Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 22, 2015
Very tight quarters in most pull through, staff extremely courtious and helpful loved all kid activities
Jul 22, 2015
I REALLY LIKED THE ARREA AND EVERYTHING WAS GREAT.
Jul 22, 2015
We loved all the amenities, the shuttle to Mount Rushmore, and the people were great. We just found it hard to relax with the tiny camping space and although the property is surrounded by beautiful trees and mountains we actually felt very disconnected from nature.
Jul 22, 2015
Great place but needs better area for kids. There were too many in the roadway.
Jul 22, 2015
Way too big. The bathroom/showers/laundry were so far away that we drove down the hill to them. They could use twice as many for a campground this large. Showers were dirty and over-used. Simply too many people for the amount and locations of the showers and bathrooms.
Jul 22, 2015
Perfect choice close to everything we wanted to see and do
Jul 22, 2015
Ashley the assistant manager was so great! Such a wonderful place!
Jul 21, 2015
Our only complaint was that we felt that some folks drove much faster than the 10 mph through the campground..
Jul 21, 2015
Had an issue when I arrived with a camp site that was not big enough for my camper slide outs. Was moved to a new site that was perfect. very accommodating. Kids loved all the activities and we wish we would have been able to stay more nights.
Jul 21, 2015
We had an amazing stay at the KOA My Rushmore. Thank you for such a great time!!
Jul 21, 2015
There are plenty of ammenities at this KOA. Everything was very Klean. Plenty of aktivities for the Kids. Would really like to see more WiFi Access as it is in an area with limited access and it helps in planning the days activities to have that access.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
Had a wonderful time. Only criticism and it is very minor I had bring my own toilet paper one day to facility #3 and I left the roll for others, toilet was plugged and overflowing so I notified manager. Lord knows what was attempted to flush down, so couldn't blame you for that. Very impressed by the courtesy, competence and caring of your staff.
Jul 21, 2015
This is our third time at your camp. Love it here!! However, I wasn't able to use the hot tub due to under age kids using it without adults.
Jul 21, 2015
No WiFi at all even at the office. suppossed to have two sites next to each other,didn't pay any attention to our site number as we were to be next to each other. 3 hrs later I was told to move across campground.
Jul 21, 2015
Everything was good except the fact that the sites that were given to me arent very good for camping and we were rite by the horse area so was very hard to eat and the staff wasn't really able to give me all the info i needed like where is area location before heading over there u guys should really be more descriptive on ur map and also have that on ur website
Jul 21, 2015
We loved the many activities they provide for us while we stayed there. My kids didn't want to go anywhere they wanted to stay and play at the KOA!
Jul 21, 2015
The spots are too small. The manager was changing peoples sites with out putting the change into the computer system. This left us a choice between two muddy spots or one small spot were the larger next door neighbors visitors parking in out spot. I suggest you buy some gravel for your spots so people would not have to put there campers in muddy spots. This was the worst stay of our trip.
Jul 21, 2015
people working ice cream shop bike rental, need to get another job very rude. Site we stayed in over priced
Jul 21, 2015
Excellent place to camp!......lots for the kids to do!
Jul 21, 2015
wonderful camp ground
Jul 21, 2015
we should have stayed longer!
Jul 21, 2015
KOA needs to install sidewalks to get people in and out of fun zone. This is a very busy campground with very poor pedestrian safety measures.
Jul 21, 2015
Very disappointing for a KOA. Very narrow roads. Free Wifi non existent even in lodge lobby and only for Apple devices. Too many other nicer and less expensive campgrounds in area to ever stay here again. Most enjoyable part of stay was that we were away all day and evening sightseeing.
Jul 21, 2015
wish we stayed longer to enjoy all your camp had to offer. we will return.
Jul 21, 2015
Disagreeable staff, except the concier who really helped us obtain reservations at KOAs for our next two stops. Site was too small for our rig and badly eroded from the recent rain.
Jul 21, 2015
We were there five days and had a great time! We started out with campsite 601 which was fine for my husband and I, but we were concerned because it was steep and our grandkids were coming. We asked to move and Danelle worked and worked and succeeded in getting us a better spot! God bless her! Also, we love the Sunday service. (Miss the paddle boats though.)
Jul 21, 2015
THis was our 4th Trip and We were quite disappointed, we were moved to a location that was up a steep hill. We had our 4 month old and 3 year old grandsons that had to be toted up and down this big hill. The 3 year old fell going down it and injured his knee due to the steep incline. I was told when making reservations that we would be in 287 & 288, as I said we needed near the playground.
Jul 21, 2015
roads are in terrible condition lots of potholes, site was very poorly maintained, reported to staff who seemed too busy to care, poor customer service
Jul 20, 2015
Great experience. Liked the fact that kids were free. Everyone was very nice.
Jul 20, 2015
The Kids Zone was fantastic. We would have planned more time here if we had known. A fun destination for camping.
Jul 20, 2015
Everything was good except there their wi-fi was poor and the water in the water slide was green.
Jul 20, 2015
Great stat. Kids thoroughly enjoyed the campground. Thanks for the memories!!
Jul 20, 2015
We wish we could have stayed longer and taken advantage of the many opportunities at this resort.
Jul 20, 2015
This is a very large KOA, hundreds of people. The pools were very nice, showers as clean as can be expected, trail ride best we have ever done, food/price good. At night it smells like the forest is on fire with smoke wafting from every direction. Dont expect any help backing in at this resort! Probably wont stay there again, but it was fun for my tweens.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Tight spots, little shade were the only drawbacks. Beautiful restrooms and plenty of activities gave this place it's four star rating from me.
Jul 20, 2015
nice camp spots, nice amenities. Loved the pancake tent. Bathrooms and showers were dirty and in disrepair
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
We had our 2 grand-daughters with us for 5 days. Each day after we toured 2 or 3 adttractions we came back to our Rv. The girl couldn't wait to swim, bounce, ride their bike, climb the wall or play on the playground. Sometimes I think they enjoyed the activities at the campground more than the attractions of the Black Hills. We will definately bring them back
Jul 20, 2015
everything was great, many things for the kids to do. sidewalks around the fun zone next to the road would be VERY helpful. Pedestrians and motor coaches sharing the same space, very dangerous.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
We had a great stay at this KOA. Friendly staff, great location, so much for the kids to do, clean. The whole experience didn't disappoint. We had a great time!
Jul 20, 2015
Your laundry facilities need help and are expensive.
Jul 20, 2015
A lot of great activities for kids!! Wish Wi-Fi and phone service was a little better.
Jul 20, 2015
This place was complete chaos. Geared to small children. We camped here with an 18, 17 and 16 year old and there wasn't much for them to do. Also, they may claim they have free wifi, but we sure couldn't get any. Also, expect to be about 10 feet from another camper on both sides.
Jul 20, 2015
This was by far the biggest and "fanciest" KOA we stayed at on our big Out West adventure...the staff was friendly, courteous and proffesional...A+
Jul 20, 2015
Had a great stay. Have been going to your camp for the past 35 years, not every year. Would like to see better cell service, know this is not your problem. As both my wife and I are professinals who are on call it would be nice to be able to communicate while in camp and not have to go outside of the area. had a great trip and looking forward to coming back next year.
Jul 20, 2015
It would depend on what kind of stay they wanted.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.