Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 07, 2015
Lots o activities for kids. The campers are packed a little tight.
Aug 07, 2015
Loved the campground. But, We were not happy that there was no cell phone service. The first night we encountered a large hail storm that caused major damage to our vehicles. if we had cell service, we might have had warning so we could cover the vehicles.
Aug 07, 2015
10 mph speed limit needs enforcing
Aug 07, 2015
Camp site was very small and several of the lower sites the ground was wet. You did not want to back off of the pads into the grass for fear of getting stuck.
Aug 07, 2015
Great time! Wish there were better cell phone service though. Was tough to check in with my wife.
Aug 06, 2015
Despite having somewhat of a less desirable campsite, the amenities were outstanding. I did a lot of research prior to booking with KOA - Mount Rushmore, and after visiting the area and having driven by the other options I had no regrets.
Aug 06, 2015
My father & I stayed there to be close to Sturgis and the beautiful rides through the Black Bills. We stayed at lot #516. It was not level and was small. Other than that we enjoyed our stay.
Aug 06, 2015
Nice campground. Clean, friendly people willing to help if needed. Lots to do for kids. Awesome shower house. Did not care for where we were located. Felt cramped and no privacy. Would have preferred opportunity to look at available sights and choose for ourselves when making reservations on line.
Aug 06, 2015
Great KOA for families
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
this was not our first stay at this KOA, last year we had a problem wish the promised camp site,but got it worked out,this year I was told when making a reservation where the site was located,but when checking in,was told that who ever told me the site DID NOT NO,what they were talking about,so we took what we were offered,A back in mud hole,when hooking up power etc,mud was over my ankles.
Aug 06, 2015
Was the largest KOA I've ever stayed at. Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy all the great activities offered. We did enjoy the super tasty pizza in the cafe.
Aug 06, 2015
We had an awesome stay!!
Aug 06, 2015
The best place to stay in the Black Hills. TONS of activities for kids to do. We will definitely be backnext time we come to South Dakota :)
Aug 06, 2015
KOA Palmer Gulch is a great place to camp - a beautiful location. There are so many activities for children and adults. The night sky is phenomenal!!
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
It was great, except for the restrooms which were too HOT for comfort, if you know what I mean...
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
Our campsite left a little to be desired, but overall, we were satisfied
Aug 06, 2015
Great place for family fun!!!
Aug 06, 2015
great place for kids
Aug 06, 2015
Very organized! Nice amenities. Would return again!
Aug 05, 2015
we have been staying here for the last 13 yrs. and have seen very little improvements to the shower houses, bathrooms, and laundry rooms. the campsites back by site 625 were bad. When it rained there weren't any good drainage practices in place, and the sites would pond up and flood with water. Bath houses weren't clean and lacked warm water. Toilets weren't maintained and there was too few of the
Aug 05, 2015
Great location and a lot to do! Hot tub water was questionable, but overall a great experience!
Aug 05, 2015
Nice campground. Well kept. Thanks
Aug 05, 2015
Many amenities at the camp ground do not work or fall short of expectations, I brought these obvious problems to management and was told to leave, it being the Thursday before Sturgis and having made my reservations here a month earlier I wasn't able to, the black hills are wonderful, The KOA management knows this and uses it to allow them to be as rude as they are incompetent.
Aug 05, 2015
This was our 2nd stay this summer. Kelsey (in the lodge) was helpful and sweet! She was able to find us 2 close sites during this busy summer season to accommodate our family. It was very much appreciated! We look forward to our next stay!
Aug 05, 2015
Good KampGround. Will go their again. (even with thunder storms, flooding etc.) Traveling on their dirt roads on a motorcycle, w/trailer was interesting... Loved the area.
Aug 05, 2015
We stay for three nights, before motorcycle rally. Had a nice site-534, Could have been a little bigger for our family size tent. Enjoyed the facility very much and everyone was very Friendly!!! Would like to come back another time.
Aug 05, 2015
I followed through with reservation after learning the total of $250+ for a tent space with water and electricity only because I had committed to meeting others there. The space was hardly large enough for us and I feared that another camper backing a pop-up camper into the adjacent space could easily have hit our tent that first night of our stay. Will stay at Custer SP next trip.
Aug 05, 2015
nice stay but more expensive than thought it should be. we had no children so most of the amenities were not of interest to us.
Aug 05, 2015
Excellent location for all Black Hills things to do. Shuttle to Mt Rushmore. Large RV pull thrus, excellent clean restrooms, friendly helpful staff. Full service restaurant on property. Loved our whole experience here and would return here next visit.
Aug 04, 2015
This camp is well maintained and convenient. However, if you need cell phone service or wifi forget it.
Aug 04, 2015
By far the largest KOA we have stayed at, with a large variety of activities for the whole family. From car rentals, 4-wheelers, horse rides, swimming, mini golf, 2 swimming pools .very clean and well kept. Will definitely return in the future.
Aug 04, 2015
The staff were all wonderful and friendly!! We were disapointed that our third party was in a site a few spots down when the one across from us was open or had different campers move in and out daily. The wifi was terrible. Location was super & grounds tidy. Also disapointed in lack of recycling bins for a campground that claims to be "green" It was expensive, ok if you spent lots of time there!
Aug 04, 2015
Nice clean area and the staff was very nice
Aug 04, 2015
The Wireless connection can be achieved in lobby but no where to sit, otherwise Wireless connection is not available at RV sites. The staff is friendly and the sites are maintained.
Aug 04, 2015
A Great place for camping with the kids
Aug 04, 2015
We had a great stay. I think you should post on your website the sturgis bike rally for people who are from away. The people were wonderful but the 6 am bike rev ups were not pleasant as were the midnight bike revs. We had very little sleep which was not so much fun as we are on a 14 day trip.
Aug 04, 2015
Lots to do, very family friendly, campsites packed closely together, busy bathrooms and not very clean.
Aug 04, 2015
Personnel unfamiliar with campsites, fees are over priced for sites and breakfast.
Aug 04, 2015
We had a great time. Staff was very nice & helpful
Aug 04, 2015
We enjoyed every minute! While our main reason to stay at Palmer Gulch was to have a place to park/camp for a few days, we quickly began to realize that staying at Palmer Gulch was vacation enough and if we wanted, we didn't even have to go anywhere else! From the daily activities to swimming, the pancake breakfast, and restaurant~we were happily entertained! I can't wait to go back!
Aug 04, 2015
Had a great time at this KOA. Lots of activities for the kids, great trails and lots of amenities. Staff was great. Would definitely come back. 5 stars.
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
Nice campground...but our spot was literally in a swamp with 4 inches of mud surrounding all the hookups and the pad. Staff was professional but not particularly helpful.
Aug 04, 2015
This maybe a good campground for parents with children but without Internet service at most sites, and no television or cellphone service it is hard to recommend this place to older folks except as a stop over spot for visits to Mt Rushmore. On the positive side it is a pretty setting. We stayed in a full service spot.
Aug 04, 2015
Need more shuttle service from remote sites to areas around park
Aug 04, 2015
Noce very large KOA. Very close to Mt Rushmore
Aug 04, 2015
There is a lot of fun things to do there and the people who work there treated us great!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals