Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 30, 2016
Great views!
Aug 29, 2016
The site was extremely small. Over crowded with kids all around. The Ponderosa food was horrible. Burger was burnt
Aug 29, 2016
We had a great stay at Palmer Gulch! Our kids age 2-5 had a blast, they loved the breakfast tent, mining for gold station and the jump pad.
Aug 29, 2016
Nice campground as far as location to MtRushmore . We liked that our campsite was located in a wooded area with fantastic views of Mt. Harney. Issues are campground is too big with not enough clean bathrooms
Aug 29, 2016
Aug 29, 2016
A beautiful campground. Some how got put in a spot that fit our camper but no room for the truck.
Aug 29, 2016
Excellent KOA-great staff! 2 suggestions: 1. Do NOT start playing music in the kids area until 10 AM--even if one is awake, hearing classic pop at 8 AM is just not a good thing. There is no value in starting the music at 8 AM..wait until much later. 2. Do NOT advertise having wifi when you really don't have a functioning system. The wifi is very, very poor..
Aug 29, 2016
Aug 29, 2016
Facilities and amenities are awesome. My dogs did bark and they talked to me. They were plenty and did it professionally. Great job.
Aug 29, 2016
Was a nice, clean campground. Advertised having wifi, but did not. High price.
Aug 29, 2016
Aug 29, 2016
Our kids just loved this resort, and so did we. We plan to make this a yearly destination!
Aug 29, 2016
Aug 29, 2016
Aug 29, 2016
This rv parks is very clean and has plenty of things to do and enjoy. The staff was very helpful I would recommend a stay here.
Aug 29, 2016
We have so much fun every time we go! This campground is the destination for us. Keystone and hill city are just a bonus!
Aug 29, 2016
Very nice facility with lots of activities for the kids. Some of the activities are expensive. We really liked our particular site. Very poor cell and wifi reception. Will stay again soon!
Aug 29, 2016
Bummed you can't get WiFi on your site and NO Tv reception at all.....but otherwise nice
Aug 29, 2016
Beautiful campground, lots of things to do, great Ambassadors, very friendly and helpful.
Aug 29, 2016
Aug 28, 2016
We had a great time. Close to everything in the area.
Aug 28, 2016
We had a wonderful stay! The staff was great and we loved our site. One recommendation would be ventilation in the showers on the flats closest to the fun zone.
Aug 28, 2016
Easy check in, and a nice stay. Thank you.
Aug 28, 2016
The campground has a lot to offer for families with children but not a whole lot for senior citizens to do. Especially for those with disabilities. Also more trees would be better in and around the campsites. Right now it gives the appearance of a mobile home park.
Aug 28, 2016
Aug 28, 2016
Outstanding campground many amenities and great staff a excellent place to camp and I wished I had more time to stay
Aug 28, 2016
Works can't truly express how great this campground is. It is very large and has so many activities for the kids. Horseback riding is a must (Extra Charge). Would love to stay here again.
Aug 28, 2016
Aug 28, 2016
A nice clean campground, but I would have liked more of a camping experience and less of a resort experience. The constant music blaring from where the kids played was a big distraction and ruined the beautiful mountain sounds like the stream running, birds singing, and so forth. For kids, this would be a great campground, for older adults, not so much.
Aug 28, 2016
amazing place and great tour!!!
Aug 28, 2016
We loved it here!! Lots of things for the kids to do. Nice showers.The grounds were well maintained. The flowers were beautiful. I would recommend this KOA to everyone!
Aug 28, 2016
Aug 27, 2016
Very good services, plenty of things for kids to do, very clean...enjoyed our stay
Aug 27, 2016
Very nice place. Great for kids. Close to everything. Could of had better Catv.
Aug 27, 2016
This is an amazing KOA, large with tons of activities. Just too busy for us, even at the end of the season. We prefer smaller resorts, but it was nice to try.
Aug 27, 2016
If there are children involved then great place to stay. Our only complaint is that we paid $80 for the 8 nights we stayed for an entertainment fee which we never used. Also, WIFI wasn't available at our campsite whereas other campgrounds have WIFI at the site.
Aug 27, 2016
The place is great, only negative things is that the sites are right on top of eachother. I know they want to have asome much room as possible, but it makes the stay less enjoyable. We did meet some new people though!
Aug 26, 2016
Aug 26, 2016
We were thrilled with the establishment & all it offered but even more that we got to attend their rodeo.
Aug 26, 2016
My wife and I have stayed at this campground two times in the past few years. We really enjoy it and will be back. The staff and grounds crew get a kudos from us always friendly and very well maintained. Keep up the great work!
Aug 26, 2016
Too small of site the neighbor camp fire was right by my camper. Other than that I was happy with my stay
Aug 26, 2016
A great family campground with numerous activities for the family! Campground is clean and very friendly staff. camoground is conveniently located to all things you wanna do/see in the black hills!
Aug 26, 2016
Spent four days here with our grandchildren. First they tried to put us on a hill site where my granddaughter rolled down the hill and scratched her face up. no place to sit and the picnic table was at such a slant that you could never serve a meal on it. Went to the office and complained and luckily they moved us. My only other complaint is that the shower and bathrooms weren't kept the clean
Aug 26, 2016
So much fun things to do in beautiful setting. Friendly helpful staff
Aug 26, 2016
Super clean grounds, helpful and friendly staff. Washrooms/shower were really great but personally I would like shower area cleaned a bit better.
Aug 26, 2016
Great fun in pool, horse ride, shows and movies. See you next summer!
Aug 26, 2016
Ideal for families. Had a lot of things to keep the children amused. We enjoyed the night shuttle to Mount Rushmore. The campground is so big and spread out that it took 15 minutes of fast walking to get to the KOA office from our camp site.
Aug 26, 2016
Nice camp grounds. The only thing is that the showers could have been cleaner.
Aug 26, 2016
Aug 26, 2016
What a beautiful place... We loved everything about this KOA. Everyone was extreamly helpful and my three boys loved the fun zone. We would highly recommened Mt. Rushmore KOA to anyone. We hadn't even left and we where already planning are return for next year. Thank you for the unforgettable memories that we made.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals