Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 02, 2015
Fantastic! Did not have enough time to enjoy everything....have to return 😀 Thanks KOA!!
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 01, 2015
Great experience. Friendly staff, more than enough things to do for the kids, clean facilities, easy in and out for the RV.
Aug 01, 2015
It was just beautiful! Everyone was very helpful and very present! We want to come back soon!! Everything cernterally located. Perfect
Aug 01, 2015
this campground was excellent everything you would ever need to enjoy your vacation is right here. very very comfortable and enjoyable
Aug 01, 2015
Great place to stay. Very family friendly. But in today's world they should have cell phone and wifi service. Absolutely zero wifi and cell phone service. Otherwise a wonderful campground.
Aug 01, 2015
WONDERFUL!The Hail Storm added to our adventures in the Black Hills!
Aug 01, 2015
Great location, super kid friendly, will do it again. Staff and support personnel were great as well
Aug 01, 2015
Loved the campground. Staff very friendly.
Aug 01, 2015
Love the central location to so many attraction in the Black Hills, and the number of activities for the kids
Aug 01, 2015
Tent sites are cramped, site we were in there was a large SUV (KOA worker had a trailer parked in the vehicle spot) parked in the grass on our site, we were forced to put tents on the neighboring site.
Aug 01, 2015
Wow,just wow!
Jul 31, 2015
For a campground this size and during the busiest time, I would rate it about an 8. They definitely need more washers and dryers. The visitors did a good job with the 10 mph speed limit, but some of the young KOA workers drove too fast. The KOA did do an excellent job of repairing the roads after the hail/rain storm. I was impressed with that!
Jul 31, 2015
Great place. Great people. Unfortunately we couldn't stsy longer tonseize all tje attrations of this kamp
Jul 31, 2015
The campground was incredibly crowded and packed in,there is very little space between you and the next camper. The bathrooms are very limited and not easily accessible. We stayed up on the hill in the 500's and with my mom and her bad knee along with small kids we had to drive to the bathrooms each time, especially in the middle of the night. The WiFi NEVER worked even at the internet cafe.
Jul 31, 2015
All good, however the sewer is up hill? Tree over grown couldn't put out the awning. You have a lot of activity for the whole family really like that.
Jul 31, 2015
The scenery is beautiful and the amenities are plentiful but be warned it's a very busy campground. A lot of traffic coming and going. Our kids were a bit old to appreciate the fun zone. Perfect for young families.
Jul 31, 2015
If it rains, there are very few activities available for children. Unfortunately for my family, it rained.
Jul 31, 2015
Friendly, helpful staff! Our golf cart guide went out of his way to help us find a place to park our boat before taking us to our site. We loved the facility and activity options, but were only there for a quick overnight. Our only complaint was how crowded and close the sites were.
Jul 31, 2015
it was a great camp ground. Will be back.
Jul 31, 2015
This campground was a lot of fun, Our high maintenance boys, who always have to be doing somthing were never bored. Two pools, Basketball, ATV's and trails to ride them, Horse back riding, and a great playground for the youngsters, And your in one of the most beautiful places in America. Worth the trip.
Jul 31, 2015
Great place to camp. Just wish there was a little more grass at tent sites with electricity and also that the Wi-Fi would work.
Jul 31, 2015
It is the nicest KOA we have been to, and that is a lot of them. However, they should not advertise wifi. It only works about 5% of the time. There also is no cell service.
Jul 31, 2015
I would not stay here again. They do not tell you that there is no cell reception or WiFi. The campground is overpriced for 1 person with no children. Would not recommend to others.
Jul 31, 2015
The electric box did not include standard 110 volt wire cords and had to purchase two adaptor so that we could use our extension cords. The small site (507) was real nice with flowing brook on three sides. Restroom/showers-pool were close by. We would stay here again.
Jul 30, 2015
We had a wonderful time. Camp ground is very close to Mt Rushmore, Wind Cave National Park, and Custer State Park--all places we planned to visit. Highly recommend.
Jul 30, 2015
Very disappointed in tne change of spot when we got there. We had reserved the site we wanted (given a site number and everything), but when we got there we were given a different site that was farther away from the pool, jump pillow, etc which we wanted to be close to and that is why I called to reserve a site 5 months ahead of time. we were never told about the $10 fee to hold this site. third
Jul 30, 2015
Best KOA of our whole trip.
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
No paddle boats or kayaks which our kids wanted to do most of all. No TV service as tree branch brushing camper. No wifi. No phone service. No electricity one night so no air conditioning. Site on a hill so sloped. Jumpy house and climbing ended too soon. Water slide rules: one said anything goes another very strict. Not enough mats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jul 30, 2015
We have stayed at your Campground for many Summers and loved it. This stay July 25th through the 29th was very disappointing. We feel they are more concerned with how many people they can fit into the campground instead of the quality of the amenities they provide. The sites feel crowded and some of the bath houses are outdated and need to be redone. We are unsure if we will return to this KOA.
Jul 30, 2015
Great campground. Clean, nicely kept, friendly staff and a lot to do for the kids. They had a nice variety of activities and great little shops offering a wide variety of items. Couple issues. We had a 28ft 5th wheel and they placed us in a spot we were not able to fit. We were traveling with a group of three, so when they moved us we were not together. Solves shower issue promptly.
Jul 30, 2015
Our site was in an area with an spring so we had water all the time. All gravel sites but what was THE WORST no phone or TV reception! !!!!.
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
Bathrooms were to far from campsite. Horrible cell service with all carriers. No wifi! Even in supposed hotspot areas. I will not stay there again or recommend this location to anyone
Jul 30, 2015
Too much chaos
Jul 30, 2015
Sites very small and close together just barely long enough for my 24 ft mh. No cover on sewer connection, was fixed but should not have been an issue. People not sympathetic at all. Booked 4 days stayed 2. Will not be back!
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
Overall, we had a great time!
Jul 30, 2015
The amenities for our family were perfect. The kids loved the bouncing pillow, pool, water slide, and more. We, adults, appreciated the laundry and food available on-site. Only problem was we could never get WiFi, even in the buildings we were told it was best available in.
Jul 30, 2015
Accommodating,courteous staff. Facilities very clean. WiFi leaves a lot to be desired
Jul 30, 2015
Great place for families! So much for the kids to do. We loved it!
Jul 30, 2015
The area was beautiful there were loads of great things for kids to do we were going to spend two nights but left after one we had no wifi which we needed and we had no water pressure for our trailer my husband checked it wasn't our hose and there was no pressure in the faucet
Jul 29, 2015
Our stay was great. The staff was very nice to deal with and helpful.We had a pull thu site with plenty of room. We stayed for two weeks and loved the surrounding area. We stayed in a 40ft fifth wheel.Yes we would stay there again. I gave it a 4 star because of no cell service and bad wifi service. Other than that we loved our stay.
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
Everything was great! Friendly helpful staff, clean facilities, fun for all. The only thing I wish was different is this: We left on a Monday (tie dye day) and neither of the 2 people I asked at the store could figure out whether/how we could buy the shirts and tie dye at home. If that's the worst thing, it's still a success! Thanks for taking such good care of us!
Jul 29, 2015
too small
Jul 29, 2015
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals