Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 03, 2014
Excellent facility! Family friendly, pancake breakfast was outstanding! So many ammenities for all ages, Staff was excellent! will diffently return one day! Perfect location to tour Mt. Rushmore!
Jun 02, 2014
Always enjoy your campground. This time bathrooms near our site were closed and pool was not open. Other wise good time.
Jun 02, 2014
The stay was outstanding we have never met so many professional staff. Will will definitely keep this as one of our most memorable stays at a KOA. There were so many activities that we did not have time to check everything out. Keep up the excellent work and we'll see you the next time.
Jun 01, 2014
Absolutely wonderful. The friendliest & most helpful staff we've ever dealt with.
Jun 01, 2014
Jun 01, 2014
Jun 01, 2014
when I called, asked for 50 amp, gave me 30. 3 times I came into the concierge telling them I had no cable, even brought a new cable from the store. On the 4th time complaining of no cable, they finally asked me which site I was on. When I told them, the young man stated that the cable doesn't work in that area! EXTREAMLY UNPROFESSIONAL!
May 31, 2014
Mike & his crew were wonderful! Will be back!
May 31, 2014
Our stay was so great that our kids have made us promise to return every year.
May 31, 2014
May 31, 2014
Terrible internet. Trees are lacking. Lots of things to do.. Price high for what you get. Won't stay again.
May 29, 2014
It was our first stay and we will be calling and booking the same campsite again for next year. The summer kids working the Fun Zone were awesome! Kasin and Kevin are the best! Our kids loved them as well! Thank you again! Happy Campers!
May 29, 2014
we have stayed at this campground many times this time was not so pleasant we had no bathroom or showers that were working they said they would be fixed nobody even attemped to work on them very disapointing
May 29, 2014
I've worked at a KOA years ago and understand their requirements for quality. I was dismayed at the locked-up M/W restroom/shower building and the outside small shower stalls. Peering through the windows the insides were trashed and the outside small shower stalls were dirty/filthy. The store was nice, however there could be better directions to the registration desk......
May 29, 2014
The only thing that 8 wish would have been up was the pools. On the site it said they were suppose to be up on the Saturday before. This was a great place to stay and when a 13 year old enjoyed it you guys are doing a great job. I have not yet got my refund for a day in my account yet.
May 29, 2014
We were very disappointed in our stay. My husband & I wanted to sit back & relax while the kids played in the pool - but the pools, hot tubs & slide were not open, everyday they told the kids it would be open tomorrow. we would not have spent the $ to stay there if we new the pools were not operational. We feel they should have told us when we made reservations.
May 29, 2014
We really enjoyed our time with the fine folks at the gulch. Great place to visit and we'll be back! We only wished the pools and hot tubs had been in working condition. We weren't told at check in and were looking forward to them.
May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
Very big and nice and is also great for family's.Great people working there.Thanks again
May 28, 2014
Lovely view, nice kids area, not enough bathrooms (none close to campsite) and they were very dirty or out of order.
May 28, 2014
My biggest problem was the fact that the pool was not open on Memorial Day due to filter problems. I understand things break, but it seemed after three days of staying at the campground that something should have been fixed. The pool was the main reason we booked at this KOA. I know it was opening weekend, but I thought pool problems could have been solved before Memorial Day Weekend.
May 28, 2014
Our stay was interesting in that a group took all the cable sites, campground is in a valley so antenna reception was poor, and no phone service. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This KOA is large and focused on kids and family.
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
Was staff for the AVC mega rally and stayed afterwards for 4 days. Nice campground. Didn't like all the kids riding bikes, etc. in streets and no one watching them. Some didn't care that cars, trucks, and rv's were there. Wish water had been flushed well before campground opened- had pale yellow tint and slight smell. Good location for sightseeing!
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
it was very good thank you
May 28, 2014
Very helpful and friendly staff. We had major car problems and they were very helpful as we worked it out. What made it 4 instead of 5 stars - bathrooms were a little run down and the cell/wifi reception was very spotty.
May 28, 2014
Fabulous campground, this is our second visit.
May 28, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Although I had a great time with family and friends for Memorial Day weekend. The KOA was very disappointing and did not meet my expectations from my last visits. We had a large group (six families with 20 kids) and both pools were down and the waterslide was not working. There are usually more activities for the families. The staff were not as available as usual.
May 27, 2014
Really looked forward to enjoying the pool but it was closed the entire weekend. Not very happy about that. Busiest weekend and no pool...also mini golf course was a wreck. I wouldn't normally complAin about trivial stuff like this, but when my 6 yr old complains there must be a problem. Also WiFi was not working. Again not a huge deal but storms rolled in and had no way to tell the wx.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
EXPECTED A LOT MORE FOR THE MONEY- REQUESTED SPOTS WITH COMPLETE HOOKUPS DID NOT GET SEWER- CLOSEST BATHROOMS WERE OUT OF ORDER THE NEXT CLOSEST BATHROOMS WERE ALSO OUT OF ORDER! NIGHTMARE EVERYTIME ONE OF THE 20+ IN OUR PARTY HAD TO WALK ACROSS PARK TO GO! WATERSLIDE WASN'T WORKING AND POOL WAS CLOSED- CAUSED US TO LOOK FOR MUCH MORE EXPENSIVE ALTERNATIVES. HAS POTENTIAL.........
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
The restaurant above the campground was over priced for the food...ordered a steak med rare got it med to well done. The bathroom was out of soap everyday and by the last day no toilet paper, to me there is no excuse for this since there is a cleaning crew daily. The pool was closed past labor day which the kids were upset about. There was stuff for them to there and it was a nice place
May 27, 2014
AMAZING,, almost wished my kids were still young..
May 26, 2014
Great place. Fun for all ages, plenty of activities to keep busy
May 26, 2014
We have. Ever been in a KoA with such a positive feeling. This one gives personal attention, a variety of campsites, cleanliness, and beauty of AreA. Very impressive !
May 26, 2014
very clean, friendly staff and organized!!
May 26, 2014
As the largest US KOA with tons of sites and activities it can be overwhelming. Very well maintained and on-site restaurant was very good. Brady, Supv at registration helped pick the perfect site for us. Being in a deadzone for phone & internet was a big deal for us. Probably too many people for us. if towing, DON'T go through keystone, steep and slow. follow KOA's directions thru High City.
May 26, 2014
I chose this KOA because it was only 5 miles from Mt. Rushmore.The property was clean and the staff was awesome. They have cheap rental cars on site allowing me to enjoy everything the town had to offer without having to drive the RV...including a memorable helicopter ride to see Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse.
May 25, 2014
Rest rooms were not ready when we arrived. Adventure Caravans program went well. As retirees, we would not spend $70 per night for facilities that have not use for us. You are great for families.
May 25, 2014
Large and very professional. No Wi-Fi at our site.
May 25, 2014
The staff was friendly and helpful. The campground was clean and in a great location. Would defiantly return
May 25, 2014
May 25, 2014
May 25, 2014
We were escorted t a muddy site, there were plenty that were not muddy, we went back to the office and were begrudingley relocated to a campsite that was better. A pretty park, but, the rates should be lower during the off season, no pool etc to use prior to Memorial Day. A nice setting though.
May 24, 2014
Absolute one of the best KOA, s in years. Only two issues, no cell phone service and wifi don't work at the sites. The campground has good resturant and activities.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.