Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 13, 2016
We were unaware that this was a resort style KOA. If we had known that we would not have chosen to camp here. With that said, if you like camping with restaurants, multiple pools/spray park, rock climbing, a rodeo and goldmining...this might be a good fit for your family.
Jul 13, 2016
Best KOA we have stayed at, customer service was top notch. Lots of added extras, water slide, pools, horseback riding, wagon ride to dinner, bingo, gold panning, movie nights ( some cost extra some are free), breakfast, close to lots of outdoor activities not just Mount Rushmore just to name a few. Huge camp ground lots of people and kids great place for families.
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
My first thought was wow this is a huge campground. Things are spread out and wasn't a problem. Wish WiFi was available at your campsite but understand the difficulty in that. Was actually nice to be disconnected for most of the week. Great stay. Plan to return.
Jul 12, 2016
Best KOA we have ever stayed at. Helpful staff, clean amenities and beautiful landscaping. The $3 all you can eat pancake breakfast was awesome too!
Jul 12, 2016
My kids had a blast that part was great! The complaint I have is how unclean the bathrooms/showers were. Once a day isn't enough, with all the clay and dirty the showers were always dirty. And the showers are not women friendly. Not to sound gross but were do women put there used hygene items when showering? I was very grossed out and unhappy
Jul 12, 2016
very crowded but still enjoyed it and would come again would get a site that,s not next to a dumpster!
Jul 12, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
There is no wifi, not even in their "hotspots", so do not expect to have service. Additionally, the location of the campground places you in a valley eliminating cell service as well. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 12, 2016
Great for the family. Well oiled machine. Only complaint was with a full campground the amount of bathrooms/showers was inadequate in some areas of the park. Also they need cleaned far more often.
Jul 12, 2016
The campground is amazing! There is so much to do. The only problem was that we didn't have any room at our campsite. We had a nice field behind us, but the other campers were so close we couldn't even put our mat out by our door because there was not room.
Jul 12, 2016
One of the BEST!!! KOA we have ever stayed at. The entire campground was super clean and the staff was very friendly. Highly recommend.
Jul 12, 2016
I live locally and my kids want to camp at your campground at least once per year! Always a family favorite! Thank you for all the wonderful summer memories!
Jul 12, 2016
The campground, overall, was appealing; however, the particular site we were given was too close to the main road and therefore noisy and smelled of exhaust fumes all day long. Had we been assigned a site away from that main road, I would rate the park 5 stars.
Jul 12, 2016
Advertised wifi but it never worked. Very frustrating and waste of time. Reservation software seemed inflexible requiring campsite moves.
Jul 12, 2016
Kids loved the water slide, jump pillow, and pool. Very nice place with lots to do.
Jul 12, 2016
Nothing against the campground, I just didn't have time to explore and enjoy the amenities.
Jul 12, 2016
Second time staying with you and will return!!
Jul 12, 2016
Best campground we have ever been to. Beautiful setting, very clean. Feels serene and peaceful! Much to do. Didn't want to leave.
Jul 12, 2016
Stay was good, but we called to cancel within 30 min of making reservation due to no 50amp sites available and was told that we would have to forfeit the full $83.00. I doubt we camp KOA again.
Jul 11, 2016
No WiFi at all.Site way to close.
Jul 11, 2016
Great stay. Not pleased with not being placed near our friends, especially sincewe booked last december
Jul 11, 2016
Perfect stay. However we ran out of propane at our sight to grill dinner, I told the front desk and it didn't get replaced until the next day ...... We are PB and J for dinner rather than our brats we had planned.
Jul 11, 2016
Super fun campground but the tent sites are super tiny.
Jul 11, 2016
The place has lots of amenities for children and the staff is helpful and friendly. Comfort Station #4 needs to be brought up to the standards of CS #2. The bathrooms need fans installed NOW. The stench floats out to the hallway where people await use of the showers. The showers need more hooks and small shelves for placing shampoo bottles and other grooming aids. The showers were not very clean
Jul 11, 2016
Our family Stayed here at the KOA Rushmore on the July 4th week.super busy time, hats off to all the staff. Campers on the other hand drove way to fast with all the little one ridding and walking around the roads. great clean restrooms until a camper decided to deface the new interior, mean people are just ugly. Great location lots to do within the surrounding area. We will recommend this KOA
Jul 11, 2016
We were not too happy. It was in a great location has some great amenities like the kids park and bathrooms were nice. But the lack of internet/phone reception, no wifi, overcrowded, and over charging for extra amenities, lack of paved the sites and road and too many evening campfires made the entire park very smokey and unpleasant.
Jul 11, 2016
so much to do
Jul 11, 2016
So many things to do that we could have easily forgotten why we came in the first place. Close to everything
Jul 11, 2016
What a neat place! Next time I'm staying longer and getting Full Hok Ups!
Jul 11, 2016
Great campground. lots of stuff for kids and adults. Close to Mt Rushmore and other Keystone town. Would definitely stay again
Jul 11, 2016
What an amazing place to stay!! From the cleanliness of the entire camp ground to the professionalism and friendly faces of all staff personnel, we were extremely impressed with our stay! Thank you for working hard to make your guests feel welcomed and 100% special! Your hard work and dedication to this campground is appreciated beyond words.
Jul 11, 2016
We had a great experience at this KOA. Nice friendly staff, clean park. However, the Wifi and internet reception was not so good but if you are on vacation you shouldn't need that anyway!!!
Jul 11, 2016
Family Vacation, We arrived late on a Friday and left the following Saturday. We have a 6 and 3 year old and this stay was great. Campsites were convenient and easy in and out. They have 2 pools nice playground and activities everyday. Located within 30 minutes of almost everything you want to see. and on all main roads. Stables are right on the grounds, store a bit spendy.
Jul 11, 2016
Very nice campground. Great location and a lot of activities for kids. Staff very friendly. Only issue is I work when I travel and was told there was wifi but no cell service and wifi signal was mostly non existent. Not a big deal for a few days. Just went into town.
Jul 11, 2016
Nice campground with lots of activities and great location. Only downside is there were tons of young children running around with no supervision.
Jul 11, 2016
Wonderful stay my family and I really enjoyed it
Jul 11, 2016
They are so rude here I will never stay here again
Jul 11, 2016
Was so much fun! Sad to leave! Will be back soon!! Great family place!
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
Not enough or close enough restrooms. Too hilly for older folks, must drive to use facilities. Not kept very clean for a KOA
Jul 11, 2016
Great place--except for the PRIC!. Families would do very good here....!
Jul 11, 2016
Great campground to enjoy the black hills and attractions.Lots of activities to do for the family!
Jul 11, 2016
Great place! Just booked for next year in June. Bringing grandchildren, kids fun zone absolutely wonderful! Manager and staff have cheery helpful attitudes!
Jul 11, 2016
Awesome campground and a perfect location for a black hills site seeing trip! The amenities, location, and customer service were outstanding.
Jul 11, 2016
It was awsome as usual, we have stayed there more than once and we're always refreshed after our stay.
Jul 11, 2016
Great customer service! Manager accessible. Well maintained. Variety of activities. Can't wait to come back!
Jul 11, 2016
This is a fantastic campground/resort! My family and I had a great time. our only regret is that we could not have stayed longer!
Jul 11, 2016
Any concern was addressed, except cellphone service, excellent customer service.
Jul 11, 2016
Bathrooms needed serious attention several times. Also site was less than near level and took some work to get usable. With price that we pay for this site, should have been in better condition.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals