Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 14, 2014
The campgrounds and staff are great. the showers however are in desperate need of repair they are disgusting
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
We enjoyed it, though many of the sites were extremely small and did not provide much room for tenting. We were told our site would hold 2 tents-but it was waytoo small- luckily they had an alternate site they willingly gave us, had they not, we would have had an awful time. Also, they should be careful about draining- we were at the bottom of a water drain runoff, we floated on water when it rain
Jul 14, 2014
I have stayed several times over the years and have recommended to others. This experience was not what it had been in the past for the following reasons: Facilities were dirty at all times of the day except immediately following cleaning. Noisy! Campers were noisy and there were vehicles coming and going at all times of the night. Ability to connect to technology needs improvement. Staff friendly
Jul 14, 2014
Great for families, as a mature couple we felt jammed in because of the closeness neighbors front and back, grass was uncut, and we had to clean up a large dog droppings at our site while setting up, we were disappointed with Ponderosa. We did enjoy the location, thr presidents wax museum and putt putt golf
Jul 14, 2014
We had a great time, lots to do there. We also want to thank you for finding us a site when our reservation was a little mixed up, on the size of the site. You put in the effort to find us one that would work,and we loved it.
Jul 14, 2014
Had so much fun! The staff is awesome! Had so much to do that it was hard to leave for the day to be tourists!
Jul 14, 2014
It is great to see a business in our area continue to invest and improve in its establishment like Palmer Gulch does. Every year we stay, there is something new and improved. Thank you.
Jul 14, 2014
A ledge inside the shower for your shampoo/soap would be better. Cleaner swimming pool water would be better. Overall it was awesome! Thanks for the memories.
Jul 14, 2014
Best Campground EVER!!! So many things for my daughter to do just at the campground! Excellent staff, food, scenery and activities. Will definitely be returning!
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
You advertised WiFi NOT HAPPY.Talked to Lots of Campers about it NOT Happy This is Our Home away from HOME.This is how we keep in touch with Family who are far away.We found out after supper Wednesday July 9 that we had a family emergency could have left sooner but because of your WiFi we had to leave Thursday morning.All the campers we talked to were upset.pool & hottub could be cleaner
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Great family place would loved to have stayed another 3 days. Quiet time should be enforced for 4 wheelers. Greaat restrooms
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
some or rest rooms need some help or update
Jul 13, 2014
Kids had non stop fun and entertainment. Made it easy on us.
Jul 13, 2014
Our second stay, lovely grounds, great activities & amenities, but Internet simply doesn't work, even in the café it was spotty. Unable to connect with wireless device. Complained and was told sorry nothing we can do, been trying to fix for 5 years. Other campers constantly walking through our site, 1 of 5 sinks had soap in the dispenser for duration of stay. Unacceptable for the rate charged.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
There were too many unaccompanied children in the miniature golf area. One child riding electric toy riding on the golf ramps; one child of 5 joined our family when playing. A KOA rep should be placed outside. The pool at the bottom of the water slide looked like a mud pit ; should have something at the top of the slide for the kids to wash their feet in before going down the slide.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Nice, clean place but cold showers.
Jul 13, 2014
Grouchy morning rental desk help and two of the young employees enjoy taking the single reclining rental bikes and repeatedly crashing head-on into one another. The campsite is beautiful and there are lots of things to keep children entertained.
Jul 13, 2014
This was our 6th summer vacation spent at the Mount Rushmore Koa and won't be our last. Great new additions, especially the rock wall!
Jul 13, 2014
Nice campground
Jul 13, 2014
Je n'apprécie pas du tout d'avoir à payer un supplément de 10$ obligatoire en plus du tarif déjà très élevé pour y séjourner. Ce supplément sert ,à ce que l'on m'a dit ,à payer pour les infrastructures récréatives installées pour les enfants...que je n'ai évidemment pas utilisé.
Jul 13, 2014
The only complaint I have is site 557 really isnt big enough to have a pop up camper and utilize the camp fire. It also needs a bit of leveling. But overall it was great.
Jul 13, 2014
There was some issue with KOA not receiving the reservation we made. The staff went out of their way to squeeze us in to a spot. The Manager was excellent and should be commended for his customer service.
Jul 13, 2014
Staff was friendly!
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
My only disappointment was the wi fi connection. Even at the store where it is advertised to work. Part of the reason we stayed there was the wi fi as I had to work some.....and then was unable to do so. Don't advertise wi fi when you have such a poor connection.
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
there was so much to do at this site. the location is great also
Jul 12, 2014
The events for kids are awesome. The shower i used had a cracked floor pan and smelled of sewer. But overall we had a great time. You could add some zip lines in the campground.
Jul 12, 2014
Nice clean campground. Friendly staff, just don't plan on WiFi even though it states you get it. Even had trouble at the "hot spots".
Jul 12, 2014
Pool looked green but hopefully from iron only. Bathrooms needed more attention during the day more then once. Needed to mow sites more often. Great location to touring sites quick and easy wood cost a lot and was little wet hard to start fire. Fun but busy place lots to do with kids
Jul 12, 2014
Shower houses were filthy. Staff was rude except for the parking guides. Pools were dirty and hot tubs did not work. My wife forgot her shampoo in showers, asked the front desk if clean up found it. She rolled her eyes and said " some camper probably already stoled it!" Wife recovered shampoo from cleaning lady days later by herself. Will never stay at a KOA again, almost ruined our vacation
Jul 12, 2014
This was our first time ever camping and it could not have been better. We had a great RV site (243) on the creek. There is so much for kids to do here. My 8 and 10 year old boys rode their bikes everywhere and had a blast. Everything is very clean and well-maintained. We would definitely come back.
Jul 12, 2014
Lack of usable WiFi and muddy pool water lowered your score. Otherwise nice campground
Jul 12, 2014
I can't describe how much my kids loved their stay. This campground was family friendly and full of amenities. The staff was helpful and accommodating. We worked to secure a rental vehicle with Linda Lacerda. As a seasoned RVer she and her husband were able to provide valuable insight as to our next stop, the KOA in Cody. Without a doubt we will plan to stay longer next time. Thanks again!
Jul 11, 2014
We had a great time..there was so much to do for the kids. We will definitely be going there again!
Jul 11, 2014
The only issue I had was the beds in the loft were not comfortable. They sunk in the middle and not very comfortable. The kids had a blast and there were lots of things to do and the rooms and everything were very clean.
Jul 11, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. Kids had a lot to do. It was busy over the 4th, but not as bad as I thought it would be. Loved our site (#598). Away from everything & looking out over a beautiful hillside of trees.
Jul 11, 2014
We loved our stay for the most part, Very friendly initial greeting. Our last night in our tent they put a humongous RV bus thing next to us that kept us up all night. We had asked if they could move the people but told us no, We could move but they wouldn't & told it's we could move our tent & all the gear we had set up for the last three days. Just felt like 2nd class citizen in a tent.
Jul 11, 2014
Many fun activities for the family. Attractive, clean park. Rental bikes in need of repair, but great fun when finally given a bike that worked.
Jul 11, 2014
My family had a great time enjoying not only the local attractions but the wonderful activities the camp provides also.
Jul 11, 2014
Everyone was very helpful and accommodating! The site was beautiful, we enjoyed horseback riding, and the food from the pub was delicious! The pancake breakfast was a huge hit with the family too! We had a great time and would recommend your KOA to friends and family.
Jul 11, 2014
Right from the start other campers introduced themselves, the staff was extremely helpful. At night it is QUIET during quiet hours. We enjoyed the pool, waterslide, mini golf and pancake breakfast! It was close to Mt Rushmore, Custer Park and Hill City. Would definitely go back!
Jul 10, 2014
Place was a blast - wish we could've stayed longer. There was some trash and left over food on the grill upon arrival but otherwise great!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.