Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Jul 27, 2013
Wow, this is a big campground with lots to do with the kids, very close to Mount Rushmore. The bar/grill is very good. Sites could be marked clearer as we had trouble finding our site as well as some of the campers that came in after dark. Overall this is a great campground.
Jul 27, 2013
Wow, huge KOA. Lots going on and plenty to do...Super crowded but well run. The smell at the food shack was about the only poor thing, besides the crowds, but hey it's Mt. Rushmore....
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Campground is well kept and in a beautiful location. The majority of the staff was nice, Price to value however is questionable, local convenience stores were cheaper than purchases within the campground. The convenience of having stores at the campground is nice but really $2.59 for disposable salt and pepper? and 9.99 for a small can of off? all in the trip was worth the money spent
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Perfect for our family, especially for the kids! Thank you!!!!
Jul 26, 2013
All amenities were top notch. Our site located on Palmer Rd (main access road to most sites) was very noisy and busy. I was concerned for safety as most vehicles were driving waaay over 10 mph.
Jul 26, 2013
Far too many units for the space and infrastructure. Our site was on a side hill and our door opened on to a two foot "grass" area but then dropped about 3 feet to the road...note safe. One pool non-functional and causing the other to be over crowded. The pizza/ice cream shop workers were not wearing hair nets nor gloves. Flies were all over the preparation area, the soft-serve spout, etc.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Excellent customer service from every one that I had contact with.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Water in the pool/slide yellow and opaque, and in my 'deluxe' site it was bad as well.Some staff were extremely rude and in attentive. We will not be staying at this KOA again.
Jul 25, 2013
Great place to stay with my family. Close to everything we came to do and see! The only semi-negative comment would be about the showers. They were moldy and mildewy. A new shower curtain every month would help :)
Jul 25, 2013
Had great time. Great central location. Very clean, nice location tons of things to do.
Jul 25, 2013
The entire family luv's it there,,,thanks, Scott
Jul 25, 2013
havent been there in a long time but its always been great to see more and neat things,we always like to stay at the koas
Jul 25, 2013
My wife and I stayed at Mt Rushmore in May, 2013. Even though they were just starting to get ready for the summer crowd, we fell in love with the campgrounds. We met Norman, who is the pool/hot tub manager. His friendly attitude and banter convinced us to bring our grown children and grandchildren for our first family vacation in 15 years. Now they are planning how and when to come back next year!
Jul 25, 2013
While the staff was friendly and helpful, for us the population just made our stay hectic and uncomfortable. We also were in a technology blackout and found that to be difficult as we do not participate in the types of activities avaiable for the 20 somethings and nothing for the 60 somethings. Just to big for us.
Jul 25, 2013
The pool had a very suspicious color. Did it need to be cleaned? The pool and the water slide. I loved all the free activities for the kids. We had lots of fun.
Jul 25, 2013
Awfully crowded to be called camping but staff did nice job. Only problem was that people were allowed to leave dogs in 2 cabin near us that barked all day long locked in cabin alone while owners were touring or something
Jul 25, 2013
We stay at KOA's all the time and have come to expect a certain standard. As an adult, the smoke that stays in the valley was overwhelming. We had to stay in our unit from 4:00 p.m. on with the windows and doors all closed and the air running. You need more washrooms and showers. They were dirty or occupied most of the time. I ran into a woman 800 miles away who felt the same.
Jul 25, 2013
Definitely not your typical KOA -- this is a RESORT. Lots to do for kids, 2 pools, restaurant, etc --- a little pricey but lots included so for families, a good value.
Jul 24, 2013
It's nice that there were so many activities to do! The kids loved the all you can eat pancakes. Also really liked the proximity of the campground to Mount Rushmore. The gift store was fantastic as was the wine tasting.
Jul 24, 2013
1. over charged that I had to investigate on my own. 2. Moved our reservation site without telling us. Apparently you need to pay more to guarantee your site 3. Dirty -pools and showers 4. Employees not friendly. I will never stay at a KOA again.
Jul 24, 2013
It was a wonderful experience. My family and I loved every minute of it. When we were not exploring all SD had to offer, we could find an adventure right in the KOA. We could have spent our entire trip in just the KOA. We will be back!
Jul 24, 2013
one of the best campgrounds rv resorts we stayed at
Jul 24, 2013
This KOA has absolutely everything! We didn't want to leave.
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
WE WILL BE BACK!!!
Jul 24, 2013
The location is perfect; the added activities for family (mini-golf, horseback riding, paddle boats, onsite restaurant/bar etc...) are excellent. The bathrooms/showers were the dirtiest I have ever seen at a KOA. We had to work with the staff two times to get campsites rearranged as what was discussed on the phone months ago. To the Staffs credit, they resolved the issue and for that I thank you!
Jul 24, 2013
Unbelievable! Best campground we have ever stayed at. It is huge and has so many things for the family to do. Wished we had known and we would have planned to stay longer than one night!
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
no cell service internet service poor
Jul 24, 2013
Our stay was great! The activities were awesome for the kids. When one of our beds broke and we had to rent a cabin, I thought the price was a little too high, but couldn't get around that. All in all, our stay was great.
Jul 24, 2013
Great place if you have kids. Staff was very helpful. We appreciated renting a car on site.
Jul 24, 2013
This is an awesome family friendly place to stay. We actually extended our stay because we enjoyed it so much. Highly recommended.
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
Deluxe site means a gravel spot with a broken up concrete patio, table and 4 chairs. Wifi was poor and we were close to the office. Cell service ... non existent. My adult kids and families stayed in the Lodge. A Motel 6 at 3x the price. One room smelled like toilet overflowed onto carpet and they just soaked it in Fabreze. If you like 100 campers burning smoky fires ... you'll love it.
Jul 23, 2013
After our reservation was messed up, I did appreciate the discount I was given to make up for it. We eventually were able to move to our original site, just inconvenient to have to move. One complaint I do have is the lack of wifi service. We found it very slow and werent always able to connect.
Jul 23, 2013
Great amenities. Bathrooms were inadequate for the number of campers and were dirty. Do not like their policy of excluding dogs by breed. Won't be back.
Jul 23, 2013
Green pools, brown water in waterslide, 10mph speed limit was a laugh. I nick-named my campsite "A river runs through it" because whent it rained my site flooded! Barking dogs at other sites never stopped barking. I will never return and even left early.
Jul 23, 2013
So convenient to Mt Rushmore and the facilities were very nice and clean. Our site was also pretty well wooded. What a nice surprise.
Jul 23, 2013
Everything was great. Activities for kids was awesome. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only problem was the internet connectivity was not very good. Thank you
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
loved the campground and all the stuff you have to offer. the only downside was the lack of cell service and wi-fi. we had some things we had to take care of while we were on vacation and had a hard time doing this at this campground! absolutly loved everything else!!!!
Jul 23, 2013
first of all we did have a GREAT stay... your location was EXCELLENT and what wonderful activities for the kids. Here comes the BUT...but the hot tub was green and I was a bit disappointed by the campsite itself. The pad was not level, and the bathrooms were a bit GROSS. For the price we paid I was expecting a bit better. Thanks MBDuray
Jul 23, 2013
we liked the camp ground and how many activities they have for families. The only disappointment for us was that when I registered on line I thought I was getting a premium spot but it was not and for the price I felt I should have received a better camp spot.
Jul 23, 2013
So many things for the kids to do. Very nice facilities. Made our vacation very memorable.
Jul 23, 2013
Enjoyed out stay, so many activities for the kids. Decided as a goup we will be doing this at least once every summer! Was a sloppy mud mess due to weather n rain. Shower houses could be cleaner :( For those we over heard the yellowish of the pools, that is due to the iron in the water folks, they pump from an underground cavern. Would recommend to others!:)

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.