Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 21, 2015
wish we stayed longer to enjoy all your camp had to offer. we will return.
Jul 21, 2015
Disagreeable staff, except the concier who really helped us obtain reservations at KOAs for our next two stops. Site was too small for our rig and badly eroded from the recent rain.
Jul 21, 2015
We were there five days and had a great time! We started out with campsite 601 which was fine for my husband and I, but we were concerned because it was steep and our grandkids were coming. We asked to move and Danelle worked and worked and succeeded in getting us a better spot! God bless her! Also, we love the Sunday service. (Miss the paddle boats though.)
Jul 21, 2015
THis was our 4th Trip and We were quite disappointed, we were moved to a location that was up a steep hill. We had our 4 month old and 3 year old grandsons that had to be toted up and down this big hill. The 3 year old fell going down it and injured his knee due to the steep incline. I was told when making reservations that we would be in 287 & 288, as I said we needed near the playground.
Jul 21, 2015
roads are in terrible condition lots of potholes, site was very poorly maintained, reported to staff who seemed too busy to care, poor customer service
Jul 20, 2015
Great experience. Liked the fact that kids were free. Everyone was very nice.
Jul 20, 2015
The Kids Zone was fantastic. We would have planned more time here if we had known. A fun destination for camping.
Jul 20, 2015
Everything was good except there their wi-fi was poor and the water in the water slide was green.
Jul 20, 2015
Great stat. Kids thoroughly enjoyed the campground. Thanks for the memories!!
Jul 20, 2015
We wish we could have stayed longer and taken advantage of the many opportunities at this resort.
Jul 20, 2015
This is a very large KOA, hundreds of people. The pools were very nice, showers as clean as can be expected, trail ride best we have ever done, food/price good. At night it smells like the forest is on fire with smoke wafting from every direction. Dont expect any help backing in at this resort! Probably wont stay there again, but it was fun for my tweens.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Tight spots, little shade were the only drawbacks. Beautiful restrooms and plenty of activities gave this place it's four star rating from me.
Jul 20, 2015
nice camp spots, nice amenities. Loved the pancake tent. Bathrooms and showers were dirty and in disrepair
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
We had our 2 grand-daughters with us for 5 days. Each day after we toured 2 or 3 adttractions we came back to our Rv. The girl couldn't wait to swim, bounce, ride their bike, climb the wall or play on the playground. Sometimes I think they enjoyed the activities at the campground more than the attractions of the Black Hills. We will definately bring them back
Jul 20, 2015
everything was great, many things for the kids to do. sidewalks around the fun zone next to the road would be VERY helpful. Pedestrians and motor coaches sharing the same space, very dangerous.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
We had a great stay at this KOA. Friendly staff, great location, so much for the kids to do, clean. The whole experience didn't disappoint. We had a great time!
Jul 20, 2015
Your laundry facilities need help and are expensive.
Jul 20, 2015
A lot of great activities for kids!! Wish Wi-Fi and phone service was a little better.
Jul 20, 2015
This place was complete chaos. Geared to small children. We camped here with an 18, 17 and 16 year old and there wasn't much for them to do. Also, they may claim they have free wifi, but we sure couldn't get any. Also, expect to be about 10 feet from another camper on both sides.
Jul 20, 2015
This was by far the biggest and "fanciest" KOA we stayed at on our big Out West adventure...the staff was friendly, courteous and proffesional...A+
Jul 20, 2015
Had a great stay. Have been going to your camp for the past 35 years, not every year. Would like to see better cell service, know this is not your problem. As both my wife and I are professinals who are on call it would be nice to be able to communicate while in camp and not have to go outside of the area. had a great trip and looking forward to coming back next year.
Jul 20, 2015
It would depend on what kind of stay they wanted.
Jul 20, 2015
We liked the campground and the activities it had to offer for the kids. At $72+ per night it got to be a bit high, beings we had our own camper, compared to getting a motel room, however we were ok doing this vs motel.
Jul 20, 2015
It was very noisy all day and night. Our camping spot was very wet and swampy.
Jul 20, 2015
Water slide looked sketchy/ water was science experiment. Bathroom/shower area could use deep clean, not just touch up. But your staff was AWESOME! Everyone was so nice and truly happy to help!
Jul 20, 2015
We had a great time and the campground was clean and had a lot of activities.
Jul 20, 2015
I was very dissatisfied with the site we were given. It was too short (back of Motorhome hanging over small stream) and nothing more than a "mud hole" with a 4 x 8 ft. sheet of plywood as our "front yard". We liked everything else about the park, especially the restaurant and the beautiful local scenery.
Jul 20, 2015
This is a awesome campground. One if the nicest places I've stayed.
Jul 20, 2015
Absolutely wonderful! Would recommend to all. Only two items were a tad bit disappointing the showers and the laundry. Both did not match the high caliber of the rest of the facilities and the great service of the staff. Thank you for a memorable time in South Dakota!
Jul 19, 2015
We enjoyed a fantastic visit at the Mount Rushmore KOA. The location is close to everything! Rent the UTVs! It's a ton of fun! My only gripe is the lack of decent WiFi. I know everyone says we are roughing it, but it's 2015! Having reliable connectivity would have made it easier to monitor the weather (we had severe weather), research nearby restaurants etc.
Jul 19, 2015
Fantastic! So close to all the attractions. Wonderfully helpful staff.
Jul 19, 2015
one of the best KOA campgrounds we have stayed at. Your assistant mgr Danielle Akey resolved a issue on a mix up on reservations done by call center with professionalism and speed. reat job.
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Loved it! So many activities for the kids! they had a ball. Loved the dance party at night for the kids, especially our 5 year old.
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Great place to stay. Everyone (staff) was nice
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Everything was great, only suggestion is to increase the wifi ability
Jul 19, 2015
A few friendly staff and a few not so friendly. No one seemed to have answers. Site was not level, didn't have enough blocks to get level. our fire pit was our neighbors bump. 5 feet in front of our door was the neighbors water and electric. Directly behind that was the open sewer. Camping site was awful, campground was ok, busy and packed but that was expected. Pick another campground, not here.
Jul 19, 2015
WIFI service was very poor to non existent. The constant stench from the horse stables was an unwelcome greeting.
Jul 19, 2015
Nice campground, but packed a little tight. Good activities for the kids, but know that there's no cell service and no working wifi (even though they claim to have it) so if you have to contact anyone or check your email you have to leave the grounds.
Jul 19, 2015
Beautifully maintained; nice to have transportation to Mt Rushmore; and the horseback riding tour was amazing!
Jul 19, 2015
BEST KOA EVER! They do charge a daily resort fee, but that means that just about everything there is included. The kampground is HUGE, has lots to do, including a restaurant and mini-mall area. We will definitely be back, as this is now our favorite KOA, and the one we are comparing all others to, which isn't fair, because it's the best!
Jul 19, 2015
Only stay for one night. Wish I can stay for more. I can stay at this campground for week. This is a resort and got lots of resort activities
Jul 19, 2015
What a great place for the kids! So many activities in the campground and amazing sights in the area.
Jul 19, 2015
We chose this campground for our son. The resort has many activities for children that will keep them occupied after a long day of sightseeing. The bathrooms were clean and showers were well maintained. The proximity to other campers is close and can be loud at times. Our biggest complaint was the road surface material which turned into a thick, slick mud after it rained.
Jul 19, 2015
It was too big and not very personal like the other KOAs we've been to before. Camp site was sloped and too close to neighbors. Bathroom was dirty and too far from oure site even though I asked for somewhere not too far because of little ones.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.