Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 02, 2016
Amazing campground
Aug 02, 2016
I had a good time there, will come back in the future. Do have some friendly staff there. Helped me out with my camping spot.
Aug 02, 2016
unexpected stay, everything was good and a lot of facilities. Thank you
Aug 02, 2016
Great for families but way too expensive for traveling retirees. Amenities we don't want or need. Won't use KOA if anyway possible in the future!
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Very friendly people..posted storm warnings. Allowed us extra time for check out due to vehicle damage from hitting animal on I90 on wayour in.
Aug 01, 2016
Everything here was exactly what we thought it would be and more. The kids loved it too. Our only regret is not staying in this location longer.
Aug 01, 2016
only thing... no cell service and wifi was little or none.. made it difficult to keep in touch with kids
Aug 01, 2016
Aug 01, 2016
Awesome place to stay especially if you have children.
Aug 01, 2016
Aug 01, 2016
Enjoyed our stay! Great people, location, and many fun activities to do whether you are staying at the campground or seeing the sites!
Aug 01, 2016
We were happy with the ease of getting in and parked on our site. The amenities and park features for kids was great. We will stay again but we were unhappy with the brown water through the faucets. Also the phones were so backed up we spent 25 minutes calling to get through. The lack of wifi made searching for ideas in the camper difficult but is also nice to see kids walking without cell phones.
Aug 01, 2016
Campsite area was small but otherwise very great resort
Aug 01, 2016
Showers could use more attention, other wise great place we would go back
Aug 01, 2016
We love staying at this KOA😊
Aug 01, 2016
Staff was great. Campground was great but a little too crowded. The only issue I had was the random employees walking through the middle of my campsite on the way to there employee quarters.
Aug 01, 2016
Great amenities, but too many things cost extra. The comfort stations were beautiful, but were always dirty due to the amount of rain we received during our stay. They just should have been cleaned more often during muddy times.
Aug 01, 2016
False advertising by KOA by stating they have WIFI. When I asked the manager how I could get access he stated you probably won't! I asked why he said they only allow 250 devices are allowed access and they have ~500 campsite. Also there is no cell service to provide your own wifi access. KOA is falsely advertising!!!
Aug 01, 2016
WE WERE ONLY THERE ONE NIGHT, HUGE PROPERTY WITH LOTS TO DO- HAD JUST RAINED AND WAS REALLY MUDDY BUT DRAINED OFF NICE...WOULD LIKE TO GO BACK AND STAY LONGER. WE WERE IN A CLASS A MOTORHOME
Aug 01, 2016
A big place, nice amenities, through the shower house needed more cleaning. Be aware that in spite of their claims, there is no Wi-Fi or cell service there. They could also use so more gravel in their campsites so they don't turn into mud holes when it rains!
Aug 01, 2016
This was, by far, our favorite campground on our Rushmore trip. As an IT administrator, by trade, I would have appreciated better/working Wi-Fi. It's within an hour of everything we wanted to do and had plenty to offer, when we didn't want to go out. The sites were a bit cramped, but otherwise a fantastic site. We would definitely recommend to others.
Aug 01, 2016
Filty bathrooms and campsite covered with dog poop. Had to park on hill.Not sewer hookup even at 89 a night People gave 11 refund for our unhappiness Just wanted clean.
Aug 01, 2016
Loved it! Beautiful location in the Black Hills! After a day of sightseeing it was nice to come back and unwind, enjoy the scenery, have some ice cream, so much to do right there. Definitely coming back and bring the grandkids!!!
Aug 01, 2016
Was a great time with my family, lots of activities for children. only down side the wait for pancakes took about an hour to get in.
Aug 01, 2016
We love this place!!!
Aug 01, 2016
Great staff, tons of amenities for all ages. Had an amazing time with the family.
Aug 01, 2016
Campsites are packed ridiculously close together. Showers and bathrooms were filthy. Way too many people, it was like camping downtown. Not my favorite KOA by any means.
Aug 01, 2016
This place is fantastic!!! My family loved everything about this campground. There is so much to do. The only thing that I did not care for is the wifi we happened to be there when it was rain on and off and it was impossible to plan ahead due to the fact that the wifi was terrible and we could not get radar on our phones. Clean, staff so friendly and helpful. Location excellent!
Aug 01, 2016
Bathroom and shower facilities were small and dirty constantly.
Aug 01, 2016
GREAT resort- would recommend it to ANY camper!
Aug 01, 2016
Very friendly staff, beautiful campgrounds, very clean. Arriving late wasn't an issue, someone was there to take us to our site which we really appreciated.
Aug 01, 2016
This was an amazing facility with every amenity we could have asked for. Location was great. DO NOT expect to be able to communicate with the outside world. Verizon and most other carriers do not cover the area. AT&T has very weak 3g coverage (T-mobile can use it too) but the connection drops out constantly. Campground wi-fi is a single satellite connection for all guests so DO NOT plan to use it.
Aug 01, 2016
Fun great people
Aug 01, 2016
Was clean and people were helpful. Very busy and hard to call anyone for help - hold lines were 30 min plus
Aug 01, 2016
Excellent
Aug 01, 2016
False advertising by KOA by stating they have WIFI. When I asked the manager how I could get access he stated you probably won't! I asked why he said they only allow 250 devices are allowed access and they have ~500 campsite. Also there is no cell service to provide your own wifi access. KOA is falsely advertising!!!
Aug 01, 2016
This KOA is fantastic for families. This is our fifth time back and we will return again. From horseback riding to a restaurant and an ice-cream shop plus a water-slide to a rock climbing wall, there is something for everyone. The Wifi is non-existent but bathrooms/showers are exceptional and service is great.
Aug 01, 2016
This KOA is so kid friendly. Little ones always have something fun to do. From swimming to the big jumping pad to out door MOVIES!! My boys by love mini Golf!!! There are also Adult activities scheduled during the evening when the kids have an activity for them to attend! Awesome
Aug 01, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
Was here for a family reunion. No way of communicating with others as well we're spread so apart.
Jul 31, 2016
Great facility! The kids had a great time and the fire pit area in each site was awesome! Plus the accommodated us by putting us next to our travel buddies! Perfect stay!
Jul 31, 2016
Concrete patio was cracked and standing water after rain events, better drainage in some locations needed.
Jul 31, 2016
Biggest KOA we stayed at on our USA tour. Just to many people crowded together for our taste. Never used the pools (kids). Laundry was the best of all our KOA's.
Jul 31, 2016
We had a wonderful time! My kids loved all the amenities, swimming, water slide, bikes, rock climbing, gem mining, ice cream at Turtle Town, horseback riding. There were endless possibilities of things to do. The scenery was beautiful too!
Jul 31, 2016
Everything was nice about the campground except the showers. Quite possibly the dirtiest, most disgusting showers we have ever had. Every door we opened was more disgusting than the next, i.e.. Bloody towels laying on the floor. Staff was fine. The pool, water slide and mini golf all nice.
Jul 31, 2016
Nice friendly place to stay. You can go and do your sight seeing and come back an relax in hot tub,pool. Has something for everyone young and old.
Jul 31, 2016
Campground is great, however they along with other KOA sites have a tendency to mess up reservations and do nothing to accomadate. The Ponderosa Restaurant at this site is a joke at best... ask for a grilled cheese and you will see :)
Jul 31, 2016
Solid Internet connection is needed and should be available for the cost of the sites.
Jul 31, 2016
Plenty of amenities. Pretty tight quarters for some campers. We had a fairly large sight with 3 big holes to either fill with water in the rain or twist an ankle while walking. The bathrooms and showers were not very well kept. Stall doors were grungy and no one cleaned around the backside of the faucets. It was busy enough that the bathrooms/showers needed complete cleaning more than once a day.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy