Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 22, 2015
One of the BEST campgrounds we've ever stayed at!!!!!
Jun 22, 2015
pros-We had a great time! This is a very nice campground. Large lots. Very clean. cons- no cellular service, little to no Wi-Fi. Need to have more sites with cable hook ups. Firewood is expensive for the size of the bundles considering it is pine and burns quickly. It takes several bundles to have a small camp fire for smores. The kids loved the 3 wheeled bikes but were to expensive to ride mor
Jun 22, 2015
Very nice campground. They recieved a lot of rain recetnly and the staff was working to improve the roads. We had some major storms come through and it would have been nice to see the weather but there is no cell service or wifi in most of the park. We had a great time renting the ATV and the chuck wagon dinner as well as the rest of the parks amenities.
Jun 22, 2015
We had road that started at 0530 right outside our camper.
Jun 22, 2015
They charged me more when I got there,different from when I made online reservation. Wifi doesn't work at all so plan on no phone at all when there. They charge everyone a resort fee per night, even if you don't use anything. And even still some of the stuff costs more money. Most expensive KOA, we used to stay all the time, but no more. Too many people if you are wanting to get away.
Jun 22, 2015
While the campground was clean and offered a variety of activities and amenities, the lack of cell phone service and internet availability in this day in age, was disheartening.
Jun 22, 2015
After driving 13 hours I was so impressed with the hospitality and service and kind workers there. Very clean and fun for us. Thank you to you all. There was not one person that was not helpful. We did the horse ride as well and those girls are very kind also. Great customer service!!!! thanks again. Kim
Jun 22, 2015
We were put in a site that was muddy with standing water.Grass needed mowing No cell service and no wifi. Hail storms both nights. Damage to RV. Not a pleasant experience at all!
Jun 22, 2015
Charged us daily Resort Saver Package fee of $10 for KOA amenities that are free at every other KOA we have visited. Charged for our dogs which have been free at other KOAs. No cable and water slide closed even though we paid for these in Resort Saver package.We feel ripped off.Beautiful location, we will use another campground next time.
Jun 22, 2015
Oh my. The disneyland of KOA's! The campground was beautiful. The shuttle up to Mt Rushmore was a nice feature we took advantage of. Already thinking about when/how we'll be back!
Jun 22, 2015
Very clean, safe, friendly, and fun for adults and kids of all ages! The WIFI was not accessible for some reason. We were told the wrong time for the shuttle bus to MT. Rushmore, so we missed it and had to drive our RV. Times for shuttle busses should be printed on receipt. We will be back :)
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Close to Mt. Rushmore and in the trees. Resort style campus with lots of amenities.
Jun 21, 2015
Zero cell service. Advertise wifi but barely works. All laundry coin change machines were broken. Water quality is very rusty. Kids had a great time with all the activities. If all the mentioned issues were taken care of I would have rated it much better.
Jun 21, 2015
Great amenities and friendly staff, but the entire camp is unpaved and it rained every day so it was a mud pit when walking the dogs. Adding to the fun, the drain hole was on a slight hill higher than the camper. Needless to say, gravity had the last laugh when emptying the gray/black water--terrible.
Jun 21, 2015
The orig site was muddy and we were upgraded at no extra cost, so grateful for that!! Close to Mt Rushmore, could site see more.
Jun 21, 2015
Nice campground-terrible water situation.
Jun 21, 2015
Most of the sites were vers muddy, roads are full of potholes. WiFi very poor all over the place.
Jun 21, 2015
For the price per night we paid we expected at the least no potholes in the roads and wifi. Manager said at checkin it would cost $30K to put in wifi so they are not doing it. very disappointed!
Jun 21, 2015
Due to all the rain the sites are really muddy and messy. There is no cell service anywhere on the site. They claim that there were WiFi hot spots but we could not connect to the WiFi from those locations.
Jun 21, 2015
Great place to bring kids.
Jun 21, 2015
Awesome campground that is both adult and kid friendly! Best campground we have stayed at in the 15 years we've been camping!!
Jun 20, 2015
nice place to stay very friendly hosts just a little pricey
Jun 20, 2015
We were unfortunately located right on Palmer Rd. It was very heavy traffic, and due to a leaky spigot the road was always wet and loud. The traffic on this road was also way over the 10mph speed limit. This campground does not have the set up for children to safely navigate through it. The traffic is simply too heavy and fast. The shower house was very impressive though-very private and clean.
Jun 20, 2015
Great resort. Will stay again if we return to area. Need to improve wifi strength is only complaint.
Jun 20, 2015
Had a wonderful time!
Jun 20, 2015
I know that it rained all the time we were there but roads and spots need work
Jun 20, 2015
Beautiful campground. Something for everyone.
Jun 20, 2015
Jun 20, 2015
Best campground we ever stayed at. The bathrooms and showers were awesome and kids loved all the activities. The pools were excellent!!!
Jun 20, 2015
Very nice. Enjoyed breakfast at Pappa's. We were initially placed in a spot only approachable down a steep hill. Our site was change. Internet was problematic.
Jun 20, 2015
Jun 20, 2015
Great pool for the kids! Campsites are a little small for motorhomes. Shuttle for MR was a really nice feature.
Jun 20, 2015
Lovely campground will be back.
Jun 20, 2015
A little crowded and expensive, but plenty of activities for kids.
Jun 20, 2015
Drainage needs to be worked on. The grass was so muddy and it could not be cut, so we were unable to use our fire pit or the picnic table. The grass by our site was a wet our dogs were covered in mud and soaked the whole time. Was not too happy about that. People were friendly and the fun zone was very nice.
Jun 20, 2015
A little too big. And the showers were not designed to drain water so water and mud were everywhere. Other than that a great place.
Jun 19, 2015
Perfectly awful experience. The place is a mud hole. While there has been an unusual amount of rain, some gravel trucked in would have helped. Internet WiFi totally useless. Over 300 sites trying to get on one connection. They could spend a buck on more bandwidth. No cable TV at a premium site. Laundry was dirty. Price why out of line for the service provided. We left 2 days ea
Jun 19, 2015
This was our first experience with our new Motor Home, after many hours of driving, I had a couple of problems with my hookups and your staff was right there to walk me through it, it is a lot different reading the book and actually doing it, but your staff was so supportive. They even came back a couple hours later and checked up on me and celebrated with me that we were all settled.
Jun 19, 2015
Lower rated due to no wifi. With no wifi and no phone service could not keep in contact with family at home.
Jun 19, 2015
Very nice and resort like however our site was very small.
Jun 19, 2015
Lots of kid activities. Beer sold on site. Beautiful view. The only negative is lack of privacy. Spots seemed to be crammed in with no trees in between. Had a great time. Will definitely go back.
Jun 19, 2015
Hate to rate so low b/c staff is wonderful!!! But the smell of campfire smoke was really overpowering/sickening. Need more gravel 4 rain. Water is dirty color - safe to drink but unappetizing. Pay extra even if u don't use kiddy stuff.butpeople were great. Wifi doesn't work & shouldn't be advertised.
Jun 18, 2015
Lots of things to do for all ages. Inexperience front desk staff mixed up reservations. No to Poor internet. No to poor cell phone access. outside of the mix ups, the older staff tried to make things right but in a few incidents it was too late.
Jun 18, 2015
It is an awesome resort with tons to do for kids and adults. So close to all the sites you want to see in the area. Downside. It rained a lot and since there are very few paved roads or sites, it was a muddy mess. We cut short our stay since the kids could not use all the great amenities at the campground without being full of mud. Just pave the roads and sites and this is a top resort!
Jun 18, 2015
Added annoying fees to quoted price when we signed in.
Jun 18, 2015
No cell service (Verizon). No wifi. Hot spots were not working.
Jun 18, 2015
Surrounding view is lovely with lots of amenities. Staff was friendly and efficient. RV sites are close with no trees. Hundreds of campsites, feels very crowded. Activities geared for young kids, not teenagers. No cell service or wifi and hot spots didn't work. Expensive if not using amenities. Water out of faucet light brownish. We left a day early. Just not for us.
Jun 18, 2015
Great stay overall but if you don't have satellite you must reserve deluxe patio sites to get cable tv. Non functioning camp canine but they charge you an extra $3 per dog!!??! Also don't know what the $10 per day resort fee was for. Loved the friendly gal at the main snack bar. Enjoyable trails if you rent ATV. Try the fried tacos at the restaurant but be really hungry or share,they are huge but
Jun 18, 2015
Very kid friendly. We saw lots of families. Workers were very friendly rained a lot while we were there so very muddy

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.