Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Aug 01, 2013
Many things done really well. The complaint I have is the bathrooms were very dirty!! The soap dispensers were broken, The shower curtains had mold on them, the countertops and floors were filthy, and the walls need a good scrubbing. I realize this is a large campground with many people using the bathrooms, but the kids cleaning them need to be trained properly how to do the job well.
Aug 01, 2013
Great place if you travel with children but not good if you are looking for peace and quiet. No wi-fi at sites, no cable, no cell phone signal. Sites and roads are red dirt which turn into a mud when it rains. Very expensive. One of the worst camping experiences in my 35 years traveling in RV's.
Aug 01, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
I really wish that the Wifi service that was promised on the website actually would have worked. I had plans to complete work while my children were napping and was unable to do so because the service that was promised was unavailable/unreliable. I was able to access Wifi once for about five minutes during my 5 day stay.
Jul 31, 2013
Very disappointed with our stay. Most expensive KOA on our cross country trip, by far. Map to site was printed wrong and we had to circle 3x to get to our site. Tons of red mud. Can't control the weather but would have expected paved roads. We won't be back! :(
Jul 31, 2013
Tia Grabow was a poor first person to meet. Mercedes Busetti was good. My clothes got torn in the washer, my package was not handled properly, I am disappointed.
Jul 31, 2013
The campsite I was assigned was a virtual mud hole. The table was half in a water hole and could not be used. The weather was occasional showers and the problem was poor drainage. We were told that you were sorry all sites cannot be good.
Jul 31, 2013
I will never stay at a KOA again...expensive and so crowded that the slide out of the trailer next to us pushed into our own tent. This was a horrible experience...both KOAs we stayed at this trip!
Jul 31, 2013
Loved our tent site and extra facilities and water play areas.
Jul 31, 2013
This is our second year in a row, and would still go back. My 4 boys keep so busy with all the things to do. My only suggestion would be to place seating next to some activities, (paddle boats, jumping pillow), for the parents watching the children.
Jul 31, 2013
We were greated immediately as we drove in. Shown to our large site backed up to a big grassy area. All personnel were so friendly and helpful. Their furnishing a bus to the lighting at Mt. rushmore was awesome. $6. a person is cheap so you don't have to drive and pay parking. Would recommend this place to anyone going that way.
Jul 31, 2013
Great location, near the Monument. With kids do not stay "on the hill" as you will be too far from features. Too few baths & those available were unclean even after complaint to maintenance staff. Appears to suffer from a lack of good management. On a positive note, lots of things to do & the shuttle to the Monument is convenient.
Jul 30, 2013
Friendly and helpful staff, beautiful accommodations, just one slightly negative: although campers are to be quiet until 7am, the four wheelers and other noise commence at 5:30 am, both on Sunday and Monday, during our stay.
Jul 30, 2013
This is a very large campground. Bathrooms need to be serviced more often! Loved the horseback riding and the chuckwagon dinner.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Great place to stay while exploring the Black Hills area. Wonderful for families with younger children with all the activities going on at the KOA.
Jul 30, 2013
Amazing location and campground. Best of times!
Jul 30, 2013
The site (503) we stayed at was great. The only thing that bothered us, was there was not quiet time enforcement. People come and go at all hours. The staff are very friendly and there are lots of activities for everyone in the family. Great location to all sight seeing locations.
Jul 30, 2013
Very kid friendly and a wonderful staff. Had tons of events to do and see. Fun for all ages. Cell service was the only downer.
Jul 30, 2013
Nicely located so we could take in the sights without traveling long distances. Spots were large enough to really enjoy being out of doors. Very clean, well managed. Great activites for the whole family.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
This was the best KOA. Lots of fun activities for the kids that were free. Real close to Mt. Rushmore. No cable in most of the sites and no cell reception.
Jul 30, 2013
Overpriced for an overnight stay. RV site was small and sparse given the price.
Jul 30, 2013
The campground was in such a beautiful spot - very good location - everyone we encountered was very friendly. My only complaint is that the bathrooms should be cleaned more often than once a day. They got really gross.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Wonderful Campground ! So much stuff for the kids to do! Wonderful staff even delivered firewood straight to the campsite ! We will be back again next summer !
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Great place to take family, lots to do, but some things a bit pricey. Had a shuttle for night lighting of Rushmore, good!
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Wonderful place, friendly helpful staff, many activities, msny included with campground fee. Appreciate the stables being right there! Only problem was with the adapter for the electric, had to buy one in town, but will be prepared next time!
Jul 30, 2013
The bathrooms and showers near our campsite were horrible. We ended up going to another bathroom and shower facility halfway through our stay. If it wasn't for the bathrooms I would stay again, but I don't believe I will just because of them. Everything else was very nice. It seems as though the bathrooms were over used and that there needed to be more available. We stayed at site 611.
Jul 30, 2013
We enjoyed our stay . However, it was a little overpriced for the site we had....gaveled and flooded. Shuttle to Mt. Rushmore at night was absolutely breathtaking!
Jul 30, 2013
We were able to spend two enjoyable nights at this KOA. It was just about all that was expected. The staff was very helpful.
Jul 30, 2013
The kids had a fun time. The campground was more crowded than I'd prefer, but for the location, it's understandable. Nice place to stay for accessibility to the surrounding area. If you're looking for more solitude, this isn't the place.
Jul 30, 2013
Bathroom was not kept clean, showers needed repairs and cleaned. Unexpected $10 per day fee for extras we didn't need nor partake. We enjoyed it 25 years ago, not so much this time.
Jul 30, 2013
We have stayed at this KOA 1-2 times a year for the last 5 years. We love this campground but we stayed in a different area this time. We used our tent - our tent site was terrible not enough room to set up or to be comfortable.. The restroom and showers for this area are terrible - they need an upgrade - showers were cold and the toilets were broken and gross.. We drove to the other bathrooms
Jul 30, 2013
Everything was great but the shower and bathrooms. They were GROSS/DIRTY/MOLD in the shower. Need a hanger on the shower head so that there is a place to put your toiletries I know there are a lot of people thereI also seen a lot of workers just messing around. They could be cleaning and keeping up with restrooms.
Jul 30, 2013
We loved all the activities for the family and the workers were really friendly and great. The bathrooms could use cleaning. I had 4 kids under the age 7 so asked to be close to the playground and bathrooms but ended up being far away. That was about the only problem we had.
Jul 30, 2013
I was disappointed in the bathroom situation. Several of the shower stalls did not drain and curtains were moldy.
Jul 30, 2013
This KOA has it all. Great place for families
Jul 29, 2013
My only two issues are that our tent sites with amenities had an outlet for electric that was completely unusable and there seemed to be a lot of campsites for not very many bathrooms. Otherwise-wow what an amazing place. Easy to see why they are an award winner. Would love to have been able to take advantage of even half of what the campground had to offer.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Although we prefer smaller and quieter KOAs, this destination KOA was very well run. The staff was very accommodating and the activities available great! Loved the Chuckwagon Dinner.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Our second time to this KOA. Had a good time. Pool was clean. Plenty of showers, although not the cleanest-their cleaning staff take more time playing w/ their iPhones and music. Great activities for the kids. Staff friendly. Everything however is very over priced!! The little Fiddle Sticks and Ice Cream and Turkey leg/roasted corn shop, all WAY too expensive. Hardly anyone buying a thing!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.