resort, but was disappointed that there was no internet service the entire week we were there.
Jun 09, 2017
Great facility however it is challenging to pull a 5th wheel there so I definitely don't recommend it for just one night. My only gripe no wifi really so made checking in with family impossible. Also, I went to get coffee one morning with my own coffee mug and was charged for a large when my mug was only 12 oz. When I said it wasn't 20 oz the reply was "we have no way of knowing". Ridiculous
Jun 09, 2017
Jun 09, 2017
Beautiful camp ground, but sites are not very level and not enough showers/bathrooms for all the camp sites!! Very disappointing!
Jun 08, 2017
Lots of stuff for kids to do Horseback riding Basketball/volleyball Playground Mini Golf Bounce House Bikes Ice cream Restaurants It's a vacation in a vacation
Jun 08, 2017
We had a great time!
Jun 08, 2017
No wifi, no cell service.
Jun 08, 2017
Great location to stay when visiting Rushmore and Crazy Horse. We had a pull thru in the pines section which is hilly but has great tree cover unlike the pasture area where rigs are just packed in. Great kids activities. No wifi, a little disappointing but not the end of the world. A little muddy after the rain so more gravel would be nice on the access roads and camp sites.
Jun 08, 2017
The staff went out of their way to help us when we had a mechanical problem with our MH. They allowed us to use the phone because of the limited cell service there. The manager was going to work with us if we had to leave the MH there in an over flow area for repairs. Luckily the problem corrected itself and we were able to continue on home. The staff there are great.
Jun 08, 2017
By far the best KOA we have visited!
Jun 08, 2017
it was very delightful and an awesome place to stay!!!
Jun 08, 2017
OVERPRICED. Good if you have kids that need to be entertained. No cell service. Essentially no wifi.
Jun 08, 2017
Lots of activities. Close to Mt. Rushmore, very convenient.
Jun 07, 2017
Beautiful, clean campground. Helpful friendly staff. Bathrooms were exceptionally clean and very nice showers.
Jun 07, 2017
The only problem was the wifi. It was terrible made it difficult to plan out our trip. The setting was gorgeous the activities were great. We were disappointed the pool by us was not available the day we were leaving they were filling.
Jun 07, 2017
Staff great, kids loved but sewer connection on high ground compared to camping pad & caused problems
Jun 07, 2017
Very clean. Super nice and very helpful employees. Would definitely stay again.
Jun 07, 2017
I thought the campground had many fun amenities especially for children. The employees were kind and accommodating. However. I didn't like how difficult it was to contact the main office with questions and the WiFi service was extremely poor, like no service unless you were standing in a particular place on the grounds which I never could find!
Jun 07, 2017
We loved that the campground was centrally located to all the places we wanted to see. And we also loved all the fun things to do right there in the campground!
Jun 07, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. Would like it if the lawn mowing wouldn't happen on Sundays. Peace and quiet for one would be preferred. Also some dust proofing would be appreciated, cause there's to many people who don't adhere to the speed limit.
Jun 07, 2017
Good except not enough wi-fi
Jun 07, 2017
Got there late workers were not to friendly
Jun 06, 2017
Loved our site it was very private. Lots of fun things for our niece and nephews to enjoy and it was a great venue for our Walker Family Reunion!
Jun 06, 2017
We loved the resort. We were there just before Memorial Day so it was not in full operation yet, but the large campground had lots of room for walking around. It had great facilities! The only issue was lack of any real Internet access.
Jun 06, 2017
Our family had a great stay! There are lots of fun activities for the whole family in a beautiful setting. Two things that could be improved would be better wifi and better recycling by adding plastic, glass, and paper options.
Jun 06, 2017
Wonderful location for visiting monuments and a great facility
Jun 06, 2017
Loved the place . There was so much to do we didnt even leave . We even extended our stay 2 extra days . The staff was EXCELLENT !!! I will most definitely come back
Jun 06, 2017
Everything and everyone was great, except the woman at the Pancake Tent who told us that my wife could not bring her protein powder into the tent. She cited SD health code stating that nothing could be brought into the tent area. How ridiculous! We were asking her to allow my wife to eat breakfast with her family. If we had an infant with a bottle or baby food would we also be told to leave?
Jun 06, 2017
Beautiful park with extremely clean restrooms/showers. So much for the kids to do they hardly wanted to leave to go see Mt Rushmore. Would highly recommend this to anyone traveling to the Black Hills area.
Jun 06, 2017
One pool was down our whole stay. It opened up the day we were leaving. Had to drive our vehicle up to the other pool since we were camped by the other pool. Also you need more golf carts to rent.
Jun 06, 2017
WOW where do I start. Traveled nearly 7,000 miles this trip and by far this is the nicest KOA we have ever stayed at. There's everything to do you can want. Me and the wife added this area to our MUST return list.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals