Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 15, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
awesome place to bring the kids, lots to do
Jun 14, 2014
I rate the site with 4 stars!! The staff was wonderful. The amenities well kept and clean. This was our first stay and we LOVED it! the ONLY reason I do not give 5 stars is because there was a lack of cellphone and WIFI service. If that was available I would give 5 stars. Truly my only complaint.
Jun 14, 2014
Stayed here in a 41 ft MH for 6 nights. Great place. Large sites, close to everything , lots for the kids to do & a couple of restaurants on site.
Jun 14, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
I don't know whee to start! I am driving a band from London and it is their first full US tour. They had the time of their lives at this KOA and the Night shuttle was perfect. The site was great for the tour bus and everyone at KOA... Amazing!! I'll be back with my family ASAP. The group really enjoyed the off-road adventure as well. We needed a week but thx 4 the day!!
Jun 13, 2014
Only 1 complaint - the water source in the laundry is very rusty/dirty. Being away for 2 weeks it was disappointing not to be able to launder clothes. We did one load of white before becoming aware of the water problem which ruined most of the clothes. Other than that the campground was really nice, kid and family friendly!
Jun 13, 2014
Campgrounds were very clean. This is the first place where personal trash was picked up daily ! I am impressed ! For those with kids, a great place with lots of activities. The grilled corn was wonderful also !
Jun 13, 2014
Very nice campground. We liked that it was central to most attractions. Lots to do for families.
Jun 13, 2014
What a great stay. Super clean bathrooms and even after a down pour the grounds drained nicely. Only wish is free hayride in evening.
Jun 12, 2014
beautiful campground, However, serveral things were broken and shut-down. Fustration because you pay a resort fee!
Jun 12, 2014
Simply amazing.....my kids loved it and we will for sure come back longer next summer! We have told several friends about this resort and hope to come back next year in a larger group!!!
Jun 11, 2014
The reason I rate this is because I had a broken up cement pad and standing water in my site the whole week stay. My water valve leaked bad when on construction work being done at the campground starting at 7:00 in the morning for a deluxe site I didn't get it.
Jun 11, 2014
We had a great visit. The kids favorite part had to be movie nights & pancake breakfasts!
Jun 11, 2014
We enjoyed our stay and your beautiful facilities.
Jun 10, 2014
This is a very nice campground, lots of things for the kids to do and centrally located to all the attractions in the area. Only negative thing i have to say is that if they say they have wifi service it should have wifi service. The wifi was almost nonexistant (even close to the store were the hot spot was located). In this day and age of smart phones wifi should be a available throuhout the camp
Jun 10, 2014
Jun 10, 2014
Jun 10, 2014
There was something there for every member of the family.
Jun 10, 2014
The cost of this park is high to begin with & the addition of a resort fee and a charge for dogs is just too much. Your hot spot offers only two computers - not adequate for a park of this size. Cell service is virtually non - existent & blaming the mountains is wrong. Technology exists to make up for rough terrain. We have been in other mountainous KOA's where cells & wifi work fine.
Jun 09, 2014
Gorgeous campground. LOVED the personal service of escorting us to the campsite AND actually picking us up there to bring us to the pickup for our free shuttle to Mt. Rushmore that evening.
Jun 09, 2014
This was a great location, in the middle of most of the key sites in the Black Hills. The staff was friendly and the location had more to offer than many locations. Loved the coffee shop, ice cream shop and horseback riding right on the grounds. The accommodations were first rate.
Jun 09, 2014
Beautiful facility with lots to do. I was very disappointed in the cleanliness of the shower and bathrooms. This was the 4th park we stayed in and by far the dirtiest. We also had to purchase an adaptor for the electricity because of only having 30 amp plugs and we had 20 amp hookups, yes its minor but frustrating. Also the water was not working in the camp kitchen. Otherwise beautiful place.
Jun 09, 2014
Nice campground. Close to many sites. Desk staff not always friendly or accommodating.
Jun 08, 2014
Very clean and well maintained grounds. Staff was friendly and helpful. Activities for kids were great. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely be back. The only thing we could do without was the early morning wake up call from the ranchers bringing the horses in, but even that was charming in it's own way :)
Jun 08, 2014
If you have kids, this is the place to stay! Activities galore for Kids and adults!Extremely friendly staff. Bathrooms are very clean and modern. They can handle any kind of rig and also have a multitude of cabins/hotel rooms for rent. Beautiful location about 4 miles West of Mt. Rushmore on Hwy 244. You must try the pancake feed every morning at 0730! We're looking forward to our next trip.
Jun 08, 2014
This campground is in a beautiful area.
Jun 08, 2014
We had a wonderful time even though the weather was not ideal. Your facilities are clean and well kept
Jun 08, 2014
Sould have better wifi and offer more sites cable. We didn't know there was any cable available
Jun 08, 2014
Too expensive, in part due to extra charge for amenities that we don't use. Stinking horse manure. Dryers not hot. Fire truck and siren for such a long time was annoying. Hot tub not hot - would be nice to have one hot for adults only.
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
We had to move 3 different times before we finally got a site with all the amenities we've grown to expect at KOA camps. Staff should ask more questions when reserving sites as to the various amenities offered at each level of site. We had to buy a deluxe site in order to have cable. Not the KOA reputation we've come to expect in camping all over the US.
Jun 07, 2014
We were very disappointed that the swimming pools were not ready when we stayed at Palmer Gulch over Memorial Weekend. We make Palmer Gulch our annual camping adventure with our grandchildren. They wanted to swim and the pools were not ready. Our grandchildren look forward every year to Palmer Gulch, but were very unhappy this year.
Jun 07, 2014
I did not like the hand-driers in the bathroons. They are way too loud! You can even hear them from a campsite two rows away from the shower-house! Imagine how loud they are in the bathroom. They hurt your ears!
Jun 07, 2014
Awesome park. So much for couples and families to do. Beautiful and convenient location. Checked in for three nights and stayed an extra night just because. Definitely recommend and would go out of our way to stay again. Thank you!
Jun 06, 2014
Awesome campground. Great that we could rent a car to go site seeing. Rented ATV and had a blast driving the trails. Amenities are great. Staff very helpful and nice.
Jun 06, 2014
Fun as usual, but please fix the dog run, high grass and really looked neglected, otherwise, still a great place.
Jun 05, 2014
Staff was fantastic and we had an excellent time in the area. Great facilities and view. Will be back for sure
Jun 05, 2014
Our site was muddy. They only supported verizon. And no TV connection and brown water is not very appealing. Good area for kids.
Jun 05, 2014
Jun 05, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
The BEST experience EVER!! All the staff was so nice and friendly. The campground was really clean and very well taken care of. Very kid friendly, lots of things for the whole family to enjoy. LOVED it!!
Jun 04, 2014
Cost seemed high. Our site was in mud. Surely, another site was available. Never had any dog bags available. Dog biscuits were great. A lot of activities.
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Clean areas and restrooms. Nice staff. WIFI was weak, internet was iffy at best.
Jun 03, 2014
Jun 03, 2014
Great Place, Stuff, Rental and Area. We had a great time and we'll remember the great view we had and watching the dear coming out from site #554. Thanks you
Jun 03, 2014
Very friendly staff, had a good time.
Jun 03, 2014
dirty bathrooms nasty showers no wi-fi staff rude did not care. and no refunds.over priced campsites. Please dont waste your time and money on this camp ground. worste koa ever if you complain it dont get you no where. 56 plus dollors for a popup a night and no refunds. if you dont beleave me try it yourself and you will find out the hard way remember looks are decieving.laundry sucks store pricey

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.