Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Granddaughters loved it.
Jul 20, 2014
Great fun. Clean, lots of activities and great staff!!
Jul 20, 2014
best ever
Jul 19, 2014
Great
Jul 19, 2014
We stayed at this KOA for 5 nights. Great amenities, clean helpful staff and tons of things to do.
Jul 19, 2014
Everything was great but wifi was not working
Jul 19, 2014
Campground is great. However, I would recommend the bottleneck between the water slide and the golf be widened. This is a very high traffic area, where kids, RVs, dogs and horses meet. It's a huge hazard for kids. There also is a tree that unless the RV is driving down the center it will take their AC off. When leaving, an RV was parked near and shut the road down as nobody could get past.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Great place for the kids and family, in the middle of the Black Hills attractions. Second time we have stayed there.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
This was our 4th time staying and we can't wait to come back next year!! The camp ground is very family friendly and so much to do. The Staff is amazing! Awesome vacation!
Jul 19, 2014
Great location, lots of activities for children. Wifi is a little weak.
Jul 19, 2014
It was a bit of a "gong show", very busy, noisy and urban like. The teenagers would tomcat late and ignore requests by security to be quiet. The staff was generally not experienced and lacked customer service skills. The wine shop people and the pancake breakfast brunch were well above average in their delivery.
Jul 19, 2014
Can you say EXTRA FEES for EVERYTHING!!! Even after getting one night free, our bill was over $150! KOA is supposed to be family-friendly, but KOA charges extra for each child! NOT family friendly in our book!
Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Great facilities for the kids, very quiet at night, lots to do, free firewood. Cons: A long walk to get to restrooms, tiny sites. Wifi is a joke and should not be advertised. According to the manager, 1.5MB download split up between three hotspots and five hundred campers. You must go to the hotspot at 4am if you want to get on.
Jul 19, 2014
Very busy. Kids riding bikes on the road everywhere. It smells like stables
Jul 18, 2014
Great place to take kids. Location is wonderful. This is a very busy KOA but it is quiet at the same time. We will be back for sure.
Jul 18, 2014
I have to say that this was the best KOA that we've ever stayed.So family oriented and friendly.
Jul 18, 2014
We have been back several times now. Great amenities, super location, clean, level sites... very nice spot.
Jul 18, 2014
Lots of things to do. Close to attractions. Very enjoyable and helpful employees.
Jul 18, 2014
Lots of great things to do. Kids were always entertained.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
This is a fabulous family campground. The only thing needed is a little more work on the roads and add a little gravel to the sites
Jul 18, 2014
The campground was lovely and there were lots of fun things to do and see. The bathrooms were nice and convenient. We asked for a shaded site because there is a big open field area that would no thane suites us. Loved the garbage and recycling pick up!
Jul 18, 2014
Great KOA, tons of activities. Only issue was nighttime hay ride. Started at 9pm, had to wait almost 2 hours to get on ride, possibly adding another cart? Kids have a hard time waiting that long for an activity. Beautiful location!
Jul 18, 2014
I made reservations, when i got their, no reservations-so they put me out in in the boon docks the 30A power would go off and on. I was trying to run an a/c. We stayed as long as we could and checked out. I will probably never stay at this campground again. We've stayed there on 3 previous ocassions.....Chuck Doyle 1D288c
Jul 18, 2014
Campsite was dirty,firepit was full of trash & unuseable. No soap in bathroom canisters & campground was overcrowded. On a 5000 mile trip this was the most expensive campground we stayed in & the worst experience. On a positive note, the people in the front office were very professional.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
The best KOA!! Super campground!! So many activities. Can't wait to bring grand kids. Lots of things to see in area. Only complaint, couldn't stay longer!
Jul 17, 2014
We love staying at this KOA! So many amenities and a variety of things to do right there in the resort! Loved all the hanging flower baskets and the front entrance is lit up and looks so inviting. We have stayed here for the past 24 years!
Jul 17, 2014
Fairly nice campground however we found it way too big and busy for our liking. The biggest negative about your campground was the conditions of the showers, we found them to be extremely dirty. Even the benches for clothes were filthy. Some units had hooks missing and no benches, so there was no place for towels and clothes.
Jul 17, 2014
The grandkids loved it, plenty for them to do. We all enjoyed the horseback trail ride. Very friendly help.
Jul 17, 2014
Great resort. Lots to do. For the price, WiFi should have been more reliable. Great place for families.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
J'étais placé sur un site boueux, le 241, sans possibilité de changement. J'ai du annuler 2 jours sur 4 que j'avais réservés afin de changer de ville et de camping. De toute façon, il n'y a pas plus que pour 2 jours d'intérêt dans ce secteur du mont Rushmore.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
The place is one of the most beautiful KOA's I have been to. There is really nothing you could look for this place didn't have. We stayed the extra night because tyhere was to much to see and do. We are looking into going there next year. The staff, especially, the gentlemen getting you to your campsite were very friendly and easy to talk to. All the staff had a big hello just in passing.
Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Great view, friendly staff, enjoyed pancake breakfast and horseback riding. Cons: pool and hot tub were poorly maintained.
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
The stay was very good , nice facility, lots of stuff for the kids. Staff excellent, location good to access other venues. The biggest concern is the public showers. Dated , mold on casings , shower floors cracked and leaking below . All this aside , we could have given you a perfect score. Seriously think about upgrading showers. Thanks : Derrick and Rhonda Johnson.
Jul 16, 2014
Was a nice KOA. Was tenting and they put us on a hill with no level area when there were plenty of flat spots at other open sites. Two of three dryers were out of order at our closest laundry area and nothing was fixed in the 4 days we were there. Plenty for kids to do and they had a blast. Close to everything.
Jul 16, 2014
Always a great headquarters for the Black Hills. This year scheduled a day at the kamp so the kids could take in all the activities the kamp has to offer them. They loved the climbing wall.
Jul 16, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.