Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 28, 2015
Was a very active KOA,very large,lots of things to do for the kids,very quiet for as large as it was. There were two campers in our group, they were unable to put us together, they were quite far from us.Great family Koa.
Jun 28, 2015
Activties were great the comfort station 3 was filthy never sweep out in the 5 days we where there or washed out
Jun 28, 2015
Great location, very clean.
Jun 28, 2015
we got just we wanted they more us up higher in the camp because it had been raining so tent trailer would not be in any mud
Jun 28, 2015
Jun 28, 2015
more bath and washing machine areas would be nice. all in all very nice stay thank you.
Jun 28, 2015
Very much of a resort feel. Beautiful mountain views. Excellent showers. Appreciated shuttle to Mt Rushmore light show.
Jun 28, 2015
Water, water, water need to fix roads but we understand you cannot control mother nature. too many big campers in small areas--due to rain
Jun 28, 2015
People were very friendly and helpful. I understand why the water is slightly green. However, yes however a small attention to drainage would be most helpful. Yes there been more rain in the last two months then the yearly average but simple drainage running water away from camp site instead of allow it to run down the gravel passages. Open face ditch is the answer.
Jun 28, 2015
Jun 28, 2015
Beautiful place. Wish we could have stayed a week!
Jun 27, 2015
Jun 27, 2015
Lots of stuff for the kids to do. Very clean and friendly staff. The sites were a little small and compact.
Jun 27, 2015
The staff was very polite and helpful, the general manager solved problems quickly, the facilities were clean, and the camp provided fun activities for all ages.
Jun 27, 2015
Great Place to stay if you have kids.
Jun 27, 2015
Jun 27, 2015
crowded and noisey overall very poor
Jun 27, 2015
Amazing place and awesome staff, best koa I've EVER stayed at!
Jun 27, 2015
I understand that there was a lot of rain but we were put on a site that was flooded. There were empty sites that we not flooded. The water slide was closed. We have camped at many KOAs over the years and this was the only one that did not go out of their way to make our stay more pleasant.
Jun 27, 2015
My pad was on a seep spring, and it rained. So for two days I was ankle deep in water every time I stepped out of my trailer. I will not go back; I will cho0se a Wal-Mart parking lot over this KOA
Jun 27, 2015
This campground is really large. It is too expensive because it is close to a national monument. Your check in process was fast and excellent but your campground i s too crowded, the spaces are small and inadequate. Space 534 assigned to me for my 30 foot trailer and truck was not level and too small. There are too many people competing for restrooms and showers. In short it was lousy.
Jun 26, 2015
Very disappointed there wasn't any wifi. The website says wifi and it does not specifie only in areas. I have to work while traveling and I wasn't able to get on the Internet.
Jun 26, 2015
Made reservations months in advance and was put in the worst and furthest spot from amenities. I have stayed in many KOA parks and this was by far the worst experience I have had. For what I got at the price I paid I felt was a total rip off. Also was not able to use sewer because the sewer inlet was higher than the outlet on RV. I think common sense should have told them this won't work.
Jun 26, 2015
Kid friendly everywhere we went! From horseback riding to papa's pancakes and the very popular bounce pad we all had a great time! Take the shuttle to the Mt. Rushmore evening ceremony. WOW! Dave M. Waukee IA.
Jun 26, 2015
This is our second time camping here. We love it! So much fun for the family, plenty of things for the kids to do, we hardly left the campground this time because the kids were so busy making new friends and doing lots of activities. Love this campground! Will be returning again!
Jun 26, 2015
The stay was great! I was disappointed that the two sites that we booked were not put next to each other like promised.
Jun 26, 2015
We came with our Son and his family. It was a great place for the gandkids. They totally loved all the activities available. Wonderful family place to stay. Best KOA that we've stayed at. Thank you,
Jun 26, 2015
The staff was friendly and helpful. Our campsite was in great condition.
Jun 26, 2015
Nice location poor service when it comes to phone and Internet which hasn't improved over several years. I was having auto issues and couldn't even call anyone to help me.
Jun 26, 2015
road speed
Jun 26, 2015
Way too busy and hectic. We were assigned a poor site on a steep slope. Sewer out fall was up hill and difficult to drain. Poor drainage on pad. Had steak dinner at Ponderosa which was over priced and not good. Staff was helpful.
Jun 26, 2015
No Cable, No Antenna TV, No Internet, No Cell Phone Service, Very dirty Showers, like showering in a mud hole. No transportation from front to back for tours. Need more gravel in drive, RV really muddy, could not walk to front without boots. Will not be back.😢
Jun 25, 2015
Nice KOA but very busy and noisy if up in front. Had a deluxe site which was very nice but the power washers going on for hours on end weren't.
Jun 25, 2015
Location was perfect.
Jun 25, 2015
The campground was clean and well laid out. Had no issues with our stay. Staff was helpful and always had a smile on their face.
Jun 25, 2015
It was a muddy swamp. I understand KOA cannot control the weather but they can control the drainage. Very disorganized front desk. The first spot they sent us to was occupied. The second spot had 8" of water where the hook ups were. The third and last spot available had 2" of water. The spot next to us sat vacant for our stay and was completely dry. No WIFI of Cell Service.
Jun 25, 2015
Great place. We will be back.
Jun 25, 2015
Almost too big. It does not have the small family campground feel. There was two major storms while we were there and not one person asked us how we were doing.
Jun 25, 2015
Great family friendly resort, clean and fun for the kids! Although we paid extra for wifi, there was no wifi. Don't be fooled and pay the extra for it!
Jun 25, 2015
Awesome had a great time😀😀😀
Jun 25, 2015
I wish I could bring all 12 of my grandchildren here and my 5 great grand children. The staff was very helpful and the prices for the extra was reasonable. Thank you Hill City K.O.A.
Jun 25, 2015
My children loved it there. We liked the variety of activities, food options and shower and laundry availability. We enjoyed horseback riding. The wranglers and guide were all very nice and helpful. My only complaint is it would be nice to have more spacing between sites and trees/shrubbery for privacy and to feel more woodsy or "campy".
Jun 25, 2015
Thank you and we had a wonderful time during our stay. Our Granddaughters were happy just to be there and enjoyed all the children's facilities that you have available. Wished we would of had a longer stay and hope to be back soon!
Jun 25, 2015
Huge KOA lots of things to do for the whole family.
Jun 25, 2015
The lodge was nice but the campground needed to be mowed. The bathhouse #4 was very nasty. Showers full of dirt hair and rocks the toilets had black rings. We left a day early due to the conditions of the bathrooms. We complained and then it was the first time in 2 days the restroom was cleaned some what. My standards are much higher than their efforts. I don't anticipate we will ever use them
Jun 25, 2015
CAmpground was very wet from previous rIn and unfortunately our hook up was in 1 inch of water sewer connection not reachable had us dump station next day staff was very helpful good not great experience
Jun 24, 2015
We had a wonderful time! All of the staff there were very helpful and friendly. Thank you for having us!
Jun 24, 2015
Had water under camper 5 days. No internet. Little space between spots. Designed for kids. Too big a camping. Place. No ladder available to check the hail damage everyone had!
Jun 24, 2015
Much too high a price to stay in a jammed up campgtound. Wifi was totally useless. Everything is much more expensive than a regular koa. Staff was friendly and kids had fun. Good pancakes.
Jun 24, 2015
Employees were wonderful. Our camper did not fit in first site given. The second site was on an incline.No place to put picnic table on level ground. Fire pit too close to camper.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.