Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 05, 2016
This is a great location to visit attractions like Rushmore, Crazy Horse Mem, Custer St PK, Wind Cave & Jewel. It's geared toward children & keeping you in Camp for them. They do have to offer& it's attractive We are retired & simply needed a place w/hookups, it was overkill. Restaurant is so-so, wine tasting if $5.99, WIFI not good even to check email. Sites get wet; be careful w/parking
Aug 05, 2016
Wifi was advertised as available but was not. The park was a resort with much more than we needed but that made it a poor place for someone looking for a basic night's accommodation.
Aug 04, 2016
the staff was helpful and the kids activities were well run and maintained. the facilities were very clean.
Aug 04, 2016
what a fun and exciting place!!! so much going on fun foir everyone, beautiful setting ...Horses!!!! campfires every nite.. tydye teeshirts was fun, nightly movies, dancing swimming!!! love it
Aug 04, 2016
Super endroit familial. il y a plein d'activités.
Aug 04, 2016
WIFI terrible. You need to hire more people to work in coffee shop and ice cream shop--poor service.
Aug 04, 2016
What an awesome KOA! We were blown away by the number of activities and the shear size. The golf cart rental was a wonderful feature as well.
Aug 04, 2016
Aug 04, 2016
Very nice, amenities were plentiful, the restaurant was less than desirable.
Aug 04, 2016
We had a great experience. Our kids loved the pool, mini golf,the waterside, and the bounce pad. Just remember they have horse rides so don't be alarmed to hear them getting ready in the morning.
Aug 04, 2016
Aug 04, 2016
So much to do, wish we could have stayed another week!
Aug 04, 2016
What an amazing campground
Aug 04, 2016
We only live 60 miles away but our stay was the perfect celebration for our son's 11th birthday! Thank you!
Aug 04, 2016
Nice location and excellent for the kids! Due to the large number of guests (probably but thats not an excuse) the sanitary facilities were rather dirty!
Aug 04, 2016
staff was super. all work so hard to please guest
Aug 04, 2016
Too crowded and chaotic
Aug 04, 2016
The campground was lovely with lots to do. We stayed the week before Sturgis, so it was a bit busy. Other than that, out only complaint was with a few younger staff members in need of customer service training.
Aug 03, 2016
While the sites are close together, there is so much to offer at this campground! The pool and waterslide were our favorites, and the bathrooms and showers were clean. The kids are already asking when we can go back!
Aug 03, 2016
Great staff. Clean park in a perfect location.
Aug 03, 2016
Good location, Good service.
Aug 03, 2016
The camp sites need to be updated, with a better wifi system, better cable tv system and better road condition material, so when it rain you don't have to walk in mud. I also was disappointed in the deluxe camp site as the grass was more mud than grass. The pad was not very level, as my RV tires where off of the ground, so I had to move the RV around to get it so the tires where no off of the grou
Aug 03, 2016
Wonderful place. Much to do. We had a breakdown (slider wouldn't come in). They were very helpful and gave us a place to park the extra night.
Aug 03, 2016
It was ok. Some staff were helpful and friendly, some were very rude. Bathrooms and showers are fairly clean. The stay was expensive. Though you do have access to showers, a pool, and fun zone for kids, the price was still too high for just these amenities. Unfortunately, we didn't get to enjoy the outdoor amenities due to the thunderstorm. It would've been nice to get a partial refund.
Aug 03, 2016
Loved it! It was more of a resort than a campground with lots of activities and amenities. Great location too!
Aug 03, 2016
We wished we would have stayed more than one night. Very friendly staff. This KOA is Awesome. Clean showers.
Aug 03, 2016
Great family oriented campground!
Aug 03, 2016
Aug 03, 2016
Great location. All the amenities and so much for the kids. Lots of things to explore. Great customer service. No wifi or ATT or Verizon signal but nice to be off the grid.
Aug 03, 2016
We had a great time! Fun family activities. We can't wait to visit again.
Aug 03, 2016
Stayed 4 nights. Was amazed at all the activities for the kids. Horseback riding was wonderful. The restrooms were very cllean. Staff was very friendly. Loved all the lovely landscaping. Pride shows in this KOA
Aug 02, 2016
This is the best place to stay in the Black Hills.....the Chuckwagon Ride and show is a must!
Aug 02, 2016
Our family had a great time on our vacation. Special thanks to the staff there as they really stepped up when we were caught in a hail storm while horseback riding. Our son went missing briefly and they were absolutely fantastic!!!! Thank you so much. We'll be back.
Aug 02, 2016
It was a Family Reunion that brought us to you. Everything worked out perfectly ! Shelby and Billie were both very professional in seeing that our accommodations were in place. I can't say enough for the entire experience.
Aug 02, 2016
Love the campground and activities. Please don't have bathroom facilities cleaned at the same time. One day the pool and station 3 bathrooms were closed at same time. More gravel to offset the mud would be wonderful.
Aug 02, 2016
Our granddaughter enjoyed the variety of activities. Parking our truck was the only problem we encountered, not enough room.
Aug 02, 2016
Ben Larson was very supportive and helped us create a "Plan B" after we locked ourselves out of our camper. Mike Atkinson also helped out. Cell phone service & internet connectivity would be much appreciated. Of 8 campgrounds this is the only one that didn't have reliable cell & internet service from mobile devices.
Aug 02, 2016
No WiFi at camp sites; No cel. phone service.
Aug 02, 2016
We had a lot of fun and really enjoyed the movies and pool. We wish there were more chess games so we didn't have to wait so long because it was so fun!
Aug 02, 2016
Best Koa that we have ever stayed at on vacation! My kids said they could've stayed another week!
Aug 02, 2016
Nice clean facility, great location friendly staff..
Aug 02, 2016
It was our first overnight with a campsite & it was great & convenient! Thank you!
Aug 02, 2016
We absolutely loved the campground!!!!
Aug 02, 2016
Lots of great activities. Only disappointment was the excess water at out site. It needed to be graded better to encourage run off instead of having the water stand. We were basically camped in a lake
Aug 02, 2016
Beautiful site, great amenities, very helpful and friendly people. We had a great time and would return in a heartbeat.
Aug 02, 2016
Everything was great except the firewood. Everyone around us was having trouble getting it to burn. Having a campfire is a critical part of enjoying camping for our family.
Aug 02, 2016
We had a blast and enjoyed all the fun. Thanks for a memorable vacation.
Aug 02, 2016
Best KOA in western USA out of 16 we visited in 25 days.
Aug 02, 2016
Although we weren't at the campground very much, due to other vacation plans, it was very nice and staff was very helpful.
Aug 02, 2016
LARGE GROUNDS bathroom was dirty all day and night do not know if it was ever cleaned when we were there. Things to do but those things were not kept up
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy