Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 25, 2015
No wi-fi, no cable , and no phone service . Very large place with lots for the kids to do . very close to Rushmore and Hill City and Custer State Park . If you have kids this is a great place to go . If you don't , it is a very expensive place to just sleep .
Aug 25, 2015
Very large, lots of activities to do, dirt sites some better than others, seemed packed in. Best part VERY close to Mt Rushmore itself.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
Great place! Love it for kids. Only thing is we would have enjoyed more kid organized activities as the few they had were a huge hit!
Aug 24, 2015
Always the very best! Love this KOA. New sites are great. People are friendly. So clean and well maintained. Recommend to everyone. Thank you A+++++
Aug 24, 2015
Fabulous amenities. Outstanding staff. My only complaint is the amount of vehicle traffic in the campground, including KOA vans and trucks.
Aug 24, 2015
Great family activities and location!
Aug 24, 2015
The campground was clean and neat. Sites were small for the size of my camper and truck. Load truck came in at midnight and was running for an hour next to us while they set up.
Aug 24, 2015
Wifi was on existent. No one we spoke to could get a signal.
Aug 24, 2015
Our stay was womdrful!!! There is so much here for the kids to do & the location is perfect!! We did however end up getting a smaller calming spot than what I had originally confirmed. Our spot was suppose to be long enough for our semi & trailer - but it was just barley long enough for just our trailer.
Aug 24, 2015
Nice and clean campground. Friendly staff. Location is close Mt. Rushmore and other area attractions.
Aug 24, 2015
We enjoyed the convenience and accomodating staff. It was so quiet, we slept well. We did lose a matt that we had layed down at 167 because of the mud. We were there 4 nights and after the third night it disappeared. Other than that, we had a great time!
Aug 24, 2015
I would rate this KOA as five stars for anyone with children under 12 and those who want to "escape" cell phone and internet intrusions. Lots of stuff for young families. For myself I would not return only because of the lack of both phone and internet connection. We couldn't use our hot spot either. They need someone to answer the phones. Once you get hold of a person they are accommodating
Aug 24, 2015
the park was very nice with lots of great amenities. Too bad the internet is so very poor. Went to the lodge every day to try it and it worked half the time. Loved the campfires with s'mores and the convenient location to the area's best sites and parks.
Aug 24, 2015
We drove in from Indianola, Iowa. Check-in was very easy. Our 3 kids ages 3years to 12years all had a lot of fun. There was a lot of activities and things to do for all ages. All your employees were nice and interacted well with the kids. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are traveling to see Mt. Rushmore. We stayed in a tent and it was chilly at night so we bought a heater. Fun!
Aug 24, 2015
Great camping resort for both adults and children - will definitely be back again!
Aug 24, 2015
hadn't stayed at a KOA until this trip it was nice and clean with plenty of activities to keep the kids busy
Aug 24, 2015
Our stay was very good and clean areas for your camper, Although the showers needed hand rails to keep from slipping.
Aug 24, 2015
As usual pretty good stay, Busy place but bathrooms can be cleaner and WiFi has got to be fixed. Has been an issue for the last three years. Since cell reception is so bad WiFi is a must.
Aug 24, 2015
Our site was at the top of the hill and was wonderful. Beautiful setting and friendly people.
Aug 23, 2015
Beautiful resort with lots to do. Great amenities. Great family resort but too many kids riding rented bikes, etc. Very dangerous. If you go, be sure you stop by the wine tasting and ice cream shop!
Aug 23, 2015
This KOA has it all. Our secoƱd time there. Will definitely stay again.
Aug 23, 2015
Only wish the map was better.
Aug 23, 2015
Aug 23, 2015
Really fun place for kids. Bathrooms and showers are clean. My only "complaint" was we were sleeping in a pretty big tent and were given a very small tent site. This place is so big that I didn't want to drive back to the registration desk to ask for a different site so made it work. So if you are tenting, be sure to ask for a site that will accommodate your tent size at check in.
Aug 22, 2015
Loved everything about the campground and most of all the Staff went beyond in helping us when we had truck problems! Thank you for making our week a wonderful family trip!
Aug 22, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
Kids loved it! Very family friendly!
Aug 22, 2015
Absolutely no cell service or available wifi make an otherwise great campground pretty inconvenient. We had to drive to make a phone call.
Aug 22, 2015
You are too expensive and the receptionist was rude to my brother from the minute he walke into your office.
Aug 22, 2015
Staff is super friendly and helpful. At fist I was worried about staying up the hill, but it did work out and quieter then below. I have a service dog and I was treated very well. We enjoyed our stay. stay.
Aug 22, 2015
Poorly trained staff did not offer escort to site and provided useless directions. Hotspot wifi useless because instructions not provided. Too much money for such poor service.Hilltop site very tilted and uneven. Road to hilltop difficult to get traction on for heavy, large rig.
Aug 22, 2015
Very high price, with too few toilets, and no campsite WiFi; WiFi was only available at 2 campground entrance WiFi hotspots - vacations and the need to stay in touch are not mutually exclusive! Also, despite the offer of guides to take us to our campsite, the polite office folks should have been able to show us how to get there on our own, but were not able to do so.
Aug 22, 2015
Makes you feel like a kid again.
Aug 22, 2015
Nice but virtually no internet or cell service available and had a terrible bartender

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your review! While we are unable to control the cell service here in the valley we are actively looking at ways to improve our WIFI throughout the park. I will pass along to the restaurant about your experience with their bartender. We know they will appreciate your feedback!
Aug 22, 2015
Wonderful stay and many things to do for the kids,our 9 and 11 year old had a great...

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your most recent stay at our Resort! We love hearing that your family had such a fun time during your visit. We hope to see you next camping season! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Aug 21, 2015
Lots to do here. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because no phone or internet service or cable.
Aug 21, 2015
WOW, it was absolutely beautiful!! There was so much to do especially if you brought children. We hope to bring our grandson next year.
Aug 21, 2015
The park was nice and centrally located to see everything. Our site was muddy but overall a good stay.
Aug 21, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Very nice campground. Could use more bathrooms. Overall vry nice
Aug 20, 2015
Beautiful park, so many things to do for all age groups. So close to all tourist sights. Thank You for hospitality.
Aug 20, 2015
It's an OK facility. Hot tub was filthy. Sites were anything but level. We had two days of rain and some of the sites had 6" of water in them. No cell phone service whatsoever. Paid for the 5 grandchildren to take a trail ride but they were cancelled and closed, so I'm not sure how I'm going to get the $150+ back. ATV's were a blast.
Aug 20, 2015
The place is too big and too impersonal.
Aug 20, 2015
Although it was cold and rainy most of our stay we had one nice day to do many activities and the campground. The pool/waterslide was super cold to me but the kids seem to like it ok. I wished the wifi was a little better...not a huge deal but would be better to get a hold of family to coordinate activities outside the campground. Overall we love the KOA!
Aug 20, 2015
loved all the activities that we could do there. The dinner, pools, rides, and the accessibility to Mt. Rushmore.
Aug 20, 2015
Really great stay ... I think you could have more groceries available and your wifi was absolutely terrible and you need to upgrade your system immediately or you will lose valuable customers!!!!
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 19, 2015
Hands down the best KOA! (And we've camped at a lot of them!) We highly recommend this campground. Sooo much to do there. Conveniently located to lots of attractions. Can't wait to go back!!
Aug 19, 2015
Our stay at Mount Rushmore, SD KOA was wonderful! No Complaints what-so-ever. The staff was cordial and the services were tip top. The location is great and it's very easy to get anything you wish to see. We will definitely stay here again during our next trip to Mount Rushmore!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals